View Full Version : GDFL Geelong and District Football League

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

Kooley
12th December 2006, 07:53
As the GFL and BFL come under the Football Geelong banner I thought it was appropriate to start a seperate thread for The GDFL . Any news can be posted here.

Questions that need to be considered:

1. Who are the new recruits??

2. Who are the new coaches?

3. What teams will rise and slide in 2007?

4. What Grounds will be effected by the drought?

What I have heard is that Werribee Centrals a once powerhouse in the competition may be the big sliders in 2007:

Not only have they lost Inspirational coach and player Christopher Gilham to the GFL but there seems to have been an exodus of players to other leagues:

these include:
David Kennedy and Simon Calbert -Bacchus Marsh
Brad Mayberry, Mat Shannon and Matt Dean- Barwon Heads
Chris Gilham, Sean Cornish and Christian O'Mailey - West Saints
Tim Cunningham, John Antenello - retired
and a number of prominent youngsters to the Werribee
Ameteurs.

19th Man
12th December 2006, 08:00
As the GFL and BFL come under the Football Geelong banner I thought it was appropriate to start a seperate thread for The GDFL . Any news can be posted here.

What I have heard is that Werribee Centrals a once powerhouse in the competition may be the big sliders in 2007:

Not only have they lost Inspirational coach and player Christopher Gilham to the GFL but there seems to have been an exodus of players to other leagues:

these include:
Ameteurs.

About the only thing in their favour is that they can water their ground still?

Kooley
12th December 2006, 08:15
About the only thing in their favour is that they can water their ground still?Well they could be playing all home games this year which would probaly ensure them a spot in the finals regardless of their list.

19th Man
12th December 2006, 08:23
Q. Are the all mighty Thompson beatable this year?

Kooley
12th December 2006, 08:31
Q. Are the all mighty Thompson beatable this year?You would think that some of the older players like Gardiner and Atchison would be on the their last legs but i'm sure their coach harriot will have a few recruits up his sleeve. they will be hard to beat i would suggest.

bigFG
12th December 2006, 08:54
Kooley,

Whats with the exodus at Centrals?

Can you really see SHANNON, MAYBERRY and DEAN leaving? they have only been with the club for a year.

caveman
12th December 2006, 09:13
Can anyone give me an update on how Belmont Lions are travelling?

bigFG
12th December 2006, 09:24
Can anyone give me an update on how Belmont Lions are travelling?

I know EDWARDS the co-coach and their best player has returned to Grovedale big loss

Kooley
12th December 2006, 09:33
Kooley,

Whats with the exodus at Centrals?

Can you really see SHANNON, MAYBERRY and DEAN leaving? they have only been with the club for a year.The word is they have left the club. they haven't attended pre-season training and the 3 who are mates have been connected with Barwon Heads where i think a few other guys from spotswood and matty shannon's brother plays.

Shannon in particular will be a huge loss for the centurions. i think he only played 8 games this year beacuse of injury but finished runner in their best and fairest..... he is a very good footballer. mayberry played well towards the end of the year after arriving at the club mid-season and they can ill afford to lose players of this calibre. Dean is a battler at best i think but is a good depth player.

It's got me beat why so many players have left the club. It must be a real concern at galvin to see so many quality players jump ship.

bigFG
12th December 2006, 09:42
The word is they have left the club. they haven't attended pre-season training and the 3 who are mates have been connected with Barwon Heads where i think a few other guys from spotswood and matty shannon's brother plays.

Shannon in particular will be a huge loss for the centurions. i think he only played 8 games this year beacuse of injury but finished runner in their best and fairest..... he is a very good footballer. mayberry played well towards the end of the year after arriving at the club mid-season and they can ill afford to lose players of this calibre. Dean is a battler at best i think but is a good depth player.

It's got me beat why so many players have left the club. It must be a real concern at galvin to see so many quality players jump ship.

Who's coaching? have they recruited anyone?

I would have imagined they would be looking at a big year after a poor finish last season

Kooley
12th December 2006, 09:53
Who's coaching? have they recruited anyone?

I would have imagined they would be looking at a big year after a poor finish last season
Cori Wallace is coach and i think Jason Fastuca is the assistant. at this stage they have lost plenty and recruited none. their process of appointing a coach after Gillham moved on was laborous and sloppy not really allowing them to do any serious recruiting.

it will be pretty hard to recruit any quality players at this time of year as well.

Bernie Q
12th December 2006, 09:57

these include:
Ameteurs.

How well do these 2 lads go, any history/info??

bigFG
12th December 2006, 09:57
Cori Wallace is coach and i think Jason Fastuca is the assistant. at this stage they have lost plenty and recruited none. their process of appointing a coach after Gillham moved on was laborous and sloppy not really allowing them to do any serious recruiting.

it will be pretty hard to recruit any quality players at this time of year as well.

Could really struggle. Wallace has been assistant the last couple of years would they have better off appointing a coach from outside?

Have heard Corio have some money again and have recruited well headed by Ricky O'TOOLE heading back there

newton
12th December 2006, 10:00
East Geelong have appointed former Torquay premiership coach Adam

Skrobalak as its playing coach for next year. This should really build up

the hopes for East who were a disgrace on the field this season. Adam

has also brought a few players across from the Tigers with him. He will kick

close to 150 in the GDFL next year. There wouldn't be a full-back in the

competition who could hold him. They could be the big

improvers..:thumbsu:

Kooley
12th December 2006, 10:07
How well do these 2 lads go, any history/info??Simon calbert is a freak and will be in the top 20 in the competition in the Ballarat Football league as he was easily in the top 5 in the GDFL. Simon didn't play at all last year as he went overseas but the year off will do his body the world of good. He is a strong marking forward.

David Kennedy will be a good half back flanker in the BFL. He will enjoy the higher standard and adjust to it well.

Both lads are about 28 so they have plenty of good football left in them. Both have also played in plenty of winning grandfinals as well. Calbert 4 and Kennedy 2 so their experience will be invaluable for the cobras.

Kooley
12th December 2006, 10:12
Could really struggle. Wallace has been assistant the last couple of years would they have better off appointing a coach from outside?

Have heard Corio have some money again and have recruited well headed by Ricky O'TOOLE heading back thereall i know is the club took a bloody long time to appoint a coach and it looks like it is going to hurt them next year.

GOODESTRAIN
12th December 2006, 10:28
all i know is the club took a bloody long time to appoint a coach and it looks like it is going to hurt them next year.
Also have heard that they have lost Hollingsworth and Matt Welsh back to Hoppers. How do these guys go did see Welsh a fair bit in the paper this year.

bigFG
12th December 2006, 10:37
Also have heard that they have lost Hollingsworth and Matt Welsh back to Hoppers. How do these guys go did see Welsh a fair bit in the paper this year.

Couldn't imagine either of these 2 blokes playing 1's at hoppers, hollingsworth struggled this year and Walsh is as fat as a house

Bernie Q
12th December 2006, 10:41
Simon calbert is a freak and will be in the top 20 in the competition in the Ballarat Football league as he was easily in the top 5 in the GDFL. Simon didn't play at all last year as he went overseas but the year off will do his body the world of good. He is a strong marking forward.

David Kennedy will be a good half back flanker in the BFL. He will enjoy the higher standard and adjust to it well.

Both lads are about 28 so they have plenty of good football left in them. Both have also played in plenty of winning grandfinals as well. Calbert 4 and Kennedy 2 so their experience will be invaluable for the cobras.
Cheers Kooley, thanks for the info. I look forward to watching and reporting on these blokes during the year.:)

Kooley
12th December 2006, 10:50
Also have heard that they have lost Hollingsworth and Matt Welsh back to Hoppers. How do these guys go did see Welsh a fair bit in the paper this year.hollingsworth played 2's i think this year and pretty sure welsh has trained the first night at the centrals but if he saw the turn up and heard how many players have left he may decided to leave.

bigFG
12th December 2006, 11:09
East Geelong will be much improved this year. Skroba as playing coach and has bought at least 6 premiership players with him from Torquay including the COY brothers Ryan and Josh.
would

newton
12th December 2006, 11:14
East Geelong will be much improved this year. Skroba as playing coach and has bought at least 6 premiership players with him from Torquay including the COY brothers Ryan and Josh.
wouldHe will dominate up forward in this competition. I can't see

any defender holding him to under 6 - 8 goals a game. They will need some

handy onballers to get it down to him though because they had zilch this

season.

bigFG
12th December 2006, 11:49
He will dominate up forward in this competition. I can't see

any defender holding him to under 6 - 8 goals a game. They will need some

handy onballers to get it down to him though because they had zilch this

season.

Skroba could break all sorts of goal kicking records down there this year imagine how many he will kick playing against teams like Inverleigh and Anakie(who have lost a heap yet again).

As for the on ballers I think Ryan COY come third in the BFL comp medal, so should go well as for hiis brother Josh I don't think he is much chop but did play in a premiership this year

Bernie Q
12th December 2006, 12:08
Skroba could break all sorts of goal kicking records down there this year imagine how many he will kick playing against teams like Inverleigh and Anakie(who have lost a heap yet again).

As for the on ballers I think Ryan COY come third in the BFL comp medal, so should go well as for hiis brother Josh I don't think he is much chop but did play in a premiership this year

Who are the other players coming from Torquay??

19th Man
12th December 2006, 12:33
Any though's on 2007 ladder based on coming's and going's at clubs?

Kooley
12th December 2006, 13:06
Top 5:

Thompson
Bell Post Hill
Bannockburn
Corio
East Geelong

bigFG
12th December 2006, 13:24
Any news out of North Geelong?

How will Bannockburn go with a change of coach aftera successful year last year?

Kooley
12th December 2006, 17:51
Any news out of North Geelong?

How will Bannockburn go with a change of coach aftera successful year last year?
nothing as yet but their ground is in deep trouble.

junior04
12th December 2006, 19:14
Kooley,

How was centrals training tonight? What were the numbers like?

Kooley
12th December 2006, 19:46
Kooley,

How was centrals training tonight? What were the numbers like?Not quite sure junior, i'm long retired unfortunately. i know for a fact they were only getting between 15-20 in the first week. it may have improved since. for the sake of the club i really hope it does.

19th Man
14th December 2006, 21:19
Not quite sure junior, i'm long retired unfortunately. i know for a fact they were only getting between 15-20 in the first week. it may have improved since. for the sake of the club i really hope it does.

Kooley, you seem to be well informed about this league. Can you spare us your top few players of each team?

Whispers
15th December 2006, 16:48
St. Joeys duo Nathan Panozzo and Paul Jenkinson have signed with Thomson for next year. Both are injury prone but are two of the hardest players in the GFL in previous years. The Tigers just kep getting stronger....

Any news on Blue West?? Can they rise with East Geelong this year as well??

tommahawk_07
15th December 2006, 17:09
adam vaughan from st joeys has signed at blue west...

Kooley
18th December 2006, 16:56
has anyone from geelong got any news on the state of the gdfl grounds and whether they will be in any state to play football on next year?

newton
19th December 2006, 14:32
has anyone from geelong got any news on the state of the gdfl grounds and whether they will be in any state to play football on next year?
All of the GDFL grounds in Geelong itself are in big trouble. I can't comment on the the grounds in Werribee, Bannockburn, Inverleigh and Whitch but the one s in Geelong are very, very dry. I can't see them playing much football on them in 2007.

obi 1
19th December 2006, 15:33
From what i hear Skrobalak will be bringing some good players to east. A mate seen them train and they look like they are going to go well. The big fella has had good numbers and his coaching style is second to none which comes from 2 player sthat played at torquay last year and now play GFL.
The assistant coach Coy looks very good. He cam with Skrobalak from Bacchus mArsh. He aslo has a few others, one of them a masive kick from all reports .

Look out for east.
Does anyone know what is happening with the season?

Kooley
19th December 2006, 15:41
From what i hear Skrobalak will be bringing some good players to east. A mate seen them train and they look like they are going to go well. The big fella has had good numbers and his coaching style is second to none which comes from 2 player sthat played at torquay last year and now play GFL.
The assistant coach Coy looks very good. He cam with Skrobalak from Bacchus mArsh. He aslo has a few others, one of them a masive kick from all reports .

Look out for east.
Does anyone know what is happening with the season?east have always been the biggest pretenders going around so it will be interesting to see if the big fellow can turn things around for the club. they will need a heap load of players to challenge the likes of thomson because east were ********ing pitiful last year. they were close to the wosre team in the competition.

Zoey
24th December 2006, 14:29
St. Joeys duo Nathan Panozzo and Paul Jenkinson have signed with Thomson for next year. Both are injury prone but are two of the hardest players in the GFL in previous years. The Tigers just kep getting stronger....

Any news on Blue West?? Can they rise with East Geelong this year as well??

Hey whispers I can tell you from a good source that Anthony Sutej is playing assistant at Blue West for 2007

Kooley
24th December 2006, 15:11
Hey whispers I can tell you from a good source that Anthony Sutej is playing assistant at Blue West for 2007who is he zoey???

Zoey
24th December 2006, 16:23
who is he zoey???

I beleive he won the reserves best & fairest for the competition in the GFL this year - will be a good player in the league

Whispers
24th December 2006, 21:35
Hey whispers I can tell you from a good source that Anthony Sutej is playing assistant at Blue West for 2007

Really! That is a great get by the Cheetahs.. is there any possibility that a few of the North Shore boys could be heading across to West?

Zoey
25th December 2006, 21:12
Really! That is a great get by the Cheetahs.. is there any possibility that a few of the North Shore boys could be heading across to West?

I believe there will be at least a couple heading with him that will be handy GDFL players

tommahawk_07
26th December 2006, 17:30

keen to meet new team mates whispers?

19th Man
26th December 2006, 21:06

It's all well in luring the GFL reserves B & F to your club, but to put it in perspective, he doesn't compare with the likes of Panozzo and Jenkinson who have alledgedly signed at Thompson.

Boy George
26th December 2006, 21:12
[quote=Boy George;6450829]

jenkinson has signed at thompson, hard at it and with a good preseason behind him he will tear sides apart in 07

Kooley
27th December 2006, 07:59
Does anyone know if Thomson has lost many players?

Zoey
27th December 2006, 08:28
Does anyone know if Thomson has lost many players?

None that I know of - will be stronger than last year is the word!!!

Zoey
27th December 2006, 08:30
None that I know of - will be stronger than last year is the word!!!

Any news on Bell Post Hill - players left/gaining???

newton
30th December 2006, 06:58
I just heard on the radio that the whole GDFL could be called off next year.

Is this a possibilty and what would it mean for both players and clubs?

obi 1
3rd January 2007, 13:37
Bell Post Hill are struggling to get numbers and there better player are aging. Look out for the teams like East and corio making there way to the top.

19th Man
3rd January 2007, 21:31
Bell Post Hill are struggling to get numbers and there better player are aging. Look out for the teams like East and corio making there way to the top.

Are the small numbers a pre-christmas thing or are they really without personal. I heard a couple of former Bell Park boys following Hill's new assistant? Can anyone confirm?

Kooley
4th January 2007, 08:09
Are the small numbers a pre-christmas thing or are they really without personal. I heard a couple of former Bell Park boys following Hill's new assistant? Can anyone confirm?

Who is Hill's new assisatant?

19th Man
4th January 2007, 20:54
Who is Hill's new assisatant?

His last name is Martin, I'm not sure if it's Brett or Brad or something like that.

gifted
5th January 2007, 07:00
His last name is Martin, I'm not sure if it's Brett or Brad or something like that.
Is this the same Brad Martin that spent time at Werribee VFL a few years back. Good player and definately provide some drive out of defence, if he still plays there

19th Man
6th January 2007, 10:37
Is this the same Brad Martin that spent time at Werribee VFL a few years back. Good player and definately provide some drive out of defence, if he still plays there

Unsure if he spent time at Werribee, but I do think he plays in defence.

mondays expert
7th January 2007, 13:37
Unsure if he spent time at Werribee, but I do think he plays in defence.

Brad Martin was on werribe vfl list years ago did not play snrs and has not played alot of late, but you would think he would still be a very handy recruit, especially if he brings some bell park boys with him.

Bell Post could be Thomsons main danger this year

19th Man
7th January 2007, 15:52
Brad Martin was on werribe vfl list years ago did not play snrs and has not played alot of late, but you would think he would still be a very handy recruit, especially if he brings some bell park boys with him.

Bell Post could be Thomsons main danger this year

Little has been said of Bannock, does this mean they have lost a few and are sliding out of calculations?
And, would a couple of boys from Bell Park really close the gap on Thomson with their rummoured sigings?

newton
7th January 2007, 17:21
I spoke to someone from Werribee Centrals and he said that up to 20 players from last years list have left the club. He said that they could really struggle to field two teams this year.

Kooley
7th January 2007, 19:22
I spoke to someone from Werribee Centrals and he said that up to 20 players from last years list have left the club. He said that they could really struggle to field two teams this year.i have heard the same thing newton. at least 10 of that 20 would be regular senior players as well. there is even rumours now that jason fastuca who had taken the assistant coaching job on at centrals is thinking about moving to bell park in the gfl....things are looking terrible at the club.

mondays expert
8th January 2007, 08:04
Why is this kooley? There coach has left but surely he has not taken all the players with him,is there other drama at he club causing problems? Werribee have always been one of the top clubs are you predicting that they will struggle for a while?

Also Bannock have been very quiet does any one know how they are going players leaving or players signed???

Kooley
8th January 2007, 09:38
Why is this kooley? There coach has left but surely he has not taken all the players with him,is there other drama at he club causing problems? Werribee have always been one of the top clubs are you predicting that they will struggle for a while?

Also Bannock have been very quiet does any one know how they are going players leaving or players signed???apparently the club took forever to appoint a coach when chris gilham decided leave. very slack effort indeed by the club considering gilham told the club of his intentions before the end of the season.
this resulted in players being lured to other clubs such as bacchus marsh who is being coached by dion miles who is a werribee lad and obviously gillo who is coaching west saints in the gfl.
with the late appointment of cori wallace as coach it has been near on impossible to recruit any players to centrals because most of the quality players on the market had already committed to other clubs.

centrals also had a number of promising young players last year who came from werribee under 18's. the word is that all of these youngsters about 6 of them in total have gone to the werribee amateurs to play under kirk norton who coached the boys when they played in the under 18's.

the most concerning thing for centrals is that some of the remaining decent players on thier list will probably leave as well if things don't get better.

newton
9th January 2007, 08:43
apparently the club took forever to appoint a coach when chris gilham decided leave. very slack effort indeed by the club considering gilham told the club of his intentions before the end of the season.
this resulted in players being lured to other clubs such as bacchus marsh who is being coached by dion miles who is a werribee lad and obviously gillo who is coaching west saints in the gfl.
with the late appointment of cori wallace as coach it has been near on impossible to recruit any players to centrals because most of the quality players on the market had already committed to other clubs.

centrals also had a number of promising young players last year who came from werribee under 18's. the word is that all of these youngsters about 6 of them in total have gone to the werribee amateurs to play under kirk norton who coached the boys when they played in the under 18's.

the most concerning thing for centrals is that some of the remaining decent players on thier list will probably leave as well if things don't get better.No players from last year Kooley have been contacted at all to start pre-season training, this appears to be the real problem. Not a letter, not a phone call from the coaches or the club. You can't blame players for moving on if this is this case.

mondays expert
9th January 2007, 09:29
Things dont sound good down there, but looks like they have themselves to blame, in one way its good for the other clubs if they wont be a finals threat in an other dont want the GDFL becoming a two horse race before the season starts.

Who does everyone think the real movers will be either way can one of the cellar dwellers improve enough to make finals and can anyone give Thomson a real run for there money????

I tip the mighty Hill to be a real threat this year.

19th Man
10th January 2007, 00:06
Things dont sound good down there, but looks like they have themselves to blame, in one way its good for the other clubs if they wont be a finals threat in an other dont want the GDFL becoming a two horse race before the season starts.

Who does everyone think the real movers will be either way can one of the cellar dwellers improve enough to make finals and can anyone give Thomson a real run for there money????

I tip the mighty Hill to be a real threat this year.

On what basis do you make this assumption. New players, maturing youngsters, no injuries? because they clearly could not match the top two last year!

mondays expert
10th January 2007, 07:42
On what basis do you make this assumption. New players, maturing youngsters, no injuries? because they clearly could not match the top two last year!

If you check last years results you will see that the hill were mighty close in all games against Thomson and Bannock, lead Thomson all day in there first clash and were beaten after the siren by bannock in an other, coming from fifth to only lose by a couple in the prelim final was a good effort.

The list is improving should have a better draw than last year, bannock may have lost to many so i think the hill will be right there in september.

THE TOP GUN
10th January 2007, 09:34
Any word on Anakie? they seemed to recruit well last pre season and improve this year, Does anyone know if they have recruited well this year and wheather they will be a contender in 07?

obi 1
11th January 2007, 08:18
Surely East Geelong must be a chance to make the finals.

Do people think this is possible?

mondays expert
11th January 2007, 15:31
Surely East Geelong must be a chance to make the finals.

Do people think this is possible?

I think it is possible Scrobalak if he gets enough suply will kick bagfuls so for his sake i hope he has recruited some on ballers. saying that they were a long way back last year so id reckon ten solid players would be needed to sneal into the five.

Top Five

Thomson
Bell Post
Nth Geelong ( have not heard much about them lately but always there abouts)
Bannockburn
?????? for fifth maybe corio they did well considering the amount of people left last season.

Kooley
11th January 2007, 16:03
I think it is possible Scrobalak if he gets enough suply will kick bagfuls so for his sake i hope he has recruited some on ballers. saying that they were a long way back last year so id reckon ten solid players would be needed to sneal into the five.

Top Five

Thomson
Bell Post
Nth Geelong ( have not heard much about them lately but always there abouts)
Bannockburn
?????? for fifth maybe corio they did well considering the amount of people left last season.if the big fellow can stay injury free east would have to be a chance to play finals this year. they finished 5th in 2005, had a terrible year last season but with the influx of some quality players and the possible demise of werribee centrals east could be the eam to replace them in the 5.

the word around as well is that corio will improve again this year, so they would be finals calculations as well.

bac
12th January 2007, 14:55
Does anybody know if any games are played by juniors etc on Sunday afternoona on galvin park in footy season on either of there ovals??

newton
12th January 2007, 16:39
Does anybody know if any games are played by juniors etc on Sunday afternoona on galvin park in footy season on either of there ovals??There is juniors on centrals main ground every Sunday.

bac
13th January 2007, 14:44
There is juniors on centrals main ground every Sunday.

Do the juniors play every Sunday at Galvin? What time do they finish? Do they use both ovals?

newton
13th January 2007, 17:00
Do the juniors play every Sunday at Galvin? What time do they finish? Do they use both ovals?I'm pretty sure there is juniors there every Sunday on the main oval. they don't play on the other ground as a rule. there are usually games on in the mid morning through to the afternoon.

obi 1
15th January 2007, 07:35
North Geelong are coached by ex Torquay reserves coach Jim Alford. I have heard he has 2 torquay 2nds players there but havent heard much else.
Have corio picked up a few?

newton
15th January 2007, 08:24
North Geelong are coached by ex Torquay reserves coach Jim Alford. I have heard he has 2 torquay 2nds players there but havent heard much else.
Have corio picked up a few?Don't know much about him is he playing coach?

Flat Track Bully
15th January 2007, 10:46
Have corio picked up a few?

Jim Alford- if it's the same bloke, he coached St.Leonards to a 1-17 record in 1987.

One win you say...well better than their first two years (85-86) when they won nothing!

Beat Ocean Grove for its first win, Jimmy was captain-coach and momentarily a local legend.

whippety boy
15th January 2007, 14:02
Jim Alford- if it's the same bloke, he coached St.Leonards to a 1-17 record in 1987.

One win you say...well better than their first two years (85-86) when they won nothing!

Beat Ocean Grove for its first win, Jimmy was captain-coach and momentarily a local legend.Sounds Like Nth Geelong are going after the heavy artillery :rolleyes:

obi 1
16th January 2007, 12:34
Jim Alford is known as a players coach. He worked well with other torquay coaches. i guess we will see how he goes by himself.

I would suggest he will struggle as the senior coach at torquay took most of the training in the last few years. His son plays down there from what i hear. Not sure how he goes?

19th Man
17th January 2007, 11:53
Jim Alford is known as a players coach. He worked well with other torquay coaches. i guess we will see how he goes by himself.

I would suggest he will struggle as the senior coach at torquay took most of the training in the last few years. His son plays down there from what i hear. Not sure how he goes?

I thought that his son was Alan Alford from Nth Geelong last year! But hey, I could be wrong.

19th Man
17th January 2007, 11:55
i highly doubt gdfl is guna start...its already been delayed a month atleast and seens as winchelsea didnt end up gettin the thumps up from the shire the only half decent ground is werribee so people tell me so i doubt whether it will get a start

It seems you are very much hung up on this topic, because that's all you seem to post about. Give us something exciting to talk about! Something thats positive.

obi 1
18th January 2007, 06:39
sorry mate typo. Alan Alford is his sone and he is coaching north geelong.

I hear GDFL are kicking in $40,000 each for 7 grounds. They will play 6 rounds at the start of the season at these grounds and then if the other six grounds are ready to go they will play the next six there.

Can anyone confirm this rumour?

mondays expert
18th January 2007, 08:05

I hear GDFL are kicking in $40,000 each for 7 grounds. They will play 6 rounds at the start of the season at these grounds and then if the other six grounds are ready to go they will play the next six there.

Cant confirm obi but i hope your right people keep saying we wont get a start but if common sense prevails we should be ok.Season suppose to start may 5th does anyone know if they are cutting out all byes and maybe moving back finals to get more rounds????

19th Man
18th January 2007, 14:28

Rumour has it, 4 grounds to be watered. Werribee, BPH, Corio & not sure of the other one. Season starts at round 4, with all bye's and split rounds no longer. So, at this stage a 16 round season & finals as normal.

kdiddle
19th January 2007, 19:09
apperantly jay bett got this hand caught in a blender making margarita's...... lost his fingers and will be out for half a season...

whippety boy
21st January 2007, 09:31
Rumour has it, 4 grounds to be watered. Werribee, BPH, Corio & not sure of the other one. Season starts at round 4, with all bye's and split rounds no longer. So, at this stage a 16 round season & finals as normal.Werribee's ground has been constantly watered throughout the summer using recycled water. It is tip top condition.

Bell Post's ground Myer's Reserve was featured on the front page of the Geelong Advertiser recently and is as dry as a bone.The same can be said about Corio's Shell reserve.

19th Man
21st January 2007, 18:29
Werribee's ground has been constantly watered throughout the summer using recycled water. It is tip top condition.

Bell Post's ground Myer's Reserve was featured on the front page of the Geelong Advertiser recently and is as dry as a bone.The same can be said about Corio's Shell reserve.

If you read the article, instead of just looking at the pictures, you would be better informed as to what they plan to do.

whippety boy
22nd January 2007, 06:13
If you read the article, instead of just looking at the pictures, you would be better informed as to what they plan to do.Are you disputing Myer's Reserve isn't dry?

19th Man
22nd January 2007, 09:58
Are you disputing Myer's Reserve isn't dry?

No the picture is quite clear, but if you had read my post clearly, I stated that these grounds "are to be watered". I understand that from March 1st, they are exempt from restrictions, enabling them to water as needed.
I am aware that werribee were already doing this, because Stage 3 restrictions only began on Jan 1.

whippety boy
22nd January 2007, 10:07
No the picture is quite clear, but if you had read my post clearly, I stated that these grounds "are to be watered". I understand that from March 1st, they are exempt from restrictions, enabling them to water as needed.
I am aware that werribee were already doing this, because Stage 3 restrictions only began on Jan 1.I read your post clearly and you said that those grounds are rumoured to be watered.......I'm just stating that at the moment Myer's reserve is as dry as a bone whereas Werribee Centrals ground is very green.

caveman
22nd January 2007, 12:04
Can someone please give me a run down of the ins and outs for Belmont Lions?

Thanks! :thumbsu:

obi 1
22nd January 2007, 13:17
i heard they have lost there coach and are chasing haami williams but want him to play forward.

I am not an expert on ground keeping but surely the rain we have had will help the grounds, lets hope we get more of it.

Heard on the weekend that Thompson will be ordinary this season can anyone confirm this?

mondays expert
22nd January 2007, 14:46
i heard they have lost there coach and are chasing haami williams but want him to play forward.

I am not an expert on ground keeping but surely the rain we have had will help the grounds, lets hope we get more of it.

Heard on the weekend that Thompson will be ordinary this season can anyone confirm this?

Lets get fair dinkum if thomson have lost players lets hope they have for all our sakes, it would not matter they were so far in front last year. They will never be ordinary maybe they just might be brought back to the pack.

whippety boy
22nd January 2007, 15:09
Lets get fair dinkum if thomson have lost players lets hope they have for all our sakes, it would not matter they were so far in front last year. They will never be ordinary maybe they just might be brought back to the pack.I didn't think Thomson dominated the final series like they did the year before.....The grandfinal was closer than expected.

mondays expert
23rd January 2007, 09:06
I didn't think Thomson dominated the final series like they did the year before.....The grandfinal was closer than expected.

Yes both finals where a little closer than expected between thomson and bannock but winning back to back flags not losing a game in 2006, dont know about you but i would call that dominant. Would you ????

The Messenger
23rd January 2007, 09:39
Just wondering if someone could tell me what sort of year Mick Rowe had at North Geelong. I used to play with him and I was just interested on how he was going with his footy. Had a great leap and used to take a hanger every week also used to kick a few goals, played mostly as a forward pocket. That was a few years back now but just wondering if he still goes alright.

whippety boy
23rd January 2007, 12:08
Yes both finals where a little closer than expected between thomson and bannock but winning back to back flags not losing a game in 2006, dont know about you but i would call that dominant. Would you ????You're right on the account that winning every game and taking out the grandfinal appears to be a dominant year but to me Thomson look beatable in the finals......In saying that Thomson have been by far the best team over the last 2 years probably due to fact that some of the other teams like Werribee Centrals have dropped away a bit.
With both Gardiner and Atchison a year older hopefully Thomson can come back to the field a bit in 2007.

newton
23rd January 2007, 19:34
You're right on the account that winning every game and taking out the grandfinal appears to be a dominant year but to me Thomson look beatable in the finals......In saying that Thomson have been by far the best team over the last 2 years probably due to fact that some of the other teams like Werribee Centrals have dropped away a bit.With both Gardiner and Atchison a year older hopefully Thomson can come back to the field a bit in 2007.Just been on the Werribee Centrals website they're pleading for new players to the club.

19th Man
24th January 2007, 13:14

With inclusions of Jenkinson, Panozzo and maybe Royce Vardy, I very much doubt this comment.

obi 1
24th January 2007, 14:25
Ive been getting around to a few club training sessions, last nigth my mate went down and watched the eagles train for the last 30mins.

He said they looked very sharp. Also younger brother of skrobolak trained and looked very good. He is a backman that is suggested to be very talented and from what i hear last night got a few eagles excited.

Players are impressed with the coach and young coy as assistant, he seems to be making a great reputation in the coaching ranks.

Kooley
24th January 2007, 16:49
Ive been getting around to a few club training sessions, last nigth my mate went down and watched the eagles train for the last 30mins.

He said they looked very sharp. Also younger brother of skrobolak trained and looked very good. He is a backman that is suggested to be very talented and from what i hear last night got a few eagles excited.

Players are impressed with the coach and young coy as assistant, he seems to be making a great reputation in the coaching ranks.What other clubs have you seen train?????

In fact I don't think you have seen any other clubs train except east geelong. you wouldn't happen to be either skroblak's brother or young coy??