View Full Version : GDFL Geelong and District Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

wonderin1
28 Feb 2008, 20:56
drove past centrals trainin tonight and they had some serious numbers there.. also how many teams in under 18's comp this yr..

Drago
29 Feb 2008, 08:42
OH devil, mate I am on your side!
Its that loser Drago I was referring too.
Drago, knows it was directed at him, thats why he is hiding again.
East have one bloke, ha ha, in the ones thats played juniors there.
And its been like that for years.
Sorry champ not hiding but some of us have to work so cant spend all my time responding to your rubbish.

Just a point of clarification 4 quality senior players in last years team are junior products O'Leary x 2, Stevenson, Moloney. If you go back over the past couple of years this would be the lowest we have had for a while but since our juniors haven't been world beaters it is probably not a bad thing. Anyway I dont see this as an issue because if you look at a lot of clubs you will see that the bulk of players started their playing days somewhere else.

Corio have talked about all the ex Juniors returning to the club but from the names that have been mentioned I can only list 2 in O'Toole and Stewart the rest are from elsewhere or are the usual mercenaries chasing a quid or looking to ride on the coat tails of success of others but I think someone else has pointed this out.

Finally I will have to agree with an earlier post that you are a bit jumpy when anyone mentions anything about your club.

DEVILS
29 Feb 2008, 10:39
Does anyone know any results from any practice matches that have been played yet.

Flat Track Bully
29 Feb 2008, 11:27
Does anyone know any results from any practice matches that have been played yet.

The only one I know is Port beating Anakie...that may be the only game played so far

Berk
29 Feb 2008, 12:22
Werribee will play their first practice game against Westbourne next Thursday....

freak mark
29 Feb 2008, 15:39
Werribee will play their first practice game against Westbourne next Thursday....

Werribee play Geelong ammos at skilled stadium this Sunday

city tigers
29 Feb 2008, 15:59
Your a wanker we have 70 players on our list this year and i want you to name more than 5 that didnt player juniors at corio or grow up in corio. Dont worry bout us and our player loyalty, we had 30 clearances out of club 2 years ago and still manage to fill two sides thats when everyone exspected us to fold, but we didnt, we actually just missed out on finals.

Oh yeah we had a interclub last night and had 14 on bench and apologies for the rest who couldnt get there because off work committments.

You would play at thomson cause your soft no other reason.

No sour grapes about players that leave our club cause 9 out of 10 always come back you tell me any clubs that have that much success with players returning to clubs.NONE.

Bring on rd1
probably just an honest mistake devils so i will let you off but drago is an east man not a mighty tiger. we dont have his kind down at godfrey st.

city tigers
29 Feb 2008, 16:01
blue west are playing the kardinia cats. should be a close one:D

DEVILS
29 Feb 2008, 18:13
probably just an honest mistake devils so i will let you off but drago is an east man not a mighty tiger. we dont have his kind down at godfrey st.

YEAH IT WAS

Flat Track Bully
29 Feb 2008, 18:33
Werribee play Geelong ammos at skilled stadium this Sunday

I don't think so...Werribee play Geelong VFL tomorrow and Werribee's 2 plays Sth Barwon tomorrow

goldenoldie
1 Mar 2008, 01:32
"The only reason I left was because of my work commitments. I just couldn't continue the coaching role. I really enjoyed the two years I had there and would have liked to stay, but I let them know at the end of last year that I couldn't commit."

A curious statement made by Rick O'Toole in todays addy about leaving Newcomb. Apparently being joint coach at Corio doesn't take as much work as being joint coach at Newcomb.

I only replied to your crap, and 2/4 any good

freak mark
1 Mar 2008, 17:59
I don't think so...Werribee play Geelong VFL tomorrow and Werribee's 2 plays Sth Barwon tomorrow

I do think so. Werribee centrals play the ammos on Sunday at skilled stadium

newton
1 Mar 2008, 22:49
I do think so. Werribee centrals play the ammos on Sunday at skilled stadiumSo they're playing Westbourne on Thursday then Ammos on Sunday??:confused:

ripitup27
1 Mar 2008, 23:22
Winch are set to pick up four guys from WDFNL club Kolora-Noorat. Warren Attrill, Anthony Coxon, Kyle Pollard and Jamie Whitehead.

Whitehead I'm pretty sure won the Warrnambool Districts B&F a couple of years ago. Attrill is a decent ruckman who can play forward. Pollard has been out for a couple of years with a busted knee but was a fairly highly rated junior. Coxon is the bloke that looks like getting them all there but not sure how his footy is.

Berk
2 Mar 2008, 08:19
So they're playing Westbourne on Thursday then Ammos on Sunday??:confused:
Werribee are not playing the ammos on Sunday. They have a game against Westbourne this Thursday, then play Hillside Sydnham on the 15th.

DEVILS
2 Mar 2008, 08:29
I see on the gdfl clearance site that Wade Bowyer and Daniel Gage have both put in 2 clearances each and both been rejected twice, any chance those guys are actually staying at there clubs now or are there clubs just tying to make it hard for them to get cleared, anyone out there know anything about this.

Up the ante
2 Mar 2008, 08:56
I see on the gdfl clearance site that Wade Bowyer and Daniel Gage have both put in 2 clearances each and both been rejected twice, any chance those guys are actually staying at there clubs now or are there clubs just tying to make it hard for them to get cleared, anyone out there know anything about this.
Both big men are still keen to leave but Bell Post Hill (Bowyer) and Thomson (Gage) are doing everything in their power to prolong the clearances and try and change their minds. The clubs feel to challenge Corio they need these two to try and match Stewart, I suppose thats where your interest comes in hey DEVILS? I'm thinking they will eventually get cleared unless they talk them around.

freak mark
2 Mar 2008, 13:52
Werribee are not playing the ammos on Sunday. They have a game against Westbourne this Thursday, then play Hillside Sydnham on the 15th.

yeah my bad the ammos played Taylors lakes. But for some reason the ammos coaching staff told the players that they were playing Werribee Centrals. The players were only told when they rocked up to the game.

Flat Track Bully
2 Mar 2008, 14:41
I do think so. Werribee centrals play the ammos on Sunday at skilled stadium

Taylors Lakes...doesn't seem like Werribee Centrals to me...

Especially when this was in the BFL practice match thread I started.

Geelong Amateur:
Sun 02/03 Taylors Lakes (Skilled)

freak mark
2 Mar 2008, 16:07
Taylors Lakes...doesn't seem like Werribee Centrals to me...

Especially when this was in the BFL practice match thread I started.

Geelong Amateur:
Sun 02/03 Taylors Lakes (Skilled)

Can't you read, i said my bad. And i was only posting what the players were told.

CHIP
2 Mar 2008, 20:37
i see corio have only picked up the obvious players and not all of the other ones that have been mentioned? A lot of talk coming out of devil land for no action!!!! So might not be as good as they all think? Any thoughts anyone! :cool::confused::confused::D:eek::p:thumbsd:

city tigers
3 Mar 2008, 15:24
has anyone heard from the great lion king of late, been a little quiet of late even with williams committing to another season and a whisper that big tatey is getting home sick.

sevenup
3 Mar 2008, 15:36
has anyone heard from the great lion king of late, been a little quiet of late even with williams committing to another season and a whisper that big tatey is getting home sick.
Seen him the other day, was busy signing Resa saftey flyers for fans in bay city plaza.

DEVILS
3 Mar 2008, 19:34
i see corio have only picked up the obvious players and not all of the other ones that have been mentioned? A lot of talk coming out of devil land for no action!!!! So might not be as good as they all think? Any thoughts anyone! :cool::confused::confused::D:eek::p:thumbsd:

what otoole, stewart, nicholls, ferguson, manning, nolan, harvey, smith, verner, hinch and a couple off other players that didnt play at all last year back, isnt that enough inclusions for you, what other ones are there i know tate, kershaw and trotter have benn mentioned, but getting 10 out of 13 isnt a bad effort i wouldnt have thought. i think there a good chance to get 1 of those three players still, only time will tell. i think any club would like those kind of inclusions to there list.

transferseason
3 Mar 2008, 19:52
what otoole, stewart, nicholls, ferguson, manning, nolan, harvey, smith, verner, hinch and a couple off other players that didnt play at all last year back, isnt that enough inclusions for you, what other ones are there i know tate, kershaw and trotter have benn mentioned, but getting 10 out of 13 isnt a bad effort i wouldnt have thought. i think there a good chance to get 1 of those three players still, only time will tell. i think any club would like those kind of inclusions to there list.

Well hinch is a f*cking terrible player and is frightened and nolan is well and truly past it. A 2's player at best.
Not sure who smith is but the rest are very good players. Corio will improve a lot.

Lion King
3 Mar 2008, 19:55

Hi fellow forum followers... I'm starting to get a little bit excited with the season only a month away.. Your correct that i've been a bit quite on posting of late, i've been racking up runs for the mighty Marshall Bears 3rd's of late. That doesn't mean i haven't been reading with intrest the in's and out's of all GDFL clubs. I think all of you should take a deep breath, strap in and hang on for a wild ride... Haami must be looking forward to the end of "o" week, like i look forward to running into hot chick's in my local RESA store!! The boy's call me lucky "Lion King" :)

Thomson 2008
4 Mar 2008, 19:08
Can't want for Thomson to start kicking ass again

cocinero
5 Mar 2008, 17:45

Here we go, O'Toole is all self and only there for the money, Stewart is fat and must think it is all just going to happen, Nicholls is injury prone and may only get a handful of games from him, Ferguson is a bum worm and only followed O'Toole, Nolan is finished and may not even play as his knees are stuffed & follows the crowd, Smith maybe getting on and didn't do much at Nth Geelong, Verner bobs up now and again but isn't a match winner & Hinch i heard plays like Derryn (Hinch), so if thats all you have got bring on the Tommy Tigers as they look like the side with Wally honing in on their skills and fitness, 2008 the year of the TIGERS

legs
5 Mar 2008, 20:06
Here we go, O'Toole is all self and only there for the money, Stewart is fat and must think it is all just going to happen, Nicholls is injury prone and may only get a handful of games from him, Ferguson is a bum worm and only followed O'Toole, Nolan is finished and may not even play as his knees are stuffed & follows the crowd, Harvey will be kicked out soon as they will see their wallets disappearing, Smith maybe getting on and didn't do much at Nth Geelong, Verner bobs up now and again but isn't a match winner & Hinch i heard plays like Derryn (Hinch), so if thats all you have got bring on the Tommy Tigers as they look like the side with Wally honing in on their skills and fitness, 2008 the year of the TIGERS
leave that shit bout harvey alone mate he will b handy pick up and is a good kid everyone makes mistakes :thumbsd:

cocinero
5 Mar 2008, 20:34
leave that shit bout harvey alone mate he will b handy pick up and is a good kid everyone makes mistakes :thumbsd:

Sorry Legs, a bit over the top, but that is the rumour and maybe he will be a good pick up, i had better delete it form the post

DEVILS
6 Mar 2008, 12:58
Here we go, O'Toole is all self and only there for the money, Stewart is fat and must think it is all just going to happen, Nicholls is injury prone and may only get a handful of games from him, Ferguson is a bum worm and only followed O'Toole, Nolan is finished and may not even play as his knees are stuffed & follows the crowd, Smith maybe getting on and didn't do much at Nth Geelong, Verner bobs up now and again but isn't a match winner & Hinch i heard plays like Derryn (Hinch), so if thats all you have got bring on the Tommy Tigers as they look like the side with Wally honing in on their skills and fitness, 2008 the year of the TIGERS

bring on rd 4
how many games has wallace played in last few years.
your putting alot on wallace shoulders his only one man we have 30 players that would play seniors at any gdfl club.
Gees you know alot about our players not.

Wiskers32
6 Mar 2008, 13:58
bring on rd 4
your putting alot on wallace shoulders his only one man we have 30 players that would play seniors at any gdfl club.

bring on round 1 mate think ur getting carried away a bit.

Devilfish
6 Mar 2008, 14:05
Seriously why do ********s like you get on this forum and bag everyone, mate get a life we want to hear positive things bout the clubs in the league not personal opinions, tell us how is Thomson going? They should improve or maybe lost Gage, Hyland retired (2 best players gone from a very old list brought in who? Wallace like Nicholls always injured except he is 33 and Newcomb 2s players, relying on Gardiner and Maheras both guns but things cant be looking that rosy if your best players are over 35:eek:

Devilfish
6 Mar 2008, 14:06
Tipping you may be looking over your shoulder you usually do dont you:eek:

Wiskers32
6 Mar 2008, 16:02

haha i highly doubt that

Dragonlova
6 Mar 2008, 16:08
From what i hear mate, u he wont b looking ova his shoulder cause no one will catch him anyway, apparently super fit & looking to have g8 year. Told by few people bell post hill are looking very good and are already having headaches trying to put side ready for rnd1, have abundance of onballer type players that can play either end all with very good skills, did hear boofa may be playing off hbf too!!! Could be the year they finally break through:thumbsu:

city tigers
6 Mar 2008, 16:16
Seriously why do ********s like you get on this forum and bag everyone, mate get a life we want to hear positive things bout the clubs in the league not personal opinions, tell us how is Thomson going? They should improve or maybe lost Gage, Hyland retired (2 best players gone from a very old list brought in who? Wallace like Nicholls always injured except he is 33 and Newcomb 2s players, relying on Gardiner and Maheras both guns but things cant be looking that rosy if your best players are over 35:eek:
Just relax devilfish, the man has an opinion so let him have it. you seem to have a bit to say on this forum about other clubs but get shitty with others when they have opinions on corio. p.s nicholls wont play much at all i can tell u that now, very close information. u obviously dont rate players like harriot, mcleod, gerka, and dowie and a couple of nice handy pickups that i will let u sweat on for a while:confused:

Drago
6 Mar 2008, 20:29
bring on rd 4
You must have recruited 20 new players that are capable of playing 1's in the GDFL as you only had about 10 blokes that would have been walk up starts last year and this is proven by the results.

chappy_35
6 Mar 2008, 23:09
seriously mate you are getting carried away, 30 players that would play seniors at any club ha ha, so you think that if all thirty went to bph that means grgic, n lewis, a kozina, b martin, c moreland and the like would be playing twos your kidding yourself mate. im with you whiskers bring on round 1

Devilfish
7 Mar 2008, 09:45
From what i hear mate, u he wont b looking ova his shoulder cause no one will catch him anyway, apparently super fit & looking to have g8 year. Told by few people bell post hill are looking very good and are already having headaches trying to put side ready for rnd1, have abundance of onballer type players that can play either end all with very good skills, did hear boofa may be playing off hbf too!!! Could be the year they finally break through:thumbsu:
yeh i hear the Hill are going to be a powerhouse and improved alot will be good for the league all these teams recruiting well pity there is no interleague. Boofa will be good off half back although he looks to be carrying a bit, surely would be more dangerous up forward?

Devilfish
7 Mar 2008, 09:48
seriously mate you are getting carried away, 30 players that would play seniors at any club ha ha, so you think that if all thirty went to bph that means grgic, n lewis, a kozina, b martin, c moreland and the like would be playing twos your kidding yourself mate. im with you whiskers bring on round 1
Wat has Moreland ever done? Yes he is young but unproven so lets wait and see on him and not oput pressure on a kid if he was any good he would be playing GFL seniors!

geelongfooty
7 Mar 2008, 09:57
bannockburn and inverleigh out country way arent talked about to much so i thought i'd chuck some info in as im from out that way, few ins and outs

BANNOCKBURN
INS:
kevin dans (ballan) coaching the club but getting on with age
brett fisher (springbank) also coaching very good player
justin bliss (forest) massive unit will hurt people, ass. coach
ben naylon (waubra) played juniors at banno gun foward

OUTS:
aaron broom (bell park) massive loss
sam hickleton (leopold) solid defender. undisiplined
zach hickleton (inverleigh) sams brother suprise move to rival side
nick farr (work commitments) handy foward
john o'shannasy (overseas) very good foward was important last year
david gibbs (retired) was solid last year
dan gibbs () possibly heading back to north shore, undecided

INVERLEIGH
INS:
tristan starcevic (newtown) very handy pick up very good player
brent ling (lara) not sure what this blokes like
troy booth (lara) injury prone
aaron stewart (lake bolac) suppose to be a very good player. solid
zach hickleton (bannockburn) senior player last year only young
heath hutchison (winch) skinny winger
brad nelson (bell park u/18) young kid hard at it, skills a little poor

OUTS:
mark russel (sebastopol) one of inverleighs best, lots of goals
dean muir (falcons) gun junior will play falcons

both teams have had some changes

geelongfooty
7 Mar 2008, 10:10
Wat has Moreland ever done? Yes he is young but unproven so lets wait and see on him and not oput pressure on a kid if he was any good he would be playing GFL seniors!
played a lot of falcons games last year, and the rest was bell post hill seniors as a permanent midfeilder flanker. training with geelong vfl this year and has fair a chance to get on the list. thats what he has done

DEVILS
7 Mar 2008, 13:16

Na mate there all quality players you have mentioned at b.p.h, what i ment was there are 30 players capable off playing ones in any gdfl side, obviously they all cant fit into our ones side, so how would they fit into i.e bph, thom, east etc. Im just saying theres alot of depth incase of injurys and it will put alot of pressure on the more permanent senior players from the past. Im just like everyone else that supports there respective clubs, we have all picked up well but there is still along way to go till finals, alot can happen between now and then.
Top 5 no apparent order just who i think will be pushing for finals. They all have recruited very well and all sides are saying there alot fitter this year. Obviously i follow Corio but we have a very good test first four games to see how much closer we are this year then last year.
Rd 1 Bph, Rd2 East, Rd3 Inver, Rd4 Thom.
Belmont
B.p.h
Corio
East
Thom
any other thoughts for top 5. I think its great for our comp with all the recruits ever club has picked up and will only make our league stronger for years to come.

Devilfish
7 Mar 2008, 13:40
Just relax devilfish, the man has an opinion so let him have it. you seem to have a bit to say on this forum about other clubs but get shitty with others when they have opinions on corio. p.s nicholls wont play much at all i can tell u that now, very close information. u obviously dont rate players like harriot, mcleod, gerka, and dowie and a couple of nice handy pickups that i will let u sweat on for a while:confused:
never said anything bout having an opinoin on there football ability not there personal stuff thats all. Harriot is going o/s isnt he? No do rate those guys you mentioned all quality players, not to sure bout nicholls your probably right he wont play much

Devilfish
7 Mar 2008, 13:41
Na mate there all quality players you have mentioned at b.p.h, what i ment was there are 30 players capable off playing ones in any gdfl side, obviously they all cant fit into our ones side, so how would they fit into i.e bph, thom, east etc. Im just saying theres alot of depth incase of injurys and it will put alot of pressure on the more permanent senior players from the past. Im just like everyone else that supports there respective clubs, we have all picked up well but there is still along way to go till finals, alot can happen between now and then.
Top 5 no apparent order just who i think will be pushing for finals. They all have recruited very well and all sides are saying there alot fitter this year. Obviously i follow Corio but we have a very good test first four games to see how much closer we are this year then last year.
Belmont
B.p.h
Corio
East
Thom
any other thoughts for top 5. I think its great for our comp with all the recruits ever club has picked up and will only make our league stronger for years to come.
Top 5
East geelong
Corio
Bph
Thomson
Belmont

Devilfish
7 Mar 2008, 13:45
played a lot of falcons games last year, and the rest was bell post hill seniors as a permanent midfeilder flanker. training with geelong vfl this year and has fair a chance to get on the list. thats what he has done
well did not set the world on fire at Hill last year, how can a player get on the VFL list when he cant even dominate at GDFL level? So what if he training at VFL level whoopy doo, can you honestly tell me if an interleague side was picked he would be in it?

ripitup27
7 Mar 2008, 14:09
Winch are set to pick up four guys from WDFNL club Kolora-Noorat. Warren Attrill, Anthony Coxon, Kyle Pollard and Jamie Whitehead.

Whitehead I'm pretty sure won the Warrnambool Districts B&F a couple of years ago. Attrill is a decent ruckman who can play forward. Pollard has been out for a couple of years with a busted knee but was a fairly highly rated junior. Coxon is the bloke that looks like getting them all there but not sure how his footy is.

Had a mate at Winch training last night, said three of these blokes were there plus a whole lot of other new guys. Couple of lads from Cobden and a bloke called Dane who goes to uni there.

Said Whitehead looks the goods, can play anywhere, pretty tall. Pollard did some good stuff but looked unfit and proppy on the knee. Rekons he got cleaned up pretty good by one of the Cobden guys in an inter game. Coxon is reserves. Haven't seen anything of Attrill yet but apparently is good.

city tigers
7 Mar 2008, 15:55
never said anything bout having an opinoin on there football ability not there personal stuff thats all. Harriot is going o/s isnt he? No do rate those guys you mentioned all quality players, not to sure bout nicholls your probably right he wont play much
no worries devilfish, harriot is overseas at the moment but is back very soon.

DINGERS
7 Mar 2008, 16:53
well did not set the world on fire at Hill last year, how can a player get on the VFL list when he cant even dominate at GDFL level? So what if he training at VFL level whoopy doo, can you honestly tell me if an interleague side was picked he would be in it?

Couldnt agree more with devil fish on this one. cant belive he got asked down to vfl, yeh his a ok footballer at gdfl never going to make it as a vfl footballer nor could i see him walking into any gfl 1s side either. is it true he trained with a number of gfl sides to see what he could get of them to play but no one offered him a contract.
no offence to the kid

favre
7 Mar 2008, 17:04
if chris moreland plays all year for bell post hill he will win the best and fairest easy and will be top 5 in the league. he is the fittest man in the competition. he has great skills left and right and the games he is playing under the vfl side against the likes of collingwood players and the others will only make him a better footballer. did not play many gdfl games last year due to falcons. i also hear he has been one of the standouts in training.

chappy_35
7 Mar 2008, 20:37
Belmont
B.p.h
Corio
East
Thom
yeah sorry mate i get youy now, corio have massive depth, have to be red hot favourites for twos flag and in with a good show in seniors

chappy_35
7 Mar 2008, 20:41
moreland put club before himself, was going to have a crack at gfl but decided to try and make history and be part of first flag at the hill and good on him and i think he will be an elite gfl footballer given time. now can we all stop talking bout moreland and get on with the footy.

chappy_35
7 Mar 2008, 20:43
anyone capable of kicking a ton this year?is scrobba fit? mullane grant?

jaychawk
7 Mar 2008, 20:55
bannockburn and inverleigh out country way arent talked about to much so i thought i'd chuck some info in as im from out that way, few ins and outs

BANNOCKBURN
INS:

OUTS:

INVERLEIGH
INS:

OUTS:

I called starcivic weeks in advance and i've got another one for you guys. ex st josephs senior footballer who kicked a few for queenscliff last year and is only 21 years old. who is this late recruit? Ling is a very solid defender and booth is in top notch shape and dominating prac matches. Put together with stone, trotter, quinlivian and prendergast and i really believe that the hawks will be th biggest of improvers. also keep Sat 26th of April free. ANZAC weekend and the hawks are going to embarress the cheetahs in the GDFLS first Saturday night match in a long time. rumour has it Crerar will kick a bag as he plays his best footy at night.

Hitman20
8 Mar 2008, 15:36
Had a mate at Winch training last night, said three of these blokes were there plus a whole lot of other new guys. Couple of lads from Cobden and a bloke called Dane who goes to uni there.

Said Whitehead looks the goods, can play anywhere, pretty tall. Pollard did some good stuff but looked unfit and proppy on the knee. Rekons he got cleaned up pretty good by one of the Cobden guys in an inter game. Coxon is reserves. Haven't seen anything of Attrill yet but apparently is good.

I heard A smith was unstoppable at full forward and P elliot was splitting through the packs?? can anyone confirm this?

city tigers
8 Mar 2008, 18:00
what about jackson 'the kid' mcleod, still a kid in a mans body and hasn't done much wrong in the past two years in front of the sticks. hang on a minute what about glenn 'william' wallace, once took on the might of england on there own turf and tore them apart, look out the fullbacks of the gdfl.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

goldenoldie
8 Mar 2008, 18:16
I called starcivic weeks in advance and i've got another one for you guys. ex st josephs senior footballer who kicked a few for queenscliff last year and is only 21 years old. who is this late recruit? Ling is a very solid defender and booth is in top notch shape and dominating prac matches. Put together with stone, trotter, quinlivian and prendergast and i really believe that the hawks will be th biggest of improvers. also keep Sat 26th of April free. ANZAC weekend and the hawks are going to embarress the cheetahs in the GDFLS first Saturday night match in a long time. rumour has it Crerar will kick a bag as he plays his best footy at night.

off your subject a bit, but I think the first and last night match for points under lights was thompson v lara back in 1989 at thompson, and big Merv was the runner that night for lara.
Has there been any other night match for points in the GDFL?

macromantic
8 Mar 2008, 20:13
off your subject a bit, but I think the first and last night match for points under lights was thompson v lara back in 1989 at thompson, and big Merv was the runner that night for lara.

Blue west and belmont play season opener on friday nite this year

kitchwfc
8 Mar 2008, 20:34
I heard A smith was unstoppable at full forward and P elliot was splitting through the packs?? can anyone confirm this?
p elliot played well in the interclub game but he had a very gud player on him all night keepin his possessions to a minimal

wonderin1
9 Mar 2008, 09:09
has any one heard any thing after werribee centrals parccy on thursday nite.. from wat i heard they played some good footy in patches n it was a close game against a very physical westbourne team..

Whispers
9 Mar 2008, 11:04

Only 21 that I can think of that played at Joeys in the seniors and then went to Queenscliff for a year was Paul Messer, but then he signed with Anglesea before heading to QLD last year. He told me he retired though...

Speaking to Denis Craven, West Pres, and he believes their recruits are looking alright. A few from the Hampden region and a few more young guys from around the local leagues. They lost Aiden Colbourne to St. Alban's who is a 16 year old freak (kicked two or three goals last year against Anakie) but they will improve as well.

disc
9 Mar 2008, 17:55

BANNOCKBURN
INS:

OUTS:

INVERLEIGH
INS:

OUTS:

also steve booley is not playing at bannockburn this year having a year off. big loss. has been a very good finals player the last few years

WA creep
9 Mar 2008, 20:10
also steve booley is not playing at bannockburn this year having a year off. big loss. has been a very good finals player the last few years

?? You're surely taking the piss here...

If not then you haven't watched many games

chappy_35
9 Mar 2008, 20:57
?? You're surely taking the piss here...

If not then you haven't watched many games
HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

city tigers
9 Mar 2008, 22:27
the only one close to being a night match that i can recall was back in 95 when we had 2 divisions and the granny was at west oval and 1st div played there game at 2 and the 2nd div played from 5:30 onwards and made it a twilight match.

city tigers
9 Mar 2008, 22:30
yeah i'm with you on this one disc, has been exceptional during the 12:00 game:D

goldenoldie
10 Mar 2008, 00:48
the only one close to being a night match that i can recall was back in 95 when we had 2 divisions and the granny was at west oval and 1st div played there game at 2 and the 2nd div played from 5:30 onwards and made it a twilight match.

yeh your right there, but on that one, but u also played lara in 89 or 90 under lights.
it was the first game of the season.
lara won by 15-20 goals.
thompson were coached by peter "sherriff" ryan.

Dragonlova
10 Mar 2008, 15:27
has any one heard any thing after werribee centrals parccy on thursday nite.. from wat i heard they played some good footy in patches n it was a close game against a very physical westbourne team..
Heard was a scrappy game, centrals started slow but got into it as game went on. Had some tall timber up fwd also started festuca up there( very quite) worried to much bout being to physical when not needed. No.50 looked ok played up fwd most of game. Hardingham played ruck, moved ok & made life easy for couple of onballers with some very good ruck work, especially boundary & round the ground ball ups, generally cant see them pushing for top 3 spot but they will worry couple of the sides that are.:thumbsu:

obi 1
10 Mar 2008, 17:21

From all reports skrobba is fit but i think he misses the first 3 games so might not make the ton.

Did anyone hear how east went with there intra club game on saturday?

city tigers
10 Mar 2008, 21:00
From all reports skrobba is fit but i think he misses the first 3 games so might not make the ton.

Did anyone hear how east went with there intra club game on saturday?
seen the big scrobba the other day i can tell you now that hes already cracked the ton, well and truly. p.s do you want to know who won?:D

Flat Track Bully
10 Mar 2008, 21:01

And that's only because the div 2 grand final was a replay between Thomson and Blue West.

Thomson did play a few games under lights...there was also a night interleague clash against the Bellarine as well during the late 80's.

transferseason
11 Mar 2008, 09:41

Blue West played Anakie under lights on a Friday night last year.

WA creep
11 Mar 2008, 09:48
seen the big scrobba the other day i can tell you now that hes already cracked the ton, well and truly. p.s do you want to know who won?:D

east won. :D
well you mustn't have seen him out on the town because if you did he would've looked fit to you with all the sucking in of his guts he does around the birds..

Bit harsh on the big-fella though he's never been under the ton has he??

jaychawk
11 Mar 2008, 12:07

89 sounds like it was cracker but i will still in nappies oldie so can't really comment. the point i was making was not so much the night match but the fact it is a saturday night. i'm not sure if the GDFL has seen to many of those.

jaychawk
11 Mar 2008, 12:12
Only 21 that I can think of that played at Joeys in the seniors and then went to Queenscliff for a year was Paul Messer, but then he signed with Anglesea before heading to QLD last year. He told me he retired though...

Speaking to Denis Craven, West Pres, and he believes their recruits are looking alright. A few from the Hampden region and a few more young guys from around the local leagues. They lost Aiden Colbourne to St. Alban's who is a 16 year old freak (kicked two or three goals last year against Anakie) but they will improve as well.

spot on whispers. everychance he will be doning the brown and gold. It appears he was telling you a yarn in regards to retirment but will be a handy pickup.

19th Man
11 Mar 2008, 13:55

Add Stewart to your list there Dev, it's seems Newcomb are holding out last time I checked!!!!!!!!!
This may allow Tate to be number 1??

19th Man
11 Mar 2008, 13:58

Round 2, 12/4/08, the Cheetah's play BPH on a Sat night, if fixture is correct.

Wiskers32
11 Mar 2008, 14:34
League best and fairest ?? who are the big chances.
Rick O'toole from corio
Hammi Williams from belmont again?
Brent Grgic from bell post hill??

havnt heard much from clubs whos your choice for league??

Drago
11 Mar 2008, 15:01
I understand that the exodus from North is set to continue with up to four more senior players from last year heading to Creswick with Scown, Vessey and others.

clad idiout
11 Mar 2008, 15:13
spot on whispers. everychance he will be doning the brown and gold. It appears he was telling you a yarn in regards to retirment but will be a handy pickup.

Will be handy if injuries dont hit him again! has he ever recovered from that ankle injury sustained at victoria park in a gaelic football match?

Kooley
11 Mar 2008, 15:47
has any one heard any thing after werribee centrals parccy on thursday nite.. from wat i heard they played some good footy in patches n it was a close game against a very physical westbourne team..I heard Westbourne beat them by about 5 goals which was a bit of a surprise.

BobbyJohn
11 Mar 2008, 16:54
Scown will be missed... pfft

clangers mcgee
11 Mar 2008, 20:39
I understand that the exodus from North is set to continue with up to four more senior players from last year heading to Creswick with Scown, Vessey and others.

scown and vessey are both north geelong cob

therunner
12 Mar 2008, 01:00
Couldnt agree more with devil fish on this one. cant belive he got asked down to vfl, yeh his a ok footballer at gdfl never going to make it as a vfl footballer nor could i see him walking into any gfl 1s side either. is it true he trained with a number of gfl sides to see what he could get of them to play but no one offered him a contract.
no offence to the kid

The only thing about Chris Moreland, is that he loves the alcohol too much

Berk
12 Mar 2008, 08:38
I heard Westbourne beat them by about 5 goals which was a bit of a surprise.

To Werribees credit they did have a few out.

geelongfooty
12 Mar 2008, 10:11
he has barely had a drink in a long time. cant understand why people dont realise he can play footy. was picked on the falcons list last year and played a lot of games and now is training at vfl level and is not far off making the squad yet for some unknown reason he isnt a very good footballer... i know the kid does a lot of dumb things and gets up to mischeif and may annoy the crap out of a lot of people and my opinion of him is very limited, but that doesnt change the fact that he is a good footballer and if he played gdfl seniors he will be one of the better players.

geelongfooty
12 Mar 2008, 10:16
corio inverleigh this friday night will show us how corio are actually travelling, not sure if they will go in with a full side. fergusson will definately not play as he has a cricket final the next day. jaychawk how are your boys looking, who will stand out and how much do u reckon u'll get beaten by. could be quite a touch up

Drago
12 Mar 2008, 13:11
corio inverleigh this friday night will show us how corio are actually travelling, not sure if they will go in with a full side. fergusson will definately not play as he has a cricket final the next day. jaychawk how are your boys looking, who will stand out and how much do u reckon u'll get beaten by. could be quite a touch up
Where are they playing at as I wouldn't mind getting along to see if all the hype is warranted.

jaychawk
12 Mar 2008, 13:44
Will be handy if injuries dont hit him again! has he ever recovered from that ankle injury sustained at victoria park in a gaelic football match?
clad i was actually playing in that game at Victoria park and it was tragic event but it was nearly a decade ago. the guy played senior football at joeys for several seasons after that.

jaychawk
12 Mar 2008, 13:49

Our boys are travelling alright although we have a few out with commitments and a few more coming back from injury. with a schedualed round 3 clash we're obviously going to keep our card relativley close to our chest. i was just over at the shell club this morning and it appears that some of these devil recruits are so serious about the season that they've quit their jobs to focus on their footy. would have been at least a dozen of them having a run around and this was like 11am. to be honest though it may have been the mighty Kardinia cats as their skill levels were about on Par.

DEVILS
12 Mar 2008, 14:48
Our boys are travelling alright although we have a few out with commitments and a few more coming back from injury. with a schedualed round 3 clash we're obviously going to keep our card relativley close to our chest. i was just over at the shell club this morning and it appears that some of these devil recruits are so serious about the season that they've quit their jobs to focus on their footy. would have been at least a dozen of them having a run around and this was like 11am. to be honest though it may have been the mighty Kardinia cats as their skill levels were about on Par.

You will see friday night what there skills are like cause a few of those guys you seen were Nicholls Anderson Nolan Manning to name a few i think you might think differently about there skills after the game friday night. Na shift workers.
It will be a 6 quater game and we will have 75% of players available so we should have 2 competitive sides.

Wiskers32
12 Mar 2008, 15:26

ppfftt wot would u no u weasal

DEVILS
12 Mar 2008, 15:34
Add Stewart to your list there Dev, it's seems Newcomb are holding out last time I checked!!!!!!!!!
This may allow Tate to be number 1??

Yeah your right about stewart apparently they are trying there best to keep him, so the clubs might have to fight that one out and yeah tate will be a good back up if stewart keeps getting mucked around. But hopefully there both cleared by round one.

danrobzokbrad
12 Mar 2008, 16:17
Yeah your right about stewart apparently they are trying there best to keep him, so the clubs might have to fight that one out and yeah tate will be a good back up if stewart keeps getting mucked around. But hopefully there both cleared by round one.

Were and what time are the Devs playin on Friday night?

DEVILS
12 Mar 2008, 16:35
Were and what time are the Devs playin on Friday night?

Corio 6 oclock

favre
12 Mar 2008, 17:42
im sure chris was off the alcohol for a goood 3 to 4 weeeks trying to concentrate more on foootball and by the loook of his fitness and quick feet it must have did something. i guess alot of these people will be owing the young man an apology as all he can do is play. anyone who has played falcons and played a few vfl praccys regardless if they give him a contrtact for vfl has to be a goood player

19th Man
12 Mar 2008, 21:36
I heard Westbourne beat them by about 5 goals which was a bit of a surprise.

Westbourne are now in Divvy 2, so one would assume that standard to be competitive in GDFL terms.
On the subject of Werribee, besides the inclusions of Hardi, Tobin and Kitchen, are there any more to follow? And with Fastuca reportally having no influence on the game, has the game itself caught up with him?

transferseason
13 Mar 2008, 09:19
im sure chris was off the alcohol for a goood 3 to 4 weeeks trying to concentrate more on foootball and by the loook of his fitness and quick feet it must have did something. i guess alot of these people will be owing the young man an apology as all he can do is play. anyone who has played falcons and played a few vfl praccys regardless if they give him a contrtact for vfl has to be a goood player

I'm sick of hearing about this little cat.. seriously lets just drop it. The only reason we are talking about him is because moreland himself gets on here and talks about himself, he's a joke.

Lets just wait and see and stop this back and forth bullshit.

Kooley
13 Mar 2008, 10:18
Westbourne are now in Divvy 2, so one would assume that standard to be competitive in GDFL terms.
On the subject of Werribee, besides the inclusions of Hardi, Tobin and Kitchen, are there any more to follow? And with Fastuca reportally having no influence on the game, has the game itself caught up with him?Lets not get confused with divisions at ameteur level. Westbourne are still in one of the lowest divisions and i would have thought centrals would have had their measure quite comfortably.

As far as Fastuca is concerned it's no surprise at 31 that he would be starting to slow up. His body unfortunatley doesn't allow him to dominate the game like he did in te past.