View Full Version : South Africa vs Australia - 2nd Test.... Official Thread

SeinDude
8 Mar 2002, 19:22
Mark Boucher won the toss and elected to bat.

South Africa are 3 for 70 (21 overs)

Jacques Kallis & Neil McKenzie are at the crease.

Wickets each to Gillespie, McGrath & Lee.

Go Aussies!! :)
SeinDude

SeinDude
8 Mar 2002, 19:26
YEAH!!! :):)

Just as I finish posting the 1st post, Warney bowls McKenzie...

South Africa: 4 for 70

SeinDude

Unwritten_Law
8 Mar 2002, 20:42
South Africa 5 for 81.

McGrath has just removed the dangerous Kallis.

JUBJUB
8 Mar 2002, 20:54
Another one bites the dust
6/92

SeinDude
8 Mar 2002, 22:31
TEA - DAY ONE

South Africa: 7 for 155

They are in big trouble as the pitch looks a pretty good one.

SeinDude

The Hippie
8 Mar 2002, 23:30
7/203. It's amazing they've reached 200. Hall has batted well, and Adams is..., well, christ knows how you would describe his technique, but he's still there. Mind you, not a lot of intelligent bowling going on either.

Santos L Helper
9 Mar 2002, 07:30
Originally posted by The Hippie
7/203. It's amazing they've reached 200. Hall has batted well, and Adams is..., well, christ knows how you would describe his technique, but he's still there. Mind you, not a lot of intelligent bowling going on either.

Brett Lee is a ****ing hack!! Again he decides to bowl as short as possible in an attempt to intimidate tail enders.
He's a joke.

BigKev
9 Mar 2002, 09:58
Originally posted by Santos L Helper

Brett Lee is a ****ing hack!! Again he decides to bowl as short as possible in an attempt to intimidate tail enders.
He's a joke.

I think that is a bit harsh Santos L Helper. He is now the fastest bowler and if he can intimidate a batsman at one end it surely helps the bowler at the other.

I am sure that if you have played cricket you would have experienced something similar at some stage.

He is definately not a hack, if this is the case then Thommo, Hughes & even Lillee should be branded a hack as well.

I DONT THINK SO!!!!!!!

SeinDude
9 Mar 2002, 10:28
STUMPS - DAY ONE

South Africa: 239 all out
Hall 70
McGrath (3 for 42) Gillespie (3 for 52) Lee (2 for 65) Warne (2 for 70)

Australia: 0 for 46 (8 overs)
Langer... 28 not out
Hayden.. 17 not out

At the end of the day, we are in a very commanding position in this test. The bowlers did the job on a pitch that looks to have plenty of runs, and although there was a mini fightback from Hall & Adams of South Africa, I doubt whether it will be enough to save them in this game.

SeinDude

Santos L Helper
9 Mar 2002, 10:47
Originally posted by BigKev

I think that is a bit harsh Santos L Helper. He is now the fastest bowler and if he can intimidate a batsman at one end it surely helps the bowler at the other.

I am sure that if you have played cricket you would have experienced something similar at some stage.

He is definately not a hack, if this is the case then Thommo, Hughes & even Lillee should be branded a hack as well.

I DONT THINK SO!!!!!!!

Big Kev, I have played cricket at State (under17) and District level as an opening bowler and feel that I have the experience and a bit of knowledge to make an informed opinion.
Now, my opinion is just that and your welcome to disagree all you like, but the last couple of times that he's tried to intimidate tail-enders, he's come away looking like a hack. Yes, he may be fast but he's not really helping the other bowlers because on flat tracks the batsmen are just playing him easily and Adams is no batsman.

Please never put Lee in the same class as Lillee and Thommo, and while your at it don't put Merv in that class either. Lillee and Thommo knew how to get tailenders out, Lee seems to have no idea about it.
I think Lee is a hack.

hilly
9 Mar 2002, 10:51
Originally posted by Santos L Helper

He's a joke.

The worst player in the 11 imo

I suppose it helps if you're fast and from NSW though :rolleyes:

BT
9 Mar 2002, 11:12
Interesting one Lee, before his injury I thought he was very exciting. However since he's not been that great (lucky to be there I reckon, Where's Bicho or Flemmo!) He's still quick but rather limited (with time he'll learn more trickery) he is expensive too. maybe the batsmen have found him out? I'm not sure.

Australia had 'em on their knees before the Adams(still can't belive he's batting at 9!)/Hall partnership. But until it was broken S.A. had the aussies very frustrated.

THe fact that Australia reached 0/46 from only 8 overs by stumps tilted things well and truly our way, had Hayden & Langer blocked it out things may have been different. Prettorious already has had the difference between Provincial & Test cricket firmly pointed out to him. Hayden & Langer have started bullying the S.A. attack & will have them doubting themselves.

RoosLuver
9 Mar 2002, 20:58
whos batting, whats the score??

Slax
9 Mar 2002, 21:22

Lille and Thomo used the proven method of bowling to tailenders, quick and at the stumps. They're generally not good enough to stop them.

Lee is a hack and should be dropped all he's got is pace and he'll be gone in 3 years when his back goes again.

Hack, Hack, Hack.

The Hippie
9 Mar 2002, 21:27
Originally posted by Slax

Lille and Thomo used the proven method of bowling to tailenders, quick and at the stumps. They're generally not good enough to stop them.

Lee is a hack and should be dropped all he's got is pace and he'll be gone in 3 years when his back goes again.

Hack, Hack, Hack.

Nasty cough you've got there, Slax. I'd have a couple of Strepsils before you get laryngitis, mate. ;) :D :p

hilly
9 Mar 2002, 21:36
6/231

Gilchrist is 42 and Warne is 12

Gilchrist survived a confident LBW shout..........I have a feeling he will give Australia a reasonable lead, he seems to be in terrific form

Slax
9 Mar 2002, 21:51
6/243
Partnership Gilli & Warne 58 off 55.

hilly
9 Mar 2002, 22:06
Originally posted by bluecrow
Muhhhh

Get Gilly out please.

:)

huh :confused:

SeinDude
10 Mar 2002, 13:01
STUMPS - DAY TWO

Hall 70

Australia: 382 all out
Gilchrist 138 not out, Hayden 63, Warne 63, Ponting 47

South Africa 2nd inns: 0 for 7 (5 overs)

After 2 days play, South Africa trail be 136 runs with 10 2nd innings wickets remaining. There's no doubt the 2nd day belonged to Adam Gilchrist who smashed an unbelievable 138 not out off only 108 balls with 22 fours and 2 sixes. At one point, the Aussies were 6 for 185 after Paul Adams destroyed our middle order, but Gilchrist along with Shane Warne (63 off 65 balls) took the game away from South Africa in less than 2 hours to put Australia once again in the box seat in this match.

It will be interesting to see how well South Africa bat in the 2nd innings, and to see if they can make enough for their bowlers to have something to bowl at in the last innings.

SeinDude

The Hippie
10 Mar 2002, 22:14
SA 2/220 at tea, 77 in front.

Why am I getting flashbacks to the India series or am I just parnoid? :(

hourn
10 Mar 2002, 22:18
Originally posted by The Hippie
Why am I getting flashbacks to the India series or am I just parnoid? :( [/B]

said that exact same thing about 15 minutes ago. It is remarkadbly similar its scary, but i think we will pull through.

SeinDude
10 Mar 2002, 22:25
Keep the faith!! :)

I believe that whatever South Africa set us to win, if we play well we'll get them and if we dont, then we deserve to go into the third test with the series level at 1-1.

SeinDude

PiesPremiers
10 Mar 2002, 22:30

Unless of course the third test is washed out, which it could well be. Raining in Durban as we speak.

:D :D

Haha, keep that rain dance going Em, its your only hope :D

The Hitman
11 Mar 2002, 05:18
Mini-comeback by the Kaffa's. They'll need more from McKenzie to give them any hope, but at least their bowlers have something to work with.

We should realistically win this tonight or the start of day 5.

The Hitman

RogerC
11 Mar 2002, 07:50
Full marks to South Africa. I expected a collapse at any time, and it just didn't happen. Warne bowled extremely well for his three wickets and probably deserved more - it's a credit to the SA batsmen that they didn't panic, and kept his actual chances to the absolute minimum.

Gillespie and Lee demonstrated what happens to our pacemen when McGrath isn't taking wickets. Although Lee did Kirsten over nicely after cracking him in the knackers.

Steve Waugh giving himself a bowl - worried about losing his test spot?

I still think SA need to bat at least two sessions add put on something like 150+ runs to give themselves any sort of a chance. And that is minimum; batting all day would be better. But if the wicket starts playing up, look out.

Anyone predict this at the start of the test?

dogboy23
11 Mar 2002, 08:35
Originally posted by RogerC

Anyone predict this at the start of the test? Not really I thought it might be a chance after what happened in India but then you just tell yourself how could it turn that much in a week?Its lucky Warney is in to bowl the amount of overs he has not many bowlers can do that.

SeinDude
11 Mar 2002, 09:44
STUMPS - DAY THREE

Hall 70

South Africa 2nd inns: 4 for 307 (105 overs)
Kirsten 87, Kallis 73, Smith 68
Warne 3 for 100 (42 overs)

South Africa lead by 164 runs with 6 wickets remaining.

After 3 days of this test match it is anyones guess who will win from here. South Africa batted really well today to have a lead of 164, giving themselves something to bowl at. One thing is for certain, whatever South Africa set, the Aussies will chase the victory. The good thing is that the game should go well into the 5th day.

SeinDude

tiger of old
11 Mar 2002, 11:27
a lead of somewhere between 180 and 220 should be enough going on the aussie,s past record of chasing such a small total:D
seriously tho SA,s attack has only one weapon in adams curtail him and we should be home and hosed.
cheers!

wagstaff
11 Mar 2002, 11:48
Originally posted by RogerC

Gillespie and Lee demonstrated what happens to our pacemen when McGrath isn't taking wickets.

Actually, Gillespie and especially Lee have been disappointing since the beginning of last year's Ashes tour. I've already commented on Lee in the Brett Lee thread so I won't repeat myself, suffice to say that he has been averaging over 35 with the ball since last year's Ashes series.

Gillespie has been more impressive in this period then Lee, but hasn't lived up to lofty expectations since he's finally played an extended run of Tests. Since the Ashes tour (not including this match), he has also averaged over 30 with the ball.

Say what you like about Australia's depth, but when McGrath goes from the Australian team, they will be found wanting.

Anyone predict this before the start of the Test?

Actually, this has happened to Australia on a few previous other tours under Steve Waugh. Not only did they lose the series in India after thrashing them in the first Test, but they lost the next two Tests in the West Indies after humiliating them and bowling them out for 50 or so in the first Test.

Mind you, they're a long way from losing this Test, but if they did lose, it would have become too much of a pattern to ignore.

ttamdav
11 Mar 2002, 12:38
ITS A HARD ONE TO PICK.THE ONLY GAME I CAN REMEMBER AUST CHASING REALLY WELL WAS THAT GAME IN TASSIE AGAINST PAKASTAN.ANOTHER 120-150 RUNS AND I WOULD THINK S.AFRICA BUT YOU LOOK AT S.AFRICA'S ATTACK AND ON PAPER IT LOOKS SUB PURA CUP STANDARD. YOU WONDER IF THEY COULD KEEP THE PRESSURE ON BY BOWLING TIGHT ENOUGH.
IF ADAMS BOWLS TIGHT S.AFRICA WILL WIN.

BW
11 Mar 2002, 12:41
Originally posted by ttamdav
ITS A HARD ONE TO PICK.THE ONLY GAME I CAN REMEMBER AUST CHASING REALLY WELL WAS THAT GAME IN TASSIE AGAINST PAKASTAN.

Australia didnt chase well at all that day, it was all Gilly and Langer

hourn
11 Mar 2002, 18:57
Warney just got Prince out caught sharpely at bat pad from Ponting.

South Africa 5/368 - McKenzie 60* and Boucher 6*

Going to be a very interesting finish!!

hourn
11 Mar 2002, 20:32
South Africa - 5/424
lead by 281

big trouble for Australia

hourn
11 Mar 2002, 20:41
Gillespie just got Boucher plum. Much needed wicket.

hourn
11 Mar 2002, 20:57
another wicket!! lee runs out Hall, good throw and good work from Gillespie.

Abel Xavier
11 Mar 2002, 21:41
Aww poor McKenzie. He deserved his 100. :( :(

:D :D :D :D :D

99 .....and Gawn!!!
:p

RogerC
11 Mar 2002, 22:44
As I type Langer very very lucky to be given not out LBW to Ntini.

A couple of brain spasms by McKenzie in the 90s have cost South Africa the chance to take a stranglehold on his match. Good batting and a pitch that holds up should see Australia through, but there are plenty of rough patches for Adams to bowl into, and the ball is starting to keep lower.

Should be a pretty interesting conclusion, no matter what happens in the next day and a bit.

daicos4ever
11 Mar 2002, 23:21
As the ABC commentator said: "Australia scuttling along here a leisurely pace" :D

Slax
11 Mar 2002, 23:44
whqt other pace have Hayden & Langer been going at this year

SeinDude
12 Mar 2002, 04:51
STUMPS - DAY FOUR

Hall 70

South Africa 2nd inns: 473
McKenzie 99, Kirsten 87, Kallis 73, Smith 68
Warne 6 for 161 (70 overs)

Australia: 1 for 131 (33 overs)
Langer 58, Hayden 50 not out, Ponting 17 not out

Australia need another 200 runs with 9 wickets remaining.

After 4 days the game is poised for exciting final day chase as the Aussies need another 200 runs to win the series and confirm themselves as the #1 test team in the world. The 4th day belonged to Shane Warne, who bowled an amazing 70 overs in the 2nd innings, taking 6 for 161. It will be very interesting to see how the final day unfolds... I'm predicting a famous Aussie win!!

SeinDude

NICK THE PIE MAN
12 Mar 2002, 06:44
Originally posted by Abel Xavier

:D :D :D :D :D

99 .....and Gawn!!!
:p

LOL
Gone! Yes! :D
Piss off your out! :D ;)

Seriously, what is it with SA players getting run out on 99?
You must think that they are Indian players, hence having the runs!

First Kallis in Australia, now McKenzie!

Great fielding by Marto.

dogboy23
12 Mar 2002, 09:42
Bloody Langer is on drugs his strike rate since the start of the series would be in the 80s or 90s.Good to see him shake his undeserved gritty battler tag.

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 18:21
1/183 (44), 148 runs to go

Hayden 82* (131)
Ponting 35* (62)

Both are looking very good and there is no sign of letting up. Should win it from here, but still not celebrating yet.

footyman
12 Mar 2002, 18:39
Originally posted by hourn
1/183 (44), 148 runs to go

Hayden 82* (131)
Ponting 35* (62)

Both are looking very good and there is no sign of letting up. Should win it from here, but still not celebrating yet.

Thanks hourn, please let us know when/if the Hayden 100 and Ponting 50 are reached.

BW
12 Mar 2002, 18:55
Hayden out for 96 :mad:

BW
12 Mar 2002, 18:59
Ponting got his 50

2/217

Ponting 53*
M.Waugh 1*

footyman
12 Mar 2002, 19:28
thanks for the updates :)

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 19:32
And Mark Waugh is given out caught behind even though the ball clearly missed the bat.
ME Waugh c Boucher b Ntini 16 (27b 1x4 0x6)

And the score 251/3 at lunch

Australia needing a further 80 runs with 7 wickets and 64.5 overs remaining.

NICK THE PIE MAN
12 Mar 2002, 19:57
Great knock by Haydos.
But God, what a soft dismissal.

Unbelievable that a player that was playing so well attempted a square cut when it would have been a wide!

Left me dumbfounded.

joshhem
12 Mar 2002, 20:43
4 wickets down, but i actually wanted to comment on the radio commentators, one of the guys wont stop clearing he thoat it's getting on my nerves!

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 20:43
Steve Waugh is out! Clean bowled by a left arm chinaman, playing all over it. Was almost out a few times when he had just come out to bat, lucky to last that long really.

SR Waugh b Adams 14 (29b 3x4 0x6)

Australia are still poised to win the match though, with Martyn joining Ricky Ponting in the middle. Ponting is on 74, and Australia need 63 off 57.2 overs.

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 20:51
Things getting tighter now!! Martyn goes for a duck to that damn spinner!! Seems to be a bit of a dodgy decision, but I don't have a real problem with that.

Martyn, LBW, Adams, 0 (7)

Surely the Aussies will be able to fall across the line from here... especially now Gilly is at the crease!! 63 needed off 55.3 overs (should be easy enough)

NICK THE PIE MAN
12 Mar 2002, 20:52
Im a full on pessimist during run chases!

And this is no exception!
Lets not give them a sniff!

Carn Aussies!

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 20:54
Originally posted by Deestroy
Surely the Aussies will be able to fall across the line from here... especially now Gilly is at the crease!! 63 needed off 55.3 (should be easy enough)

It will seem like 263 runs to go for the Australians at the moment - chasing runs is always hard. THere is just soooooooo much pressure on the batsmen.

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 20:55
What a surprise the middle order collapsing again

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 20:56

It will seem like 263 runs to go for the Australians at the moment - chasing runs is always hard. THere is just soooooooo much pressure on the batsmen.
Yep thats why I said should be and not will be, I remember the time the Aussies where chasing about 120 to win against the West Indies with 2 days to go and lost!! But I just can't see that kind of collapse happening again (forever the optamist)

damnfine
12 Mar 2002, 20:59
Hopefully this will end up being the last test match M Waugh ever plays for aus..fingers crossed....

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 21:02
Gilchrist having a bit of a slash to Adams this over - very gutsy given the situation, but t has paid off.

5/281 now and 50 runs to go.

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:04
And the required runs is now 50. Gilly is blowing the cobwebs out with a few big shots, now on 11 off 10, and it seems the Aussies are picking up the pace (9 off the last 2 overs)
Common Aussies!! :D

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:05
Originally posted by damnfine
Hopefully this will end up being the last test match M Waugh ever plays for aus..fingers crossed....
Thats a bit harsh...
Although I agree the Waugh brothers are coming to the end of their careers, surely there is a chance or 2 left for Mark??

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:06
With Gilli going like this will Punter make his ton

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 21:07

It really isn't that important in the context is it - we want to win the game, not make Pontings stats look a fraction better.

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:08
With Ponting needing 24, and with him seeming to take the back seat, it's hard to say, surely he won't if Gilly really gets going.

Goldenblue
12 Mar 2002, 21:11
Either way, if both remain not out, it will be good for the averages.....

C'mon Ponts

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:11
I'm wondering if Gilli will slow down to give him it. But I don't think so

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:13
I'm wondering if Gilli will slow down to give him it. But I don't think so
Well if he gets into the 90's with still 20 odd needed (to win the match) you'd think Gilly would help him out, especially with plenty of overs remaining.

Goldenblue
12 Mar 2002, 21:25
Gillie out for 24

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:27
Gilly OUT!!

AC Gilchrist c McKenzie b Kallis 24 (24b 4x4 0x6)

The Aussies are now 305/6 still needing 26 runs for victory, with Ponting on 87.
Pressure re-applied as Warney wanders out, Common Warney!! :D

damnfine
12 Mar 2002, 21:28

Thats a bit harsh...
Although I agree the Waugh brothers are coming to the end of their careers, surely there is a chance or 2 left for Mark??

how many chances does a guy deserve? 20 , 30?

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 21:28
Gilchrist cgt Mckenzie bwd Kallis for 24 of 24.

6/306

first ball Warne edges over 1st slip for 4 :O:O hearts in my mouth

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:30
Chance or two left come off it he's had about ten already, he should've been dropped years ago.

Go punter make yer ton

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:30
Originally posted by damnfine

how many chances does a guy deserve? 20 , 30?
Yes I agree, try someone else, but to say you hope he never plays again is harsh. What if he regains form?? Starting hitting double centuries for NSW for example?

damnfine
12 Mar 2002, 21:35

Yes I agree, try someone else, but to say you hope he never plays again is harsh. What if he regains form?? Starting hitting double centuries for NSW for example?

At his age even he finds some form at first class level he shouldn't be given another chance..with an ageing side we need to get one or more two younger players established..

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:41
Mark Waugh hitting a double ton noz that's good comedy material:D :D

damnfine
12 Mar 2002, 21:41
Am i the only sad git still nervous despite only requiring 17 runs?

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:42
Mark Waugh hitting a double ton noz that's good comedy material:D :D
No no it could happen!! :p You havn't seen what these drugs can make you think is happening thats not really happening!! :D :D

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 21:43
6/319 of 78 overs - 12 to go

Pnting - 94 (159)
Warne - 7 (11)

not going to say anything yet

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:46
No no it could happen!! You havn't seen what these drugs can make you think is happening thats not really happening!!

I've just spent a week in Amsterdam and my head still isn't straight

hourn
12 Mar 2002, 21:47
6/328 of 79 overs - 3 to go
Ponting 94 (159)
Warne 15 (18)

got it now :D:D:D

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:49
Punter didn't get to his 100 :( :(

hourn
Ponting hit a 6 to win and get a ton, what a way to finish

Deestroy
6/328 of 79 overs - 3 to go
Ponting 94 (159)
Warne 15 (18)

got it now :D:D:D
With a 6 no less!! Told ya he'd get his ton! :D :D

Slax
12 Mar 2002, 21:51
That makes my day now to find a pub :D :D

Deestroy
12 Mar 2002, 21:52
That makes my day now to find a pub :D :D
Bloody oath mate!! :D

ant
12 Mar 2002, 21:58
I wonder what Ricky was more happy with.... the fact Australia won or that he got his century?? ;)

Well done boys, very good win.

SeinDude
12 Mar 2002, 22:00
2ND TEST SUMMARY:

Hall 70

South Africa 2nd inns: 473
McKenzie 99, Kirsten 87, Kallis 73, Smith 68
Warne 6 for 161 (70 overs)

Australia: 6 for 334
Ponting 100 not out, Hayden 96, Langer 58

AUSTRALIA WIN BY 4 WICKETS

What a fantastic run chase and full credit to the Aussies for remaining positive and playing their shots, even when the pressure was on. Ricky Ponting played a quality innings to guide us to victory, and along with Gilchrist (24 off 24 balls) and Shane Warne at the end, we got there in the end with a Ricky Ponting six to get a well deserved century.

This wraps up the series 2-0 and confirms that we are still the best test team in the world on the ICC World Rankings.

Looking forward to the 3rd test at Durban.

Great stuff!!
SeinDude :)

PS: I always wanted to do this... "Go Ricky, Go Ricky, Go Ricky!!" :D:D:D

Squeak
13 Mar 2002, 10:35
Watched it last night with my dad, the break in between overs when we needed 3 to win, we were discussing whether Ponting would go for a six to bring up his century or just try to win the match, much like AB and Proccy were.

I said he'd just go for the win rather than risking the six, how wrong I was!

Top stuff Richard Thomas!

Nige_Bix
13 Mar 2002, 11:47
Thanks for the commentary guys - very enjoyable - much better than what was on the TV - just had to turn the sound down and stay on the computer - withan eye on "Baggygreen.com"

Des