View Full Version : Cricket draft game!!!
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 12:04
Much like the AFL fantasy draft game I started on here a while ago, which was a huge success, I have decided to start a cricket draft game. It will work much the same as the other game, draft the best squad you can-we may go to 15 players, but that will be determined at a later stage.
Get in quickly, as there are likely to be less teams available.
So, who's interested?
Selectors
1. Jeremias
2. HavUEvaSeenTheRain
3. NWTYRX
4. Djibril Cisse
5. sticks74
6. Blues_Man
7. gandaal
8. Muji
9. DIG
10. whippersnipper
Replacement list
1. HugeBluesFan
2. oaksy
SELECTIONS:
One Day Selection, Test Selection
Round 1:
1. Djibril Cisse- Ricky Ponting, Ricky Ponting
2. Blues_Man- Mike Hussey, Mike Hussey
3. Jeremias- Kevin Pietersen, Mohammad Yousuf
4. Muji-Andrew Flintoff, Andrew Flintoff
5. whippersnipper-Shahid Afridi, Shane Warne
6. gandaal-Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan
7. HavUEvaSeenTheRain- Daniel Vettori, Daniel Vettori
8. NWTYRX-Adam Gilchrist, Adam Gilchrist
9. sticks74-Jacques Kallis, Inzamam Ul-Haq
10. DIG-Shaun Pollock, Shaun Pollock
Round 2:
11. DIG-Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini
12. sticks74- Rahul Dravid, Chaminda Vaas
13. NWTYRX- Sachin Tendulkar, Glenn McGrath
14. HavUEvaSeenTheRain- Brett Lee, Rahul Dravid
15. gandaal-M. S Dhoni, Kumar Sangakarra
16. whippersnipper-Mahela Jayawardene, Brian Lara
17. Muji-Nathan Bracken, Younis Khan
18. Jeremias- Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis
19. Blues_Man-
20. Djibril Cisse-
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
18th December 2006, 13:03
im up for it
NWTYRX
18th December 2006, 13:56
yeah, im in and so is Djibril Cisse
sticks74
18th December 2006, 14:04
Im In!
Blues_Man
18th December 2006, 14:05
I'll have a go as this one should be a lot quicker than the footy one .
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 14:08
I'll have a go as this one should be a lot quicker than the footy one .
It definitely should be quicker as there will be less players and less picks.
I have decided to limit the game to 10 players. How many rounds we have will be determined later on.
Once all spots are filled I will randomly select the order for picks.
Remember, only current players can be picked in the game.
Do you think we should have 2 games-1 for tests and 1 for one-dayers?
sticks74
18th December 2006, 15:11
It definitely should be quicker as there will be less players and less picks.
I have decided to limit the game to 10 players. How many rounds we have will be determined later on.
Once all spots are filled I will randomly select the order for picks.
Remember, only current players can be picked in the game.
I think two games is better as we would choose a different one day team to the test team...
gandaal
18th December 2006, 16:07
I'll give it a go.
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 19:19
3 more spots up for grabs...come on Blues supporters...
Muji
18th December 2006, 19:47
yeah add us in mate
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 19:47
Muji has also joined...only 2 more spots to fill before we can get the game started.
DIG
18th December 2006, 19:54
SELECTIONS:
One Day Selection, Test Selection
Round 1:
1. Djibril Cisse- Ricky Ponting, Ricky Ponting
2. Blues_Man- Mike Hussey, Mike Hussey
3. Jeremias- Kevin Pietersen, Mohammad Yousuf
4. Muji-Andrew Flintoff, Andrew Flintoff
5. whippersnipper-Shahid Afridi, Shane Warne
6. gandaal-Chris Gayle, Muttiah Muralitharan
7. HavUEvaSeenTheRain- Daniel Vettori, Daniel Vettori
8. NWTYRX-Adam Gilchrist, Adam Gilchrist
9. sticks74-Jacques Kallis, Inzamam Ul-Haq
10. DIG-Shaun Pollock, Shaun Pollock
Round 2:
11. DIG-Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini
12. sticks74- Rahul Dravid, Chaminda Vaas
13. NWTYRX- Sachin Tendulkar, Glenn McGrath
14. HavUEvaSeenTheRain- Brett Lee, Rahul Dravid
15. gandaal-M. S Dhoni, Kumar Sangakarra
16. whippersnipper-Mahela Jayawardene, Brian Lara
17. Muji-Nathan Bracken, Younis Khan
18. Jeremias- Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis
19. Blues_Man-Shane Bond, Anil Kumble
20. Djibril Cisse-Michael Clarke, Michael Clarke
Round 3:
1. Djibril Cisse- Andrew Symonds, Shane Bond
2. Blues_Man- Stuart Clark, Stuart Clark
3. Jeremias/oaksy- Makhaya Ntini, Matthew Hayden
4. Muji-Glenn McGrath, Kevin Pietersen
5. whippersnipper-
6. gandaal-
7. HavUEvaSeenTheRain-
8. NWTYRX-
9. sticks74-
10. DIG-
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 20:01
One more spot to fill...come on!
Blues_Man
18th December 2006, 20:45
absolutely
Warwick
18th December 2006, 20:47
Feel free to steal all our ideas. :rolleyes:
Jeremias
18th December 2006, 20:54
Feel free to steal all our ideas. :rolleyes:
Thanks-that's exactly what I'll do.
Why do you care?
whippersnipper
18th December 2006, 21:22
Yeah, if there is a place left
HBF
18th December 2006, 21:30
I'll have a go, if there are any places left!?
DIG
19th December 2006, 05:48
I think there's 10 already HBF? - but as you know people may drop out as time goes on.
BTW, they're waiting for you or Gilly to post your final footy drafted lineup here for the voting to start:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=288078
Jeremias - lets be clear up front on some drafting rules - can we pick the druggies Shoaib and Asif? What about players who've retired internationally but still playing domestically eg. Boof? etc..
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 06:16
I think there's 10 already HBF? - but as you know people may drop out as time goes on.
BTW, they're waiting for you or Gilly to post your final footy drafted lineup here for the voting to start:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=288078
Jeremias - lets be clear up front on some drafting rules - can we pick the druggies Shoaib and Asif? What about players who've retired internationally but still playing domestically eg. Boof? etc..
Yes, you can pick both Shoaib and Asif, as they have been cleared.
And no, you can't pick players like Boof. Only pick players that currently play or have contracts with their respective cricketing boards at this present time.
I will randomise the order later this morning, and start 2 new threads for the selections-1 for test team selections, and one for one-day selections.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 06:42
Sorry HBF, you are too late. I said that this game would be limited to 10 teams, and they have been filled.
However, you will be the first name on the reserves list, meaning that if someone needs to be replaced, either permanently or temporarily, you will be the first one contacted.
All places have now been filled. I will randomly select the order for selections. Do you think that the order for selections in both the test and oine-day games should be the same? IMO that would be much quicker
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 08:46
The order has been randomly determined, and, for quick reference, I will put each selection in the first post of this thread.
The test match selection and one-day match selection order are the same. When it is your turn to select, please select one player for your test team, and one for your one-day team. Put the test selection in blue, and the one-day selection in red.
Let's get this game started, hopefully it will be quicker than the AFL draft game. Please make sure you regularly check this thread for progress, and take your picks as promptly as possible to ensure this is done quickly, and we don't lose interest.
Please note: It looks as though we may have a replacement list for this game as we did for the AFL draft game. These are posters who missed out on an opportunity but still wish to participate. They will replace anyone who doesn't take their picks for extended periods of time and do not PM someone their selections. Which brings me to my main point: If you know that you will not be around for your pick, PLEASE PM your selection to another participant, maybe even 2 participants. If your pick is in the future, but not the immediate future, and you know you will make us wait for the selection, please PM someone, preferably someone else involved in the game, a list of preferences, maybe 4 players, in order, that you are looking at selecting. That way, if you are away and someone takes your 1st preference, the person you PM your pick to can just take the player that is 2nd on that list, providing he is still around, and so on. Please make sure you follow these guidelines. It is easy to lose patience in these games. The majority of players were very good in the AFL draft game in PM'ing their selections, but there were a select few that we were consistently waiting for. Please make sure that you are not one of them.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 08:50
Djibril Cisse has selection number 1.
I have sent him a PM, so hopefully he selects soon. He hasn't been online since the 17th of the month, but we have backup as his brother is also playing in this game, so we shouldn't be waiting too long.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 09:20
For those of you that missed out on being a selector, and if you are still interested, make sure you join the replacement list. You will be called upon if the original selector does not take his pick for an extended period of time, and he hasn't MP'd his selection to someone else. This will ensure that the game is continuous and doesn't take too long.
If you are on the replacement list, I'm sure you will get a go as people will be going on vacation and may need to pull out of the game at various stages.
Inform me of your interest to be a replacement via PM or in this thread, and I will put the list up in the original post in this thread. HBF is the first replacement.
DIG
19th December 2006, 11:16
OK it's your game, so feel free to tell me where to stick it:eek: .....but:
- don't see why the draft order needs to be the same for both games, we'll end up just being stuck on the same people anyway and it would mix it up a bit more having a different draft order for the one-dayers.
- I think 2 threads for the two games would be much easier, although the colour coding would still work.
- If it's country contracted players only, it could be tough to go to 15 per team - for me at least!
- Can you please post the draft order? (i've...probably just made sure i've got pick 10 in both...right J?:D )
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 11:39
OK it's your game, so feel free to tell me where to stick it:eek: .....but:
- don't see why the draft order needs to be the same for both games, we'll end up just being stuck on the same people anyway and it would mix it up a bit more having a different draft order for the one-dayers.
- I think 2 threads for the two games would be much easier, although the colour coding would still work.
- If it's country contracted players only, it could be tough to go to 15 per team - for me at least!
- Can you please post the draft order? (i've...probably just made sure i've got pick 10 in both...right J?:D )
-With regards to the draft order: I think it will actually be quicker having the same order for both games-otherwise it may get a bit confusing. Kill 2 birds with the 1 stone :thumbsu:. I posed the question earlier, and the few responses I got were in favour of having the same order for both games. If there are many people who don't like it that way, I'll change it, but at the moment you are outnumbered :p
-Two more threads requires ME to make them. That requires too much effort from me. We'll leave it in this thread for the time being. If it gets too confusing, I may consider being less lazy :cool:
-I think 15 is about right. There are 11 in each team as you know, with a 12th man, and usually a 13th man. Having 2 spares can't hurt, especially when the time comes to pick your best team. If you're struggling, a little bit of research on the internet will become very useful.
-The draft order for the first round, as I said, is in the original post in this thread. I will add further rounds when we get closer to them. I will try and update the picks as quickly as I can in order to keep it up to date as much as possible.
DIG
19th December 2006, 12:38
-With regards to the draft order: I think it will actually be quicker having the same order for both games-otherwise it may get a bit confusing. Kill 2 birds with the 1 stone :thumbsu:. I posed the question earlier, and the few responses I got were in favour of having the same order for both games. If there are many people who don't like it that way, I'll change it, but at the moment you are outnumbered :p
-Two more threads requires ME to make them. That requires too much effort from me. We'll leave it in this thread for the time being. If it gets too confusing, I may consider being less lazy :cool:
-I think 15 is about right. There are 11 in each team as you know, with a 12th man, and usually a 13th man. Having 2 spares can't hurt, especially when the time comes to pick your best team. If you're struggling, a little bit of research on the internet will become very useful.
-The draft order for the first round, as I said, is in the original post in this thread. I will add further rounds when we get closer to them. I will try and update the picks as quickly as I can in order to keep it up to date as much as possible.
Ah yes, so it is. Very good.
Hangon a minute................10th pick! Damn you! DAMN YOU JEREMIAS!!!:p
Oh well, at least i get the first pick in the second round.
All good mate, lets roll...
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 12:39
Ah yes, so it is. Very good.
Hangon a minute................10th pick! Damn you! DAMN YOU JEREMIAS!!!:p
Oh well, at least i get the first pick in the second round.
All good, lets roll...
Blame the number generator :cool:. I had the last pick in the AFL draft game, so I know how you feel. It's pretty annoying as the wait between picks gan get very long, but you are still able to put together a quality side.
We're all ready I think, it's just that we're waiting on Djibril Cisse who has the first pick.
NWTYRX
19th December 2006, 13:16
Djibril Cisse via PM
Pick 1 - Ricky Ponting, Ricky Ponting
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 13:17
Djibril Cisse via PM
Pick 1 - Ricky Ponting
Remember, you need to take 2 picks-1 player for ODI, and 1 for tests. Is Punter for Tests or ODI's? Who is the other player you are selecting, or is it Punter for both?
Please adhere to the guidelines, makes it much easier. Keep picking...
Blues_Man
19th December 2006, 13:20
Pick 2 : Mike Hussey Test
Mike Hussey One day
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 13:22
Pick 2 : Mike Hussey
Please adhere to the draft guidlines and edit your post. Come on, guys! You're making it harder than it needs to be!
NWTYRX
19th December 2006, 13:25
sorry about the confusion, i didn't read the rules properly
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 13:34
sorry about the confusion, i didn't read the rules properly
That' OK. Now that you are aware of them, please adhere to them-makes my job that much easier.
My selections:
Tests: Mohammad Yousuf
Breaking records all-round. Phenomenal batsman, very happy to select him.
ODI: Kevin Pietersen
KP, although a Pom, is an exceptional player. May be a bit early for him, but he's young and explosive.
bluegal1983
19th December 2006, 18:18
Blame the number generator :cool:. I had the last pick in the AFL draft game, so I know how you feel. It's pretty annoying as the wait between picks gan get very long, but you are still able to put together a quality side.
We're all ready I think, it's just that we're waiting on Djibril Cisse who has the first pick.
You had the first pick mate, not the last!
gandaal
19th December 2006, 19:40
Gotta love rewriting history :)
Muji
19th December 2006, 20:06
Pick 4: Andrew Flintoff (England)
A class cricketer, nothing needs to be said about him, i've picked him for both my ODI and test.
NWTYRX
19th December 2006, 20:07
is that for both the test and odi teams?
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:07
Pick 4: Andrew Flintoff (England)
Read the rules and continue your pick.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:09
After pick 1, it was an incredibly long wait between selections. That's what I mean. Let's not re-create that scenario in this game.
Muji
19th December 2006, 20:14
Who's next?
gandaal
19th December 2006, 20:16
After pick 1, it was an incredibly long wait between selections. That's what I mean. Let's not re-create that scenario in this game.
Which was ten times better than what me and Blues Man had to suffer as the last two picks of that draft. At least you got a genuine superstar of the comp to build you're team around from the get go.
But I agree it really sucked and gave a huge advantage to people with picks in the middle of the order.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:17
whippersnipper via PM:
Tests: Shane Warne
One-Dayers: Shahid Afridi
gandaal
19th December 2006, 20:17
whippersnipper via PM:
Tests: Shane Warne
One-Dayers: Shahid Afridi
:eek:
Muji
19th December 2006, 20:19
I like Afridi.
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:21
That's his selection, and we'll respect that.
You're up next.
gandaal
19th December 2006, 20:23
Pick 6:
Test: Muttiah Muralitharan
One Day: Chris Gayle
oaksy
19th December 2006, 20:28
damn it!! i cant believe i missed the cut off for this one aswell!! might as well put me on the replacement list Jeremias.
Blues_Man
19th December 2006, 20:30
Please adhere to the draft guidlines and edit your post. Come on, guys! You're making it harder than it needs to be!
I was 2 minutes editing my post and you are jumping up and down :rolleyes:
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:31
It's HavUEvaSeenTheRain's selection-I have sent him a PM. Not looking too promising, though-his last activity was to join this game! :D
I think it might be useful to put a 24 hour time restiction on each pick. Thoughts?
Bad luck oaksy! I have put you on the replacement list once again. I'm sure you will get a go at some stage during this game. Thanks for making yourself available. Watch out-some time in the new year I will be starting a soccer draft, so be quick and you will probably get a permanent place :thumbsu: :D
Jeremias
19th December 2006, 20:32
I was 2 minutes editing my post and you are jumping up and down :rolleyes:
Ye, well, I want to get the game running smoothly. I can hardly be blamed.
And nice edited selection there...but the player you replaced would have been a handy acquisition.
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
19th December 2006, 23:21
Vettori Vettori
Sorry for taking so long but ive got night shift:(
whippersnipper
20th December 2006, 01:34
I knew that one might raise a few eyebrows, but he has to have one of the greatest strike rates ever in the one day game (and probably Tests as well) and one of the few players that can turn a dire situation into a matchwinning one in a matter of minutes, regardless of who is batting at the other end. Plus he can bowl a bit too:D
Besides, I went with the safe option in Warne in the Test arena, thought I might try a smoky in the ODI arena.
gandaal
20th December 2006, 06:14
I knew that one might raise a few eyebrows, but he has to have one of the greatest strike rates ever in the one day game (and probably Tests as well) and one of the few players that can turn a dire situation into a matchwinning one in a matter of minutes, regardless of who is batting at the other end. Plus he can bowl a bit too:D
Besides, I went with the safe option in Warne in the Test arena, thought I might try a smoky in the ODI arena.
No doubt about that.
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 07:00
NWTYRX is up now. Unfortunately we may have to wait for this afternoon, as he mentioned in another thread that he was heading down to training.
Hopefully he sent his selection via PM to someone, or his brother will know and post his selection when he logs on this afternoon.
DIG
20th December 2006, 09:29
It's HavUEvaSeenTheRain's selection-I have sent him a PM. Not looking too promising, though-his last activity was to join this game! :D
I think it might be useful to put a 24 hour time restiction on each pick. Thoughts?
Bad luck oaksy! I have put you on the replacement list once again. I'm sure you will get a go at some stage during this game. Thanks for making yourself available. Watch out-some time in the new year I will be starting a soccer draft, so be quick and you will probably get a permanent place :thumbsu: :D
I think we may need to cut people a bit of slack over Xmas - but still a 24 hour limit between picks sounds fair, before a replacement can jump in to tick things along...?
Not too much to ask of people to login once a day at a minimum, and if you know you'll be away, try to pm your next pick to someone.
On Afridi, he's a gun of a one-day player, awesome strike rate, plus can bowl 10 overs too. I still personally wouldn't have picked him first but it's not a bad one.
Last pick won't hurt as much in this draft as the footy one - sure i've missed on likes of Punter, Huss and the very best spinners but there's still plenty of guns around.
Gilly1972
20th December 2006, 11:16
Jeremias' random number generator is an amazing program, he was first in the footy draft and now third in the cricket draft :rolleyes: :p
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 11:56
Jeremias' random number generator is an amazing program, he was first in the footy draft and now third in the cricket draft :rolleyes: :p
If I wasn't doing it randomly, wouldn't I put my picks at 1 and 1?
:rolleyes:
As I have said, this selection is done completely randomly. I really don't mind if you don't believe me-that's your problem.
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 12:23
Trying to contact my brother to find out who he wants, give me 10 and i'll get back to you guys, hopefully he PM'd someone, because his phone is off, and I've left a message, but I don't like the chances.
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 12:32
Trying to contact my brother to find out who he wants, give me 10 and i'll get back to you guys, hopefully he PM'd someone, because his phone is off, and I've left a message, but I don't like the chances.
Doesn't seem like he has PM'd anyone, so keep trying to contact him.
What time are you going to see him?
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 12:43
I don't even know where he's gone, I read earlier in this thread, that you said he said he was going to training? First I knew of that, he could trundle through the door at any time between now and 5:30??
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 12:47
I don't even know where he's gone, I read earlier in this thread, that you said he said he was going to training? First I knew of that, he could trundle through the door at any time between now and 5:30??
Oh yeah, he menioned in the training thread that he was heading down to watch the boys today.
Keep trying him, and get his pick up here ASAP. In the future he really needs to give someone else his pick via MSN or PM if he knows he will be absent for an extended period of time.
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 12:59
Alright, I got hold of him, give me a couple of minutes, and I'll post his pick
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 13:03
NWTYRX via Telephone
Pick 8 - Adam Gilchrist
P.S - I figured out where he trundled off too, he's at the MCG watching Victoria vs. NSW
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 13:09
I have sticks74's selections, but I will wait for him to post them later on as one of this selections was just taken.
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 13:16
I had an idea, the 10 players who are selecting squads for ODI's, we should have like a fantasy World Cup.
Every run is worth 1 point (5 bonus for a 50, 10 bonus for a 100, 15 bonus for a 150)
15 points for an unassisted wicket (bowled, lbw or caught and bowled), 10 points for an assisted wicket (caught, stumped), 5 bonus points for a 3 wicket haul, 10 for a 5 wicket haul, and anything above 6 wickets is a 15 bonus, 50 points should they take 9 or 10.
10 points for an unassisted run out (direct hit) or 5 points each for the thrower and the person who actually takes the bails
5 points for a catch
Double points for Captain
None of this bonus run rate stuff, economy rate, no bonus for top score of the round or anything. We'll just keep it simple, I'd be more than happy to work out points and stuff,
sticks74
20th December 2006, 13:20
OK Im Back!
Jacques Kallis
Inzamam-Ul-Haq
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 13:21
I had an idea, the 10 players who are selecting squads for ODI's, we should have like a fantasy World Cup.
Every run is worth 1 point (5 bonus for a 50, 10 bonus for a 100, 15 bonus for a 150)
15 points for an unassisted wicket (bowled, lbw or caught and bowled), 10 points for an assisted wicket (caught, stumped), 5 bonus points for a 3 wicket haul, 10 for a 5 wicket haul, and anything above 6 wickets is a 15 bonus, 50 points should they take 9 or 10.
10 points for an unassisted run out (direct hit) or 5 points each for the thrower and the person who actually takes the bails
5 points for a catch
Double points for Captain
None of this bonus run rate stuff, economy rate, no bonus for top score of the round or anything. We'll just keep it simple, I'd be more than happy to work out points and stuff,
Sounds good and I like the idea, but it's way too early to be organising this sort of stuff-we're not even through the first round yet. It will definitely come into consideration as we near the conclusion of the selections.
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 13:22
Yeah, fair enough, just thought I'd get the idea out, incase I forgot
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 13:28
Yeah, fair enough, just thought I'd get the idea out, incase I forgot
Thanks for the suggestion. I will consider it seriously when we finish the selections.
DIG
20th December 2006, 14:17
Pick 10:
Test - Shaun Pollock
One Dayer - Shaun Pollock
Pick 11:
Test - Makhaya Ntini
One Dayer - Muttiah Muralidaran
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 14:50
If Sticks takes his turn soon, I am once again trying to get in contact with NWTYRX, I think his phone went dead though, but we'll see what happens.
sticks74
20th December 2006, 15:01
If Sticks takes his turn soon, I am once again trying to get in contact with NWTYRX, I think his phone went dead though, but we'll see what happens.
Ive already picked buddy!
Djibril Cisse
20th December 2006, 15:13
It's your turn again, it's in reverse order from round 1, you have pick #12
sticks74
20th December 2006, 15:25
Sorry to hold things up...
sticks74
20th December 2006, 15:26
Sorry to hold things up...
R Dravid
C Vass
The Old Dark Navy's
20th December 2006, 15:33
Some of you guys are game after the last saga. I still haven't recovered. ;)
Jeremias
20th December 2006, 16:57
Some of you guys are game after the last saga. I still haven't recovered. ;)
This will be a much quicker game than the footy draft game.
Less participants, less rounds of selections, and less moderators participating :cool:
NWTYRX
20th December 2006, 17:35
Test: Glenn McGrath
ODI: Sachin Tendulkar
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
20th December 2006, 18:18
Lee Dravid
HavUEvaSeenTheRain
20th December 2006, 18:19
Brett and Rahul that is
gandaal
20th December 2006, 18:30
Tests: Kumar Sangakkara
ODI: M.S. Dhoni
NWTYRX
21st December 2006, 14:00
whoever picked Warnie is in a bit of a pickle
Djibril Cisse
21st December 2006, 14:40
Great too see this is moving a lot quicker than the AFL Draft...
Hopefully things get moving very quickly
Djibril Cisse
21st December 2006, 14:50
Sir Vivian Richards
Courtney Walsh
DIG
21st December 2006, 17:31
Where's Whipper??
Been nearly 24 hours - should those replacement guys be on standby?
Jeremias
21st December 2006, 18:20
Sir Vivian Richards
Courtney Walsh
Ummm......pick again ;)
gandaal
21st December 2006, 18:28
Seeing as nothing much else is going on, since Warne and likely McGrath are about to retire should we give NWTYRX and whippersnipper a priority Test pick at the end of this round to replace them?
I know that a pick is a pick, and some might say that if they were silly enough to pick older players they have to accept the consequences, but the rest of the game isn't going to be much fun for them if we leave it be and this game is about us all having fun.
Djibril Cisse
22nd December 2006, 06:17
Yeah, it's all about fun, but we cant do anything about McGrath until he actually announces his retirement.
As for Warne, I think whippersnipper should take two test picks when he eventually gets online, and one ODI pick?
DIG
22nd December 2006, 07:08
*yawn*
Djibril Cisse
22nd December 2006, 07:31
Good call DIG
DIG
22nd December 2006, 09:27
Been nearly 2 days now, surely one of those replacements can step in for a pick to get things going again now?
On the Warney/McGrath (if he retires today) issue i'm not sure. I've got no issue with them picking again, but on the other hand maybe it's easier to use the date the draft started as the definition of "current".
eg. what if Gilchrist retires in round 14 of the draft - would NWTYRX have to then pick someone else and end up with a crappy keeper? Should i draft Langer or should i be worried that he'll retire after the ashes too? It's up to J to decide as it's his game - the rule just needs to be clear.
oaksy
22nd December 2006, 09:52
i'm willing to take the next pick if nobody minds?
DIG
22nd December 2006, 10:36
i'm willing to take the next pick if nobody minds?
I reckon PM it to Jeremias oaksy, so he can decide when he's next online. I think you should be able to though.
Djibril Cisse
22nd December 2006, 13:32
I don't think Jeremias will have a problem with one of the replacements taking this pick, especially since it has been the best part of two days now.
And like I said earlier, I don't mind if they get another pick, but I do feel that when the game started, they were International Players (and Warne, as of this current time, still is). So in a way, I could put forward an argument for not getting another pick, but, this is a friendly game.
oaksy
22nd December 2006, 16:23
For Whippersnipper
Tests - Brian Lara
ODI - Mahela Jayawardena
whippersnipper
22nd December 2006, 18:49
So sorry about that guys- somethings popped up unexpectantly. Good picks oaksy, especially Lara- surprised he slipped so far:thumbsu:
Djibril Cisse
22nd December 2006, 19:01
Chance of retirement soon, though he's a top order batsman and not a bowler will keep him going for a while longer, but soon enough Lara will announce his retirement (Warne, McGrath, Lara, Tendulkar, Murali (possibly), Pollock) 6 of the all time greats could retire within 12 months of each other, will be a massive loss for the standard of world cricket
Muji
23rd December 2006, 21:53
ODI: Nathan Bracken
TEST: Younis Khan
Jeremias
23rd December 2006, 22:15
ODI: Kumar Sangakkara
May be a bit early for him, but he is an excellent player, as a batsman and keeper.
Tests: Jacques Kallis
Very happy to select him here, as I thought he would go earlier. Very good batsman, very good bowler.