http://lions.com.au/portals/0/images/players/lions/__Justin_Sherman_001.jpg
Guernsey Number: 11
Height: 183cm
Weight: 87kg
Recruited From: Clarence/Tasmania U18
Date of Birth: 26 January 1987
CAREER BRIEF
Previous Clubs: Clarence (Tas.)/Tasmanian Devils
Draft Details: No. 45, 2004 National Draft.
Joined the Lions: 2005
AFL Debut: Lions v Hawthorn (MCG), Rd 4, 2005
AFL Finals: 0
CAREER HIGHLIGHTS
Under 18 All-Australian2004, AFL/AIS Academy 2004, AFL Rising Star nominee 2005.
He is a second cousin of Bears legend Roger Merrett, as well as being a third cousin to Australian cricket skipper Ricky Ponting and first cousin of ex-Tasmanian wicket-keeper Richard Soule.
In fact, a rare bout of spontaneous applause broke out after Sherman spoke of the likelihood of him having a crack at Australian Idol, were he not so busy with his footballing commitments.
"“To be honest I like singing and I was in a band all through high school, so I would probably have liked to take that a bit further,” a smiling Sherman told reporters.
“I probably would have had a go at it (Australian Idol). Just the slow rock –the stuff that soothes your soul.”
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=352302
On the 2006 season
"This year has been really successful (personally) … but not only the achievements this year - you've got to push on from it and see how good you can become."
"You look back on the two years (I've been in the AFL system) - one year I'm doing this (trip) and I've achieved so much (already), but then the bar is set."
"For me now, personally, it's what I can get out of next year and the year after and it's a year-by-year basis approach and week-by-week in the season and for me, personally, I've set the bar and I don't want to go below it - that's for sure."
"I feel in myself that I've got the dedication and the will power to work at that and I'm a pretty competitive guy, so I can work towards that and get the best out of myself."
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=305428
Shermo has played every game since his debut, with his 50th game to be played in the upcoming 2007 season.
danielcanberra
20 Jan 2007, 20:29
Sherman's IR dismay
Andrew Browne
Sportal for afl.com.au
12:56:45 PM Wed 13 December, 2006
Young Brisbane Lion and Australian representative Justin Sherman is disappointed that next year's International Rules series on home soil has been suspended.
Sherman described the recent two-match series played in Ireland won on points by Australia as one of the best experiences of his life and hopes the situation can be resolved to ensure the series has a future.
"A lot of the guys that I have been talking to are really upset with the decision," Sherman told Sportal when asked his reaction to last week's announcement by the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA).
"We wanted the history of International Rules to keep going because it is so special to represent your country and you don't get that sort of opportunity every day."
Sherman denied suggestions that the Aussie team should feel responsible for the decision.
"It is disappointing and we understand the reasons behind it and we have to take that into consideration," he said.
"I don't believe we were physical in the first game we just wanted to put a bit of body pressure on them and our game plan was to play one-on-one footy.
"One of the reasons for our success was our will not to give up and we did not want to be embarrassed like we were after the first game."
One of the main talking points of the series was Port Adelaide and NAB Rising Star winner Danyle Pearce's tackle on Irish player Graham Geraghty in the second test, but Sherman believes the incident was unfortunate.
"When you have got someone tackling like Danyle Pearce who is only 70 kilos, it was just a fair tackle," he explained.
"He just locked his arms and could not go anywhere and it was just a shame his (Geraghty's) head hit the ground and had to go to hospital.
"Incidents like that were blown out of proportion because it was a game between two nations that are pretty passionate, and for things like that to cause the series to be called off is disappointing."
Sherman is hoping the AFL and GAA can get together and resolve the issues even if it means modifying the contentious tackling aspect of the hybrid game.
"I am sure it will be back in a few years because all the guys are right behind it and we are just looking forward to that opportunity again."
The experience of winning the second test in front of a packed house at Croke Park will remain in Sherman's memory forever.
"It was probably the best if not the best experience of my life," said the 19-year-old.
"To be in a hostile environment away from home, but to have a large support base from London it was really terrific to see all the yellow shirts amongst the 84,000.
"To share those moments down the track with some of the guys will be fantastic and I am just happy to have been a part of it under such a great coach like Kevin Sheedy and play with great players like Vossy. It was just awesome."
One of the highlights for the former Tasmanian recruit was not only playing alongside his former skipper (Voss) in his final competitive match, but to watch and learn from new team mates like Swans forward Ryan O'Keefe who created a huge impression .
"For someone who did little after the grand final he is just a super, super worker," said Sherman of the 2005 premiership forward.
"He just trains like he plays, is a great competitor and I used him as a role model being one of the younger guys on the tour.
"To play with Vossy was very special because he is such a great friend and for him to go out with a win was tremendous because he really deserved it.
"He knew that was the last game of his whole career, so he put everything into it … and his hardness at the ball was one of the turning points."
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=matchreports&articleid=310087
danielcanberra
21 Jan 2007, 13:43
Sherman's shipshape
Andrew Browne
Sportal for afl.com.au
11:24:17 AM Thu 14 December, 2006
Young Brisbane Lions dynamo Justin Sherman has admitted he was shocked to hear that former teammate Mal Michael had come out of retirement, but he bears no grudge and said the club has moved on from the controversy.
The 19-year-old also revealed that he has just overcome a bad virus and thought he had a re-occurrence of glandular fever which he contracted as a child.
"It was obviously a big shock to us all but everyone is entitled to make their own decision and that was something Mal wanted to do," Sherman told afl.com.au about the triple premiership full-back's backflip and recruitment by Essendon.
"Obviously the club is disappointed not to have him still there and being involved, but we still regard him as great guy and wish him the best because he is good fella."
Sherman was one of the stars of the recent International Rules series in Ireland and only recently returned from a break to join in the Lions' pre-season training before being floored with a virus.
"I got a bit of a bad virus and the symptoms were exactly the same so we treated it like glandular fever but it really wasn't," explained Sherman who is back on the track.
"When you have such a heavy training schedule then go to Ireland you don't have much of a break, but the club has been terrific in allowing me to have a few days off and been lenient towards my training schedule.
"Overall I am probably in better shape than last year and just looking forward to getting into the physical bits of footy now and being ready for the games."
His selection for the International Rules series capped off a wonderful year for Sherman who also finished runner-up to classy midfielder Simon Black in the Lions' club championship in only his second full season at the club.
"I suppose the last month of footy went OK for me and that got me to second place," he said with the news he recently signed on with the club for another two years.
"I just wanted to get some consistency into my game and achieve my goals every week that I set out to do and any awards that come after that are a bonus and that's what happened.
"I love playing for the Lions and hopefully will be playing there for years to come."
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=matchreports&articleid=310072
danielcanberra
19 Feb 2007, 19:38
AIS-AFL academy team of the decade
B Andrew Walker (Carl), Adam Hunter (WC), Joel Corey (Geel)
HB Brady Rawlings (Kang), Brendon Goddard (St K), Shaun Burgoyne (Port)
C Nick Dal Santo (St K), Chris Judd (WC) Andrew Embley (WC)
HF Alan Didak (Coll), Luke Hodge (Haw), Brett Deledio (Rich)
F Adam Cooney (WB), Lance Franklin (Haw), Daniel Wells (Kang)
Foll Josh Fraser (Coll), Luke Ball (St K), Daniel Kerr (WC)
Int Ryan Griffen (WB), Brent Stanton (Ess), Justin Sherman (BL), Kane Cornes (Port), Cameron Ling (Geel), Mark McVeigh (Ess)
* Team selected by AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan and AIS-AFL high performance coach Alan McConnell
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2007/02/17/1171405502800.html
See rest of article about AIS-AFL Academy
danielcanberra
7 Mar 2007, 19:58
You're a legend Shermo!
http://i17.tinypic.com/43zr97n.jpg
Lions Community Camp: Redlands
6:42:42 PM Fri 16 February, 2007
lions.com.au
The Vodafone Brisbane Lions completed their whirlwind tour of greater Brisbane with a visit to the Redlands Shire which is located only 30 minutes from Brisbane’s CBD and includes beaches as part of its glorious scenery.
15 schools in the Redlands area were treated to visits from the Lions players who thrilled the students with plenty of autographs and photos. Once the final bell rang and school had been dismissed, the Lions reconvened at the local Victoria Point Sharks Sporting Club for their final Community Camp Carnival.
The Victoria Point Sharks Club is the hub of the local community, with its extensive sporting programs, regular entertainment and special events. With some 6,000 members, the Club is a thriving sporting and social venue in the Redlands.
A number of the sporting club’s members together with Redlands locals joined the Lions as they participated in a range of activities arranged by Life Be In It. Players rotated among the assembled activity stations including the big foot challenge, sack races and hip hop challenge while AFLQ representatives conducted brief interviews with the team.
The Lions awarded prizes to those that demonstrated the most skill at each of the stations and the Australian Red Cross and Guide Dogs Association were also on hand to issue free packs of goodies to all in attendance.
A selection of the team made one final stop at the Victoria Point Shopping Centre to greet the Friday night shoppers with some end-of-the-week entertainment. As the likes of Ashley McGrath, Jared Brennan, Beau McDonald and Jason Roe signed autographs, young gun Justin Sherman decided to take a different approach. Sherman grabbed a handful of Lions promotional items and proceeded to visit each store in the Shopping Centre, personally introduce himself and issue them with a signed poster. It was a task that took a number of the shop owners by surprise, in particular one passionate Lions member who was in the process of closing-up for the evening before being greeted by one of his favourite Lions players for an unexpected treat.
MC Richard Champion asked a few final questions of the players and asked for volunteers among the Lions-strong audience to close the week off with a song. The impromptu ‘Lions Idol’ styled competition unleashed some hidden talents among the crowd, who were eager to go home with a prize. It was fitting that most opted to sing various renditions of the Brisbane Lions Theme Song.
It was the perfect note on which to end the Brisbane Lions’ Community Camp.
In only four days, the Vodafone Brisbane Lions had spent time at almost 60 schools, made countless public appearances, participated in three Carnivals, conducted numerous Football Forums and entertained thousands of Brisbane residents.
It was certainly one of the most comprehensive and demanding Camp’s that the Lions had been on, but was equally as rewarding.
Through the constant support and assistance from the Brisbane Lions players and staff, AFL Queensland, Life Be In It and the local City and Shire Councils, the 2007 Telstra AFL Community Camp was once again a success.
http://lions.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=315461
danielcanberra
8 Mar 2007, 10:08
Tassie export hailed the showman saviour
SEAN STEVENSON
March 08, 2007 12:00am
Article from: The Mercury
BRISBANE Lions legend Michael Voss believes Tasmanian Justin Sherman is a key to the AFL club's hopes of regaining its powerhouse status.
Voss, who was the special guest of an AFL Tasmania corporate breakfast in Hobart yesterday, said the 20-year-old from Clarence had been a revelation since being selected at No. 45 in the 2004 national draft.
"The two players that have really come through are Justin Sherman and Michael Rischitelli," Voss said.
"You hope those two guys, as mid-range draft picks, can be good players, but you don't expect them to be very good players.
"You need to fluke a couple to get up the ladder again."
Sherman has not missed a game since making his debut in 2005, and has resisted some lucrative offers from rival clubs to stay at Brisbane.
"He finished runner-up in the best and fairest last year, which is a fantastic effort from a young player," Voss said.
Voss, captain of Brisbane's three premierships from 2001-03, said Sherman might also take over from Jason Akermanis as a cult figure at the Gabba.
"I think he can, but in a different way," he said.
"He's a showman.
"He's already renowned for his goal celebrations.
"He is certainly going to be a crowd favourite if he is not there already."
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,21342844-13222,00.html
(Vossy, Shermo picked up those finger salutes from you)
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/sport/sherman-an-example-of-lions-vigour/2007/04/10/1175971052984.html
Sherman an example of Lions vigour
Phil Lutton | April 10, 2007/ Brisbane Times
Brisbane Lions midfield dynamo Justin Sherman certainly doesn't mind adding a few goals to his stat sheet.
He pumped his fist in the air as he booted a ripping right-foot snap in his side's win against St Kilda last Thursday, the second of three goals that helped Brisbane to a perfect two-and-two start to the year.
Still, he'd rather duck the glory and run himself into the ground chasing attackers as part of the Lions new-look, smothering defence that has strangled the life out of the Saints and the Hawks.
Brisbane has conceded only 13 goals so far this season, with neither Hawthorn or St Kilda finding a way through or around the Lions full-paddock press.
Sherman said intensity on defence - and not just in the back six - was something the team had dedicated itself to over the summer and throughout a fruitful pre-season NAB Cup.
"We knew it was probably our weakness last year and we wanted to make it a strength this year. We worked heavily on our fitness last year. You're always going to be able to chase someone and apply pressure, but it's whether your mind wants you to or not. And the guys have really put that in place," Sherman said.
"We've just been counteracting the opposition really well, doing our homework and everyone is knowing their opponent inside out basically.
"We knew our defensive pressure wasn't as good as it could be and we wanted to get a lot of run in our legs and to be able to link up like the West Coasts and all those good sides do. We did our homework as much as we could and practised and practised all the drills over and over again.
"It's putting the simple things in place, being able to hit a target on the lead from 30m out. They've really come to a forefront in our game."
Sherman brings boundless enthusiasm to an impressive Lions midfield, which includes boom youngster Michael Rischitelli and club champion Simon Black, who is enjoying some of the best form of his career.
Despite being only 20, Sherman talks about the "youngsters" in the club, a testament to the inexperience of a Lions list which is one of the youngest in the AFL.
He said the group of middle-tier players had taken it upon themselves to rise to the occasion after a disappointing 2006 and not leave it up to the Blacks and Browns to shoulder all of the burden.
"The middle group has just worked really hard to be the most enthusiastic at training, to not leave it up to the leaders to lead the way, but for us to be leading the way for the younger guys. Because that's going to be a sign of a united team," he said.
"If we can do that like we have been we can bring the younger guys to another level and also the leaders don't have to do it all the time. We need a team where everyone can be leaders on the ground and off the field. That's what it's all about. (Coach) Leigh (Matthews) expresses himself like that all the time - we've got a leadership group but you're all leaders out there.
"We probably haven't been this tight since I got here, that's for sure. You can really tell by the way we went about it all through the summer. We had to make a few changes obviously with a few guys leaving, it just gave more of an opportunity to other guys."
Hailing from Tasmania, Sherman debuted for the Lions in round four of 2005 after being picked up at 45 in the 2004 draft.
He booted 17 goals last year and in the absence of key forward Daniel Bradshaw, who is out for the season after a knee reconstruction, will be called upon to up his scoring contributions in 2007.
But despite enjoying some extra freedom with a new roving role, Sherman said goals came second to doing the little things right and sticking to the structure Matthews has set in place.
"I'm playing down forward compared to playing off the backline and running forward last year. It's a new role for me and I'm really relishing it at the moment, being able to get a few goals when we need to, being able to chase and work hard on my defensive pressure, which is one of my goals throughout the year.
"I think if the team can keep applying the pressure all over the ground like we've shown we're going to be a hard team to overcome in the last part of the season."
The Lions take on premiership holders Sydney at the SCG on Sunday and Sherman said the match-up would provide a more accurate snapshot of where the Lions sit in terms of the top teams.
Swans power forward Barry Hall was in doubt but is now likely to play after overcoming a knee injury.
"That will be the perfect opportunity for us to see where we at. Mentally, physically - it's going to test all our capabilities. To put in a good performance against a great side that are good all over the park, we're going to have to play our structures 100% and make sure everything's perfect."
footy_paul
10 Apr 2007, 11:23
shermo is an absolute jet, love the way he plays. absolute star in the making :thumbsu:
The Flying Belgian
11 Apr 2007, 13:34
http://www.insidefootballonline.com/holmesby_11042007.html
SHERMAN SAYS LIONS HAVE PLENTY IN THE TANK
RUSSELL HOLMESBY 11/04/07
Justin Sherman believes it is not just the young blood in the Brisbane side that has energised the Lions in the first two weeks of the season.
“Definitely they have put their hands up, but it’s not just them,” Sherman said.
“The more experienced guys are leading from the front this year.
“That’s probably what we didn’t have last year through a lot of injuries and a lack of personnel.
“I think we have got such a group with depth now that we are going to be around for years to come.
“Teams might think they will go in with their depth and match us, but the morale of our group is super.”
Sherman’s bubbling enthusiasm is evident when he talks about the way the side has meshed.
“Over summer we have been really looking to jell the team together,” he said.
“One of our trademarks is to get the team as united as possible.
“We’ve become a really enthusiastic group and hopefully people can see that in the way we play on the field.”
Sherman has become something of a cult figure thanks to being called “The Shermanator” by TV commentators.
“I guess it came from American Pie the movie,” Sherman said.
“I guess I can’t do anything about it. I’ve got a few nicknames in the club - that one and ‘Worm’.
“Nicknames go around and you get a few along the way. We play this great game and out of that you can get a laugh, which is good.”
He said that everything at Brisbane was on the up and up.
“We’re just sticking to our plans and playing to our structures really well,” he said.
“The guys have been asked by (coach) Leigh (Matthews) to back their instinct and that’s what they are doing.
“The morale is really terrific and having our main guys like Brownie (Jonathan Brown) back in the side gives us a target to kick to.”
Sherman’s role has changed in the 2007 team strategy.
“At this stage I’m playing as a half forward working up the ground, getting deep and trying to work off the bigger guys,” he said.
“Last year I played off the half-back flank and it was more running and carrying.
“This year I’ve got pretty much a set role. It’s a crumbing role and all of us are looking to read it off the big blokes and kick a few goals.”
Sherman said that Brisbane went into last Thursday night’s game against St Kilda with quiet confidence.
“They’d come into this off a good win and having to travel up here,” he said.
“We always think we’ve got the edge when a team travels up to our home ground.
“We just had to keep up the pressure and keep applying it. We tried to make the third quarter the premiership quarter and that’s what we did and attacked the game took it apart in the end.”
On a personal level he has set himself targets in the defensive side of his game.
“I guess just working on my hard things,” he said. “As a half forward I’ve been making my defensive pressure a focus.
“Me and Ash (McGrath) have been working really hard on keeping it in the forwardline and not letting the opposition get easy ‘outs’ by chipping the ball.
“Hopefully I can get to my target of 1 per centers – blocks, smothers, all that kind of stuff.
“If everyone gets two or three a quarter it sets up the game and the pressure is going to come and produce turnovers.”
Sherman has become something of a cult figure thanks to being called “The Shermanator” by TV commentators.
“I guess it came from American Pie the movie,” Sherman said.
“I guess I can’t do anything about it. I’ve got a few nicknames in the club - that one and ‘Worm’.
“Nicknames go around and you get a few along the way.
[/I]
What's the story here TFB?:D
The Flying Belgian
11 Apr 2007, 15:37
You can only guess! :D
Although I've got one out of left field - there's a kids' show on Nick Jr called The Backyardigans and one episode my daughter was watching one day had a character named "Sherman the Worm". I could only guess that a player with children may have been exposed to the same show.
Grimreepah
11 Apr 2007, 15:50
Does it have anything to do with his tattoo?
danielcanberra
11 Apr 2007, 16:36
Will somebody please just go and ask Justin (or another player)?
LuckyLuke
11 Apr 2007, 16:53
I heard that he is also called "Cases". Does he still get that?
You can only guess! :D
Although I've got one out of left field - there's a kids' show on Nick Jr called The Backyardigans and one episode my daughter was watching one day had a character named "Sherman the Worm". I could only guess that a player with children may have been exposed to the same show.
As you said. It is left field.:D
I heard that he is also called "Cases". Does he still get that?
Yeah I remember him getting that one when he arrived because he supposedly always looked like he was carrying cases under his arms
BigCat2
11 Apr 2007, 19:52
Yeah I remember him getting that one when he arrived because he supposedly always looked like he was carrying cases under his arms
And here I thought it's because his name is Just-In-Cases... :rolleyes:
TheBrownDog
12 Apr 2007, 17:07
Contrary to certain (minority opinions), Justin is actually a deadset top bloke.
Chezwick
13 Apr 2007, 10:43
Contrary to certain (minority opinions), Justin is actually a deadset top bloke.
Damn straight. :thumbsu:
Yep:thumbsu:
I agree, Sherman is a great player and really down to earth guy. :thumbsu:
scott522
14 Apr 2007, 07:16
And so say all of us...
The Flying Belgian
14 Apr 2007, 14:45
Nah, he's an bastard who would talk to you if you begged him. When he does finally give you the time of day he screams "don't you know who I am?" repetitively then attacks you with a sheet of foolscap then rubs a lemon all over you. Complete and utter bastard!*
* The above statement may contain traces of sarcasm.
TheBrownDog
14 Apr 2007, 18:03
* The above statement may contain traces of sarcasm.
Yeah, obviously the foolscap was an exaggeration, he uses A4 in reality.
danielcanberra
29 Apr 2007, 21:46
I had a great chat with Justin last night after the game.
I mentioned that I preferred him in the midfield instead of FF and he said he is happier running.
From what I saw at the Sydney game compared to last night's game, I can totally understand.
Anyone see the interview with Champs the other night on 7 news. he descibed him as having the flair of Akermanis with the humility of Simon Black. Also had a feature spot in the motoring section of the Courier on sat ,about his cars.
He is starting to get a bit more of a profile.which is good
Grimreepah
17 May 2007, 22:52
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Matthews-wields-AFL-axe-in-Brisbane/2007/05/17/1178995311166.html)
Sherman, 20, had not missed a game since his AFL debut in round four, 2005 while picking up a Rising Star nomination and finishing second in the Lions' 2006 best and fairest voting.
But Sherman appears to have paid for being left in midfielder Simon Goodwin's wake in Brisbane's (round 7) Gabba loss to the Crows despite picking up 18 disposals.
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/1676/shermanwd0.jpg
TheBrownDog
17 May 2007, 23:37
48 games in a row since debuting.
Top effort Shermo, keep your chin up mate.
The Flying Belgian
29 May 2007, 20:10
Shermo will make his 50th this weekend if selected. I'm pretty tough on him, but for a bloke to be where he is after only 50 games is testament to his ability and attitude.
Onya Worm!
notting18
29 May 2007, 20:31
Shermo will make his 50th this weekend if selected. I'm pretty tough on him, but for a bloke to be where he is after only 50 games is testament to his ability and attitude.
Onya Worm!
Well Done Sherman....i am pretty sure that he will be selected this week, he did his job well last week IMO
Grimreepah
31 May 2007, 15:57
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=44301) (warning - Afl.com link)
Sherman's fast-tracked fifty
10:46 AM Thu 31 May, 2007
for lions.com.au
Vodafone Brisbane Lions livewire Justin Sherman has developed an impressive football resume in a little more than two seasons at the elite level.
The young Tasmanian was selected by the Lions with pick 45 in the 2004 National Draft and has since proven to be a bargain.
Sherman made his senior debut in round 4 2005 against Hawthorn at the MCG and generated some excitement for members and supporters in an otherwise dirty day for the Lions. He kicked three goals and was clearly one of the team’s best players in the disappointing 46-point loss.
From this point the Lions knew they had something special.
Now Sherman will line up for his first official AFL milestone this weekend when he plays his 50th match against Richmond at Docklands.
The young Lion is taking the milestone in his stride this week preferring to focus on getting back on the winners list against the winless Tigers on Saturday night. The Lions have lost their past three matches and will be wary of a Tigers outfit that has been playing much better than its 0-9 win/loss record suggests.
“It’s going to be good to play in a milestone but more importantly I am hopeful that by the end of the game we can come away with a win,” he said.
“Richmond has put in a few really good performances recently. You can’t underestimate any opposition at this level.
“We’ve looked at our last three performances and our last quarters probably haven’t been as good as they should have been. We’ve realised that and are hoping to counteract it this week.
Sherman played 48 consecutive senior matches since making his debut before being relegated to the Lions reserves team a fortnight ago. The pressure for a position in the senior team is so fierce within the club and Sherman paid the price for his inconsistent form.
While the news of his omission came somewhat as a shock, rather than sulk about it Sherman was determined to improve his game and fight for his spot back within the senior team.
“It was a big reality check,” he said. “I knew that I had to work harder the next week to put my name back up there again.
“I took it as a very positive week. I wanted to make sure I went back (to the reserves) with a positive attitude and take the training week as if I was still playing in the seniors. I trained really hard and felt really good.
“That said, I probably didn’t have the best of games (with the Suncoast Lions) but I worked hard on improving my deficiencies. I gave it my all.
“Leigh told me to go back and work on my tackling and my contested work. I have since done extra work on these areas which will make me a better player.
Sherman showed enough for the Suncoast Lions to warrant selection in the seniors last week against Collingwood and is now determined to once again keep his name regularly in the side.
“I got another opportunity and realised that this team is fantastic and when you do get the opportunity you never want to let it slip. That’s been my philosophy ever since I got my first game.
“I want to keep doing the things that the team wants me to.
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9638/shermanwa6.jpg
lionslady
11 Jul 2007, 17:24
we all know he is an awesome player. hes just gone of the boil...any1 know whats gonna happen next?
TheBrownDog
11 Jul 2007, 21:19
we all know he is an awesome player. hes just gone of the boil...any1 know whats gonna happen next?
Shermo is very focused on doing the things that need to be done.
If there is anyone who wants to see Justin Sherman out there tearing it up again, its Justin himself.
danielcanberra
11 Jul 2007, 21:29
Shermo is very focused on doing the things that need to be done.
If there is anyone who wants to see Justin Sherman out there tearing it up again, its Justin himself.
Spot on BrownDog! He doesn't take anything for granted.
I'd like to see him tearing it up again too.
BigCat2
11 Jul 2007, 21:42
We know Justin plays with passion, and confidence takes him a long way.
He's been up and down this year. Do you think that it's made him a little unsure of himself, or just resolved to work even harder?
notting18
12 Jul 2007, 00:53
I think i, like many others forget that Sherman has played 50 games and yet is so young. So many players are yet to even debut by this point in their careers, he will be a great player for us i do not doubt that!
Lace Out
12 Jul 2007, 11:30
If his form does improve he will be like a new recruit...
lionslady
14 Jul 2007, 12:34
i just wondering...is he injured?
danielcanberra
14 Jul 2007, 13:05
i just wondering...is he injured?
The top thread in this board called Injury Watch will provide you with details of player injuries.
i thought he was down on form so he was dropped.
campbell
16 Jul 2007, 11:11
Yep, thats it.
TheBrownDog
16 Jul 2007, 11:36
He may be injured as well though, because he didn't line up for Suncoast on Saturday.
campbell
16 Jul 2007, 11:41
He may be injured as well though, because he didn't line up for Suncoast on Saturday.
Hope he doesn't have the virus thats doing the rounds.
TheBrownDog
16 Jul 2007, 11:52
Hope he doesn't have the virus thats doing the rounds.
Yeah, not sure.
When I spoke to him on Wednesday at the sponsors thing, he was very positive and said he was looking forward for lining up for Suncoast, so yeah, most likely either caught something, or did an injury at Friday training.
danielcanberra
16 Jul 2007, 14:32
BrownDog, some people might be surprised to find out that he's human and not a machine.
danielcanberra
16 Jul 2007, 16:18
According to the club, Shermo has the flu and is staying away from the other players.
He's human after all...
Get well Shermo!!!!
notting18
16 Jul 2007, 16:21
According to the club, Shermo has the flu and is staying away from the other players.
He's human after all...
Get well Shermo!!!!
You really wouldn't want the flu going through the group when we are on such a high at the moment. Hopefully Sherman can get better soon so he can force his way up into the 1s
BigCat2
16 Jul 2007, 16:22
BrownDog, some people might be surprised to find out that he's human and not a machine.
http://artfiles.art.com/images/-/Terminator-2-Magnet-C11769212.jpeg
danielcanberra
16 Jul 2007, 16:35
Good one BigCat.... Shermanator - "I'll be back".
Love it!
lionslady
16 Jul 2007, 18:50
yer thanks for that...he will be back to his best in no time!
Grimreepah
21 Jul 2007, 12:33
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22106173-5003410,00.html)
Lions' 20-year-old Justin Sherman is out of hospital after requiring treatment for an infected cut on his foot
Quigley
31 Jul 2007, 22:23
Do you think there might be off field issues associated with his drop in form this year? His game has been so good over the last two years that this year seems very odd. Has he been out partying too hard? The sudden drop off in form is often a consequence of this.
I had been thinking the "illness" sorted of fitted into this scenario before reading Grim's post. Although infections do often arise when the body is run down.
danielcanberra
1 Aug 2007, 10:43
I know you mean well Quigs, but I wouldn't want to be discussing details about Justin's personal life on an open internet forum (or at all).
I expect he will be roaring to go soon.
notting18
1 Aug 2007, 23:39
I expect he will be roaring to go soon.
:thumbsu: - gold on so many levels!
lionslady
4 Aug 2007, 16:04
anyone know when he is coming back?
danielcanberra
4 Aug 2007, 16:33
I expect when he's good and ready. ;)
danielcanberra
5 Aug 2007, 11:54
I expect when he's good and ready. ;)
I just realised that my comment didn't really say anything.
If anyone remembers, he had surgery on his foot not long ago. Rather than risk an injury, I'd expect he would be giving his foot time to heal properly.
konstas_87
5 Aug 2007, 22:20
Grimreepah
17 Aug 2007, 10:13
Link (http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2007/08/17/1682_gold-coast-sport.html)
Sherman fights his way back into Lions seniors
Nick Smart
17Aug07
AFTER finishing second in last year's club best-and-fairest awards, Justin Sherman has become the Lions' forgotten man.
It has been a frustrating year for the talented 20-year-old, who signed a lucrative two-year contract at the end of last season.
Having played all 22 matches last season, Sherman has made just 12 senior appearances this year.
But after a five-day stint in hospital and a month out of the game, Sherman made his comeback through the reserves last week.
And he will do whatever it takes to get back into the senior side before the end of the season.
He is targeting the Geelong game at the Gabba in round 22 for his return, but naturally would not object to an earlier call-up.
Last weekend, he ran out with little fanfare for the Suncoast Lions against Broadbeach at Merrimac.
Despite having missed a month, Sherman proved he had not lost his ability to find the football.
The Tasmanian product said he was surprised how good he felt out on the field after missing a large chunk of football.
"It was actually surprising because it all went pretty well for me," he said. "I was going to the match thinking in the back of my mind that maybe my match fitness is a bit down, because I was out for a month.
"I trained well on the Friday and took that confidence into the game, and didn't really worry about it too much. I felt really good."
He was last night named as an emergency to face the Swans at the Gabba tomorrow night.
While he considers himself a long shot for the clash, he hopes a return to the big stage is not too far away.
"I would think another couple of weeks and I will be trying to get back for the last game if I can," he said.
"Hopefully the sooner, the better. But if it takes another week, then I have got that will and passion inside of me to push through it another week and really show people that I am committed again."
It was not widely known but Sherman spent five days in hospital last month with a skin infection on his right foot. A bacterial infection got in through a blister which puffed his foot up.
It was a big blow for Sherman, but he has worked hard and made a quicker than expected recovery.
After the heights he reached last year, Sherman admitted it had not been a memorable year after, at one stage, being dropped because of a loss of form.
But he is determined not to let it get him down.
"I am still pretty upbeat and feeling pretty good about myself," he said. "Even though I am not playing at the highest level I probably want to, I am still doing everything I can on and off the field to get myself back to that level."
The Lions have recalled Scott Harding and Richard Hadley for Rhan Hooper (suspended) and Matthew Moody (omitted). The Swans made no change to the side that beat St Kilda at the SCG.
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/1839/shermannb6.jpg
TheBrownDog
17 Aug 2007, 12:15
Really excited about the imminent return of Shermo. :thumbsu:
Warwick
17 Aug 2007, 12:26
Onya Sherm.
Can't wait to see the bloke back in the team.
danielcanberra
17 Aug 2007, 13:40
Good interview from Nick Smart. Those types of infections are particularly nasty.
I will have a beer for you, Shermo when you are back!
TheBrownDog
17 Aug 2007, 21:04
Shermo > Everyone :thumbsu:
Grimreepah
18 Aug 2007, 03:25
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=49306)
... They have been replaced by Matthew Moody and Justin Sherman, the latter of whom is underdone and only returned from illness in the reserves last week.“(Sherman’s) not ideal. He missed a couple of weeks and then he only played (in the reserves) last week,” Matthews said.
“In terms of the available players, he was one who has got some speed. But he’ll be used off the bench and will have a short game.
Kochie 16
19 Aug 2007, 19:15
Wasn't too bad last night (probably his best game this season), but no were near the form he was in last season. looking forward to a big comeback season next year! All the best to you shermo!
Quigley
19 Aug 2007, 21:25
Along with the rest of the Lions supporters I am hoping for a bounce back for next year. As a point of interest I checked his Sportal Dreamteam price. $230K down from over $400K. He is a definate pick from me next year if he starts near what he finished this year.
He looked a bit down on confidence and skills at a few points during the night, but given it was his comeback game there was enough there for me to hope he stays in the seniors for the next couple of games.
The Flying Belgian
20 Aug 2007, 13:12
It wasn't a bad game from Shermo, not great but passable, but that unwillingness to kick on his left was stil there on a couple of occasions.
Vipertooth
20 Aug 2007, 13:26
I am really disopointed at shermo this season, I hope he bounces back, so we dont trade him.
TheBrownDog
20 Aug 2007, 16:22
I am really disopointed at shermo this season, I hope he bounces back, so we dont trade him.
Club would be very unlikely to trade a kid who came second in last years B&F, regardless of whether he 'bounces back' this year.
TheBrownDog
26 Aug 2007, 15:00
Every bounce of the ball went against the Tank last night, but his work rate could not be faulted.
I have faith that Shermo will emerge from the next pre-season brimming with confidence.
Quigley
26 Aug 2007, 15:21
For the second week in a row he seemed to get better the longer it went. His confidence is still well down but he is running a lot better than earlier in the year. I hope Leigh loses the idea of playing him as a tagger next year and just lets him chase the ball.
Lots of skill work for Justin in the offseason though I foresee.
Grimreepah
26 Aug 2007, 15:28
http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/7871/shermanae1.jpg
The tank has lost his mojo. It has been a very disappointing year for him, but hopefully he can learn from it and be a better person because of it. Footy is a great leveller.
maroon and blue
26 Aug 2007, 16:33
Life is a journey, going from a teenager to an adult, a lot more tougher than years gone by for the average person let alone a footballer . Justin is going thru that stage. And he will break thru, after some introspection, but that's what youth to adulthood is all about. Can't wait to see him bursting thru a pack like Micky Conlon.
Tim the Toolman
27 Aug 2007, 18:49
I can't see it personally.
He's number one on my 'must-trade' list. Very ordinary when getting a go and by now should be doing better than 30 points a game in champion data.
I can't see it personally.
He's number one on my 'must-trade' list. Very ordinary when getting a go and by now should be doing better than 30 points a game in champion data.
Come on, Tim. You had the screen out for JMac before he'd even played a senior game this year. Why would you want to actively go out of your way to write off a 20yo kid who only 12 months ago was good enough to come 2nd in his club B&F in his second season, while all around him were collapsing?
Adcock came third in the B&F in 2005 but couldn't crack the top 20 in 2006. Did you have a 'For Sale' sign on him this time last year?
Plenty of kids go through flat spots or flat years. There were good arguments for trading CJ 8 or 9 years ago. Tossing out the baby each time we hit one is an financially and emotionally expensive exercise.
I hope Leigh loses the idea of playing him as a tagger next year and just lets him chase the ball.
I reckon you have to earn the right to play that sort of role. I hope that Shermo has such a quality pre-season that Lethal has no choice but to give him a free rein.
lionslady
30 Sep 2007, 19:06
i just want to ask something. I have seen on some trading threads about sherman wanting 'out'. I really have my doubts but all you are getting on those boards are rumours and conspiracys about certain players and obsessed fans who want him. From a lions supporter - does anyone know what is going on becaus i do not.
TheBrownDog
30 Sep 2007, 19:45
i just want to ask something. I have seen on some trading threads about sherman wanting 'out'. I really have my doubts but all you are getting on those boards are rumours and conspiracys about certain players and obsessed fans who want him. From a lions supporter - does anyone know what is going on becaus i do not.
I can say without exaggeration that 99 percent of trade scenarios floated on BigFooty are complete bullshit.
notting18
30 Sep 2007, 20:03
I can say without exaggeration that 99 percent of trade scenarios floated on BigFooty are complete bullshit.
and the other 1% 'mostly' bullshit...
Grimreepah
4 Oct 2007, 04:34
Link (http://www.**********.net/needs-a-new-team-justin-sherman/)
Needs A New Team: Justin Sherman
September 5th 2007 00:30
Brisbane
Justin Sherman: His role in the forward line has been taken by Robert Copeland. Proud will also be a player who could be used in a similar way, so Sherman might struggle to get back into the team and repeat the success he had in season 2006. With a draft pick or two, and maybe Schmidt winning a spot, the Lions may not give Sherman many more chances.
Plenty of Victorian sides would be willing to trade for him, provide him with a consistent role and give him another chance to become a star in the AFL. The Saints, Tigers, Blues and Kangaroos might be teams that could use Sherman.
Link (http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22526442-2722,00.html)
Roos said the Swans also had an interest in Geelong's out-of-contract midfielder Kane Tenace and Brisbane defender/midfielder Justin Sherman, who is contracted to the Lions for another two years.
http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/5794/shermangb4.jpg
Grimreepah
9 Oct 2007, 01:03
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22552991-5003410,00.html)
BRISBANE has declared out-of-sorts youngster Justin Sherman off limits.
Sherman placed third in the 2006 Merrett-Murray medal but struggled to reproduce that form this season and spent a large chunk of the year in the reserves.
Lions CEO Michael Bowers said the club was aware Sherman had attracted interest from several lowly placed Melbourne clubs but stressed the 20-year-old Tasmanian was a required player.
"At this stage he is a contracted player and we are looking forward to his 2008 season," Bowers said.
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/8894/sherman2zg6.jpg
TheBrownDog
9 Oct 2007, 13:12
Above article is incorrect.
Shermo finished second in the B&F last year, not third.
Yeh its Hammo, stats shouldn't get in the way of a good story! :D
Tim the Toolman
10 Oct 2007, 08:06
Come on, Tim. You had the screen out for JMac before he'd even played a senior game this year. Why would you want to actively go out of your way to write off a 20yo kid who only 12 months ago was good enough to come 2nd in his club B&F in his second season, while all around him were collapsing?
Adcock came third in the B&F in 2005 but couldn't crack the top 20 in 2006. Did you have a 'For Sale' sign on him this time last year?
Plenty of kids go through flat spots or flat years. There were good arguments for trading CJ 8 or 9 years ago. Tossing out the baby each time we hit one is an financially and emotionally expensive exercise.
It appears that the powers-to-be agree with me and want to move him on.
I was Jed's biggest fan over the past couple of years along with Drummo and Patfull and I'm hardly the person getting stuck into every young player however Sherman did go backwards this year after such a promising first year and sometimes hard decisions must be made.
notting18
10 Oct 2007, 08:52
Actually, IMO they think the complete opposite. Other clubs such as Sydney have enquired but the lions have told them to get stuffed...
Grimreepah
10 Oct 2007, 09:34
BRISBANE has declared out-of-sorts youngster Justin Sherman off limits.
:confused:
Tim the Toolman
11 Oct 2007, 10:14
I stand corrected then :o
TheBrownDog
11 Oct 2007, 10:28
I stand corrected then :o
And you call yourself Australia's greatest football fan! :eek:
danielcanberra
11 Oct 2007, 10:34
We should remember that he also won Rookie of the Year in 2006.
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 02:11
Link (http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22571159-5013406,00.html)
Justin Sherman, who is contracted to Brisbane for another two years, will not be traded after interest from several clubs.
lionbear
12 Oct 2007, 08:49
You beauty, I am as happy as the Carlton supporters were yesterday to hear Sherman will be with us for another two years Grim:D
You have put a smile on my face:D
Tim the Toolman
12 Oct 2007, 11:36
And you call yourself Australia's greatest football fan! :eek:
I didn't call myself that (I'm sure you're joking so I'm not taking the comment seriously :p) but I suppose I finished in the top 8! :D
Shermo does have to step up though, I'm not hiding from my comments. If he's got it in him, he'll work hard in the pre-season and hopefully kick arse next year.
Grimreepah
31 Oct 2007, 15:09
End of Season Player Review
As the reigning runner up in the B&F and having gone to Ireland for an International Rules Series, there were high expectations for Sherman in 2007. With his early success and his youthful exuberance he had become a figure head for the new breed of young Lions. But alas it turned out to be a year to forget.
After showing a handy knack of finding the goals late last year, Sherman started out in the forward line. He was reasonable and kicked a couple of goals in the NAB Cup and early in the season. But he had a few quiet games and was soon moved back to play as a defensive midfielder. He continued to struggle, with his opponents getting plenty of the ball and Sherman not offering much in attack.
In round 8 he was dropped for a game to jolt him into action, but it didn’t work and his form if anything continued to get worse. In round 14 he was dropped again, and then was sidelined for a month with a foot infection. When he returned for Suncoast, he was a little inconsistent, but at least there were some good patches to help him rebuild his confidence.
In round 20, with the Lions suffering a long injury list, they took a punt on Sherman. He tried hard but the magic wasn’t there. He made too many errors, seemingly from trying too hard not to make them. His confidence was at an all time low, and he was dropped again for the final game against Geelong.
It was about as bad as year as you could possibly imagine. But the thing in Sherman’s favour is that he and the coaching staff know that he does have the ability. I would imagine the summer will be about getting back to basics and focusing on working hard, and letting the confidence grow from there.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/1434/shermangw3.jpg
Grimreepah
15 Nov 2007, 09:45
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=53260)
Lion regaining effervescence after tough 2007
7:50 AM Thu 15 November, 2007
By Simon White
for lions.com.au
FRESH from what he admits was a character-building 2007 campaign, Brisbane Lions midfielder Justin Sherman is determined to bounce back to his effervescent best in 2008.
Sherman enjoyed a dream first two years at the Gabba, playing 19 games and earning a Rising Star nomination in his debut season of 2005 and then playing every game and finishing second behind Simon Black in the club champion award in 2006.
But his young career hit its first significant speed bumps this year, when he was squeezed out of the side and then suffered a foot infection.
"My philosophy on footy is that you never stop learning – and I really learned a lot out of last year," Sherman told lions.com.au.
"I had a few setbacks and I didn’t really know how to react when I got dropped.
"There were times during the year when I wasn’t really myself personally – I’ve got a pretty bubbly personality but it wasn’t showing.
"This year I’m going to be better prepared for the start of the season and I’m really grateful for the support everyone has given me.
"Lots have people have shown confidence in me that I can come back bigger and better and it’s been really good to have someone like [coach] Leigh [Matthews] giving you that kind of direction.”
Sherman had an interrupted pre-season last year after representing Australia in the International Rules series in Ireland.
In hindsight he says he might have been better staying home and focussing on his preparation for 2007.
The flip side, however is that would have ruled him out of a rare opportunity to play for his country.
"Representing Australia is a pretty special thing and, as far as individual achievements go, that’s one you don’t really want to let slip," Sherman said.
"So much passion goes into playing for your country - it’s the pinnacle of sport and I did take a lot out of it.
"But looking back it probably did disrupt my pre-season a bit. I had three or four weeks off and I was a bit behind the eight-ball and playing catch-up with my fitness from the start.
"I still got myself in pretty good shape but deep down it kind of niggles at the back of my mind that those three or four weeks might have cost me."
This off-season Sherman has stayed closer to home – quite literally – and has purchased a new residence in Brisbane.
His summer workload is aimed at building the endurance needed to spend long periods in the Lions’ midfield.
"I’m mainly working on endurance at the moment – just trying to get myself as fit as possible," he said.
"I’m feeling really good and my skinfolds are pretty much where they need to be.
"You can’t play in the midfield unless you can run really well and even just improving a couple of per cent can help with that."
While Sherman is striving to become an elite runner, the Lions are charting a return to being one of the competition’s elite.
Having largely watched on as the Lion roared back into finals contention in the second half of last season, he 20-year-old can’t wait to be a part of it.
"It’s a really exciting time for us, especially having been there from the start of this re-generation, if you want to call it that, of players," Sherman said.
"A lot of us younger guys came to the club and played our first games around the same time.
"It’s a new year with new challenges and I just feel so lucky to be a part of it all."
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/7461/shermanud4.jpg
Grimreepah
15 Nov 2007, 09:54
Interestingly the main site has a different heading:
"Lion regaining effervescence after 2007 fizzer"
Lace Out
15 Nov 2007, 10:19
Well he sounds nice and positive.Hopefully it was the Ireland trip and foot injury that saw his astonishing fall from grace.Will be an enormous bonus if can get back to near his best.
Fairley
15 Nov 2007, 19:08
for those of you who do dream team, shermo could be the golden pick up of 2008?