View Full Version : Lexton Plains Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28

ITCHYGROIN
26 Mar 2008, 19:01
All is well in SAINT LAND have appointed a joint coach with Ports and are getting huge numbers on the track. Expect Ports to kick 120+ this year so my informant tells me. C/L, Skipton, Rokewood , Navarre all will fight it out this year, then daylight to the rest of the field.

wildchild
26 Mar 2008, 19:21
All is well in SAINT LAND have appointed a joint coach with Ports and are getting huge numbers on the track. Expect Ports to kick 120+ this year so my informant tells me. C/L, Skipton, Rokewood , Navarre all will fight it out this year, then daylight to the rest of the field.

not what i hear itchy i here stasse has put on atleast 2kgs of pork ribs and 5kgs of latrobe street mega meat snags and to balance his ruckwork throw in 10kgs of tender lamb chops, by the sounds things he'll be stuck in the square next to ports all year, dont worry about shotgunning a 6pack of vb this man can shotgun 500 grams of raw minced meat in under 60 seconds:eek:

Big_Chill
26 Mar 2008, 23:00
It's all well and good to come out making big statements about guys kicking 100 + goals but at the end of the day thats not what wins flags. I beleive the quality of forwards in the LPFL is very good, therefore a having a strong back line is just as important to a side.

My assessment is the team with the best defenders will be the side to beat. All the top sides will be capable of kicking 15 to 18 goals a week against average defences and its just a matter of who can keep their opponents to 12 goals or less.

How is some of the lists of recruits coming to LPFL clubs this year! I'm tipping there are going to be some red hot teams. Competition will be not far behind CHFL this year.

wintertime
26 Mar 2008, 23:01
Anyone see the football liftout in the Ballarat Courier today? Good to read words from the coaches mouth rather than rumour for a change.

Old School Biff
27 Mar 2008, 09:21
Anyone see the football liftout in the Ballarat Courier today? Good to read words from the coaches mouth rather than rumour for a change.

You're right. Maybe we should pack this forum up and keep it exclusively for coaches...

Big_Chill
27 Mar 2008, 11:24

Yeah i agree had some good stuff in there. Interesting looking through it, i would say the LPFL clubs are recruiting better then the CHFL. Would love to see an interleague square off. Think people would be surprised from CHFL.

Bout time i update my odds for the the flag this year.

Previous odds for the LPFL Premiership:
Carngham- $2.20
Rokewood- $3.50
Skipton- $5.00
Lexton- $12.00
Natte- $15.00
Illabarook- $17.50
Navarre- $20.00
Ararat- $1000.00

Current Odds for the LPFL Premiership:
C/L- $2.90 (Drifted slightly, still the team to beat though)
Rokewood- $3.50 (Remaining firm, good inclusions)
Skipton- $4.80 (Coming in a few points. Looking reasonable at this stage)
Lexton- $10.00 (Closed in, taking a bit of money from a few dreamers)
Natte- $12.50 (Money coming from the Loyal Natte folk)
Navarre- $20.00 (Unkown quantity, no takers thus far)
Illabarook- $50.00 (Coach said not looking to improve just maintain?? )
Ararat- $1000.00 (We all hope they improve, a few years off yet)

Old School Biff
27 Mar 2008, 11:50

Great odds Big Chill. I honestly can't pick it this year.

Lamb looking to maintain is just classic managing a team and clubs expectations. If he said we're going to be top 3, he could make a relatively successful season finishing 4th look like a failure.

On the other topic a LPFL v CHFL square off would be great. The benefit of playing LPFL is that you get more close games. This year there should be 7 tough to beat teams and 1 easy beat compared to their 6 tough teams and 8 mid range - easy beats. They have more teams so their pool is obviously bigger and that would make their interleague team stronger, but LPFL is closing the gap.

An LPFL tipping comp would be a good idea this year. I'll start a thread if anyone is keen.

wiz33
27 Mar 2008, 15:28
Yeah i agree had some good stuff in there. Interesting looking through it, i would say the LPFL clubs are recruiting better then the CHFL. Would love to see an interleague square off. Think people would be surprised from CHFL.

Bout time i update my odds for the the flag this year.

Previous odds for the LPFL Premiership:
Carngham- $2.20
Rokewood- $3.50
Skipton- $5.00
Lexton- $12.00
Natte- $15.00
Illabarook- $17.50
Navarre- $20.00
Ararat- $1000.00

Good Odds mate:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Wouldn't mind a bit on Navarre each way as the whispers I have heard is that they have picked up some extremely handy players and will have more depth that last year.
Think Rokewood will be tought to beat. Big recruit for them I suspect wil be X man Ryan. Be a dominating player if he is keen and committed. Can jump, run and grabs it one hand like Kouta! Intersting to see how he goes:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

wiz33
27 Mar 2008, 15:29
Great odds Big Chill. I honestly can't pick it this year.

Lamb looking to maintain is just classic managing a team and clubs expectations. If he said we're going to be top 3, he could make a relatively successful season finishing 4th look like a failure.

On the other topic a LPFL v CHFL square off would be great. The benefit of playing LPFL is that you get more close games. This year there should be 7 tough to beat teams and 1 easy beat compared to their 6 tough teams and 8 mid range - easy beats. They have more teams so their pool is obviously bigger and that would make their interleague team stronger, but LPFL is closing the gap.

An LPFL tipping comp would be a good idea this year. I'll start a thread if anyone is keen.

Yea OSB would love to have a tipping contest. Adds a lot of interest! Count me in if it runs

Old School Biff
27 Mar 2008, 16:09
Yea OSB would love to have a tipping contest. Adds a lot of interest! Count me in if it runs

Will do. I'll start a new thread for it rather than mix it up with all this. 3 very interesting games round 1.

Rokewood v Illabarook
Skipton v Lexton
CL v Natte

There should be some good money with the night match at Austar. Canteen, bar and etc will be up a fair bit compared to the usual gate one would suspect. No CHFL and BFL scheduled will bring the punters in and most LPFL teams would probably poke their noses in.

wiz33
27 Mar 2008, 16:49
Will do. I'll start a new thread for it rather than mix it up with all this. 3 very interesting games round 1.

Rokewood v Illabarook
Skipton v Lexton
CL v Natte

There should be some good money with the night match at Austar. Canteen, bar and etc will be up a fair bit compared to the usual gate one would suspect. No CHFL and BFL scheduled will bring the punters in and most LPFL teams would probably poke their noses in.

love your work

ohwhenthesaints
28 Mar 2008, 00:05
love your work

Can anyone report on Shane boyington at Rokewood (i think?)
absolute lunatic at our club last year, missed a few games because of a stand up stoush at training last year, lets fly with the big cannons at the earliest convenience. Has he smashed anyone at training yet? He had a penchant for causing damage in competetive drills.

eromsil
28 Mar 2008, 08:14
Can anyone report on Shane boyington at Rokewood (i think?)
absolute lunatic at our club last year, missed a few games because of a stand up stoush at training last year, lets fly with the big cannons at the earliest convenience. Has he smashed anyone at training yet? He had a penchant for causing damage in competetive drills.

yes i have heard the same about boyington, i believe thats why rokewood has paid a few extra dollars to get him. they may have someone now with a physical presence. i can't recall them having anyone in the last few years to show a bit of strength. Augustine and R.Wilson is about it, please correct me if im wrong:confused:

eromsil
28 Mar 2008, 08:22
just on another small note attended and watched lexton train during the week. good numbers and a few who look like they can play, hey but it's just training right. Anyway can anyone from lexton pls confirm there stronger pick ups.

also from the navaree ground things are looking good. club are very happy with recruits and believe there still could be a few big signings from the stawell area. keep an eye from whats happening out this way.

eromsil
28 Mar 2008, 08:25

Rokewood v Illabarook
Skipton v Lexton
CL v Natte

osb - give me all the home teams. rokewood to smash the dogs only because it's at home, skipton in a close one over the tiges - but lots of promise for the season and cl in a strong win over natte.......

wiz33
28 Mar 2008, 09:10
just on another small note attended and watched lexton train during the week. good numbers and a few who look like they can play, hey but it's just training right. Anyway can anyone from lexton pls confirm there stronger pick ups.

also from the navaree ground things are looking good. club are very happy with recruits and believe there still could be a few big signings from the stawell area. keep an eye from whats happening out this way.

Eromsil can help you out,
The tigers will be better this year with a lot more depth. Recruited a lot of height which should help. Probably key signings (from about 20 new players) would the ruck combination of T.OLiver (Ballan, Ex Lexton B & F) , McKinnon (Learmonth) and Reid (Gordon). Running players through midfield will be Rushton (Waubra) J. Allan (Waubra) L. Bennet (Ballan).
Key forward and backs wil be vetren Noddy Gladman and strong possible signing of an East Point big man. Time will tell on that one though.
Interesting to see how much they can improve as we were a long way off last year. Hope gives some insight

concerned citizen
28 Mar 2008, 11:39
I see Jason Hill named on the interchange bench for his new club against Noosa this weekend

Creature of Habit
28 Mar 2008, 12:27
Having played in both the LPFL and CHFL leagues, I'm of the opinion that CHFL is generally a higher standard league... The bottom five or six players in most of the LPFL sides would struggle to get a game in CHFL. Having said that, I think the CHFL would only be slightly better if there was an interleague match... Somebody should organise it. Creates another week off for the league.

Creature of Habit
28 Mar 2008, 12:44
I think Lexton and Navarre will be much improved this year, due to the fact that they weren't too far off the pace last year (despite their ladder position), they haven't lost many players and have picked up some quality recruits.

Cargnham looks as though they've got a few players returning after struggling in the CHFL. Ross waters leaving will impact directly on Pie sales at the Linton Cafeteria...

wiz33
28 Mar 2008, 13:25
I think Lexton and Navarre will be much improved this year, due to the fact that they weren't too far off the pace last year (despite their ladder position), they haven't lost many players and have picked up some quality recruits.

Cargnham looks as though they've got a few players returning after struggling in the CHFL. Ross waters leaving will impact directly on Pie sales at the Linton Cafeteria...

Lexton will be much improved but they got smashed by every top five side last year bar Illabarook so lots of improvement needed

Old School Biff
28 Mar 2008, 13:28

I think you will find Lexton and Navarre were miles off the pace in ladder position and game day performance. I suppose that depends on what you call 'the pace'. In my book, 'the pace' was Skipton, Rokewood, Natte and CL (Ladder Positions). Just have a look at the footballing lessons those 4 teams dished out to Lexton and Navarre last season. Collectively they did not beat one of those teams listed. I know Navarre got close to CL in round 5 but their end of year form would have destroyed the Grasshoppers. Also, I would have nearly put money on Ararat getting their only win against Lexton last year at the time.

All that is in the rear view mirror and hopefully they can close the gap a bit but I'll be waiting until round 1 before I rate either of those teams either highly or lowly.

Pring and Grigg did play in a premiership team didn't they? As Ted Whitten said "I'd rather be the worst player in a premiership team than the best player in the runners up". Pring was mentioned in the bests most weeks too from memory.

Craig Hutchison
28 Mar 2008, 14:01
I believe one of the main reasons the Eagles are happy in the LPFL is the ability to draw players from the Ballarat area, essentially where the population is. I dont recall the Eagles ever having recruited any players from Ballarat, but I agree something needs to be done in regards to league restuctures before its too late. I think the VCFL should place the Eagles in the MDFL before its too late,The lets just sit back and wait attitude of the VCFL just doesn't cut it.

I don't think you have used a lot of grey matter, with this statement Crazy 88. First of all whether or not the Eagles have actually recruited anyone from Ballarat is irrelevant, the fact that they have a better ability to do so, is the important point. Not to mention a number of young Ararat people travel to Ballarat and actually live in Ararat for work and university.

The VCFL do not have the power to put any club anywhere, the only time they have any power is if a league requestes assistance or their competition is clearly not viable. The decision on which League the club plays in rests with the members of the club, not the VCFL. You mentioned that the VCFL should do this before it is too late.... Too late for what can you tell me? I presume you are an interested party in the LPFL, why would you think it a good idea for the Eagles to leave, this would almost certainly put the LPFL under scrutiny as a viable league, at a time when the LPFL is in a fantastic position as a strong league, with record crowds, excellent administration and a healthy competition.

Back to the Eagles, and my sources tell me that they have picked up some handy young players from the Geelong area, and the latest word is they are close to securing former Coach and Ballarat Courier Player of the Year award winnder Jake Strafehl. If my mail is right, then this is a great result for the Eagles, as he would be a handy inclusion to provide some strength to their midfield and support to their young list.

ITCHYGROIN
28 Mar 2008, 14:12

You are a wank my fury friend. Pring and Grigg both played in a CHFL flag last year and Pring had an awsome year, so please write statements with sense not just utter bullshit. Jake Pring will dominate through the midfield has one of the best kicks going around and can hurt sides with his dissposal. Grigg will play CHB or back flank and will be very handy coming of a backline will set up many forward thrusts. I do agree that Navarre will be up there fighting for top 4 spot come september. My tips for round one are C/L to destroy Natte by over 65points, Rokewood by 60 points, Skipton by 40 points Navarre by a s p a c e ......
Any thoughts gents?

ITCHYGROIN
28 Mar 2008, 14:14
Jake Strafehl has he lost any weight? Last i saw was the side of a house, Would be better bringing kids through the system than chassing him.

watthe
28 Mar 2008, 14:18
You are a wank my fury friend. Pring and Grigg both played in a CHFL flag last year and Pring had an awsome year, so please write statements with sense not just utter bullshit. Jake Pring will dominate through the midfield has one of the best kicks going around and can hurt sides with his dissposal. Grigg will play CHB or back flank and will be very handy coming of a backline will set up many forward thrusts. I do agree that Navarre will be up there fighting for top 4 spot come september. My tips for round one are C/L to destroy Natte by over 65points, Rokewood by 60 points, Skipton by 40 points Navarre by a s p a c e ......
Any thoughts gents?

your predicitions are pretty spot on itchy, dont know what all the hipe about lexton is, they were pretty ordinary last year and would need a heap of "quality" players to help them climb the ladder, they will win their fair share of games but will struggle against the likes of C/L rokewood and skipton, i also think natte will be beow par to, which isnt a bad thing to see :D:D

Creature of Habit
28 Mar 2008, 14:31
Yes, time will tell. Would not be surprised if Lexton roll Skipton in round 1 though... Should be a good game to watch. How are skipton travelling?

watthe
28 Mar 2008, 15:01
Yes, time will tell. Would not be surprised if Lexton roll Skipton in round 1 though... Should be a good game to watch. How are skipton travelling?

Lexton wont get within 7 goals of skipton

Craig Hutchison
28 Mar 2008, 15:06
Jake Strafehl has he lost any weight? Last i saw was the side of a house, Would be better bringing kids through the system than chassing him.

I've been told he looks pretty lean and is pretty fit, after a solid pre-season with the Rats.

I don't know how the Eagles could pass up a person of his experience and talent. Is a hard at the ball player, who will no doubt support and supplement the Eagles youngsters.

t08199883
28 Mar 2008, 15:13
I've been told he looks pretty lean and is pretty fit, after a solid pre-season with the Rats.

I don't know how the Eagles could pass up a person of his experience and talent. Is a hard at the ball player, who will no doubt support and supplement the Eagles youngsters.

I agree Hutch and your mail is correct, strafehl has signed with the eagles and todays paper suggests they have got four or five coming from Geelong which is a great bonus for them. I watched their praccy match against Great western the other week and their young kids moved well, very quick which are promising signs.

must be getting close to the season as there is plenty of yap on this thred. Great to see.

Creature of Habit
28 Mar 2008, 15:39
Skipton are overrated, rely on only a few players... I'm not saying that Lexton will be world beaters, But they will certainly improve on last year and be very competitive with the top sides. Navarre were also good in patches last year, and it only takes a couple of quality inclusions to change things around. I think the makeup of the ladder will change comprehensively from last year, with CL to remain the obvious favourite.

Old School Biff
28 Mar 2008, 16:24
Any thoughts gents?

I think you are spot on with Grigg and Pring. The two are more than handy inclusions and any LPFL or CHFL team would be wrapt to obtain their services.

Pring was the go to guy for the 2006 flag for CL. CL have played to his strengths and he is my interleague wingman.

wintertime
28 Mar 2008, 19:09
I think you will find Lexton and Navarre were miles off the pace in ladder position and game day performance. I suppose that depends on what you call 'the pace'. In my book, 'the pace' was Skipton, Rokewood, Natte and CL (Ladder Positions). Just have a look at the footballing lessons those 4 teams dished out to Lexton and Navarre last season. Collectively they did not beat one of those teams listed. I know Navarre got close to CL in round 5 but their end of year form would have destroyed the Grasshoppers. Also, I would have nearly put money on Ararat getting their only win against Lexton last year at the time.

All that is in the rear view mirror and hopefully they can close the gap a bit but I'll be waiting until round 1 before I rate either of those teams either highly or lowly.

Pring and Grigg did play in a premiership team didn't they? As Ted Whitten said "I'd rather be the worst player in a premiership team than the best player in the runners up". Pring was mentioned in the bests most weeks too from memory.

OSB, Navarre actually beat C/L last year in Rd 3

Just shelf it
28 Mar 2008, 19:51

You're usually pretty spot on with the stats Old School but i think you'll find that Navarre defeated C/L in round 3 pretty comfortably, but then went on to beat Ararat 3 times and lexton once as their only other wins of the year. I think u might be slipping in your old age...

Wella22
28 Mar 2008, 20:16
I read with interest on the MDFL forum that the league is struggling, with up to 5 teams not having enough numbers to field reserves, and the fact a few of their clubs are looking at joining the LPFL in 2009.

Don't be surprised if the LPFL includes SMW Rovers, Tatyoon, Lake Bolac and Lis/Derri in 2009. Most of these clubs recruit from Ballarat anyway, so it makes sense.

Forget the CHFL argument, as they think they're the best league outside the AFL and don't want to change their structure.

Looks like the Eagles made the right decision to stay in the stronger LPFL and maintain their youth policy. Their time will come, and I think the other MDFL clubs joining the LPFL will only help their cause. :)

Big_Chill
29 Mar 2008, 00:21
Transfers are still flooding in think and fast. It is about time there is a salary cap put in place because by the looks everyone is spending up to be the top dog in the LPFL. This is good to see in my book, especially when every club seems to have far more in then outs.

I know I have put the odds up but i feel like I am stabbing in the dark saying who will win it this year. Anyone's guess is as good as mine!

I like the tipping comp, i will even put up odds and everyone can have fantasy bets and well keep a running total. We could do it that everyone starts with $100 or $1000 or something and the person with the highest come finals wins. Old School i don't know how to start threads but i could do something similar to what you're saying if directed...

One last thing, I have followed this league for quite a while and today a name poped up that rang my bell. A Trevor Field has put in a transfer to Natte? Can someone tell me if this is the guy with a crook neck or is it a relation of his or a total coincedence?

Where are the praccy's tommorrow? Inform us of results please!

Whacker
29 Mar 2008, 15:57
Yes that would be big trevor field with a kink in his neck. And if it is SMW rovers being talked about in the last post as to recruiting from ballarat i would say 50% of there list comes from ballarat

Craig Hutchison
29 Mar 2008, 17:23
Oh it is still silly season with silly people posting. Perhaps you wait until the season starts before we make statements about 5 clubs not having reserves as there has been no official word. And what type of a perosn has nothing better to do than sit on his computer and bag out other leagues. Very poor form. I am of the belief that leagues depend on each other therefore should support each other as much as possible. I also noticed you had the nerve to make the same post on two different league threds. Exactly what are you trying to achieve? You say the CHFL think highly of themselves, take a look in the mirror numb nuts.

I have played in both leagues and am of the opinion ( and that is all it is, my opinion, could be wrong ) but the LPFL is a stronger league, skill wise, with a greater percentage of the teams being strong. In saying this there are only seven teams in your league with ten in the MDFL. Of course there are going to be stronger and weaker teams. MDFL top team last year and LPFL Top team in my view would have been a great clash and i say this after having experience playing in both leagues. Have you had experience in both leagues?????

It seems to me you are not a supporter of football but a person who looks after their own interests pushing their objectives without the ability to see past your own nose.

Tatyoon and Lake Bolac recruit from Ballarat do they. Name the players. Why are Rovers struggling? because they can't recruit from Ballarat and nothing would change if they went to the LPFL because they would have to compete with Carngham, Skipton, Lexton and the CHFL. Moyston willaura tried for years to recruit out of Ballarat with no success. people just won't travel that far to play football. They persisted with their kids and now are back in the mix with their players all being locals. So good luck to the Eagles because they have got good kids coming through and this is the key to survival.

I don't know if I read, Wella22's post clearly or not, but I think I read it a lot clearly than you t08199883. Seems to me he was only pointing out what he had read on the MDFL forum, and definately not stating this to be a fact. As for bagging out other leagues, I must have missed that part as well. Providing his opinion that the LPFL is a stronger league, does not mean he was bagging another league.

Speaking of numb nuts, the LPFL has eight teams not seven as you incorrectly stated. Which league is stronger is irrelevant in this particular post (please feel free to debate me any time on that issue!), however if there is any truth to the fact 5 MDFL teams are struggling to field reserves, this is a major concern for that league. Maybe you should focus your energy on addressing this issue and its potential consequences,rather than having a go at someone who is contributing to this forum with some relevant and interesting points and information.

wiz33
29 Mar 2008, 20:08
:thumbsu:Lexton defeated Clunes comfortably in a practise game today by about 40 points over six quarters. All recruits played well including Allan, Smith and Mark Shaw. Few more to add next week V Newlyn so it looks as if we will be a little more competitive this year. No injuries from either side. From what it's worth Clunes appeared undermanned and were very young.
Cheers

Old School Biff
30 Mar 2008, 15:59
OSB, Navarre actually beat C/L last year in Rd 3

They did too. Senior moment boys sorry.:eek:

But yeah, 3 of 5 wins were against Ararat so that's not really anything to write home about.

My point being both teams were a long way off the pace and CL for the first 4 rounds were not their usual selves and when it came down to the business end of the year, the results speak for themselves.

golden flyer 29
30 Mar 2008, 18:14
Navarre played Tatyoon in a practice match 6 quarters i believe, scores were Navarre 22 goals to Tatyoon 5. All recruits played well with 4 or 5 that didnt play!

Crazy 88
30 Mar 2008, 18:20
Navarre played Tatyoon in a practice match 6 quarters i believe, scores were Navarre 22 goals to Tatyoon 5. All recruits played well with 4 or 5 that didnt play!
Did Tatyoon field a full strength side?, If they did that is an impressive win for navarre.

Big_Chill
30 Mar 2008, 18:36
Interesting results i think. Well done to Navarre and Lexton, cleary on their way up. A guy told me that Skipton encountered a tough day at the office at the expense of Dunnstown. Also heard there were a few other praccy's played but haven't heard results or who they were against.

t08199883
30 Mar 2008, 18:51
I don't know if I read, Wella22's post clearly or not, but I think I read it a lot clearly than you t08199883. Seems to me he was only pointing out what he had read on the MDFL forum, and definately not stating this to be a fact. As for bagging out other leagues, I must have missed that part as well. Providing his opinion that the LPFL is a stronger league, does not mean he was bagging another league.

Speaking of numb nuts, the LPFL has eight teams not seven as you incorrectly stated. Which league is stronger is irrelevant in this particular post (please feel free to debate me any time on that issue!), however if there is any truth to the fact 5 MDFL teams are struggling to field reserves, this is a major concern for that league. Maybe you should focus your energy on addressing this issue and its potential consequences,rather than having a go at someone who is contributing to this forum with some relevant and interesting points and information.

Yeh fair call Craig, i overrecated a bit, just having a bad day and vented frustration through the wrong medium. My apologies to wella22. I agree 5 reserves missing would be of great concern, however, i don't think that will be the case or better yet hope it's not the case. Time will tell.

wiz33
30 Mar 2008, 19:19
Interesting results i think. Well done to Navarre and Lexton, cleary on their way up. A guy told me that Skipton encountered a tough day at the office at the expense of Dunnstown. Also heard there were a few other praccy's played but haven't heard results or who they were against.

These results could be wrong but i heard Dunnstown Defeated skipton by 100 points (what i was told!!!) and Creswick defeated Illabarook by about 40 points.

Mr Responsible
30 Mar 2008, 20:10
Carngham Linton played Ballan at Ballan. Scores were C/L 14.11 to Ballan 10.10. Ballan were lucky to get that close as they kicked 3 goals in 'junk' time, the last 5 minutes of the game. C/L had a lot of senior players out so it was an extremely good effort by all the guys who played. In my opinion best players were Travis Grigg as a focal point in attack, Jake Pring, James Raynor, Duane Bodey, James Templeton and Ryan Pridham. Was a really good team effort though and the players who miss out in round 1 should consider themselves unlucky. Credit to the coaching staff to give a lot of the young players a go and they all performed admirably. Reserves had a big win against a very undermanned Ballan team and played well though will also be bolstered by players returning from the seniors and players who weren't available. Apparently having an intra club game next Saturday at Linton.

eromsil
30 Mar 2008, 20:52
Travelled out to Rokewood yesterday to watch what i thought would be a competitive game between Rokewood and Bannockburn. Rokewood looked very undermanned, can anyone from Rokewood report on what happened? When i left Bannockburn were leading by 10 goals plus....

orion21
30 Mar 2008, 23:40
Tatyoon had 8 players out. Navarre had four I was told but they also had 3 Nth Ballarat Roosters playing for them!! But Navarre looked impressive. Martin will be a hard man to beat in the ruck this year. Devery at FF kicked a few and they are waiting on their 6'7' forward to get cleared so could surprise a few teams this year

merrigan
31 Mar 2008, 00:13
Carngham Linton played Ballan at Ballan. Scores were C/L 14.11 to Ballan 10.10. Ballan were lucky to get that close as they kicked 3 goals in 'junk' time, the last 5 minutes of the game. C/L had a lot of senior players out so it was an extremely good effort by all the guys who played. In my opinion best players were Travis Grigg as a focal point in attack, Jake Pring, James Raynor, Duane Bodey, James Templeton and Ryan Pridham. Was a really good team effort though and the players who miss out in round 1 should consider themselves unlucky. Credit to the coaching staff to give a lot of the young players a go and they all performed admirably. Reserves had a big win against a very undermanned Ballan team and played well though will also be bolstered by players returning from the seniors and players who weren't available. Apparently having an intra club game next Saturday at Linton.

Practise match form means nothing but I wouldn't read much into a win against a team that will most likely finish bottom 3 in the CHFL this year and that were (from all reports) missing a dozen or so of their best. Including Hayden Cartledge who may be the most popular man in Ballan at the moment!!!!!!!!

McCleanMagic
31 Mar 2008, 09:04
Tatyoon had 8 players out. Navarre had four I was told but they also had 3 Nth Ballarat Roosters playing for them!! But Navarre looked impressive. Martin will be a hard man to beat in the ruck this year. Devery at FF kicked a few and they are waiting on their 6'7' forward to get cleared so could surprise a few teams this year

Cant take practice matches as a true guide. Tatyoon didnt have any of their starting on-ballers play. They will be alright this year though. i wouldnt take devery form on anything he was only playing on a young two's player.

Old School Biff
31 Mar 2008, 17:24
I like the tipping comp, i will even put up odds and everyone can have fantasy bets and well keep a running total. We could do it that everyone starts with $100 or $1000 or something and the person with the highest come finals wins. Old School i don't know how to start threads but i could do something similar to what you're saying if directed...

One last thing, I have followed this league for quite a while and today a name poped up that rang my bell. A Trevor Field has put in a transfer to Natte? Can someone tell me if this is the guy with a crook neck or is it a relation of his or a total coincedence?

I'll start the 2 threads up Big Chill. A tipping and a betting. Great idea on the betting one too.

I would have thought the Trevor Field that graced the LPFL for the Avoca years would have long retired now. I thought it might be his son or something but it sounds as if it is that guy.

Natte should possibly consider entering a super rules team at the rate they are going.;) Rumor has it McMasters is an older fellow too. There shouldn't be any lack of experience this year!

slasher
31 Mar 2008, 17:51
Practise match form means nothing but I wouldn't read much into a win against a team that will most likely finish bottom 3 in the CHFL this year and that were (from all reports) missing a dozen or so of their best. Including Hayden Cartledge who may be the most popular man in Ballan at the moment!!!!!!!!
Yeh thats probably right, merrigan but before you go flogging your mouth of :mad:c/l had about 10 players playing under 20, and had about 7 new recruits running around aswell wich all played well, but will take some time to settle in:thumbsu: they had there own outs wich include braith nunn (Captain) J.Porter C.Ladiges J.Burt M.Verdoorn, 4 of there starting forwards from last years grand final, R.Greenbank one of the best on ballers in the league, would be the best small forward for sure, D.Burns R.McCormack, to new recruits this year that will be walk up starters, so things r looking good for the one's and the two's, to have a crack at the double.:thumbsu: as for cartledge, from a good source he will not be back at ballan this year so you can hardly call him an out:eek:

mud crab
31 Mar 2008, 19:29
I heard McCormack didn't play in the pratice match against Ballan cause he was scared of Wilkinson and his mates after an incident when he was playing with Buninyong. If it's true he is weak as pi** and they don't want blokes like that at Carngham.

KingRich
31 Mar 2008, 21:12
I'll start the 2 threads up Big Chill. A tipping and a betting. Great idea on the betting one too.

I would have thought the Trevor Field that graced the LPFL for the Avoca years would have long retired now. I thought it might be his son or something but it sounds as if it is that guy.

Natte should possibly consider entering a super rules team at the rate they are going.;) Rumor has it McMasters is an older fellow too. There shouldn't be any lack of experience this year!

Rest assured OSB Trevor can still find the footy. Is slowing down but is still moving all right especially for a bloke his age.

dr evil
31 Mar 2008, 23:50
I herd they got a football lesson on saturday

sampson
1 Apr 2008, 14:34
Fair call King. Old Trev was more than handy for Natte on the weekend, all be it against average opposition. Still finds plenty of it for a bloke who must be pushin 40. Not too many fears about them being old from the bit I saw......had plenty of kids runnin round and most of them go well. Apparently had a few new faces and some more rumored to be comin next week. They will need em too judging by the activity on the transfer page. Plenty happening as it gets close!!!

Big_Chill
2 Apr 2008, 00:04
Yes it all seems to be happening now, as it draws close the excitment builds. Plenty of non appoved clearances still pending which make you wonder if all the clubs will be full strength for round one. Lexton seem to be going from strength to strength with more players signing. Top stuff guys, it will be good to see Lexton improve in the one and twos as they dropped off a lot last year.

Good to get a review of all the practice matches that happened on the weekend. From what it seems there were a couple of good wins! Dunnstown over Skipton came as a big surprise, must have played a lot of kids or something surely.

On another note I snuck down to have a look at one of the clubs i heard were training in ballarat tonight. I arrive to see a heap of blokes heading off running off in different directions in groups that came back to do sprints every so often. No joke i was there for one hour and the first 35 to 45 mins consisted of non stop running. Pure madness this close to round one IMO!

ITCHYGROIN
2 Apr 2008, 09:43
The reason Dunnstown played Skipton was because Box said C/L were to rough, pathetic excuse from BOX:thumbsd: C/L have played Dunnstown every preseason for like the last 8 years that i can remember. Have never had a injury or seen anyone belted up on the field. Piss weak Box, good coaching mate good luck against the Hepburns,etc :thumbsu:YOUR OLD MAN WOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOU:eek: How do you beat Dunnstown this year?? Tell them its going to be a physcial game and the coach wont even turn up:D I'm just pissed off cause my mob had to play them and got a flogging, not the ideal start with 2 weeks or so to go.

The Beaks Gossip 07
2 Apr 2008, 10:20
There could be some big news coming out of the CL direction if my mail is correct and my mailman plays a big part in that club.

I'm actually surprised it has not surfaced yet.

OSB, credit is due to your early mail on this, there has obvioulsy been a smokescreen for the past few months until J Hill was ready to make the move and not disrupt any recruiting and pre season training, You have earned yourself 5 stars for this one. Well done.

Old School Biff
2 Apr 2008, 12:57
OSB, credit is due to your early mail on this, there has obvioulsy been a smokescreen for the past few months until J Hill was ready to make the move and not disrupt any recruiting and pre season training, You have earned yourself 5 stars for this one. Well done.

I'll accept the kudos but this news was out there when I posted it. CL have started many a rumour though the past few seasons and many saw this one as no different.

dr evil
2 Apr 2008, 23:57
The reason Dunnstown played Skipton was because Box said C/L were to rough, pathetic excuse from BOX:thumbsd: C/L have played Dunnstown every preseason for like the last 8 years that i can remember. Have never had a injury or seen anyone belted up on the field. Piss weak Box, good coaching mate good luck against the Hepburns,etc :thumbsu:YOUR OLD MAN WOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOU:eek: How do you beat Dunnstown this year?? Tell them its going to be a physcial game and the coach wont even turn up:D I'm just pissed off cause my mob had to play them and got a flogging, not the ideal start with 2 weeks or so to go.

IM NOT 100% SURE BUT I THINK THE MAIN REASON SKIPTON AND DUNNSTOWN PLAYED WAS A MARK OF RESPECT TO A FORMER PLAYER OF BOTH CLUBS THAT DIED IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THE OF SEASON.THERE WAS A MINUTES SILENCE BEFORE THE GAME,SO I WAS TOLD I HERD MOLLOY WENT OK SKIPTON PLANNED ON RESTING HIM BUT HAD TO PLAY HIM BECUASE THEY WERE GETTING A FLOGGING.SKIPTONS COACH IS A FORMER PREMIERSHIP PLAYER AT DUNNSTOWN,SO I GUESS HE WOOD NO A LOT OF THE DUNNSTOWN BLOKES.IT WOOD BE GOOD TO HERE FROM SOMEONE FROM SKIPTON THAT MIGHT HAVE SEEN THE GAME.MY SOURCE TOLD ME SKIPTON HAD A REASONABLE SIDE ON PAPER BUT WERE NOT AS FLEET FOOTED AS DUNNSTOWN

Mr Responsible
3 Apr 2008, 10:05
See in the Courier today that SMW Rovers have lodged an expression of interest to play in the Lexton Plains next year. Personally I hope that they do get the chance to play in this comp as I believe the lexton plains does need another few teams to give it more credibility in the eyes of people from outside the comp(eg central highlands, BFL). I would think most or all of the southern clubs would be more than happy for them to come though I am not sure if teams like Navarre and natte would be that keen - you guys from up that way please let us know what you think.

Craig Hutchison
3 Apr 2008, 11:00
See in the Courier today that SMW Rovers have lodged an expression of interest to play in the Lexton Plains next year. Personally I hope that they do get the chance to play in this comp as I believe the lexton plains does need another few teams to give it more credibility in the eyes of people from outside the comp(eg central highlands, BFL). I would think most or all of the southern clubs would be more than happy for them to come though I am not sure if teams like Navarre and natte would be that keen - you guys from up that way please let us know what you think.

I'd say that it would be a gimme that the LPFL would happily accept Rovers in, and yes it would certainly strengthen the league. I think this is just the first step in the breakup of the Mininera League, as other clubs will possibly follow Rovers lead. I think with the breakup of the MDFL, along with Rovers, the Lexton League would get Tatyoon, Bolac, Moyston, at the very least.
This of course is not going to benefit all clubs, but the only club I see leaving the LPFL if this was to be the case would be Natte, who may head to Maryborough.

t08199883
3 Apr 2008, 11:08

Did it state their reasoning behind why they want the move?

Craig Hutchison
3 Apr 2008, 12:01
Did it state their reasoning behind why they want the move?

They believe their future lies in the Ballarat Area. They have a number of recruits from Ballarat as well as existing players who work and study there.

t08199883
3 Apr 2008, 12:42
They believe their future lies in the Ballarat Area. They have a number of recruits from Ballarat as well as existing players who work and study there.

Would you see them being able to recruit players to travel past the likes of Carnham, Skipton, Lexton, Beaufort?
Would they be strong enough in the LPFL? It is a step up. I think only the strong teams from MDFL would be competitive in the LPFL.

The Ararat Eagles take on Moyston Willaura in a Praccy match this weekend and despite the eagles struggling to match sides in the LPFL I think they will get over the pumas even though it is only a praccy match. I think this only supports the step up between comps.

Rovers current side would really struggle in the LPFL. No disrespect to Rovers they are good blokes and I have some friends who play there.

Craig Hutchison
3 Apr 2008, 13:10
Would you see them being able to recruit players to travel past the likes of Carnham, Skipton, Lexton, Beaufort?
Would they be strong enough in the LPFL? It is a step up. I think only the strong teams from MDFL would be competitive in the LPFL.

The Ararat Eagles take on Moyston Willaura in a Praccy match this weekend and despite the eagles struggling to match sides in the LPFL I think they will get over the pumas even though it is only a praccy match. I think this only supports the step up between comps.

Rovers current side would really struggle in the LPFL. No disrespect to Rovers they are good blokes and I have some friends who play there.

They recruit anyway from Ballarat, and apparently run a bus from Ballarat for training. Judging by the courier article, I think they just recognise the fact of where the players are and the population is. It seems like there are plenty of players in the Ballarat area, and they are prepared to play for teams in both Mininera Leagues and LPFL. Comes down to the clubs ability to attract and recruit them, plus not doubt the almighty $$$. Making it easier for them travel wise certainly helps their cause. I don't believe they want to move, but just dealing with current state of footy.

Ealges V Moyston should be an interesting game.

Dodgeyknee
3 Apr 2008, 13:56
Rovers will struggle regardless of what league they compete in. The problem is that they simply don't have enough locals to field 2 teams each week. 70 mins from Ballarat & Hamilton, 50 mins from Ararat makes it hard to keep players for more than a couple of years. They need a good harvest every year to get the money in to pay players to travel.

Big_Chill
3 Apr 2008, 17:00
Not sure whether another weaker side would be good for the league. I suppose the one thing it would do is make it into an 18 round season where everyone playes each other twice and has two byes. I think that would be good because as the system stands your draw can make or break you. If you land two strong teams that you play 3 times each it can be a big disadvantage.

I see old school has started the betting thread and i will start thebetting thread next week. Keep your eyes peeled

sampson
3 Apr 2008, 17:29
You're right about the disadvantage Chill, especially for the teams that play C/L, etc three times, but it's the one way the leagues can try and keep the comp as even as possible for the lower sides. Most of last years top sides have drawn each other three times which makes their draws harder but its better than having bottom teams gettin flogged. Thats what causes teams to wanna change leagues in the first place. Still, Id hate to see a good side miss finals by a game to a lesser side just cos they had all the top sides three times!

Old School Biff
3 Apr 2008, 22:08
You're right about the disadvantage Chill, especially for the teams that play C/L, etc three times, but it's the one way the leagues can try and keep the comp as even as possible for the lower sides. Most of last years top sides have drawn each other three times which makes their draws harder but its better than having bottom teams gettin flogged. Thats what causes teams to wanna change leagues in the first place. Still, Id hate to see a good side miss finals by a game to a lesser side just cos they had all the top sides three times!

Currently the reigning premiers play each other 3 times due to the Grand Final Rematch in round 1. Then there is a fair chance they will meet in the finals up to 2 times. You could play a single team 5 times in a year. Another team is needed but I'd rather see a closer to Ballarat team from the CHFL or the like.

The_Predators
4 Apr 2008, 12:36

Skipton are going really well had a lot of players at there training sessions and there looking really handy side this year it looks like there got some handy players and i hope all teams do well this it should be good

The_Predators
4 Apr 2008, 12:41
I read with interest on the MDFL forum that the league is struggling, with up to 5 teams not having enough numbers to field reserves, and the fact a few of their clubs are looking at joining the LPFL in 2009.

Don't be surprised if the LPFL includes SMW Rovers, Tatyoon, Lake Bolac and Lis/Derri in 2009. Most of these clubs recruit from Ballarat anyway, so it makes sense.

Forget the CHFL argument, as they think they're the best league outside the AFL and don't want to change their structure.

Looks like the Eagles made the right decision to stay in the stronger LPFL and maintain their youth policy. Their time will come, and I think the other MDFL clubs joining the LPFL will only help their cause. :)

Well wella22 iv heard that smw rovers and lismore are thinking about coming to LPFL this year in fact

Big_Chill
4 Apr 2008, 12:48
Well wella22 iv heard that smw rovers and lismore are thinking about coming to LPFL this year in fact

Maybe we could slot them in mid season to mix things up a bit :D

Big_Chill
4 Apr 2008, 12:54
I would like to see Beaufort come into our league. It's central to all teams and i think would slot in quite nicely. Their facilities are pretty good as well which is another bonus. I'm not a fan of any of these other sides coming in. I think it would wreck the league because at the moment there isn't a lot of travel required and that is a real recruiting advantage to help lure some big names.. Lets not shoot ourselve in the foot by undoing all the good work that has been done to get our league to this level. Lets keep it high and enjoy the quality of LPFL.

The_Predators
4 Apr 2008, 12:58
These results could be wrong but i heard Dunnstown Defeated skipton by 100 points (what i was told!!!) and Creswick defeated Illabarook by about 40 points.

I was at that game and skipton didnt have half there side in and i watched the under 17s match which i thought was the match of the round with the score 10.3 63 to dunnstown 9.6 60 with Dave P with 4 goals Petey with 3 Mick Slater with 1 Steve-0 with 1 And Robo with 1 and i would had that dave parker kick the winning goal with half a minute left

Big_Chill
4 Apr 2008, 13:02
I was at that game and skipton didnt have half there side in and i watched the under 17s match which i thought was the match of the round with the score 10.3 63 to dunnstown 9.6 60 with Dave P with 4 goals Petey with 3 Mick Slater with 1 Steve-0 with 1 And Robo with 1 and i would had that dave parker kick the winning goal with half a minute left

Mate go onto the junior thread. Clearly you are on school holidays and have nothing to say that any of us want to hear. Sorry mate on your bike. By the way young Parker would want to be injured the week when playing C/L :thumbsd:

The_Predators
4 Apr 2008, 13:07
Mate go onto the junior thread. Clearly you are on school holidays and have nothing to say that any of us want to hear. Sorry mate on your bike. By the way young Parker would want to be injured the week when playing C/L :thumbsd:

And y is that may i ask ???

ITCHYGROIN
4 Apr 2008, 14:33
Who cares about Dave Parker shes a little wimp i remember when a little kid last year smacked BIG DAVE in the mouth an he started crying:D he was on his knees when the kid hit him thats how small this kid was:thumbsu:The funniest thing i have seen in footy:D:D
Lets get the real stuff on here. How is old TILT NECK going to go at Natte would be around 40 i think. Maybe there is room for the likes of CRAFTY and big TAFF to make a comeback:eek:

Old School Biff
4 Apr 2008, 14:40

Classic.

Old School Biff
4 Apr 2008, 14:48
How is old TILT NECK going to go at Natte would be around 40 i think. Maybe there is room for the likes of CRAFTY and big TAFF to make a comeback:eek:

No youth policy at Natte this year! :D I still don't know what to make of Natte at the moment.

I see Clinton Ross has put in a clearance to Avoca. The old 'we'll trade you Clint for Trevor' might see them both playing in round 1 for their new teams.

north terrace
5 Apr 2008, 00:14
biggest recriut will b tyson white the best player to ever play in such a shit league

pidgon
5 Apr 2008, 04:30
biggest recriut will b tyson white the best player to ever play in such a shit league

stick to your under 18's threads u tosser! Really mate play some 1st footy in any league before u start giving any cheek!

biscuit
5 Apr 2008, 15:35
ibiggest recriut will b tyson white the best player to ever play in such a shit league
i have seen better players than tyson white in the schhol yard

Whacker
5 Apr 2008, 16:41
I hate school holidays

Whacker
5 Apr 2008, 17:02
Im hoping someone from rokewood can comfirm this with me. Is the only reason that Karl Begbie's staying at rokewood is that they threw more money at him when he lodged his clearance to Learmonth?

wiz33
6 Apr 2008, 15:09
Lexton played Newlyn in a practise game yesterday. Our reserves were a lot more competitiive than last year. Got beaten by around 3-4 goals but a little more depth helped.

In seniors we played well but were over run in the second half by Newlyn to get beaten by around 5 goals. We played well but probably were beaten by a much fitter side who had obviously been training with each other for a long while. They will do well this year. Our pre-season has gone well and we will be more competitive. Certainly get a good guide as to how much we have improved in round one!

Any other results from practise games?

Big_Chill
6 Apr 2008, 17:57
Good to see most teams generally rating themselves to be strong chance of being sucessful in 2008. I hope the competition strengthens that little bit more and all teams are capable on putting in a winning performance on any given day. I think we are going to see C/L and skipton set the bar high early in the year, Rokewood and Natte to fight it out for that ever important third place and then back to Lexton, Navarre and Illabarook to fight it out for the fifth position on the ladder.

Who are we thinking for league B&F and goal kicking awards?

The_Predators
6 Apr 2008, 21:12
Good to see most teams generally rating themselves to be strong chance of being sucessful in 2008. I hope the competition strengthens that little bit more and all teams are capable on putting in a winning performance on any given day. I think we are going to see C/L and skipton set the bar high early in the year, Rokewood and Natte to fight it out for that ever important third place and then back to Lexton, Navarre and Illabarook to fight it out for the fifth position on the ladder.

Who are we thinking for league B&F and goal kicking awards?

I think that the goal kicking will be close this year with some teams getting handy forwards I'd say it will be between C/L forward J.Porter and Skiptons T.Mckay cause every year it seems to be thoughs two at the top of the leader board. And the best and fairest i think will be Big Ben Martin from Navarre who won his leagues best and fairest for stawall warriers so thats my opinion.

Thoroughbred
7 Apr 2008, 11:42
How are sides looking from post to post this year. Natte will be something like:

FB: N. Ross
HB: A. Ross
CL: S. Ross
HF: C. Jardine
FF: J. Evans

chokewood1
8 Apr 2008, 12:59
Jade Keam for C/L to win B+f
James McNamee for goalkicking

ITCHYGROIN
8 Apr 2008, 13:04
Have to agree chokewood, Jade Keam from what i have heard is a very classy player and is Wearing the famous number 3:eek: much Judd alike:D
Ports to win the goal kicking again with 111 goals..

SIRSAINT
8 Apr 2008, 23:01
Not long to go gents all questions will be answered after round 1.

Tex_21
9 Apr 2008, 13:46
Thinking Benny Martin is a contender for b&f, with Mcnamee a good chance at the goal kicking

The Sharpe Man
9 Apr 2008, 18:34
** LATE FIXTURE CHANGE Round 1 – Carngham Linton FC V’s Natte Bealiba FNC game moved to Linton Rec Reserve

Pls note, that after much discussion today between the Lexton Plains FNL, the Carngham Linton FNC and the Natte Bealiba FNC, that the Round 1 Fixture between the Carngham Linton FNC and the Natte Bealiba FNC has been moved from Austar Arena (Northern Oval) where it was a fixtured Night game, and will be moved back to Linton Rec Reserve – where it will obviously become a “normal” day game and will revert to normal starting times.

After further discussion and investigation today, it was agreed that the “Monster Truck” event that will be held at the Ballarat Showgrounds (adjoining Austar Arena) would prove to an “extreme distraction” – and that the extreme high noise levels, fireworks, etc expected from the Monster Truck event would make it very difficult for supporters, umpires and players if the game was to proceed at Austar Arena.

The LPFNL does apologise for this late fixture change, but we do believe that this is the correct decision and the most responsible course of action.

For further details please contact Lexton Plains FL Secretary Rod Ward
on (B) 53 331 977 or (M) 0400 611 310,
or via Email on bfl1@bigpond.net.au (bfl1@bigpond.net.au)

Whacker
9 Apr 2008, 18:57
well thats a bit of a bugger. Also ive noticed natte have thrown a few clearences in trying to get them in time for round 1

ITCHYGROIN
9 Apr 2008, 23:48
Word has it that big JIMMA RAYNOR ie THE FERRET is flying on the track. He shunted PRINGA in an intra club practice match huge hit young gun PRINGA lost feeling in both legs for two days, Keep up the good work Ferret. LOOK OUT LPFL THE FERRET IS HUNTING.
Doctors report on Pringa is everything is ok can now kick an extra 20 meters on both sides. The COOT is in for another big year INTERLEAGUE wingman so fellow compeditors BEWARE..
THE SAINTS ARE COMMING.

derekbigears
11 Apr 2008, 08:46
Rokewood & its recruits ready to fire for round 1 match vs Illabrook!!!
Should win very comfortable.
Tips for the top 5: Carngham
Rokewood
Skipton
Natte
Illabrook

Mr Responsible
12 Apr 2008, 22:58
Good game at Linton with Natte unlucky to go down to Linton in a tight contest at Linton. If only the players from Carngham had of turned up it could have been a more of a one sided contest. It was almost like watching the Grenville cricket grand final with only the Linton half turning up. On a positive note Good to see Travis Grigg made the most out of his 3 possesions and obviously C/Linton is spending their money wisely. Aaron Kerr in the reserves had a great return to the club kicking 2 great goals from limited opportunities. Gives credence to the old custom of paying maggooo's players as well.

wiz33
13 Apr 2008, 11:30
Good game at Linton with Natte unlucky to go down to Linton in a tight contest at Linton. If only the players from Carngham had of turned up it could have been a more of a one sided contest. It was almost like watching the Grenville cricket grand final with only the Linton half turning up. On a positive note Good to see Travis Grigg made the most out of his 3 possesions and obviously C/Linton is spending their money wisely. Aaron Kerr in the reserves had a great return to the club kicking 2 great goals from limited opportunities. Gives credence to the old custom of paying maggooo's players as well.

Skipton Defeated Lexton in extremely close game at Skipton that could of gone either way. Lexton early lead but failed to kick many goals after quarter time. Even contest though with both teams impressive

Crazy 88
13 Apr 2008, 13:59
Any news from the Navarre - Ararat game, the scores are a lot closer than most would have predicted with all Navarres gun pick ups.