View Full Version : OT: Adelaide Airport
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 13:55
I visited Adelaide recently and had time to take in and observe the new terminal building, I also took into account the airport I work at(Melbourne) in my opinions below.
For Adelaide it is a good size and has enough gates etc, but they are very poorly laided out and the areobridges are far too long, the gates are set as such Gate 13 and then 13A and so on and also with the areobridges being very long it makes it hard work for people working on the apron and also pax using the rear stairs of the aircraft or even if one of the areobridges goes u/s, it is a long long walk.
If you have a look where the areobridges extend out under that areobridge is red lines which are 'hatching lines' this mean nothing can operate, be stored or people cant operate in those areas, so it is a huge huge waste of space and also with having the gates set out as 13 and then 13A airlines cant store the equipment that is required to service the aircraft at each gate but rather they have to store it three or four gates away from where they are working.
I managed to fly 'jumpseat' back from Adelaide and had a bit of a chat with the flight crew about Adelaide airport and they said 'whoever desgined had no idea what they were doing'.
In my point of view what needed to be done was the whole terminal needed to either be built longer to accomadate these 'A' Gates or they needed to not worry about them as honestly I cant ever even see them being used, I think they were put their to accomadate the A380-800, but Adelaide will never see that aircraft in regular service anyway. This would have taken away the issue with having the areobridges being so long, the gates should have also been built to handle the aircraft they will handle and not the ones they wont.
Anyway those are my thoughts, ohh and the terminal needs to have more 'family' freindly shops such as a Subway or Hungry Jacks or somethign along those lines, the old terminal had a great shop where you didnt have to pay through the nose for a couple of drinks, which I had to at the new terminal I bought a bottle of water and a bottle of coke for $9:eek:
just maybe
13th December 2006, 13:57
I've used it a bit recently and I like it. Very nicely laid out.
People who want to bitch about Adelaide will always find something dumb and anal to bitch about.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:00
I've used it a bit recently and I like it. Very nicely laid out.
People who want to bitch about Adelaide will always find something dumb and anal to bitch about.
There is a difference being good to look at and then good to use, it isnt a 'user' freindly airport. It isnt even a employee freindly airport.
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:03
There is a difference being good to look at and then good to use, it isnt a 'user' freindly airport. It isnt even a employee freindly airport.
Did you miss the part where I said I've used it recently.
Now, that makes me a user of the airport.
It's lay-out is very important to it's use - it is very easy to get around, it is very obvious where to go, no confusion at all, unlike some airports around the world that I've dealt with.
They did a great job. :thumbsu:
As I said, some tools just want to bitch about Adelaide and pick any old silly thing to whinge about.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:09
It's lay-out is very important to it's use - it is very easy to get around, it is very obvious where to go, no confusion at all, unlike some airports around the world that I've dealt with.
As I said, some tools just want to bitch about Adelaide and pick any old silly thing to whinge about.
Ease of getting around doesntt make it a great airport, its how it works for the airlines their employees etc.
Seen the trouble when two aircraft have to pushback at the same time???? Or when an Aircraft is coming in and another needs to push back and the delays it causes???
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:11
Easy of getting around donest make it a great airport, its how it works for the airlines their employees etc.
I'm an airport user. The only thing I give a crap about is whether it is easy to use and my flights run on time.
It is.
They do.
Great airport. :thumbsu:
Seen the trouble when two aircraft have to pushback at the same time???? Or when an Aircraft is coming in and another needs to push back and the delays it causes???
Do I give a crap? I've never heard of this problem.
If you don't like it, stay in the Bleak Metropolis. We don't need perennial anti-Adelaide whingers finding any petty pathetic excuse to bag our fine city.
crows98
13th December 2006, 14:12
I would have to agree with you on that; it isn’t very user friendly, especially for people who don’t use the airport often. If you go left towards the Virgin Blue section of the airport and wanted to terminate via a Qantas flight, it turns into a bloody long walk.
But for the population size of Adelaide it a good airport but basically everything in life has some sort of deficiency that will cause frustration.
snakebite01
13th December 2006, 14:13
Didn't it get voted the best airport in Australia recently? (Which effectively means it's the best in the southern hemisphere)
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:13
I would have to agree with you on that; it isn’t very user friendly, especially for people who don’t use the airport often. If you go left towards the Virgin Blue section of the airport and wanted to terminate via a Qantas flight, it turns into a bloody long walk.
Use the travelators.
ianperrieyoustar
13th December 2006, 14:14
baha seriously how can u two get so worked up over each other! Its a disgrace we're not even real!
crows98
13th December 2006, 14:15
On the contrary JM, there is not a lot of signage differentiating the Virgin Blue ends to the Qantas ends of the airport
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:15
I'm an airport user. The only thing I give a crap about is whether it is easy to use and my flights run on time.
It is.
They do.
Great airport. :thumbsu:
Do I give a crap? I've never heard of this problem.
If you don't like it, stay in the Bleak Metropolis. We don't need perennial anti-Adelaide whingers finding any petty pathetic excuse to bag our fine city.
It's delays in pushbacks etc that arent going to allow your flight to depart on time or it puts pressure on staff to board the flight earlier which puts further pressure on ground staff, by the time your have gone down the ramp just to the areobridge and then walked through the areobridge to the aircraft dorr you would have walked some 200m.
crows98
13th December 2006, 14:16
Use the travelators.
Ok -:thumbsu:
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:17
It's nowhere near 200m, mate.
And if you don't like it, shut the hell up and don't ever come here again.
I'm sick of hearing your childish whinging about every facet of Adelaide. If you hate it so much, go support a bloody Melbourne team and you won't ever have to deal with it again.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:17
On the contrary JM, there is not a lot of signage differentiating the Virgin Blue ends to the Qantas ends of the airport
Very good point, all the gates including international operate together, nothing is really defined and all looks the same.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:19
It's nowhere near 200m, mate.
And if you don't like it, shut the hell up and don't ever come here again.
I'm sick of hearing your childish whinging about every facet of Adelaide. If you hate it so much, go support a bloody Melbourne team and you won't ever have to deal with it again.
Easy 200m mate, those areobridges are 120m long, Ive seen the charts.
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:19
Very good point, all the gates including international operate together, nothing is really defined and all looks the same.
Do you have trouble reading the gate number on the screen and matching it with the gate number on the wall?
FFS, how dumb a person do we have to cater for these days?
just maybe
13th December 2006, 14:20
Um, yeh, ok.
And that ramp is definitely 80m.
Your distance perception is pretty skewed.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:22
Do you have trouble reading the gate number on the screen and matching it with the gate number on the wall?
FFS, how dumb a person do we have to cater for these days?
No not at all but others do, especailly for airlines such as REX or O'Connor Airlines, I know REX is down at the end where Virgin Blue is but thats only because I seen their aircraft parked there.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:24
Um, yeh, ok.
And that ramp is definitely 80m.
Your distance perception is pretty skewed.
You walk down two ramps and each would be either 30 to 40 metre's long it would be very close to 200m though from where you boarding pass is scanned to where you enter the front door of the aircraft, if you are going to the rear door, well add a few flights of stairs and and extra 40ms for the length of the aircraft.
crows98
13th December 2006, 14:26
I wouldn’t say it’s a 200 meters walk Marty, I would say 10 – 15 meters down the ramp and 10 - 15 meters back up to the aerobridge and then 120 meters (cannot argue with facts) is a fair call; so more like 150 meters as apposed to 200.
Capitalist
13th December 2006, 14:27
maccas No.1 I really think it all comes down to the fact that you can't come to grips with Rick Kelly being the V8 supercars Champion
bitch and moan all your like it was a racing indicident. Go Holden :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:29
maccas No.1 I really think it all comes down to the fact that you can't come to grips with Rick Kelly being the V8 supercars Champion
bitch and moan all your like it was a racing indicident. Go Holden :thumbsu:
WTF??? mate that has nothing to do with that, dont even get me started on that lil ********er:mad:
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:30
I wouldn’t say it’s a 200 meters walk Marty, I would say 10 – 15 meters down the ramp and 10 - 15 meters back up to the aerobridge and then 120 meters (cannot argue with facts) is a fair call; so more like 150 meters as apposed to 200.
In anycase compared to other airports it is a bloody long walk, those size areobridges are more used for large aircraft that use them all the time, not for 737's and A320's.
Porthos
13th December 2006, 14:33
It is a really badly designed airport.
What is with the extra ramp you have to go up as soon as you enter the airport proper from the plane? Didn't the architects know how tall a plane is?
When you get off some flights, how do you know which way luggage check is? Signage is poor.
Seems like you do a lap of the place before you've collected your bags and stepped outside.
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 14:35
It is a really badly designed airport.
What is with the extra ramp you have to go up as soon as you enter the airport proper from the plane? Didn't the architects know how tall a plane is?
When you get off some flights, how do you know which way luggage check is? Signage is poor.
Seems like you do a lap of the place before you've collected your bags and stepped outside.
Exactly right, I dont understand the 'ramps', it was built as if it was going to handle very large aircraft and not the aircraft it actually handles.
Capitalist
13th December 2006, 14:40
WTF??? mate that has nothing to do with that, dont even get me started on that lil ********er:mad:
:D :D Sorry I really just couldn't resist:p
Eggzoi
13th December 2006, 14:41
I've only been to the new Airport to drop people off and pick them back up again. I gotta say I think it was very poorly designed from the bits I've experienced. First time through I took a wrong turn due to what I feel is poor signage (not enough warning of what lane you should be in). The pick up area has about 20 chairs for everyone waiting to pick someone up. Leaving the carpark you have to take a left hand turn then a u turn around the round about and I also feel the carpark exit could have been done better.
Also an incoming flight was once missing from the screen so I had no idea what was going on and I've had another problem with the screen labelling the wrong airline before.
Finally you'd think they could have put in permanent signage for no standing in the drop off zone rather than the current crap.
Capitalist
13th December 2006, 15:19
on topic (for me)
I went to LA a few months ago, and there airport (well the 1 terminal i went to) was like a massive adelaide airport in terms of getting a taxi and finding your way round, poor sinage badly designed it was nightmare getting a taxi with massive line-ups and people stuffing you into taxis (you have to give tips FFS:mad: )
rock up back to Adelaide and you get the same mess with 1/1,000,0000 the amount of traffic.
however I could get a drink and food for well under $5 USD.
Mad Dog
13th December 2006, 19:00
Well I would just like to say that I think the bins are too far apart and the height of the handrails on the escalators in comparison to the actual moving platform is more suited for shorter people which makes it uncomfortable for me.............but I quite like the steady flow from the water fountains....you can really get a good slurp of water in a hurry.....and the flow is intense enough so that you really don't have to put your head down too far to drink. The advantage of this is that you can still keep an eye on the arrival and departure boards while you're drinking.....unlike some terminals around the world where I've found that you either have to push the button so hard that you put enough force on the cooler to tip it over....or the flow is so pathetic that you really need to get your entire face under the fountain on such an angle that your ear and collar gets wet in the sink part.
I think the Adelaide Airport designers have solved this problem by installing longer and narrower spouts which facilitates a more consistant flow.......so the Airport gets 2 :thumbsu:..:thumbsu: from me
:)
maccas_no1
13th December 2006, 19:06
Well I would just like to say that I think the bins are too far apart and the height of the handrails on the escalators in comparison to the actual moving platform is more suited for shorter people which makes it uncomfortable for me.............but I quite like the steady flow from the water fountains....you can really get a good slurp of water in a hurry.....and the flow is intense enough so that you really don't have to put your head down too far to drink. The advantage of this is that you can still keep an eye on the arrival and departure boards while you're drinking.....unlike some terminals around the world where I've found that you either have to push the button so hard that you put enough force on the cooler to tip it over....or the flow is so pathetic that you really need to get your entire face under the fountain on such an angle that your ear and collar gets wet in the sink part.
I think the Adelaide Airport designers have solved this problem by installing longer and narrower spouts which facilitates a more consistant flow.......so the Airport gets 2 :thumbsu:..:thumbsu: from me
:)
And that is why we love ya MD:D :p
Mad Dog
13th December 2006, 19:10
And that is why we love ya MD:D :p
:thumbsu: :) :thumbsu:
Kane McGoodwin
13th December 2006, 21:01
Some people see the glass as half full & other half empty & others use a fountain!
Having spent times in numerous airports around the world, ours now at least stacks up well. Has a good feel to it, which is important as it is the 1st impression for tourists.
maccas_no1
14th December 2006, 08:04
Some people see the glass as half full & other half empty & others use a fountain!
Having spent times in numerous airports around the world, ours now at least stacks up well. Has a good feel to it, which is important as it is the 1st impression for tourists.
Im not doubting it looks good, but thats all it does, it was if it was built to handle all large aircraft and not the aircraft it does handle, 737's and A320's, the largest passenger aircraft currently using Adelaide is the 777-200, if you work it out, by the time you have checked in to the point where you either enter the forward or rear door of the aircraft its a bloody long way, then you look at Melbourne Airport you walk in go up the escalator to checkin then go back down one escalator which is where security is through security and then your at the boarding gates.
Looks great, but doesnt serve its purpose, think of parents with kids, who have to checkin their pram at checkin and then have to battle all the way to the boarding gate, I know I have done it with my two youngest.
Leaping Lindner
14th December 2006, 08:13
Im not doubting it looks good, but thats all it does, it was if it was built to handle all large aircraft and not the aircraft it does handle, 737's and A320's, the largest passenger aircraft currently using Adelaide is the 777-200, if you work it out, by the time you have checked in to the point where you either enter the forward or rear door of the aircraft its a bloody long way, then you look at Melbourne Airport you walk in go up the escalator to checkin then go back down one escalator which is where security is through security and then your at the boarding gates.
Looks great, but doesnt serve its purpose, think of parents with kids, who have to checkin their pram at checkin and then have to battle all the way to the boarding gate, I know I have done it with my two youngest.
I've gotta say I've used both Melbourne and Adelaide airports quite a few times this year and I'm struggling to see a great difference in the distance travelled between the check in desk and boarding gate.
just maybe
14th December 2006, 13:50
I've gotta say I've used both Melbourne and Adelaide airports quite a few times this year and I'm struggling to see a great difference in the distance travelled between the check in desk and boarding gate.
Of course. It's because maccas is a whinging sour grape who tries to find anything possible to bag Adelaide about. One wonders why he even bothers to support Adelaide, I mean a thread like this is completely stupid and unnecessary.
crows98
14th December 2006, 14:15
Of course. It's because maccas is a whinging sour grape who tries to find anything possible to bag Adelaide about. One wonders why he even bothers to support Adelaide, I mean a thread like this is completely stupid and unnecessary.
FFS – and that simply in your opinion, and you never let any personality classes with other posters get in the way of answering objectively :eek:
Mong
14th December 2006, 14:46
by the time your have gone down the ramp just to the areobridge and then walked through the areobridge to the aircraft dorr you would have walked some 200m.
:D
200m? That must be such torture. How can anyone be expected to walk that far?
Kane McGoodwin
14th December 2006, 16:11
It's a cunning plan to get people to exercise more & reduce obesity rates. :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
14th December 2006, 17:04
Ahh sourgrape hey, that I dont think so, just highlighting the flaws with the airport, and it is obvious by the responses to this thread I am not the only person who feels that way.
maccas_no1
14th December 2006, 17:07
You have to think about from the point of view of people travelling with children, the eldery or disabled, that is a longway.
It is flawed so badly it isnt funny and that isnt only from people using the airport but also aircraft using the airport, it will only discourage airlines from flying into Adelaide.
Blue Red and Gold
14th December 2006, 17:13
Have a tear, get over it.
Its an airport ffs, you arnt spending your bloody holiday there, just get on the bloody plane and enjoy your holiday.
Mad Dog
14th December 2006, 19:00
Have a tear, get over it.
Its an airport ffs, you arnt spending your bloody holiday there, just get on the bloody plane and enjoy your holiday.
nail. hammer. head.
it's a means to an end.....who gives a FRA...
*PAF
14th December 2006, 19:36
Use the travelators.
All 15' of them. :p
Thunderstruck
14th December 2006, 19:55
God damn, what a load of whinging over nothing. Firstly walking 200m? Give me a break. It's about 15m down one ramp, 15m back down the 2nd and around say 30m down the aerobridge. 200m?? pfft.
If you wanna walk a lot then go to a real airport such as Heathrow or Chicago etc.
This airport is brilliant, those ramps give you a sense of departure and arrival. Having the main area higher up is excellent for views and general aesthetics. Spanking modern and brand new, big open spaces, glass and natural light. And as already mentioned, voted best in Aus.
Makes the old one look like a dog's kennel.
WheresGroomgone
14th December 2006, 20:47
Whoa radical topic, bring on the footy. Must disagree though with the Melbourne based critic [hey how's your airport out in the sticks!!] I have used both the international and domestic departures this year a fair bit with my three youngest and we love it. Mate I flew home yesterday and I could live there, so clean so clean. It's so fresh and so easy to use, perhaps your'e in that hungover vague zone you need some excuse to give it grief. No there was a smidgeon of lead up probs but it's killing it now in the airport premiership, bring on 2007 it will even get better.And as far as costs go I bought 3 orange juices and 2 packs of chips for the tribe in Melbourne international and it cost me 23.70!!!! yep there all cheap. Get over it and enjoy the flight
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 07:06
Whoa radical topic, bring on the footy. Must disagree though with the Melbourne based critic [hey how's your airport out in the sticks!!] I have used both the international and domestic departures this year a fair bit with my three youngest and we love it. Mate I flew home yesterday and I could live there, so clean so clean. It's so fresh and so easy to use, perhaps your'e in that hungover vague zone you need some excuse to give it grief. No there was a smidgeon of lead up probs but it's killing it now in the airport premiership, bring on 2007 it will even get better.And as far as costs go I bought 3 orange juices and 2 packs of chips for the tribe in Melbourne international and it cost me 23.70!!!! yep there all cheap. Get over it and enjoy the flight
Im open to all opinions thats what the idea of this thread is, some people dont like it other's do, plenty of pro's and cons being thrown about.:thumbsu:
Eggzoi
15th December 2006, 08:57
nail. hammer. head.
it's a means to an end.....who gives a FRA...
I disagree, you spend hundreds of millions on an airport it should damn well be perfect. It just reeks of poorly thought out design.
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 09:19
I disagree, you spend hundreds of millions on an airport it should damn well be perfect. It just reeks of poorly thought out design.
To me its a great huge lump of a building with nothing in it, and is very poorly designed in terms of the length of the areobridges to the size aircraft the airport handles a majority of the time being 737's and A320's, Adelaide doesnt have regular service from large aircraft maybe upto 4 a day.
Blue Red and Gold
15th December 2006, 09:26
To me its a great huge lump of a building with nothing in it, and is very poorly designed in terms of the length of the areobridges to the size aircraft the airport handles a majority of the time being 737's and A320's, Adelaide doesnt have regular service from large aircraft maybe upto 4 a day.
its called forward planning, we whing and whine about footy park because they didnt plan ahead, didnt plan for expansion.
They have done this at the Adelaide airport and people are still whinging, I would rather them build it so we have room to move in regards to possible expansion, rather than build for our specific needs now and then have to update it in 10 years time.
Truck Rutten
15th December 2006, 09:52
It's got a Cooper's shop. What more does one need?
Leaping Lindner
15th December 2006, 09:55
And a Cibos!!!! Straight off the plane and you grab a cappuccino :thumbsu: :cool:
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 09:57
its called forward planning, we whing and whine about footy park because they didnt plan ahead, didnt plan for expansion.
They have done this at the Adelaide airport and people are still whinging, I would rather them build it so we have room to move in regards to possible expansion, rather than build for our specific needs now and then have to update it in 10 years time.
How can they expand it:confused: There wont be any need to expand it, Adelaide finds it hard now to attract o/seas airlines, as I said Adelaide only has upto four international flights a day now and the biggest aircraft that flies into Adelaide is a 777-200, the inernational carriers that serve Adelaide are Singapore Airlines 777-200, Malaysia Airlines 777-200, Cathay Pacific A330-300, Qantas A330-300 and Air New Zealand A320-200.
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 09:57
Very true cant knock that:thumbsu:
crows98
15th December 2006, 10:21
How can they expand it:confused: There wont be any need to expand it, Adelaide finds it hard now to attract o/seas airlines, as I said Adelaide only has upto four international flights a day now and the biggest aircraft that flies into Adelaide is a 777-200, the inernational carriers that serve Adelaide are Singapore Airlines 777-200, Malaysia Airlines 777-200, Cathay Pacific A330-300, Qantas A330-300 and Air New Zealand A320-200.
Once the Australian federal government deregulate the Western hemisphere leg (Sydney/Melbourne – LAX/San Francisco) between Australia and the United State of America it will open the door for many more potential carriers to land in different destination in bound in Australia. Currently that leg is only available to Qantas and United Air; it just doesn’t make sense for either company to seriously look at expanding there international landing points outside of Sydney and Melbourne, that's why Adelaide can not compete on the current scale.
As soon as that leg has been deregulated and opened up to alternative carriers the South Australia airport commission can tender to different airlines to seriously look at Adelaide as an international port.
crows98
15th December 2006, 10:23
And a Cibos!!!! Straight off the plane and you grab a cappuccino :thumbsu: :cool:
Starbucks :thumbsu:
Blue Red and Gold
15th December 2006, 10:39
are you wearing blinkers?
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 10:40
Once the Australian federal government deregulate the Western hemisphere leg (Sydney/Melbourne – LAX/San Francisco) between Australia and the United State of America it will open the door for many more potential carriers to land in different destination in bound in Australia. Currently that leg is only available to Qantas and United Air; it just doesn’t make sense for either company to seriously look at expanding there international landing points outside of Sydney and Melbourne, that's why Adelaide can not compete on the current scale.
As soon as that leg has been deregulated and opened up to alternative carriers the South Australia airport commission can tender to different airlines to seriously look at Adelaide as an international port.
I agree but also there has to be the pax numbers wanting to come to Adelaide for it also to be viable.
crows98
15th December 2006, 10:51
I agree but also there has to be the pax numbers wanting to come to Adelaide for it also to be viable.
But once that deregulation has been approved by the Australian Federal Government the ticketing price for an international flight will decrease almost 50%. This will increase the number of potential passengers simply because of demand.
$1500 - $2000 for a return flight to the USA is a fair bit of money for the average traveller but if it was more like $700 - $900 demand for that flight will automatically increase.
maccas_no1
15th December 2006, 11:31
are you wearing blinkers?
No why do you say that?? Thats all that currently uses Adelaide airport, Thai Airways doesnt fly into Adelaide, Emirates isnt but wants to, they are waiting to free up more aircraft, but thats due to the delay with the A380-800.
I dont even think Adelaide is getting any charters this summer.
Blue Red and Gold
15th December 2006, 12:26
No why do you say that?? Thats all that currently uses Adelaide airport, Thai Airways doesnt fly into Adelaide, Emirates isnt but wants to, they are waiting to free up more aircraft, but thats due to the delay with the A380-800.
there is no point chasing after these extra flights/airlines if we do not have the facilities to facilitate them.
At least now we can pursue them and we are ready to go straight away, its half the battle.
Crow-mo
15th December 2006, 17:23
I went through Adelaide International recently, and I thought it was pretty good. the arrivals/customs area in particular seemed well thought out and designed.
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 07:20
there is no point chasing after these extra flights/airlines if we do not have the facilities to facilitate them.
At least now we can pursue them and we are ready to go straight away, its half the battle.
Now thats where your wrong, even with the new terminal they are having issues, when Malaysia Airlines fly into Adelaide they come in early in the morning and leave around 15:00 in afternoon, and because they didnt allow room for 'standoff' bays for international flights they have to move the aircraft around to the old terminal and leave them there, which costs the airlines more in fuel costs to start the aircraft up again and then taxi around to the old terminal, but hey great looking airport you got there:rolleyes:
*PAF
16th December 2006, 08:13
I still think that SA's International Airport should have been built in Mt Gambier as was proposed years ago. :p
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 08:30
I still think that SA's International Airport should have been built in Mt Gambier as was proposed years ago. :p
Yes I remember many years ago the SA government talking about building an International Airport at Hawker, to bring tourists into the Flinders and Wilpena Pound regions:eek:
*PAF
16th December 2006, 08:40
Yes I remember many years ago the SA government talking about building an International Airport at Hawker, to bring tourists into the Flinders and Wilpena Pound regions:eek:
I had not heard of that one.
That would have cost a Pound or two to run. :eek: :D
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 08:45
I had not heard of that one.
That would have cost a Pound or two to run. :eek: :D
I think they got the idea because they were getting large amount of tourists into Alice Springs via International charter's (they still do) so they thought well ok lets do the same, lucky they never went ahead with that:eek:
just maybe
16th December 2006, 08:59
FFS – and that simply in your opinion, and you never let any personality classes with other posters get in the way of answering objectively :eek:
Wrong.
I am highlighting maccas' appalling anti-Adelaide whinging on this board.
just maybe
16th December 2006, 09:05
It's called forward planning you nonce. Something you seem to have trouble grasping.
Do you think because you're a baggage handler you're somehow intimately aware of the pros and cons of airports? :rolleyes:
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 10:15
It's called forward planning you nonce. Something you seem to have trouble grasping.
Do you think because you're a baggage handler you're somehow intimately aware of the pros and cons of airports? :rolleyes:
But that the exact point I made they havent forward planned at all, as I said they have four gates for international flights, Malaysia Airlines when they operate into Adelaide come in early in the morning and leave around 15:00 so the aircraft cannot stay at the gate all day, fair enough that happens at all airports, but due to lack of room/poor design they havent allowed for close by stand off bays where they can tow the aircraft to, so they have to fire up the plane, burn through around a tonne of fuel and taxi the plane around to where the old terminal is, then when they need to bring it back to reload and prepare for departure, they then have to fire it up again burn through another tonne of fuel to bring it back to the gate, so thats two tonnes of fuel just because of poor design of the airport and its facilities.
I have a fair idea what goes on within the aviation industry, and as I have said to many people my job involves a hell of alot more than baggage, ever pushed back a $90 million 737 JM????
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 10:17
Wrong.
Not my fault they ******** it up all the time JM.
just maybe
16th December 2006, 10:47
But that the exact point I made they havent forward planned at all, as I said they have four gates for international flights, Malaysia Airlines when they operate into Adelaide come in early in the morning and leave around 15:00 so the aircraft cannot stay at the gate all day, fair enough that happens at all airports, but due to lack of room/poor design they havent allowed for close by stand off bays where they can tow the aircraft to, so they have to fire up the plane, burn through around a tonne of fuel and taxi the plane around to where the old terminal is, then when they need to bring it back to reload and prepare for departure, they then have to fire it up again burn through another tonne of fuel to bring it back to the gate, so thats two tonnes of fuel just because of poor design of the airport and its facilities.
One wonders why you aren't complaining about Melbourne Airport. Point proven.
Aside from that, you've been show down in flames on every other point you've made, so nbow you're arguing a point no one will bother to check. Weak.
I have a fair idea what goes on within the aviation industry, and as I have said to many people my job involves a hell of alot more than baggage, ever pushed back a $90 million 737 JM????
Did you ever know that you're my hero? You're the wind beneath my wings.
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 11:07
One wonders why you aren't complaining about Melbourne Airport. Point proven.
Aside from that, you've been show down in flames on every other point you've made, so nbow you're arguing a point no one will bother to check. Weak.
Did you ever know that you're my hero? You're the wind beneath my wings.
Ahhh now you are falling into the trap JM,do you know JM Melbourne Airport is the only airport in Australia that has dual taxiways between two concourses??? You know why it was designed that way?? So it doesnt stop aircraft from holding each other up when either on pushback or coming into a gate, its called planning for the future, you also know that at Melbourne Airport they built stand off bays right near the international terminal so when an aircraft is in for a stay all day they can just hook up a tug and push it back into the bay, geez thats more good design and planning,
You also will notice, that apart from areobridges that regularly service large aircraft such at QF's A330-200 and B767-300 aircraft the other areobridges are short and designed for the aircraft they actually handle rather than the ones they never will.
Ive proven all my point because I have a fair idea what Im on about, Ive had expert opinion given to me, by flight crews that use Adelaide Airport regularly, congrats Adelaide on another major flop:thumbsd:
Also JM im just wondering, have a bit of a big night last night???? Your grammar is shocking today, for such a highly intelligent fool.
Blue Red and Gold
16th December 2006, 12:37
I think you have to realise that all of the points you are raising, nobody gives a toss about. I dont care about doube concourse and lay off bays, all I care about is getting my ticket and getting on the plane.
Poor airline companies who make multi million dollar profits every year have to spend a bit of extra money on fuel boo hoo.
We get it, you work at an airport, good on you, we are all very proud of you. Instead of telling us all about our airport how about you tell us which one of your colleagues it was who put the mull in schapelle's bag ;)
maccas_no1
16th December 2006, 16:24
I think you have to realise that all of the points you are raising, nobody gives a toss about. I dont care about doube concourse and lay off bays, all I care about is getting my ticket and getting on the plane.
Poor airline companies who make multi million dollar profits every year have to spend a bit of extra money on fuel boo hoo.
We get it, you work at an airport, good on you, we are all very proud of you. Instead of telling us all about our airport how about you tell us which one of your colleagues it was who put the mull in schapelle's bag ;)
Physically impossible to get 4.1kg of weed airside, go weigh 4.1kg of parsely into a bag and have a look how big the bag is and then tell how you would get that airside, have a crack at that smart arse.
*PAF
16th December 2006, 17:28
Wrong.
I do not see any anti-Adelaide in his posts. He is just pointing out that in his opinion they could have done better.
Going on my one and only trip to the new Airport (around 40 odd in the old one) I think his points are very valid.
raikkonen
16th December 2006, 18:10
It works for me, looks good, is clean, easy to navigate, and has a superb view of the sunrise over the hills. Sh1ts all over Melbourne, hardly any room in the virgin waiting lounges. And having to walk 200m? Boo hoo. Its not even that far anyway IMHO.
Blue Red and Gold
17th December 2006, 08:52
Physically impossible to get 4.1kg of weed airside, go weigh 4.1kg of parsely into a bag and have a look how big the bag is and then tell how you would get that airside, have a crack at that smart arse.
touched a nerve have I? Where has your sense of humour gone?
maccas_no1
17th December 2006, 14:54
touched a nerve have I? Where has your sense of humour gone?
None at all, firstly I work for Virgin Blue the airline involved was Qantas, second I work at Melbourne Airport not Sydney Airport.
How did you go with your 4.1kg of parsely????
How would you get that airside??? Do you understand how connecting baggage works????
Please get back to me when you can:thumbsu:
Blue Red and Gold
17th December 2006, 15:25
None at all, firstly I work for Virgin Blue the airline involved was Qantas, second I work at Melbourne Airport not Sydney Airport.
How did you go with your 4.1kg of parsely????
How would you get that airside??? Do you understand how connecting baggage works????
Please get back to me when you can:thumbsu:
First of all I dont even understand what the term "airside" means.
This may come as a suprise, but no I do not know how baggage handling works, who would of thought?
Once again though, kudos to you for knowing how it works, we are all very proud of you.
Maybe I should start a thread about my line of work so I can try and big note myself...
All I, and most air people who use the airport care about is, getting on the bloody plane, your airport is miles away from anywhere, I prefer ours anyday.
Lets not even talk about Avalaon is it where Jetstar comes in, may as well drive.
maccas_no1
17th December 2006, 16:37
First of all I dont even understand what the term "airside" means.
This may come as a suprise, but no I do not know how baggage handling works, who would of thought?
Once again though, kudos to you for knowing how it works, we are all very proud of you.
Maybe I should start a thread about my line of work so I can try and big note myself...
All I, and most air people who use the airport care about is, getting on the bloody plane, your airport is miles away from anywhere, I prefer ours anyday.
Lets not even talk about Avalaon is it where Jetstar comes in, may as well drive.
So now you have completely backed away from your own arguement, you asked me about Schapelle Corby and the 'collegue' who stuffed the drugs in her bag, yet you dont even have a clue what your on about:rolleyes:
Im highlighting the major flaws in the new terminal at Adelaide Airport, nothing to do with what I do, I dont work at Adelaide Airport, I started this thread to find out if peoples views are the same or different.
Think before you post before you go off onto another topic if you dont even know what you are on about.
Blue Red and Gold
17th December 2006, 17:34
So now you have completely backed away from your own arguement, you asked me about Schapelle Corby and the 'collegue' who stuffed the drugs in her bag, yet you dont even have a clue what your on about:rolleyes:
Im highlighting the major flaws in the new terminal at Adelaide Airport, nothing to do with what I do, I dont work at Adelaide Airport, I started this thread to find out if peoples views are the same or different.
Think before you post before you go off onto another topic if you dont even know what you are on about.
I thought the fact i added a ;) at the end of my schapelle comment meant it was to be taken light hearted.
Like I said before, sense of humour is obviously lacking.
I know you asked us what we thought of the airport and when we did tell you, you procededed to give us a load of techinacl terms and telling us the problems of t foreign pilots/air hostess'
Why would anyone here care about the double concourse or tow away bay or whatever you call it?
maccas_no1
17th December 2006, 19:03
I thought the fact i added a ;) at the end of my schapelle comment meant it was to be taken light hearted.
Like I said before, sense of humour is obviously lacking.
I know you asked us what we thought of the airport and when we did tell you, you procededed to give us a load of techinacl terms and telling us the problems of t foreign pilots/air hostess'
Why would anyone here care about the double concourse or tow away bay or whatever you call it?
Because that is a well designed airport, over a poor designed airport.
Im never light hearted when it comes to Schapelle Corby, she is guilty and serving her sentance and 'baggage handlers' dont deserve the 'bad name' I know nobody where I work who is out to do anything to anyones baggage.
Blue Red and Gold
17th December 2006, 19:10
Because that is a well designed airport, over a poor designed airport.
Im never light hearted when it comes to Schapelle Corby, she is guilty and serving her sentance and 'baggage handlers' dont deserve the 'bad name' I know nobody where I work who is out to do anything to anyones baggage.
maybe for you, but for the average user like myself and plenty on here Adelaide airport will suffice.
Maybe you are better off finding a airport junkie type forum and discussing it there. You asked the question, IMO, just so you can try and big note yourself and get all technical with your airport lingo. Why ask the question only to try and shoot it down with your "double concourse" crap? It was a setup the entire time to try and big note yourself and good luck to you but I am not falling for it.
maccas_no1
17th December 2006, 21:15
maybe for you, but for the average user like myself and plenty on here Adelaide airport will suffice.
Maybe you are better off finding a airport junkie type forum and discussing it there. You asked the question, IMO, just so you can try and big note yourself and get all technical with your airport lingo. Why ask the question only to try and shoot it down with your "double concourse" crap? It was a setup the entire time to try and big note yourself and good luck to you but I am not falling for it.
Nothing to big note myself with mate, if I was a captian of a 737 on $120K a year then maybe I would, but Im not, Im asking or getting the opinion of people who live, would use Adelaide Airport reguarly their opinions on their airport how they deal with it.
I got technical as because you became a smart alec and started firing all sorts of 'off topic' questions at me, in a nutshell this thread is about Adelaide Airport and not what I do and it never has been.
Dont be annoyed you cant win the argument, or Ive highlighted that you havent got a clue what you are on about after trying to accuse me and my colleuges of planting drugs into peoples baggage.
*PAF
17th December 2006, 21:39
Is that the old Airport? :confused:
EDIT: Whoops who took the photo down? :D
Mad Dog
17th December 2006, 21:44
photo removed as it was too big.
Size does matter.
Paralowiepower
18th December 2006, 07:14
Yes, what a waste of money building a new airport. Money that could of been better spent on schools and hospitals. Better still, the land should of been sold for housing. After all what is wrong with Parafield airport, it's not like people come to Adelaide anyhow.
:rolleyes:
portentous
18th December 2006, 07:23
I love Adelaide airport. If you can't find something, you just ask. Most airports you can't find anyone to ask! The drop off and pick up zones are great and it's airy and clean.
They could improve in transport to/from the gates for the elderly and infirmed but overall it's just awesome. (and we've been "users" too - with kids might I add)
just maybe
18th December 2006, 17:14
Ahhh now you are falling into the trap JM,do you know JM Melbourne Airport is the only airport in Australia that has dual taxiways between two concourses??? You know why it was designed that way?? So it doesnt stop aircraft from holding each other up when either on pushback or coming into a gate, its called planning for the future, you also know that at Melbourne Airport they built stand off bays right near the international terminal so when an aircraft is in for a stay all day they can just hook up a tug and push it back into the bay, geez thats more good design and planning,
You also will notice, that apart from areobridges that regularly service large aircraft such at QF's A330-200 and B767-300 aircraft the other areobridges are short and designed for the aircraft they actually handle rather than the ones they never will.
Of course. As expected. Everything about Melbourne is great. Bahahahahah. Your façade is so see-through it's not funny.
Ive proven all my point because I have a fair idea what Im on about, Ive had expert opinion given to me, by flight crews that use Adelaide Airport regularly, congrats Adelaide on another major flop:thumbsd:
Well if it means you'll never come here again, that's better for everyone.
Also JM im just wondering, have a bit of a big night last night???? Your grammar is shocking today, for such a highly intelligent fool.
My grammar is fine. I made a couple of spelling mistakes while typing.
Who confuses grammar and spelling?
You really shouldn't try to 'own' people on their posts when you have a tenuous grasp of the English language mate.
just maybe
18th December 2006, 17:16
Nothing to big note myself with mate, if I was a captian of a 737 on $120K a year then maybe I would, but Im not, Im asking or getting the opinion of people who live, would use Adelaide Airport reguarly their opinions on their airport how they deal with it.
Then you've just exposed that this was a stupid pathetic bitch thread about Adelaide with no purpose whatsoever.
You were talking to us as users of Adelaide Airport. You got shot down because everyone had no problem with it.
Then, to try and weakly fight back , you go into all this technical internal airport stuff that no user ever sees. It has no relevance to us. How pathetic.
Blue Red and Gold
18th December 2006, 17:34
I got technical as because you became a smart alec and started firing all sorts of 'off topic' questions at me, in a nutshell this thread is about Adelaide Airport and not what I do and it never has been.
Dont be annoyed you cant win the argument, or Ive highlighted that you havent got a clue what you are on about after trying to accuse me and my colleuges of planting drugs into peoples baggage.
Sigh
Im not going to repeat myself.
You asked a question of what we thought of the Adelaide Airport, after most of us agreed we had no problem with it it was then you decided to get technical on us.
Of course I do not know all the airport lingo, who would? If you feel you have won an arguement playing that card well good for you. It was such a valid point too.
brucetiki
18th December 2006, 18:44
Never had a problem with the new terminal - wipes the floor off the old terminal. I've also been to Melbourne Airport, and besides the Skybus there's nothing much else to write home about. The Virgin side is in desperate need of an upgrade (it even has the old Ansett carpets in it still), and the Qantas side is filthy. As for Sydney's airport, how the heck they handled the 2000 Olympics was beyond me. My experience there was due to a couple of incompetent security guards, we nearly missed a flight after they told us 'no flights leaving in this area' when our flight was on final call before showing us to domestic arrivals (we were looking for Internatioal departures. Luckily, the guy helping us in domestic arrivals stopped a Qantas person who ran us to the gate - we were the last on board.
Navigation wise, I think Adelaide's design is quite creative, allowing the 'international' gates to be used as domestic gates as well. I recently saw off some reliatives boarding a Qantas flight to Singapore, and once everyone had boarded, not only was there an airport person was over opening the partition allowing us to right up to the window, but the info about the next flight on the gate screen was that it was a domestic flight from Canberra.
The Adelaide terminal is great for the average traveller IMO, and is the best terminal in the country IMO.
maccas_no1
18th December 2006, 22:04
Then you've just exposed that this was a stupid pathetic bitch thread about Adelaide with no purpose whatsoever.
You were talking to us as users of Adelaide Airport. You got shot down because everyone had no problem with it.
You need to go back and re-read through the thread again their were plenty of people who said they had issues with it, even on this page you will see *PAF says he agrees with the concerns I have raised.
maccas_no1
18th December 2006, 22:10
Never had a problem with the new terminal - wipes the floor off the old terminal. I've also been to Melbourne Airport, and besides the Skybus there's nothing much else to write home about. The Virgin side is in desperate need of an upgrade (it even has the old Ansett carpets in it still), and the Qantas side is filthy. As for Sydney's airport, how the heck they handled the 2000 Olympics was beyond me. My experience there was due to a couple of incompetent security guards, we nearly missed a flight after they told us 'no flights leaving in this area' when our flight was on final call before showing us to domestic arrivals (we were looking for Internatioal departures. Luckily, the guy helping us in domestic arrivals stopped a Qantas person who ran us to the gate - we were the last on board.
Navigation wise, I think Adelaide's design is quite creative, allowing the 'international' gates to be used as domestic gates as well. I recently saw off some reliatives boarding a Qantas flight to Singapore, and once everyone had boarded, not only was there an airport person was over opening the partition allowing us to right up to the window, but the info about the next flight on the gate screen was that it was a domestic flight from Canberra.
The Adelaide terminal is great for the average traveller IMO, and is the best terminal in the country IMO.
Melbourne Airport definately has its issues, for one why is there no rail link with Melbourne Airport???
In relation to the condition of the terminals that is Melbourne Airports responsibility, Virgin and Qantas lease the terminal space from Melbourne Airport, upgrades etc are upto Melbourne Airport, when Virgin recently took over the last part of Ansetts old terminal space, Virgin Blue had to beg Melbourne Airport for a month or more to get the area cleaned up due piles of rubbish being left about and it all needing to be painted, I agree the terminals especially the ex Ansett ones need refurbishing. But when it comes to overall workablity of the airport, it creams Adelaide Airport, the one advantage for Adelaide airport is the terminal buildings close proximty to the runway which cuts down taxi time.
Crow-mo
19th December 2006, 08:03
Marty, seriously.
I'm sure what you're saying is right, but what you haven't gotten across is the so what?
to put it another way, I'm sure plenty of staff think the mcDonald's deep fryer layout could be better - and they're probably right, but it has diddly to do with the how the business runs or how successful an operation it is.
to which end, again I am sure the design of the airport could have been better, and could have made your life easier - but, that may not have been priority no.1
snakebite01
19th December 2006, 08:32
maccas_no1, you are completely missing the point of a user friendly airport vs a staff-friendly/fuel-friendly/airstrip friendly/space friendly/200m walking friendly/airside friendly/double concorse friendly airport.
We, the users of the airport, and the most important people (not the pilots, air hostess' or baggage handlers believe it or not), do not give a sh*t about all that other crap.
Is it easy to get dropped off/picked up? Yes
Is it easy to get your ticket? Yes
Is it easy to board and depart your plane? Yes
Is it clean and spacious? Yes
Therefore, it is a great user friendly airport.
None of the other crap your talking about matters, apart from giving you and your workmates a point of conversation at smoko break.
just maybe
19th December 2006, 09:30
You need to go back and re-read through the thread again their were plenty of people who said they had issues with it, even on this page you will see *PAF says he agrees with the concerns I have raised.
Plenty? No. Wrong. The vast majority had no problems.
just maybe
19th December 2006, 09:31
maccas_no1, you are completely missing the point of a user friendly airport vs a staff-friendly/fuel-friendly/airstrip friendly/space friendly/200m walking friendly/airside friendly/double concorse friendly airport.
We, the users of the airport, and the most important people (not the pilots, air hostess' or baggage handlers believe it or not), do not give a sh*t about all that other crap.
Is it easy to get dropped off/picked up? Yes
Is it easy to get your ticket? Yes
Is it easy to board and depart your plane? Yes
Is it clean and spacious? Yes
Therefore, it is a great user friendly airport.
None of the other crap your talking about matters, apart from giving you and your workmates a point of conversation at smoko break.
Bingo.
Nail. Hammer. Head.
macca23
19th December 2006, 11:45
Barely an authority though Maccas. He lives in Darwin and has used it once. ;)