View Full Version : Press Conference?

King Elvis
21 Dec 2006, 07:54
Has the Presser been announced?

What time?

I can't find anything saying one is scheduled.?

MRobbo
21 Dec 2006, 07:55
Has the Presser been announced?

What time?

I can't find anything saying one is scheduled.?

Nothing yet

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 08:08
SEN just reporting it will be at 12:30 in the Members' Dining Room of the MCG

jimmy_clement#8
21 Dec 2006, 08:27
Finally we have a conference. I love how everything has exploded in the press, world press even, and we only now get a conference scheduled. Talk about sticking necks out. Although, there must be a substantial germ of truth to this, otherwise the mistake made would be quite comical and embarrassing.

NWTYRX
you can watch it live from 11:40am, on www.ninemsn.com.au

MRobbo
SEN just reporting it will be at 12:30 in the Members' Dining Room of the MCG

Nothing official from CA or CV at this stage

NWTYRX
21 Dec 2006, 09:11
so, ninemsn have changed it. you can now watch it live from 12:25pm AEDT

crowsarethebest
21 Dec 2006, 09:13
The age says 12:30...

likka
21 Dec 2006, 09:17
Nine have orchestrated this exculsive beautifully with their future employee, would be my house this was part of the deal when Warne signed again with Nine.

silky-smooth
21 Dec 2006, 09:18
Nothing official from CA or CV at this stage
It's official now:

MEDIA ADVISORY
21 December 2006
Shane Warne media conference today

Cricket Australia today advised that a media conference will take place at 12.30pm in the MCC Members Dining Room at the MCG.

Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne will share his thoughts with the media at the media conference.

etc.

jimmy_clement#8
21 Dec 2006, 09:18
Talk about all over the shop. Wasn't he supposedly on a plane to Sydney to do it with Pidge? What's Pidge doing today? No news on that front.

Grimreepah
21 Dec 2006, 09:28
I'm hoping the press conference is to announce Warne's intention to play in the World Cup:o

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
21 Dec 2006, 09:42
Nine have orchestrated this exculsive beautifully with their future employee, would be my house this was part of the deal when Warne signed again with Nine.

One thing is for sure, the ratings for the last 2 tests will be through the roof.

I heard somewhere this is the 100th test ever played at the G.

He is my predicition.

England to bat first, Warne gets Bell as his 700th wicket.

We end up chasing about 240 - 250 for Victory batting last.

Warne and Ponting (104*) at the wicket with 20 runs to get and only a handful of wickets left.

Warne slashes the winning runs over backward point for 4.

You heard it here first.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2006, 10:00
I'm hoping the press conference is to announce Warne's intention to play in the World Cup:o
wouldnt it be a laugh if that was to happen :D

crowsarethebest
21 Dec 2006, 10:08
:D Let Warnie and Pidge OPEN:D. Even though we want to kill them 5-0... we have the ashes already:p.

CharlieG
21 Dec 2006, 10:10

I'm quietly hopeful that this is indeed the case.

The decision to retire now just doesn't make sense. If he wants more time with his family, he can retire from county cricket and spend the next nine months working out if he wants to play another Australian summer.

SBI
21 Dec 2006, 10:11
I don't know if its been posted, but it will be 12:30 EST LIVE on the Sky News Channel.

CharlieG
21 Dec 2006, 10:13
Will SEN or Nine be broadcasting it?

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:16
WOOOOOOOt, Sky News UK are showing it...

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2006, 10:21
On Nine Live now

Star
21 Dec 2006, 10:35
On Nine Live now

Could someone please summarise what he says!

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:37
Hasn't said a lot yet, nothing in fact.

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:40
Thanks for coming, interestinf few days since third test, amazing thought process. His "Mission" to get Ashes. Retires from Itn'l cricket, Vics and St Kilda

Star
21 Dec 2006, 10:40
Good to see "The Official Site of Cricket Australia" has zero news or coverage about the biggest cricket story of the year :rolleyes:

Jaymin
21 Dec 2006, 10:41
He's on now..

Getting the Ashes back meant everything...

Announces his retirement from Australia & Victoria

Amazing journey

Says he knows his time is now to retire

He has been a part of winning every trophy possible.

Would have retired at the end of 2005 Ashes if Australia had of won.

Wanted to go out on his terms and when he was on top.

Day of celebration.

Questions from media:-

When did you decide it was time? - Re-emphasised that he would have retired if they had of won Ashes in 2005. Knows its time.

Do you recall exact moment when he knew it was time to go? - No exact time. Just knows its time. Still bowling well. Public been fantastic. Told his kids he was retiring yesterday. Kids upset because they didn't think he'd play backyard cricket with them anymore.

Goes on to say he has given as much as he could for the game..

Can you win 5-0? Jobs not done yet. Thinks we can.

What do you say to the Poms? Will continue to play good cricket.

Highs and Lows of his career? - Lucky to play in unbeievable series. Fave test match - Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1992 up until last week in Adelaide. Highs just playing cricket in this era for Australia. Very lucky. Plays cricket because he enjoys it. His passion. Will miss playing cricket for Aus and Victoria and St.Kilda.

What do you say to fans who say too early to retire? First class cricket in Australia is strong. Players will come through. Always tried to put on a show.maybe he went over the top on occasions but thats just him. Hopes he made cricket more enjoyable and fun.

His contract? Will honour contract for 2 seasons...

What does future hold for Warne? Half his life devoted to cricket. Doesn't know what future holds. Has ideas but who knows. Spending more time with kids. Lot of things he'd like to do. Focus is next two test matches. Few beers, couple of smokes and see what happens.

Life as a Soap Opera? Says today was a pretty good secret...ha ha. Always attention on his off field. Hopefully won't be same scrutiny now.

When did you know you could play the highest level? Until you actually get there you don't know. Talks about the Colombo match again. Took 3-0 to win the game. Finally contributed. Didn't feel like he belonged at that stage. Got dropped again. Boxing Day against West Indies....time for Warne to deliver. Took 7/52 on boxing day and helped win the test match. Knew he belonged then.

Media Plans? Not sure at the moment...

On Richie? Richies the man....loved his sense of humour. Been there when hes needed him. Ian Chappel huge influence. AB taught him about the baggy green. Passion. Terry Jenner like Dr.Phil..

Star
Thanks for coming, interestinf few days since third test, amazing thought process. His "Mission" to get Ashes. Retires from Itn'l cricket, Vics and St Kilda

County?

roostersgal4eva
Could someone please summarise what he says!
talking about the Ashes Urn and how it was important to him to get it back

and has retired from all types of cricket Aus, Vic and local cricket

thought he might be sad but is happy - feels its a celebration

believe the timing is right - once the urn's was won back, him being on top of his game and to end on his terms

if we won in 2005 he would of retired

hong_kong_bond
21 Dec 2006, 10:42
http://cricket.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&id=38382

all confirmed on CA website....:(

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:43
Team number 1, going to retire after the Ashes anyway, Opportunity to play in front of Friends family. Happy man. Would have retired after 2005 had they won.

peternorth
yep, hes retiring :(

Mr P@H
County?

Doesn't seem like it, seems he's going to honour his contract

usalion
Nothing about hampshire as yet- Mr. P may have the great man a couple more years yet

Hap Hapablap
hes gone people. its all over

Tim the Toolman
Talk about all over the shop. Wasn't he supposedly on a plane to Sydney to do it with Pidge? What's Pidge doing today? No news on that front.

Heard that Warney was hanging around a private jet this morning at Avalon?

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 10:46
No better than the Members at his home ground to make his retirement statement

Unfinished business with the urn
We don't want the english to win anything...England deserved to win that series
Talked with Punter in Perth

Star
21 Dec 2006, 10:46
Would have retired after 2005 had they won.

Now that is a big call. Hard to believe

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:48
Fave test in SL in 1992 and Adealide test this year. Wants to win 5-0

ManWithNoName
21 Dec 2006, 10:50
He's still playing for Hampshire.

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:50
WILL honour Hants contract, HOOOOOOORAY :thumbsu::D

peternorth
21 Dec 2006, 10:51
he should play for the vics!!!

Drummond
21 Dec 2006, 10:51
He's still going to play English country cricket?

What the heck Warnie??? :confused: :(

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 10:52
Will honour the hampshire contract- Rose Bowl seel outs next year?

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 10:53

Has a contract with them- he will honour it- class act, is SKW

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 10:53
Will honour the hampshire contract- Rose Bowl seel outs next year?

We sell out most OD games anyway, won't get more than the old geezer and his Jack Russell (NOT the keeper) at CC games though.

Sedat!
21 Dec 2006, 10:55
Has a contract with them- he will honour it- class act, is SKW
Big $$$, and he clearly has a thing for buxom English blondes. I'd be playing for Hamps as well.

Mr P@H

He has this desire to win the County Championship, probably one of the few things he has yet to win, he can focus more on that this season to MAKE it happen/

usalion
Might try to get to England next summer to see Warnie with hants....

Drummond
21 Dec 2006, 10:56
To be quite honest I couldn't give a stuff about English country cricket. :thumbsd:

Play for Australia for crying out loud.

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 10:59
To be quite honest I couldn't give a stuff about English country cricket. :thumbsd:

You're missing the point- he has reached the mountaintop- there are no other international peaks to climb...county brings in a good income, and he had agreed to play two more years with Hampshire. Family could go to England with him with few problems, I'd think.

fryingpan
21 Dec 2006, 10:59
Sucks that he will be playing his last competitive cricket in England, with an English side.

Tim the Toolman
21 Dec 2006, 11:00
Obviously better talent in the UK? ;)

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 11:02
You're missing the point- he has reached the mountaintop- there are no other international peaks to climb...county brings in a good income, and he had agreed to play two more years with Hampshire. Family could go to England with him with few problems, I'd think.

Actually he is not on that big a salary at Hants, Not the biggest at the club anyway, prefers Rod to save dough for the Stadium, i'd say he's on half of what Mushie is at Sussex.

peternorth
21 Dec 2006, 11:02
He hasnt won a title with the Vics :(

Mr P@H
21 Dec 2006, 11:03

Well he hasn't had the chance i guess, 15 seasons with CA on a Central contract.

peternorth
21 Dec 2006, 11:06
Man I could sit and listen to Ritchie B all day

Cameron_K
Speaking to a Hampshire director 2 weeks ago they were unsure what was going to happen in regards to him honouring his contract.

I must say Warne handled himself very well.

crowsarethebest
After spending mroe time with the kids and After he has honoured his contract with Hampshire- do some coaching Warnie. What a legend. Revolutionized world cricket...

Hard Ball Get
21 Dec 2006, 11:07

He has to finishe his contract over there.
He has 2 years to run.

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 11:09
Boof toughest domestic bat he faced.

Hampshire- honouring his contract...couple things to win (County championship, one would guess)

King Elvis
21 Dec 2006, 11:10
Legend.

Rename the MCG after The Greatest Man.

RoosterLad
21 Dec 2006, 11:11
That was an awesome speech. Warnie is a great great man and handled himself brilliant.

As did Mr Benaud, he had a sexy tie on too.

Star
21 Dec 2006, 11:14
That was an awesome speech. Warnie is a great great man and handled himself brilliant.

As did Mr Benaud, he had a sexy tie on too.

Gotta catch a grab of this

Richie spoke at the press conference or was it in a hosting capacity?

likka
21 Dec 2006, 11:18
Should be up on youtube soon you would think...

Wonder if Simone will be going to UK with him.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2006, 11:19
Gotta catch a grab of this

Richie spoke at the press conference or was it in a hosting capacity?
Mike Munro and Richie was co hosting

usalion
21 Dec 2006, 11:20
Handled himself well, did Shane. Reckon he will slide well into the media, if that is his final destination

Coin_Toss
21 Dec 2006, 11:21
Well said. It nearly brought a tear to my eye.

SKW- simply the best...

Star
21 Dec 2006, 11:25
Mike Munro and Richie was co hosting

Cheers for that RG4E

Richie has a certain aura about him. Knows how to make a point without coming across like a tool as some other long standing commentators do *cough* Chappelli *cough*

Hard Ball Get
21 Dec 2006, 11:28
Cheers for that RG4E

Richie has a certain aura about him. Knows how to make a point without coming across like a tool as some other long standing commentators do *cough* Chappelli *cough*

Warney paind a massive tribute to Chappelli.
I dont think much of him either.

footyfreak
21 Dec 2006, 11:29

He has a contract Drummond!!!!!!He is going to honour that contract as any decent person would.

Use your head mate. You know how you get when you get emotional.

RoosterLad
21 Dec 2006, 11:32
Cheers for that RG4E

Even Mike Munro told Richie what a tremendous honour it was to be sitting beside him and Richie responded with something like it was an honour to be able to co-host the Warne retirement show with Mike etc, what a great bloke!

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2006, 11:36
Cheers for that RG4E

no worries

and Star it was Warnie who said that he would of retired if we won the ashes in 2005

Star
21 Dec 2006, 11:36
Even Mike Munro told Richie what a tremendous honour it was to be sitting beside him and Richie responded with something like it was an honour to be able to co-host the Warne retirement show with Mike etc, what a great bloke!

Surprised Eddie didn't do the gig himself given its importance and the national exposure

Star
21 Dec 2006, 11:39
no worries

and Star it was Warnie who said that he would of retired if we won the ashes in 2005

I know but given most are struggling to believe he has retired now, imagine if he did it 18 months ago. I always thought he'd go out at home which is what will happen

scooter600x
21 Dec 2006, 11:39

He hasn't played in a winning Shield/Pura Cup team but played games in both the 1990/91 and 2003/04 seasons.

roostersgal4eva
21 Dec 2006, 11:44
I know but given most are struggling to believe he has retired now, imagine if he did it 18 months ago. I always thought he'd go out at home which is what will happen
yeah

i suppose something came good out of loosing in 2005 after all :p