View Full Version : GDFL Geelong and District Football League
The local paper in Werribee has reported today that even if the GDFL goes ahead this year there is no guarantee that the Centurions will be how to field a side in the competition because of a drastic lack of numbers.
This is a club that won 4 flags in 6 years including 3 in a row from 1999-2001 and then another one in 2004.
I have seen Bell post hill train too times and werribee once.
Mate you are a goose.
I actually meant skrobolak making a name for himself in coaching.
I enjoy people who take on challenges like they have and you probably wouldnt because you are a computer fat pig. I hace played the game and the way you talk you havent.
Kooley, if you really need to know who i am and why i follow these guys.
I am a local geelong guy i have family in torquay where Skrobolak made a huge impact on many people. My nephew plays in the junior and idolises the big man.
I thought i would go down and have a look myself and he was fantastic with the kids, supporters and players. He respected anyone that spoke to him and that he spoke to.
I am also very happy that he is now in the gdfl and i will follow them and the guys he brings.
East for premiers 2007.
Kooley let me know when you achieve something and i will then support you.
19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 15:45
Mate you are a goose.
I enjoy people who take on challenges like they have and you probably wouldnt because you are a computer fat pig. I hace played the game and the way you talk you havent.
Was there much difference between the two? (numbers, talls, skill) and how do they compare to Torquay of last year at this early stage?
Kooley, if you really need to know who i am and why i follow these guys.
I am a local geelong guy i have family in torquay where Skrobolak made a huge impact on many people. My nephew plays in the junior and idolises the big man.
I thought i would go down and have a look myself and he was fantastic with the kids, supporters and players. He respected anyone that spoke to him and that he spoke to.
I am also very happy that he is now in the gdfl and i will follow them and the guys he brings.
East for premiers 2007.
Kooley let me know when you achieve something and i will then support you.You sound like you're full of ******** idiot. Please don't brag about your so called achievements on a footy forum...I'd put my house on you being either Skrobolak's brother or Coy.
For the record peannut where did you actually watch Werribee Centrals train?
Mate you are a goose.
I enjoy people who take on challenges like they have and you probably wouldnt because you are a computer fat pig. I hace played the game and the way you talk you havent.You must have alot of time on your hands if you can be bothered travelling back and forward from Geelong to Werribee to watch GDFL teams train.
You are the one who sounds like a goose. :p
Sticks23
26 Jan 2007, 07:14
Skroba's younger brother isn't any good maybe alright in the 2's that's about it. Don't get your hopes up to high!!!!
I'm sure big Skroba and Coy will flog em in the GDFL, went and watched the BFL GF last year and the Standard was ordinary so dropping down another league these boys should dominate!!!
Ive been getting around to a few club training sessions, last nigth my mate went down and watched the eagles train for the last 30mins.
He said they looked very sharp. Also younger brother of skrobolak trained and looked very good. He is a backman that is suggested to be very talented and from what i hear last night got a few eagles excited.
Players are impressed with the coach and young coy as assistant, he seems to be making a great reputation in the coaching ranks.
Lion King
26 Jan 2007, 07:27
Keep an eye out for whats going on at Winter Reserve... Can't say too much, but they might be going a bit better than some think! ;)
caveman
26 Jan 2007, 07:41
Keep an eye out for whats going on at Winter Reserve... Can't say too much, but they might be going a bit better than some think! ;)
That sounds promising! I look forward to hearing more. Go Lions!!!
Who is coaching Belmont this year?
Lion King
26 Jan 2007, 09:59
I haven't heard, but i was driving down Kidman Ave last week and saw some interesting faces from local football circles having a in depth chat.. It'll be a big story if they pull it off
-Junior-
26 Jan 2007, 10:26
I haven't heard, but i was driving down Kidman Ave last week and saw some interesting faces from local football circles having a in depth chat.. It'll be a big story if they pull it off
you saw them having an in-depth chat as you drove past??
Lion King
26 Jan 2007, 10:32
Yeah.. U could see them quite clearly. Real big blokes they were. Big enough to handle any full forward in the GDFL.
NoRumoursAllFact
26 Jan 2007, 14:11
You sound like you're full of ******** idiot. Please don't brag about your so called achievements on a footy forum...I'd put my house on you being either Skrobolak's brother or Coy.
For the record peannut where did you actually watch Werribee Centrals train?
ur house is obviously worth bugger all to u. Im sure those boys have got nothing better to do than to get on this forum and start convo about themselves so losers like u can make uninformed comments.
To b honest id b surprised if the younger skrobalak even has a computer.
Ive read a few of ur past posts too and the amount of rot that comes out of ur mouth is laughable in heaps of threads.. u must have a fulfilling life
ur house is obviously worth bugger all to u. Im sure those boys have got nothing better to do than to get on this forum and start convo about themselves so losers like u can make uninformed comments.
To b honest id b surprised if the younger skrobalak even has a computer.
Ive read a few of ur past posts too and the amount of rot that comes out of ur mouth is laughable in heaps of threads.. u must have a fulfilling lifeI just read your total of 14 posts, and I was interested to read in one of them that you're very keen to endorse and stick up for one Josh Coy and you also seem to know alot about him...
It's clear that you're Coy and your stupid offsider (obi 1) is skrobolaks brother.
:D :D
NoRumoursAllFact
26 Jan 2007, 19:11
Geez u change ur story a bit..
adriantimmis
26 Jan 2007, 20:13
Any you blokes heard of a bloke called josh bell he is a good player, but how does he go in your comp, i think he plays for st joeys.
Im a torquay supporter u moron and i'll stick up 4 anyone who plays or has played there. And the fact is judging by u jumping into any posts about east geelong is that ur a parrot who's a bit worried about their chances.
If ur so keen on finding out who everyone else is instead of using the forum to talk about footy gossip why dont u expose who u r :cool:You have offered nothing to this thread hypocite so don't accuse me of not talking footy.
as far as east geelong are concerned they would have to be the biggest pretenders going around.
whippety boy
26 Jan 2007, 20:46
Im a torquay supporter u moron and i'll stick up 4 anyone who plays or has played there. And the fact is judging by u jumping into any posts about east geelong is that ur a parrot who's a bit worried about their chances.
If ur so keen on finding out who everyone else is instead of using the forum to talk about footy gossip why dont u expose who u r :cool:Sounds like a club in disarrays Torquay talk about self destructing after winning their first premiership in God knows how many years.
Must be a pretty special place if half of their players jump ship after a premiership year!!!!!:confused:
19th Man
26 Jan 2007, 21:30
Sounds like a club in disarrays Torquay talk about self destructing after winning their first premiership in God knows how many years.
Must be a pretty special place if half of their players jump ship after a premiership year!!!!!:confused:
Today's addy reported that a few of them are in court facing assult charges, seems a good year turned into shi t. Back to the drawing board!
lion king how they travelling with there finances i herd they were in alot of trouble. i hope they can find there way back there not a bad bunch of blokes out there
Lion King
27 Jan 2007, 12:01
Money's always a problem with Local football clubs. GDFL clubs should never have cash problems with thier shareholdings in Buckley's, but they all still struggle. The Lions are still paying for the upgrade to thier rooms a couple of years ago. The local council don't pay for upgrades to social rooms and bars ect. so eventually all clubs may have to run some debt if they want new facilities for thier players and members. Lets hope the Lions are around for a while yet so we can enjoy thier nice rooms.
Crisis meeting to be held at Werribee Centrals. It appears at this stage that it is more than likely than not that the once poerful team from the West of Geelong may not be able to enter a team in the GDFL in 2007. Players are leaving the leaving the club left right and centre and the club will struggle to field one team let alone two.
they will be fine if we all remember the same happened at corio last year and they still did ok
Money's always a problem with Local football clubs. GDFL clubs should never have cash problems with thier shareholdings in Buckley's, but they all still struggle. The Lions are still paying for the upgrade to thier rooms a couple of years ago. The local council don't pay for upgrades to social rooms and bars ect. so eventually all clubs may have to run some debt if they want new facilities for thier players and members. Lets hope the Lions are around for a while yet so we can enjoy thier nice rooms.
very true i hope they do well all clubs have money problems no one ever has enough
caveman
27 Jan 2007, 19:51
Does anyone know if the radio station that broadcasts the GDFL broadcasts online as well? CAn someone tell me what the radio station is called again.
Lion King
28 Jan 2007, 10:31
97.4 The Pulse fm. They have a web site but no broadcast.
they will be fine if we all remember the same happened at corio last year and they still did okCentrals have been training for a week and they have only had 8 players on the track for both nights. I don't care what anyone says they are extremely small and disturbing numbers.
Centrals have been training for a week and they have only had 8 players on the track for both nights. I don't care what anyone says they are extremely small and disturbing numbers.
Where have all their players gone? Who is coaching them now?
Where have all their players gone? Who is coaching them now?Read back through the posts mate, it has been mentioned a number of times who the new coach is and where all their players have gone.
19th Man
29 Jan 2007, 12:18
Word has it, that a couple of high profile players from Thompson, one being the coach, had seriously considered playing down Warrnambool way if a full season was not assured! Can anyone confirm this?
Bernie Q
29 Jan 2007, 13:29
Ive been getting around to a few club training sessions, last nigth my mate went down and watched the eagles train for the last 30mins.
He said they looked very sharp. Also younger brother of skrobolak trained and looked very good. He is a backman that is suggested to be very talented and from what i hear last night got a few eagles excited.
Players are impressed with the coach and young coy as assistant, he seems to be making a great reputation in the coaching ranks.
Which brother?? Glen or Dean?? Glen's a cricketer and Dean's a Tennis player, haven't known of either to really don the boots
PALMERS PUNCHLINES
29 Jan 2007, 16:10
Based on winning the last two flags and recruiting some high profile players I would imagine Thompson will be the benchmark again this year in the GDFL, but who are the other contenders now Werribee are a shambles? Can any other clubs come from the pack? Seem to be a lot going under the radar eg Anakie, Nth Geelong?? What would be the top 3 teams and a roughy?
i herd anakie have opened the cheaque book again so who nows how they will go, the hill sound like they have picked up alright, east have picked up 5 or 6 from torquay, north have lost a few and picked up a few so they will be there abouts again havnt herd much about anyone else.
does anyone know anything about other clubs?
Read back through the posts mate, it has been mentioned a number of times who the new coach is and where all their players have gone.
Thanks for the tip. Is Cori the same Wallace that played for Spotswood in the WRFL?
Thanks for the tip. Is Cori the same Wallace that played for Spotswood in the WRFL?yes he is the same cori wallace who played for spotty in the wrfl. he has been the assistant coach at werribee centrals for the past 3 seasons.
19th Man
30 Jan 2007, 09:31
Any truth of Fastuca heading back to Hoppers Crossing?
Any truth of Fastuca heading back to Hoppers Crossing?The word is he trained at Centrals both nights last week but there was an article on him in the Werribee Banner last week basically saying he is giving the club two weeks to attract some players or he is on his bike to another club. Hoppers would definitely be in the mix.
SWANNEES
30 Jan 2007, 10:34
Any truth of Fastuca heading back to Hoppers Crossing?
if centrals play will stay if not hoppers favourite to get
19th Man
30 Jan 2007, 14:41
Surely, he wont be as dominant back at Hoppers, having played many years at District level.
Werribee central will be no good at all.
What makes you think Skrobolak junior will be know good?
Skrobolak and coy dominated last year so its not a huge statement to say they will dominate GDFL. Skrobolak 100 goals Coy top 10 in League Best and fairest.
Werribee central will be no good at all.
What makes you think Skrobolak junior will be know good?
Skrobolak and coy dominated last year so its not a huge statement to say they will dominate GDFL. Skrobolak 100 goals Coy top 10 in League Best and fairest.really einstein!!!:D they have had a total of 8 players on the track so far for pre-season so it's a fair bet they will be no good. in fact noone on here has said any different.
skrobolak should kick the tonne but let me say its no easy feat to do it in the gdfl regardless of how good you're. east will need to dramatically improve their midfield to actually get the ball down to him.
as far as coy goes it's no great accomplishment to finsih top 10 in the gdfl league b&f.
Einstein, Thats a good way to discribe me for sure.
I was a statement moron. Lets see you come up with something?
Instead of bagging people why dont you find some news and let everyone know about it instead of sitting in from of your computer all day in you tight stone was jeans that are WAY to short and you chombray shirt and your big coke bottle glasses.
Come on mate give me something
Thanks for the tip. Is Cori the same Wallace that played for Spotswood in the WRFL?
Obe it is the same Wallace who played at Spotswood. When he got the job at centrals I think he was expecting some of his old teammates like Tobin to come over. But he has recruited no one and I heard just last week he has given the ok to Brad MAYBERRY and Matt Shannon to get clearances to Barwon heads after both only spending 1 season at centrals. As posted elsewhere it appears fastuca will also leave. I can't see them having a team this year
Einstein, Thats a good way to discribe me for sure.
I was a statement moron. Lets see you come up with something?
Instead of bagging people why dont you find some news and let everyone know about it instead of sitting in from of your computer all day in you tight stone was jeans that are WAY to short and you chombray shirt and your big coke bottle glasses.
Come on mate give me somethingLearn how write first dumby and people on here might be how to communicate with you a little better.....:eek:
Whispers
31 Jan 2007, 09:55
What else is news in the GDFL besides Werribee, Json Fastuca and East Geelong's 'rise from the bottom of the ladder'.
Anything!?
What else is news in the GDFL besides Werribee, Json Fastuca and East Geelong's 'rise from the bottom of the ladder'.
Anything!?To be fair Whispers I think the story of Weribee Centrals possibly folding for 2007 season would be by far the biggest story circulating in the Geelong region at present. That includes the other to leagues as well.
mondays expert
31 Jan 2007, 13:58
To be fair Whispers I think the story of Weribee Centrals possibly folding for 2007 season would be by far the biggest story circulating in the Geelong region at present. That includes the other to leagues as well.
Werribee wont fold surely, they will be ordinary by the sounds of it but surely they can find 43 blokes to get out there on weekends, even if they dont train.
Kooley have things improved down there yet???
Werribee wont fold surely, they will be ordinary by the sounds of it but surely they can find 43 blokes to get out there on weekends, even if they dont train.
Kooley have things improved down there yet???
i agree they wont fold there looking at having two under 18s side in the gdfl this year and they will always field a senior side, werribee is too big a place to say they cant find 50 blokes to play footy they dont have to be competitive they just have to field two teams and they will.
Kooley have things improved down there yet???apparently they had 15 on the track last night which is an improvement on 8.
21 next week, 28 the week after, 35 then 42. they're laughing. :cool:
Lion King
31 Jan 2007, 15:14
Come on boys. Werribee is a big story... The Thommy Tiger's will be to good... Stroba to kick plenty.. We're better than this! Ask the hard questions. Will West take the next step? Are Inverleigh just treading water? Belmont haven't started training, what's with that? let's get to some meaty subjects..
ok do you no anything about north bannoc corio anakie or winch
bob7965
31 Jan 2007, 18:49
as far as coy goes it's no great accomplishment to finsih top 10 in the gdfl league b&f.[/QUOTE]
So tell us who you are superstar. Not a great accomplishment? You moron. Anyone who finishes top 10 in the league BandF is a decent player in my books.
as far as coy goes it's no great accomplishment to finsih top 10 in the gdfl league b&f.
So tell us who you are superstar. Not a great accomplishment? You moron. Anyone who finishes top 10 in the league BandF is a decent player in my books.[/QUOTE]my point f u c k knuckle is that league b&f's in lower comps are voted by umpires who haven't got a clue who they're voting for.
secondly a **************** like yourself wouldn't own a book.
Lion King
31 Jan 2007, 20:20
of course we need to rate the rest. This is gonna be a great season... 16 rounds of dynamic footy. I ask a question... it's the 31st of Jan. Is 11 weeks a long enough pre season for the Belmont Lions?
Whispers
1 Feb 2007, 09:48
To be fair Whispers I think the story of Weribee Centrals possibly folding for 2007 season would be by far the biggest story circulating in the Geelong region at present. That includes the other to leagues as well.
I accept that its big news but I wouldn't go that far to say that they might fold. Someone refered to Corio last year and they managed to field two competitive teams. Would hate to see any local club fold so I hope they find some players.
Banno would be sweating on the fact that Alister Woods is training with former club Geelong West. Woods is featured in one of the photos in todays Addy, however, knowing the addy, it may be a photo from two seasons back.
Whispers
1 Feb 2007, 09:53
of course we need to rate the rest. This is gonna be a great season... 16 rounds of dynamic footy. I ask a question... it's the 31st of Jan. Is 11 weeks a long enough pre season for the Belmont Lions?
Surely not... Break a pre-season down. First two weeks is getting to know your team mates, next five is to get fit, the following two - three working on tactics and game plans with some practice matches... they aren't leaving much room for adjustment (ie. if they can only get 10 - 15 to traing in the first weeks, everything gets moved back a week or two).
Silly management.
Coy finished in the top 10 in the league in the BFL not the GDFL which makes it even better.
I think it is the younger coy who dod this and is now assistant coach but i could be wrong he has a brother.
So superstar Kooley what do you think of his achivement?
I heard Kooley finished top 10 in the local over 28 chinese checkers comp last year. WELL DONE KOOLEY FROM ALL YOU BIGFOOTY FRIENDS.
Coy finished in the top 10 in the league in the BFL not the GDFL which makes it even better.
I think it is the younger coy who dod this and is now assistant coach but i could be wrong he has a brother.
I heard Kooley finished top 10 in the local over 28 chinese checkers comp last year. WELL DONE KOOLEY FROM ALL YOU BIGFOOTY FRIENDS.as i've said before if you want to be a smartarse learn how to write!!:p
believe me idiot it will help.:thumbsd:
I heard Kooley finished top 10 in the local over 28 chinese checkers comp last year. WELL DONE KOOLEY FROM ALL YOU BIGFOOTY FRIENDS.Hey mate what's you fascination with this Coy bloke?
You sound like you're in Love with him. Did you know stalking is a crime?
mondays expert
1 Feb 2007, 20:54
I accept that its big news but I wouldn't go that far to say that they might fold. Someone refered to Corio last year and they managed to field two competitive teams. Would hate to see any local club fold so I hope they find some players.
Banno would be sweating on the fact that Alister Woods is training with former club Geelong West. Woods is featured in one of the photos in todays Addy, however, knowing the addy, it may be a photo from two seasons back.
Have a closer look at the photo Whispers that is not alistair woods, asked a bloke down there if he has been around and has not been cited at any west training sessions.
The same picture I see an ex AFL player that looks like he is carrying abit around the waist from the photo shot!!!
I am defending something he has done that none of you could probably ever do. People like Kooley love to bag people but i would suspect has never played a decent game of footy himself.
I havent played much footy either but as you can see i dont go around bagging everyman and his dog like Kooley the chinese checkers champ seems to be doing.
Whispers
2 Feb 2007, 09:14
I realised that when I bumped into Woodsy yesterday funnily enough and he mentioned that he was at Banno training on Wednesday night. My bad but a good look a like.. especially with the black and gold shorts on.
19th Man
2 Feb 2007, 10:12
All this facination with Skroba and Coy amuses me. If you all look back to when they played in a country comp of a higher standard (Ballarat 2004), Skroba kicked 7 goals for the year (not sure his position), and barely a mention in the best. Coy was even worse, in both goals and team contribution.
So, either the Bellarine Football League is terrible, or the Ballarat FL is best in country Vic.
They are not that good! I rate Suto a much better forward, and Fastuca, Gercovich, Lewis etc would pull Coy's pants down
All this facination with Skroba and Coy amuses me. If you all look back to when they played in a country comp of a higher standard (Ballarat 2004), Skroba kicked 7 goals for the year (not sure his position), and barely a mention in the best. Coy was even worse, in both goals and team contribution.
So, either the Bellarine Football League is terrible, or the Ballarat FL is best in country Vic.
They are not that good! I rate Suto a much better forward, and Fastuca, Gercovich, Lewis etc would pull Coy's pants downExactly right, Coy wouldn't even get close to the guys you have mentioned and there would be quite a few more who would be alot better than him. Pull your head in Obi 1 you are making a fool out of yourself.
adriantimmis
2 Feb 2007, 11:47
Has anyone heard of a bloke called josh bell, just wanted to know if he is any good, played with st joeys 2 years ago.
Does not like the hard ball young Josh doesn`t:eek:
Has anyone heard of a bloke called josh bell, just wanted to know if he is any good, played with st joeys 2 years ago.What GDFL club is he playing for?
Lion King
2 Feb 2007, 15:15
I don't want to use this forum to ********can blokes, but a lot of guy's have come to the GDFL with huge raps and little regard for the competition. If these bloke show thier opponents the same respect that they showed in other leagues they'll do well. The GDFL is like no other league... If you understand that, your half way there!
19th Man
2 Feb 2007, 15:34
I don't want to use this forum to ********can blokes, but a lot of guy's have come to the GDFL with huge raps and little regard for the competition. If these bloke show thier opponents the same respect that they showed in other leagues they'll do well. The GDFL is like no other league... If you understand that, your half way there!
Not a bad call!
adriantimmis
2 Feb 2007, 15:35
Get off your high horse mate, the geelong comp isnt the greatest league. You need to get over yourself.
My mate Joshy Bell should dominate in your comp, he has respect and loves the in and under stuff.
Carn St Joey's.
19th Man
2 Feb 2007, 15:45
Get off your high horse mate, the geelong comp isnt the greatest league. You need to get over yourself.
My mate Joshy Bell should dominate in your comp, he has respect and loves the in and under stuff.
Carn St Joey's.
You GFL people truely believe that you are the best comp outside of the AFL, and don't have any respect for the other leagues. It's a good standard, but has teams that are very ordinary. Get off your own high horse, because there are plenty of players in the area who could, have or can't be bothered, playing in the other leagues.
adriantimmis
2 Feb 2007, 15:46
Good one Nobba.
keep on trucking
Lion King
2 Feb 2007, 16:27
Carn St Joey's.
Your probable Right Adrian, but GDFL grounds are littered with the broken dreams of gun GFL superstars left shattered by Jason, Timmy, Atchy and Trot's.... Bring on Joshy and others like him, tell him to bring his "A" game or he'll join the list...:)
anyone interested in telling me who this guy will be playing for??
dang-bot
3 Feb 2007, 13:00
skillfull hard young eaglhawk young man on the move from the bfl, has anyone seen he's name as a recruit in this league? i know he's good mate craig mensforth plays for st joepth or something. reply if here about where this kid is at! good pick up as he would also give you hes last $20, even at the pub!
19th man, i can only judge these 2 on what i have seen and heard from the last 2 years.
You may be right the Ballarat league may be strong but i would suggest there may be reasons for this. Coy is young so may have improved as all do with age. Skrobolak may of play CHF or even Ruck and if this is so where did Bacchus Marsh finish that year?
I always like to find out some backround before quoting figures.
19th man, i can only judge these 2 on what i have seen and heard from the last 2 years.
You may be right the Ballarat league may be strong but i would suggest there may be reasons for this. Coy is young so may have improved as all do with age. Skrobolak may of play CHF or even Ruck and if this is so where did Bacchus Marsh finish that year?
I always like to find out some backround before quoting figures.so what you're a basically saying is that because bacchus marsh finished near the bottom theses two lads probably didn't do much like they did in a strong side in the bellarine....they both sound like front runners to me.
so what you're a basically saying is that because bacchus marsh finished near the bottom theses two lads probably didn't do much like they did in a strong side in the bellarine....they both sound like front runners to me.
Played against them both Scrobba is handy but Coy is an overated little bit of s h i t. Scared and for a little fella who claims to be an onballer has terrible skills.. WILL GET EXPOSED IN A BAD SIDE..
You GFL people truely believe that you are the best comp outside of the AFL, and don't have any respect for the other leagues. It's a good standard, but has teams that are very ordinary. Get off your own high horse, because there are plenty of players in the area who could, have or can't be bothered, playing in the other leagues.
Then which league are you from hero..
Played against them both Scrobba is handy but Coy is an overated little bit of s h i t. Scared and for a little fella who claims to be an onballer has terrible skills.. WILL GET EXPOSED IN A BAD SIDE..i thought as such.
What i am saying is Skrobolak may of played in the ruck or chb. I would imagine he kicked more than 7 goals anyway. I think 19th man was taking a stab in the dark.
What about injuries? There is a lot of things that may have happended. Eg, suspention, playing injured.
I know a guy who is a trainer at Melton South (works at Werribee RSL) he said he doesnt knwo much about coy but skrobolak was a gun and was asked to play Interlegue most years but never played because of injury.
He also said Perret will be good in the GDFL as he has a booming left foot, but is a little fat.
PALMERS PUNCHLINES
6 Feb 2007, 10:37
Played against them both Scrobba is handy but Coy is an overated little bit of s h i t. Scared and for a little fella who claims to be an onballer has terrible skills.. WILL GET EXPOSED IN A BAD SIDE..
Reading thru the last few weeks, everyone seems to be slagging these two and the Geelong E f/club quite a bit, what league have you played against them in? Admittedly I have seen very little GDFL footy, but compared to other leagues I have watched a bit of, GFL, BFL, Ballarat and even central highlands, the GDFL seems to have very little depth. 3 -5 quality players in each side 10 or so solid types and the rest ordinary older hasbeens or never weres! Surely after a flag, they wouldnt have taken on the job at East if they didnt think they could (a) play well and (b) give it a real shake for another priemership?
19th Man
6 Feb 2007, 10:47
Reading thru the last few weeks, everyone seems to be slagging these two and the Geelong E f/club quite a bit, what league have you played against them in? Admittedly I have seen very little GDFL footy, but compared to other leagues I have watched a bit of, GFL, BFL, Ballarat and even central highlands, the GDFL seems to have very little depth. 3 -5 quality players in each side 10 or so solid types and the rest ordinary older hasbeens or never weres! Surely after a flag, they wouldnt have taken on the job at East if they didnt think they could (a) play well and (b) give it a real shake for another priemership?
It's not a case of slagging, but they join the League with big reputations of dominating, yet I know of better footballers who have their measure.
Sticks23
6 Feb 2007, 11:02
With all this talk about Scroba & Coy i would say one thing they do have a premership medallion from last year and under circumstances that probably wasn't scroba;s fault had to move on. Watched the BFL GF last year and the standard isn't great but they obviously went well individually as well as a team. I'm sure if they have dropped down another league they should go well again.
mondays expert
6 Feb 2007, 11:52
Anyway boys lets get off this topic Skroba will kick plenty if it comes down enough and coy who cares good luck to them both at least east have made one big improvement getting rid of that absolute idiot McCurry. One of the biggest dills on the footy field ive ever come across.
Anyway boys lets get off this topic Skroba will kick plenty if it comes down enough and coy who cares good luck to them both at least east have made one big improvement getting rid of that absolute idiot McCurry. One of the biggest dills on the footy field ive ever come across.agree 100%. he was a total waste of space a crap footballer to boot...what east need is a solid individual who can not only play but can also lead from the front.
Well lets get some new topics up here and i will be happy with that.
Is there any new footballers to the distric that could make a difference in 2007?
Well lets get some new topics up here and i will be happy with that.
Is there any new footballers to the distric that could make a difference in 2007?
1. Weve herd heaps about east geelong a bit about bell post hill, werribee, winch and belmont what about all the other clubs?
2 What does everyone think about the 2007 g.d.f.l draw?
1. Weve herd heaps about east geelong a bit about bell post hill, werribee, winch and belmont what about all the other clubs?
2 What does everyone think about the 2007 g.d.f.l draw?what is the draw, haven't seen it as yet?
what is the draw, haven't seen it as yet?
bph, werribee ,corio ,inverlie ,bannoc, winch all play the first 5 or 6 games at home then the draw goes back to normal until the last 5 or 6 games which it gets reversed so the those teams will play the last 5 or 6 away i dont no if its a good draw or bad one but you need all the money on gate bar and canteen at the end of year so the teams that have good grounds at the start of the season r getting punished i think whats your thoughts
Do ypu think the draw suits teams playing home games first or second?
Highlight
6 Feb 2007, 19:48
I would put forward that the teams playing home first will have a distinct advantage. This is where the coaches will come into play, if they can come up with good ideas to make there team stay on a high they will set themselves up.
I havent heard much about north Geelong. Who is there coach?
19th Man
7 Feb 2007, 03:35
The fixtures are up the s@#t. Werribee plays against themselves in round nine, and twice in round 14. The Hill boy's wont be too happy, having to play Thomson 3 times during the season. Thomson have a couple of home games scheduled down at Werribee, and Belmont play BPH twice within 3 weeks. The faulty list goes on.
Surely the league has not finalised it yet!
The fixtures are up the s@#t. Werribee plays against themselves in round nine, and twice in round 14. The Hill boy's wont be too happy, having to play Thomson 3 times during the season. Thomson have a couple of home games scheduled down at Werribee, and Belmont play BPH twice within 3 weeks. The faulty list goes on.
Surely the league has not finalised it yet!are all games scheduled for saturdays????
Surely the league has not finalised it yet!
na the one you have seen was an e.g the finalised one has all teams having 8 games at home and 8 away its its virtually you play 5 or 6 at home then one or two away one at home and the rest away and the opposit for the for the teams that play away the first 5 or 6 games
Highlight
7 Feb 2007, 14:56
Do you play in the gdfl Kooley?
Just reading back on a few comments you have made, looks like you either know a lot about many players or you guess. I would put forward that you are guessing.
Do you play or are you a interested supporter and if you are a supporter who for?
are all games scheduled for saturdays????
yes they are
Do you play in the gdfl Kooley?
Just reading back on a few comments you have made, looks like you either know a lot about many players or you guess. I would put forward that you are guessing.
Do you play or are you a interested supporter and if you are a supporter who for?what makes you say i'm guessing??:confused: