View Full Version : KDFL U/18's

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

big tony
15th December 2006, 16:40
hey i was just wondering how strong the KDFL thirds actually was.
teams such as avenal and lancy, would they challenge teams lower in the GVFL ladder?

On The Money
16th December 2006, 08:01
teams such as avenal and lancy, would they challenge teams lower in the GVFL ladder?

Always only a guessing game but I would reckon it may only be the bottom 1 or 2 that they could give a good run.
Going back mid 90's Stanhope was a top side in the KDL and they played Tatura who finished 3rd bottom and Stanhope beat them by a point.

big tony
16th December 2006, 09:02
i saw a both avenal and lancaster play and they seemed to be very good sides.
what will the strength of the kdfl be like this year

On The Money
16th December 2006, 09:28
I haven't seen much of the 3rds comp the last couple of years and generally the top sides play some pretty sharp footy but the reality is at Lancaster a fair slice of their players are there because they havent won a regular spot at Kyabram.

fuzzyswan
17th December 2006, 13:18

i saw a fair bit of avenel u18s this year while the only gv u18 side i saw much of was seymour, who finishes 6th. in my opinion it would be a very good game that could go either way, but seymour would probably win by a goal or two. so from that i would say that avenel would have been about 7th or 8th last year in the gv u18s. The best half dozen players at avenel would have been as good as seymours best half dozen, but the worst half dozen at seymour would have been much better than avenels, so there is alot more depth in the gv u18 clubs.

big tony
17th December 2006, 16:59
one player i saw a few times from avenal, tom stevens, absolute gun!

nogood99
17th December 2006, 20:09
one player i saw a few times from avenal, tom stevens, absolute gun!
yeh tommys playin at naggas next season they should have a strong thirds side as will avenal again and lancy they are the usual 3 top sides

roberts-thompson
1st January 2007, 20:31
i saw a fair bit of avenel u18s this year while the only gv u18 side i saw much of was seymour, who finishes 6th. in my opinion it would be a very good game that could go either way, but seymour would probably win by a goal or two. so from that i would say that avenel would have been about 7th or 8th last year in the gv u18s. The best half dozen players at avenel would have been as good as seymours best half dozen, but the worst half dozen at seymour would have been much better than avenels, so there is alot more depth in the gv u18 clubs.

fairly big call there i reckon fuzzy. avenal wouldnt stand a chance against seymours strongest side, they couldnt get within 15 goals.. they have a few good players in canters, stevens, tingay thats all i can remember off the top of my head but no competition with players like hesse, dundon, clifton, green, kliempt etc...

it would be a good game them vs the likes of shepp swans, euroa, shepp united.. i dont think avenal carry the talent of these sides with the players they had this year like hebbard, barolli from the swans, cunningham, horsburgh, ivill from euroa, daniels or rendina from united just to name a couple from each team.. but im not saying a few individuals make a team its just as well as all the others i dont think a team like avenal could tie them down

big tony
13th January 2007, 22:33
the shi* thing with all junior footy is that the top 3-4 sides are awsome then the bottom 3-4 are absolutly shi*house.
we have our lancaster, avenal n nagambie at the top the our murchs our VT's and its just an imbarrassing site watching the top vs bottom play a game of footy.
is there anything we can do to evn out the league?

roberts-thompson
15th January 2007, 13:00
the shi* thing with all junior footy is that the top 3-4 sides are awsome then the bottom 3-4 are absolutly shi*house.
we have our lancaster, avenal n nagambie at the top the our murchs our VT's and its just an imbarrassing site watching the top vs bottom play a game of footy.

yeah big tony i see what you mean but thats the thing with footy.. its always been like that.. i remember when violet town were strong as an ox wen they had players like chris anderson, sean horsburgh, pat horsburgh, scott woolcock n a heap of others, i think they made the grand final.. now they are very weak but what goes around comes around. all these towns are similary sized so it will even out in the end... the weaker clubs just have to keep trying harder, getting people to train more n putting in more work

fuzzyswan
15th January 2007, 14:46
fairly big call there i reckon fuzzy. avenal wouldnt stand a chance against seymours strongest side, they couldnt get within 15 goals.. they have a few good players in canters, stevens, tingay thats all i can remember off the top of my head but no competition with players like hesse, dundon, clifton, green, kliempt etc...

it would be a good game them vs the likes of shepp swans, euroa, shepp united.. i dont think avenal carry the talent of these sides with the players they had this year like hebbard, barolli from the swans, cunningham, horsburgh, ivill from euroa, daniels or rendina from united just to name a couple from each team.. but im not saying a few individuals make a team its just as well as all the others i dont think a team like avenal could tie them down

fair enough mate, u're entitled to ur opinion as much as the next bloke. just out of interest though, did u see avenel thirds play last year? whilst i am prepared to concede that clifton would be ahead of anything of what avenel have and kliempt seems to be a very good player, the rest of the seymour blokes u named would certainly not be out of the avenel guys' league. keeping in mind, avenel thirds had 9 players with senior football experince last year

big tony
16th January 2007, 09:30
yeah big tony i see what you mean but thats the thing with footy.. its always been like that.. i remember when violet town were strong as an ox wen they had players like chris anderson, sean horsburgh, pat horsburgh, scott woolcock n a heap of others, i think they made the grand final.. now they are very weak but what goes around comes around. all these towns are similary sized so it will even out in the end... the weaker clubs just have to keep trying harder, getting people to train more n putting in more work

yer they did make the finals, not sure about the grand final, but that was only 4 years ago and look at VT today :thumbsd:

sparra
16th January 2007, 14:26

The only thing I can see to even it out a bit more Big Tony would be to lower the age group to U17's, then it might lessen the chance of 18 year olds playing against average ability 15 and 16 yr olds

roberts-thompson
17th January 2007, 22:35
fair enough mate, u're entitled to ur opinion as much as the next bloke. just out of interest though, did u see avenel thirds play last year? whilst i am prepared to concede that clifton would be ahead of anything of what avenel have and kliempt seems to be a very good player, the rest of the seymour blokes u named would certainly not be out of the avenel guys' league. keeping in mind, avenel thirds had 9 players with senior football experince last year

no honestly didnt but heard reports and also played against a fair whack of those boys.. scott canters is a gun, tingay great backmen, everyone tells me tom stevens is a gun but cant remember him. but not being able to man up those blokes is gona lose you a game by 10 goals, also they had i think dont quote me but was it scott mckenzie played full back in interleague maybe and was on the verge of senior selection last year i heard... obviously you hadnt heard of the other players i threw up they all play or have played bushrangers not to say bushrangers are always right with their selection i believe they are wrong so many times but all those players deserve to be there.

roberts-thompson
17th January 2007, 22:39
yer they did make the finals, not sure about the grand final, but that was only 4 years ago and look at VT today :thumbsd:

yeah well thats the way the cookie crumbles.. small towns with not many kids cant be world beaters n havent you noticed a trend with all football... not so long ago tatura and rochy were winning flags in the gv now look where they are... in 2000 longwood would have nearly beaten euroa and 2 years ago they only won a couple games... you cant stay up the top forever you d#ck head

TuskenRaider
18th January 2007, 10:15
yeah well thats the way the cookie crumbles.. small towns with not many kids cant be world beaters n havent you noticed a trend with all football... not so long ago tatura and rochy were winning flags in the gv now look where they are... in 2000 longwood would have nearly beaten euroa and 2 years ago they only won a couple games... you cant stay up the top forever you d#ck head

I can see where you're coming from but I'll have to pull you up here as you need to do some more research. In 2000 Euroa made the preliminary final after finishing 3rd on the ladder. If you call getting beaten by 35 goals getting close then I suppose Longwood could nearly have nearly beaten Euroa in 2000.

King Kieran
18th January 2007, 17:26
Rushy has had one of the most consistent 3rds sides going around the last few years, know they have been the bridesmaid a few times. They also had the biggest gun of them all, andrew clarke, hes the best 3rds player the comp has seen in awhile!

big tony
18th January 2007, 20:07

get your facts right first you f***head!! :D

fuzzyswan
18th January 2007, 20:39
no honestly didnt but heard reports and also played against a fair whack of those boys.. scott canters is a gun, tingay great backmen, everyone tells me tom stevens is a gun but cant remember him. but not being able to man up those blokes is gona lose you a game by 10 goals, also they had i think dont quote me but was it scott mckenzie played full back in interleague maybe and was on the verge of senior selection last year i heard... obviously you hadnt heard of the other players i threw up they all play or have played bushrangers not to say bushrangers are always right with their selection i believe they are wrong so many times but all those players deserve to be there.

mate, of those other players u mentioned, andrew green is from avenel and regularly trains with the thirds, kliemt is from nagambie, played tahbilk beforehand, dundon and hesse are ex-st mary's boys who are at assumption. i know these boys and what they are capable. they have not all played bushrangers, they may have been nominated to try out for bushrangers, but i can guarnatee u that they have not all played bushrangers, in fact i dont think any of them have played a game for bushrangers. jamie marsh, fred marke and chris chee have all been invited to try out for bushrangers or cannons at some stage. and no offence to scooty mackenzie, but he's got abit of work to do before taking joffa anderson's or robbie douglas's spot in seniors. u're clearly just rattling off a couple of names u remember from juniors, and don't really know much about avenel thirds at all, and so can't make a comparison between the two sides.

p.s. tingay didnt play on the backline all year

roberts-thompson
18th January 2007, 22:48
mate, of those other players u mentioned, andrew green is from avenel and regularly trains with the thirds, kliemt is from nagambie, played tahbilk beforehand, dundon and hesse are ex-st mary's boys who are at assumption. i know these boys and what they are capable. they have not all played bushrangers, they may have been nominated to try out for bushrangers, but i can guarnatee u that they have not all played bushrangers, in fact i dont think any of them have played a game for bushrangers. jamie marsh, fred marke and chris chee have all been invited to try out for bushrangers or cannons at some stage. and no offence to scooty mackenzie, but he's got abit of work to do before taking joffa anderson's or robbie douglas's spot in seniors. u're clearly just rattling off a couple of names u remember from juniors, and don't really know much about avenel thirds at all, and so can't make a comparison between the two sides.

p.s. tingay didnt play on the backline all year

yeah i knew none of the seymour boys had played bushies i was referring to the other players i spoke of... yeah ******** didnt realise euroa were up there in 2000, but i was just proving how strong longwood were that year... well i remember tingay playing in the backline in under 15s that was what i was referring too... anyway getting back to the original arguement i dont believe avenal would get near many gv sides, my opinion.. take it or leave it, obviously you'l leave it cos you dont agree :thumbsu:

no need for everyone to get their knickers in a knot either.. its just convo.

thanks raider for pointing out my mistake as well

and also on scott mckenzie.. there was a game where euroa held seymour scoreless until half time n they were very very short, im surprised a thirds boy didnt get the call up then

big tony
19th January 2007, 12:45
so how are your boys looking this year fuzzy

fuzzyswan
21st January 2007, 14:41
so how are your boys looking this year fuzzy

good question tony... hard to say as thirds haven't officially began training yet though quite a few have been training with the seniors. obviously, it all depends on who they recruit and who plays where, but from last years premreship side i can tell you that chris chee, john o'dwyer, chris tingay, tom stevens, fred marke, brett williams, dj saunders and duncan lowis are all still elligible, among others, so i would still expect them to be thereabouts again this year. so to answer ur question, i don't really know :D

how bout ur boys?

big tony
21st January 2007, 16:17
good question tony... hard to say as thirds haven't officially began training yet though quite a few have been training with the seniors. obviously, it all depends on who they recruit and who plays where, but from last years premreship side i can tell you that chris chee, john o'dwyer, chris tingay, tom stevens, fred marke, brett williams, dj saunders and duncan lowis are all still elligible, among others, so i would still expect them to be thereabouts again this year. so to answer ur question, i don't really know :D

how bout ur boys?

well still wont have the strength to compete with the bigger sides but some good up and coming footballers so should be competitive.
only lose 1 player ( big jakey wilkins) and recruted a few players from benalla so we will have more depth than last season

roberts-thompson
21st January 2007, 20:09
well still wont have the strength to compete with the bigger sides but some good up and coming footballers so should be competitive.
only lose 1 player ( big jakey wilkins) and recruted a few players from benalla so we will have more depth than last season

yous will be sh#t, you have lost angus ford, tyson doyle, cam burden,brad west and steven threlfall... you would wanna get alot of players from benalla otherwise i dont think you boys will get a team

big tony
22nd January 2007, 07:34
yous will be sh#t, you have lost angus ford, tyson doyle, cam burden,brad west and steven threlfall... you would wanna get alot of players from benalla otherwise i dont think you boys will get a team

and where might these boys be heading

roberts-thompson
22nd January 2007, 19:45
and where might these boys be heading

tyson, angus n westy are going to euroa, cam is going to nerandera i dont think thats how you spell it and stevo isnt playing next year due to study... so pretty much there goes your list n your good players cos i spose jack mcpherson will go play at euroa now cos of these boys as well as harry sleigh also from grammar playing there

dennis combrink
23rd January 2007, 11:04
tyson, angus n westy are going to euroa, cam is going to nerandera i dont think thats how you spell it and stevo isnt playing next year due to study... so pretty much there goes your list n your good players cos i spose jack mcpherson will go play at euroa now cos of these boys as well as harry sleigh also from grammar playing there

even if these boys are to leave, theres a thing called "recruiting" mate and the younger boys will build up and be 100% better footballers, VT still are not tipped to even make finaks but they have a dip, and i think they will be a lot better off this year with a completely new coaching panel consisting of gary abley, john and mick gerada.

big tony
24th January 2007, 10:58
brad gleeson to nagaz

roberts-thompson
24th January 2007, 21:10
even if these boys are to leave, theres a thing called "recruiting" mate and the younger boys will build up and be 100% better footballers, VT still are not tipped to even make finaks but they have a dip, and i think they will be a lot better off this year with a completely new coaching panel consisting of gary abley, john and mick gerada.

yeah fair enough but they are the bulk of the older age players but yes i shouldnt have said that to be spiteful, i would really like to see violet town have a good year in all categories, no doubt they will in seniors anyway... reports of what i've heard about young nick abley sounds as if hes going to be the one leading the team.. can someone tell me a bit more about him?

lol and love the name, be good to see you out on the park dennis, you should get shane whitelaw on the train as well im sure you'd become great buddies

bigTonys_son
28th January 2007, 17:27
brad gleeson to nagaz

lots of wraps on this young kid will play a key position and will push for senior selection

Doona2
28th January 2007, 19:07
brad gleeson to nagaz

Must say I like the look of the kid, comes from very very talented sporting stock. Know his dad and the family very well and do think he will make a footballer :thumbsu: How old would young Brad be 15???

Superfly
28th January 2007, 21:03
Apparently young Brenton Campbell son of Gringo is off to Undera this year, bringing some of his Mooroopna teammates with him. This is surely a good sign for the lions as they have struggled in the last few years at 3rds level. I've heard reports that he is a very handy young forward. Anyone seen him play? How do you think he will go this year?

bigTonys_son
28th January 2007, 21:07
Must say I like the look of the kid, comes from very very talented sporting stock. Know his dad and the family very well and do think he will make a footballer :thumbsu: How old would young Brad be 15???

yeah brad is 15

King Kieran
28th January 2007, 21:08
I think hes 16 this year doona. Nagambie should be ok this year, you would know Haydn is coaching the 3rd, think he will be good for the kids and i think Brad will love playing for his old man, just a pity they aint doin it around Ironbark Stadium.

smoothgroova
29th January 2007, 07:10

They may have had senior experince at avenal because avenal 1st were pathetic. They wouldnt have even got a game with seymore 2's. There is a big standard difference between GVL 3rds and KDL 3rds. I have experienced both

Doona2
29th January 2007, 09:28
I think hes 16 this year doona. Nagambie should be ok this year, you would know Haydn is coaching the 3rd, think he will be good for the kids and i think Brad will love playing for his old man, just a pity they aint doin it around Ironbark Stadium.

Yeah was aware of that, Im sure that Brad would one day like to represent the Tiges like many of the clan have over the years.

fuzzyswan
29th January 2007, 15:03
They may have had senior experince at avenal because avenal 1st were pathetic. They wouldnt have even got a game with seymore 2's. There is a big standard difference between GVL 3rds and KDL 3rds. I have experienced both

well, certainly not all 9 but i believe 2 or 3 would have. seymour twos were an exceptional side this year, capable of beating some senior GV sides i would imagine. i doubt more than one or two seymour thirds would have gotten a game for seymour twos, although i could be proven wrong as i know during the year seymour had an incredible amount of injury's. i am not disputing that there is a big difference between KD and GV thirds, which particularly evident the lower sides of each comp. i did not saying avenle would have beaten seymour 3rds either. what im saying is that it would have been a competitive match but seymour probably would have won by a couple of goals. i do believe that they would have beaten some of the lower GV sides though, but thats my opinion.

big tony
29th January 2007, 19:45
are the lancaster players the ones that don't make the kyabram (GV) team?

roberts-thompson
3rd February 2007, 09:03
Yeah was aware of that, Im sure that Brad would one day like to represent the Tiges like many of the clan have over the years.

i seem to bring bad news to this thread all the time...
brad will be playing with the euroa boys this year. talked to him last night at a party n he said his old mans trying to get him but his best mates are all playing at euroa so thats where he'll be. i dont think you can talk a bloke out of playing with his best mates just because his dad is coaching.

scottwestjr
9th February 2007, 18:45
my tip this year is stanhope young patto will be killing it some others like alex o'reilly, john taylor, sammy dearing and ben nexip will have a good year 2

big tony
9th February 2007, 19:38
last seasons ladder:

Avenel 72
Lancaster 68
Nagambie 64
Yea 56
Rushworth 56
Stanhope 52
Girgarre 52
Merrigum 36
Ardmona 32
Violet Town 24
Undera 20
Tallygaroopna 20
Murchison 20

who will be the big movers of 07'

JD No7
10th February 2007, 10:40
last seasons ladder:

Avenel 72
Lancaster 68
Nagambie 64
Yea 56
Rushworth 56
Stanhope 52
Girgarre 52
Merrigum 36
Ardmona 32
Violet Town 24
Undera 20
Tallygaroopna 20
Murchison 20

who will be the big movers of 07'

Must agree that Stanhope will move up this year Billy C seems Quietly confident that his second year in charge will bring a lot more success then last.

JD No7
10th February 2007, 10:47
my tip this year is stanhope young patto will be killing it some others like alex o'reilly, john taylor, sammy dearing and ben nexip will have a good year 2

Two maybe three of those will get a fair run in the seniors this year if they can get some depth in the thirds then it should be a good year for them with some experiance coming in and out.

cosby
13th February 2007, 15:41
are the lancaster players the ones that don't make the kyabram (GV) team?
Sometimes, but not necessarily.
Alot of lanky's kids come through the under 16's in at Ky.
Kyabram draws kids from a large area and not all can play at GV level, but a fair few choose not to as well and will go out to Gig, Stanhope, Merrigum and Lancaster with thier schoolmates rather than even try their hand in at Ky.

subtle hustle
14th February 2007, 09:14
That's a load of crap cosby.
Lancaster have always gone out of their way to get blokes and kids who aren't good enough for ky. You should know this.

smoothgroova
14th February 2007, 09:32
Lancaster have always gone out of their way to get blokes and kids who aren't good enough for ky. You should know this.

Well if they aren't good enough for Ky what is stopping them going out to Lancaster or lancaster poaching them?????

cosby
14th February 2007, 15:27
You've got a bee in your bonnet about something Subtle, perhaps you should spill it.
Just quickly and in general lancaster and probably a number of other KDL clubs that surround Kyabram are three times the 'club' that Kyabram are. It's a factor that keeps coming back to bite them and a reason some people like myself realise when they go elsewhere that they aren't missing much.
Lancaster aren't the only club that get former Ky players, and lets face it there are alot of them.

SOLMAN86
15th February 2007, 11:37
Sitting down here at Seymour and reading the Lancaster talk it does not suprise me to see a bit of Ky-Lancy rivilary.

BuyWhat about the good stories up that neck of the woods.

Down here we seem to argue about KD thirds not being able to get near GV teams etc.

GV thirds eats us for Breakfast

But one thing I noticed with your system which was vey good was the 15 - 16 year old KD guns going to Merrigum Lancaster GIrgarre etc at a young age b4 switching to Kyabram.

To me it serves as an Apprenticeship to the GV thirds when the boys get to 17 18 ish

Fine exmples I can still think of are

Adam Homer, Josh Pell, Francis Caldow(Tatura) Kyle Wheeler Brett Scarcella & im sure there are more.

It does hurt the KD boys when they move on but S.H.I.T if you are good enough for GV you must go there.

I think if you are playing KD1s at a half decent club when you are 16ish you must make the move to a GV 3rds club the next season

SOLMAN86
15th February 2007, 11:42
well, certainly not all 9 but i believe 2 or 3 would have. seymour twos were an exceptional side this year, capable of beating some senior GV sides i would imagine. i doubt more than one or two seymour thirds would have gotten a game for seymour twos, although i could be proven wrong as i know during the year seymour had an incredible amount of injury's. i am not disputing that there is a big difference between KD and GV thirds, which particularly evident the lower sides of each comp. i did not saying avenle would have beaten seymour 3rds either. what im saying is that it would have been a competitive match but seymour probably would have won by a couple of goals. i do believe that they would have beaten some of the lower GV sides though, but thats my opinion.

Mate the Avenel 3rds side would of nearly nailed Seymour last year.
BUT Your offspring and Tommy Stevens out of that side and I dont feel Avenel 3rds would of got Within KOOWEE

fuzzyswan
17th February 2007, 08:08
BUT Your offspring and Tommy Stevens out of that side and I dont feel Avenel 3rds would of got Within KOOWEE

christ sol, im not their father! :)
you're right, but if u took the captain and two vice's out of any side it'd leave a pretty big whole

big tony
18th February 2007, 16:06
from what i hear its going to be lee brenan to captain violet town

SOLMAN86
19th February 2007, 11:19
christ sol, im not their father! :)
you're right, but if u took the captain and two vice's out of any side it'd leave a pretty big whole

Sorrry mate LOL.
Family coulda been a better word

waddo #6
19th February 2007, 14:36

sol sol sol.. who are you kidding mate? your a top bloke and everyone knows that, but you must of been smoking some pretty strong hash at that time of posting to write that.. with our best side in, we would of destroyed the avenel 3rds.. our blokes off the bench could have nearly covered some of your midfield.. this is the best team of last year including ACK blokes and im afraid we would of beaten avenel by 10+ goals..

B:Josh Dundon Scott McKenzie Andrew Meloury
HB: Eamon Manixx Mick Dundon Ben Ure
C: Joel Brooks Ben Clifton Jason Cole
HF: Jac Smith-Williams Jack Hesse Grant Hateley
FF: Robbie Sidebottom Andrew Green Shannon O'Conner
FOLL:Cael McCarthy Ryan Kliemt Brent Le Cerf
INTER: Josh Watson Adam Lorraine Josh Gray Travis Muir

this full team would of matched just about any GV team.. and without only Hesse and Dundon, we came 12 odd points close to Shepp Bears.. leading all game cept last 5 mins..

cmon sol.. give me an Avenel 3rds team from 2006 to even close to that team.. we would rape the backside of em'..

fuzzyswan
19th February 2007, 15:15
sol sol sol.. who are you kidding mate? your a top bloke and everyone knows that, but you must of been smoking some pretty strong hash at that time of posting to write that.. with our best side in, we would of destroyed the avenel 3rds.. our blokes off the bench could have nearly covered some of your midfield.. this is the best team of last year including ACK blokes and im afraid we would of beaten avenel by 10+ goals..

this full team would of matched just about any GV team.. and without only Hesse and Dundon, we came 12 odd points close to Shepp Bears.. leading all game cept last 5 mins..

cmon sol.. give me an Avenel 3rds team from 2006 to even close to that team.. we would rape the backside of em'..

ill have a stab at it waddo..... i think avenel thirds strongest side last year would have been as follows (keeping in mind kd plays 16 on the field):

FB:John O'Dwyer Duncan Lowis Damien MaGuire
HB:Jackson Wheeler Nic O'Connor Jamie Marsh
C: Chris Tingay
HF:Chris Chee Emmett O'Connor Dennis Saunders
FF:Tommy Stevens Fred Marke Brett Williams
Foll: Scotty Kanters Joe O'Connor Sam Martin
INT: Kenny Mankey Craig Coad Nick Hart Jack Fitzgibbon

Seymour side obviously has alot more depth, and would probably win. Would be interested to know tho waddo which of ur interchange bench would come into the midfield for avenel and who you would take out

SOLMAN86
19th February 2007, 15:16

Mate. That is a pretty good looking side. That 3rds side Avenel had was pretty impressive though mate even if it was only KDFL u18s.

To say you would rape the Arse of em though.
Think they would go closer than you think

Superfly
19th February 2007, 15:21
Seams like this thread is turning into an Avenel v Seymor battle (entertaining banter) with the occasional talk from Lancy or VT. Anyone from the other teams got some info on how they are shaping up for 2007. Any chance the cellar dwellers of last year will be more successfull this year?

big tony
21st February 2007, 08:30
Seams like this thread is turning into an Avenel v Seymor battle (entertaining banter) with the occasional talk from Lancy or VT. Anyone from the other teams got some info on how they are shaping up for 2007. Any chance the cellar dwellers of last year will be more successfull this year?

well you start a topic superfly

barto #22
22nd February 2007, 08:06

you have to remember though mate that seniors in the KD is alot different to the GVFL seniors Euroa had 4 boys to play in the seniors out of the thrids very very good players all made it close or if not in the bushys and shepp had Rendener who killed it in the shepp united seniors, you need to look at the level of standards in the league, im sure none of those players that have been listed in Avenel 3rds would not get a game in GF seniors, gf has ex AFL players different standards there mate,??? what do you think ??? :thumbsu: :

iwantanotherflag
22nd February 2007, 08:27

Perhaps if the Goulburn Campaspe Junior League was scrapped and 4ths introduced into the KDFL you would see them as Lancaster 4ths who then go into Ky for a try at better footy, not the kids who start at Ky (cos it is the only place they can play) and move out to Lancaster/Merrigum/Gig etc.

Its a bit like saying that all kids who play at Shepparton East or Congupna are not good enough for united/swans or bears. It is simply not the case. Also by the MFL & PDFL having under 17's it gives those kids who want to have another year of 3rds a chance to go to GV or stay at 'home' and play 1s or 2s.

To say they aren't good enough for Ky is a bit harsh!

Albo's opinion
23rd February 2007, 13:40
I have to say that just because someone is not playing Gv it doesn't mean that they arent good enough. When i played 3rds for avenel a few years ago seymour were terrible and getting pummelled by 100 pts every week and avenel won the flag. I am extremely confident that we would have beaten them if we had played. Not sure why but nobody wanted to go and play for seymour. the seymour boys still bragged about how they would flog us then. Not saying last year it would of happened, just saying don't underestimate someone because they are from a "minor" league.

iwantanotherflag
23rd February 2007, 13:53
I would think that good under 18's teams from minor leagues would also match the teams in the GV. We have under 17's so its hard to say.

GV kids think their ********** dont stink. But most of them end up playing district ressies anyhow.

cosby
23rd February 2007, 15:04
Andrew Gill played thirds at Lancaster, played in a senior premiership, went into Ky, won a senior best and fairest and now plays VFL for the Coburg Tigers.
Some kids just chose to start elsewhere and play with their mates.

big tony
25th February 2007, 09:03
will murchison have a team this year?

SOLMAN86
26th February 2007, 11:42
I have to say that just because someone is not playing Gv it doesn't mean that they arent good enough. When i played 3rds for avenel a few years ago seymour were terrible and getting pummelled by 100 pts every week and avenel won the flag. I am extremely confident that we would have beaten them if we had played. Not sure why but nobody wanted to go and play for seymour. the seymour boys still bragged about how they would flog us then. Not saying last year it would of happened, just saying don't underestimate someone because they are from a "minor" league.

That is dead right buddy.
Hit the nail on the head

waddo #6
26th February 2007, 15:02
Mate. That is a pretty good looking side. That 3rds side Avenel had was pretty impressive though mate even if it was only KDFL u18s.

To say you would rape the Arse of em though.
Think they would go closer than you think

yeah, its not too bad.. but the standard of KD to GV is another level up..

[quote=fuzzyswan; ill have a stab at it waddo..... i think avenel thirds strongest side last year would have been as follows (keeping in mind kd plays 16 on the field):

Seymour side obviously has alot more depth, and would probably win. Would be interested to know tho waddo which of ur interchange bench would come into the midfield for avenel and who you would take out =quote]

not a bad team fuzz.. and i doubt any of our interchange could cover your midfield ( i could probably take Sammy Martins spot ) but apart from that, chee, wheels, 3 o'conner boys, marshy and kanters could slide into our side possibly.. not a guaranteed on the field spot, but not far off.. i do know that avenel 3rds will be picking up s h i t loads of blokes from seymour this year.. will that be a stab at 4 flags in a row..? i might possibly catch the bus up the hume for a look sometime next week.. what do ya reckon? :thumbsu:

souts
26th February 2007, 19:14
I would think that good under 18's teams from minor leagues would also match the teams in the GV. We have under 17's so its hard to say.

GV kids think their ********** dont stink. But most of them end up playing district ressies anyhow.

None of the KDL clubs thirds side would have beaten a GV side the football is different in the kdl people dont have men they look after in the gv all sides do

Albo's opinion
27th February 2007, 07:29
yeah, its not too bad.. but the standard of KD to GV is another level up..

[quote=fuzzyswan; ill have a stab at it waddo..... i think avenel thirds strongest side last year would have been as follows (keeping in mind kd plays 16 on the field):

Seymour side obviously has alot more depth, and would probably win. Would be interested to know tho waddo which of ur interchange bench would come into the midfield for avenel and who you would take out =quote]

not a bad team fuzz.. and i doubt any of our interchange could cover your midfield ( i could probably take Sammy Martins spot ) but apart from that, chee, wheels, 3 o'conner boys, marshy and kanters could slide into our side possibly.. not a guaranteed on the field spot, but not far off.. i do know that avenel 3rds will be picking up s h i t loads of blokes from seymour this year.. will that be a stab at 4 flags in a row..? i might possibly catch the bus up the hume for a look sometime next week.. what do ya reckon? :thumbsu:
Havent seen you play mate but thats a big call. Sammy martin tore it up in the seniors a couple of times last year and looks a player.
If what the GV boys say is true then these seymour boys will be too good for kdl 3's and will probably play seniors right? will look forward to watching them go round in avenel gear either way;)

waddo #6
27th February 2007, 14:26
[quote=waddo #6;6816528]yeah, its not too bad.. but the standard of KD to GV is another level up..

Havent seen you play mate but thats a big call. Sammy martin tore it up in the seniors a couple of times last year and looks a player.
If what the GV boys say is true then these seymour boys will be too good for kdl 3's and will probably play seniors right? will look forward to watching them go round in avenel gear either way;)

did he really? ive seen him play a few times and he did f**k all!! sat on a bench half the game.. thats why i was so surprised to see his name in the guts..

i think the blokes that are coming to you will comfortably slot into the 3's.. but would struggle in the 1's or 2's, as they never got a go in a higher level ( 1's and 2's ) at seymour..

i think i might be heading up to avenel on monday to have a look anyway.. i like the GV.. and ive tagged alot of freaks ( eg ryan butler, brett mahoney ( league b + f ) and so on ) but GV is too serious for my likings.. i much prefer playing with my better mates ( scotty kanters robbie sidebottom etc ) and having a couple of quiet ones after the game..

SOLMAN86
27th February 2007, 15:13

Mate that 3rds side yous had in 2000 wouldda been the best 3rds side I can remember at Avenel. Yourself Jed Patty that Cleary fella Tom Bullen who wouldda beat yas;)

Albo's opinion
28th February 2007, 17:47
Mate that 3rds side yous had in 2000 wouldda been the best 3rds side I can remember at Avenel. Yourself Jed Patty that Cleary fella Tom Bullen who wouldda beat yas;)
Stanhope managed... twice:o

big tony
5th March 2007, 17:50
anyone want to have a crack at what the top 5 shall look like for 07??

avenal
stanhope
lancaster
nagambie
gigarre

big tony
5th March 2007, 17:50
i've been told rushy have lost numerous players from last years list!

Bonge69
5th March 2007, 18:52
Violet town has had little talk about them this year and with the extra depth of the local region i have tipped them as the big movers of this season and i have heard some talk about girgarre

Bonge69
5th March 2007, 19:03
Also young gun nick abley (Yes son of the great Gary "Boyo" Abley) has been looking very solid out on the training track my sources tell me and is cruising through bushrangers selections he will bring a lot back to the club and put vt's thirds in finals contention:thumbsu:

JD No7
5th March 2007, 19:22
Been told by many Stanhope senior players that when the Under 18 boys hit the track they made them look small. Look out if it stays dry. Numbers are meant to be really good as well.

big tony
6th March 2007, 11:53
Been told by many Stanhope senior players that when the Under 18 boys hit the track they made them look small. Look out if it stays dry. Numbers are meant to be really good as well.

yer i've heard that stanhope have only lost 2 players from there side last season, looking good so fasr for the lions

Gissa
7th March 2007, 10:47
Any praccy matches on for the weekend. i know Vt are playing the all-blacks at benalla

FullForward
8th March 2007, 20:02
I go to school with avenals John O'Dwyer and his football has really improved over the last couple of seasons and he has had a big pre season and i think he is going to have a big season on the ball for avenal. John will be up there with the top vote getters in the league B&F

fuzzyswan
8th March 2007, 20:03
avenel look set to be fairly strong again this year boys, with a couple of blokes from seymour's u18 side last year signing up (robbie sidebottom, chris ogilvie and andrew meloury signing up so far with the possibility of a coupe more). good to hear positive things about gigarre, been a long time since they've been a dominate side. from what ive heard, both nagambie and rushworth seem to have lost quite a bit

FullForward
8th March 2007, 20:15
avenel look set to be fairly strong again this year boys, with a couple of blokes from seymour's u18 side last year signing up (robbie sidebottom, chris ogilvie and andrew meloury signing up so far with the possibility of a coupe more). good to hear positive things about gigarre, been a long time since they've been a dominate side. from what ive heard, both nagambie and rushworth seem to have lost quite a bit

From what i hear from mates at school Nagambie have only had 13 players at training. I also heard that Josh Comi might be heading off to Seymour to play.

dennis combrink
9th March 2007, 13:40
i was just wont to no if Andrew clarke is play's for Rushworth this year in the 3rds or is he to old?

dennis combrink
9th March 2007, 13:45
CHRISTOPHER TINGAY better watch out this year when he play's vt :D

SOLMAN86
9th March 2007, 15:47
CHRISTOPHER TINGAY better watch out this year when he play's vt :D

Na if they know how accurate that man is with a bullet they will leave him alone:thumbsu:

Hands Open
9th March 2007, 16:53
Hows merrigum thirds looking?

Bonge69
9th March 2007, 18:02
VT has just got the pleasing news that Tyson Doyle has been cleared to euroa. The injury prone and very nuggety skills of his will be shown up when he tries to prove his worth in the GVFL

P.S Merrigum thirds are really struggling at the moment

Wayde Petersen
9th March 2007, 22:35
will murchison have a team this year?

Yes, we've appointed a coaching panel of three people (Peter Milne, Justin Hughes & Luke Gale), and they have already got a few players from Tatura & other places, and although we don't quite have the numbers of say a Stanhope or an Avenel, but I can tell you that numbers wise, we are in much better shape than quite a few teams going around (Tally, Ardmona, Merrigum, etc).

bigTonys_son
10th March 2007, 21:08
Also young gun nick abley (Yes son of the great Gary "Boyo" Abley) has been looking very solid out on the training track my sources tell me and is cruising through bushrangers selections he will bring a lot back to the club and put vt's thirds in finals contention:thumbsu:

it takes more than one player and voliet town will need 10 of him to have any chance they have no depth saying a fifteen year old will get them finals contention ... and with no anthony Borg for the year the boys up there are f""" good luck to them

corks
11th March 2007, 20:05
hey wit vt pickin heaps from benalla i think it just might be finals time for the boys

14th Tiger
11th March 2007, 20:25
It will be hard for the VT lads to do without Tyson, he provides lots of runs thru the guts and a very tough opponent also...his skills may not be as good as a Daniel Belsten, but he is very competitive and good luck to him in the GV.

big tony
11th March 2007, 22:08
It will be hard for the VT lads to do without Tyson, he provides lots of runs thru the guts and a very tough opponent also...his skills may not be as good as a Daniel Belsten, but he is very competitive and good luck to him in the GV.

i think vt's ins will cover there outs very comfortabley
INS:
nick abley (goulburn murray u/15 rep)
tom mccorkell (leading goalkicker in BDJFL)
ryan harper (don't know much about but dominated match vs all blacks today)
will lovelace (stiffed for B&F in BDJFL, alistair jacka beating him)
sam gall (3 premierships as captain in a row)
mitch exton (played 5 games(due to injury) kicked 34 goals)
josh mellington (hot mum, hot sister)

Bonge69
11th March 2007, 22:22
INS:
nick abley (Bushies u/15)
tom mccorkell (leading goalkicker in BDJFL great sheepdog Hot mum dad drinks UDL's(bloody Mezza)
ryan harper (sister is a gun netballer A grade league B&F GVNL and happens to be a bit of a looker)
will lovelace (his sister is not a bad sort)
sam gall (The BADGER silky)
mitch exton (played 5 games(due to injury) kicked 34 goals GUN)
josh mellington (hot mum, hot sister and talented netballers Shazza And Sarah)

roberts-thompson
12th March 2007, 16:44
INS:

sh*t that sounds good for VT, will have to wait n see some results before i believe all this but good luck to the boys

VT#23
12th March 2007, 17:38
sh*t that sounds good for VT, will have to wait n see some results before i believe all this but good luck to the boys

Il be attending games earlier this yr partly because of the boys looking like doing ok, but yes mainly for these young fellas mums and sisters who are very handy which will help generate morale in the firsts and seconds

big tony
12th March 2007, 19:27
Il be attending games earlier this yr partly because of the boys looking like doing ok, but yes mainly for these young fellas mums and sisters who are very handy which will help generate morale in the firsts and seconds

well with the likes of mellington, mccorkell and harper you should be in for a good time VT #23

14th Tiger
12th March 2007, 19:30
INS:

Ok maybe VT can handle having no Doyle, especially with the reasons 4 Josh Mellington being in the squad!! ;)

jaxbac#13
12th March 2007, 19:32

you may also be getting there early for other different reasons 2 big fella

Gissa
13th March 2007, 14:09
I was very impressed with Farren Priest on Sunday in Benalla, the kid is a freak. will he be making any more apperances for violet town?

corks
13th March 2007, 14:37
i also watched him and found out that he will be play for benalla in the 3rds as well as 1s for benalla

14th Tiger
13th March 2007, 14:58
i think i might be heading up to avenel on monday to have a look anyway.. i like the GV.. and ive tagged alot of freaks ( eg ryan butler, brett mahoney ( league b + f ) and so on ) but GV is too serious for my likings.. i much prefer playing with my better mates ( scotty kanters robbie sidebottom etc ) and having a couple of quiet ones after the game..

Waddo mate...cum down 2 yea n hav a game. Were givin u Belly so lets do a trade eh?? Ur guaranteed a place in the guts every week. Watcha rekon?? :D

dennis combrink
13th March 2007, 15:05
how dose this tom mccorkell go?? lot of stuff sed about him but can he play.... its not bdfl now mate it's KDFL :D