View Full Version : OT: Get voting for the next Monopoly

AC7
10 Jan 2007, 20:36
Hi all

I know this is off topic but let's get some extra votes going for SA. Remember don't vote outside SA unless you really want to. :cool:

SA needs your vote. Let's try and make say the Borossa the next Mayfair on Monopoly. :thumbsu:

http://www.monopoly.com.au/

Go vote now and even better once you have voted clear your cache and restart your browser. Put in another vote. Yes you will have to log back into Big Footy. :p

AC7
10 Jan 2007, 20:37
Oh yeah, make a note on this thread what you voted for.

Cheers

crows98
10 Jan 2007, 20:39
I voted for the Adelaide Oval. :thumbsu:

AC7
10 Jan 2007, 20:46
I voted for the Adelaide Oval. :thumbsu:

Just voted again for Adelaide Oval this time. Let's make Adelaide Oval and the Borossa the the blue regions near where you pass GO.

crows98
10 Jan 2007, 20:56
Just voted again for Adelaide Oval this time. Let's make Adelaide Oval and the Borossa the the blue regions near where you pass GO.

That will be somewhere in Darwin or Tasmaina

If Adelaide was lucky enough to get selected it would be more like Pall Mall (the red ones) or the light blue ones just before the jail.

AC7
10 Jan 2007, 21:01

If Adelaide was lucky enough to get selected it would be more like Pall Mall (the red ones) or the light blue ones just before the jail.

Aren't the red ones quite good. They are the strand or something like that and .... but if we keep voting we may end up somewhere decent. The highest voted state gets Mayfair.

SA is sitting on 13% of votes where most other states are up around 14-15%

kimirocks
10 Jan 2007, 21:25
Adelaide Oval was my go. I see that and there is a momentary ejaculation. it can't be helped.

Vader
11 Jan 2007, 06:32
Read on another forum elsewhere the idea of reserving the red spaces for locations like Hindley St, Fyswick, Kings Cross....

Kind of thought it appropriate.

Capitalist
11 Jan 2007, 10:18
i don't think you are voting for adelaide oval, you are voting for Adelaide
I also think that each state is going to get some parts of the board so we aren't going to miss out...

I vote Murray Lands (me and 7% of the country :o )

swanfan
11 Jan 2007, 11:54
I voted Adelaide.

kimirocks
11 Jan 2007, 12:07
i don't think you are voting for adelaide oval, you are voting for Adelaide
I also think that each state is going to get some parts of the board so we aren't going to miss out...

I vote Murray Lands (me and 7% of the country :o )The pictre is of Adelaide Oval. Back in 5 :o

Leaping Lindner
11 Jan 2007, 16:18

Years ago in a time we like to call the mid-80's I had a copy of Australian Monopoly.From memory the adelaide ones were the light brown ones just before free parking and they used Victoria Square, Rundle Mall and King William St IIRC.

Capitalist
12 Jan 2007, 13:49
people need to vote again ! vic is currently leading with 20% of the votes so they will end up with mayfair and parklane if this wrong is not fixed !

go and vote for SA and anyone else none victorian :D

AC7
13 Jan 2007, 06:50
people need to vote again ! vic is currently leading with 20% of the votes so they will end up with mayfair and parklane if this wrong is not fixed !

go and vote for SA and anyone else none victorian :D

That's right get on it

lincsPJ
14 Jan 2007, 18:18
at this rate philip island will clean up "mayfair" with sovereign hill pushing for "park lane". just doesnt seem right!

AC7
14 Jan 2007, 21:52
at this rate philip island will clean up "mayfair" with sovereign hill pushing for "park lane". just doesnt seem right!

Yes this makes no sense. As if a hotel on Phillip Island is gonna earn you anything. It's only used for days trips isn't it. ;)

They should have had the snow resorts.

Anyway keep voting Borossa everyone. Even though SA might not get the highest percentage the Borossa might.

AC7
14 Jan 2007, 21:57
Yes this makes no sense. As if a hotel on Phillip Island is gonna earn you anything. It's only used for days trips isn't it. ;)

They should have had the snow resorts.

Anyway keep voting Borossa everyone. Even though SA might not get the highest percentage the Borossa might.

Wouldn't it help if we also voted for the unlikelys like ACT, NT and Tasmania? This would help cut into Victoria, WA, QLD and NSW percentages.

PHX
15 Jan 2007, 20:08
Vote for Tassie while you're there as we'll never reach SA, VIC, QLD or NSW anyway. :)

Just dont want the ********ty Old Kent ones. Pall Mall area will be fine.

We need help with this due to our pissy population.

EDIT: Word, AC9!

snakebite01
16 Jan 2007, 13:46
SA's overtaken Vic and WA.

21%-20%-18%.

roostersgal4eva
16 Jan 2007, 14:28
put my vote in :)

lincsPJ
16 Jan 2007, 17:09
still a long way to go, but would love to see our barossa get on the royal blues!

kimirocks
17 Jan 2007, 10:22
22% SA
19% WA
19% Vic
10% NSW
10% QLD

Going good so far.

gothecrows
17 Jan 2007, 11:59
If anyone's feeling particularly parochial, there's an easy way to vote more than once a day:

- Vote
- Delete cookies from your browser
- Go back to www.monopoly.com.au
- Repeat

:)

kimirocks
17 Jan 2007, 12:23
I was contemplating checking that one out. And I am considering doing it. ******** you Victoria.

crows98
17 Jan 2007, 19:24
I was contemplating checking that one out. And I am considering doing it. ******** you Victoria.

:D :D :D :thumbsu:

SA >>>> Vic

Crowz Gal
18 Jan 2007, 09:55
WA 22% equal with SA
whats happenin??

Blue Red and Gold
19 Jan 2007, 13:33
SA has skipped well ahead now 27% to WA's 19%

Capitalist
22 Jan 2007, 16:44
getting caught by the vics - again 23% a piece :thumbsd:

wog777
22 Jan 2007, 21:37
we're up SA 24% - 23% Vic

kimirocks
23 Jan 2007, 10:11
SA 100%, nowwhere else figures. LOL.
On second viewing, seems as though there may be a glitch.

Edit: viewied through IE, and we is on 30%, others on 21%

Capitalist
25 Jan 2007, 10:50
bloody hell now we are 30% with the sandgropers - come on lads fire up

Leaping Lindner
25 Jan 2007, 17:16
Someone from Hasbro was on the radio here yesterday and they were saying if voting closed then the Barossa would be Mayfair and Adelaide would be Park Lane. The local radio announcers were then trying to get everyone fired up and start voting for Victoria. So expect a sudden rise in Victoria's votes very soon.

nivek48
26 Jan 2007, 13:59
now ... SA 35% WA 35%

get voting!

:thumbsu:

wog777
28 Jan 2007, 22:06
Has anyone put this on the port adelaide board? Could be a good idea if it hasn't been done already.

nivek48
31 Jan 2007, 16:52
Has anyone put this on the port adelaide board? Could be a good idea if it hasn't been done already.

I did :thumbsu: and powerfromport.com also

PrideOf
31 Jan 2007, 19:03
Someone from Hasbro was on the radio here yesterday and they were saying if voting closed then the Barossa would be Mayfair and Adelaide would be Park Lane. The local radio announcers were then trying to get everyone fired up and start voting for Victoria. So expect a sudden rise in Victoria's votes very soon.

Of course they did. Then they went on Brisbane radio to say Sydney was in front and then on Perth radio to say WA would miss out all together ...

Thunderstruck
31 Jan 2007, 19:36
Have found out u can vote from different browsers from the same computer so get voting!! I'm usually on around 2 computers a day, one from uni one at home X2 browsers = 4 votes/day.

JADED
1 Feb 2007, 02:39
I've voted Adelaide whenever i remember to do so. 10 days to go. Lets bury them.
Adelaide 37.5%
Perth 31.9%

I have a feeling they'll rig the last day and Sydney will scrape home. LOL

Not to fussed being an Adelaide based WCE fan.

nivek48
1 Feb 2007, 06:40
now ...

SA 38 %
WA 31.3%

AC7
1 Feb 2007, 07:59
now ...

SA 38 %
WA 31.3%

agreed time to finish this. get voting.

www.monopoly.com.au (http://www.monopoly.com.au)

Blue Red and Gold
1 Feb 2007, 15:04
anyone else think this is a bit suss?

The voting seems to fluctuate too much.

lincsPJ
1 Feb 2007, 16:46
anyone else think this is a bit suss?

The voting seems to fluctuate too much.

i dont think.. it just plain is! its unlimited voting as far as i know. unless it registers your IP address or something and only allows 1 per day without telling you. cos the way i see it you can vote as many times as you want if u clear your cookies/cache after each vote.

AC7
4 Feb 2007, 21:16
Bump :D

1 week to go till SA takes Mayfair and Parklane.

www.monopoly.com.au (http://www.monopoly.com.au/)

Crowz Gal
5 Feb 2007, 09:12
hehe now it wont let you see the results because "mr monopoly" is keeping it as a suprise.

Whats the bet that they rig it so that sydne/melb get the blue spots.:rolleyes:

nivek48
5 Feb 2007, 13:43
hehe now it wont let you see the results because "mr monopoly" is keeping it as a suprise.

yea :thumbsd:

4/2/07 am ... was

SA 41.1% WA 35.9%

Blue Red and Gold
5 Feb 2007, 13:57

totally agree that that will happen.

JADED
6 Feb 2007, 03:44
Voting at work & home. Seems we've been able to keep S.A right up there so fas so if something happens in the last 5 days we'll know it's rigged (and wont buy the game) :P

NSW have no chance. it'll come down to S.A, W.A & Vic in 3rd.

Capitalist
6 Feb 2007, 07:36
anyone else having a problem getting on the site ?

i can't seem to load it up - looks like the peoples choice is going to be removed:confused:

macca23
6 Feb 2007, 08:35
anyone else having a problem getting on the site ?

i can't seem to load it up - looks like the peoples choice is going to be removed:confused:

Same problem.

Capitalist
6 Feb 2007, 08:46
Same problem.

well looks like somewhere in vic or nsw will be on mayfair and park lane then :rolleyes:

JADED
6 Feb 2007, 13:32
fixed now.
(sure they "lost" all data though)

Blue Red and Gold
6 Feb 2007, 13:42
was able to vote for SA but was not able to select a category in SA.

macca23
6 Feb 2007, 14:05
was able to vote for SA but was not able to select a category in SA.

Should be okay now. I just gave the Barossa Valley my umpteenth vote!! :thumbsu:

AdelUniCrowFan
6 Feb 2007, 18:15
Just a sidenote. If you have Internet Explorer and Firefox you can vote twice (whether they count or not is another question).

JADED
7 Feb 2007, 00:35
As has been previously mentioned, you can vote as many times as you like if you clear out you cookies/history etc (tools, internet options/delete)

wog777
9 Feb 2007, 19:41
Tomorrow's the last day to vote guys.!!!!:eek:
Let's finish this thing off strong.

treeman
14 Feb 2007, 13:15
I got some bad news about the monopoly game.

Aussie Monopoly may go directly to jail
Friday Feb 9 15:04 AEDT
Plans for a new Down Under version of the popular board game Monopoly could go straight to jail after voters from Australia's two biggest cities failed to show any interest in a place on the board.

Game manufacturer Hasbro had asked Australians to vote via website (www.monopoly.com.au) on what real estate spotsshould fill the board of the Australian edition of Monopoly: Here and Now, with Sydney's plush Vaucluse and Point Piper harbour suburbs tipped for prestige slots.

But as a February 10 deadline for voting loomed, almost 75 per cent of votes lodged had come from people living in the far-flung outback states of Western and South Australia.

That meant Hasbro could be left with mining towns likeKalgoorlie, where pubs and topless barmaids known as "skimpies" rule, as Australia's ritziest Monopoly addresses.

A Hasbro spokeswoman said plans for the game had nowchanged, but said the new version would still "pass go".

Looks like SA might not getting the top spots even if we did win!

-Ben

Macca19
14 Feb 2007, 13:26
How ridiculous. Why ask for a vote if you dont like teh results?

Capitalist
14 Feb 2007, 13:41
typical eastern state bias

what a load of crap

Monopoly has now been banned for me

crowugoodthing
14 Feb 2007, 14:42
So over 16 million votes count for nothing, gee what a surprise :rolleyes:

Blue Red and Gold
14 Feb 2007, 15:41
haha gee didnt see this coming

apollo_creed
14 Feb 2007, 21:55
gee you people are pathetic.

you cheated.

and have the audacity to whinge and kick up a storm because of the 'eastern states bias'

strike me pink!

Capitalist
15 Feb 2007, 11:55

you cheated.

and have the audacity to whinge and kick up a storm because of the 'eastern states bias'

strike me pink!

how did we cheat ?:confused:

Blue Red and Gold
15 Feb 2007, 19:59

you cheated.

strike me pink!
******** off splinter

Capitalist
5 Jun 2007, 13:45
Barossa is tops in new Aussie MonopolyBy Mark Schliebs

Article from: Font size: + -
Send this article: Print Email
THE BAROSSA Valley has taken the top spot in the new Australian version of Monopoly, nudging out some of the nation's most recognised landmarks.

The new Australian “Here and Now” version of the famous Monopoly board was launched this morning, with the Barossa Valley and Adelaide taking residency in the highly sought-after dark-blue property spaces.

While the “Mayfair” space could be brought by players in the original version of the game for $400, players would have to fork out $4 million in Monopoly money to buy the Barossa Valley property.

Barossa’s head of tourism Julian Maul said the placement was a great coup for the South Australian region.

“Monopoly is Australia’s and the world’s best loved game and we have no doubt that this will lift the profile of our beautiful region and be a boost for tourism,” Mr Maul said.

The places on the board were decided in a nationwide poll which recorded nearly 17 million votes earlier this year.

South Australia recorded the largest number of votes with about eight million wanting their favourite landmark in the game.

More than two million of those votes were in favour of having the Barossa Valley as the most expensive property on the board.

The traditional boot, top-hat and dog tokens were also replaced with a ute, surfboard and thongs in the new game.

Western Australian centres Kalgoorlie, Broome and Perth claimed the slightly less expensive green squares, while Victoria’s Sovereign Hill, the Great Ocean Road and Melbourne landed on the yellow squares.

Queensland’s Sunshine Coast and the Great Barrier Reef were placed in the cheapest squares in the game, after a late surge of votes for ACT landmarks Anzac Parade, Lake Burley Griffin and Cotter Reserve.

But the nation’s biggest city, Sydney, didn’t receive enough support from voters and failed to claim a spot on the board, leaving Broken Hill, Tamworth and the Snowy Mountains to represent New South Wales.

Tasmania’s Launceston, Cradle Mountain and Hobart; along with the Northern Territory’s Katherine Gorge, Devils Marbles and Kakadu also made it into the game.

Hasbro’s marketing manager Amanda Blackhall said that although it was the first time in 25 years that the board game maker had revised an Australian edition, the results of the vote were unexpected.

“While the somewhat surprising results will no doubt be disappointing to those that didn’t make it onto the board, there are no real losers in those that did,” Ms Blackhall said.

“To secure any one of the spots on the new Australian board of the world’s most famous game is a great achievement.”

hahahaha :thumbsu:

CarnCrows
5 Jun 2007, 14:25
Gold!

Still would prefer the Simpsons version anyhow.

Seanason
5 Jun 2007, 17:45
whoop whoop

dibs on the thongs!

ams4crows
5 Jun 2007, 18:27
Awesome!! let's see how the Vics like South Australia being the number 1 state in Monopoly!!

kimirocks
6 Jun 2007, 07:16
YAY!!!, I think y'all should make a banner about this for the next trip nto Victoria. :)

AC7
6 Jun 2007, 11:14
Here is the official results

http://www.monopoly.com.au/results.php

Seanason
6 Jun 2007, 17:40
Purchased my edition this morning from Kmart, $27 on opening day only.

- PC -
6 Jun 2007, 21:50
YAY!!!, I think y'all should make a banner about this for the next trip nto Victoria. :)

'' Do Not pass Go
Do Not Collect $200
Do Drink Our Barossa Wines''

dyertribe
6 Jun 2007, 23:27
Hahaha

Barossa I think we can all agree with, but Radelaide as the new Park Lane?... :D

What's the bet Condi is in some way responsible?

Seanason
6 Jun 2007, 23:46
And theres a typo on the back of the box. It has www.Momopoly.com.au as the web address. proabbly why they were going out cheaply.

- PC -
6 Jun 2007, 23:54

''Vics Bitter About Our Barossa''

Seanason
7 Jun 2007, 15:48
Its funny because its all over the news that SA cheated.

courageous_tom
7 Jun 2007, 15:52
You would think that someone at the Monopoly website might have realised something fishy was going on when SA got 7.4 million votes, and NSW only got 400,000.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2007, 16:23
well all I know is that I voted every day and so did all of my friends so maybe a lot of them are realy votes

Blue Red and Gold
7 Jun 2007, 17:30
well all I know is that I voted every day and so did all of my friends so maybe a lot of them are realy votes
same here, I voted plenty of times

apollo_creed
8 Jun 2007, 14:24
Proof suggests you are filthy cheats.

Someone earlier in this thread called it.

Blue Red and Gold
8 Jun 2007, 14:31

It was on the news last night, some group of nerds did something so they were continually voting.

dyertribe
8 Jun 2007, 14:40

You're a South Australian too, deal with it.

apollo_creed
8 Jun 2007, 18:52
I still blame the Crows. ;)