View Full Version : GDFL Geelong and District Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

Kooley
7 Dec 2007, 13:30
who are you kidding mate.
Hardingham- captain and ruckman in team of the year
Kitchen- has kicked over a 100 goals in the leagueMcClure- a young gun who killed it this year
Kelly- 96 goals in a NSW league the year before last
Harrison- missed over a quarter of the season, but is a gun
Harvey- 5th in the league b&f and missed about 4 games

what year was this??

The Hulkster
7 Dec 2007, 13:57
trent mclure can share his hair straightner with the rest of the ammos soft c#*#s after the game. donohue would enjoy a good bum slap from the biggest pretenders in the bfl

Well we have a tough guy. If you think that, i am sure you wouldnt mind heading down there and saying it to their faces. PM me i can give you their training times.

I will assume your silence will confirm your weakness.

disc
7 Dec 2007, 14:27
Well we have a tough guy. If you think that, i am sure you wouldnt mind heading down there and saying it to their faces. PM me i can give you their training times.

I will assume your silence will confirm your weakness.

thats how they play there footy a bunch of hang outs that look for a easy kick.

newton
7 Dec 2007, 14:40
thats how they play there footy a bunch of hang outs that look for a easy kick. their ;):thumbsu::thumbsu:

The Hulkster
7 Dec 2007, 14:42
thats how they play there footy a bunch of hang outs that look for a easy kick.

Yeah i guess thats how they won their flag then.

Exactly how many games have you seen them play. If you had i think you may have a different opinion.

Just a typical narrow minded opinon of football.

Hitman20
7 Dec 2007, 16:40
[quote=Juddster;9625652]Hardingham as captain was a joke. Can only go on what i've seen when playing against them and watching some of their games. Kitch yes i agree is a good player. But most go missing against the top sides. This is why Winch have either under achieved or a just no good. When have they done any damage in september? With all these so called stars you would think they would of made the FINALS!![/quote

Winch havent made the finals because they have no depth! no commitment from the locals! and injuries! the top 10 or so players at winch are good enough to match most of the top players in the GDFL.

parrot14
7 Dec 2007, 21:11
Whats the latest news out at Thompson - recruits , coaching panel , losses???

city tigers
7 Dec 2007, 21:19
hey parrot14, the thomy boys had there 1st run tonight and looking the goods. about 45 1st night. look out for the name grapsas in the head lines very soon. deadly left foot from the back half similar to stuey dew, and in stature. watch for the massive chaif come april.

Wiskers32
7 Dec 2007, 21:49
bell post hill in 2008 wot a team...

onthecouch
7 Dec 2007, 22:18
bell post hill in 2008 wot a team...

I hear you wont be in the line up though Whiskers, apparently the G west roosters are keen on your services for next season. Will you be testing yourself mate in the GFL

The Hulkster
8 Dec 2007, 08:24
hey parrot14, the thomy boys had there 1st run tonight and looking the goods. about 45 1st night. look out for the name grapsas in the head lines very soon. deadly left foot from the back half similar to stuey dew, and in stature. watch for the massive chaif come april.

That couldn't possibly be Shane Grapsas could it?

city tigers
8 Dec 2007, 09:28
thats correct hulkster

Whispers
8 Dec 2007, 10:03
Speaking to a couple of Inverleigh boys and they were saying that the club has thrown big money at 18 year old Bannockburn forward (beampole) Zac Hickleton. What's with this!!??

Zac is a fair player and this is not insault to him but why would the Hawks be targeting a young and extremely raw player such as him. He is a 2nd or 3rd forward for Banno at the moment and if he goes to Inverleigh, he will become the focal point of their forward line.

Target someone else I say... should've secured a few or North Shore boys ie. Chris Chubb, Tim Stickland.

The Hulkster
8 Dec 2007, 10:17
thats correct hulkster

No disrespect to Shane but i think he will be just a 2's player at Thomson. He is getting on a bit and is certainly no senior player.

But a good fella however, i had him as a coach for a couple of seasons and found him really good. In fact probably played my best ever footy under him.
Good to see him having a run around.

Wiskers32
8 Dec 2007, 17:15
I hear you wont be in the line up though Whiskers, apparently the G west roosters are keen on your services for next season. Will you be testing yourself mate in the GFL

haha mate i havnt signed newere and dont plan on doin it til january

Kooley
8 Dec 2007, 21:39
great signs for werribee centrals, they have had close to 40 on the track before xmas which is a little better than the 10-15 they were getting at the same time last year.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

city tigers
9 Dec 2007, 09:14
kooley you maybe getting good numbers on the track but are they any good, not being a smart arse, just asking. p.s what has happened to the lion king, gone a little quiet, club must have folded.

badman
9 Dec 2007, 18:13
It seems a few people are wanting too know about the Winchelsea players. I will do a list of where most of them are going or thinking about going.

Craig Hardingham- Werribee Centrals
Anthony Kitchen- Not sure but won't be at Winch
Mark Harvey- Corio
Nathan Reid- Geelong ammos
Trent Mclure- Geelong ammos
Cam Mclure- Geelong ammos
Scott Donohue- Modewarre
Matthew Worland- Modewarre
Matthew Day- Belmont
Mark Harrison- Belmont
Blake Kelly- Overseas
Christian McFarlane- Retired
Hayden Stocks- Anglesea
Heath Hutchison- Lara

Some very big losses for Winchelsea. Good pick ups for both Werribee and Belmont in the GDFL.
Belmont look like they might be strong again.

badman
9 Dec 2007, 18:16
I heard East might be picking up a few more Torquay boys?
Anyone heard that too?

city tigers
9 Dec 2007, 18:26
torquay boys should not waste there bloody time degrading themselves playing under that peanut adam gobbledick. east had the cup back at richmond cresent before he was allowed back on the ground. should have played the rest of game 1 short.

Thomson 2008
9 Dec 2007, 18:33
Thomson Boy will be back up the ladder this season in Seniors and two

city tigers
9 Dec 2007, 18:35
apparently the word on the steet is that the lion king has done the unbelievable and put the premiership cup on e-bay to help pay the dept down at the den. any truth?

Thomson 2008
9 Dec 2007, 18:44
We are Thomson

macromantic
9 Dec 2007, 19:51
apparently the word on the steet is that the lion king has done the unbelievable and put the premiership cup on e-bay to help pay the dept down at the den. any truth?

hey why cant people just accept that they won the premership, and the lion king is a loud mouth wanker, but lets just focous on the yr 2008 and and stop this bitching we are one leaugue and we should stand togetherand who ever wins the flag be happy for them::p

croat
9 Dec 2007, 20:29
Surely grapsas isnt thomsons no1 recruit so far? Lets be fair on shane he's getting a bit old in the tooth! but in saying that he has been seen doing a few "tri-easts" of late. sub 20mins i've been told.

tonnyblues
9 Dec 2007, 20:36
Has anyone heard much about Bell Post Hill? Who is coaching them, and have they got any gains or losses? What's your thoughts on them guys?

Wiskers32
9 Dec 2007, 21:50
Has anyone heard much about Bell Post Hill? Who is coaching them, and have they got any gains or losses? What's your thoughts on them guys?

robert may from deer park is coaching them, they have lost luke parker to west st peters and wade bowyer to st joeys. will go top 5 again this year but judging on other gains to other clubs it will be a tight tussel to finish in the top 5

Lion Cub Tamer
10 Dec 2007, 08:29

Dont know where you have come from mate but you have no idea though!
The story has no truth in it.
If you go back a few pages it is has been posted the situation of the BLSC.
Now stop wasteing everybodies time and making up rumours you poor loser.

Lion Cub Tamer
10 Dec 2007, 08:31
hey why cant people just accept that they won the premership, and the lion king is a loud mouth wanker, but lets just focous on the yr 2008 and and stop this bitching we are one leaugue and we should stand togetherand who ever wins the flag be happy for them::p

Thankyou.:)

Kooley
10 Dec 2007, 11:20
Dont know where you have come from mate but you have no idea though!
The story has no truth in it.
If you go back a few pages it is has been posted the situation of the BLSC.
Now stop wasteing everybodies time and making up rumours you poor loser.i have a feeling he may have been joking :eek:

THE RED MAN
10 Dec 2007, 12:28
robert may from deer park is coaching them, they have lost luke parker to west st peters and wade bowyer to st joeys. will go top 5 again this year but judging on other gains to other clubs it will be a tight tussel to finish in the top 5

Robbie Cavka and Dale Dickson from Hoppers Crossing have signed at Bell Post Hill for 2008. Will both be handy players in 2008

whippety boy
10 Dec 2007, 13:30
Robbie Cavka and Dale Dickson from Hoppers Crossing have signed at Bell Post Hill for 2008. Will both be handy players in 2008Werribee Centrals showed some interest in these two so that is a big pick up by Bell Pot Hill. Both players are as hard as nails.

Lion King
10 Dec 2007, 17:39
Hello Newbie... This forum really has been missing something over the summer.... ME! But big footy GDFL forum followers, I've been reading with great intrest all your juvenile postings. The thing that surprised me the most was that some of the "tards" at Thomson can use a computer! It seems to me that you Thommy blokes have only been online since Wallace signed for the big bucks. Did he shout you down to the internet cafe for a latte and 1/2 hr online? Quick Quiz time... Who are the only 2 GDFL clubs to win a senior football and A grade netball premiership? :p

city tigers
10 Dec 2007, 19:38
Hello Newbie... This forum really has been missing something over the summer.... ME! But big footy GDFL forum followers, I've been reading with great intrest all your juvenile postings. The thing that surprised me the most was that some of the "tards" at Thomson can use a computer! It seems to me that you Thommy blokes have only been online since Wallace signed for the big bucks. Did he shout you down to the internet cafe for a latte and 1/2 hr online? Quick Quiz time... Who are the only 2 GDFL clubs to win a senior football and A grade netball premiership? :p
just a quick question to the lion king? when is the great sir brian 'cogs' coghlan pulling on the boots for 1 last harrah. loooking forward to tagging him.

Juddster
10 Dec 2007, 19:45
If you do your homework you will find that there is 3 A grade & senior Premiers. North , Belmont and Werribee. Who is the only club to go through premiers and CHAMPIONS in the G.D.F.L?

Kooley
10 Dec 2007, 20:41
If you do your homework you will find that there is 3 A grade & senior Premiers. North , Belmont and Werribee. Who is the only club to go through premiers and CHAMPIONS in the G.D.F.L?better still juddster who was the last GDFL team to win three senior premierships in succession?

Blue Ball Fever
11 Dec 2007, 12:17
torquay boys should not waste there bloody time degrading themselves playing under that peanut adam gobbledick. east had the cup back at richmond cresent before he was allowed back on the ground. should have played the rest of game 1 short.
Moron.

Mustang00
11 Dec 2007, 13:35
It seems a few people are wanting too know about the Winchelsea players. I will do a list of where most of them are going or thinking about going.

Craig Hardingham- Werribee Centrals
Anthony Kitchen- Not sure but won't be at Winch
Mark Harvey- Corio
Nathan Reid- Geelong ammos
Trent Mclure- Geelong ammos
Cam Mclure- Geelong ammos
Scott Donohue- Modewarre
Matthew Worland- Modewarre
Matthew Day- Belmont
Mark Harrison- Belmont
Blake Kelly- Overseas
Christian McFarlane- Retired
Hayden Stocks- Anglesea
Heath Hutchison- Lara

Can anyone tell me anything about this bloke Heath Hutchinson?

Hitman20
11 Dec 2007, 16:39
[/b][/color]

Can anyone tell me anything about this bloke Heath Hutchinson?

can play the kid...

tonnyblues
11 Dec 2007, 20:14
Robbie Cavka and Dale Dickson from Hoppers Crossing have signed at Bell Post Hill for 2008. Will both be handy players in 2008

I suppose they will be pretty reasonable in both 1's and 2's again.

Kooley
11 Dec 2007, 20:57
I suppose they will be pretty reasonable in both 1's and 2's again.
Unfortuantley for the BPH they continue to self destruct in big finals. Adding those two boys from Hoppers should give them a bit more resolve come September.

Wiskers32
12 Dec 2007, 13:15
good 2 see bell post hill have recruited some gun players but they arnt naming names

Buddah
12 Dec 2007, 16:15
good 2 see bell post hill have recruited some gun players but they arnt naming names

cause they dont excist, there only throwimg rumors around so everyone stays and dont wake up to themselves and leave, as you notice not many leave bph and then go back, if they do its only for big bucks not cause they love the club cause it the worst clubrooms to be around after the game and with the lewis's running the show it will only get worst.

Wiskers32
12 Dec 2007, 18:54
cause they dont excist, there only throwimg rumors around so everyone stays and dont wake up to themselves and leave, as you notice not many leave bph and then go back, if they do its only for big bucks not cause they love the club cause it the worst clubrooms to be around after the game and with the lewis's running the show it will only get worst.

haha mate its a good social club and the clubrooms have just been built so i dont know what you have been smoking mate. The lewis boys are good socially they just have some trouble on the field.

sleepy tiger
12 Dec 2007, 20:36
who have bannock lost and picked up this year

ozdevil1978
12 Dec 2007, 20:52
pretty good on both sides, is quick but his soft

agree there salsa is very soft not as talented than steve wainwright who is the same age and also come from winch as well and is now at sth barwon

Wiskers32
12 Dec 2007, 23:13
who have bannock lost and picked up this year

zach hickleton to inverleigh ... chasing the money good on him his a top bloke, aaron broom to bell park thats about it i think they are to quilty players as we all know .

hotnews
13 Dec 2007, 03:36
buddah those 2 blokes from hoppers are certanies, i know for sure thats its true. I have a mate playing at BHP. Lewis is not running the show anymore......

hotnews
13 Dec 2007, 03:45
I hear harris has pulled the pin at corio??? Not happy about contract from last year??? His mate aitken might not be to far behind him in leaving????? Any truth out there but i guess the devils have picked up well enough to cover thoses losses.
Ive been told sunshine in the WRFL could be were there headed next year??? Anyone confirm or deny or is this another rumor going around?

Devilfish
13 Dec 2007, 07:09
I hear harris has pulled the pin at corio??? Not happy about contract from last year??? His mate aitken might not be to far behind him in leaving????? Any truth out there but i guess the devils have picked up well enough to cover thoses losses.
Ive been told sunshine in the WRFL could be were there headed next year??? Anyone confirm or deny or is this another rumor going around?

Harris is leaving due to work committments he would not be in there best 12 players anyway Aitken is staying been training and works with o'toole and is apparently keen after injury riddled year last year good player when fit.

ExtendTheDukes
13 Dec 2007, 09:01
zach hickleton to inverleigh ... chasing the money good on him his a top bloke, aaron broom to bell park thats about it i think they are to quilty players as we all know .

Hickleton is no certainty to leave but there is a chance he will go. Will either be playing at Bannock or Inverleigh next year. Broom is gone and will be a big loss no doubt.

Have heard Bannock have picked up a few guys including Justin Bliss, Nick Toohey, Troy Tilley and are a big chance of getting Ben Naylon back.

Bliss is a former Geelong West Captain and Drysdale Assistant coach who has been down at Forrest for last couple of years. Tough, hard backman onballer who will be a great pick up. Tooheys a tall solid defender also hard at it and will also be good pick up. Dont know much about Tilley other than he is another tall who plays back and some ruck. If they do get Naylon back it will be a huge pick up. I think a few more guys from Ballarat way may be also heading down.

19th Man
13 Dec 2007, 09:54
Hickleton is no certainty to leave but there is a chance he will go. Will either be playing at Bannock or Inverleigh next year. Broom is gone and will be a big loss no doubt.

Have heard Bannock have picked up a few guys including Justin Bliss, Nick Toohey, Troy Tilley and are a big chance of getting Ben Naylon back.

Bliss is a former Geelong West Captain and Drysdale Assistant coach who has been down at Forrest for last couple of years. Tough, hard backman onballer who will be a great pick up. Tooheys a tall solid defender also hard at it and will also be good pick up. Dont know much about Tilley other than he is another tall who plays back and some ruck. If they do get Naylon back it will be a huge pick up. I think a few more guys from Ballarat way may be also heading down.

Bliss must be in his mid 30's, along with Dans, Fisher Lewis and Kolleger. For mine, if they lose young gun Hickleton, along with the departure of Broom, it may not be the same destructive Tigers of previous seasons.

19th Man
13 Dec 2007, 09:58
Harris is leaving due to work committments he would not be in there best 12 players anyway Aitken is staying been training and works with o'toole and is apparently keen after injury riddled year last year good player when fit.

Harris was all the talk leading into last season. How quickly people forget!!!!
Holzfiend not overly excited about the coming season. Last years B N F winner not as highly regarded as the new brigade, as far as his new contract is concerned. More to the point, not sure if he will actually receive it all come years end.

19th Man
13 Dec 2007, 10:09

To be honest Buddah, I don't think there are many club's who shelve out a fortune. It seems the ave budget would range between $40k-$65K. You compare this to other country leagues EG (Central Highlands who would be of similar standard) some of their expenses are upwould of $150K.

But beyond that, I too have heard of a few recruiting posibilities up there, but other than Whiskers, no-one seems to be talking.

goldenoldie
13 Dec 2007, 10:10
buddah those 2 blokes from hoppers are certanies, i know for sure thats its true. I have a mate playing at BHP. Lewis is not running the show anymore......

yeh i heard the same that the blokes from Hoppers are definates.
Lewis might not be running the show anymore but will have a huge influence still

ExtendTheDukes
13 Dec 2007, 10:50
Bliss must be in his mid 30's, along with Dans, Fisher Lewis and Kolleger. For mine, if they lose young gun Hickleton, along with the departure of Broom, it may not be the same destructive Tigers of previous seasons.

You're right mate it could be the case and no doubt Bannock would love to keep Hickleton but they still have some very good juniors who have just started senior footy in the last couple of years. From what I hear their young guys were pretty light on and got whacked around a bit and as their weren't many bigger bodied players at the club it was to the detrument of the young guys. I was told thats why the club went after a few experienced players. Bliss is early 30's and I believe was in the top 6 - 12 in the CDFL best and fairest and is probably fitter than ever before. Toohey is early 20's from Springbank and Naylon mid 20's. Naylon's a key forward originally a Bannock boy who played in the 2003 Premiership and who's been playing at Waubra the last few years. Time will tell.

ExtendTheDukes
13 Dec 2007, 11:13

What position do these new guys play in? It seems BPH biggest problem will be in the ruck with Bowyer leaving and Hemley not playing because of knee although I believe he played mainly as a key forward. I think their Full Back (cant remember his name) is also coming off a knee reco from last year and wont be back until mid year at the earliest.

Drago
13 Dec 2007, 12:32

Some handy pick-ups if this is accurate as both Toohey and Naylon would slot straight back into the side at CHB and CHF and both are big lads. This is provided that Nayls is over his "groin" injuries he has suffered in the past.

Drago
13 Dec 2007, 12:33
To be honest Buddah, I don't think there are many club's who shelve out a fortune. It seems the ave budget would range between $40k-$65K. You compare this to other country leagues EG (Central Highlands who would be of similar standard) some of their expenses are upwould of $150K.

But beyond that, I too have heard of a few recruiting posibilities up there, but other than Whiskers, no-one seems to be talking.
19th Man I would say your spot on with your estimate and the ones at the lower end of the range have probably been more successful than those who have splashed it about.

Devilfish
13 Dec 2007, 13:06
Harris was all the talk leading into last season. How quickly people forget!!!!
Holzfiend not overly excited about the coming season. Last years B N F winner not as highly regarded as the new brigade, as far as his new contract is concerned. More to the point, not sure if he will actually receive it all come years end.

Having played with Holzfeind at Hill, any money he gets he should be grateful with and my sources tell me thats why Newcomb were not fussed losing him never trains or goes to club functions more to just playing if ya want to get paid, and why would he be regarded anywhere near Nicholls, O;Toole and Stewart. Harris played probably 3 good games last year.

19th Man
13 Dec 2007, 14:39
Having played with Holzfeind at Hill, any money he gets he should be grateful with and my sources tell me thats why Newcomb were not fussed losing him never trains or goes to club functions more to just playing if ya want to get paid, and why would he be regarded anywhere near Nicholls, O;Toole and Stewart. Harris played probably 3 good games last year.

I don't regard him in this category, although I have never seen Bill play. But I thought he was one of their shining lights in a dull 07 for Corio, and that he may be rewarded for his efforts.

19th Man
13 Dec 2007, 14:40
Glen Wallace trying to entice a few former Sth Barwon teamates to tigerland. Anyone with any info??

Juddster
13 Dec 2007, 19:42
Glen Wallace trying to entice a few former Sth Barwon teamates to tigerland. Anyone with any info??
Wallace is staying clear of Sth. Barwon as a hunting ground. Typical of his character not wanting to poach off his home club (he is all class). Having said that, if there were guys keen to leave he would welcome them with open arms. Don't know of any recruits from there yet. Thomson seem to be keeping their cards close to their chest though in regards to recruits.

Drago
13 Dec 2007, 21:19
Wallace is staying clear of Sth. Barwon as a hunting ground. Typical of his character not wanting to poach off his home club (he is all class). Having said that, if there were guys keen to leave he would welcome them with open arms. Don't know of any recruits from there yet. Thomson seem to be keeping their cards close to their chest though in regards to recruits.
I have heard the opposite Juddster - not about his class but about his approach to Barwon team mates. I undertood he had asked a couple but they said thanks but no thanks and he has left it at that.

sleepy tiger
13 Dec 2007, 21:52
I have heard the opposite Juddster - not about his class but about his approach to Barwon team mates. I undertood he had asked a couple but they said thanks but no thanks and he has left it at that.
apparently knuckey seen running the tan with wallace and tommy boys wednesday night and a couple others with sth barwon tops on.

Juddster
14 Dec 2007, 09:26
apparently knuckey seen running the tan with wallace and tommy boys wednesday night and a couple others with sth barwon tops on.
Thats a big get if Wallace gets Knuckey over to Tigerland. Couldnt see that happening.

badman
14 Dec 2007, 11:13
Thats a big get if Wallace gets Knuckey over to Tigerland. Couldnt see that happening.

Isn't Knuckey an original Winchelsea man?
They would be a littlle dirty on him if he went to another GD side.

city tigers
14 Dec 2007, 13:53
unless i was training with the wrong team i can tell u there was no south blokes in sight. someones giving you some ordinary info.

parrot14
14 Dec 2007, 20:12
unless i was training with the wrong team i can tell u there was no south blokes in sight. someones giving you some ordinary info.

Hey City Tigers whats the story with Dan Gage wheres he at???

sleepy tiger
14 Dec 2007, 22:35
you must of been training with a different team city tiger.

Hitman20
15 Dec 2007, 12:02
M Dyer and P West from St Mary's are having a meeting with Winchelsea on Monday night. Winchelsea have put in an offer that the boys can't really refuse.....
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=9681237) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif

19th Man
15 Dec 2007, 21:01
Alford and Normington are though to be heading to Newtown next season.

thommy08
15 Dec 2007, 21:10
Word is Thomson are dead set filthy on last year and have had unprecedented numbers at training.Had a squizz at training last Monday night and for December, looked very sharp.
12 continual years in the finals and will be very tough in '08.Forward line structure of Maheras, McLeod's (x 2), Gardiner (yes, we all forget Timmy missed 2/3rd's of 07), and Wally.Wallace is a fantastic fella, let alone coach and to quote his newspaper interview "I'm not here to stuff around"

19th Man
15 Dec 2007, 23:23
Word is Thomson are dead set filthy on last year and have had unprecedented numbers at training.Had a squizz at training last Monday night and for December, looked very sharp.
12 continual years in the finals and will be very tough in '08.Forward line structure of Maheras, McLeod's (x 2), Gardiner (yes, we all forget Timmy missed 2/3rd's of 07), and Wally.Wallace is a fantastic fella, let alone coach and to quote his newspaper interview "I'm not here to stuff around"

A fairly old Fwd line there Thommy. Sides like East, who move the footy quickly from defence, will trouble them, if Thomson's mid's don't deliver the ball properly.
Heard Tom Harriot is going O/S for majority of the preseason, and possibily the start of 08. With his recent injuries, not an ideal prep.

Up the ante
16 Dec 2007, 08:23
A fairly old Fwd line there Thommy. Sides like East, who move the footy quickly from defence, will trouble them, if Thomson's mid's don't deliver the ball properly.
Heard Tom Harriot is going O/S for majority of the preseason, and possibily the start of 08. With his recent injuries, not an ideal prep.

Tom Harriot will be back in time and fit enough, Thomson will finish top 3 for sure.

Wiskers32
16 Dec 2007, 09:37

i think you will find that jackson mcleod will be at falcons for most of the year and wont play as many games as we all think, not sure on brent tho but he can play the kid.

juniorcat29
16 Dec 2007, 09:48
i think u will find that brent will be training and most likely playing with the falcons at the start of the season:thumbsu:

Buddah
16 Dec 2007, 09:49
Corio had meet the coach friday night and had 50 plus there, massive numbers for the meet the coach night and harris isnt playing not cause of contract but work commitments if he plays it will be at corio but he lives in melbourne and works alot of shift work. Aitkin is definately playing at corio he has never played senior finals footy so theres no chance he will miss the oppurtunity to play in what will be the best side corio has ever put on the park from what ive herd the reserves side would probably beat the bottom half of the senior ladder next year aswell. The devils for my mind seniors and reserves in 08

Up the ante
16 Dec 2007, 09:53
Corio had meet the coach friday night and had 50 plus there, massive numbers for the meet the coach night and harris isnt playing not cause of contract but work commitments if he plays it will be at corio but he lives in melbourne and works alot of shift work. Aitkin is definately playing at corio he has never played senior finals footy so theres no chance he will miss the oppurtunity to play in what will be the best side corio has ever put on the park from what ive herd the reserves side would probably beat the bottom half of the senior ladder next year aswell. The devils for my mind seniors and reserves in 08

I agree Buddah, with the squad they've got they are odds on. They'll beat Thomson or East in the grand final.

Thomson 2008
16 Dec 2007, 10:27
Jackson Will be playing at Thomson and Brent is going to Geelong Grammer and that where Brent will be playing his sports next year

city tigers
16 Dec 2007, 16:16
Hey City Tigers whats the story with Dan Gage wheres he at???
afternoon parrot14, i havn't seen gagey for a while so i couldn't tell ya. only in the 2nd week of preseason

city tigers
16 Dec 2007, 16:35
u can throw a fella in there aswell 19th man by the name of brent hood he must be getting on in age (25yrsold). and as for harriot, been there every night training the house down. he's going on a holiday early 08, not on a 2 year working visa

19th Man
17 Dec 2007, 14:35

A mate of mine drove past their ground @ about 7pm, and only saw a dozen or so blokes with footballs. Unless they were out for a road run?

As for Aitken, he has trained once thus far, and from all reports, pulled up terrible. The exact reason for his early departure last season. Will be a big effort for him to get his body right, but is a good player when fit.

Other than that, your quite right. Should everyone stay on the park, will be thereabouts come season's end.

19th Man
17 Dec 2007, 14:42
u can throw a fella in there aswell 19th man by the name of brent hood he must be getting on in age (25yrsold). and as for harriot, been there every night training the house down. he's going on a holiday early 08, not on a 2 year working visa

Now, now, no need for sarcasim. Was just stating the obvious.
Maheras-(app 35), Gardiner-(33app), Wallace-(31-32app), Harriot-(app 31).
Last time I played, we only had 6 forwards. Include Babb and Mcleod and 3/4's of your fwd line are well into their twilight years!

Just thought at his age/injuries, to miss a month or two could be a problem.

Buddah
17 Dec 2007, 15:14
A mate of mine drove past their ground @ about 7pm, and only saw a dozen or so blokes with footballs. Unless they were out for a road run?

As for Aitken, he has trained once thus far, and from all reports, pulled up terrible. The exact reason for his early departure last season. Will be a big effort for him to get his body right, but is a good player when fit.

Other than that, your quite right. Should everyone stay on the park, will be thereabouts come season's end.

They trained from 5.30 till 6.30 i popped in for a quick beer around 7 and the guys out there were just havin a bit of kick to kick there was bout 40 in social rooms. Aitkin dont know thought he was 100% comitted, apparently theres a bit of doubt now. I know Bazza and Ricky really wont him to play for one more year so hopefully they can get him fired up.

city tigers
17 Dec 2007, 15:50
Now, now, no need for sarcasim. Was just stating the obvious.
Last time I played, we only had 6 forwards. Include Babb and Mcleod and 3/4's of your fwd line are well into their twilight years!

those 4 are into there twilight years but in saying that maheras and wallace will definately take the 2 best defenders in any side which will then free up blokes like harriot, gardiner, mcleod (75 goals in 07) and brent hood who would be the best crumber in the comp to take the lesser likes. still a potent forward line. you agree?

watch_this_space
17 Dec 2007, 17:42
This forum is fast becoming a chat room for Thomson. What about the other clubs? in particular GWCFC and Anakie? haven"t heard anything about these clubs, has the internet not reached them yet?

croat
17 Dec 2007, 18:06
Seems the approach by Queenscliff a few months ago to join the GDFL has gone through with very little discussion. What are the thoughts about this?
I for one think the GDFL have missed a chance to apply the squeeze on the BFL by not taking Queenscliff.

Wiskers32
17 Dec 2007, 18:45
This forum is fast becoming a chat room for Thomson. What about the other clubs? in particular GWCFC and Anakie? haven"t heard anything about these clubs, has the internet not reached them yet?

who honestly cares about geelong west cheetahs, there only decent player they have produced is luke forstar

parrot14
17 Dec 2007, 19:06
who honestly cares about geelong west cheetahs, there only decent player they have produced is luke forstar
What about Andrew Williams and the best coach in the district in Brett(kevin) Sheedy!!!
The cheetahs for the flag in 08:confused:

Wiskers32
17 Dec 2007, 19:22
What about Andrew Williams and the best coach in the district in Brett(kevin) Sheedy!!!
The cheetahs for the flag in 08:confused:

mate you are a dead set chop, are you smoking at this present time or not mate.

city tigers
17 Dec 2007, 19:53
thats coz thomson is the place to be. couldnt give a fat rats about west but the boys from fairy park are a good bunch. they have the best hamburgers in geelong footy. mmm tasty!!!

Jimmy Cracker
17 Dec 2007, 19:57
I've been told that Blue West have had over 50 at training each night, have lost no one and have picked up a couple of players from the bush along with some handy GFL types and so more to come after Xmas

Buddah
17 Dec 2007, 20:29
I've been told that Blue West have had over 50 at training each night, have lost no one and have picked up a couple of players from the bush along with some handy GFL types and so more to come after Xmas

they need a heap of gfl players not a few unfortunately they will be down the bottom 5 again

Buddah
17 Dec 2007, 20:32

Anakie did have internet but after paying out $70,000 last 2 years and not making finals everyone has had to have internet cut off to try to raise more money for 08 season. they would have to be the most disappointed club over the past 2 years theve promised so much and deliverd nothing.

sleepy tiger
17 Dec 2007, 20:47
anakie are no good they should stick to the tractor pull

Drago
17 Dec 2007, 21:26
I agree Buddah, with the squad they've got they are odds on. They'll beat Thomson or East in the grand final.
Lets get a bit carried away. Agree they have picked up 2 confirmed A graders in O'toole and Stewart and a potential A grader in Nicholls (I say potential as injuries and other things might hold him back) but the rest (manning, ferguson) are good players not superstars and given where you finished last year you have a bit of catching up to do.

Lets have a look at the lists in Feb when clearances are flowing and everyones cards on the table because at the moment there are a couple of clubs keeping very quiet about recruiting programs and some of the players that might go across may suprise in regard to the quality.

ExtendTheDukes
17 Dec 2007, 22:29

There seems to be a lot of comments on this thread about guys in there 30's being well past it and seemingly just about ready for retirement homes.

Although the quality of the GDFL has improved heaps in the last few years it is still a district league. 30 year olds still play great footy and contribute in all leagues including the GFL and AFL. They're not just in the GDFL. I agree their best footy may be behind them and they do have a greater risk of injuries however as long as these guys play at a good level, the quality young locals ready for senior footy aren't being held back in the seconds and the club has a good mix of youth that can learn from these experienced guys, I can't see a problem.

I think the main thing is that you have to have a good mix of youth with experience. Just my opinion.

kitchwfc
17 Dec 2007, 23:04
is there any new players heading to winch??

19th Man
18 Dec 2007, 10:41
those 4 are into there twilight years but in saying that maheras and wallace will definately take the 2 best defenders in any side which will then free up blokes like harriot, gardiner, mcleod (75 goals in 07) and brent hood who would be the best crumber in the comp to take the lesser likes. still a potent forward line. you agree?

I do agree, but just raised the question on age. As we all know, it does't get any easier.