View Full Version : Top 10 Actors of all time
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 10:10
1) Al Pacino - Just pips DeNiro for the number one spot thanks largely to his amazing performance in Serpico.
Highlights: And Justice for All, Donnie Brasco, Godfather Trilogy, Dog Day Afternoon, Scarface, Serpico, Panic in Needle Park, Glengarry Glenross.
2) Robert DeNiro - Abit ordinary over the last few years but his earlier work is mainly first class.
Highlights: Raging Bull, Goodfellas, Mean Streets, Taxi Driver, The Deer Hunter, King of Comedy, This Boys Life, Once Upon A Time in America.
3) Jack Nicholson - Sensational in "one Flew Over..."
Highlights: One Flew Over......, Chinatown, As good as It Gets, Shining.
4) Dustin Hoffman - Like DeNiro, his work over the past few years ( almost a decade ) has been average at best, but still has some great performances under his belt.
Highlights: Papillon, Death of a Salesman, Rainman and his brilliant performance in Midnight Cowboy.
5) Jack Lemmon - One of my favourites purely for his performance as the sleazy and pathetic salesman in Glengarry Glenross.
Highlights: Glengarry Glenross, China Syndrome, Year of the Tiger ( haven't seen it but been told it is brilliant).
6) Sean Penn - Great Actor.
Highlights: Mystic River, Dean Man Walking, Casualties of War, Thin Red Line, 21 Grams, Carlitos Way, Colors, At Close Range, Bad Boys.
7) Leonardo DiCaprio - The best actor of his generation.
Highlights: This Boys Life, Basketball Diaries, The Aviator, What's eating Gilbert Grape.
8) Ben Kingsley
Highlights: Sexy Beast, Schindlers List, Gandhi, House of Sand and Fog.
9) Denzel Washington - Great Actor.
Highlights: Glory, Philadelphia, Inside Man, Traning Day, Hurricane.
10) James Woods - Probably way too high but Salvador is one of my all time favourites.
Highlights: Salvador, Once Upon A Time in America.
11-20 - In No particular order.
Russell Crowe, Gary Oldman, Steve McQueen, Clint Eastwood, Daniel Day Lewis, John Malkovich, Gene Hackman, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Robert Duvall and Tom Cruise.
ManWithNoName
1 Jan 2007, 10:19
Not even a mention for Marlon Brando?
1) Marlon Brando-The Godfather (Notable role)
2) Jack Nicholson-The Shining
3) Al Pacino -Scarface, The Godfather Parts I and II
4) Johnny Depp-POTC
5) Robert DeNiro-The Godfather Part II
I'm only doing a top 5, if I did a top 10 I may be giving positions to people who aren't worthy. I will have forgotten someone though.
EDIT: I did. Bruno Ganz who played Hitler in Downfall. Best acting performance I have ever seen.
SWANNIES RULE
1 Jan 2007, 10:32
I think Malkovich is the most talented actor.
Fuzzy Wuzzy Bear
1 Jan 2007, 10:40
Robert Deniro, Al Pacino, John Malkovich, Johnny Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Samuel L Jackson, Sam Neill are ones that spring to mind for me. I know it aint ten but I enjoy those seven the most.
FootyJunkie
1 Jan 2007, 10:51
1)
6) Sean Penn - Great Actor.
Highlights: Mystic River, Dean Man Walking, Casualties of War, Thin Red Line, 21 Grams, Carlitos Way, Colors, At Close Range, Bad Boys.
Fast Times at Ridgemont High - Jeff Spicoli - "Awesome. Totally AWESOME"
So from this thread there were no top class actors prior to 1970.
Nor any from Europe or Asia.
You learn something every day.
MagpieScouser
1 Jan 2007, 13:51
where are paul newman and robert redford?
The Old Dark Navy's
1 Jan 2007, 13:58
Brando
Clark Gable
Anthony Hopkins
John Cusack (one of the most versatitle and charismatic non-pretty boy actors I have seen)
Kevin Spacey
Jack Nicholson
Clint Eastwood
Morgan Freeman
Russell Crowe (does some fantastic character roles, Cinderella Man brilliant)
Dustin Hoffman
Maybe even Kevin Costner for some of his dramatic works.
John Malkovich
Ashton Kutcher (ha just testing you are awake)
Johnny Depp
Gene Hackman
probably heaps more
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 15:33
Not even a mention for Marlon Brando?
1) Marlon Brando-The Godfather (Notable role)
2) Jack Nicholson-The Shining
3) Al Pacino -Scarface, The Godfather Parts I and II
4) Johnny Depp-POTC
5) Robert DeNiro-The Godfather Part II
I'm only doing a top 5, if I did a top 10 I may be giving positions to people who aren't worthy. I will have forgotten someone though.
Never been a big fan of Brando. Mind you, apart from the Godfather and on The Waterfront, I haven't seen many of his movies.
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 15:49
I can't think of many great actors before 1970 other than Brando, Peck
Fonda and possibly Steiger. Most of the pre-70's Hollywood actors were pretty wooden.
Correct me if i'm wrong but isn't the UK part of Europe ( Oldman, Kingsley ). I would be interested to know which Asian actors would make your top 20, I for the life of me can't think of one.
ManWithNoName
1 Jan 2007, 15:53
Check out my edit, I knew I forgot someone.
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 15:56
Brando
Clark Gable
Anthony Hopkins
John Cusack (one of the most versatitle and charismatic non-pretty boy actors I have seen)
Kevin Spacey
Jack Nicholson
Clint Eastwood
Morgan Freeman
Russell Crowe (does some fantastic character roles, Cinderella Man brilliant)
Dustin Hoffman
Maybe even Kevin Costner for some of his dramatic works.
John Malkovich
Ashton Kutcher (ha just testing you are awake)
Johnny Depp
Gene Hackman
probably heaps more
I was a big John Cusack fan until I had to sit through the deplorable chick flick "Must Like Dogs". Ed Norton should have probably been in my 11-20 somewhere. Old Rusty was close to being in my top 10. I agree he was brilliant in Cinderalla Man and Romper Stomper, The Insider etc.
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 15:59
Check out my edit, I knew I forgot someone.
I agree, he was awesome in that movie. Another Europrean actor I really like is Roberto Benigni. He was great in Life is Beatiful but neither actor are top 20 material.
I can't think of many great actors before 1970 other than Brando, Peck
Fonda and possibly Steiger. Most of the pre-70's Hollywood actors were pretty wooden.
Correct me if i'm wrong but isn't the UK part of Europe ( Oldman, Kingsley ). I would be interested to know which Asian actors would make your top 20, I for the life of me can't think of one.
Obviously actors like Jimmy Stewart, Federic March, Toshiro Mifune, Spencer Tracy, Laurence Olivier, Alec Guiness, Bruno Ganz, William Holden, Kirk Douglas, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Giancarlo Giannini and Marcello Mastroianni were crap.
Crosby87
1 Jan 2007, 16:56
No particular order -
Marlon Brando
Robert De Niro
Al Pacino
Paul Newman
Dustin Hoffman
Jack Nicholson
Jack Lemmon
William Hurt
Peter O'Toole
Ben Kingsley
Honorable mentions:
Laurence Olivier, Sean Penn, Tom Hanks, Peter Fonda, Robert Redford, Spencer Tracy, Sidney Poitier, Gregory Peck, Ed Harris, John Malkovich, Warren Beatty, and Walter Matthau.
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 17:15
Jason Acuña
Yoshiaki Yasuda
Paul Hogan
John Cleese
Andrew Dice Clay
Steve-O
Spike Milligan
Will Smith
Ed Oneal
Nicole Kidman
CaptainDangerfield
1 Jan 2007, 18:17
Obviously actors like Jimmy Stewart, Federic March, Toshiro Mifune, Spencer Tracy, Laurence Olivier, Alec Guiness, Bruno Ganz, William Holden, Kirk Douglas, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Giancarlo Giannini and Marcello Mastroianni were crap.
No I didn't say they were crap, they're just not in MY top 20 because I have never heard of most of them or they were way before my time. You find it strange that I didn't include March, Mifune, Ganz, Holden, Douglas ( you've got to be joking ), Trintignant, Giannini and Mastroianni in my top 20 - Give me a break :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
FootyJunkie
1 Jan 2007, 18:40
I was a big John Cusack fan until I had to sit through the deplorable chick flick "Must Like Dogs".
Agree, it was a very bland chick flick. Usually there is some twist or plot point that will hold a guy's attention in a movie like this, but "Must Like Dogs" just didn't have it. Even my girlfriend at the time who I saw it with wanted to leave half way through.
sydney eagle
1 Jan 2007, 18:42
Obviously actors like Jimmy Stewart, Federic March, Toshiro Mifune, Spencer Tracy, Laurence Olivier, Alec Guiness, Bruno Ganz, William Holden, Kirk Douglas, Jean-Louis Trintignant, Giancarlo Giannini and Marcello Mastroianni were crap. Obviously !:rolleyes:
sydney eagle
1 Jan 2007, 18:45
As an addendum I have never been a fan of either Nicholson or Brando. Both built reputations early (not necessarily deserved in my opinion) and have coasted along trading on those reputations and making very little effort for a number of years. It wouldn't bother me if I never saw another film with either of them in it.
deluxeman
1 Jan 2007, 18:48
As an addendum I have never been a fan of either Nicholson or Brando. Both built reputations early (not necessarily deserved in my opinion) and have coasted along trading on those reputations and making very little effort for a number of years. It wouldn't bother me if I never saw another film with either of them in it.
I'm assuming you haven't seen the Departed?
sydney eagle
1 Jan 2007, 18:53
I'm assuming you haven't seen the Departed? No. Don't particularly want to. As I have said i'm not a fan of Nicholson and, unless there is some other reason for me to see a movie with him in it (other actors, script etc) I won't go and see his movies.
No I didn't say they were crap, they're just not in MY top 20 because I have never heard of most of them or they were way before my time.
I thought you may have known something about movies. Sorry, my mistake.
Before your time? Me too, I wasn't alive when a lot of those actors made their great films.
But unlike you, I've seen them. Do you only read books published after you were born?
You find it strange that I didn't include March, Mifune, Ganz, Holden, Douglas ( you've got to be joking ), Trintignant, Giannini and Mastroianni in my top 20 - Give me a break :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
It's really sad you don't have a clue.
Kirk Douglas? Ever seen Ace in the Hole or Out of the Past? Douglas has made some great films, ditto Holden like Sunset Boulevard and Stalag 17. But then again you've probably never heard of the great director Billy Wilder.
And with the last three, you've probably never heard of The Conformist (Trintignant), Love and Anarchy (Giannini) or La Dolce Vita (Mastroianni).
Ganz was in such German classics as Wings of Desire, The American Friend and Downfall.
You'll find one or both of Mifune's classics Rashomon and The Seven Samurai in most knowledgable Top 20 film lists.
But don't worry. Great films weren't made before you were born, they're not available on tape or DVD so you can't see them, and they're were never made in Europe (the other bits other than the UK) or Asia.
And you're just as ignorant as most people who post here.
Michael Douglas & Tom Cruise would have to be in the top 3 for mine.
Crosby87
1 Jan 2007, 20:06
If people choose not to see old film, or even foreign film, that's their prerogative. I agree, they are missing out, and there are some brilliant films and brilliant actors from that era, but to attack someone over their personal opinion of who they think are ten great actors is probably just an example of you trying to be an elitist.
Originally Posted by SpringChoke
No I didn't say they were crap, they're just not in MY top 20 because I have never heard of most of them or they were way before my time.
Right here he states he has never heard of the actors you mentioned. Therefore I find your trying to debate him on this amusing. He clearly is not going to include actors into his list of "top 10 actors" if he has no idea who they are.
If people choose not to see old film, or even foreign film, that's their prerogative. I agree, they are missing out, and there are some brilliant films and brilliant actors from that era, but to attack someone over their personal opinion of who they think are ten great actors is probably just an example of you trying to be an elitist.
Read the thread title? "Top 10 Actors of all time"
It wasn't since 1970 or only out of Hollywood.
Elitist? No, I just have some modest knowledge of film and (unusually here) realise that films were made prior to 1970 and in places other than Hollywood. The films and actors I refer to are hardly obscure.
These days old films are just as accessible as books written/published before you and I were born.
I'm sorry, but if you come on here and talk about films not knowing about say directors like Billy Wilder you are simply ignorant.
It has nothing to do with elitism.
Perhaps you and Spring Choke are equally ignorant about any history which happened before you were born?
MagpieScouser
1 Jan 2007, 20:34
where is chow yun fatt on the list?
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 20:37
I'm sorry, but if you come on here and talk about films not knowing about say directors like Billy Wilder you are simply ignorant.
It has nothing to do with elitism.
Phhht. It's elitism at its most arrogant.
sandeano
1 Jan 2007, 20:42
I hate to speak for others, but if Dry Rot would not mind, may I make an analogy to support his argument.
Seeing this is an AFL site we are all posting at, imagine a thread on the main board titled "Top 10 footballers of all time".
The list then given contains the likes of Voss, Buckley, Hird, Ablett, Brereton, Carey etc...but no mention of Barassi, Dyer, Whitten, Coleman, Pratt, Bunton, Reynolds and various others on the basis of 'they were before my time'.
You'd be shouted down in an instant.
Why should it be different here? The difference is that there is very little footage of those footballers left to evaluate, yet of the actors Dry Rot has mentioned, all have performances available to view today, either on DVD or regular TV repeats. Honestly, there is no excuse.
Sure, put in the caveat of 'top 10 actors of the past 20 years' or such, but if anyone is determined to use the 'all time' tag then they had better be bloody well prepared when they compile their list.
I hate to speak for others, but if Dry Rot would not mind, may I make an analogy to support his argument.
Certainly don't mind - excellent analogy.
And unlike footage of those past footy greats, old movies are so easy to access.
Phhht. It's elitism at its most arrogant.
Rubbish.
Sandeano's analogy is better, but what would you think of someone with no knowledge of history before they were born?
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 21:14
Seeing this is an AFL site we are all posting at, imagine a thread on the main board titled "Top 10 footballers of all time".
The list then given contains the likes of Voss, Buckley, Hird, Ablett, Brereton, Carey etc...but no mention of Barassi, Dyer, Whitten, Coleman, Pratt, Bunton, Reynolds and various others on the basis of 'they were before my time'.
Why should it be different here?
It's still elitism.
One party is ignorant, whilst the other plays the 'I'm so educated' (elitist) card. It's also pretentious.
Sandeano's analogy is better, but what would you think of someone with no knowledge of history before they were born?
You're right. sandeano's is better. :)
It's still elitism.
One party is ignorant, whilst the other plays the 'I'm so educated' (elitist) card. It's also pretentious.
Rubbish. We're talking about basic knowledge in a field. You might do better to focus on the abject ignorance of that party.
It's still elitism.
You're right. sandeano's is better. :)
Fine, but answer the question. In the area of film, it's bit like being ignorant about Hitler and World War 2.
And BTW do you you agree with Sandeano? Or by referring to Coventry or Coleman, is he being elitist too?
sandeano
1 Jan 2007, 21:27
It's still elitism.
Anyone who plays the "of all time" card is asking for trouble.
I make a handy part of my income writing and researching such matters and I would never be game enough to start a thread with such a title.
The fact of the matter is that the OP listed some pretty decent actors - their qualities I have no qualms with - but to call them the best of all time is just plain wrong and they need to be pulled up and corrected.
Al Pacino
Morgan Freeman
Gary Sinise
Cate Blanchett
Matt Damon
Brad Pitt (Seriously)
Sean Penn
Russel Crowe (hurts me to say it)
De Niro
Tom Hanks
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 21:32
Uh Huh. I'll most certainly pay that. :)
Given that films have been made from Edwardian times to the present and around the world, it's damned odd that the "Top 10 Actors of all time" are mostly American (some British) from films made from 1970.
But to be fair, this thread is just as silly as any top 10 or 20 film list thread here.
They have the same problems of abject ignorance.
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 22:04
You might do better to focus on the abject ignorance of that party.
In the area of film, it's bit like being ignorant about Hitler and World War 2.
Or of being ignorant of Godwins law (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godwin's_law) whilst chatting on an internet forum.
I know Godwins law. Lame attempt at avoiding the point.
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 22:21
I know Godwins law. Lame attempt at avoiding the point.
So ignorance is OK when you're it?
It's exactly the point. You want to chastise someone, and label them as ignorant, and then you go and play the "Oh no - you're dodging the question" card when you display your ignorance.
I couldn't care less about your question. I'm sitting here watching you call people names, and then display the same damn characteristics as you're labelling them with.
So ignorance is OK when you're it?
It's exactly the point. You want to chastise someone, and label them as ignorant, and then you go and play the "Oh no - you're dodging the question" card when you display your ignorance.
I couldn't care less about your question. I'm sitting here watching you call people names, and then display the same damn characteristics as you're labelling them with.
I just told you I knew Godwins Law, for whatever it matters.
Which bit don't you get? It's really simple - in most fields there's a base level of knowledge. And sure, there's heaps of fields I'm happy to admit I don't know anything about. I'm ignorant about many things, and don't post about them.
But when people post about films actors etc here and display ignorance of the most basic knowledge, and have no curiousity in learning more - well that's pretty sad.
And it happens all the time here.
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 22:40
...in most fields there's a base level of knowledge. And sure, there's heaps of fields I'm happy to admit I don't know anything about. I'm ignorant about many things, and don't post about them.
But when people post about films actors etc here and display ignorance of the most basic knowledge, and have no curiousity in learning more - well that's pretty sad.
And it happens all the time here.
I've noticed that. But just because someone doesn't acknowledge certain people doesn't mean they don't know anything about them. For instance, I think everything Billy Wilder did was complete and utter crap. Why? Because I simply hate all those old movies (with the single exception being Calamity Jane). In fact, I would put the Jackass flick above every single thing he did. That's how little I care for those films.
What did you think of my top 10 btw?
Take me back to the black hills.............
I've noticed that. But just because someone doesn't acknowledge certain people doesn't mean they don't know anything about them.
The guy who started the thread didn't know, nor do most here.
For instance, I think everything Billy Wilder did was complete and utter crap. Why? Because I simply hate all those old movies (with the single exception being Calamity Jane). In fact, I would put the Jackass flick above every single thing he did. That's how little I care for those films.
Given your attitude, I doubt you've ever seen a Wilder film. And given your Calamity Jane reference and your top 10 you're simply taking the piss and not worth arguing with.
sandeano
1 Jan 2007, 22:54
For instance, I think everything Billy Wilder did was complete and utter crap.
Now see I would have no problem with that if you have seen everything Billy Wilder has directed.
"I just blew in from the windy city..."
Now see I would have no problem with that if you have seen everything Billy Wilder has directed.
He probably hasn't seen any of them.
CattyBossDog
1 Jan 2007, 23:17
I haven't seen any of them through, that's for sure. Unmitigated tripe imo.
The_Eagles
2 Jan 2007, 00:11
tom hanks
harrison ford
where is the love for the blockbuster
Peninsula Boy
2 Jan 2007, 00:16
This is for Dry Rot
Klaus Kinski
Dustin Hoffman
Michael Pitt
Phillip Seymour Hoffman
Cary Grant
James Stewart
Emily Watson
Marlon Brando
Annie Inoh Shizuka
Faye Wong
Chishu Ryu
Setsuko Hara
Edward G. Robinson
Meryl Streep
Udo Kier
Jon Voight
James Spader
Harvey Kietel
Lucille Ball
Buster Keaton
Samuel L. Jackson
Shu Qi
Plenty of others.
Crosby87
2 Jan 2007, 02:17
Why should it be different here? The difference is that there is very little footage of those footballers left to evaluate, yet of the actors Dry Rot has mentioned, all have performances available to view today, either on DVD or regular TV repeats. Honestly, there is no excuse.
Sure, put in the caveat of 'top 10 actors of the past 20 years' or such, but if anyone is determined to use the 'all time' tag then they had better be bloody well prepared when they compile their list.
Yeah.
So that means people on an internet message board can't put their personal top 10 list of all time, because an elitist know-it-all bitches and moans about his favourite actors not being on the list.
Give me a break. Talk about taking things too seriously. So from now on, nobody reply to any threads unless you are an absolute expert on the subject, and have done hours of research, rather than thinking off the top of your head. Oh, and you'd better not exclude some actor from the 20's that you had no idea even existed, because you're ignorant. I mean, seriously, this isn't film class. I mean, had the original poster put in your own opinon, from what you have seen, there'd be no reason to debate people, but I'm sure he'd be there doing it.
And I have no problem with his choices of great actors, I just think it's ridiculous to put down people over such a petty thing. He couldn't just make his list and move on. But that's not trying to be an elitist at all, is it?
Furthermore, based on that theory, if someone was to make their personal list of who they think are the Top 10 Actors of All Time, and he had a wide selection of actors from present day, to the 70's, to the 50's, and even to the 30's, but then someone said - wait a minute, you left James Stewart off the list. The reply of course is, "well, I haven't seen any of his movies." So then, based on this theory, he has absolutely no right to make a list, DESPITE the fact that he may have actors from every era of film, simply because he has not seen Jimmy Stewart?
Yet, I'm sure there are a lot of actors dry hot hasn't seen - but suddenly he's qualified to make such a list. Thus, based on the analogy supplied, one would have had to have seen every movie ever made in the history of film, and then be able to deduce from that who truly were the greatest actors ever... of all time.
And that, of course, is impossible, unless you have a lot of time on your hands.
So thus, perhaps the thread should be titled - "Top 10 Actors of all time, in your opinion, and from the films you have seen". Then perhaps we wouldn't have dry rot calling people ignorant.
I sincerely doubt that.
I agree with this post, one can only answer the question asked, the person asking question shouldn't presume the person giving the answer will answer how they want, also with these list, we should remember that they are personal preference and should stick to discussing the question, not attacking the poster (Play the ball, not the Man) unless your in Bay 13:D
Yeah.
So that means people on an internet message board can't put their personal top 10 list of all time, because an elitist know-it-all bitches and moans about his favourite actors not being on the list.
Give me a break. Talk about taking things too seriously. So from now on, nobody reply to any threads unless you are an absolute expert on the subject, and have done hours of research, rather than thinking off the top of your head. Oh, and you'd better not exclude some actor from the 20's that you had no idea even existed, because you're ignorant. I mean, seriously, this isn't film class. I mean, had the original poster put in your own opinon, from what you have seen, there'd be no reason to debate people, but I'm sure he'd be there doing it.
And I have no problem with his choices of great actors, I just think it's ridiculous to put down people over such a petty thing. He couldn't just make his list and move on. But that's not trying to be an elitist at all, is it?
Furthermore, based on that theory, if someone was to make their personal list of who they think are the Top 10 Actors of All Time, and he had a wide selection of actors from present day, to the 70's, to the 50's, and even to the 30's, but then someone said - wait a minute, you left James Stewart off the list. The reply of course is, "well, I haven't seen any of his movies." So then, based on this theory, he has absolutely no right to make a list, DESPITE the fact that he may have actors from every era of film, simply because he has not seen Jimmy Stewart?
Yet, I'm sure there are a lot of actors dry hot hasn't seen - but suddenly he's qualified to make such a list. Thus, based on the analogy supplied, one would have had to have seen every movie ever made in the history of film, and then be able to deduce from that who truly were the greatest actors ever... of all time.
And that, of course, is impossible, unless you have a lot of time on your hands.
So thus, perhaps the thread should be titled - "Top 10 Actors of all time, in your opinion, and from the films you have seen". Then perhaps we wouldn't have dry rot calling people ignorant.
I sincerely doubt that.
I agree with this post, the point is to list your choices and discuss the merits of this actor over that actor, but please remember what you read are only words, some take this forum and others way too serious, which is really funny to watch, and very BOGAN like
Top 10 Actors
1. Giancarlo Giannini
2. Jean-Louis Trintignant
3. Daniel Auteuil
4. Clint Eastwood
5. Bill Murray
6. Vincent Cassel
7. Alain Delon
8. Marcello Mastroianni
9. James Stewart
10. David Wenham
Top 10 Actresses
1. Cate Blanchett
2. Claudia Cardinale
3. Louise Brooks
4. Mathilda May
5. Gong Li
6. Ginger Rogers
7. Juliette Binoche
8. Catherine Deneuve
9. Maribel Verdu
10. Dominique Sanda
Captain Sensible
2 Jan 2007, 06:51
Top 10 Actors
Top 10 Actresses
I hate the terms 'actor' and 'actress'-Theyre all actors.
Anyway no mention at all of Bogart on anyones list? Easily the greatest American actor of the first half of the twentieth century.
everyones forgotten jackie chan.
Timmy from Thomastown
2 Jan 2007, 08:15
[quote=CattyBossDog;6472744] I think everything Billy Wilder did was complete and utter crap.
[quote]
Williy Wonka was a great film.
So was Stir Crazy.
And Blazing Saddles!!!!
;)
MagpieScouser
2 Jan 2007, 08:27
where is hilary s********? and i agree jackie chan is very underated
Cassius_Clay
2 Jan 2007, 08:34
If 95% of people don't care or have never heard of the European actors before the 70s whats the point of mentioning them?
Never spoke about my qualifications or otherwise. Neither do I really care about whether someone's on a list or not - it's simply indicative.
My simple point is that most who post here don't have some pretty basic knowledge of film, and have no great curiousity to find out more.
As sandeano said, similar stuff would get hammered on the AFL Board. But talking about it here is called elitism.
agitator
2 Jan 2007, 11:34
sideshow bob.
Big Nasty
2 Jan 2007, 11:57
1. Marlon Brando
2. Jack Nicholson
3. Al Pacino
4. Robert DeNiro
5. John Malkovich
Peninsula Boy
2 Jan 2007, 12:02
Never spoke about my qualifications or otherwise. Neither do I really care about whether someone's on a list or not - it's simply indicative.
My simple point is that most who post here don't have some pretty basic knowledge of film, and have no great curiousity to find out more.
As sandeano said, similar stuff would get hammered on the AFL Board. But talking about it here is called elitism.
I don't know about elitism. I think the people who are calling you elitist also have some issues of their own ignorance. However, I think, you, Dry Rot, should understand the wonder of subjectivity, especially when compiling or criticising that which can be only subjective or opinion.
Anyway no mention at all of Bogart on anyones list? Easily the greatest American actor of the first half of the twentieth century.
Fatty Arbuckle:D
Syd Swan
2 Jan 2007, 13:13
Ed Norton
John Travolta
Jack Nicholson
Samuel L Jackson
Chevy Chase
No one has mentioned these three yet...
Orson Welles
Charles Laughton
John Cazale
Crosby87
2 Jan 2007, 19:34
I don't think anyone came out and said "I don't give a ********, I don't want to watch old movies". But I agree with you on that - it's a shame that people do not want to see movies pre-1970, or whatever. It is a shame.
And that is being ignorant. But for whatever reason if people have never heard of such actors, I don't think they should be attacked. If they say "oh, old actors are bad anyway" without even have seen them, then that's being ignorant.
I just fail to see the point of calling the majority of the posters on the board ignorant for posting their top ten movie list. As I said, perhaps had the title been a bit more specific and included "in your opinion, from what you have seen", there'd be no argument.
ManWithNoName
2 Jan 2007, 20:03
********, I forgot Gregory Peck too. My memory is disgraceful.
You are all wasting your time.
Schwarzenegger was the man!
I think Tom Cruise, Gregory Peck and jonny depp deserve a mention
This is not the best all time or anything like that by my favourites
Tom Hanks – anyone who can be on-screen by himself (with Wilson the volleyball) for just over 1 hour and keep the audience interested has some serious talent. Forrest Gump and Big.
Jack Thompson – Aussie icon.
Russell Crowe – From ‘Romper Stomper’ to ‘Sum of all us’ via ‘Gladiator’ and now ‘Cinderella Man’ Russell Crowe is a true movie star who can transform himself into a different character and make it believable.
Paul Hogan – Mick ‘Croc’ Dundee
Tom Cruse – the man can act, enough said.
Johnny Depp - :thumbsu: :thumbsu: for POTCB Captain Jack Sparrow
No disrespect to any movie or actor who stared before the 1980s but that’s just before my time.
When these actors are in movies I generally see them.
Ed Harris
Sean Penn
Al Pacino
Robert Deniro
Johnny Depp
Kevin Spacey
Big Jack
John Malkovich (NOT eragon)
Ed Harris is very underrated and one of the best in his craft IMO. He and Sean Penn bring a level of believability to a role that sucks me into their films.
I tend to avoid Tom Cruise like the plague... although I didn't mind War of the Worlds.
legitimatic
2 Jan 2007, 21:42
Samuel L Jackson, there are none better :D
Add Richard Burton to the list.
Crosby87
3 Jan 2007, 01:33
When these actors are in movies I generally see them.
Ed Harris
Sean Penn
Al Pacino
Robert Deniro
Johnny Depp
Kevin Spacey
Big Jack
John Malkovich (NOT eragon)
Ed Harris is very underrated and one of the best in his craft IMO. He and Sean Penn bring a level of believability to a role that sucks me into their films.
I tend to avoid Tom Cruise like the plague... although I didn't mind War of the Worlds.
Yes! Nice to see some love for Ed Harris.
My top ten actors (in no order)
Robert Mitchum
Paul Newman
Gene Hackman
Dana Andrews
William Powell
Humphrey Bogart
Gary Cooper
Clark Gable
Anthony Perkins
Peter Finch
My top ten actresses (In no order)
Bette Davis
Myrna Loy
Jean Harlow
Barbara Stanwyck
Jeanne Craine
Gene Tierney
Piper Laurie
Joanne Woodward (could have been one of American's greatest actresses had she not married)
Patricia Neal
Jean Simmons
Mint Condition
3 Jan 2007, 13:11
Laurence Olivier
Marlon Brando
Robert DeNiro
James Stewart
Alec Guinness
Al Pacino
Humphrey Bogart
Jack Nicholson
Anthony Hopkins
Dustin Hoffman
Noddy Holder
3 Jan 2007, 14:42
1. Anthony Hopkins
2. Gregory Peck
3. Cary Grant
4. Harrison Ford
5. James Stewart
6. Kevin Spacey
7. Russell Crowe
8. Robert de Niro
9. Christopher Plummer
10. Jack Nicholson
CaptainDangerfield
4 Jan 2007, 19:01
I thought you may have known something about movies. Sorry, my mistake.
Before your time? Me too, I wasn't alive when a lot of those actors made their great films.
But unlike you, I've seen them. Do you only read books published after you were born?
It's really sad you don't have a clue.
Kirk Douglas? Ever seen Ace in the Hole or Out of the Past? Douglas has made some great films, ditto Holden like Sunset Boulevard and Stalag 17. But then again you've probably never heard of the great director Billy Wilder.
And with the last three, you've probably never heard of The Conformist (Trintignant), Love and Anarchy (Giannini) or La Dolce Vita (Mastroianni).
Ganz was in such German classics as Wings of Desire, The American Friend and Downfall.
You'll find one or both of Mifune's classics Rashomon and The Seven Samurai in most knowledgable Top 20 film lists.
But don't worry. Great films weren't made before you were born, they're not available on tape or DVD so you can't see them, and they're were never made in Europe (the other bits other than the UK) or Asia.
Yawn...
I agree Bigfooty seems to be littered with ignorant prats. They're nearly as annoying as the wa*nkers who suffer from small mans syndrome and feel the need to hijack every second thread in a desperate bid to boost their own fragile ego. Sound familar.
Congratulations though DryRot we all now know you like alternative and obscure movies, you know the type that can satisfy your obvious massive intellect. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ( Look at Me, Look at Me).
I have seen many movies made before 1970 but none of those actors are in my top 10 favourites. You're really struggling with that aren't you?
sydney eagle
5 Jan 2007, 07:41
1. Anthony Hopkins
2. Gregory Peck
3. Cary Grant
4. Harrison Ford
5. James Stewart
6. Kevin Spacey
7. Russell Crowe
8. Robert de Niro
9. Christopher Plummer
10. Jack Nicholson I agree with nine out of ten of your choices. I'd have Humphrey Bogart, Paul Newman or Sir Alrc Guiness ahead of Nicholson personally.
Greg Miller= Messiah
5 Jan 2007, 19:51
This is too hard to do. I mean I obviously havent seen every movie there is and I simply haven't seen enough good one with big name actors.
I've only really started following films closely this last year or so. I enjoy Martin Scorsese films and as such love everything RObert De Niro does so he is my number one but how do I rate people like MArlon Brando when I've only seen him in the Godfather and the Last Tango in Paris. He's great in those but how can i compare him to De niro properly.
Also where do you rate someone like John Cleese the greatest comedian the World has ever seen IMO but can I compare him to serious actors.
Here is MY top 10 of people Ie enjoy seeing the most on screen. They may not be the top 10 actors but there the people I most enjoy seeing on screen comedians included and remember this is my opinion
1. John Cleese (greatest comedian that has ever lived.)
2. Robert DeNiro (favourite actor a genius)
3. Joe Pesci (an inspiration to us short people everywhere, not the greatest actor on my list but everytime I see him on screen i can't help but enjoy)
4. Al Pacino (I like DeNiro a little more but there both great)
5. Dustin Hoffman (a legend)
6. Gene Hackman (a great actor)
7. Rowan Atkinson (the second greatest comedian that's ever lived
8. Christopher Walken (Always love seeing this guy for some reason he is a wonderful actor)
9. Harvey Keitel (SOmeone who has had to live in Deniros shadow which is a shame as he is one of the greatest actors ever)
10. Eddie Murphy and Dan Akyroyd in the 80s (Controversial selection I know but these two in the 80s were wonderful any movie staring them was hilarious sadly they have both fallen away now)
Others: Steve Buscemi, Bill Murray, Jim Carey, Morgan Freeman, John Cazale, John C Reilly, Michael Imperilli, JAmes Gandolphini, Jack Nicholson, Christian Slater, Michael Madsen, Leonardo DiCaprio
Favourite actresses
Jodie FOster, Uma Thurman, Julliette Lewis, Meryll Streep, Kate Winslett, Patricia Arquette
Asgardian
6 Jan 2007, 00:14
I can't list only ten
Humphrey Bogart
Kenneth Branagh
Marlon Brando
Gabriel Byrne
James Cagney
Michael Caine
Charles Chaplin
Montgomery Clift
Gary Cooper