View Full Version : Typical: SA skipper blames Pakistan fans for the Gibbs slur

Romeo
16 Jan 2007, 16:39
Why can't he just accept that Gibbs's comments were reprehensible?
Irate Smith speaks up for banned Gibbshttp://www.int.iol.co.za/data/bypics//bypic_698.gif Stuart Hess
January 16 2007 at 07:09AM South Africa cricket captain Graeme Smith has come out strongly in support of Herschelle Gibbs, who has been banned for two Test matches for calling a group of Pakistan supporters a "bunch of f***ing animals".

While Smith acknowledged that Gibbs's comments were wrong, he said they came after a barrage of racial abuse was directed at the South Africa team by Pakistan supporters during the game.

"There is a lot of anger with what happened," Smith said after the first Test match against Pakistan ended in Centurion on Monday.

"There's a lot of support for Herschelle (from the team). Yesterday (Sunday) there was quite a lot of racial abuse taking place from Pakistan fans towards our players. And I think that provoked a lot of what happened.

'There's a lot of support for Herschelle'"I don't think we condone what happened, but I can see why it happened."

Gibbs's remarks, made shortly before the lunch interval on Sunday, were clearly audible over the stump microphones.

"F***ing bunch of f***ing animals. F***ing go back to the zoo, it's not f***ing Pakistan this," Gibbs was heard saying.

His comments were directed at fans who had verbally abused him and other South African fielders standing close to the boundary during the fourth day's play.

A second South African player, as yet unidentified, can be heard calling the supporters a "bunch of hyenas".

After the conclusion of Monday's match, Gibbs appeared before International Cricket Council match commissioner Chris Broad, and he was also due to appear before a Cricket South Africa disciplinary hearing on Tuesday morning.

In finding Gibbs guilty of making racially offensive remarks, Broad said: "I am content that the level of the charge and the resulting punishment is appropriate. Cricket has zero tolerance of racism."

Cap
16 Jan 2007, 16:40
I don;t understand how calling someone an animal is racist ?

goalpie
16 Jan 2007, 16:43
Smith is a chump.

Romeo
16 Jan 2007, 16:48
Smith is a chump.

Yes he's the one who belongs in Gibb's Zoo.;)

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 16:49

the inference in the comments made is that because they are Pakistani they are animals - ie. a lower class of species to the human race.... that's racist

the hyena comment however is probably more open to interpretation- that could be interpreted as a metaphor for the noise the Pakistani fans made sounded like hyenas.

mr_cellotape
16 Jan 2007, 16:52
Absolute bloody hypocrites.

Cooldude
16 Jan 2007, 16:53
Gibbs should be severely punished, but so should that section of the crowd that abused Paul Harris

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 16:58
Gibbs should be severely punished, but so should that section of the crowd that abused Paul Harris

i agree - i thought 2 matches was way too light.
this is his 3rd offence that has brought the game into disrepute...
1. drug offences (recreational)
2. match-fixing (should have got life...but don't get me started on that...)
3. racial abuse

he's only got to chuck in some umpire abuse and he's got the grand slam...

SA Cricket should make an example of him & tear up his contract

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:00
Dont see much wrong with it.

If the pakistanis had've made a racist remark about a South African nothing would be done about it.

They get away with murder.

Zeke
16 Jan 2007, 17:02
If a group of people are acting like animals, is it racist to label them as such, regardless of their ethnicity?

Serious question.

spell_check
16 Jan 2007, 17:02

If the pakistanis had've made a racist remark about a South African nothing would be done about it.

Exactly. More Asian bias from the ICC.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 17:06

big difference between the crowd making racist remarks & the players doing it...
that's not condoning the crowds remarks at all though - any offenders should have been immediately booted from the arena & if it is at all possible to ban them from attending future events that step should be taken as well.

Gibbs however is a paid professional cricketer who has responsibilities not just to himself, but to his team & to the game overall... yes some of his teammates were abused, but two wrongs don't make a right

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:06
If a group of people are acting like animals, is it racist to label them as such, regardless of their ethnicity?

Serious question.

In his spiel he actually referred to the Pakistanis as animals i think though.

He said something like "They're a bunch of animals, like hyenas, f***in Pakis" or somethin.

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:07
big difference between the crowd making racist remarks & the players doing it...
that's not condoning the crowds remarks at all though - any offenders should have been immediately booted from the arena & if it is at all possible to ban them from attending future events that step should be taken as well.

Gibbs however is a paid professional cricketer who has responsibilities not just to himself, but to his team & to the game overall... yes some of his teammates were abused, but two wrongs don't make a right

I wasnt talkin about the crowd.

If the pakistani players had 'racially' abused a South African from the crowd nothing would be done.

spell_check
16 Jan 2007, 17:09
And also, stump microphones should only be on during the time the ball is bowled.

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:11
And also, stump microphones should only be on during the time the ball is bowled.

They're only supposed to be which is why I disagree with the suspension tbh.

If they had been correctly turned off we would be none the wiser.

What is said on the field should stay on the field IMO.

CrazyQ
16 Jan 2007, 17:12
If Inzi called Ponting a hyena, what would happen?

Nothing.

The qoute they give, I dont find anything racist in it, definately immature and disrespectful, but not racist.

spell_check
16 Jan 2007, 17:12
They're only supposed to be which is why I disagree with the suspension tbh.

If they had been correctly turned off we would be none the wiser.

What is said on the field should stay on the field IMO.

:thumbsu:

CrazyQ
16 Jan 2007, 17:15
:thumbsu:
Depends.

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 17:18

Me neither. Sounded like a reference to them being unruly.

If Gibbs gets suspended for abuse, do the crowd members who also were abusive get punished?

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:18
Depends.

I think that should be the case unless one set of players reports it.

Then it is a matter for the match referee, but something said in gest like Gibbs' statement was should stay on the field.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 17:23

Serious question.

its a very good question...

if you or I were called an animal, regardless of our behaviour... we wouldn't interpret that as an ethnic slur. The fact is though, that a lot of people would - and ultimately I think those that are being abused get to decide whether they find a comment offensive or not - and I would think that most people would recognise that using the kind of language that Gibbs did is certainly treading on shaky ground...

breaking down what Gibbs said - i reckon its the last part that really is where the problem is.

"F***ing bunch of f***ing animals. F***ing go back to the zoo, it's not f***ing Pakistan this," Gibbs was heard saying.

The 1st sentence is borderline - is he referring to their behaviour? If so, the argument could be that it isn't racist... Or is he referring to the fact that they are Pakistani, and therefore in his mind they are animals - if so, racist comment...

2nd sentence first phrase - is really a continuation of the first, and depending on the intent & interpretation will define which line you take with the comments so far...

Last 5 words in bold is pretty clear in my mind & where the basis for the suspension comes from - he characterises that the afore mentioned "animals" that "belong in a zoo" should be "in Pakistan".....

In my mind I think his intent is clear...

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 17:26
I wasnt talkin about the crowd.

If the pakistani players had 'racially' abused a South African from the crowd nothing would be done.

that's nonsense & heresay...

to suggest the ICC would look the other way if the roles were reversed is fairly simple-minded.

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:27

to suggest the ICC would look the other way if the roles were reversed is fairly simple-minded.

They would.

Asif and Akhtar get banned for drugs but then get allowed to get their band overturned.

How come Warne wasn't allowed his overturned??

CrazyQ
16 Jan 2007, 17:29
They would.

Asif and Akhtar get banned for drugs but then get allowed to get their band overturned.

Because his "mum" gave him the pills...

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 17:31
They would.

Asif & Akhtar ban wasn't overturned by the ICC - but by the Pakistani cricket board who found a loophole and exploited it.

ICC & WADA are now fighting the overturn in the Court of Arbitration...my legal knowledge in this area is a little rusty - but expect to see the appeal upheld. Ignorance isn't an excuse - particularly in this day & age.

I would have liked to have seen the ICC be a bit stronger with a rogue cricket board - but then again they hardly have a good track record in that area do they?

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 17:32
I expect most people have been called much worse than 'an animal' at some time or another. This seems rather petty.

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 17:56
Asif & Akhtar ban wasn't overturned by the ICC - but by the Pakistani cricket board who found a loophole and exploited it.

ICC & WADA are now fighting the overturn in the Court of Arbitration...my legal knowledge in this area is a little rusty - but expect to see the appeal upheld. Ignorance isn't an excuse - particularly in this day & age.

I would have liked to have seen the ICC be a bit stronger with a rogue cricket board - but then again they hardly have a good track record in that area do they?

I realise this.

My point is that the ICC should not have allowed this to happen. Although this loophole could be anything.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Jan 2007, 18:00
the inference in the comments made is that because they are Pakistani they are animals - ie. a lower class of species to the human race.... that's racist

the hyena comment however is probably more open to interpretation- that could be interpreted as a metaphor for the noise the Pakistani fans made sounded like hyenas.

As far as i'm concerned the inference means ******** all.

If several supporters are acting like deadbeats yelling out abuse and hanging over the boundary dishing out the folks and generally being ********heads then most people would think they have just come from the zoo on day leave.

Therefore "acting like a bunch of animals"

There is nothing in it in my book and just another example how middle eastern backgrounds cry "racism" at any chance no matter how trivial.

Sure gibbs called them animals but for people to automatically assume he was being racist is a bit much.

Storm in a tea cup.

Nuff Said.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 18:05
I realise this.

My point is that the ICC should not have allowed this to happen. Although this loophole could be anything.

I agree with you on the ICC - weak form on their behalf.

My point on racism is that they have written a fairly definitive & comprehensive policy on what does & does not constitute racial abuse and at a quick glance I couldn't see any obvious loopholes that can be exploited there...
Expect the one on the drug testing policies to be resolves at their next convened meeting - behind closed doors they will have been kicking themselves over that one...and I wouldn't be surprised if WADA has had a go at them too over it.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 18:10
There is nothing in it in my book and just another example how middle eastern backgrounds cry "racism" at any chance no matter how trivial.

careful - that's dangerous ground you're treading on yourself...:thumbsd:
Broad generalisations about racial groups - particularly those that aren't overly positive is not a good way to go...

I just think it's a bit rich for those that aren't being racially vilified (and most likely have never been) to tell others what terms they should & shouldn't be offended by....:confused:

Believe me - as a white Australian male I never gave a second thought as to what it would be like to be racially abused - but when it happens its actually very offensive and off-putting.

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 18:28
I just think it's a bit rich for those that aren't being racially vilified (and most likely have never been) to tell others what terms they should & shouldn't be offended by....:confused:

And you shouldn't judge whether a comment was right or wrong based on how offended someone was. Some people get offended far too easily.

The Reaper
16 Jan 2007, 18:30
Whats on the field should stay on the field.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Jan 2007, 18:33
careful - that's dangerous ground you're treading on yourself...:thumbsd:
Broad generalisations about racial groups - particularly those that aren't overly positive is not a good way to go...

Believe me - as a white Australian male I never gave a second thought as to what it would be like to be racially abused - but when it happens its actually very offensive and off-putting.

I realise it is dangerous ground but come on, a group of pakistani supporters have ADMITTED to ABUSING players CONSTANTLY and basically acting like idiots.

There is no doubt about that.

Consquently, a South African BLACK player has remarked that this group is acting "like animals".

How is that racist?

I don't think it can be classed as racist.

That is IMO.

The Reaper
16 Jan 2007, 18:34
I realise it is dangerous ground but come on, a group of pakistani supporters have ADMITTED to ABUSING players CONSTANTLY and basically acting like idiots.

There is no doubt about that.

Consquently, a South African BLACK player has remarked that this group is acting "like animals".

How is that racist?

I don't think it can be classed as racist.

That is IMO.

Doesn't Gibbs have a sub continent background?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Jan 2007, 18:37
My point is basically that there have been numerous incidents in the past where middle eastern groups have done the wrong thing but played the race card when it started getting all dramatic.

It comes to a point where in SOME incidents the race card is pulled out as they know it is a sensitive issue.

Come on, anyone can see what is happening. When something goes against some groups they immediately play the race card and it gives me the ********s.

There is no doubt in my mind that Gibbs was not being racised especially due to his background.

The supporters were acting like deadbeats and Gibbs commented on it.

It was not racist.

Joffaboy
16 Jan 2007, 18:40
Stupid thing to say by Gibbs even if he was provoked.

The Pakistani supporters reported to be making monkey noises at the black South African players are reprehensible and should be condemned, and i can understand anyone being provoked. However two wrongs dont make a right and even though it was a comment to a teammate caught on the stump mikes,the fact is that the comments was made and unfortunately can be construed as a racist slur toward the Pakistani's.

Gibbs should have known better, and for Smith to make excuses about him after what he said about Australian crowds and that Monty Panesar would be racially taunted makes hm look like a slimy hypocrite and an apologist.

Racism is a problem all over the world. For people to try and point score and try and say one country is more racist tham another is truly silly. Sure there are racists in Australia, I have heard them at the footy and the cricket, but obviously there is problems all over the world and not just Australia. Graeme Smith should realise that and stop making excuses.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Jan 2007, 18:42
Stupid thing to say by Gibbs even if he was provoked.

The Pakistani supporters reported to be making monkey noises at the black South African players are reprehensible and should be condemned, and i can understand anyone being provoked. However two wrongs dont make a right and even though it was a comment to a teammate caught on the stump mikes,the fact is that the comments was made and unfortunately can be construed as a racist slur toward the Pakistani's.

Gibbs should have known better, and for Smith to make excuses about him after what he said about Australian crowds and that Monty Panesar would be racially taunted makes hm look like a slimy hypocrite and an apologist.

Racism is a problem all over the world. For people to try and point score and try and say one country is more racist tham another is truly silly. Sure there are racists in Australia, I have heard them at the footy and the cricket, but obviously there is problems all over the world and not just Australia. Graeme Smith should realise that and stop making excuses.

Mate anything said can just about be inferred as racist when people are overly sensitive.

It is a storm in a tea cup.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 18:55
And you shouldn't judge whether a comment was right or wrong based on how offended someone was. Some people get offended far too easily.

I agree that some do get offended far too easily...but racial taunts are just inexcusable and uncalled for.

Yes, if the microphones hadn't been on no-one would have known about it.
Yes, if certain troublemakers in the crowd hadn't been acting like clowns themselves Gibbs probably wouldn't have made the comment.

However - he made the comments directed at a certain section of the community who are offended. There are specific rules in place set by the ICC that players are aware of that state that it isn't tolerated and offenders will be fined and/or suspended...

Shouldn't it be that straight-forward?

Darealrath
16 Jan 2007, 18:57
Don't see it as racist at all.

tobes1995
16 Jan 2007, 19:21
I don't think it's racist and unfortunately after the Darrel Hair incident (just cause it was made against asians) even a tiny thing on the cricket field like this is caught sentout to the world and makes Gibbs a villan. the ICC should stand up to the Black/Asian countries who can do whatever they like but can't have it down gainst themselves.

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 19:46
I agree that some do get offended far too easily...but racial taunts are just inexcusable and uncalled for.

Yes, if the microphones hadn't been on no-one would have known about it.
Yes, if certain troublemakers in the crowd hadn't been acting like clowns themselves Gibbs probably wouldn't have made the comment.

However - he made the comments directed at a certain section of the community who are offended. There are specific rules in place set by the ICC that players are aware of that state that it isn't tolerated and offenders will be fined and/or suspended...

Shouldn't it be that straight-forward?

The spoken word revolves around context and interpretation so I don't think it is straight forward at all.

There are things that people say that I find inappropriate, but IMO this doesn't fall under that category. The guy is human, and it shouldn't come as a surprise that he is feeling some resentment and that he may be a little irrational if he has just copped a gobfull. The ICC should take those things that you mentioned into context, give him a slap on the wrist, tell him to be careful of the stump mikes in future, and move on.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 19:50
The spoken word revolves around context and interpretation so I don't think it is straight forward at all.

There are things that people say that I find inappropriate, but IMO this doesn't fall under that category. The guy is human, and it shouldn't come as a surprise that he is feeling some resentment and that he may be a little irrational if he has just copped a gobfull. The ICC should take those things that you mentioned into context, give him a slap on the wrist, tell him to be careful of the stump mikes in future, and move on.

first recorder offence under a newly revised policy...
Do you slap the offender on the wrist or enforce it to show everyone why you brought that policy in to begin with??

The message has now been set - any form of racist remarks will be deemed as inexcusable...represent the game in the appropriate manner

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 19:52
first recorder offence under a newly revised policy...
Do you slap the offender on the wrist or enforce it to show everyone why you brought that policy in to begin with??

The message has now been set - any form of racist remarks will be deemed as inexcusable...represent the game in the appropriate manner

Do you enforce a penalty to send a message or to fit the crime?

telsor
16 Jan 2007, 19:54
Last Year, in Australia, a few members of the crowd abused South African Players, In Afrikaans and the outcry was that Australians were racist and should be banned from holding further games.

Obviously, the nationality of the crowd members doesn't matter, merely their location, so surely the call should now be for SA's right to hold matches to be in jeopardy.

hong_kong_bond
16 Jan 2007, 19:57
Do you enforce a penalty to send a message or to fit the crime?

sometimes both...ICC exists to enforce the rules & protect the image of the game... on both counts here Gibbs is in the wrong.

TBH - I'm surprised Gibbs didn't get more, not neccessarily because of this offence, but because of his antics in the past.

I reckon you could guarantee that if any player racially abused another player in a very direct manner the penalty would be much more severe... the penalty is on the lighter end of the scale that could have been administered

ShearMagic9
16 Jan 2007, 20:13
The South African board (CSA) has said Herschelle Gibbs will appeal against the two-Test ban imposed on him by the ICC for alleged comments made by him during the first Test between South Africa and Pakistan. The decision has led to the CSA's hearing of the issue being postponed till the ICC appeal process is completed.

The CSA's hearing, chaired by Judge Mervyn King, is to determine whether the alleged remarks were in breach of the Rules and Code of Conduct of Cricket South Africa. If found guilty, Gibbs would have breached the board's clauses on abuse "on the basis of race, religion, colour, descent, national or ethnic origin" and on "unbecoming conduct which brings the board or the game into disrepute".

"As the ICC findings and suspension have a bearing on CSA's disciplinary matter, I have postponed the hearing until after Herschelle Gibbs's appeal proceedings have been completed by the ICC", King said.

Gibbs comments came shortly before lunch on the fourth day of the Test. According to the ICC Rules, all fines and punishments are suspended till a decision is taken on the appeal. Gibbs had 24 hours to appeal against the ban handed down by Chris Broad, the match referee.

Gerald Majola, the chief executive of the South African board, said that the CSA's charges against Gibbs were laid before those of the ICC. "As Judge King has pointed out, the ICC procedures have a bearing on our own hearing and so no further statements will be forthcoming from CSA on this matter until after the ICC and our own disciplinary procedures have been completed," he said.

Gibbs appealing it would seem. Good on him.

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2007, 20:15
sometimes both...ICC exists to enforce the rules & protect the image of the game... on both counts here Gibbs is in the wrong.

That's the easy way out:D

I guess our differences in opinion all come down to the fact that we view the 'offence' differently. I just know that if I had been in his position and copped a serve from a group of people I might have had a few unpleasant words to say under my breath. And if I am no better then who am I to condemn him?

mr_cellotape
16 Jan 2007, 20:55

This is the main point of this issue in my opinion. Gibbs' comments weren't particularly bad, and it's a bit of a storm in a tea cup for sure. But for Smith to blame the crowd for potentially racist comments made by a teammate... diabolical. What an absolute muppet.

RoosterLad
16 Jan 2007, 21:33
Racist South Africa strike again.
First apartheid, then discrimination against white cricketers, now Gibbs. What a disgrace.

King Elvis
16 Jan 2007, 21:47
I expect most people have been called much worse than 'an animal' at some time or another. This seems rather petty.

I agree completely, but South Africa made that bed for World Cricket, now they have to sleep in it.

just maybe
16 Jan 2007, 22:51
Why can't he just accept that Gibbs's comments were reprehensible?

Typical, yes.

Typical to trust Romeo to come up with some dumb attack on Smith while Gibbs is in trouble.

Can't keep his hand off it when it comes to attacking Smith, this poster.

Like any captain, Smith isn't going to hang his player out to dry.

And he's also right, given the Pakistani fans were being abusive. While this doesn't excuse Gibbs, it certainly adds to the picture.

Dumb, vindictive thread all round.

Ted Ed Fred
16 Jan 2007, 23:50
Typical, yes.

Typical to trust Romeo to come up with some dumb attack on Smith while Gibbs is in trouble.

Can't keep his hand off it when it comes to attacking Smith, this poster.

Like any captain, Smith isn't going to hang his player out to dry.

And he's also right, given the Pakistani fans were being abusive. While this doesn't excuse Gibbs, it certainly adds to the picture.

Dumb, vindictive thread all round.

Terrible post from just maybe, what a surprise. Smith whinged and sooked non stop last summer, which he had a right to do, but then gleefully concocted some fantasy about how Monty Panesar will be racially abused all summer by hoards of Aussies. Not only was this a pathetic comment considering the attitudes of many South Africans and the behaviour of his own crowds, but his recent comments when it's one of his own at fault also display hypocrisy at its worst.

Zeke
17 Jan 2007, 07:29
I don't think it was racist at all.

I think he called it as he saw it. A group of morons in the crowd were acting like animals. There reference to "this not being Pakistan" was borderline offensive, but for anyone who actually has visited the sub-continent, it does actually make some sense.

TheColeTrain
17 Jan 2007, 08:03

They do look the otehr way, everybody knows it. And this is a soft stupid decision, to ban somebody for calling members of teh crowd animals, because they were acting like animals.
And also, what a suprise the thread starter is Romeo making yet another pathetic snipe at Smith:rolleyes:

goalpie
17 Jan 2007, 11:46
Terrible post from just maybe, what a surprise. Smith whinged and sooked non stop last summer, which he had a right to do, but then gleefully concocted some fantasy about how Monty Panesar will be racially abused all summer by hoards of Aussies. Not only was this a pathetic comment considering the attitudes of many South Africans and the behaviour of his own crowds, but his recent comments when it's one of his own at fault also display hypocrisy at its worst.

Smith is an arrogant sod. God knows why, he is an average player and an average captain.

Romeo
17 Jan 2007, 11:57
Smith is an arrogant sod. God knows why, he is an average player and an average captain.

Exactly!

just maybe
17 Jan 2007, 12:16
Exactly!

Better person than KP though. :thumbsu:

TheColeTrain
17 Jan 2007, 16:04

His playing record suggests otherwise. But hey we all know the BF motto, don't let facts get in the way of a good argument:rolleyes:

beatnik
17 Jan 2007, 17:59
I don't think it was racist at all.

I think he called it as he saw it. A group of morons in the crowd were acting like animals. There reference to "this not being Pakistan" was borderline offensive, but for anyone who actually has visited the sub-continent, it does actually make some sense.

FFS :rolleyes:

Romeo
17 Jan 2007, 17:59
Better person than KP though. :thumbsu:

So you agree that he is average.:thumbsu:

just maybe
17 Jan 2007, 21:08
So you agree that he is average.:thumbsu:

He is a normal captain, and a very good bat.

mark73
18 Jan 2007, 16:13
But hey we all know the BF motto, don't let facts get in the way of a good argument:rolleyes:

Stated clearly in the T&S. ;)

The Reaper
19 Jan 2007, 09:52
Here is a view point that I agree with

http://www.supercricket.co.za/default.asp?id=5079&des=sportstalk

International cricketers are not generally 'soft' creatures. If they don't have a thick skin at the start of their careers, they learn pretty quickly how to develop one.
Bowlers and batsmen can be trying their backsides off, putting in hours and hours of extra practice, laying awake at night worrying about letting their country down, desperate for their form to return.
The next morning they go for an early breakfast in the team hotel and, sitting at the table next to them are two fat, hungover salesmen smelling of cheap wine from the conference party the night before.
"I tell you, man, that van der Merwe, he's f***ing useless. And he doesn't care, too. Did you see that shot he played? He's rubbish. They must drop him right now." And with that they carry on filling their faces with fat and plan how they are going to stay awake during the next section of the boring conference about the job they hate.
First, players are taught not to engage in such exchanges. Second, they are taught to remove themselves from areas of possible conflict. Sit at a different table, leave the bar, or ask for assistance from management or security. And don't take it personally! Thick skin, and all that.
Unfortunately, it isn't always possible to leave and defuse the situation. Let's just say, for example, that a player happens to be...at third man. During a test match. You can't just walk away. So you stand there, for most of the day, being told that your sexual orientation leans towards sheep, and members of your own family, and that you are racist. And more.
And because there's nothing you can do about it, the abusers take heart from your inactivity and become more and more animated, taking greater and greater liberties with their right to free speech. And that's OK, because free speech is their right. Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me. The players bite their tongues and hope the abusers don't throw anything more than words when their backs are turned, and that if they do, it's nothing too sharp or dangerous.
But you know what really makes their blood boil? It's when the abuse is so loud it can be heard by people 50 metres away. By everybody, men, women and children.
The Pakistan supporters referred to by Gibbs as "f***ing animals" were sitting right next to the designated 'family enclosure' of which SuperSport Park administrators are justifiably proud. It's one thing being called filthy names, but it's quite another watching the reactions of children who are having strips of innocence ripped off them with every vicious barb.
So, does that condone Gibbs for what he said? No. But it might help people understand why he said what he did. Fortunately, Gibbs will not be relying upon the testimony of his teammates or attempting to claim the moral high ground when his appeal against the ICC's two-match ban is heard sometimes in the next ten days. He won't need to. His legal case should be perfectly strong enough.
I am not a legal person, but three things strike me immediately as peculiar about the Gibbs sentence. First, the charge against him was laid by Malcolm Speed and the hearing was conducted by Chris Broad. Speed is Broad's boss. Would that not affect Broad's judgement? Don't judges normally recuse themselves if there is a conflict of interest?
Second, the Code of Conduct refers to cricketers making abusive comments to match officials, opponents or members of the crowd. It makes no mention of teammates, which is where Gibbs remarks were aimed.
For the third point I rely on a very well-placed source within the sporting, legal community with experience of disciplinary matters who tells me that Gibbs should never have been charged with a category three offence. It should, apparently, have been category one or, at the very worst, category two. A technicality maybe, but an important one nonetheless. You can accuse Herschelle Gibbs of many things, and many people do! But racist? The idea would be hysterically funny if it wasn't quite so ridiculous.

Romeo
19 Jan 2007, 11:11

http://www.supercricket.co.za/default.asp?id=5079&des=sportstalk

International cricketers are not generally 'soft' creatures. If they don't have a thick skin at the start of their careers, they learn pretty quickly how to develop one.
Bowlers and batsmen can be trying their backsides off, putting in hours and hours of extra practice, laying awake at night worrying about letting their country down, desperate for their form to return.
The next morning they go for an early breakfast in the team hotel and, sitting at the table next to them are two fat, hungover salesmen smelling of cheap wine from the conference party the night before.
"I tell you, man, that van der Merwe, he's f***ing useless. And he doesn't care, too. Did you see that shot he played? He's rubbish. They must drop him right now." And with that they carry on filling their faces with fat and plan how they are going to stay awake during the next section of the boring conference about the job they hate.
First, players are taught not to engage in such exchanges. Second, they are taught to remove themselves from areas of possible conflict. Sit at a different table, leave the bar, or ask for assistance from management or security. And don't take it personally! Thick skin, and all that.
Unfortunately, it isn't always possible to leave and defuse the situation. Let's just say, for example, that a player happens to be...at third man. During a test match. You can't just walk away. So you stand there, for most of the day, being told that your sexual orientation leans towards sheep, and members of your own family, and that you are racist. And more.
And because there's nothing you can do about it, the abusers take heart from your inactivity and become more and more animated, taking greater and greater liberties with their right to free speech. And that's OK, because free speech is their right. Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me. The players bite their tongues and hope the abusers don't throw anything more than words when their backs are turned, and that if they do, it's nothing too sharp or dangerous.
But you know what really makes their blood boil? It's when the abuse is so loud it can be heard by people 50 metres away. By everybody, men, women and children.
The Pakistan supporters referred to by Gibbs as "f***ing animals" were sitting right next to the designated 'family enclosure' of which SuperSport Park administrators are justifiably proud. It's one thing being called filthy names, but it's quite another watching the reactions of children who are having strips of innocence ripped off them with every vicious barb.
So, does that condone Gibbs for what he said? No. But it might help people understand why he said what he did. Fortunately, Gibbs will not be relying upon the testimony of his teammates or attempting to claim the moral high ground when his appeal against the ICC's two-match ban is heard sometimes in the next ten days. He won't need to. His legal case should be perfectly strong enough.
I am not a legal person, but three things strike me immediately as peculiar about the Gibbs sentence. First, the charge against him was laid by Malcolm Speed and the hearing was conducted by Chris Broad. Speed is Broad's boss. Would that not affect Broad's judgement? Don't judges normally recuse themselves if there is a conflict of interest?
Second, the Code of Conduct refers to cricketers making abusive comments to match officials, opponents or members of the crowd. It makes no mention of teammates, which is where Gibbs remarks were aimed.
For the third point I rely on a very well-placed source within the sporting, legal community with experience of disciplinary matters who tells me that Gibbs should never have been charged with a category three offence. It should, apparently, have been category one or, at the very worst, category two. A technicality maybe, but an important one nonetheless. You can accuse Herschelle Gibbs of many things, and many people do! But racist? The idea would be hysterically funny if it wasn't quite so ridiculous.

Well is seems it may be downgraded to category1 because the animal reference is probably not to be construed as racist.

Grimreepah
19 Jan 2007, 11:27

Me too. Good article.

Romeo
19 Jan 2007, 11:48
Ritchie is to hear Gibb's appeal.