View Full Version : Matthew Moody

Pages : [1] 2

Lady Lawrence
19th January 2007, 14:53
over to you - Ashli & loyallion

loyallion
20th January 2007, 00:20
Thank you LL:)

Ok heres something I got off the Lion's site about Matthew Moody.

Matthew Moody

http://i18.tinypic.com/2re19pz.jpg

CAREER GAMES/GOALS
Guernsey Number: 10

Height 187cm

Weight: 85kg

Recruited From: South Fremantle (WA)

Debut: 2005

Date of Birth: 23 September 1985

Player Statistics - Matthew Moody
Season
AFL 2006 Premiership Season

Round Date vs. K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 4 22/04/2006 Richmond 8 4 12 5 0 1 0 0 1 1
Round 5 29/04/2006 West Coast Eagles 10 6 16 7 0 0 0 2 0 0
Round 6 07/05/2006 Sydney Swans 10 4 14 5 0 3 2 0 1 0
Round 7 13/05/2006 Hawthorn 12 5 17 8 0 1 0 1 1 1
Round 8 21/05/2006 Port Adelaide 14 6 20 6 0 2 2 0 0 3
Round 9 28/05/2006 Fremantle 16 5 21 8 0 1 0 1 1 3
Round 10 03/06/2006 Collingwood 10 6 16 5 0 2 1 0 0 3
Round 11 10/06/2006 Adelaide 10 6 16 6 0 1 0 0 1 0
Round 12 17/06/2006 Western Bulldogs 9 6 15 5 0 1 1 0 2 2
Round 13 01/07/2006 Carlton 3 2 5 0 0 0 2 0 0 0
Round 14 08/07/2006 Melbourne 8 6 14 7 0 0 0 1 1 0
Round 15 15/07/2006 Kangaroos 14 8 22 6 0 2 1 1 1 1
Round 16 22/07/2006 Hawthorn 11 5 16 3 0 3 2 0 1 3
Round 17 29/07/2006 Essendon 8 5 13 4 0 0 0 1 1 0
Round 18 06/08/2006 Geelong 7 8 15 4 0 1 0 0 0 1
Round 19 12/08/2006 Richmond 5 3 8 2 0 0 0 0 0 0
Round 20 20/08/2006 West Coast Eagles 9 8 17 9 0 5 0 1 0 0
Round 21 26/08/2006 Sydney Swans 7 4 11 4 0 3 0 1 0 0
Round 22 02/09/2006 St Kilda 6 4 10 3 0 3 1 0 0 1

CAREER BRIEF
Previous Clubs: Kelmscott/South Fremantle (WA)
Draft Details: No23 - 2003 National Draft
Joined the Lions: 2004
AFL Debut: Brisbane v Essendon (Telstra Dome), Rd 6, 2004
AFL Finals: 0

CAREER HISTORY
Young Western Australian Matthew Moody finally stepped off the emergencies list in 2005, displaying potential for the future at both ends of the ground.

Moody had been named as an emergency six times in 2004, coming within seconds of making his debut against Geelong in Round 13 when Brad Scott appeared to injure himself during the pre-game warmup.

But his opportunity never arrived and he must have wondered whether history would repeat itself when listed among the emergencies for the Round 6 showdown with Essendon in 2005. Fortunately, his luck was in this time, with Daniel Bradshaw a late withdrawal due to a back-related cal complaint

As it was Moody chose a pretty handy time to play his first senior game for the Brisbane Lions. While the Lions started the season in uncharacteristically slow fashion with a 1-4 record, Moody’s first experience in the three-time premiers’ 22 came in a 48-point win over the Bombers at Docklands – a victory that snapped a four-game losing streak.

Moody finished with seven kicks, five handballs and nine marks in a most promising display, doing enough to retain his spot for the next week’s home clash with the Western Bulldogs. He subsequently had 10 possessions and two goals in the loss to the Bulldogs, before contributing another 10 touches the following week in a win over Adelaide.

The 20-year-old was squeezed out of the senior side for Round 9 but continued to work hard in the reserves and was rewarded with call-ups for Round 10 and then Rounds 21 and 22. His form for the Suncoast Lions was strong all season and he successfully made the transition from elusive goalsneak to creative defender, at one stage curtailing Southport's dangerous full-forward Ben McEntee.

Moody inherited the No. 10 jumper worn by Marcus Ashcroft and - oddly for a kid from WA - spent his teenage years supporting the Adelaide Crows.

Barracking for a South Australian side isn’t exactly the done thing in Perth and Moody admits his mates gave him a bit of stick over what was a spur-of-the-moment allegiance.

“I copped it a bit,” Moody laughed.

“I didn’t mind the underdog teams and in ‘97 I decided to choose a team in the grand final (won with a famous Andrew McLeod-Darren Jarman inspired second-half comeback by Adelaide over St.Kilda) and that’s who I’d barrack for.

“I was going to go for St.Kilda but there was no jumpers at the sports store I was buying it from, there was only Adelaide Crows ones, so I bought them.”

Moody, the No. 23 pick in the 2003 National Draft, first picked up a football in the under 8 freeball competition and played from then until the under 17s at Kelmscott - the same outer south-eastern Perth suburb that produced Western Bulldogs ruckman-forward Daniel Bandy.

From Kelmscott, Moody kicked on to South Fremantle, playing in three straight colts grand finals and notching a handful of senior games, before making his way to the Lions.

His footballing resume also includes a tour of Ireland with an Australian under 17 outfit and all-Australian under 18 selection.

CAREER HIGHLIGHTS
WA Under 18 2002-2003; All-Australian Under 18 2002.

Ashli
20th January 2007, 13:24
Good work Loyallion, good work :p

Snuka
1st February 2007, 17:29
I'm 100% on the Moody bandwagon for 2007. I know a few disagree, but of all the blokes that they were forced to put on the ground last year because of injuries he wasn't the smartest, or the best footy winner but he looked IMO most likely to kick goals, usually running from the end of the square and kicking from 45 odd. Didn't kick that many unfortunately but looked like a guy that could take advantage if permanently left on the wing or a HF flank.
And also ive got to keep harping on about the fact that he started in round 4 and wasn't dropped all year and didn't deserve to be.

What are your thoughts on what 2007 holds for Moody Loyallion and Ashli(and everyone else of course)? Will he play a similar role next year? Will returning players push him out of the squad or will it allow him to get out of defense and permanently play at half forward?

Warwick
1st February 2007, 17:32
Didn't he say he was only playing out his contract this year before moving on? I'm not sure where he said that though.

Quigley
1st February 2007, 19:23
On the negative side I thought he was pretty poor on the disposal front and tended to hold things up and slow it down more than was appropriate. On the positive side he improved a great deal over the year and looked pretty comfortable as an AFL player by the end of the year. He gets a fair bit of the ball is reasonable in the back half and can cover a fair bit of ground. I wouldn't put him in my first 22 but he wouldn't be far off. The question for me though is do you put him ahead of other guys close to him given that he has indicated that he is out of here at the end of the year. I would be playing him in the reserves and if he is clearly deserving of a place in the first 22 I play him otherwise he stays there and other 50/50 guys get a shot ahead of him.

Warwick
1st February 2007, 19:27
The question for me though is do you put him ahead of other guys close to him given that he has indicated that he is out of here at the end of the year. I would be playing him in the reserves and if he is clearly deserving of a place in the first 22 I play him otherwise he stays there and other 50/50 guys get a shot ahead of him.
My question would be altered slightly.

Do you sit him on his arse for the year in the seconds, or play him to increase his trade worth?

Quigley
1st February 2007, 20:18
I put the team first rather than trying to maximise his value. I start him in the reserves and if he is a stand out I play him in the firsts because he deserves it and it is going to be in the teams best interests next year to play him. Best interests being to win games and build a winning culture amongst the young guys.

If he is only slightly better than say Schmidt then I play Schmidt to give him the experience on the basis that in the long run Schmidt is going to be with the team and again it would be in the best interests of the club to develop the other player. There is no guarantee you are going to get what you want for him at the end of the year so you deal with the guys that are in place now.

The Flying Belgian
2nd February 2007, 07:26
Trades will only work if the other club/s are willing to cough up something suitable. There might be others priorites this trading period for WC and Freo. And Moods is a promising enough player to go in the PSD before those two clubs, both finals-bound you'd guess, get their picks.

I don't think you can base your selection process on whether a player MIGHT leave. If he's training well, playing well, basically doing all that's asked of him, he should be getting a game. He's not in my best 22, but with Hooper out of the picture ATM, there's a bit less choice of players in the forward line.

If they're on your list, you're paying them and adhering to the team ethic, you have to treat them like any other player.

Snuka
2nd February 2007, 17:14
Didn't he say he was only playing out his contract this year before moving on? I'm not sure where he said that though.

Did he? Wasn't that just part of the wonderful, magical all speculated exodus frenzy. I would be surprised if he did.

BigCat2
2nd February 2007, 21:11
Did he? Wasn't that just part of the wonderful, magical all speculated exodus frenzy. I would be surprised if he did.

Can't find the report, but the Lions were going to offer Moody a 2 year contract, but Moody only wanted one year, and that's what he got. Apparently the club was disappointed that he did not want to commit long term.

Crow2007
21st February 2007, 11:58
I Think You'll Find That Dear Old Dad Is Quite An Influence And Is Also A Bit Eccentric, Hence The 1 Year Term.

BigCat2
21st February 2007, 20:05
I Think You'll Find That Dear Old Dad Is Quite An Influence And Is Also A Bit Eccentric, Hence The 1 Year Term.

Damir Moody?

Snuka
1st April 2007, 03:17
As official bandwagon driver i've got to wonder about this blokes performance tonight...

Just listened on SEN but godammit! he sounded like a likely type, got a lot of ball in dangerous positions but just couldn't put it away. 4 behinds to show for it and at one point I heard Brown was apparantly open 30 out and he decided to bomb away.

And at the risk of getting too camp on you all...'How do we solve a problem like 'Matt Moody's kicking for goal?'"

http://f.screensavers.com/OMS/img/407/julie_andrews_wallpaper_215.jpg

Bobby Beecroft
1st April 2007, 07:47
As official bandwagon driver i've got to wonder about this blokes performance tonight...

And at the risk of getting too camp on you all...'How do we solve a problem like 'Matt Moody's kicking for goal?'"

Ive been saying his disposal is poor for 2 years now.
Others have often disagreed, really needs a hell of a lot of work. He just panics when he is near goal....... at least he was getting into positions that allowed him to be having shots on goal, to have some positivity.

The Flying Belgian
1st April 2007, 07:56
You'd hope the goal-kicking will click at some stage for him. Maybe Hudson can give a few pointers. Could be a really dangerous forward if not for the inaccuracy. He seems to impart far too much backspin on the ball when kicking.

Browny wasn't really open when he had that shot though. That was right in front of us and taking the shot for goal was the right play. Browny was only free when the players surrounding him ran backwards when the shot was taken, following the ball with flight.

xplo
1st April 2007, 10:55

I think the answer might be flibbertijibbet! A will-o'-the wisp! A clown! :D

Honestly I guess all you can do is look at him and compare him to Marcus Allen for example. Matt is quick, he gets plenty of the pill, beats defenders and gets into very dangerous positions a lot. It's not like he's a cheating to get those four shots either. He worked hard and created all night, and his jaunty turns and little 'two-step jags' to wrong-foot opponents are getting to the stage where they are as good as anyone at the club. Finding a Cuz or a Will Hamill to replace those attributes isn't that easy. Goal kicking medium HFs are in short supply on our list.

The goal kicking is frustrating, partly because they never seem to miss by much. When I see Harding trying to find the extra oomph to cover 40m, I'm not surprised when he hooks the ball, but Moody looks fine when he kicks.

Cuz, Hammil and Duffer for instance hasn't proved he can do any of those things yet, let alone finish any better, so I think that puts his current weaknesses in perspective.

The Flying Belgian
30th April 2007, 08:17
From reports, sounds like Moods picked up a hamstring injury on the weekend.

blynd_freddie
30th April 2007, 09:05
Not good about the hammy, could send him to school on the theory of kicking. :rolleyes:

But seriously......
Goal kicking has been discussed by many a Monday expert.... the conclusion? Start running in on an arch. Think about it... how many times do you see a rugby player kick for goal stepping in on a straight line, a golf swing? The club swings through an arch.
Purely observational, but would not be the first time an answer has been found staring us in the face.

xplo
30th April 2007, 10:28
Not good about the hammy, could send him to school on the theory of kicking. :rolleyes:

But seriously......
Goal kicking has been discussed by many a Monday expert.... the conclusion? Start running in on an arch. Think about it... how many times do you see a rugby player kick for goal stepping in on a straight line, a golf swing? The club swings through an arch.
Purely observational, but would not be the first time an answer has been found staring us in the face.

An arcing approach might get you more distance by allowing your leg to stretch longer (Rocca's long ones are always off a big arc), but it amplifies the natural hook on the ball -- and Moods is already struggling with balls fading left. Funny thing is he runs pretty straight by most standards, so something must be hooking in his knee or ankle.

Timmy seems to be walking much straighter and has (touch wood) much improved his kicking.

Fevola kicks straighter than anyone because he walks straighter than anyone and finishes without falling away. Even after the ball is gone he pulls up inline with the mark.

Grimreepah
30th April 2007, 11:16
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/714/moodymg2.jpg

Moody gets dropped and we start kicking straight. Coincidence?

xplo
30th April 2007, 11:31
Moody gets dropped and we start kicking straight. Coincidence?

I guess if you can get the first 2 or 3 no-one thinks about missing from then on.

blynd_freddie
30th April 2007, 13:38
An arcing approach might get you more distance by allowing your leg to stretch longer (Rocca's long ones are always off a big arc), but it amplifies the natural hook on the ball -- and Moods is already struggling with balls fading left. Funny thing is he runs pretty straight by most standards, so something must be hooking in his knee or ankle.

Timmy seems to be walking much straighter and has (touch wood) much improved his kicking.

Fevola kicks straighter than anyone because he walks straighter than anyone and finishes without falling away. Even after the ball is gone he pulls up inline with the mark.

Arcing, I agree definitely used as an aid for additional distance, I would also link this style more so with left footer. So could be digging a hole there.:p

Re Fev kicking on a straighter line than others, whether it be searching for further improvement has also recently adopted the “Nathan Brown” style of kicking with one hand placed high on the ball, the other low, when taking a set shot.

Maybe then another way, brain wash the player into thinking confidently, pulling a figure totally out of the air, it would not surprise me if over 90% of shots missed were from self created negative thoughts.
I think that should solve that.:cool:

Next... Ok, world poverty.....

wizard_9
22nd May 2007, 19:46
Will he be a Lion in 08?

The Flying Belgian
22nd May 2007, 19:51
Will he be a Lion in 08?

You tell us?;)

amos
1st July 2007, 12:43
Guys, any news on Moody. Interested if he's ever going to break back into the Brisbane team.

Grimreepah
3rd August 2007, 00:28
Guys, any news on Moody. Interested if he's ever going to break back into the Brisbane team.

Has been named in the emergencies the last two weeks, so it would seem he's falling into favour again.

http://i13.tinypic.com/4ujt6bq.jpg

blynd_freddie
3rd August 2007, 00:41
Has been named in the emergencies the last two weeks, so it would seem he's falling into favour again.

Might be a concern, seem to recall a J.Attard getting listed as an emergency at the end of last year.

pinkus maximus
3rd August 2007, 02:37
what do you guys think are the reasons he hasnt fired over there. he was very highly rated in 2003 but it hasnt happened for him. i imagine that the dockers will make an offer at the end of the year

Grimreepah
3rd August 2007, 19:14
Well done to Moody for making it back into the team after 13 weeks in the wilderness. Oddly enough his last game was also against the Roos, a round 4 loss at Carrara.

http://i15.tinypic.com/6h38i9z.jpg

TheBrownDog
3rd August 2007, 19:15
I reckon he'll go alright. :thumbsu:

EDIT: I take this back.

notting18
4th August 2007, 10:30
Well done to Moody for making it back into the team after 13 weeks in the wilderness. Oddly enough his last game was also against the Roos, a round 4 loss at Carrara.

A specialist anti-kangaroos player maybe;)

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 16:59
http://www.gdst.net/nottinghamgirlshigh/PhotoGalleryPages/news%202006/sixth%20form%20leavers%20waving%202006.jpg

Bye!

Say G'day to Spaanders for us.

campbell
11th August 2007, 17:02
Very harsh Brown Dog. Could you do better? A lot of other players had a shocker today as well.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:04
Very harsh Brown Dog. Could you do better? A lot of other players had a shocker today as well.

Alot of players did have shockers today.

The difference being that those other players have shown significant ability in previous matches.

Capice?

Good to see you discussing a result immediately after a game campbell. Haven't seen you much after our 5 wins. :thumbsu:

campbell
11th August 2007, 17:09
Alot of players did have shockers today.

The difference being that those other players have shown significant ability in previous matches.

Capice?

Good to see you discussing a result immediately after a game campbell. Haven't seen you much after our 5 wins. :thumbsu:

12 hours night shifts will do that too you.

I don't think you should be so harsh and negative on Moody.Give the bloke a break, just got back into the team. had a shocker as did others.it happens.
lets see how he goes next week before you have him sent off packing home.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:12
12 hours night shifts will do that too you.

I don't think you should be so harsh and negative on Moody.Give the bloke a break, just got back into the team. had a shocker as did others.it happens.
lets see how he goes next week before you have him sent off packing home.

Yep, hope he goes alright next week.... for Suncoast.

campbell
11th August 2007, 17:13
Yep, hope he goes alright next week.... for Suncoast.

You ever played footy Brown Dog? You seem harsh beyond belief on Moody.or is he not a favourite of yours.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:20
You ever played footy Brown Dog? You seem harsh beyond belief on Moody.or is he not a favourite of yours.

Harsh beyond belief?

I saw a Collingwood supporter yesterday say that Toovey should be shot in the face.

Thats harsh beyond belief.

As for playing footy. I grew up playing Rugby union for the Redland Mudcrabs and the Ormiston College Redbacks.

Have you ever played footy campbell?

campbell
11th August 2007, 17:24
Harsh beyond belief?

I saw a Collingwood supporter yesterday say that Toovey should be shot in the face.

Thats harsh beyond belief.

As for playing footy. I grew up playing Rugby union for the Redland Mudcrabs and the Ormiston College Redbacks.

Have you ever played footy campbell?

Mudcrabs, now thats a great Qld name for a team. We have a local Snakes Rugby Union team.

I have never played as I am a lady.I have 2 boys who are current players though.Thye have played for over 14 years straight.One plays Div1, and Div 1 ressies plus Under 18's. The other is Div 1 ressies.
I see a lot of grass roots footy when I am not working.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:26
I have never played as I am a lady.I have 2 boys who are current players though.Thye have played for over 14 years straight.One plays Div1, and Div 1 ressies plus Under 18's. The other is Div 1 ressies.
I see a lot of grass roots footy when I am not working.

So now that we've established our sporting histories.... where were you going with it? :)

Quigley
11th August 2007, 17:30
I agree with Brown Dog on this one. We need to clear some spots on our roster and I think Moody is a likely casualty. He hasn't been going great for Suncoast but was given a couple of weeks to show that he should keep his spot. He hasn't done that and I think that is the last we are going to see of Matt for the Lions. That is not harsh just a fact of life in the AFL.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:33
I agree with Brown Dog on this one. We need to clear some spots on our roster and I think Moody is a likely casualty. He hasn't been going great for Suncoast but was given a couple of weeks to show that he should keep his spot. He hasn't done that and I think that is the last we are going to see of Matt for the Lions. That is not harsh just a fact of life in the AFL.

Looks continually lost at AFL level.

Sherman, Hadley, Harding, Schmidt and Hawksley provide plenty of depth there oiver the coming years, plus we are bound to pick up some more running types in the draft.

Should cut the Moodster loose.

Grimreepah
11th August 2007, 17:35
Yep, he hasn't been very impressive since he has come back into the team. What concerns me is his lack of composure. He's not a hack, but he may be one that has to make way at the end of the year.

TheBrownDog
11th August 2007, 17:38
Yep, he hasn't been very impressive since he has come back into the team. What concerns me is his lack of composure. He's not a hack, but he may be one that has to make way at the end of the year.

Would likely get rookied by another club at least.

There is something to work with, but we've got enough cattle that play the same sort of role.

notting18
11th August 2007, 19:20
Would likely get rookied by another club at least.

There is something to work with, but we've got enough cattle that play the same sort of role.

I think the second point there is the most important. It is not that Moody is 'that bad' - it is more that he hasn't shown that much while he has plenty of competition.

LuckyLuke
11th August 2007, 21:14
I think the second point there is the most important. It is not that Moody is 'that bad' - it is more that he hasn't shown that much while he has plenty of competition.
He's soft too.

Grimreepah
18th August 2007, 23:08
Probably didn't help his cause again tonight with only the 2 disposals. I know he hasn't been playing well but in his defence I think he's playing a role that he's not entirely comfortable with - a tagger. But with McGrath, Selwood, JMac and Fixter all injured, we don't have many options in that area.

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/8458/moodytw6.jpg

Grimreepah
23rd August 2007, 21:30
... and dropped. It's not looking good for Moody.

Hairy Cat Mooney
16th September 2007, 14:31
Is Moody likely to be delisted this year? And if so will he be picked up by any other clubs?

Warwick
16th September 2007, 14:40
Is Moody likely to be delisted this year? And if so will he be picked up by any other clubs?
I reckon we should ship him around to see if anyone is willing to trade, even if it's for an upgrade of picks. But knowing Brisbane, I reckon he will just be delisted and a club will pick him up for nothing. Happens all the time - we delist players and other clubs can't wait to get their hands on them.

If the number 1 PSD pick comes from Brisbane again I will be pissed off. Are we shopping these blokes around? Or just thinking "why bother"?

I don't think he should stay on the list, but he will be picked up for sure next year - you can bet on it.

Snuka
16th September 2007, 18:36
Good call Warwick. I think he still has an AFL career in him from what he's shown so far but he has to improve, the stars have to align and his chance may come at another club.

The Flying Belgian
17th September 2007, 09:12
I reckon we should ship him around to see if anyone is willing to trade, even if it's for an upgrade of picks. But knowing Brisbane, I reckon he will just be delisted and a club will pick him up for nothing. Happens all the time - we delist players and other clubs can't wait to get their hands on them.

If the number 1 PSD pick comes from Brisbane again I will be pissed off. Are we shopping these blokes around? Or just thinking "why bother"?

I don't think he should stay on the list, but he will be picked up for sure next year - you can bet on it.

Conversely, other clubs will think why would they bother downgrading their pick or blowing a pick completely for someone who's still a roll-of-the-dice proposition when they can just as easily pick him up in the PSD, but not be shattered if it doesn't happen.

Can't see him wanting to go anywhere except home to WA

SuperHooper
17th September 2007, 15:26
I watch Moody play and wonder whether he could have run faster, jumped higher or went in harder. He looks like he could explode from a pack but ends up doing things slower than he can, like he doesn't want to succeed. He reminds me of Brett Deledio in the way he goes about his business. Maybe we should put him in defense and provide some spark instead of playing him as a close defender

notting18
17th September 2007, 16:27
I watch Moody play and wonder whether he could have run faster, jumped higher or went in harder. He looks like he could explode from a pack but ends up doing things slower than he can, like he doesn't want to succeed. He reminds me of Brett Deledio in the way he goes about his business. Maybe we should put him in defense and provide some spark instead of playing him as a close defender

That was tried late in the year when Drummond was out and i don't think we could classify it as an immediate success. I think Moody has had his chances at the lions and although i think he could become a good AFL footballer, the requirements of list management will mean he is traded/delisted this year IMO

Grimreepah
31st October 2007, 19:30
Moody survives the first list lodgement. With 5 spots freed up (including one for Begley) it's looking like he might be safe. Maybe a little lucky with the departures of Hadley and Johnson and being a weak draft.

Grimreepah
2nd November 2007, 11:33
End of Season Player Review

Matthew Moody went into 2007 as a starting 22 player, but his form at the start of the season was not flash. He seemed to lack confidence and he just wasn’t able to get his season going. His poor goal kicking had taken his career tally to 14.27. This gave him a bit of bad publicity and he was starting to get a reputation as ‘a bad player’.

After averaging just 12 disposals a game he was dropped in round 5. He seemed to continue to struggle for a little while playing for Suncoast, but he started to get it together to the point where he was regularly being named in the side’s best players.

With a few injuries to the senior side, Moody got another chance in round 18. This time he played more as a defensive midfielder. It was a role that he didn’t really look comfortable with, and again he seemed to be a player very low on confidence. After a 2 possession game in round 20 he was again dropped.

Moody now seems to be on the outer and there was plenty of speculation that he may be delisted at year's end. I think he has the ability to be a decent AFL player, but he needs to find some confidence and start producing the goods at senior level.

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/2162/moodyzh5.jpg

Grimreepah
21st January 2008, 11:21
Two thirds (22 out of 33) of supporters think (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=408744) that Moody won't be on our list at the end of the year. There seems to be plenty of optimism that Sherman can regain his confidence and form but not so Moody.

TheBrownDog
21st January 2008, 11:28
Two thirds (22 out of 33) of supporters think (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=408744) that Moody won't be on our list at the end of the year. There seems to be plenty of optimism that Sherman can regain his confidence and form but not so Moody.

Demonstrated consistency is the reason.

I was hard on Moody last year, but with a new season beginning, he gets a clean slate. I hope he makes fools of us all.

Fairley
21st January 2008, 15:18
I can't really remember what he was like before this year, was he decent?

Grimreepah
22nd January 2008, 10:17
I can't really remember what he was like before this year, was he decent?

Moody has never really set the world on fire but in 2006 there were some good signs. He was able to utilise his pace and give us some good run. His kicking has always been a bit of weakness, but in 2007 it got a lot worse.

xplo
22nd January 2008, 12:48
Even in the NAB cup last year he did some very nice things. The side was playing well early and we had Hadley and a few others coming back into the side after missing the pre-season, so someone had to make way. At that stage he was at least a little unlucky.

At Suncoast he copped an injury, missed a chunk and then struggled to get confidence and consistency back into his game. Eventually injuries saw him back into the senior side, where his performances were average and it became a little fashionable/easy to bag him.

POBT
22nd January 2008, 13:05
Moody has never really set the world on fire but in 2006 there were some good signs. He was able to utilise his pace and give us some good run. His kicking has always been a bit of weakness, but in 2007 it got a lot worse.
I always thought that the general impression of his kicking was skewed by his lack of accuracy at goal. I thought his field kicking was pretty reasonable. 2007 was a different story - there was just a total lack of confidence and I'm not sure that he was as fit as he could have been coming into the season.

Grimreepah
26th February 2008, 09:38
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/InjuryList/tabid/8716/Default.aspx)

Brisbane Lions Injury List: Pre-Season Update - Tuesday 26 February 2008

Matthew Moody (Groin) - Indefinite

Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=56421)

The 22-year-old is afflicted with osteitis pubis and his timeframe for a return to action remains indefinite.

Moody cannot really afford to be behind the eight ball. I think this will be his last season with Brisbane.Unfortunately never matured into the player he could have been!

Looks like Moody's career with the Lions is over.

Two weeks into the NAB Cup and Moody is being written off already.

notting18
26th February 2008, 14:12
Never good to be not in a side's best 18 and have a long term injury. Although JMac has taught us that it may not necessarily mean the end if nigh...

Fairley
26th February 2008, 14:45
Gooooooooooneee.

POBT
26th February 2008, 14:57
I will only say this. I was one person who didn't think much of JMac pre-injury and I wrote him off. In fact, I thought less of him than I do of Moody right now. If JMac can return from a knee reco to be a substantially better player, than I can hardly make the same mistake and write-off Moods on the basis of OP.

danielcanberra
27th February 2008, 14:39
Indefinite does NOT mean rest of season.

My reckoning is a couple of weeks, hopefully sooner.

Panthera
27th February 2008, 14:52
Fast forward to October 2008............

Moody & McGrath to Fremantle for pick 37 ;)

Ruse
27th February 2008, 21:49
Fast forward to October 2008............

Moody & McGrath to Fremantle for pick 37 ;)
I doubt we'll get that much for those two if they continue to slide from form. But I'm backing that they'll come good by season's end so there'll be no chance of them getting traded.

Snuka
29th February 2008, 18:51
Mcgrath a very different prospect from Moody. A couple of firing B's in the forward line a the former could really take advantage with some good hauls. Moody has just got to work hard in the AFLQ and fix his bloody kicking for goal. A long term injury could really damage his chances but it seems the coaching staff see something in him that a lot of us perhaps don't.

danielcanberra
18th March 2008, 17:02
Lion walks beat with boys in blue
Author: Simon White 9:49 AM Mon 17 March, 2008

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/mattmoody_07clash_246.jpg
Matthew Moody harbours a long-time ambition to become a police officer

A GROIN injury might be preventing Matthew Moody from taking the field at present, but it hasn’t stopped the young Brisbane Lions midfielder from finding a way to kick career goals away from the Gabba.

Every Friday, Moody trades in the Lions’ maroon, blue and gold for the blue of the Queensland Police Service, as part of the Next Goal program – a joint AFL Players’ Association/AFL SportsReady initiative.

For Moody, who harbours a long-time ambition to become a police officer, it’s a chance to test drive what life after football might entail.

“I can’t really pinpoint why I want to be a policeman – it’s just something that I’ve always wanted to do,” Moody told lions.com.au.

“One of the players that I used to look up to at South Fremantle, Marty Atkins, was a policeman, so I guess part of it is probably wanting to follow in his footsteps.

“I’ve been doing it for three weeks now and it’s been a great experience. The first week I went to recruitment day, the next week we went around all the headquarters around Brisbane and then last week we went to the watchhouse – which was pretty intense and a bit of an eye-opener.
“This week I’m going out with the diving squad.”

Apart from the potential long-term benefits, Moody is also getting a more immediate kick out of the chance to get out of the recovery room.

The 22-year-old is afflicted with osteitis pubis and his timeframe for a return to action remains indefinite.

“You always hope you’ll be able to play footy until you are in your 30s, but even if you do, you’ve probably got at least 20 years of work in front of you after that,” Moody said.

“So it’s good to be able to do something towards that now.

“The other thing is that it’s great to get away from the club and the physio rooms at the moment.

“I like to play golf but this gives me something else to help freshen up my mind and I think that will help when I do get back to playing.”

While footballers and the police force heed the call of two distinctly different sirens, Moody can see some similarities between the two occupations.

“Some of the responsibilities aren’t that different,” Moody said.

“As a footballer you know you are in the public eye and that you are a role model and have to set a good example – and it’s exactly the same for the police.”
http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=56421

Good on ya Moods!

Gabbatoir
10th April 2008, 13:08
i'm watching the 2006 game against Port,

and Moody can play. If he can get it together, the side will be the better for it

konstas_87
10th April 2008, 23:43
i'm watching the 2006 game against Port,

and Moody can play. If he can get it together, the side will be the better for it

he has O.P. which in general means he would be lucky to regain fitness in 2008.
i doubt the club will give him 2009 to prove his worth TBH, and frankly i doubt he's keen to stay and prove himself either.

ZoBlitz
11th April 2008, 09:01
i doubt the club will give him 2009 to prove his worth TBH, and frankly i doubt he's keen to stay and prove himself either.

I'd afraid I agree. Another one of those hindsight decisions where you think we might have been better off trading him when we had the opportunity.

The Flying Belgian
11th April 2008, 10:36
Did we have the oppurtunity?

POBT
11th April 2008, 10:47
The only benefit is that he got the OP early in pre-season. Unless he needs surgery then it can mend in time for him to get some match fitness and have a crack a senior footy.

When you watch the best of Moody, you see a player who is ideally suited to modern footy and who would be a plus for our side if he got it all together. But he has been a long way from his best for a while.

ZoBlitz
11th April 2008, 19:30
Did we have the oppurtunity?

Well apparently he did want to head home before he signed his last contract if I remember correctly.

According to press reports anyway, which isn't saying alot I suppose.

notting18
11th April 2008, 19:45
Well apparently he did want to head home before he signed his last contract if I remember correctly.

According to press reports anyway, which isn't saying alot I suppose.

It may not have been a trade option though - Moody may have wanted WC/Freo, but they might not have wanted him. We don't know the actual details but thought I should just thow that out there.

Grimreepah
20th April 2008, 02:01
Moody was on Totally Footy this afternoon with a story about his training with the police force. Maybe it was the life after footy nature of the piece, but I just got the feeling he thought his time was up. I certainly didn't get the impression he was fighting to get back in the side. Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but that was the vibe I got.

konstas_87
20th April 2008, 10:18
walked straight past him and about 3 other young fellas in suits i didnt get a chance to recognise, along stanley st after the game last night.

straight after that i walked past the hawthorn rooms to hear them sing the song :( that hurt.

Gabbatoir
10th June 2008, 19:05
Listed as available on lions.com.au

Best of luck Matt! :)

Grimreepah
10th June 2008, 19:18
Listed as available on lions.com.au

Best of luck Matt! :)

He's got half a season to resurrect his career. Some OK games will probably not cut it. He really needs to play his best football to show he's worth persisting with.

The Flying Belgian
10th June 2008, 19:30
Go Moods! Stick it up the doubting Thomases!

But seriously, it's still easy to overlook the job he's done getting back from chronic CHRONIC groin troubles. Heard he was visiting a specialist down south. Whatever the doc did down there must have been a miracle - he was moving pretty well at training the other week.

John
10th June 2008, 21:30
Good to hear. I am with you belg and hope he tears em up.

mish33
10th June 2008, 21:37
injuries have done nothing but good to our lions, so expect Moods to be BOG in the ressies this week :p

Grimreepah
22nd June 2008, 17:36
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5695409&sectionID=56333)

Moody kicked three goals and did some nice things in his limited time on the ground

Grimreepah
4th August 2008, 00:26
AFLQ (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=6115450&sectionID=56333)

Moody wracked up a big number of possessions again

He was one of our best players last week as well against the Sharks playing in the forward line.

mpal6
4th August 2008, 00:34
Looks like Moody's on good form over a month.
Does Adcock need a break ?! ;)

Whether trade him or keep him - giving him a run in seniors would mutually benefit us. Increase his value or lock him away for future.

_hyphy
4th August 2008, 13:32
Haven't seen this kid much but going off what everyone seems to be saying on here, is it likely he will be delisted at the end of the year? or on present form, retained for another year?

mpal6
6th August 2008, 22:54
Haven't seen this kid much but going off what everyone seems to be saying on here, is it likely he will be delisted at the end of the year? or on present form, retained for another year?

Think Moody deserves atleast 1 more year.
Losing him to PSD where Freo/WC get him for nothing isnt going to benefit us in anyway.

acuguy
7th August 2008, 04:57
I wouldn't mind betting we may see him this week or next. Moody possesses real pace something we don't really have a lot of in our midfield, he was one player who really impressed a couple of years back, but his kicking yips and some injuries really derailed him.

John
7th August 2008, 08:02
I wouldn't mind betting we may see him this week or next. Moody possesses real pace something we don't really have a lot of in our midfield, he was one player who really impressed a couple of years back, but his kicking yips and some injuries really derailed him.

I agree. On my couple of viewing this season I think that he deserves a chance to make a final claim to a top flight career.

The Flying Belgian
7th August 2008, 12:54
I'm a big Moods fan, insomuch as he plays as a lead-up HFF, something we lack. I hope rather than people death-riding his performance when he gets a chance in the next few weeks that they treat him as a virtual recruit.

Tassie4ever
7th August 2008, 13:59
Has pace, gets the ball a lot, makes mistakes- the mistakes we can work on.

mpal6
8th August 2008, 08:49
our midfield is not setting the world on fire atm. With so many walking wounded, Moody should get a run before season's end.

Grimreepah
9th August 2008, 15:28
Moody putting his hand up for senior selection again.

Yep, another 4 goals today.

acuguy
9th August 2008, 17:35
He has obviously come back with the intention of kick starting his career. If he gets a chance then we all know he will be hungry. That might be the most important attribute for the rest of the season.

Jimmy Two Hands
9th August 2008, 20:58
I like what I've seen from him in the last month or so for Suncoast. I hope to see him get a crack at the seniors across HFF before the end of the season

mpal6
10th August 2008, 19:59
Out: Hooper
In: Moody