View Full Version : West vs Buckley

Pages : [1] 2

nick_savo
14 Jan 2007, 16:40
Scott West vs Nathan Buckley, who would you pick based on their football ability.

The Zebra
14 Jan 2007, 16:41
Buckley is a mile ahead of West as a footballer.

wce4premiership
14 Jan 2007, 17:46
Scott West.

karjam
14 Jan 2007, 21:29
Scott West.

West gets more of the ball, but Buckley is a freak when he gets its and is more damaging so you work it out!

Lynch drops a mark
14 Jan 2007, 21:38
Buckley is by far the more damaging player when he gets the ball.

SBI
14 Jan 2007, 21:43
West is a better player now, Buckley over his career, and convincingly so.

blitzer
14 Jan 2007, 22:24
West is a better player now, Buckley over his career, and convincingly so.

Completely agree.

Johnson#26
14 Jan 2007, 22:41
Nathan Charles.

Footylover1
14 Jan 2007, 22:45
Scott West purely based on consistancy over a longer period of time and the fact he has had hardly any injuries at all

Dj Chriss
15 Jan 2007, 00:48
Buckley, he carried collingwood from 95-2001, where west always had players like johnson smith darcy wynd libratore grant croft

Astro_
15 Jan 2007, 11:03
Buckley, he carried collingwood from 95-2001, where west always had players like johnson smith darcy wynd libratore grant croft

carried collingwood to where? achieved nothing...

bring back croft :thumbsu:

Monkeyboy
15 Jan 2007, 11:15
Very good poll.

I went for West just. Both players have been very solid over careers and are virtually level as far as i'm concerned.

Kahuna
15 Jan 2007, 11:52
Jeez talk about a tough question. I would take Buckley as I find his possesions really can turn a game of the head, he can win a game off his own hands. West can do this aswell but not as good as Bucks.

gandaal
15 Jan 2007, 21:20
This poll proves once and for all two things:

1. People on this forum have very short term memories

2. People on this forum are incredibly stupid

West over Buckley pleasssee :rolleyes:

West is a great inside mid who gets plenty of the ball but Buckley is an all time great. Just because West is a better player now doesn't mean that he even comes close to Buckley over there respective careers.

FIGJAM
15 Jan 2007, 21:30
carried collingwood to where? achieved nothing...
I'll always remember your Prelim against the Crows... :rolleyes:

Shellz
15 Jan 2007, 21:33
Bucks hands down, West is a good player but Bucks is a champion player

vinnie_vegas69
15 Jan 2007, 21:47
The better question is, in a poll would West beat Hird or Voss? Almost definitely not. Yet Buckley is virtually always mentioned in the same breath as those guys, while West isn't.

It's anti-Collingwood bias to suggest West has been a better footballer than Buckley over their careers.

If you look at this comparison (http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp?SeasonID=2006&PlayerName1=nathan+buckley&PlayerName2=&PlayerName3=&PlayerName4=&Compare=Compare&SelectedPlayers=522%2C), despite the fact that now Buckley is commonly perceived to be on the decline, his 2006 season was virtually as good as West's, game by game.

Magpie Mick
15 Jan 2007, 23:09
This poll just confirms the fact that any topic on the poll board which has a collingwood option, you can bet your bottom dollar the collingwood option will always be outvoted!!! How people can vote for West as a better player than Buckley amazes me. Buckley has been a far better player than West over their respective careers it's not funny. Just shows how many pies haters we have on big footy.

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 11:57
The better question is, in a poll would West beat Hird or Voss? Almost definitely not. Yet Buckley is virtually always mentioned in the same breath as those guys, while West isn't.

It's anti-Collingwood bias to suggest West has been a better footballer than Buckley over their careers.

If you look at this comparison (http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp?SeasonID=2006&PlayerName1=nathan+buckley&PlayerName2=&PlayerName3=&PlayerName4=&Compare=Compare&SelectedPlayers=522%2C), despite the fact that now Buckley is commonly perceived to be on the decline, his 2006 season was virtually as good as West's, game by game.

http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp?SeasonID=&PlayerName1=Scott+West&PlayerName2=Nathan+Buckley&PlayerName3=Michael+Voss&PlayerName4=James+Hird&Compare=Add+to+Comparison&SelectedPlayers=522%2C1265%2C

Judging by stats Buckley is the stand out and West is up there too taking into consideration that he has played more games than the rest.

Monkeyboy
16 Jan 2007, 12:00
Stats don't always tell the whole picture.

Hird/Voss>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Buckley/West

Everyone other than Pie fans agree with this.

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 12:02

I agree, i was just showing the stats mate, settle down

mudgeathon
16 Jan 2007, 12:30
How is West winning this pole?

Buckley is the superior footballer in every aspect of the game. Who cares if West is a better bloke, when Buckley is the better player

7 x AA > 5 x AA
Brownlow Medal > No Brownlow Medal
Norm Smith > No Norm Smith
Rising Star > No Rising Star
Of current players Buckley has the 3rd best Brownlow Votes to game ratio, West was 6th

Buckley has him covered with ease

DapperDon
16 Jan 2007, 12:31
West himself would be embarrassed at this,

c'mon people Bucks shytes on West over their careers. Not taking anything away from West awesome player but Buckley will go down as a Legend of the game no doubt about it.

Astro_
16 Jan 2007, 13:25
Norm Smith > No Norm Smith

As if he deserved that

To take it further, Woewodin deserved his brownlow more than what Buckley deserved his Norm Smith.

Apart from that, 2 great players. One an in-and-under player and one a seagul.

Partridge
16 Jan 2007, 13:38

No it's not - I don't follow either and I rate West as every bit as good. Footscray have never got the media attention of Essendon and Collingwood, with the result his abilities have never been promoted as eagerly. But he's every bit as good. If Buckley's achievement in winning 6 B&Fs is a great accomplishment (as it certainly is), the same can be said for West winning 7. Very close call between them.

Coin_Toss
16 Jan 2007, 13:40
As if he deserved that

To take it further, Woewodin deserved his brownlow more than what Buckley deserved his Norm Smith.

Apart from that, 2 great players. One an in-and-under player and one a seagul.

So what? Printed in the history books.
For the record, I would have gave it to Anthony Rocca, but Bucks deserved it, enough said.

Poll - Buckley, easily. The difference here West is a good footballer, whereas Buckley is a great footballer. He has him covered...stats, or no stats.

MinerBoy
16 Jan 2007, 15:15
This poll proves once and for all two things:

1. People on this forum have very short term memories

2. People on this forum are incredibly stupid

West over Buckley pleasssee :rolleyes:

West is a great inside mid who gets plenty of the ball but Buckley is an all time great. Just because West is a better player now doesn't mean that he even comes close to Buckley over there respective careers.

Absolutely correct. West is no doubt a terrific player and gets plenty of the footy and wins all the Bulldog awards, but...........Nathan Buckley is in a different league. Over their careers I would be expect Buckley's average possession count is not too far short of West's, and they are a hell of a lot more damaging.

MinerBoy
16 Jan 2007, 15:24

I certainly don't.

Hird is perhaps the most brilliant/freakish, without ever being a big numbers player.

Voss is perhaps the most destructive when in best form.

However, whilst both those guys have had exceptional years and years where they were just another player, Buckley has been nothing short of exceptional virtually every season he has played.

If you wanted the best talent, perhaps Hird or Voss. If you wanted someone who would be consistently exceptional over 12-15 years, Buckley without a doubt.

The_Bulldogs_Bite
16 Jan 2007, 15:25
Depends what the question is asking, in a way.

In their primes? Buckley. More damaging.

Over their whole careers? Arguably, West, as he has been at the same level each and every year.

A more accurate Poll might be Johnson vs. Buckley, as it's somewhat unfair to compare an inside midfielder to more of an outside midfielder.

West is still a Champion Footballer, but Buckley was the better Footballer.

MinerBoy
16 Jan 2007, 15:30
Over their whole careers? Arguably, West, as he has been at the same level each and every year.

As has Buckley, but a higher standard. Nothing against West, as they have both been exceptional over their entire careers, Buckley has just been better.

parrot
16 Jan 2007, 16:18
West is much more effective nowdays. Buckley used to be a great player. It's a bit sad seeing a past champion like Buckley only being able to play a couple of quarters, and then blasting his team-mates at the quarter breaks for not putting in. :)

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 16:37
West is much more effective nowdays. Buckley used to be a great player. It's a bit sad seeing a past champion like Buckley only being able to play a couple of quarters, and then blasting his team-mates at the quarter breaks for not putting in. :)

Buckley plays 4 quarters most matches, what are you talking about.

borgy
16 Jan 2007, 16:46
You must be a moron!, Buckley plays 4 quarters almost every match, he has a couple of breaks but what do u expect not many people if any can play 4 quarters without a break. How would you know that he blasts his team mates for not putting in, you loser.
I understand if you think West is a better player but when you say Buckley doesn't put in, that really pisses me off, moron. :mad: :thumbsd:
:rolleyes: ohh dear

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 16:50

What do you mean ohh dear?
This has nothing to do with you.

parrot
16 Jan 2007, 16:56

Yes, exactly. :)

borgy
16 Jan 2007, 16:57
Easy tiger;)

vinnie_vegas69
16 Jan 2007, 18:20
He was simply trying to warn you not to bother arguing with parrot.

parrot's bias blinds him so much that he actually wouldn't trade Setanta O'hAilpin for Dean Cox - His words, not mine.

He has clearly left the planet a long time ago, so arguing with him is only going to frustrate you - It's like arguing with one of those automated response servers on the internet.

Mofra
16 Jan 2007, 18:25
parrot's bias blinds him so much that he actually wouldn't trade Setanta O'hAilpin for Dean Cox - His words, not mine.
parrot - makes Andrew Bolt look balanced.

Back to topic, flip a coin. I voted West, but I couldn't possibly help it given all he's done for my club. I would expect every magpie supporter to vote for Bucks for the same reason.

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 18:31
He was simply trying to warn you not to bother arguing with parrot.

He has clearly left the planet a long time ago, so arguing with him is only going to frustrate you - It's like arguing with one of those automated response servers on the internet.
hahahaha, ok, i wont bother arguing with him then, thanks for the warning.

mudgeathon
16 Jan 2007, 18:38
I still can't believe that West is wining

Just goes to show you can't take anything sersiouly on this polls board

doppleganger
16 Jan 2007, 18:54
Depends what the question is asking, in a way.
not really

In their primes? Buckley. More damaging.
yep, almost dragged his team to a premiership against one of the best teams ever assembled.

no he hasn't

Buckley and West both started in 1993, Buckley has averaged 20+ disposals in every season he has played

west hasn't

statistically this was west's best ever year

yet Buckley has 5 seasons of football that were statistically better then this season from West
A more accurate Poll might be Johnson vs. Buckley, as it's somewhat unfair to compare an inside midfielder to more of an outside midfielder.
the more accurate comparison would be west v johnson, how many times has johnson been pipped in the b&f by west??
West is still a Champion Footballer, but Buckley was the better Footballer.
west is a champion
buckley is a legend

parrot
16 Jan 2007, 18:57
hahahaha, ok, i wont bother arguing with him then, thanks for the warning.

Yep, no point in arguing. Best to just watch a few matches in 2006 where Buckley pays out on his team-mates at the breaks with his coach, after warming the pine for a 1/4 or 2. Many Pie fans will know the incidents I'm referring to. No doubt he has been a champion, but those efforts are hardly team inspiring, and will only get more frequent. Over their careers Buckley's just ahead of West, but at this stage West is miles ahead of Buckley - it just ain't close. :)

doppleganger
16 Jan 2007, 19:12
One an in-and-under player and one a seagul.

dont watch much footy if u think Buckley was/is a seagul

was always in the top 20 in the league for 1st possession stats and clearances when played in the middle

in 01 Buckley was 4th in the league in clearances, ahead of blokes like Voss, Simpson, JJ, Kouta etc.....West was 1st.

in 03 Buckley lead the league in clearances, averagin 7.1 per game for a total of 170 for the year! West although good was back on 121 clearances at an average of 5.5!!

West has never even averaged 6 clearances a game for an entire season, let alone 7 like Buckley managed.

So it seems that when Buckley is given the role as the ball winner in the middle he also blows West out of the water, plus he is the better kick, mark, leader, forward, defender etc.

West great player, Buckley Legend!

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 19:35
Yep, no point in arguing. Best to just watch a few matches in 2006 where Buckley pays out on his team-mates at the breaks with his coach, after warming the pine for a 1/4 or 2. Many Pie fans will know the incidents I'm referring to. No doubt he has been a champion, but those efforts are hardly team inspiring, and will only get more frequent. Over their careers Buckley's just ahead of West, but at this stage West is miles ahead of Buckley - it just ain't close. :)

Look mate talk all you like im not arguing with you, if you think Buckley sits on the bench then pays out our players then your a d i c k head, and im not the only one that thinks it.

jonesy86
16 Jan 2007, 19:37
stupid polls get stupid answers

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 19:39
stupid polls get stupid answers
Why is it a stupid poll?

parrot
16 Jan 2007, 20:27
..., if you think Buckley sits on the bench then pays out our players then ...

He does pay out on his team-mates during quarter time breaks. Go back and watch some videos and you'll see. OK it's sometimes inspirational, but not if you've been sitting on the pine for 1/2 the game. West is not only performing a lot better than Buckley nowdays, but the way he goes about it is a role model to his team-mates and everyone else for that matter. A true champion. Hence the Poll result. :)

nick_savo
16 Jan 2007, 20:36
He does pay out on his team-mates during quarter time breaks. Go back and watch some videos and you'll see. OK it's sometimes inspirational, but not if you've been sitting on the pine for 1/2 the game. West is not only performing a lot better than Buckley nowdays, but the way he goes about it is a role model to his team-mates and everyone else for that matter. A true champion. Hence the Poll result. :)

Look mate keep talking, i don't care anymore, now i have heard that im not the only one that thinks you are a $h!t talker im happy, so you keep posting junk if you want, your not going to get anymore responses from me.

parrot
16 Jan 2007, 20:40
Look mate keep talking, i don't care anymore....

Probably the best thing is for people to watch the games in question and make their own opinion. Many Pie fans will know the incidents I'm referring to. Going by your frenzied response I suspect you might as well. :)

The_Bulldogs_Bite
16 Jan 2007, 21:56
As has Buckley, but a higher standard. Nothing against West, as they have both been exceptional over their entire careers, Buckley has just been better.

I agree Buckley has been better, but was merely stating that people are perhaps arguing the case West has performed at a higher level CONSISTENTLY throughout his career, where as Buckley has dropped significantly in the last 2 seasons.

I agree though, Buckley is a bettr Footballer.

the more accurate comparison would be west v johnson, how many times has johnson been pipped in the b&f by west??

west is a champion
buckley is a legend

Not really. Just because West has won all the B&F's doesn't put him ahead of Johnson and Grant for that matter.

Johnson would come closer to Buckley, as many regard him in the same breath as Hird, Voss & Buckley himself - and rightly so.

I concur; West is a champion whilst Buckley is that step or two better, a legend.

Yze_13
16 Jan 2007, 23:42
Buckey Was Good Years Ago Scott West is Better In These Days,

doppleganger
17 Jan 2007, 08:29
I agree Buckley has been better, but was merely stating that people are perhaps arguing the case West has performed at a higher level CONSISTENTLY throughout his career, where as Buckley has dropped significantly in the last 2 seasons.

that is simply due to being injured, and being asked to play differing roles

In every season of his career Buckley has averaged 20+ disposals, even in the last couple when he has split his time between midfield and forward, adding another string to his bow in that he can kick a bag of 6 to go along with 25 disposals now!!

West hasn't managed to average 20+ disposals every year he has played, West has actually played his best football in the last couple of years

Buckley is the most consistently brilliant player going around, he has done it more often then Voss, Hird, West etc. perhaps Hird has played some more brilliant games, but not as many as Buckley.

Astro_
18 Jan 2007, 07:46
that is simply due to being injured, and being asked to play differing roles

In every season of his career Buckley has averaged 20+ disposals, even in the last couple when he has split his time between midfield and forward, adding another string to his bow in that he can kick a bag of 6 to go along with 25 disposals now!!

West hasn't managed to average 20+ disposals every year he has played, West has actually played his best football in the last couple of years

Last 6 years for Scott West. I cant find the stats previous to 2000.

2006: 1st with 30.0 disposals per game (Goodwin with 28.2)
2005: 1st with 28.8 disposals per game (Hodge with 28.1)
2004: 1st with 27.4 disposals per game (Lappin with 25.8)
2003: 1st with 28.8 disposals per game (Buckley with 27.3)
2002: 1st with 27.1 disposals per game (Bell with 26.7)
2001: 3rd with 27.5 disposals per game (Bell with 28.3)
2000: 2nd with 29.0 disposals per game (Buckley with 30.1)

Totals:

2000: 667 in 23 games
2001: 606 in 22 games
2002: 488 in 18 games
2003: 633 in 22 games
2004: 603 in 22 games
2005: 633 in 22 games
2006: 719 in 24 games

4349 disposals since 2000 in 153 games at 28.4 disposals per game.

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 08:20
Last 6 years for Scott West. I cant find the stats previous to 2000.

2006: 1st with 30.0 disposals per game (Goodwin with 28.2)
2005: 1st with 28.8 disposals per game (Hodge with 28.1)
2004: 1st with 27.4 disposals per game (Lappin with 25.8)
2003: 1st with 28.8 disposals per game (Buckley with 27.3)
2002: 1st with 27.1 disposals per game (Bell with 26.7)
2001: 3rd with 27.5 disposals per game (Bell with 28.3)
2000: 2nd with 29.0 disposals per game (Buckley with 30.1)

Totals:

2000: 667 in 23 games
2001: 606 in 22 games
2002: 488 in 18 games
2003: 633 in 22 games
2004: 603 in 22 games
2005: 633 in 22 games
2006: 719 in 24 games

4349 disposals since 2000 in 153 games at 28.4 disposals per game.

yeah i know, i said west is playing his best football over the last couple of years!!

here is a link to west entire career
http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=522

here is a link to buckley's
http://www.finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=1265

u will find that buckley has never dipped below an average of 20 disposals, West has twice

hence Buckley more consistent, and when at his best more damaging!

West an elite midfielder and a champion, buckley legend

SCRAY72
18 Jan 2007, 11:26
On pure skill and ability, I voted for Bucks.

Better poll would have been Ricciuto v Buckley.

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 11:41
On pure skill and ability, I voted for Bucks.

Better poll would have been Ricciuto v Buckley.

Ricciuto would that one pretty easy.

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 13:09
Ricciuto would that one pretty easy.

no he wouldn't

buckley is a better kick, and is able to find more of the ball
buckley lays more tackles, and wins more clearances
buckley kicks more goals
buckley is a better leader
buckley almost lead his team to a flag
whilst adelaide won a flag without roo, and he goes and gets himself suspended which cost them the 05 flag

buckley easily over ricciuto

ricciuto is better at elbowing blokes and getting suspended tho!!

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 13:17
no he wouldn't

buckley is a better kick, and is able to find more of the ball
buckley lays more tackles, and wins more clearances
buckley kicks more goals
buckley is a better leader
buckley almost lead his team to a flag
whilst adelaide won a flag without roo, and he goes and gets himself suspended which cost them the 05 flag

buckley easily over ricciuto

ricciuto is better at elbowing blokes and getting suspended tho!!

Are you saying that Mark Ricciuto is a dirty player?

BoundforGlory
18 Jan 2007, 13:26
Scott West purely based on consistancy over a longer period of time and the fact he has had hardly any injuries at all

That is the most ridiculous comment I have EVER heard!!!

COmparing Buckley the greatest & most consistant player in the last 20 years to West, is liek comparing Mohammad Ali to Anothony Mundine..

Please!!!!

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 13:38
Are you saying that Mark Ricciuto is a dirty player?

not dirty per se

but has got himself rubbed out for elbowing blokes in the head a few times, stupid perhaps!

Dj Chriss
18 Jan 2007, 13:46
I would like to see the stat of clangers made by the two of them. Yes West gets the ball, but how many times does he turnit over compared to a guy like Buckley?

Papa G
18 Jan 2007, 13:49
Buckley is a better player, but I reckon you'd rather play along side Scotty West as he wouldn't abuse you for not being as good as him.

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 13:53
Buckley is a better player, but I reckon you'd rather play along side Scotty West as he wouldn't abuse you for not being as good as him.

Or West wouldn't abuse you for not kicking the ball to him :D :p

parrot
18 Jan 2007, 13:57

Valid point. There have always been question marks regarding Buckley's attitude towards his team-mates. It is better nowdays, but he was almost universally hated by his team-mates early in his career at Pie-land. The complete reverse is true of West. :)

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 14:14

yeah in his early days buckley was frustrated that his team mates didn't work as hard and perform as well as he did, ever since he took on the captaincy this all changed and now he helps out players, pretty much an on-field coach these days

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 14:16

why would the dogs look to give the ball to west when he doesn't kick the ball well!??

the dogs look to give the ball to gilbee at every chance possible, because he is their best kick, the oppostion often leave west alone because he doesn't use it that well.

buckley used to be like gilbee when he was played across HB, but he then went into the middle and won his own ball

Buckley holds the record for 170 clearances in a year

some people have no idea

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 14:26
why would the dogs look to give the ball to west when he doesn't kick the ball well!??

the dogs look to give the ball to gilbee at every chance possible, because he is their best kick, the oppostion often leave west alone because he doesn't use it that well.

buckley used to be like gilbee when he was played across HB, but he then went into the middle and won his own ball

Buckley holds the record for 170 clearances in a year

some people have no idea

Settle down, mate! I was having a joke at Buckley's expense.

parrot
18 Jan 2007, 14:28

Or abuse you at the quarter time breaks. Inspiring stuff. :)

Monkeyboy
18 Jan 2007, 14:37
This poll is a little tighter than i would have thought. Must be plenty of Pies supporters voting!

MinerBoy
18 Jan 2007, 14:51
This poll is a little tighter than i would have thought. Must be plenty of Pies supporters voting!

A little tighter than I expected also. I would have thought Buckley would be miles in front.

Nothing against Westy - but come on people.

Coin_Toss
18 Jan 2007, 14:56
Or abuse you at the quarter time breaks. Inspiring stuff. :)

As far as I'm aware, I thought captains were allowed to berate their teammates if the situation allowed for it, sometimes you can only learn the hard way.

I have heard the stories too but most if it are myths. On the same note, now he has matured, since he was given the captaincy he hasn't been the same on field individual he used to be (or was branded to be in that respect).

What's that got to do with the comparison? Absolutely nothing! :D

yulong
18 Jan 2007, 15:19
Results highlight the avereage age of the bigfooty poster.

Impartial Spectator
18 Jan 2007, 15:28
West is good Buckley better.....by a fair margin.

Mr Cannons
18 Jan 2007, 15:32
Buckley because he can play defence, middle and attack.
West can only play middle, none the less is an awesome player that i respect very much.

Nardz
18 Jan 2007, 16:00
pfft...

Scott "i struggle to kick 40 metres" West being compared to Buckley?

what a joke

whats the next poll.....

Tarkyn Lockyer vs Chris Judd?

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 16:03
I have to admit Buckley has the better skill of the two but when you want a player to do the tough in and under stuff I would choose Scott West first without a doubt.

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 16:12
I have to admit Buckley has the better skill of the two but when you want a player to do the tough in and under stuff I would choose Scott West first without a doubt.

only problem there is that N.Buckley holds the record for the most clearances in a season with 170 averaged over 7 a game

so he can win the ball better and then use it better too!

Strachuniee
18 Jan 2007, 16:15
pfft...

Scott "i struggle to kick 40 metres" West being compared to Buckley?

what a joke

whats the next poll.....

Tarkyn Lockyer vs Chris Judd?

yeh what a joke, tarks would win hands down:D

But seriously as much as i like scott west and regardless of the amout of respect i have for him, Nathan Buckley is by far the better player. Bucks has been the most consisent player over the last 10 years in terms of not onlt possessions but also the influence he has upon games. He stands up at the right times and has one of the most accurate and pentrating kicks, and contrary to popular belief he goes in hard and finds his own ball (as indicated by being collingwoods highest hard ball getter)

Astro_
18 Jan 2007, 16:17

We look to give it to our running players at every possible chance. West uses the ball very well, just not the best kick. Leave West alone at your own peril, his handballs are lighting (you would have seen this in the EF).

I doubt players are instructed to leave West alone. He is tagged week in week out and still managers to fire the ball out to our running players. Absolute star.

Bucks in this poll tho.

parrot
18 Jan 2007, 16:34
As far as I'm aware, I thought captains were allowed to berate their teammates if the situation allowed for it, sometimes you can only learn the hard way.

I have heard the stories too but most if it are myths. On the same note, now he has matured, since he was given the captaincy he hasn't been the same on field individual he used to be (or was branded to be in that respect).

What's that got to do with the comparison? Absolutely nothing! :D

Has absolutely everything to do with it. Buckley has no doubt had some great individual performances, but his poor attitude toward his team-mates has been a negative. West not only is performing a lot better than Buckley at the moment, he also is a much better team-player. Many Pie fans will recall how hated Buckley was by his team-mates earlier in his career. He has mellowed a bit since then, but blasting his team-mates at the quarter breaks, before the coach has had a go, especially after sitting on the pine, brings back memories of the old Buckley. Suspect these incidents will only get more frequent as the career winds down and frustration escalates. :)

emperor
18 Jan 2007, 16:41
In his prime, Buckley simply because he can be an devastating midfielder and forward, with sublime skills. Personally I didn't mind the fact that he used to blast his teammates, I think some of you are being a little bit precious in regards to his perceived image.

Footylover1
18 Jan 2007, 16:59

And who usually gives the ball out to Gilbee and others? That's right, Scott West!

Scruba
18 Jan 2007, 17:57
why would he be looking to kick it to gilbee he is a defender..

doppleganger
18 Jan 2007, 18:03
We look to give it to our running players at every possible chance. West uses the ball very well, just not the best kick. Leave West alone at your own peril, his handballs are lighting (you would have seen this in the EF).

I doubt players are instructed to leave West alone. He is tagged week in week out and still managers to fire the ball out to our running players. Absolute star.

Bucks in this poll tho.
in the first game of 06, the pies didn't put much work into west, and he went on to get 40disposals and we won by 6goals!!

remember that game that eagleton was targetted after his blistering first quarter and was shut out of the game, but west was left to pick up touches because in open play he doesn't hurt u as much with his ball usage, compared to the other doggies midfielders

but west is still a champion

Astro_
18 Jan 2007, 19:18
in the first game of 06, the pies didn't put much work into west, and he went on to get 40disposals and we won by 6goals!!

got to remember we lost two players early that game and played a half with 2 less players. The pies were in red hot form coming into that game, and our coach said afterwards it was one gusty performance. For the record...S. West 3 votes.

You let him get 36 disposals in the final and he ripped you apart.

doppleganger
19 Jan 2007, 08:11
got to remember we lost two players early that game and played a half with 2 less players. The pies were in red hot form coming into that game, and our coach said afterwards it was one gusty performance. For the record...S. West 3 votes.

You let him get 36 disposals in the final and he ripped you apart.

of course if u get 40 disposals people will vote u best on ground, as the ball is always in ur hands.

still eagleton set up the bulldogs that night, first quarter was kicking goals, drilling 50m+ penetrating passes, he was killing us. after quarter time a hard tag went to him and pies ran over the top

Astro_
19 Jan 2007, 08:27
of course if u get 40 disposals people will vote u best on ground, as the ball is always in ur hands.

still eagleton set up the bulldogs that night, first quarter was kicking goals, drilling 50m+ penetrating passes, he was killing us. after quarter time a hard tag went to him and pies ran over the top

I remember driving into that game (i was running late and missed the first qrt and a bit) and BT on MMM was saying how eagle was ripping it up. got to the game half way through the 2nd and didnt see the bald eagle anywhere.

Massive crowd at that game from memory. I also remember that night looking at these two chicks 1 row in front of me playing with their phones. They had a video of two chicks going for it (kissing) from their school....was thinking to myself "wish that happened in my school days". That was about the excitment of my night!

blaisee
19 Jan 2007, 08:42
One is a one team footballer who is loyal, puts his teamates first and his own game last. the other is a champion individual playing a team game who still counts his possessions and is the ultimate egomaniac!

both have failed to play in a premiership, west is the only one out of the two that still has a chance of rectifying this.

doppleganger
19 Jan 2007, 09:03
I remember driving into that game (i was running late and missed the first qrt and a bit) and BT on MMM was saying how eagle was ripping it up. got to the game half way through the 2nd and didnt see the bald eagle anywhere.

Massive crowd at that game from memory. I also remember that night looking at these two chicks 1 row in front of me playing with their phones. They had a video of two chicks going for it (kissing) from their school....was thinking to myself "wish that happened in my school days". That was about the excitment of my night!

it was a cracking game, eagle did put on a show in the first quarter

was actually a really good game to watch, both teams just going for it

but the dogs ran out of legs, due to injury unfortunately

parrot
19 Jan 2007, 09:10
One is a one team footballer who is loyal, puts his teamates first and his own game last. the other is a champion individual playing a team game who still counts his possessions and is the ultimate egomaniac!

both have failed to play in a premiership, west is the only one out of the two that still has a chance of rectifying this.

Fair summary. Buckley's poor attitude toward his team-mates will always be a blight, on an otherwise very good individual career at Pie Land. :)

J-Ro-20
19 Jan 2007, 11:21
I went for Buckley, skills wise he is miles ahead of west. he was miles ahead of most players even when he was at the Bears! But as a workhorse id have to go with West. Like Robert Harvey, West is consistant and has been an amazing workhorse for over a decade.

nick_savo
22 Jan 2007, 21:02
I went for Buckley, skills wise he is miles ahead of west. he was miles ahead of most players even when he was at the Bears! But as a workhorse id have to go with West. Like Robert Harvey, West is consistant and has been an amazing workhorse for over a decade.
Yer, West I really feel sorry for West that he hasn't won a brownlow, he really deserve one. Maybe this year will be his year but i doubt it, if he was going to get one it was going to be last year. But you never know stranger things have happened.

Coin_Toss
23 Jan 2007, 12:42
West is consistant

What are you trying to say?

Buckley is also consistent. He was our shining light for most of the 90s and he never failed to deliver.

West is consistent but he won't be remembered as an AFL great. He's not in the same league as Buckley.

Kings Army
23 Jan 2007, 12:53
Good to see West lead - not much between them - Bucks is over rated and West is under rated - but not much between them as this poll shows!

Tarkyn_24
23 Jan 2007, 13:07
This poll deserves to be 50/50

Two great players, absolute masters of the game. Couldn't seperate them.

Obliging to the fact I'm a Collingwood supporter, I voted Bukley ;)

Tarkyn_24
23 Jan 2007, 13:09
Yer, West I really feel sorry for West that he hasn't won a brownlow, he really deserve one. Maybe this year will be his year but i doubt it, if he was going to get one it was going to be last year. But you never know stranger things have happened.

He deserved 2000 Brownlow

2000 Brownlow = Woewodin

Now I know why umpires are abused...

doppleganger
23 Jan 2007, 13:35
He deserved 2000 Brownlow

2000 Brownlow = Woewodin

Now I know why umpires are abused...

pffft West didn't deserve the 2000 brownlow, if anything Buckley did!!

1998 rankings
http://www.finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=1998&Round=&Go=Go&Sort=AverageRating+Desc

1999 rankings
http://www.finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=1999&Round=&Go=Go&Sort=AverageRating+Desc

2000 rankings
http://www.finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2000&Round=&Go=Go&Sort=AverageRating+Desc

2001 rankings
http://www.finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2001&Round=&Go=Go&Sort=AverageRating+Desc

2003 rankings
http://www.finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2003&Round=&Go=Go&Sort=AverageRating+Desc

5 out of 6 years Buckley was statistically the best player in the league, if that isn't consistently brilliant i dont know what is!

just a pity that the pies were a rabble so the individual awards went to players from succesful teams like woewy, when pies win some games surprise surprise Buckley wins a brownlow!!

dalethomas13
23 Jan 2007, 15:47
Good to see West lead - not much between them - Bucks is over rated and West is under rated - but not much between them as this poll shows!
Come on mate you cannot be constantly winning best and fairests throughout your career along with charlie, norm, a rising star and several AA jumpers and be overrated. Are you kidding me?? Westy is not under rated (perhaps just hasnt won a brownlow) but is highly regarded and respected but buckley is in a category of one of the game's elite over the past decade with the likes of hird's voss' etc. West is a champion dont get me wrong but bucks is elite.

Tarkyn_24
23 Jan 2007, 16:03
Agreed mate:thumbsu:

Not a Wellman
23 Jan 2007, 19:46
They are both the same sort of player in a sence, if Buckley gets 30+ touches it's not certianty Collingwood win and the same goes for West. Where as if Voss did you know 9 out of 10 Brisbane would win.

I voted West cause i rekon he gets more of the hard ball and less recieved.