View Full Version : Mininera and District FL

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

matt_nicholls
11th January 2007, 09:32
Noticed there is nothing on the Mininera League here.

I grew up in Penshurst and the old man played at Hawkesdale (just before the merger).

What's the current situation over there? Grounds ok to play on?

Anyone willing to post 2007 premiership odds?

Velvetsledgehammer
11th January 2007, 10:29
Noticed there is nothing on the Mininera League here.

I grew up in Penshurst and the old man played at Hawkesdale (just before the merger).
What's the current situation over there? Grounds ok to play on?
Anyone willing to post 2007 premiership odds?

About time someone got a thread started on MDFL. Tattyoon would have to be favourites again, probably opening at odds of 3/1.

Also heard that the wheels have fallen off at Lake Bolac.....and a lot of players/committee are walking....

Any rumour on recruits at any clubs??

zanderm
11th January 2007, 11:49
Yeah i heard that a few are leaving bolac and that they will struggle this year.
Neil Kelly from worndoo is going to lismore in a coaching role. Lehmann is going to caramut.
Any other news out there?
Tatyoon looking pretty strong again this year

Velvetsledgehammer
11th January 2007, 12:20
Yeah i heard that a few are leaving bolac and that they will struggle this year.
Neil Kelly from worndoo is going to lismore in a coaching role. Lehmann is going to caramut.
Any other news out there?
Tatyoon looking pretty strong again this year

Would be surprised if Kelly leaves Woorndoo as he has family who are all involved there. Overated player in my opinion loved by the umpires. There is no way he was the best player in the league last year. He got three votes in round 18 last year when SMW Rovers thrashed them by 15 goals........mate of mine tells me he spent the second half on the bench injured!!
Whisper is the McGuiness's are not returning to Lake Bolac this year and a number of others are following that lead. Coach Leigh Russell is looking to go back to Rokewood.

zanderm
11th January 2007, 13:58
Im pretty sure kelly is leaving - ass. coach at lismore and he approached them. Same against Tatyoon - only played half a game. Dean McGuinness is playing at Leopold in the geelong league. Most of their younger players are leaving too.
hear ewing and ferguson are leaving glen to play for imperials

Velvetsledgehammer
11th January 2007, 14:16
Im pretty sure kelly is leaving - ass. coach at lismore and he approached them. Same against Tatyoon - only played half a game. Dean McGuinness is playing at Leopold in the geelong league. Most of their younger players are leaving too.

I heard that also about Glen, might be losing a couple to have a run in Hamilton. They tend to rescruit pretty well though

Without knowing much about club lossess and recruits I will throw in an early ladder prediction:
Tatty
Glen-Dunk
Rovers (Hurt by injuries last season / getting a few players back)
Wicky-Bolac (Will come back a few pegs )
Lismore-Derri (Hurt by injuries last season)
Penshurst

Caramut (Improving but lack class)
Hawksdale-Mac
Woorndoo-Mortlake (Need a quality coach & 10 players)
Moyston-Willaura (Will take ten years to recover)

zanderm
11th January 2007, 14:26
my ladder would be:
Tatyoon
Glen
Lismore
Penshurst
SMW Rovers

Wicky
Hawksdale
Caramut
Moyston
Worndoo

Moyston have picked up a few ararat eagles players and will be a 10 goal better side - they werent far off for the first half in most games.
Lismore might be the dark horse

matt_nicholls
12th January 2007, 07:54
Who is coaching Penshurst and who are their gun players this year?

Velvetsledgehammer
12th January 2007, 08:09
Who is coaching Penshurst and who are their gun players this year?

Jay Everall is Penshurst Coach. No word on players.

Dean Jenkinson (Jumbo) - is returning as coach of Glen-Dunkeld.

And an article in the Ararat Addy today says that Mick Jennings has taken over as coach of Wicliffe-LB.

Kick it to me
19th January 2007, 08:23
my ladder would be:
Tatyoon
Glen
Lismore
Penshurst
SMW Rovers

Wicky
Hawksdale
Caramut
Moyston
Worndoo

Moyston have picked up a few ararat eagles players and will be a 10 goal better side - they werent far off for the first half in most games.
Lismore might be the dark horse

Who is coaching the SMW rovers? Do they have any gun recruits? It seems as though they only need 1 or 2 to give them a chance at the big one.

natterock
21st January 2007, 20:41
Yeah im willing to lay some teams who u wanna back???

imran
22nd January 2007, 21:20
Are the Keilars playing for Dunkeld this year?

Velvetsledgehammer
23rd January 2007, 08:26
Who is coaching the SMW rovers? Do they have any gun recruits? It seems as though they only need 1 or 2 to give them a chance at the big one.

Mike Loader coaching again at Rovers, still to early to talk about recruits but whisper is they have a few coming back to the club. Mixed with a few of the young blokes coming through, this could top them up nicely.

zanderm
29th January 2007, 11:28
Does anyone have any info on who is leaving clubs?
I heard that the keilers are leaving dunkeld along with ferguson and ewing.

Velvetsledgehammer
7th February 2007, 07:57

Seems your mail on Neil Kelly was correct. Looks like he will be coaching at Lismore-Derri this season. Big move to turn his back on Woorndoo but I guess he is looking for some success. Is a good player but not sure if he has anything as a coach. Should add to Lismore's midfield strength anyway.

zanderm
13th February 2007, 09:59
Have heard that a few good players from lismore are leaving and heading camperdown way. Tatyoon losing a few aswell

Velvetsledgehammer
13th February 2007, 12:59
Have heard that a few good players from lismore are leaving and heading camperdown way. Tatyoon losing a few aswell

Any names of players you can elaboate on Zanderm ?

Leather Magnet
13th February 2007, 14:10
Any names of players you can elaboate on Zanderm ?

Doug Walton to Ararat. Angry Ward and brother Andy Mc to England for cricket. One other cricketer I can't think of too isn't there Z?
Sean McDougall to North Ballarat in the VFL.

zanderm
14th February 2007, 11:18
Yeah you are on the money leather magnet. Jarrod Blandford to england. Eric Fisher playing in geelong, Ash Bryant has gone to Shepparton. Should be some good inclusions though - Andy Tucker from Mildura, Rob Richardson might be pulling the boots back on and a few in the pipeline.

Rat_attack
18th February 2007, 19:41
Yeah you are on the money leather magnet. Jarrod Blandford to england. Eric Fisher playing in geelong, Ash Bryant has gone to Shepparton. Should be some good inclusions though - Andy Tucker from Mildura, Rob Richardson might be pulling the boots back on and a few in the pipeline.

Is there any talk of the grounds situation in MDFL? i see taty is not looking to good and i heard bolac is stuffed! Can anyone giveme some details about Tim Mcdougall? what happened to him last year? also is the rumour that Damian Cameron is also leaving tatyoon, would be a big loss for taty, can't see Rovers pushing the top sideswith loader as coach! need a change i reckon

zanderm
22nd February 2007, 10:35
In regards to the ground situation - i believe that most grounds will be fine. Tatyoon and Bolac might not be right for the start of the season but it wouldnt take much rain to get them up. Tim McDougall missed about 10 weeks last year with hamstring problems. Ran around in the 2's for the finals just to have a kick - was never fully fit. Damian Cameron will stay at Taty but might miss some games due to work commitments. What else is news around the league - not long to go now!

Rat_attack
26th February 2007, 09:38
In regards to the ground situation - i believe that most grounds will be fine. Tatyoon and Bolac might not be right for the start of the season but it wouldnt take much rain to get them up. Tim McDougall missed about 10 weeks last year with hamstring problems. Ran around in the 2's for the finals just to have a kick - was never fully fit. Damian Cameron will stay at Taty but might miss some games due to work commitments. What else is news around the league - not long to go now!

Well on reading the Ararat paper last friday i see bolac look to sign an ex afl player from warrnambool way! can tell you it is not Scott Turner as i was talking to him on saturday! My money is on Brad Scholl from Port Fairy! WIll the Loss of Sean McDougall to Rooster, Andrew Ward Jarrod Blandford and Andrew Mcdougall effect the team much??? Is there any 2's players who can step up??

Velvetsledgehammer
26th February 2007, 13:49
.... can't see Rovers pushing the top sideswith loader as coach! need a change i reckon

Have to disagree with you here Rat. Loads is a fantastic coach and well respected at Mininera. Rovers will be the darkhorse this season. Signings will be unveiled shortly but a few quality players on the radar. Why do you think Rovers will struggle??

Rat_attack
26th February 2007, 13:50
Is the rumour that Shane Hitchcock is not running around again this year true?? That will leave the Full FOrward position wide open! maybe room for Alex Mcdougall

Rat_attack
26th February 2007, 15:19
Have to disagree with you here Rat. Loads is a fantastic coach and well respected at Mininera. Rovers will be the darkhorse this season. Signings will be unveiled shortly but a few quality players on the radar. Why do you think Rovers will struggle??

Just think they don't gel well as a team and there is a lot of onfield fighting and sooking once they start getting done! Wilson is a prime example!

zanderm
27th February 2007, 09:04
Have to agree with Rat attack in regards to rovers not playing well as a team. The last few years they have had a good team on paper but when it came to the crunch they didnt step. They arent far away though - if they recruit well and other teams seem to be losing a few. Yeah Hitchy might not be running around this year would be a big loss.

zanderm
27th February 2007, 09:13
So velvetsledgehammer who do rovers have in the pipeline? Cant just say that they are there. We want names!

Velvetsledgehammer
27th February 2007, 12:37
So velvetsledgehammer who do rovers have in the pipeline? Cant just say that they are there. We want names!

Na no names just yet, no point jumping the gun before pen has been put to paper. Couple of Ballarat league players who will add a bit extra to last years team.

zanderm
27th February 2007, 12:40
Ballarat senior players or reserves. the last couple of recruits they got were only fringe players and didnt do much. Have rovers lost any?

Sockit151
27th February 2007, 13:15
Does the great Roger Flanner still grace the park down that way??

MALUMA
28th February 2007, 07:04
Originally Posted by zanderm:
In regards to the ground situation - i believe that most grounds will be fine. Tatyoon and Bolac might not be right for the start of the season but it wouldnt take much rain to get them up.

Tatyoon's secretary (who you would know very well Zanderm) told me this week the Tatyoon oval will probably need to be re-seeded.
Pretty big job, she's rough as guts at the moment.
I haven't had a chance to look at Bolac's ground but several MDFL officials have told me its as bad, if not worse, than Tatyoon.

Velvetsledgehammer
28th February 2007, 07:41

Rog hasn't played for a few years I think, but rumoured to be returning. Although that was beer speak at a pub one night!

Surprised that the Tatty ground is so bad. It has been one of the best surfacfes over the last couple of years hasn't it?

Rat_attack
28th February 2007, 09:09

I dont think you can put the word great in the same sentence as roger flanner! if he is playing again i think i might have to come out of retirement cos he can't play the game!!

Rat_attack
28th February 2007, 09:10
Na no names just yet, no point jumping the gun before pen has been put to paper. Couple of Ballarat league players who will add a bit extra to last years team.

Do you think that getting ballarat players out to rovers for a year and paying them big money is worth it? is that why they dont gel well! do the ballarat based players come up to Mininera to train???

MALUMA
28th February 2007, 11:00
Surprised that the Tatty ground is so bad. It has been one of the best surfacfes over the last couple of years hasn't it?

It was in top condition last year. The problem at Tatyoon is the community has no water, the town's water supply has gone dry.
Locals have been carting water from many miles away to keep the turf cricket pitch going during summer but the outfield resembles a baron farm paddock at the moment, and the surface has suffered with the ground coming up very uneven.

Rat_attack
28th February 2007, 11:12
It was in top condition last year. The problem at Tatyoon is the community has no water, the town's water supply has gone dry.
Locals have been carting water from many miles away to keep the turf cricket pitch going during summer but the outfield resembles a baron farm paddock at the moment, and the surface has suffered with the ground coming up very uneven.

There ground may be suffering a bit, but the team itself isn't! watched the boys training the other night and they are looking mighty fit and keen!! i am giving early predictions of taty going back to back

Velvetsledgehammer
28th February 2007, 11:41
Do you think that getting ballarat players out to rovers for a year and paying them big money is worth it? is that why they dont gel well! do the ballarat based players come up to Mininera to train???

Mate not sure where this talk of the team not gelling well comes from? Rovers are one of the closest nit teams around on and off the field. As for big cash getting paid, I can tell you that is a heap of crap. The Ballarat boys who come out are all mates with the local boys and come out and train and play for the wins....not the so called coin.

MALUMA
28th February 2007, 11:47
There ground may be suffering a bit, but the team itself isn't! watched the boys training the other night and they are looking mighty fit and keen!! i am giving early predictions of taty going back to back

I agree, Tatyoon should go back-to-back
They won't have as much depth with the losses that zanderm pointed out, but they have plenty of talent and if they stay fit no one will touch them.

On a side note, I hear former Tatyoon coach and well-known footy man Bill Bell is going to be a joint coach at the Ararat Eagles with BJ Bretherton...

Leather Magnet
28th February 2007, 12:17
I agree, Tatyoon should go back-to-back
They won't have as much depth with the losses that zanderm pointed out, but they have plenty of talent and if they stay fit no one will touch them.

On a side note, I hear former Tatyoon coach and well-known footy man Bill Bell is going to be a joint coach at the Ararat Eagles with BJ Bretherton...

Aaah, had to wonder where Billy would pledge his allegiance in 2007.....

McCleanMagic
28th February 2007, 12:53
Have to agree with Rat Attack - rovers have never played as a whole team on the field. There are some great individual talents in their side. Some top blokes too but since there last premiership they have under achieved. Young BJ Burton looking to play at tatyoon this year. Rob Kilpatrick also ligning up this year

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 07:32
Ballarat senior players or reserves. the last couple of recruits they got were only fringe players and didnt do much. Have rovers lost any?

The Ballarat recruit for Mininera have been very handy and a fair reason they won the back to backs. The recruiting from their has dried up the last few years, hence the poorer results, with injuries not really helping from what I've read. A reserves player from the BFL can still be a very handy player in the MDFL, its not a very high standard at all.

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 07:34
Have to agree with Rat Attack - rovers have never played as a whole team on the field. There are some great individual talents in their side. Some top blokes too but since there last premiership they have under achieved. Young BJ Burton looking to play at tatyoon this year. Rob Kilpatrick also ligning up this year

They've definately underachieved. Didn't loose too many from 04 team but injuries killed them the next year and they were a shambles. No recruits last year really and had a few walk out mid season which didn't help things.

Velvetsledgehammer
1st March 2007, 08:04
They've definately underachieved. Didn't loose too many from 04 team but injuries killed them the next year and they were a shambles. No recruits last year really and had a few walk out mid season which didn't help things.

Injuries have hurt over the last 2 seasons, 2 knee recos & shoulder reco to Rovers 3 best players, amongst others have contributed to the team 'under achieving'.

Bloke who walked out Matt Stasse, did so on his own accord and it was his putrid negative attitude that helped him return too and fit in perfectly at his former club Carnham. This left a big hole in the big man department that forced a few blokes to battle hard for the rest of the season.

McCleanMagic
1st March 2007, 08:30
From what i have seen the mininera league isnt that week. Alot of good players come from the wimmera league and struggle. it is quite a high standard for a small country league. Ballarat two's players only fill in numbers dont help teams win premierships.

Grimmett
1st March 2007, 09:04
From what i have seen the mininera league isnt that week. A lot of overrated players come from the wimmera league and struggle. it is quite a high standard for a small country league. Ballarat two's players only fill in numbers dont help teams win premierships.

Fixed. :thumbsu:

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 09:38
Injuries have hurt over the last 2 seasons, 2 knee recos & shoulder reco to Rovers 3 best players, amongst others have contributed to the team 'under achieving'.

Bloke who walked out Matt Stasse, did so on his own accord and it was his putrid negative attitude that helped him return too and fit in perfectly at his former club Carnham. This left a big hole in the big man department that forced a few blokes to battle hard for the rest of the season.

Who has had the knee reco's and shoulder? How are they shaping up this year? All the top players staying?

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 09:40
From what i have seen the mininera league isnt that week. Alot of good players come from the wimmera league and struggle. it is quite a high standard for a small country league. Ballarat two's players only fill in numbers dont help teams win premierships.

Mininera is probably the main team who get players from Ballarat - mostly Lakers who have in the past had a strong 2nds side adn they've all been good players for Rovers. That Templar was a 2nds player and he kicked a bucket of goals when they won the flag.

McCleanMagic
1st March 2007, 09:55
Mininera is probably the main team who get players from Ballarat - mostly Lakers who have in the past had a strong 2nds side adn they've all been good players for Rovers. That Templar was a 2nds player and he kicked a bucket of goals when they won the flag.

Templer is one player. He only kicked 66 goals in a premiership team that fed him the ball. The next most was 30 odd goals. He faired well but that is one player. Is he coming back to play?

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 10:12
Templar would have been player who did the least that came from BFL. Others from Lakers would be Rinialdi, Robertson, Walker, Nash, Thorn, Gayle. All top players in Premiership sides. Tim Dalton from Sebas I believe was good but injured.

Don't know about Rovers recruiting.

McCleanMagic
1st March 2007, 10:59
Templar would have been player who did the least that came from BFL. Others from Lakers would be Rinialdi, Robertson, Walker, Nash, Thorn, Gayle. All top players in Premiership sides. Tim Dalton from Sebas I believe was good but injured.

Don't know about Rovers recruiting.

I must admit Rinialdi was a good player - did he only play 2's in ballarat. Robertson is the worst kick in the league, never heard of walker, thorn and gayle - Nash was to over wieght.
They arent far of bein a great side!

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 11:15
I must admit Rinialdi was a good player - did he only play 2's in ballarat. Robertson is the worst kick in the league, never heard of walker, thorn and gayle - Nash was to over wieght.
They arent far of bein a great side!

Walker, Thorn and Gayle played in their 03 Premiership side.
Robertson played half the season on pretty much a broken ankle I heard. But know his brothers through school and they are all terrible kicks. Can mark though but used to be lazy. Finished up there in the b&f every year though I heard.

Any side that gets some half decent players from BFL is going to go ok.

McCleanMagic
1st March 2007, 11:25
Walker, Thorn and Gayle played in their 03 Premiership side.
Robertson played half the season on pretty much a broken ankle I heard. But know his brothers through school and they are all terrible kicks. Can mark though but used to be lazy. Finished up there in the b&f every year though I heard.

Any side that gets some half decent players from BFL is going to go ok.

Well Walker thorn and gale werent in their top 12 players. Robertson is a good mark but ******** left foot kick. would mark 30 out and not make the distance. So what footy did rinaldi play in ballarat. glenn wilson and nick byrne probably there 2 best players (both locals)

Rat_attack
1st March 2007, 11:55
Well Walker thorn and gale werent in their top 12 players. Robertson is a good mark but ******** left foot kick. would mark 30 out and not make the distance. So what footy did rinaldi play in ballarat. glenn wilson and nick byrne probably there 2 best players (both locals)

Nick Byrne dose go alright magic! But as for Glenn wilson, you can leave me out of that! I am yet to see him put his head over the ball and get a hard kick! Yeah he gets plenty of it but who doesn't when they play loose across half back! don't have to be anygood at the game to be able to do that! I've had enough of hearing about rovers let face it they are no good and we will talk about them further when they show me some results!!

Velvetsledgehammer
1st March 2007, 12:18
I've had enough of hearing about rovers let face it they are no good and we will talk about them further when they show me some results!!

Iteresting to hear a few of you blokes getting on here bagging Rovers and whinging about recruiting from Ballarat.....Is that any different to Tattyoon getting all their players from Ararat, Glen/Dunkeld & Penshurst from Hamilton, Hawksdale & Caramut from Warrnambool, Lake Bolac from Geelong?????

Grimmett
1st March 2007, 12:22
Iteresting to hear a few of you blokes getting on here bagging Rovers and whinging about recruiting from Ballarat.....Is that any different to Tattyoon getting all their players from Ararat, Glen/Dunkeld & Penshurst from Hamilton, Hawksdale & Caramut from Warrnambool, Lake Bolac from Geelong?????

Well put.

Rat_attack
1st March 2007, 12:45

Not having a sook at all! all i have asked is if it effects the team bonding! you have to recruit players from sumwhere when you are a tiny country town! As for bagging rovers, until they show me sumthing and perform my thoughts stand as them being no good! WIll they prove me wrong this year or will it be another wasted year?

Velvetsledgehammer
1st March 2007, 13:01
Not having a sook at all! all i have asked is if it effects the team bonding! you have to recruit players from sumwhere when you are a tiny country town! As for bagging rovers, until they show me sumthing and perform my thoughts stand as them being no good! WIll they prove me wrong this year or will it be another wasted year?

Premierships 2003 & 2004. There abouts between 2000-2002. Prelim final last year. Its not like we are talking about Moyston/Willaura here Rat!

Team bonding is as good as it gets, I here from a close source. Look out for a much improved showing this season with the development of some young guys.

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 13:06

Ankle injury wouldn't have helped - could not run all year and spent the first half of week on crutches after some games, probably did it on the dancefloor out on the piss!

Rinialdi was Lakers. 1's player I think but was getting on a bit so prob moved to get a few more years play.

Wilson would be no where near top 2!!!

footyfanz22
1st March 2007, 13:07
Bus trips to training has the potential to be the best bonding for blokes!

McCleanMagic
2nd March 2007, 11:07
Ankle injury wouldn't have helped - could not run all year and spent the first half of week on crutches after some games, probably did it on the dancefloor out on the piss!

Rinialdi was Lakers. 1's player I think but was getting on a bit so prob moved to get a few more years play.

Robertson has played a dew years and he didnt do his ankle every year. How many games have you watched? Wilson has been there only consistent player over the last 6 years. Turn a game on his head. So what else is news around the league? Rovers playing a practice match?

Rat_attack
2nd March 2007, 16:15
Robertson has played a dew years and he didnt do his ankle every year. How many games have you watched? Wilson has been there only consistent player over the last 6 years. Turn a game on his head. So what else is news around the league? Rovers playing a practice match?

I wish people would stop talking wilson up! he is no good! when he gets a hard ball get then we will discuss this dud again!!!!

tomsut_69
3rd March 2007, 18:59
I wish people would stop talking wilson up! he is no good! when he gets a hard ball get then we will discuss this dud again!!!!

Heard Tattyoon has made a key signing to their stocks last week!

Look out for probably the best clip board manager you have ever seen!

His not afraid to pull moves or throw the magnets to the ground for effect at a qrt time.

One to Watch !:eek:

Rat_attack
4th March 2007, 20:12
Heard Tattyoon has made a key signing to their stocks last week!

Look out for probably the best clip board manager you have ever seen!

His not afraid to pull moves or throw the magnets to the ground for effect at a qrt time.

One to Watch !:eek:

Can we name any names here???

tomsut_69
5th March 2007, 07:41
Can we name any names here???

Nicknamed the "The Raging Mallee Bull"...:D

Rat_attack
5th March 2007, 07:58
Nicknamed the "The Raging Mallee Bull"...:D

Is he new to the league?? whats his credentials??

footyfanz22
5th March 2007, 08:07

Pretty sure he has a couple of Premierships, so don't think you can call him a dud. How about you put up your footballing credentials and we'll take a poll...

Rat_attack
5th March 2007, 08:11
Pretty sure he has a couple of Premierships, so don't think you can call him a dud. How about you put up your footballing credentials and we'll take a poll...

So you play in a couple of premiership teams and now your a good footballer??

footyfanz22
5th March 2007, 09:05
So you play in a couple of premiership teams and now your a good footballer??

I would say that if you've played a role in back to back premierships you are not a dud footballer, which is what you called him. Like I said, put a few of your achievements up and we'll see if we can take your opinion seriously or if you are just sitting on your computer bagging someone who has actually done something...

Rat_attack
5th March 2007, 09:16
I would say that if you've played a role in back to back premierships you are not a dud footballer, which is what you called him. Like I said, put a few of your achievements up and we'll see if we can take your opinion seriously or if you are just sitting on your computer bagging someone who has actually done something...

No need to go talking myself up! would be more than happy to after you tell me what you have achieved! and i wouldn't say that wilson had a huge roll in the back to back flags! sheep dogging ins't that big of an achievement!

footyfanz22
5th March 2007, 09:33
No need to go talking myself up! would be more than happy to after you tell me what you have achieved! and i wouldn't say that wilson had a huge roll in the back to back flags! sheep dogging ins't that big of an achievement!

I'm not the one calling people duds. I was just pointing out the guy's been a part of two flags so you could hardly call him a dud. So calling him a dud is a bit of a stretch, like I said, start citing a few examples of your football prowess and we might actually value your opinion. Maybe then his two flags will look 'dud' like to your worldly achievements.

RAZZAMATAZZ
5th March 2007, 12:27
I'm not the one calling people duds. I was just pointing out the guy's been a part of two flags so you could hardly call him a dud. So calling him a dud is a bit of a stretch, like I said, start citing a few examples of your football prowess and we might actually value your opinion. Maybe then his two flags will look 'dud' like to your worldly achievements.

Isn't this a forum to post your comments?? if rat thinks wilson is a dud then thats great! Get off his back! Why don't you throw out your credentials before asking for others

McCleanMagic
6th March 2007, 08:27
Nick Byrne dose go alright magic! But as for Glenn wilson, you can leave me out of that! I am yet to see him put his head over the ball and get a hard kick! Yeah he gets plenty of it but who doesn't when they play loose across half back! don't have to be anygood at the game to be able to do that! I've had enough of hearing about rovers let face it they are no good and we will talk about them further when they show me some results!!

I have talked wilson up a bit. you have hit the nail on the head their rat. Doesnt get too many balls himself. Great skills but gets fed the ball and does play loose across half-back. So do we have any news from teams down south way?

McCleanMagic
6th March 2007, 08:37
Have heard from someone down tatyoon way that the bore goes down today. hopefully this gets the ground up and going? Does anyone know where round one taty vs bolac will be played?

Velvetsledgehammer
6th March 2007, 09:13

Have to agree with Footyfanz on this one. Wilson has 2 premiership medalions and a couple of hundred games under his belt. The issue of him sheepdogging and getting 30 kicks off half back is irrelevent if the opposition is to stupid to man up.
Rat I am guessing your team is one of those that couldn't put a player on him?? If you want someone to take any of your comments seriously then why not tell us your credentials? Ever played a game?

Velvetsledgehammer
6th March 2007, 09:16

Robbo & Spider you shouldn't get on here and talk about yourselves!!

MALUMA
6th March 2007, 11:55
Have heard from someone down tatyoon way that the bore goes down today. hopefully this gets the ground up and going? Does anyone know where round one taty vs bolac will be played?
The bore going down today is on private land, and will be handed over to the footy club if they strike water.
Apparently it takes up to six months to get a commercial bore approved, where as a bore on private property gets almost instant approval...Red tape will be the end of football!
It would be good to see Tatyoon v Bolac at Alexandra Oval, I don't think a venue has been decided on, I suppose the clash might end up at Mininera.

ALSO...

I hear former Wicky Bolac gun Troy Richardson has signed with Hawksdale/Macarthur.
He'd be about 35 now but when he was at Bolac I think he was just about the best player in the MDFL for a time. I bet Mick Jennings and co will not be pleased with the signing....

McCleanMagic
6th March 2007, 12:49
It would be good to see Tatyoon v Bolac at Alexandra Oval, I don't think a venue has been decided on, I suppose the clash might end up at Mininera.

ALSO...

I hear former Wicky Bolac gun Troy Richardson has signed with Hawksdale/Macarthur.
He'd be about 35 now but when he was at Bolac I think he was just about the best player in the MDFL for a time. I bet Mick Jennings and co will not be pleased with the signing....[/quote]

Are there any other games on Alexandra on that day? Would draw a good crowd i would reckon.
Troy Richardson looked 40 when he last played he must look 50 now. must admit he was a good player! Could Hawksdale be the dark horse this year?
Tatyoon look to gain Rob Kilpatrick this year i hear would be a good asset to their backline.

MALUMA
6th March 2007, 13:21

ALSO...

He'd be about 35 now but when he was at Bolac I think he was just about the best player in the MDFL for a time. I bet Mick Jennings and co will not be pleased with the signing....

Are there any other games on Alexandra on that day? Would draw a good crowd i would reckon.
Troy Richardson looked 40 when he last played he must look 50 now. must admit he was a good player! Could Hawksdale be the dark horse this year?
Tatyoon look to gain Rob Kilpatrick this year i hear would be a good asset to their backline.[/quote]

I think the Ararat Advertiser quoted MDFL president David Watson saying the Eagles would be in the top five this season so they are definately expected to improve.
Richardson has been playing good footy down Warrnambool way from what I hear and is still in top condititon...guys like that seem to be great players forever!

Anyone have any thoughts on Neil Kelly's shift to Lismore/Derrinallum?

football fan
6th March 2007, 17:20
troy richardson won the league medal in the Warrnambool and district league in 2005 playing for Old Collegians, polled all his votes in the first half of the year when no one maned him up, in the 2nd round of games clubs maned him up and he went missing, didn't have a great year in 2006 by all reports as clubs continued to man him up. played 3 years over in robe before playing in warrnambool. lives in port fairy im pretty sure and a fair few of the port fairy locals heading up to Hawkesdale with the coach to play there. they should go all right.

McCleanMagic
7th March 2007, 09:31
Hawksdale were a fair bit off last year. are these players from port fairy senior players or will just add to their depth? But in the same breath all the teams will be a bit weaker this year so Hawksdale should make the 5.

Neil Kelly is an overrated footballer. Plays loose in the back line. Can take a big grab though. I know of about 5 games last year he didnt get a kick or only played half games and got 3 league votes. must be something about Woorndoo players. Neil Kelly and that other bloke that won it before him. How can a team that only wins 3 or 4 games win the medal that often

bridger
7th March 2007, 09:46
Robbo & Spider you shouldn't get on here and talk about yourselves!!

Thanks for that Muddy...

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 10:25

mike loader is coaching.. have recruited jackson cook from hopetoun and jesse robertson has had a massive preseason with the rebels and is looking the goods to destroy opposition teams.....

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 10:34
does anyone agree paul aikmen has the best left foot of all time???.......
and that neil kelly is the most overrated player to win two league bfs???

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 10:36
Thanks for that Muddy...

how much is that paul mckee getting paid at rovers??

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 10:43

nah getting on now he is about 50 years old... but bit of a rumour he is returning to rovers??????????????

football fan
7th March 2007, 11:00
the players going to hawkesdale from port fairy are all players that have played senior football there, not stars but useful. they are all in the 24-27 age bracket and have mature bodies. will be decent players at hawkesdale.

MALUMA
7th March 2007, 11:21
Water was struck at 210 feet at Tatyoon yesterday in a paddock adjacent to the footy ground, great news for the Hawks.
Now to put in pipes and a pump!
The ground is looking pretty sad though, it will take a bit of work to get it back up to scratch

footyfanz22
7th March 2007, 12:15
Isn't it spelt Loul Deng?

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 12:50
Isn't it spelt Loul Deng?

isnt it spelt footy fans??

matt_nicholls
7th March 2007, 12:51
Who is coaching Hawesdale this year?

RAZZAMATAZZ
7th March 2007, 12:54
does anyone agree paul aikmen has the best left foot of all time???.......
and that neil kelly is the most overrated player to win two league bfs???

i would have to say that Andrew Ward has the best left that i have seen run around in the mininera league!

Yes and Neil kelly is the worst to ever win the medal! how can you poll so many votes when you get flogged everyweek! got me beat!

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 12:56
i would have to say that Andrew Ward has the best left that i have seen run around in the mininera league!

Yes and Neil kelly is the worst to ever win the medal! how can you poll so many votes when you get flogged everyweek! got me beat!

who is andrew ward??

footyfanz22
7th March 2007, 12:56
how much is that paul mckee getting paid at rovers??

$150 a kick.

footyfanz22
7th March 2007, 12:58

Aikman has a good left foot. But he never 'ran' around in the MDFL, hence he's ineligible for the award...

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 12:59
$150 a kick.

are u a rovers man are footyfanz22???

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 13:00
Aikman has a good left foot. But he never 'ran' around in the MDFL, hence he's ineligible for the award...

didnt have to run but his left foot is still amazing

footyfanz22
7th March 2007, 13:03
didnt have to run but his left foot is still amazing

Not Rovers fan. Just know the area and people from that way. Didn't his side miss the finals the year he played? I heard he was close to getting dropped at times as was found out by the better sides.

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 13:07
Not Rovers fan. Just know the area and people from that way. Didn't his side miss the finals the year he played? I heard he was close to getting dropped at times as was found out by the better sides.

nothin to do with rovers making finals or not just saying his left foot is amazing................................... and if u just know the people from the area you seem to know a h e l l of a lot about aikman and when he played and who he played for?????????????????

matt_nicholls
7th March 2007, 13:08
Who is coaching Hawkesdale this season?

lualdeng
7th March 2007, 13:27
footyfanz22 wat do u think of glen wilson??