View Full Version : KDFL U/18's

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Bonge69
27 May 2007, 20:51
THe big mang machine is playing in the 2's ripping it up
He is a freak bit of a troy schwarze look alike

Daffy Smith
27 May 2007, 21:17
or nagambies inclusions, i hear they had brad gleeson and ashley hobbs playing... this true?
hobbz didnt play but gleason did and kicked 4

havoc_planet
27 May 2007, 21:41
THe big mang machine is playing in the 2's ripping it up

And isnt it great to see the beer gut Growing at such a young age, with an afro to match. Geez doesnt he know where the goals are though. I played one game this year and the big fella Booted 5 i think :D

oxxy_01
27 May 2007, 22:29
back to the good ole days on the w/e, 2 ardmona players reported for obscene language against the umpire...i guess its better than king hitting someone like last year against rushie.

carlton_86
27 May 2007, 22:49
lee brennan kicked 6 at full foward while mccorkell and abley dominated through the midfield! Towners flying high, will miss Ash ellis(c) who popped out his shoulder today(6 weeks).

Big loss ash will not play again this year

juddy wce
28 May 2007, 13:12
ha ha nice one there acadex, end up winning by 102 points, not quite your 30 points prediction...only kicked 4 and ask around i actually passed off in the 50 this week. merrigum had 3 or 4 tatura players, they held the team together and probably would have been more closer to 200points if they hadnt of played.

big result from the weekend i believe is avenels fall from grace, a 60 odd point loss to nagambie, wats happened to last years premiers?

yeah oxy passed a goal off instead of shoot for goal. well done oxy!

oxxy_01
28 May 2007, 21:11
so what is undera like this year? i see campbell is killing it with 20 odd goals n a few votes in the plumbing medal.
any news on Yeas numbers on game day?

14th Tiger
28 May 2007, 21:17
Yea beat Avenel
Violet Town beat Yea
Avenel beat Violet Town
Nagambie beat Yea
Lancaster beat Nagambie
Nagamie beat Avenel
Avenel beat Lancaster
Nagambie beat Ardmona
Ardmona beat Girgarre

So many contradictions, this comp is much more even than previous years!

14th Tiger
28 May 2007, 21:20
so what is undera like this year? i see campbell is killing it with 20 odd goals n a few votes in the plumbing medal.
any news on Yeas numbers on game day?

Brenton played pretty well, took sum good grabs but his finishing definitely let him down, could hav had a decent bag. Yea had bout 20 and actually used a bench! Both teams had some help from GV clubs, and was a good quality match apart from the 2nd qtr which saw only 4 points scored.

big tony
28 May 2007, 21:53
» Warren Plumbing Award:
1. LANG, Markus Murchison 11
2. WORM, Louis Merrigum 10
3. ABLEY, Nicholas Violet Town 9
4. OXFORD, Alexander Lancaster 9
5. SANDERSON, Joshua Nagambie 9
6. SAUNDERS, Dennis Avenel 9
7. CAMPBELL, Brenton Undera 8
8. MCCORMICK, Jack Murchison 8
9. PATTEN, Ryan Stanhope 8
10. SCARCELLA, Damien Merrigum 8

the top 2 from the bottom 2 teams as always lol

big__dog#9
28 May 2007, 22:21
How is Ryan Harper from VT goin this year, heard he has improved from last year when he was a bit uncoordinated with his kicking but had good skills. How he goin in the KD?

oxxy_01
28 May 2007, 23:28
» Warren Plumbing Award:
1. LANG, Markus Murchison 11
2. WORM, Louis Merrigum 10
3. ABLEY, Nicholas Violet Town 9
4. OXFORD, Alexander Lancaster 9
5. SANDERSON, Joshua Nagambie 9
6. SAUNDERS, Dennis Avenel 9
7. CAMPBELL, Brenton Undera 8
8. MCCORMICK, Jack Murchison 8
9. PATTEN, Ryan Stanhope 8
10. SCARCELLA, Damien Merrigum 8

the top 2 from the bottom 2 teams as always lol

and another thing, the votes are done by the goal umpires, they can usually only see good plays in the foward and backlines, midfielders need to work overtime to get votes...wouldnt it be better for the opposition coach to award the votes?

acadex
29 May 2007, 08:22
and another thing, the votes are done by the goal umpires, they can usually only see good plays in the foward and backlines, midfielders need to work overtime to get votes...wouldnt it be better for the opposition coach to award the votes?
oxxy, these sort of awards are never fair, i personally think that they are waste of time and probably should be excluded from the game because who realy gives a s.h.i.t about them?(if you do you should probably give footy away) as long as your team is winning? that is all that really matters i would think!

juddy wce
29 May 2007, 10:07

it doesnt affect you oxy you are always in the forward line thats why you are gettin votes.

souts
29 May 2007, 11:08
oxxy, these sort of awards are never fair, i personally think that they are waste of time and probably should be excluded from the game because who realy gives a s.h.i.t about them?(if you do you should probably give footy away) as long as your team is winning? that is all that really matters i would think!

shit acadex i can remember when we played under 16's together, you used to always check if u got the jeff young votes, first thig monday morning haha. but your right who needs them

big tony
29 May 2007, 14:24

yer the votes don't mean much but its always good to read ya name in it :D
if the opposition coaches did it then it would be a lot better i reckon maybe it should be tried?

Bonge69
29 May 2007, 21:10
its always good to read ya name in it :D

haha good for u #3

BIGirish
29 May 2007, 21:12
Brenton played pretty well, took sum good grabs but his finishing definitely let him down, could hav had a decent bag. Yea had bout 20 and actually used a bench! Both teams had some help from GV clubs, and was a good quality match apart from the 2nd qtr which saw only 4 points scored.

The Yea boys had 60% of the play all day, adam Loraine(Seymour... I think) was killin it in the backline, his pace and ball skills opened up the game, just about every time the ball came he was at the fall of it. Danny Belston(Seymour) dominated the midfeild as did Dallas Bergowicz (Seymour Aswell) whos hardness at the ball is just incredible ,As for the Yea Boys Chrissy Graham and Matty Moore were both having a good day. My opinion if yea hadnt have had the seymour boys last week they would have been in a bit of strife? anyone else's opinions?

Bonge69
29 May 2007, 21:13
. Danny Belston(Seymour) dominated the midfeild
Has he been actually playing for seymour

Bucket #18
29 May 2007, 21:20
Has he been actually playing for seymour

Yeah man he is playin pretty good footy in G.V aswell!:thumbsu:

14th Tiger
29 May 2007, 21:29
The Yea boys had 60% of the play all day, adam Loraine(Seymour... I think) was killin it in the backline, his pace and ball skills opened up the game, just about every time the ball came he was at the fall of it. Danny Belston(Seymour) dominated the midfeild as did Dallas Bergowicz (Seymour Aswell) whos hardness at the ball is just incredible ,As for the Yea Boys Chrissy Graham and Matty Moore were both having a good day. My opinion if yea hadnt have had the seymour boys last week they would have been in a bit of strife? anyone else's opinions?

I rekon ur pretty well on the $. Adam had a day out n was b.o.g no doubt. I was talkn 2 ur Full Back n he was from a Shepp team but i dont no how many other GV players yas had, so may well of been a different story without those fellas but we really shouldnt hav let yas get that close in the end also. Was good 2 hav Belly back finally and hav sumone 2 lead at with confidence!

oxxy_01
29 May 2007, 21:41
odds for the thirds premiership

Stanhope 3-1, flag favourites seem to have the opposition matched well
Violet Town 5-1, a young team but has a lot of potential
Ardmona 6-1, pushed stanhope at the w/e and look like a finals contender
Lancaster 10-1, good players across the board but inexperience could lead the astray
Yea, Gig, Avenel, Nagambie, Undera, 15-1, due to inconsistency
Tally, Murch, Merrigum 1000-1, no hope.

saints_rule23
29 May 2007, 22:34
Hey just keen on knowing about few players that i know

what are they like?

Josh Comi- Nagambie
Josh Sanderson- Nagambie
John O;Dwyer- Avenel

How are they travelling?

fuzzyswan
29 May 2007, 22:42
odds for the thirds premiership

Stanhope 3-1, flag favourites seem to have the opposition matched well
Violet Town 5-1, a young team but has a lot of potential
Ardmona 6-1, pushed stanhope at the w/e and look like a finals contender
Lancaster 10-1, good players across the board but inexperience could lead the astray
Yea, Gig, Avenel, Nagambie, Undera, 15-1, due to inconsistency
Tally, Murch, Merrigum 1000-1, no hope.

whilst avenel have lost to three other sides on 15-1 u've got there, all those losses they have been considerably undermanned. with a full side they've beaten VT and lancy (easily too). avenel will have a number of their ACK boys back when their season finishes plus one or two others, and if they can make the 5 they will have most if not all of their list available. could be very similar to rushy last year. i'd have them a little higher up than 15-1 considering there is a fair bit of talent to come back into the side that has played the last couple of weeks.

oxxy_01
29 May 2007, 23:51
whilst avenel have lost to three other sides on 15-1 u've got there, all those losses they have been considerably undermanned. with a full side they've beaten VT and lancy (easily too). avenel will have a number of their ACK boys back when their season finishes plus one or two others, and if they can make the 5 they will have most if not all of their list available. could be very similar to rushy last year. i'd have them a little higher up than 15-1 considering there is a fair bit of talent to come back into the side that has played the last couple of weeks.

good point there fuzzy, how many games will the ACK boys play before finals? and the only reason i put them at 15-1 was due to the inconsistency, everyone can't keep using the undermanned excuse for losing.

Bonge69
29 May 2007, 23:53
good point there fuzzy, how many games will the ACK boys play before finals? and the only reason i put them at 15-1 was due to the inconsistency, everyone can't keep using the undermanned excuse for losing.
Well VT have had some players out to and i dont think they easily beat us and sides like lancy have improved since Avenal played them

fuzzyswan
30 May 2007, 02:18

u're absolutely right oxxy and if they continue to replicate the kind of form of the last couple of weeks they won't get within a country mile of the 5 let alone do any damage in september. im fairly sure that there is only around 8 or so games in the AGS season so i would imagine that they would easily qualify. most of them have already played 2 i think.

juddy#03
30 May 2007, 11:17
u're absolutely right oxxy and if they continue to replicate the kind of form of the last couple of weeks they won't get within a country mile of the 5 let alone do any damage in september. im fairly sure that there is only around 8 or so games in the AGS season so i would imagine that they would easily qualify. most of them have already played 2 i think.

Avenel have been disappointing - but will be improved team come finals if they make it. To come in loss from the loss to nagambie ( who were bolstered by quality GVFL permit players Marcus Ure & Brad Gleeson) are Robbie Sidebottom - blitzing them in the ones. Fred Marke has played two games and best on ground in both. The ACK boys will be playing soon, Duncan Lowis has played ACK firsts this year, Tom Noonan plays like Tingay, Scott Williams Athletic versatile footballer, Charles Wheeler half back flank, Brendan Renfrey who played well on debut when he broke his wrist.

juddy#03
30 May 2007, 11:22
Josh comi great kick good mark Interchange for 1's onagainst Avenel
Josh sanderson strong hands accurate kick
John O'Dwyer hard running, doesn't waste a kick or handball

carlton_86
30 May 2007, 12:37
Avenel have been disappointing - but will be improved team come finals if they make it. To come in loss from the loss to nagambie ( who were bolstered by quality GVFL permit players Marcus Ure & Brad Gleeson) are Robbie Sidebottom - blitzing them in the ones. Fred Marke has played two games and best on ground in both. The ACK boys will be playing soon, Duncan Lowis has played ACK firsts this year, Tom Noonan plays like Tingay, Scott Williams Athletic versatile footballer, Charles Wheeler half back flank, Brendan Renfrey who played well on debut when he broke his wrist.
if robbie sidebottom is blitzing them in the ones won't come back to play thirds

juddy#03
30 May 2007, 13:26
I avenel firsts don't play grandfinal

juddy#03
30 May 2007, 13:27
I avenel firsts don't play grandfinal
All depends if Avenel seniors play finals footy

saints_rule23
30 May 2007, 13:45

Thanks for that juddy#3

oxxy_01
30 May 2007, 19:18
did anyone hear if those 2 reported ardmona boys went to the tribunal this week?

Milky
30 May 2007, 20:20
just on the comment i left bout saucy stokes last week, i hate to be cocky but i told u he is a litle gun, i am good mates with a few stanny boys and they told me he came on in the last half and put the body on the line and scored 2 important goals, he outmarked a player over 2 times his height and when the ardy boys were showing a bit of hardness around the ball he just looked calm, a player to look out for in the stanny team :thumbsu:

sharpshoota
30 May 2007, 20:29
just on the comment i left bout saucy stokes last week, i hate to be cocky but i told u he is a litle gun, i am good mates with a few stanny boys and they told me he came on in the last half and put the body on the line and scored 2 important goals, he outmarked a player over 2 times his height and when the ardy boys were showing a bit of hardness around the ball he just looked calm, a player to look out for in the stanny team :thumbsu:

haha come on regan! if you have to watch out for "Saucy" then you have to watch out for the whole team! he only played a quarter for a reason. When the ball is there to be won he is over chattin up the canteen ladies. Mite have kicked 2 goals but only covered 15 metres all game due to sitting in the square(sheepdog).

oxxy_01
30 May 2007, 21:58
haha come on regan! if you have to watch out for "Saucy" then you have to watch out for the whole team! he only played a quarter for a reason. When the ball is there to be won he is over chattin up the canteen ladies. Mite have kicked 2 goals but only covered 15 metres all game due to sitting in the square(sheepdog).

yeh ole black betty loves the ladies doesn't he. Seems like he's going alright getting regular games in the seniors.

sharpshoota
31 May 2007, 14:48
yeh ole black betty loves the ladies doesn't he. Seems like he's going alright getting regular games in the seniors.

yeah a few senior games for Matty Stokes! Kicked a couple of goals but has sometimes only got a couple of kicks in some games but they have resulted in goals. So yeah he is doing pretty well for himself when the oppurtunity comes knockin!

Milky
31 May 2007, 14:49

sorry mate but i think u got it wrong, black betty is the older brother of saucy, its true what u say about blacky betty, he is making regular apearences in the seniors.

premiers07
31 May 2007, 17:39
its allways goood to talk yaself up isnt it Juddy#03.. haha

Milky
31 May 2007, 20:00
wat are everybodys thoughts about sam dearing?
i no he is a good player just wondering wat others think?

juddy#03
31 May 2007, 21:24
its allways goood to talk yaself up isnt it Juddy#03.. haha
haha nah that wasnt me that wrote that comment it wass dad:cool: lol

buzz1234
31 May 2007, 21:31
Yea boys r the ones to watch in the next 2 weeks and hopefully more. A few more inns will help the cause.

Match of the round this week is....? any thoughts....

carlton_86
31 May 2007, 21:40
Yea boys r the ones to watch in the next 2 weeks and hopefully more. A few more inns will help the cause.

Match of the round this week is....? any thoughts....
Nagaz Vs VT

buzz1234
31 May 2007, 21:46
A big in for Avenel in a few weeks, maybe just 2 will be Scotty Williams. Has been playin brilliant football for ACK 2's and should have a 1's spot on his mind quite soon. Athletic and versatile, 1 to watch for Avenel 18's. :thumbsu:

teddygeiger
31 May 2007, 21:57
A big in for Avenel in a few weeks, maybe just 2 will be Scotty Williams. Has been playin brilliant football for ACK 2's and should have a 1's spot on his mind quite soon. Athletic and versatile, 1 to watch for Avenel 18's. :thumbsu:
Big Scotty Wow

Harro17
31 May 2007, 22:04
[quote=buzz1234;7700536]Yea boys r the ones to watch in the next 2 weeks and hopefully more. A few more inns will help the cause.

Have yea got 18 without GV players?
is Daniel Evans playing?I saw a bit of him in an ACK game,not a big kid but has good skills and can certaintly take a grab, would b a handy player 4 yea?

Red_Bull
1 Jun 2007, 10:41
My Tips for this week:
Lancaster Vs Undera (should be a close game) 17 points
Tallygaroopna Vs Yea (Don't know if Yea will travel, but will win) 98 points
Ardmona Vs Rushworth (Ardy will win easy) 110 points
Merrigum Vs Avenel (Avenel should win comfortably) 80 points
Nagambie Vs Violet Town (Best game of the round) 30 points
Girgarre Vs Murchison (Big Names for Gig, Too strong for Murch) 103 points

What are otha people tips for this week?

Red_Bull
1 Jun 2007, 10:44
[quote=Harro17;7700941][quote=buzz1234;7700536]Yea boys r the ones to watch in the next 2 weeks and hopefully more. A few more inns will help the cause.

Who is Yea gettin that are gona turn things around???? R they gonna be good enough to challenge the top of the table Stanhope in 3 weeks???

oxxy_01
1 Jun 2007, 11:01
My Tips for this week:

Lancaster Vs Undera 5 points, goal for goal all game
Tallygaroopna Vs Yea 40 points too strong
Ardmona Vs Rushworth 100 pouints, slaughter
Merrigum Vs Avenel 150 points, again a slaughter
Nagambie Vs Violet Town 20 pouins\ts, vt to crumble
Girgarre Vs Murchison 50

juddy wce
1 Jun 2007, 15:54
My Tips for this week:

Lancaster vs Undera - Lancy by 5 goals
Tally vs Yea - Yea by 8 goals
Ardy vs yea - Ardy by 20 goals
Merrigum vs Avenel - Avenel by 22 goals
Nagambie vs Violet Town - VT by 4 goals
Girgarre vs Murchison - Gig by 15 goals

juddy wce
1 Jun 2007, 15:57
Nagaz Vs VT

match of round
Lancaster vs Undera

Milky
1 Jun 2007, 18:12
Match of the round=

nagambie and violet town, nagambie should show violet town are harder game of footy then they may be used to and should win in a close game. but thats only if nagambie has all the top line players in the line up.

jase#14
1 Jun 2007, 18:22
My Tips for this week:

Lancaster Vs Undera should be a very good game, Lanky by 10
Tallygaroopna Vs Yea Yea easily 75 points
Ardmona Vs Rushworth Ardmona too good for rushy, win by 120
Merrigum Vs Avenel Avanel by 150 too good
Nagambie Vs Violet Town the lakers in a upset, they'll get up by 15
Girgarre Vs Murchison Gid couple of outs this week due to injury, could be closer than ppl think. Gig still tho by 35

jase#14
1 Jun 2007, 18:23
Match of the round=

nagambie and violet town, nagambie should show violet town are harder game of footy then they may be used to and should win in a close game. but thats only if nagambie has all the top line players in the line up.
So milky why do ya reckon the lakers will get up against VT

14th Tiger
1 Jun 2007, 19:46
[quote=oxxy_01;7703869]
Lancaster Vs Undera - 30 points, havn't seen Lancy but rekon they'll get up
Tallygaroopna Vs Yea - 25 points, Yea bad numbers but should still win
Ardmona Vs Rushworth - 80 points, havnt seen either, but Ardy are travelling very well
Merrigum Vs Avenel - 100 points, Avenel way too strong
Nagambie Vs Violet Town - 5 goals, game of the round
Girgarre Vs Murchison - 100+ points, Girgarre have shown they are contenders and will pump Murch

tonysgone
1 Jun 2007, 20:05
Match of the round=

No way pal, the towners will get up, they havnt hit top form yet, still got a bit in em. plus still Jack Mc Pherson and Angus Mc Donald to join the side.

Milky
1 Jun 2007, 20:43
No way pal, the towners will get up, they havnt hit top form yet, still got a bit in em. plus still Jack Mc Pherson and Angus Mc Donald to join the side.

you may be rite there bud, but im thinking towards an upset, but only if nagas has everyone in playing there best footy. nagas are are stronger side then ppl seem to think.

Milky
1 Jun 2007, 20:45
Nagambie Vs Violet Town the lakers in a upset, they'll get up by 15

i see you have also tipped nagas there jase#14, i tihnk i did explain why i think they will win when i said they will show vt a stronger more physical game then expected, nagas are are good side and i tihnk they may cause an upset.

why do u think they will win?

oxxy_01
1 Jun 2007, 22:35
match of the round would have to be the derby between rushie n ardmona...round 2 of the infamous brawl..hopefully the ardmona players dont lose their jumpers again this year to avoid report...i wonder if theyll also bring back the king hit to this weeks game?

tonysgone
1 Jun 2007, 23:24
you may be rite there bud, but im thinking towards an upset, but only if nagas has everyone in playing there best footy. nagas are are stronger side then ppl seem to think.

Yer could go either way, it ganna come down to who plays better footy on the day. is nagambies ground a bit bigger than normal? jus wat ive been told..

jase#14
2 Jun 2007, 17:59
So, what does everyone think of the round? Tally got up in a bit of an upset. Gig should have won by alot more, and everyone backed Lanky, what yous reckon?

sharpshoota
2 Jun 2007, 18:58
So, what does everyone think of the round? Tally got up in a bit of an upset. Gig should have won by alot more, and everyone backed Lanky, what yous reckon?

Yeah travelled over to Merrigum today to witness them and Avenel and early on it was a fair bit of a scrap with both teams having there share of the ball and only a couple of goals been kicked by Avenel. After half time Avenel showed why they have won the last two flags and could be in contention for a third! Although the game was very scrappy due to the conditions, Avenel pumped the balll long at every oppurtunity to give their big forwards a chance in Tingay and Williamsto kick a winning score. My opinion is that Avenel looks nothing like the force they were last year and have lost a lot of those big bodies also. All in all well played Avenel:thumbsu:

sharpshoota
2 Jun 2007, 19:07
In the other games Girgarre should have done better against the quality of murch! Nagambie and Violet Town was an evenly contested game and as predicted was a close finish. Ardy had the better of Rushy in the old knuckle Derby but should have won by more. Tally gave Yea a bit of a touch up! Wat happened there chris? And Undera beat lancy in what was a one man show by my man Brenton Campbell. on ya B.C:thumbsu:

14th Tiger
3 Jun 2007, 15:34
In the other games Girgarre should have done better against the quality of murch! Nagambie and Violet Town was an evenly contested game and as predicted was a close finish. Ardy had the better of Rushy in the old knuckle Derby but should have won by more. Tally gave Yea a bit of a touch up! Wat happened there chris? And Undera beat lancy in what was a one man show by my man Brenton Campbell. on ya B.C:thumbsu:

Yeh Tally certainly did giv us a touch up! We went up there with 11 players and Tally were good enough to lend us 3 players to give us a game. They still had more on the ground than us which made a big difference but we cant whinge about that considering we only had 11. They were much better than most believe i rekon, afew handy players without having standouts. Not sure if they will giv the top 5 a shake or not but certainly a danger match.

sharpshoota
3 Jun 2007, 15:50
Yeh Tally certainly did giv us a touch up! We went up there with 11 players and Tally were good enough to lend us 3 players to give us a game. They still had more on the ground than us which made a big difference but we cant whinge about that considering we only had 11. They were much better than most believe i rekon, afew handy players without having standouts. Not sure if they will giv the top 5 a shake or not but certainly a danger match.

Yeah when we played Tally my first thought was that the game could be a very close one by looking at some of the boys out there for them. They had some big players but lucky enough for us we were able to get away to a good start and at quarter time had a lead of around 40 odd points. This start obviously broke there backs and we were good enough to keep going at the pace we set early and won comfortably in the end.

jase#14
3 Jun 2007, 17:20
yeah jst on gig, does anyone actually rate them? i know that they have lost a couple of players tthrough injury, Ryan Moore (fractured leg) and Thomas Lawler, these players obviously good players they did represent the league at the moama carnival. Without these players, do they still have half a chance of shaking the top 5?

Milky
3 Jun 2007, 20:36
yeah jst on gig, does anyone actually rate them? i know that they have lost a couple of players tthrough injury, Ryan Moore (fractured leg) and Thomas Lawler, these players obviously good players they did represent the league at the moama carnival. Without these players, do they still have half a chance of shaking the top 5?

nah mate i have to say i dont rate gig watsoever, even with those players in haha. gig have put together better teams in previous years, as much as they probly think they are are force of some sort, i still believe there nothing, as it shows that they didnt take full advantage of a understrength murch side on the weekend, should have won this game by alot more.

sharpshoota
3 Jun 2007, 20:57
Went and witnessed the under 17 interleague team today at Deakin Reserve and they got over the line in the end by a point against the Picola boys in what was a very sloppy but entertaining match! Conditions early were slippery under foot due to the rain in the past couple of days and also morning dew didnt help. Captain of the kdl side Shaun Damon(Rushworth) was best on ground for the young boys and led from the front all day for the league. Early on it was all Picola but our boys were able to fight back hard and snatch a fantastic win. In my opinion my top three best players were Shaun Damon(played good footy in the guts and got a fair few possies around the ground), Brenton Campbell(played good solid footy down back early then got switched to the forward line late in the game when it was in the balance and kicked a couple of well needed goals), and Rexmond Issac(didnt play as good as everyone expected but still had his fair share of it and had clean skills in what was a very sloppy game and kicked a few goals in the last half to help the boys win).

Anyone else's thoughts on the day who went?

big tony
3 Jun 2007, 21:06
Went and witnessed the under 17 interleague team today at Deakin Reserve and they got over the line in the end by a point against the Picola boys in what was a very sloppy but entertaining match! Conditions early were slippery under foot due to the rain in the past couple of days and also morning dew didnt help. Captain of the kdl side Shaun Damon(Rushworth) was best on ground for the young boys and led from the front all day for the league. Early on it was all Picola but our boys were able to fight back hard and snatch a fantastic win. In my opinion my top three best players were Shaun Damon(played good footy in the guts and got a fair few possies around the ground), Brenton Campbell(played good solid footy down back early then got switched to the forward line late in the game when it was in the balance and kicked a couple of well needed goals), and Rexmond Issac(didnt play as good as everyone expected but still had his fair share of it and had clean skills in what was a very sloppy game and kicked a few goals in the last half to help the boys win).

Anyone else's thoughts on the day who went?

also witnessed the game but didnt know who each player was, i thought number 13 was great all day... can anyone give me a name?

oxxy_01
3 Jun 2007, 21:42
shaun damon was best on ground in the interleague side today but he gave up his own clubs match saturday against ardmona, so he gave up playing for is own team for an interleague match....what does everyone think about that and would you give up your own club for the league?

corks
3 Jun 2007, 22:07
shaun damon was best on ground in the interleague side today but he gave up his own clubs match saturday against ardmona, so he gave up playing for is own team for an interleague match....what does everyone think about that and would you give up your own club for the league?

there would be no chance that i would give up my own club game on a saturday when it is ardmona or any one... ardmona are up there with stanhope and vt.. Any way how are ya oxxy ?? did u play well on the week end.. who do u think are the top sides in the comp?

oxxy_01
3 Jun 2007, 22:39
there would be no chance that i would give up my own club game on a saturday when it is ardmona or any one... ardmona are up there with stanhope and vt.. Any way how are ya oxxy ?? did u play well on the week end.. who do u think are the top sides in the comp?

yeh good thanks corks. well the w/e was a bit of a downer really we were shown by undera how to play wet weather football and we learnt we need to improve a hell of a lot to be a top 5 team....

so far, without playing all the teams yet i think the top 5 will be...

1. Stanhope
2. Ardmona
3. Violet Town
4. Undera
5. Avenel or Lancaster (maybe)

juddy wce
4 Jun 2007, 13:06
also witnessed the game but didnt know who each player was, i thought number 13 was great all day... can anyone give me a name?

Louis Worm. I thought he had a good second quarter.

sharpshoota
4 Jun 2007, 14:33

Yeah oxxy definitely wouldnt give up the chance to play for my own club on a saturday just so i can play interleague the following day. My club games comes before the interleague games, have had the chance to play interleague for the past three years and keep turning it down because would rather just focus on my footy with my own club rather then playing for the league.

Milky
4 Jun 2007, 14:57
Yeah oxxy definitely wouldnt give up the chance to play for my own club on a saturday just so i can play interleague the following day. My club games comes before the interleague games, have had the chance to play interleague for the past three years and keep turning it down because would rather just focus on my footy with my own club rather then playing for the league.

i must agree with you there sharpshoota, i also have been asked to play interleague in last 3 years but i have turned it down because i realy think club footy is most important, when you sign up for anouther year of footy i really think that that is your first priority and u should be giving your 100% for own club before anyone else..

14th Tiger
4 Jun 2007, 19:45

I cant believe that! Is he the Rushy cpt 2? I would b filthy if i played 4 a team and our cpt ditched us 4 interleague the nxt day!

oxxy_01
4 Jun 2007, 21:27
I cant believe that! Is he the Rushy cpt 2? I would b filthy if i played 4 a team and our cpt ditched us 4 interleague the nxt day!

it was a sad w/e for the ardmona 3rds, they couldn't replicate last years fracas against rushworth, maybe next year the knuckledusters may make a return.

secondly, rexmond from gig played interleague on sunday. he got a bit of the ball and usually used it well but does nowhere near enough for a player of such talent. if he wants to play afl, as apparently geelong are already looking at him to pair up with gazza jnr and stokes up foward, he needs to do a fair bit of work.

sharpshoota
4 Jun 2007, 21:31

Not sure if he is Rushys captain or not but it doesnt really matter because he is up in the senior side for them and doing a pretty good job from what i hear aswell! Dont totally agree about ditching your own club just so you can play footy for the interleague boys the following day. Speaking to him today at school he said he had a slight injury coming into saturdays match and didnt want to aggrovate it anymore by playing seniors so he decided to give it a miss and be fresh for the following day.(fair enough)

Anyone elses thorts on the Shaun Damon saga?

sashabnd
4 Jun 2007, 22:45
it was a sad w/e for the ardmona 3rds, they couldn't replicate last years fracas against rushworth, maybe next year the knuckledusters may make a return.

secondly, rexmond from gig played interleague on sunday. he got a bit of the ball and usually used it well but does nowhere near enough for a player of such talent. if he wants to play afl, as apparently geelong are already looking at him to pair up with gazza jnr and stokes up foward, he needs to do a fair bit of work.

Not sure who gave ya the info about Geelong, but its far from the truth.

juddy wce
5 Jun 2007, 10:14
Not sure if he is Rushys captain or not but it doesnt really matter because he is up in the senior side for them and doing a pretty good job from what i hear aswell! Dont totally agree about ditching your own club just so you can play footy for the interleague boys the following day. Speaking to him today at school he said he had a slight injury coming into saturdays match and didnt want to aggrovate it anymore by playing seniors so he decided to give it a miss and be fresh for the following day.(fair enough)

Anyone elses thorts on the Shaun Damon saga?

Interleague games come once a year so i understand why he would want to be 100%. He played really well in the interleague game and KDFL won by a point had he played for Rushy on saturday KDFL might not have won. Good on Ya Shauny.!

Milky
5 Jun 2007, 18:21
i would like to know peoples thoughts on the leading goal kickers at the moment in nexhip(stan), scott (ard), Robinson (stan) , mellington (VT), Campbell (Und) and Brenn- Mckenzie (VT), and where you tihnk they will be say round 18?

oxxy_01
5 Jun 2007, 19:04
i would like to know peoples thoughts on the leading goal kickers at the moment in nexhip(stan), scott (ard), Robinson (stan) , mellington (VT), Campbell (Und) and Brenn- Mckenzie (VT), and where you tihnk they will be say round 18?

nexhip is a flat track bully, only kicks bags against the weak teams.
campbell is the best player in this group i would think

big tony
5 Jun 2007, 19:53

have only seen mellington and brennan from vt.
mellington:very classy but lazy. he's only 14 tho.
brennan:good kick at goal but plays for a free kick every contest!

Daffy Smith
5 Jun 2007, 21:17
yeh good thanks corks. well the w/e was a bit of a downer really we were shown by undera how to play wet weather football and we learnt we need to improve a hell of a lot to be a top 5 team....

so far, without playing all the teams yet i think the top 5 will be...

1. Stanhope
2. Ardmona
3. Violet Town
4. Undera
5. Avenel or Lancaster (maybe)
i rate nagambie a class above lancaster and avenal i rate 3 to 4 depending on the players they have each week

oxxy_01
5 Jun 2007, 22:47
i rate nagambie a class above lancaster and avenal i rate 3 to 4 depending on the players they have each week

hmmm lancaster beat them on their home ground by 3 - 4 goals

walshy 4
6 Jun 2007, 00:10
Interleague games come once a year so i understand why he would want to be 100%. He played really well in the interleague game and KDFL won by a point had he played for Rushy on saturday KDFL might not have won. Good on Ya Shauny.!
damo ur a champion afta get on da pis wit us ky bois one nit haha

walshy 4
6 Jun 2007, 00:11
hey oxxy sorry man cnt play skool soca on thursdai coachn the 7;8 footy team didnt relise on sam day

juddy wce
6 Jun 2007, 10:28

Brenton Campbell is a class above. Last week he kicked 7 out of 8 goals for undera against lancy. The others are all in very good teams and have alot of the ball were as undera arent as dominate yet he still snags crap load of goals. Im not saying the others arent good but there in good teams which have possesion of the footy most games.

Notice that nexhip, scott, robinson, brenn-mckenzie only kick bags of goals against the weak teams whereas BC kicks bags no matter who he plays.

sharpshoota
6 Jun 2007, 13:16
Brenton Campbell is a class above. Last week he kicked 7 out of 8 goals for undera against lancy. The others are all in very good teams and have alot of the ball were as undera arent as dominate yet he still snags crap load of goals. Im not saying the others arent good but there in good teams which have possesion of the footy most games.

Notice that nexhip, scott, robinson, brenn-mckenzie only kick bags of goals against the weak teams whereas BC kicks bags no matter who he plays.

Have to agree with you in some respects Juddy about players such as Nexhip kicking goals against the weaker teams. Being on his team i know what he is like. Against the better teams he cops alot more attention then what he does against the worser sides for obvious reasons!
Here is his form so far this year in front of the sticks.

Murchison-7(Had six in the papers but actually got seven)
Nagambie-1
Merrigum-8
Undera-5(Had four in the papers but actually got five)
Tally-4
Ardmona-0

Reading these statistics he has kicked 25 goals.
Have played three weak teams(19 goals) and three strong teams(6 goals).
Read into it what you like but these stats suggest he struggles against the better sides.

sharpshoota
6 Jun 2007, 13:22
Just wondering what peoples decision would be if both your seniors and thirds made the granny and you were good enough to play seniors on that day but was also the captain of the thirds side that was in the granny! What would your decision be, play Thirds or Seniors? Why?

Gissa
6 Jun 2007, 15:20
I would play 3rds, you'll get your chance to play seniors in years to come plus its your last chance to play with your junior mates.
Anyway just thought i'd add that VT will have big Gus Macdonald back this week, adding height and experience. is doyle back in the VT thirds?

Daffy Smith
6 Jun 2007, 17:45
do you honestly think lancaster are finals contenders?

carlton_86
6 Jun 2007, 18:21
I would play 3rds, you'll get your chance to play seniors in years to come plus its your last chance to play with your junior mates.
Anyway just thought i'd add that VT will have big Gus Macdonald back this week, adding height and experience. is doyle back in the VT thirds?
Yeah Doyle played thirds last week against nagz

corks
6 Jun 2007, 19:14

sorry oxxy but i have played both in the same conditions and nagambie are a class above. taller and quicker.

hank1
6 Jun 2007, 20:37
[QUOTE=Gissa;7757492]I would play 3rds, you'll get your chance to play seniors in years to come plus its your last chance to play with your junior mates. QUOTE]

You might not get a chance to play in a senior flag in years to come, 15yrs down the track and you lost that 3rds GF and the senior team won it and you find yourself in the position of not ever playing in a senior GF let alone a winning one, would your stance change then?

oxxy_01
6 Jun 2007, 20:45
do you honestly think lancaster are finals contenders?

i think lancaster would do more damage in finals than nagambie would... however in this competition, excluding murch n merrigum, anyone can beat anyone if they play their best footy which we are capable of.

Bonge69
6 Jun 2007, 20:51
i think lancaster would do more damage in finals than nagambie would... however in this competition, excluding murch n merrigum, anyone can beat anyone if they play their best footy which we are capable of.
Thats why its a gun league

oxxy_01
6 Jun 2007, 21:07
Thats why its a gun league

ha ha i dunno bout gun league, maybe competitive would be a more appropriate term.

acadex
6 Jun 2007, 21:35

how many did Brenton Campbell kick against stanhope?? Teams with more supply generally mean that the side has more avenues to goal as is the case with stanhope i see they have a number of players who have kicked a number of goals. also top teams generally target the top goal kicker and do everything in there power to stop the top goal scorer scoring. Watched nexhip against ardy and he seemed to do the team thing in creating space for the likes of allot and robinson and other stanhope forwards, whilst taking the key forward out of the game! wouldn't take alot of notice of the leading goal scoring table