View Full Version : Richard Hadley
Lady Lawrence
19 Jan 2007, 15:55
over to you - Cozi, Warwick & Toddy
Warwick
20 Jan 2007, 22:12
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/5410/hadley29uf.png (http://imageshack.us)
Guernsey number: 14
Height: 190
Weight: 88
Recruited from: East Fremantle (#22 2000 National Draft)
Debut: 2001 (vs Richmond at MCG)
DOB: 29 March 1983
Games: 21 H&A games and 6 finals (including 2 GFs!!)
Winning percentage: 20 wins and 7 losses (74%)
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/9692/hadley31zo.png (http://imageshack.us)
Notable points:
Lions Rookie of the Year 2004
Rising Star nominee 2004
3rd in Rising Star award 2004
Averages 12.5 disposals, 3 marks and 3 tackles a game
Became the 5th fastest man to a premiership in terms of games played
Became the Lions youngest player to debut at 18 years and 16 days
Was an outstanding young junior cricketer as well (his best mate is Shaun Marsh, son of Geoff)
Made All-Australian at under 16s level
Plays as a tall midfielder who is tough and brilliant at finding the ball in traffic. Demonstrating his versatility, he played CHB for the reserves in 2003.
His father is a part-time scout for the Dockers
Tends to wear short shorts whilst out shopping
Warwick
20 Jan 2007, 22:17
Hadley off the long run
Andrew Browne
Sportal for afl.com.au
After two frustrating seasons of watching football from the stands, Brisbane Lions midfielder Richard Hadley is determined to make 2007 third-time lucky as he continues his long haul back from consecutive knee reconstructions.
It is hard to believe that Hadley's last official match was the 2004 Grand Final loss to Port Adelaide following a stellar 23-game season which also earned him a NAB AFL Rising Star nomination.
Only 12 months earlier, Hadley, who was drafted in 2000, had helped the Lions clinch the triple-premiership in just his fourth game and kicked a vital goal to boot.
His star was on the rise, but it came to a sudden halt when his knee gave way in March 2005 at MC Labour Park while playing in the final practice match against Richmond.
Fast forward one year, and Hadley is ready to fire once again but, incredibly, history repeats as his knee fails him for a second time in a trial against Collingwood at Carrara on the Gold Coast. The comeback lasted only four minutes.
It also triggered a shocking run of injuries for the Lions. In the same game, veteran Nigel Lappin's attempt to return from a broken leg ended with a season-ending ankle injury and, in the curtain-raiser, another teammate Pat Garner also did a knee.
Hadley however maintains a positive outlook and has just started running again with a view to joining group training by Christmas.
"It feels the same as last year, but there is no pain and the muscle size has caught up to the other leg so that is really the only indicator you can have," he told Sportal.
Reconstructions generally require a 12-month rehabilitation and Hadley delayed surgery by a couple of weeks, thereby avoiding the practice match curse to aim to return in April.
"It was really to help me get the strength and size in my legs before I start running and get a solid base before I do anything," added Hadley, who is gently running in straight lines at this stage before he tests the knee by changing direction a few weeks.
Despite the wretched run of luck over the past two years, the 23-year-old considers he is still well in front.
"I've played in two grand finals and won one after only four games, so there was definitely some luck there," he said.
"Hopefully over the next couple of years I can get some consistency and being injury-free would be great."
The West Australian admitted to feeling homesick and frustrated mid-season and, after a discussion with coach Leigh Matthews, was permitted to take a break away from the Gabba.
He ventured off to Europe via Perth with teammate and fellow knee victim Joel Macdonald before ending the holiday by diverting to the US to see a specialist who was enthusiastic about Hadley's return to competitive football.
As he prepares for another comeback, Hadley says he has learnt some valuable lessons but is looking forward to the adrenalin rush of playing again.
"I was getting down on myself because I felt I wasn't training that well after being out for so long," he said.
"You can't expect to slot straight back in which is hard to take, so I have to be ready for that when the time comes that it doesn't fall into place straight away."
Season 2006 has been quickly forgotten by everyone at the Gabba and Hadley is aware he will be coming back to a vastly different club from the one he last played with in 2004.
"We had the worst injuries in the competition and you can't afford to have that, especially with our big men (Jonathan) Brown and (Jamie) Charman which were really big losses," he said.
"We had patches of good form like smashing the (Fremantle) Dockers up at the Gabba, but I don't think there is too much between all the teams.
"The younger players have now played another year and are approaching 50 games so that always helps coming into a new season.
"It is a fresh start for everyone - new list and a different direction, so we will see what happens."
Membership to the Hadley Appreciation Club is now open.
Hadley Appreciation Club Est. 2001.
I'll establish a Tokyo faction of the club if he makes it to round 1.
What does "Est." stand for? i'm serious
I live to spread my vast knowledge.
Oh no! Another splinter group.
The sarin cannisters are sitting in my bedroom for now...
Quigley
30 Jan 2007, 20:04
Good to see you are getting into the local cultural norms Snuka.
The sarin cannisters are sitting in my bedroom for now...
http://ar.geocities.com/abhidamma/guru2.jpg
Grimreepah
3 Feb 2007, 23:17
http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/2183/hadleymo2.jpg
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/5410/hadley29uf.png (http://imageshack.us)
Guernsey number: 14
Height: 190
Weight: 88
Recruited from: East Fremantle (#22 2000 National Draft)
Debut: 2001 (vs Richmond at MCG)
DOB: 29 March 1983
Games: 21 H&A games and 6 finals (including 2 GFs!!)
Winning percentage: 20 wins and 7 losses (74%)
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/9692/hadley31zo.png (http://imageshack.us)
Notable points:
Lions Rookie of the Year 2004
Rising Star nominee 2004
3rd in Rising Star award 2004
Averages 12.5 disposals, 3 marks and 3 tackles a game
Became the 5th fastest man to a premiership in terms of games played
Became the Lions youngest player to debut at 18 years and 16 days
Was an outstanding young junior cricketer as well (his best mate is Shaun Marsh, son of Geoff)
Made All-Australian at under 16s level
Plays as a tall midfielder who is tough and brilliant at finding the ball in traffic. Demonstrating his versatility, he played CHB for the reserves in 2003.
Tends to wear short shorts whilst out shopping
Grim where is a picture of this??
http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/2183/hadleymo2.jpg
http://s123.photobucket.com/albums/o318/ktoddy26/?action=view¤t=22P0022.jpg
This is from later that evening, apologies for my 2 second editing on paint.
[/LIST]
I think this should be "WAS a scout for the Dockers. I believe he is now part of the Lions' WA recruiting team.
Grimreepah
4 Feb 2007, 10:50
http://s123.photobucket.com/albums/o318/ktoddy26/?action=view¤t=22P0022.jpg
This is from later that evening, apologies for my 2 second editing on paint.
:D knee operations - pfffffffttt. It's all a cover up.
Going off on a tangent here but thought id post this thread to show Richard Hadley doing some wonderful off field work.
http://jesse.healthtrendstoday.com/
If only Richard Hadley came to my birthday!!
Don't cut your giant, almost human-sized cake i bought you, until i give you the word. You might cut, ummm, someone...
He'll be waiting awhile!!! Perhaps your birthday, it would be like someone buying a present for someone with the intention of using it themselves.**
**Can i just stipulate that i was not implying any "use" by myself of Richard in that analogy.
joshhem
15 Feb 2007, 09:34
Any one have a date that little richie is hoping to make his return?
The Flying Belgian
15 Feb 2007, 10:34
Pretty sure they're aiming him for R1 and that will be with Suncoast
As long as he doesnt play in the last practise match then i dont mind!!
TheBrownDog
17 Feb 2007, 00:37
Bit of a scare in the training session before the intraclub for Hads.
I heard him groan and turned my head to see him slump to the ground in the fetal position.
After a nervous 10 seconds (which felt like minutes) it was revealed to be a simple case of a football to the groin. (Hans Moleman style).
Rest easy Hads fans.
Warwick
17 Feb 2007, 12:08
But... the ball! His groin! It works on so many levels!
blynd_freddie
17 Feb 2007, 15:10
Going off on a tangent here but thought id post this thread to show Richard Hadley doing some wonderful off field work.
http://jesse.healthtrendstoday.com/
What the?????
........birthday cake, gas cylinder, candles, matches, OH MY GOD!!!!!!
Could have been no levels .... for ANYONE to WORK ON!!!!!!!!:eek:
What the?????
........birthday cake, gas cylinder, candles, matches, OH MY GOD!!!!!!
Could have been no levels .... for ANYONE to WORK ON!!!!!!!!:eek:
Well spotted!! I demand a full investigation, and some heads to roll!! How our gun player could be put into such a dangerous situation, Warwick i suggest you over see this process.
Haha what are you too lazy to do it urself?
Im goin to training this arvo so I will keep an eye out n make sure there are no more balls to the groin region haha.
Warwick
19 Feb 2007, 15:48
Haha what are you too lazy to do it urself?
Im goin to training this arvo so I will keep an eye out n make sure there are no more balls to the groing region haha.
Your fascination with Hadley is a little disturbing. Any excuse to be watching his groin.
:eek: :eek:
:rolleyes: Haha ...jk
:eek: :eek:
:rolleyes: Haha ...jk
I suspect Warwick is a little upset at you for encroaching on his turf...
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
12 Mar 2007, 14:50
G'day fellas,
Just want to know a few details on Hadley for my SuperCoach side:
a) When do you first expect him to play?
b) How many games do you expect him to play in 2007?
c) How much game time (%) do you expect him to play once back the senior side?
Cheers
Best of luck for the weekend
Quigley
13 Mar 2007, 21:36
Hadley is due to start contact training after this week. By all accounts his knee is fine and hopefully there will be no residual problems. He looks fighting fit but I would expect him to play a couple of reserves games prior to getting a call up to the AFL given that he has been out of the game for two years. Accordingly I would not expect to see him before probably round 4. From there I think he could easily play the rest of the games for the Lions. He is a key player for the Lions and Leigh will be keen to get him back into form. He plays that in and under role that the Lions need, he has good disposal and premiership experience. I would expect him to get a lot of time on the park once he is fully match fit.
danielcanberra
1 Apr 2007, 00:04
Did anybody see Hads play?
Didn't get there early enough unfortunately. Hopefully he got through without any problems.
scott522
1 Apr 2007, 00:44
yeh saw the sunnies win - hadley looked ok, took out a vultures player who was stretchered off the ground, hit him like a freight train...
TheBrownDog
1 Apr 2007, 12:05
yeh saw the sunnies win - hadley looked ok, took out a vultures player who was stretchered off the ground, hit him like a freight train...
Hope that Vulture is okay. Looked very, very serious at the time.
When is Hadley like to come back in to the side?
Still going hard at the ball then hey?
When is Hadley like to come back in to the side?
At a guess, maybe round 4.
TheBrownDog
4 Apr 2007, 10:07
Heard direct from a Lions official that the plan for Hadley is to play in the ressies for about a month.
I'm happy with that. His fitness based seems ahead of where I thought it might be, but it's hard to get the confidence to bash and crash back after two years out.
I would have been happy to run him in the magoos till midseason -- just to get him nice 'n' hard and desperate. But at least a month is another 30 odd days to train and recover and and get stronger and fitter.
Thanks to irel for the link.
http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=116866
In contrast to the disappointing injury to the quality Gough, the afternoon was a bright one for Richard Hadley.
The popular Lion, returning from consecutive knee reconstructions, dominated on a wing opposed to Scott Ralph early, and then generated plenty of momentum from the middle from halfway through the opening term.
Hadley threw himself into tackles and onto the ground without hesitation, and his effort to fly for a big mark six-deep in a pack, fall to the ground, snare the loose ball, and handpass 20m to a teammate running forward showed he will be a hugely valuable asset to the senior side.
It was Hadley’s second game back, having played four, 15-minute quarters last week and something similar again on Thursday.
Sounds good, sounds very good!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Kochie 16
7 Apr 2007, 12:14
I just hope Hadds doesn't do his knee again. That would seriously suck.
Can't wait for him to return.
charles202
12 Apr 2007, 18:06
It will be great to get Hads back in the senior side, however i hope that he plays at least another four games in the two's.
I imagine that when he is ready to return that Hadley will be the player to make way for him. It would seem the natural fit as they both play that in and under type roll.
:confused:
:confused:
Well they are very similar players:thumbsu:
Hadley selected for the Swans game and the "LEAK" has been outed. Leaking misinformation was part of the plan to identify the culprit. The plan worked.
TBD what have you to say in your defence?
The Flying Belgian
13 Apr 2007, 12:39
Hadley selected for the Swans game and the "LEAK" has been outed. Leaking misinformation was part of the plan to identify the culprit. The plan worked.
"Plans" can and have often gone astray.
TheBrownDog
13 Apr 2007, 12:45
*runs*
TheBrownDog
13 Apr 2007, 12:47
By the way, the Hadley speculation was hardly secretive. Anyone could have walked up to Sam and asked him the same question. :p
Just because it came from a Lions official doesn't mean its clandestine information.
OldLion
13 Apr 2007, 19:13
This is great news - of all the players I'd like to return to the game and succeed, he's definately No. 1. ( Well .. after Brad Boyd .. who he looks like BTW ).
All the best.
Warwick
13 Apr 2007, 23:10
He's back...
Gosh Warwick you won't be able to sleep for the next two nights mate.
Warwick
14 Apr 2007, 00:46
Gosh Warwick you won't be able to sleep for the next two nights mate.
Just ironing my #14 guernsey now.
ZoBlitz
14 Apr 2007, 01:04
I was just looking at his last game and 12 players who played in that match are no longer playing with this club. And another 3 players are unavailable for the match against Sydney.
Hard to believe really... seems like decades ago since I last saw him play.
This is great news - of all the players I'd like to return to the game and succeed, he's definately No. 1. ( Well .. after Brad Boyd .. who he looks like BTW ).
All the best.
...Boyd and Voss in the same team. I have gone all melancholy at the thought of "what could have been"...
Grimreepah
15 Apr 2007, 21:04
First game back in 30 months and they put him on Goodes:p
TheBrownDog
15 Apr 2007, 21:09
First game back in 30 months and they put him on Goodes:p
Still plays with the same courage. Onya Hads!
ZoBlitz
16 Apr 2007, 00:33
He'll be better for the run. His tackling was good today.
Did very well, a real bonus for us, good on you Richard:thumbsu:
I am another of the Hadley-hopefuls having enjoyed watching him play in '04 when he really started to show some promising signs.
After the weekends game (and maybe a couple of slow performances) I hope Leigh sticks with him in the seniors to get his confidence back, and also get him used to the tempo of AFL football.
beatlesmith
21 Apr 2007, 19:48
come home richard!!! we'll gladly take you in:D
The Flying Belgian
21 Apr 2007, 21:30
come home richard!!! we'll gladly take you in:D
After nursing him through 2 knee recos? Good luck! :D
Grimreepah
3 May 2007, 13:37
The game against Carlton was Hadley's first victory for quite some time (953 days to be exact).
Aye, we've been tanking solidly for a while now.
danielcanberra
24 May 2007, 19:33
Hadley's happy return
By Simon White, for lions.com.au, 24 May 2007
News
THERE are times when Richard Hadley looks around the Lions' locker room at the Gabba and wonders quite what happened.
Before his comeback from two knee reconstructions in round three against Sydney, Hadley's most recent game was the 2004 grand final - when he was aged 21.
Among his teammates against Port Adelaide that day were the now departed Mal Michael, Darryl White, Justin Leppitsch, Brad Scott, Jason Akermanis, Craig McRae, Martin Pike, Alastair Lynch, Clark Keating, Michael Voss, Dylan McLaren and Blake Caracella.
Now, preparing to play his seventh game of the year against Collingwood on Saturday, Hadley suddenly finds himself a "middle-aged" player and he admits it's a strange feeling.
"It's definitely a bit different," Hadley said.
"I was used to being the youngest one out there. I was a bit wet behind the ears and I don't think I took it all in.
"It all happened so quickly that I never had time to sit there and think about it all."
Hadley's situation is made slightly more odd by the fact that his absence has allowed younger Lions to pass him in the "games played" stakes. Eight weekends into his seventh season at the Gabba, Hadley has just 33 games to his credit. By comparison, teammates Jed Adock (aged 22) and Justin Sherman (20), have played 40 and 48 games respectively.
The tall midfielder says the game changed for the quicker in his time away, with new kick-in rules providing for much faster end-to-end transition.
"I definitely reckon things have got quicker - particularly with how quick teams are able to take it down the other end of the ground after a kick-in," Hadley said.
"The last three weeks we haven't been at our best with our ball use and that's where you really can get hurt these days, on the turnover. You give it away and next thing you know it's at the other end going through the goals.
"I'm feeling my way back into things. Last week I got a fair few touches and but I'm still struggling a bit with my disposal and my timing around the stoppages.
"I'm getting better every week though I think and I don't think that timing is too far away."
Hadley, like fellow long-term injury victim Nigel Lappin, says a lack of match-conditioning has him pulling up more than would normally be the case after each outing.
That he is getting the opportunity to pull up sore at all is partly down to eight days spent last August with US "knee whisperer" Bill Knowles.
"He (Knowles) had done a lot of work with skiers and snowboarders - those guys do ACLs all the time. And some English sporting teams had sent their players over there," he explained.
"I'd done a year-and-a-half of rehab by that stage and it was great to get some fresh ideas. I had a ball - Bill was the kind of guy whose enthusiasm and energy just rub off on you.
"I ended up doing a lot of different things that probably wouldn't have been part of my program here. It wasn't just about the leg - it was about the rest of the body as well."
http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=43844
(http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=43844)
hotdish
26 Jun 2007, 01:46
Hey Brissie fans,
How is Hadley travelling.
I've seen his stats, but being in the ACT, don't see any Brisbane games.
Is he easily in your 22?
Do you see him getting dropped at all this season?
Is he playing midfield or rotating around a few positions.
Thanks.
danielcanberra
26 Jun 2007, 08:23
Hotdish - do you have a television?
The last few games have been on TEN or Prime.
Grimreepah
17 Aug 2007, 11:04
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22259722-10389,00.html)
Premiership midfielder Richard Hadley and local junior Scott Harding come into the team for Matthew Moody, who was dropped, and Rhan Hooper, who is serving a three-week suspension for high contact on Hawk Rick Ladson last week. Hadley made his return in the round 3 clash with the Swans after two seasons on the sidelines with knee injuries.
He kept his place in the seniors for 11 games until being dropped following the loss to Port Adelaide.
But he has been among the best each week in the reserves and the Lions match committee would no doubt have been influenced by the job he performed against the Swans on dangerman Adam Goodes.
Sydney is one of the more physical sides in the competition and Hadley's bulk and ball-winning ability around stoppages would also have weighed in his favour.
Grimreepah
19 Aug 2007, 22:59
Pretty good come back game from Hadley. Played on O'Keefe (who I rate very highly) and probably won the battle.
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3397/hadleybb7.jpg
konstas_87
20 Aug 2007, 01:09
very happy with Hads game V Swans, will be good to see him get an injury-free preseason under his belt now and have a real crack at 08.
Grimreepah
2 Sep 2007, 01:57
Hadley finishes the season with 2 wins from his 14 games this year. Poor bugger.
Was touted by some as the hard inside midfielder to replace Voss but has played his last couple of games in defence. It will be interesting to see if this is a temporary move or whether that's where the Lions think he is best suited.
notting18
2 Sep 2007, 15:35
Hadley finishes the season with 2 wins from his 14 games this year. Poor bugger.
Was touted by some as the hard inside midfielder to replace Voss but has played his last couple of games in defence. It will be interesting to see if this is a temporary move or whether that's where the Lions think he is best suited.
I would expect that it would all depend on how his speed, endurance, etc come along with a proper preseason.
Grimreepah
9 Oct 2007, 00:32
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22554461-23211,00.html)
By Greg Denham
Carlton has shown an interest in former West Australian Richard Hadley, who is out of contract.
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/7400/hadleygp5.jpg
Link (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/kangaroos-chase-midfielder-selwood/2007/10/08/1191695823242.html)
Carlton and Fremantle are interested in out-of-contract Brisbane midfielder Richard Hadley.
Jeremias
9 Oct 2007, 00:44
Interesting to read that we are interestred in Hadley.
Realistically, what would you want for him?
Grimreepah
9 Oct 2007, 01:21
Interesting to read that we are interestred in Hadley.
Realistically, what would you want for him?
It's hard to put a value on a player who hasn't played much in the last couple of years. Being a good player who has had a terrible run with injuries he has a big upside as well as a big downside. I can't see him commanding a first round pick and I can't see the Lions be interested in trading him for anything less than a 2nd round pick.
Grimreepah
9 Oct 2007, 01:56
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22552991-5003410,00.html)
Lions ready to lose Hadley
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
Andrew Hamilton
October 09, 2007 12:00am
BRISBANE could lose one of its most popular players, Richard Hadley.
Hadley played in a premiership win in his seventh (correction - fourth) senior game in 2003. Hadley is highly regarded by everyone at the club but struggled for opportunities this season after returning from two knee reconstructions.
Although he managed 14 games in 2007, the West Australian was unable to cement a permanent spot in his preferred midfield position and might find more opportunity elsewhere.
It is understood Hadley could be headed for Carlton to join West Coast champion Chris Judd in a new-look Blues engine room.
Both players are managed by Paul Connors, who has an excellent track record in getting players to the clubs they choose.
The Lions would like to keep Hadley but it is believed they will honour his request to be traded if a suitable deal can be done.
Although he has managed only 41 games, Hadley would offer good value to the right club.
At 190cm and 88kg he is a good size for a midfielder, is strong over the ball and is renowned for his ability around the stoppages.
If he goes to Carlton, he could also provide a strong body to assist Judd who receives heavy attention from opposition taggers.
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/379/hadleyjw9.jpg
Weak, Hadley is one of my favourite players :(
Kochie 16
9 Oct 2007, 19:45
And the article is written by no other than Hammo himself.
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 01:34
Link (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/mcmahon-picks-tigers-over-port/2007/10/11/1191696082792.html)
Hadley will be leaving in all likelihood to Carlton for a low-level pick.
Link
(http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22571159-5013406,00.html)
The Blues may today trade in Lions premiership midfielder Richard Hadley.
Tim the Toolman
12 Oct 2007, 12:47
What would be the better midfield to work with: Judd, Stevens, Murphy with Kruezer rucking or Black, Lappin, Adcock with Leuey/Charmo rucking?
Honest question with probably no right answer but who would you go for?
I'd just miss my fav "Richard Hadley coming in from the Vulture Street End" jibes every time he plays at the Gabba! :(
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 15:03
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=52420)
1.50pm Friday
The Blues have added another premiership midfielder. On top of Chris Judd, they just snared Richard Hadley from the Lions. They grabbed him in exchange for pick 52.
Hadley leaves after playing 41 games in 7 seasons. He had 2 knee reconstructions, but played in 2 grand finals and 1 premiership. It seems a shame to be losing him after all the years of perseverance with his injuries. I agree with POBT that the exchange of 52 looks like a means of getting Hadley to the club of his choice.
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=52420)
Hadley leaves after playing 41 games in 7 seasons. He had 2 knee reconstructions, but played in 2 grand finals and 1 premiership. It seems a shame to be losing him after all the years of perseverance with his injuries. I agree with POBT that the exchange of 52 looks like a means of getting Hadley to the club of his choice.
52!! a pick we arent even going to use! Thats a load of crap, sorry but we get shafted again. Effectively we get nothing for him, look at the other crap midfielders who got traded for picks in the 30s. Sick of getting shafted by poor negotiators.
It's Carlton. "Take 52, or we'll pick him up for free in the PSD". Same as every other year.
Edit: and I'm not 100% convinced we won't use the pick yet. See the thread on our main board.
lionbear
12 Oct 2007, 16:22
I am really disappointed about this. Two knee reco's and 1st year back we have put three years into this guy. He played in a Flag in his 5th game and all we get for him is Pick 52 because of this system where Carlton get to gut other clubs because they lose all year.
I do wish Richard Hadley all the best. I know he will be a very successful footballer in the next few years, but it is very upsetting that it wont be in a Lions jumper.
Johnny Utah #9
12 Oct 2007, 16:41
I am really disappointed about this. Two knee reco's and 1st year back we have put three years into this guy. He played in a Flag in his 5th game and all we get for him is Pick 52 because of this system where Carlton get to gut other clubs because they lose all year.
I do wish Richard Hadley all the best. I know he will be a very successful footballer in the next few years, but it is very upsetting that it wont be in a Lions jumper.
Is it possible that he has been released due to salary cap pressure?
Hopefully he can get back to the form he has shown in the past but there is a massive ? next to his name due to the 2 x knee reco's.
Poor trading from Brisbane to let him go for only pick 52 IMO given other trades that went through (eg: McMahon for a top 20 pick!). Although you did well in effectively securing Johnstone for Wood.
TheBrownDog
12 Oct 2007, 16:45
Is it possible that he has been released due to salary cap pressure?
Hopefully he can get back to the form he has shown in the past but there is a massive ? next to his name due to the 2 x knee reco's.
Poor trading from Brisbane to let him go for only pick 52 IMO given other trades that went through (eg: McMahon for a top 20 pick!). Although you did well in effectively securing Johnstone for Wood.
This is my mail. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9169433&postcount=19)
Faz 2000
12 Oct 2007, 16:45
I think the prevailing vibe from Carlton in this is we're happy to take the risk on his fitness because his upside is great, and he cost next-to-nothing.
Not sure of the exact circumstances of him leaving though... was he not getting opportunity in the (clearly) stronger Brisbane midfield? Did Adcock and Sherman and these guys push him out?
TheBrownDog
12 Oct 2007, 16:49
Not sure of the exact circumstances of him leaving though... was he not getting opportunity in the (clearly) stronger Brisbane midfield? Did Adcock and Sherman and these guys push him out?
We experimented with him in various positions throughout the year but he just didn't seem to click the way he did before his knee recos.
Change of environment should be good fir him.
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 17:40
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=52449)
BRISBANE football manager Graeme Allan says the Lions are happy with their in a trade week dealings.
Brisbane’s received Carlton’s fourth-round selection (currently No.52) in exchange for Richard Hadley.
“With Richard Hadley, it was more about giving him an opportunity …We’re very happy to give a quality young man like him an opportunity to play at another good club.”
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=52442)
Lions midfielder Richard Hadley has been traded to the Carlton Football Club for their fourth round selection (pick No. 52 overall).
“We were very disappointed that Richard Hadley asked to be traded and that he wanted to leave this club,” Leigh Matthews said.
“This will be the first summer for three years that Richard is not in injury rehabilitation so we did not want to lose his services. However, he would have gone to Carlton in the Pre-Season Draft so we eventually agreed to trade him for quite a low pick for a player of his talents.”
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/6504/hadleyfa2.jpg
BigCat2
12 Oct 2007, 18:14
Two somewhat conflicting comments.
I expect that Leigh's comment is closer to the truth, while Gubby has tried to put a more positive spin on the trade.
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 18:24
Nothing new, just a different take on things:
Link (http://sportal.com.au/default.aspx/afl-news-display/lions-take-swipe-at-hadley-37176)
Lions take swipe at Hadley
12/10/2007 4:48:03 PM
Paul Gough
Sportal
The 2007 AFL trade week has proven to be a mixed bag for the Brisbane Lions, who are jubilant at their capture of experienced Melbourne midfielder Travis Johnstone but angry over Richard Hadley's decision to move to Carlton.
The Lions traded the 24-year-old to Carlton on Friday in exchange for pick 52 in the November national draft but accepted a low pick rather than risk him losing him for nothing in the December pre-season draft - where the Blues have pick two.
What has made the Lions even angrier is the fact that Hadley is finally fully fit after the Lions stuck with him during 2005 and 2006 when he failed to play a single game, following two successive knee re-constructions.
In fact Hadley, who played in the Lions' 2003 premiership team and also their losing 2004 grand final side, played just 41 games in six seasons with Brisbane.
"We were very disappointed that Richard Hadley asked to be traded and that he wanted to leave this club," Brisbane coach Leigh Matthews said on Friday.
"This will be the first summer for three years that Richard is not in injury rehabilitation so we did not want to lose his services."
"However he would have gone to Carlton in the pre-season draft (for no compensation) so we eventually agreed to trade him for quite a low pick for a player of his talents."
http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/6120/hadleyiq5.jpg
Grimreepah
12 Oct 2007, 19:03
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=52463)
Ratten upbeat about Hadley acquisition
5:36 PM Fri 12 October, 2007
By Jennifer Witham
for carltonfc.com.au
COACH Brett Ratten says the Blues' acquisition of premiership midfielder Richard Hadley will complement Chris Judd’s presence.
The Blues have gone from having zero premiership players on their list to two in the space of as many days, with Hadley and Judd becoming the club's only premiership winners following Anthony Koutoufides' retirement.
Ratten hopes Hadley’s experience will help the Blues’ young list as it attempts to soar back up the ladder.
"[Hadley] is a premiership player and he's at a really good age for us. We think he'll make a really good contribution to our midfield and around the square," he said, on Friday afternoon.
"I think he uses the ball really well and he's one of these players that when you've done a knee, it sometimes takes another 12 months.
"We've seen with David Rodan that it took an extra 12 months, and we think that he can really add to our group.
"When you bring in Judd and Hadley, both premiership players … that's what we're all about, bringing in successful people, and he's one of them. He ticked a lot of boxes for us."
Ratten also said the Blues have confidence in Hadley's body, despite the fact the 24-year-old recommenced his playing career this year after missing both the 2005 and 2006 seasons after back-to-back knee reconstructions.
He also said he expects Hadley to prosper when given opportunities the Lions were unable to provide.
"I think he's keen for opportunity. At the Brisbane Lions, they put the Adcocks and these blokes in front of him, so he found it hard to get a game," he said.
"We think he'll make a valuable contribution to our club, and I think with a person who is a great quality bloke, off the field as well, and we needed a bit more age into our team as well.
"We're the youngest team in the AFL and he just brings a lot of things to our club, so I think it's fantastic."
http://i24.tinypic.com/1zmyss9.jpg
Kochie 16
12 Oct 2007, 19:52
Sad to see him go.
TheBrownDog
12 Oct 2007, 20:13
Sad to see him go.
Not as sad as Jesse Cooper. (http://jesse.healthtrendstoday.com/)
Pedro the Lion
13 Oct 2007, 01:44
Not as sad as Jesse Cooper. (http://jesse.healthtrendstoday.com/)
"Jesse was pretty upset early in the 2004 season when he was told that due to sizing, he could no longer wear his beloved number 14 jumper and was handed number 7."
Jed! Go and explain loyalty to Jesse mate.
Probably works out alright for the kid in the long run. :thumbsu:
blynd_freddie
13 Oct 2007, 02:14
They’re footballers, they are the opposite of supporters. Best of luck Richard with your future at the blue baggers, may it be injury free.
Book closed, go TJ.
Grimreepah
13 Oct 2007, 14:51
It's funny how things can change. In 2004 he was our next big thing. Who would have guessed after that he would only win 2 more games in Lions colours?