View Full Version : Nathan Buckley
danzan22
10th January 2007, 15:39
Obviously i dont like collingwood but its hard not to give ure respect to one of their greats, Nathan buckley. Found a good video about him and thought all pies fans would love it.
NSnx0jKFOoc
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 15:50
Some great vision. Will never be a Hirdy or a Voss, but certianly a solid player over a long time!
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 17:08
Some great vision. Will never be a Hirdy or a Voss, but certianly a solid player over a long time!
Solid? you are one of the most ignorant imbeciles i have ever read on this site. Not only is he a CHAMPION of the Collingwood Footy Club, he is a CHAMPION OF THE GAME, and one of, if not the best centreman of all time.
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 17:32
Solid? you are one of the most ignorant imbeciles i have ever read on this site. Not only is he a CHAMPION of the Collingwood Footy Club, he is a CHAMPION OF THE GAME, and one of, if not the best centreman of all time.
Figgy has been a great Pie. Not in the same league as a Hird, Voss, Diesel Williams, Banger Harvey etc. More of a Kouta, West type.
Re being considered the best centreman of all time??? I doubt his name was even brought up when the team of the century was discussed.
Perhaps Pies best centreman ever, as Pies have never really had any "league great" standouts - hence no players in the Team of the Century.
As i said, solid footage of a very solid contributor.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:13
[/B][/U]
Figgy has been a great Pie. Not in the same league as a Hird, Voss, Diesel Williams, Banger Harvey etc. More of a Kouta, West type.
Re being considered the best centreman of all time??? I doubt his name was even brought up when the team of the century was discussed.
Perhaps Pies best centreman ever, as Pies have never really had any "league great" standouts - hence no players in the Team of the Century.
You truely are shade blind. Don't let the shades bucks wears week in, week out blind you to the fact he is a CHAMPION of the game.
He has captained Collingwood, arguably the most famous sporting club in Australia, for 7 years, he holds the record for most B and F's at the club, as well as most games as Captain for the club.
In addition to that, he is one of only 4 players to win a norm smith in a LOSING grand final side- Maurice Rioli, Gary Ablett, Natahn Buckley and Chris Judd.
Furthermore, bucks hasn't had the luxury of being in super star sides in respect to Voss and Hird. Nathan, in one of the most medicore sides in the 1990's, still managed to be consistently int he top 5 players in the modern competition. This is evident by the fact that Bucks has averaged the most Brownlow votes per seaosn otu of anyone in the leagues history.
Buckley wasn't in the team of the century because that side was done 10 years ago. re-evaluate that now, and i am most certain he would at the very least command a spot on the inter change bench.
I'll have you know, that COllingwood have had legends- Gordon Coventry held the Goal kicking record for nearly 80 years, even from an era where they played less games in a year compared to H/A games nowadays.
You truely are a baffoon, an ape, a MONKEY of every literal sense. You are living in the complete pre-historic ages and are letting your passion of hating collingwood blind the fact that you are insulting a champion by demeaning him to the realms of mediocirty.
HE IS A LEGEND. HE IS A BROWNLOW MEDALLIST, HE IS A NORM SMITH MEDALLIST, HE IS A/ THE GREATEST COLLINGWOOD PLAYER EQUAL WITH BOB ROSE, IF NOT BETTER. HE IS, WITHOUT QUESTION, ONE OF THE ALL TIME GREATS OF THE AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE, YOU DISRESPECTFUL IMBECILE.
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 18:33
He's a blood smearing, bogan wife marrying, diving, figjam, wanting to leave Brisbane for premiership success......solid player.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:35
He's a blood smearing, bogan wife marrying, diving, figjam, wanting to leave Brisbane for premiership success......solid player.
hmm, i love your counter argument logic to his on field performance over the past 14 years of his career- well debated. Idiot.
danzan22
10th January 2007, 18:38
settle down people, buckley is a champion of collingwood but he is not a all time great of the game, thats people more like matthews, carey, ablett, reynolds, bunton, tuck, conventry etc.
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 18:38
My first post was fair and accurate. I did enjoy the vision.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:44
settle down people, buckley is a champion of collingwood but he is not a all time great of the game, thats people more like matthews, carey, ablett, reynolds, bunton, tuck, conventry etc.
OMG, has the whole world gone insane. In a time where fotobal is played, harder, faster and better than ever before, in a PROFESSIONAL environment, how can you say hes not a greta of the game?
He dominates in an era where every mistake is curicified, where the game is played on a professional level and every opponent is of the highest quality. He dominates in an era where football is played at its most deifficult peak. More running, more skills, etc etc.
You are just ignorant people for saying this. I don't belittle Hird, i accpet he is a champion and an all time great. Maybe you should do the same with buckley- it's the least he deserves.
danzan22
10th January 2007, 18:47
OMG, has the whole world gone insane. In a time where fotobal is played, harder, faster and better than ever before, in a PROFESSIONAL environment, how can you say hes not a greta of the game?
He dominates in an era where every mistake is curicified, where the game is played on a professional level and every opponent is of the highest quality. He dominates in an era where football is played at its most deifficult peak. More running, more skills, etc etc.
You are just ignorant people for saying this. I don't belittle Hird, i accpet he is a champion and an all time great. Maybe you should do the same with buckley- it's the least he deserves.
i guess we will have to agree to disagree.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:50
i guess we will have to agree to disagree.
No, no no no. It's not as simple as that. Imagine Buckley in a Western Bulldogs Jumper, with the same feats he has achieved in his past, or a Kangaroos Jumper, or an ESSENDON jumper. Now re-evaluate. I'm guessing your opinion has greatly changed.
Some of you are childish.
danzan22
10th January 2007, 18:51
No, no no no. It's not as simple as that. Imagine Buckley in a Western Bulldogs Jumper, with the same feats he has achieved in his past, or a Kangaroos Jumper, or an ESSENDON jumper. Now re-evaluate. I'm guessing your opinion has greatly changed.
Some of you are childish.
sorry i just dont rate him with other all time greats as the ones i listed above.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:53
sorry i just dont rate him with other all time greats as the ones i listed above.
Why not? the guy has done more than Harvey, achieved more than Scott West both ina team and individual perspective, yet you class him in the same 'group'.
Please, you've offended me; give an explanation as to WHY you don't rate this CHAMPION.
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 18:54
Bucks is ok. He will never be seen in the Carey, Ablett, Williams, Hird and Voss light....but then not many are.
He swims with the Wests, the Kouta's, the Harveys.
Still very nice swimming water, but not golden ponds.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 18:57
Bucks is ok. He will never be seen in the Carey, Ablett, Williams, Hird and Voss light....but then not many are.
WHY THOUGH? WHY? WHATS YOUR REASONING FOR THIS LOGIC/ CONCLUSION? it's just a baseless argument. How can you honestly say that, when Buckley has been a BETTER performed player than VOSS over his ENTIRE career compared to voss. From go to woe, Buckley has been a better, more consistent player than VOSS. Leave premierships out of this debate. You include ablett yet he never won a premiership, but rightly deserves his position as an all time great.
danzan22
10th January 2007, 19:01
Why not? the guy has done more than Harvey, achieved more than Scott West both ina team and individual perspective, yet you class him in the same 'group'.
Please, you've offended me; give an explanation as to WHY you don't rate this CHAMPION.All of the players i mentioned did more in there careers and were exceptional players imo, i dont think buckley is in the same league as these players. You could put up a poll and ask people what they think but i just dont believe he will go down as a all time great of the game.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 19:05
All of the players i mentioned did more in there careers and were exceptional players imo, i dont think buckley is in the same league as these players. You could put up a poll and ask people what they think but i just dont believe he will go down as a all time great of the game.
Why though? you still haven't given me an argument, a perspective as to why he isn't. No statistical in formation, no historical records, no comparitative analysis- nothing. If you were the prosecution lawyer in a criminal pre trial conference the defendant would've walked free about 10 posts ago.
danzan22
10th January 2007, 19:14
Why though? you still haven't given me an argument, a perspective as to why he isn't. No statistical in formation, no historical records, no comparitative analysis- nothing. If you were the prosecution lawyer in a criminal pre trial conference the defendant would've walked free about 10 posts ago.
Well let me use carey as a example, he was such a dominant player and such a great football player, to see him play was something special. With buckley i dont think feel the same, you dont get the same experience watching buckley compared to carey.
johnson_26
10th January 2007, 19:17
Well let me use carey as a example, he was such a dominant player and such a great football player, to see him play was something special. With buckley i dont think feel the same, you dont get the same experience watching buckley compared to carey.
That's baseless crap. You are talking absolute hogwash. 2 things:
A) in 1997/8 Nathan was sent to play on Carey by tony Shaw and totally eclipsed carey- the greatest CHF the game has ever seen.
B) didn't you watch the highlights package, the 2002 grand final, the Port Adelaide Game or, most evidentally, the Brisbane Game of 2006?
danzan22
10th January 2007, 19:24
Sorry mate but your gonna have to accept that not everyone is going to agree with your opinions, i accept that some people dont think hird is a all time great, everyones going to have different opinions of certain players and i just dont think bucks is a all time great of the game.
Monkeyboy
10th January 2007, 19:28
Sorry mate but your gonna have to accept that not everyone is going to agree with your opinions, i accept that some people dont think hird is a all time great, everyones going to have different opinions of certain players and i just dont think bucks is a all time great of the game.
Not many non Pie supporters do. And not many of his ex team mates would either. Was pretty awful watching him make an artform of berating his team mates if they didn't handball it too him. You could tell they all thought him a tool. Certainly helped pump up his stats though!
doppleganger
10th January 2007, 20:32
[/B][/U]
bahahaha
buckley has had a longer, more consistently brilliant career then both hird and voss. They all started at the same time and Buckley was the best when they started. Buckley again is better when they all finished.
Along the way Buckley has been consistently brilliant and a level above voss as a centreman, check out Buckley's record against Voss and Brisbane it is awesome, Buckley would take his game to another level when playing Brisbane and Voss couldn't go with him, Voss is mediocre in comparison.
hird was a floater who rarely played in the centre for full games let alone full seasons so hard to compare, yet his record against the pies speaks volumes.
Buckley has the best skills of the 3, the most important aspect of the game is being able to find and kick the ball, Buckley is miles ahead of Hird and Voss.
he will finish with the most individual accolades, most AA, most club b&f's, most BOG's in GF's
play the most games
yet he will miss out on what players strive for, team awards. But so did T.Lockett, G.Ablett, B.Skilton, R.Flower etc. so no shame there, he simply wasn't lucky to be blessed with good teams.
In terms of best Centreman in the second century it would be so far out of Buckley and West, id pick Buckley coz he is more damaging with the ball.
mudgeathon
10th January 2007, 21:50
This post is from a neautral supporter...
I'm not going to try and turn this into another Voss vs Buckley vs Hird comparrison
but going on individual accolades [none of this, becuase he has a premiership medal he is better crap] Buckley is more highly decorated than Hird and Voss
Voss:
- Brownlow Medalist
- Captain
- 2 x B/F
- 5 x B/F
- 2 X AFLPA MVP
Buckley:
- Rising Star Winner
- 6 x B/F winner
- 7 x AA :eek:
- Brownlow Medalist
- Norm Smith Medal
- Captain
Hird:
- Captain
- Brownlow Medal Winner
- 5 x AA
- 4 X B/F
- Norm Smith Medal
So the above accolades and my own personal oppinion refelct how I see these player against each other
Voss > Hird/Buckley
It is stupid and ignorrant not to include Buckley with these two, when infact he could be rated in front of Hird
mudgeathon
10th January 2007, 22:00
In terms of best Centreman in the second century it would be so far out of Buckley and West, id pick Buckley coz he is more damaging with the ball.
I'd disagree with that. First of all Scott West isn't in the top 5 candidates
The top 5 are since 2000 [in no order, yet] are
Mark Ricciuto
Michael Voss
Nathan Buckley
Ben Cousins
Chriss Judd [he's that good]
Out of these 5 Ricciuto has the most AA, Voss, Cousins and Judd have AFLPA MVP, 4 have Brownlow Medals
Mark Ricciuto - 5 x AA + Brownlow Medal
Michael Voss - 3 x AA + 2 x AFLPA MVP
Nathan Buckley - 3 x AA + Brownlow Medal
Ben Cousins - 4 x AA + 1 X AFLPA MVP + Brownlow Medal
Chriss Judd - 2 x AA + 1 X AFLPA MVP + Brownlow Medal
All have been AFL captains of their team since 2000, and won club B/F
So going on the above, the best 3 midfielders since 2000 have been
Michael Voss, Ben Cosins and Mark Riciuto: these 3 are the most highly decorated and most successfull of the above mentioned since 2000
As well as this Ben Cousins, has the highest Brownlow Votes to Games played ration of all players currently playing, only behind Chriss Judd...shows how underatted he is over in Melbourne
danzan22
10th January 2007, 22:02
Mark Ricciuto
Michael Voss
Nathan Buckley
Ben Cousins
Out of these 5 Ricciuto has the most AA, Voss, Cousins and Judd have AFLPA MVP, 4 have Brownlow Medals
Michael Voss, Ben Cosins and Mark Riciuto: these 3 are the most highly decorated and most successfull of the above mentioned since 2000
1996 means nothing now?
mudgeathon
10th January 2007, 22:05
1996 means nothing now?
Since 2000, as the original poster was going on about the best midfielders since 2000
Hope that clears it up
danzan22
10th January 2007, 22:12
Since 2000, as the original poster was going on about the best midfielders since 2000
Hope that clears it up
Oh, i see.
Dj Chriss
11th January 2007, 02:03
The team of the century should be from 1997 onwards, where buckley won 3 more bnfs and a couple more AA.
doppleganger
11th January 2007, 07:57
Mark Ricciuto
Michael Voss
Nathan Buckley
Ben Cousins
As well as this Ben Cousins, has the highest Brownlow Votes to Games played ration of all players currently playing, only behind Chriss Judd...shows how underatted he is over in Melbourne
1st century of VFL football 1897 - 1996
2nd century of VFL-AFL football 1997 - 2096
Cousins is hardly a centreman, more o rover or hff
Buckley simply beats Voss head to head, check out Buckleys record against brisbane, he simply outplayed him.
Ricciuto eh
Perhaps Judd may go past him, but in terms of centreman, Buckley has better individual records then Voss, Hird etc.
Yeah he played in ********e teams, but not sure how this is a measure of the individual?
doppleganger
11th January 2007, 07:58
Hope that clears it up
No i didn't, said of the second century!
mudgeathon
11th January 2007, 10:02
No i didn't, said of the second century!
Yep I stand corrected...just assumed you meant 2000 onwards...my mistake
Ignore my posts then
Johnson#26
11th January 2007, 16:04
The biggest legend of all time. Game Over.
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
11th January 2007, 18:24
Look... Buckley is overated, not up to Voss/Hird standard.... And its not predjudice againss Collingwood that makes it so... He just isnt, when he plays, from all that I have seen of him, he just lacks that... Special, majestic, magical aura that Voss and Hird and others of that kind posess...
And for the record the only people who say he is up to that standard are Collingwood people... Ever make the connection that maybe Collingwood people are the bius ones?
Overate there own players maybe?
Dj Chriss
12th January 2007, 18:41
Look... Buckley is overated, not up to Voss/Hird standard.... And its not predjudice againss Collingwood that makes it so... He just isnt, when he plays, from all that I have seen of him, he just lacks that... Special, majestic, magical aura that Voss and Hird and others of that kind posess...
And for the record the only people who say he is up to that standard are Collingwood people... Ever make the connection that maybe Collingwood people are the bius ones?
Overate there own players maybe?
Just like how hawthorn supporters overrate Franklin Roughhead Lewis Muston Ellis Birchall? Your an idiot buddy :thumbsu:
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
12th January 2007, 19:46
Just like how hawthorn supporters overrate Franklin Roughhead Lewis Muston Ellis Birchall? Your an idiot buddy :thumbsu:
Haha, this coming from a guy who supports Collingwood?
Oh tell us again about how good Travis Cloke and Dale Thomas are gonna be... :D
doppleganger
12th January 2007, 20:00
Haha, this coming from a guy who supports Collingwood?
Oh tell us again about how good Travis Cloke and Dale Thomas are gonna be... :D
t.cloke has shown more then roughy, and gave him a lesson when they played on each other
d.thomas has actually played some quality AFL football and done some spectacular things, which is more then u can say for lewis, ellis and muston!!
franklin looks like a gun tho!
u clearly need to have wayched more games that buckley actually played in
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
12th January 2007, 20:51
t.cloke has shown more then roughy, and gave him a lesson when they played on each other
d.thomas has actually played some quality AFL football and done some spectacular things, which is more then u can say for lewis, ellis and muston!!
franklin looks like a gun tho!
u clearly need to have wayched more games that buckley actually played in
How has Travis Cloke shown more then Roughy? Not denying the lad has shown promise but more then Roughy? Roughy has shown an awful lot in his short time at the Hawks:p
Ellis and Muston admited is all talk so far.. But Lewis has played very solid footy for 2 season nows.. Many 30 plus disposal matchs to his name.. He has shown an aggresive attack on the ball, willingness to stick his neck out for his team mates and plenty of skill.
Taking a nice specky dosent make Thomas a hero...He from my point of view has shown, yes he can be a good player, very nice skills, great speed/agility and as mentioned hes quiet a good leap but he has also shown inconcsistency and a soft streak.He also needs a haircut :D :thumbsu:
future29
12th January 2007, 21:18
u truly are a monkey because only a something with that level of intelligence could make post like this. what is it that seperates buckley from your hirds etc idiocacy. just to add to this if nathan bucklley is to attain a premiership medallion he will become the most capped player in afl history i think that rates him with the greats u twit go back to ya collingwood hating life u moron
Dj Chriss
12th January 2007, 23:24
How has Travis Cloke shown more then Roughy? Not denying the lad has shown promise but more then Roughy? Roughy has shown an awful lot in his short time at the Hawks:p
Ellis and Muston admited is all talk so far.. But Lewis has played very solid footy for 2 season nows.. Many 30 plus disposal matchs to his name.. He has shown an aggresive attack on the ball, willingness to stick his neck out for his team mates and plenty of skill.
Taking a nice specky dosent make Thomas a hero...He from my point of view has shown, yes he can be a good player, very nice skills, great speed/agility and as mentioned hes quiet a good leap but he has also shown inconcsistency and a soft streak.He also needs a haircut :D :thumbsu:
What has roughhead shown? How to get totally ********ted on by other forwards? And people say we wasted our number 2 :thumbsu:
doppleganger
13th January 2007, 10:14
Check out the rnd 17 game in 2006.
T.Cloke was matched up against roughy for plenty of that game and T.Cloke gave him the run around as the pies ended up being 10goals up at half time, T.Cloke was probably close to BOG.
u said it urself, Lewis is just a solid footballer.
The rest is simply all talk, pies players have actually produced on the big stage........hawthorn players are yet to do this
Like all first year players, Thomas was inconsistent, ran out of steam at stages, was pushed off the ball at times. But this will all come with age more pre-seasons under his belt.
He kicks match winning goals, chases down opponents, takes regular speccies, has the audacity in his first game to baulk a.mcleod and simply walk on by him. In his first final he took a screamer in Collingwood's backline as we were being smashed, average players dont do things like that. Of all the players that debuted in 06 Thomas showed the most spectacular superstar qualities, but the important thing is that he also does the little 1%. You haven't seen enough of him if u think he is soft. One of the reasons the pies overlooked Ellis is because he is a soft outside link man.
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
13th January 2007, 10:45
So the one good match that Travis has played makes him a God? Sounds remarkably like Tarrant all over again...:D
doppleganger
13th January 2007, 11:37
So the one good match that Travis ahs played makes him a God? Sounds remarkably like Tarrant all over again...:D
no, one smashing of roughy means that t.cloke has shown more then him so far!
nothing about making him a god
just hilarious how hawthorn fans rattle off random names of young kids who are going to be superstars when in reality all apart from franklin have shown nothing yet at AFL level to suggest that they will be anything special!
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
13th January 2007, 12:18
no, one smashing of roughy means that t.cloke has shown more then him so far!
nothing about making him a god
just hilarious how hawthorn fans rattle off random names of young kids who are going to be superstars when in reality all apart from franklin have shown nothing yet at AFL level to suggest that they will be anything special!
Same with Collingwood supporters, I mean you talk up guys like Heath Shaw enough for a decade...:) :thumbsu:
Dj Chriss
13th January 2007, 12:25
Same with Collingwood supporters, I mean you talk up guys like Heath Shaw enough for a decade...:) :thumbsu:
?? Hes being a usual dumb Hawthorn supporter yes??
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
13th January 2007, 12:31
?? Hes being a usual dumb Hawthorn supporter yes??
No one asked you :p Why don't you talk up premiership chances for a whole season and then drop out first round of finals again... I'd prefer to be a " dumb Hawthorn supporter " then follow a club thats making up numbers in the 8... :D :thumbsu:
magilla
13th January 2007, 13:52
No one asked you :p Why don't you talk up premiership chances for a whole season and then drop out first round of finals again... I'd prefer to be a " dumb Hawthorn supporter " then follow a club thats making up numbers in the 8... :D :thumbsu:
you'd rather make up the numbers in the bottom eight, i suppose someone has to be losers, may as well be hawthorn. take pride in your mediocre club not even making the finals :thumbsu: typical hawthorn attitude.
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
13th January 2007, 14:25
:pyou'd rather make up the numbers in the bottom eight, i suppose someone has to be losers, may as well be hawthorn. take pride in your mediocre club not even making the finals :thumbsu: typical hawthorn attitude.
Typical Collingwood attitude, thinking 8th place makes them a good side :p Your middle of the run mate, not a winner nor a loser, you achieved nothing good or bad... Your just sitting around, not effecting anything. While we shape the future of the sport by setting ourselves up for premiership success... Whatre you doing ? :D Your just as middle of the run as Richmond and the Kangas have been at the moment..
nick_savo
13th January 2007, 15:17
A great tribute to a great player
Now look everyone, i dont care what anybody says Buckley is a champion and i no you are all goin to think im saying that because im a collingwood supporter but im not saying it just because of that. i think harvey, west, hird, voss all those players are champions and i easily think buckley fits in with all them and i cant see y everyone else doesnt.
magilla
13th January 2007, 15:34
:p
Typical Collingwood attitude, thinking 8th place makes them a good side :p Your middle of the run mate, not a winner nor a loser, you achieved nothing good or bad... Your just sitting around, not effecting anything. While we shape the future of the sport by setting ourselves up for premiership success... Whatre you doing ? :D Your just as middle of the run as Richmond and the Kangas have been at the moment..
um we finished 5th for starters, 7th after finals. we achieved and effected more than hawthorn did. it's a shame you think consistently losing is the best way to build a premeirship side. i guarantee collingwood will outperform hawthorn for years to come. btw richmond finished higher than you as well. gee you hawks fans have a false sense of confindence and granduer.
Tarkyn_24
13th January 2007, 21:48
He is every bit equal to Hird and Voss.
See colours other then red and black and you might notice this. Unless you see navy blue and white
nick_savo
15th January 2007, 13:34
and i would rather follow a team that can at least make the 8, when was the last time hawthorn made the 8?
Nathan Buckley is a champion and i no you are going to think im saying it because im a collingwood supporter, its the same as i think voss, hird, harvey and west are all champions of the game.
P.S, i don't see crawfords name get mentioned with those guys ever.
eveyone who doesnt like collingwood and sheep i bet it all started with one guy not liking them and eveyone just followed, i have never heard a good reason off someone on why they dont like collingwood.
Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
15th January 2007, 14:07
and i would rather follow a team that can at least make the 8, when was the last time hawthorn made the 8?
Nathan Buckley is a champion and i no you are going to think im saying it because im a collingwood supporter, its the same as i think voss, hird, harvey and west are all champions of the game.
P.S, i don't see crawfords name get mentioned with those guys ever.
eveyone who doesnt like collingwood and sheep i bet it all started with one guy not liking them and eveyone just followed, i have never heard a good reason off someone on why they dont like collingwood.
Crawfords name dosent get mentioned because hes not up to that standard... At least I'll admit it... End of issue...However Collingwood must continuelly deny what is true because they are arrogant, bigoted and outright byius against every club except there own... That answers your query as to why everyone hates Collingwood.. At least you support a team making the 8? Making up numbers you mean!!! :) :thumbsu:
nick_savo
15th January 2007, 14:29
Crawfords name dosent get mentioned because hes not up to that standard... At least I'll admit it... End of issue...However Collingwood must continuelly deny what is true because they are arrogant, bigoted and outright byius against every club except there own... That answers your query as to why everyone hates Collingwood.. At least you support a team making the 8? Making up numbers you mean!!! :) :thumbsu:
So you your saying you would rather support a team that doesn't make the 8 rather than a team that does?
I am not byist, I support but i don't think everyone of our players is a superstar like Rocca i rekon he is usless. Buckley on the other hand is a true champion and that is my opinion you don't have to agree
Shaymuhz
17th January 2007, 11:54
You truely are shade blind. Don't let the shades bucks wears week in, week out blind you to the fact he is a CHAMPION of the game.
He has captained Collingwood, arguably the most famous sporting club in Australia, for 7 years, he holds the record for most B and F's at the club, as well as most games as Captain for the club.
In addition to that, he is one of only 4 players to win a norm smith in a LOSING grand final side- Maurice Rioli, Gary Ablett, Natahn Buckley and Chris Judd.
Furthermore, bucks hasn't had the luxury of being in super star sides in respect to Voss and Hird. Nathan, in one of the most medicore sides in the 1990's, still managed to be consistently int he top 5 players in the modern competition. This is evident by the fact that Bucks has averaged the most Brownlow votes per seaosn otu of anyone in the leagues history.
Buckley wasn't in the team of the century because that side was done 10 years ago. re-evaluate that now, and i am most certain he would at the very least command a spot on the inter change bench.
I'll have you know, that COllingwood have had legends- Gordon Coventry held the Goal kicking record for nearly 80 years, even from an era where they played less games in a year compared to H/A games nowadays.
You truely are a baffoon, an ape, a MONKEY of every literal sense. You are living in the complete pre-historic ages and are letting your passion of hating collingwood blind the fact that you are insulting a champion by demeaning him to the realms of mediocirty.
HE IS A LEGEND. HE IS A BROWNLOW MEDALLIST, HE IS A NORM SMITH MEDALLIST, HE IS A/ THE GREATEST COLLINGWOOD PLAYER EQUAL WITH BOB ROSE, IF NOT BETTER. HE IS, WITHOUT QUESTION, ONE OF THE ALL TIME GREATS OF THE AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE, YOU DISRESPECTFUL IMBECILE.
i didnt know nathan buckley posted on bigfooty!?!?:p
btw just as a reference, so far the only posters who believe buckley is in the same league as hird and voss have been collingwood supporters...but rest assured it is the supporters from every other football club in the league who are the truly bias ones...
magilla
17th January 2007, 13:11
i didnt know nathan buckley posted on bigfooty!?!?:p
btw just as a reference, so far the only posters who believe buckley is in the same league as hird and voss have been collingwood supporters...but rest assured it is the supporters from every other football club in the league who are the truly bias ones...
1 hawthorn supporter and a few essendon supporters are every other football club are they?, of course bombers fans will say hird is better than buckley. and hawks are delusional we all no that.
btw just as a reference, you obviously ignored this post.
mudgeathon (westcoast supporter)
So the above accolades and my own personal oppinion refelct how I see these player against each other
Voss > Hird/Buckley
It is stupid and ignorrant not to include Buckley with these two, when infact he could be rated in front of Hird
Shaymuhz
17th January 2007, 22:11
i ignore all the ramblings of an obvious alcoholic
Tarkyn_24
17th January 2007, 22:18
One superstar Freo's produced please?
Shaymuhz
17th January 2007, 23:28
matthew pavlich - not on the same level as hird and voss but, then again, neither is buckley
Dj Chriss
18th January 2007, 15:36
matthew pavlich - not on the same level as hird and voss but, then again, neither is buckley
He will be back at Adelaide soon so meh
Tarkyn_24
19th January 2007, 18:04
So you ARE calling Buckley a superstar. If Pavlich is, Buckley sure is
Kings Army
22nd January 2007, 15:16
That's baseless crap. You are talking absolute hogwash. 2 things:
A) in 1997/8 Nathan was sent to play on Carey by tony Shaw and totally eclipsed carey- the greatest CHF the game has ever seen.
B) didn't you watch the highlights package, the 2002 grand final, the Port Adelaide Game or, most evidentally, the Brisbane Game of 2006?
97 you played the Roos once - Carey missed most of the season but his stats in this game was 17 kicks 4 handballs 9 marks 1 goal.
98 you played us once again. Carey had 16 kicks 5 handballs 11 marks and 4 goals.
Both games 20 plus possies. If Bucks played on him in either of these games he did not eclipse him.
Please detate Voss and Hird but never mention Bucks in the same league as Carey.
For the record I would pick Voss and Hird in my team before Bucks!
Dj Chriss
22nd January 2007, 18:08
97 you played the Roos once - Carey missed most of the season but his stats in this game was 17 kicks 4 handballs 9 marks 1 goal.
98 you played us once again. Carey had 16 kicks 5 handballs 11 marks and 4 goals.
Both games 20 plus possies. If Bucks played on him in either of these games he did not eclipse him.
Please detate Voss and Hird but never mention Bucks in the same league as Carey.
For the record I would pick Voss and Hird in my team before Bucks!
In both games Buclkey didnt play on Carey til the 2nd quater and both times carey had domolished us in the 1st quater
Tarkyn_24
22nd January 2007, 19:35
Voss/Bucks > Hird
Moss Rocket
23rd January 2007, 06:41
Voss/Hird>>>Bucks
Nobody with teeth would doubt this!
TwisTz
12th August 2007, 20:37
Bucks/Hird > Voss.
Arrogant pricks can't be superstars. :)
chicko
16th August 2007, 10:14
Bucks/Hird > Voss.
Arrogant pricks can't be superstars. :)
hird and voss maybe but not bucks!!
the string will go again this week
Fireman_sam
16th August 2007, 10:36
I cant believe you are saying he is isnt in the same league as hird and voss.. Only thing that separates them is those two have captained a premiership.... James hird has no left foot... Nathan Buckley is the absolute pinnacle of a modern day highly skilled and hard working footballer.. Without doubt ahead of hird who is a front runner.... always played in good sides.. Bucks has done it the hard way. and when the pies were good.. he excelled winning a brownlow and a norm smith...
Anyone who does not have Buckley and Harvey in the same league as the greatest players ever is an absolute disgrace!:thumbsu:
And dont even mention Kouta up there.. had 1 good year...
Teh_Nub
22nd August 2007, 19:44
Voss = Hird = Buckley
They have all ben champions for there clubs, different clubs have different players to support there champions. eg Judd wouldnt be so dominant if he didnt have Cousins and Kerr to run with.
dale_thomas13
23rd August 2007, 10:17
Who the hell are you to judge who is a great footballer and who's not. Bucks is an absolute champion of the game, the perferct ambassator. He beats James Hird 10 times over. Hird's a sheepdog. He kicked a goal or to this year and everones says his in brownlow medal winning form. His a joke. Look at bucks more seriosly, the only this he hasnt done is win a preimiership.
Teh_Nub
23rd August 2007, 18:30
Buckley is in the Voss and Hird class. You may argue hes not as good or what ever but hes still in that class.
Also you cannot compare modern day footballers to olden day, the game has changed and you can only compare with fairness. Like the rules have changed and the game has changed with more pace etc
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.