View Full Version : Jared Brennan
Lady Lawrence
19 Jan 2007, 14:56
over to you - Cozi
danielcanberra
25 Mar 2007, 13:45
From The Age (http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/03/24/1174597952805.html)
Stepping up
Emma Quayle
March 24, 2007
Who will be next
Somewhere on your club’s list is a player waiting to go to the next level. Here are some likely suspects.
Brisbane Lions: Jared Brennan
People have been waiting, waiting and waiting for the exciting, athletic Brennan to shake his injuries and put things together full-time. He has spent the preseason at centre half-back, looks confident, creative and assured, and still has lots of tricks. Jed Adcock is another to watch.
TheBrownDog
4 Apr 2007, 23:07
Here's an interesting read. Its Colin Wiseby's scouting report on Jared before he was drafted. Some of it is just so accurate its scary.
Jared Brennan (Southern Districts, NT)
191/78 mid-age left-footer (no right).
Style like very raw combination of Darryl White & Koutoufides (with a bit of O'Loughlin for good measure)
The X-factor in this year's draft. Flashy 6'3" daredevil jack-in-the box skeleton who can be quite freakish. A one-man combination of circus and Olympics, of high drama and slapstick, of creative genius and infant, of ballet dancer and yearling colt. He does the things we all enjoy doing at amusement parks - except he doesn't need any equipment like we mortals do. Expect the unexpected and be prepared to be mesmerised and frustrated in equal doses. A different cat.
Picture Darryl White's ungainly "placement" kicking style, freakish jack-in-the-box acrobatics, ball-handling party tricks, left-field creativity, and demeanour. Now picture Kouta's ball-in-hand "pick-up and carry" and explosiveness. Add their "16 strides per kilometre" running style and their aerial climbs and you've got the idea.
My head says his draft worth should be early-mid round 2. A facsimile of the mid-size onballer you miss this year will probably turn up next year but opportunities to snare a cat with the raw development potential of Brennan are rare so my heart has just over-ruled my head and I would use any first round pick after Goddard, Wells, Salopek and McVeigh. Admittedly the $1/4m to invest in a player's first 2 years is not coming out of my pocket. He will get drafted and quite early, perhaps late 1st round, but how early depends on which clubs can hold their nerve. This kid doesn't fit the usual formula. You are not buying a predictable production-line family car which you may need or choose to refine. You are buying what appears to be the parts to a limited edition Ferrari for the same price, and whether it turns out a good investment depends on how good you are at assembling those parts. You are buying opportunity in its rawest, most unpredictable form.
Aside from athleticism, what may excite a coach most is his lightning-quick creative brain. What may scare a coach most is also his quick creative brain. Plays largely on instinct and energy. His brain is always ticking over and usually a step ahead of his peers but he has footy smarts more than footy wisdom. He regularly outfoxes opponents by doing something really clever, often very much left-field (if not "uniquely Brennan"). However he doesn't seem to understand the concept of playing the percentages. Loves a speccie and a dash and when any chance arises, I'm not sure to what extent "game plan" factors into his thinking at that moment. He backs himself, no matter the odds, with no concept of "too hard" or failure.
He could be anything. Except average. Is exceptionally talented and exceptionally raw. Is a risk but has the potential to be a really special AFL match-winner cum cult hero .... or a local legend who tried for a job in the head-office factory but couldn't find a uniform which fitted.
If he becomes an AFL player, he is a chance to feature in the mark of the day, the goal of the day, the play of the day, and the blooper of the day. On the same day.
Only shines in bursts at this stage - tantalises rather than dominates. Invariably threatens to break a game open and regularly creates something out of nothing.
Even in cameo he will show a full range of everything - he can really jump (even standing leap), can kick long, has that Kouta ability to pick-up & carry the ball in one hand, is very quick across ground, has excellent poise (nothing seems to rattle him), step-ahead-of-the-rest brain, lightning reflexes.
He certainly has some major flaws that need to, and probably can, be addressed. The real selling point is that he can do things right now that almost no other player will ever be capable of and his potential for continual development seems immense.
Athleticism, strength, intensity, traffic management, hands:
Amazing leap, even from a standing start, but if he gets a ride on you, you'll find his hip is the natural enemy of your head - no matter how tall you are. Sometimes his big leap is a bit too millionairish though.
Seriously fast and quick off the mark. Finds another gear. Very few current AFL players would beat him for pace or acceleration. Deceptively quick. His long-striding Kouta running style belies how fast he is travelling. Looks to be cruising until you notice the gap behind him is increasing. Loves a dash - is a "catch me if you can" type. Opens up space very quickly.
Can pick the ball up (and I mean "pick" up, a la Kouta) off the ground at pace, without breaking stride, and open up a break (with the ball clasped in hand or tucked under arm).
Excellent (and creative) evasion skills, split second change of direction.
Cat-like agility, reflexes and recovery.
Great stamina - runs and runs. Even as FF he will regularly run to the wing and back.
Soooo skinny. Chicken legs. Almost as skinny as Gilham but a bit better frame (?) and is even quicker and more athletic ... and less orthodox and consistent.
Is desperate (chasing, tackling, 1%'s, attack on ball and man) and can't be physically intimidated. Is a fierce tackler but currently light at 78kg, so opponents aren't always impeded to the extent the ferocity deserves. Picture an electrified rag doll and you'll get the idea of how he throws himself at man or ball and his stability when bumped.
Timely ability to subtly nudge opponent off or under that ball at the last moment.
Runs hard one contest to next. Sometimes a study in perpetual motion. Can feed off in the BP then follow play downfield and bob up 2 or 3 plays later in the FP.
Will run hard 20m to block.
Presents well but also gets his own ball and doesn't give up in traffic.
Excellent traffic management (and not just for his height) - regularly slips into heavy traffic to crisply pluck the ball the others were fumbling over, then quick feed or scoots out again at and opens up a break.
Extremely clean (crisp, quick) hands below the knee.
Can take a vice-grab mark but, at this stage, quite a few of his marks are 2-grab.
Has a habit of coming from nowhere to contest the mark or swoop on the ball or launch at an opponent or charge through traffic or intercept.
Has razor-sharp inventive mind and instincts.
Reads the play well.
Reads the ball exceptionally well. Has an incredible ability, demonstrated regularly, to re-position at the last moment - even while airborne.
Versatility:
6'3" but could play literally any position on the ground if he can significantly add to his 78kg. In the 2002 U18 Championships he had stints as FF, wing, tap ruckman, etc. 2001 as a 16yo he played on Ablett, the current Geelong giant Playfair, and the current Pies tall forward Davidson etc.
Can rove the ball off or from under the pack like a small rover, or be consistently dangerous in contested pack-marking.
He is so quick, his opponent needs to be too if he plays on a flank. If the quick opponent happens to be not so hot overhead, Brennan's aerial ability and height offer his coach the chance to create a mismatch in the goal-square. Similarly if his opponent is a tall intended to counter Brennan in the air or push a weight advantage.
Disposal:
Mixed bag. Hands good, feet need a lot of work - although the news isn't all bad.
He is decidedly one-sided (left) by foot. He can certainly roost the pill and do the freakish lookaway kick or feed or the miraculous snap (or dribble goal).
Is invariably unbalanced when kicking on the run. No matter how much time he has or how little pressure I think he will usually run out and kick across his body (partly a lefties' thing but especially with him), whether the kick is intended to be short or long, and he will invariably be leaning very forward, typically with his head leaning down too far, and off-balance on contact. It means he kicks the ball from very low from the ground so he hasn't got much of an arc to kick through - which must impair depth. The result is usually a mongrel flat floating punt (although he sometimes gets surprising depth). It is not simply a matter of teaching him to steady - his kicking style is not one of good balance. As with Darryl White, it almost looks as if he is trying to kick off his wrong foot or trying to literally place the ball on his boot.
He also regularly does very clever passes and some set kick long bombs and some Daicos-like sneakies. His set kicks, especially shooting for goal, are OK and can get great relaxed depth. His main kicking problem is primarily re "on the run". Unfortunately he typically plays on when he can take a set kick so kicking on the run is a fair % of his disposals, especially considering that, regardless of what role he plays, his disposals are very predominantly kicks rather than feeds.
[ As an aside, nothing to do with drafting, I've noticed that kids from northern Australia invariably have a deft kicking style in the way their foot caresses the ball instead of driving through it. (May be due to the fact that they don't wear normal footy boots on their hard grounds or maybe it's an aboriginal-type style). It does mean that many of their players, Brennan and Darryl White included, have a special "touch of foot" (on dry grounds) conducive to dinky weighted passes and goal-set-ups in lieu of handballs. Brennan is clever at doing these and good at presenting for them then opening up the play. Shame to sacrifice that style for AFL as it's great to watch].
- Good temperament. Pester-tagging (at least at U18 level) doesn't phase him.
If you haven't seen him, some actual examples may help (sample from 7 games):-
1. Magnificent reading of flight: Was in goal-square for marking contest and he could see early in ball's flight it was going to drop short so he re-positioned himself in a flash from being ready to contest mark to being front 'n square like a rover - very quick clever adjustment which you just can't teach. Then roved the spill like a rover.
2. Huge leap from behind to crash through pack marking contest, coming very high from nowhere a long way back at great pace then climbed up through pack & finished up in front of pack. Soooo athletic - was full arms's length higher than next highest player.
3. Was running at pace to bouncing ball with opponent on his jack and as soon as he got the ball he stopped in his tracks and simultaneously dropped flat to the ground like a rock. Opponent ran straight over the top with momentum and Brennan was up and off, leaving opponent non-plussed.
4. Running after the ball with a few others including the quick McLean, he came from behind and got to ball 2m in front, then picked up one-handed a la Kouta, held it in palm then streamed off in a "catch me if you can" Kouta special.
5. Was never going to be in the marking contest - was way too far behind. Charged straight at Crawford's back and never had his eyes on the ball at any stage. His eyes were clearly on Crawford's back and he was going to spoil Crawford by shoving him blatantly in the back. Ummm ... but he didn't. With precision timing, on reaching Crawford as Crawford was about to contest the overhead mark, he stopped forward momentum completely and jumped dead vertically, so high his hip was at Crawford's head and he held a great mark he had no right to even contest. He instinctively took his cue from Crawford's body movement and didn't try to spot the ball until he was in vertical leap.
6. Stole ball from traffic but was about to get nailed immediately so instead of completely taking delivery he deliberately rolled ball along ground in front of him so he could subsequently take it when he had gained a break.
7. The ball was heading for the points but, at pace under pressure, he somehow half-stopped it in its tracks, deftly tapping it along ground to deflect ball from in front of points to in front of the goals, then pinged himself back to it and deftly goaled off the ground while opponent sailed past.
8. Huge one-grab mark coming over the top of huge pack from side, having been the candidate least likely to get it - mainly natural spring as no chance for run-up.
9. Huge overhead mark over the top of Furfaro (Qld) on half-back line. Brennan's backside was higher than Furfaro's head. And it was all natural spring as he came from behind Furfaro but finished in front of him after taking the mark.
Query:
- Kicking on the run definitely needs improvement.
- At this stage his marks are sometimes 1-3 grabs. (Once he stops being sooo skinny this may change as he won't be so buffeted / unbalanced).
- Skinny as, slight frame and hasn't changed shape much since last year. He may bulk up enough in time to play key but even down the side he presents opposition coaches with match-up problems.
- Doesn't take a game by the scruff of the neck and get a lot of ball yet.
- No right foot. Fortunately he has the pace & agility to be able to get onto his left pretty easily so not likely to be big problem but it is still a bit of a shame.
Some stats:
- Played 2 TAC games (invitation) & got 3 Morrish Medal votes for BOG in one.
- Fairly consistent. "Quietest of 6 U18 Championships games 2001-2 was 9 disposals (best 16, 2002 average 13 3 games).
Other stuff:
All Australian (2002 U18 Championships)
And here is the BigFooty thread about his incredible debut against Collingwood in 2003. Some people were saying he's better than Judd. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65300)
Geeez, you have to take your head off to Wiseby. That is a freakishly accurate rundown on the kid.
simon black........freak
6 Apr 2007, 19:26
is Jared Brennan worth getting in dream team and do u think he will continue his form throughout the year?
lion_gooner
6 Apr 2007, 19:30
well its now or never i suppose becuase at the end of next round he is going to go RIGHT up and im still not 100% convinced on him yet either
but i would really like to get on rischitelli should have had him from the start but deciced to go for higgins from the dogs
simon black........freak
6 Apr 2007, 19:34
well its now or never i suppose becuase at the end of next round he is going to go RIGHT up and im still not 100% convinced on him yet either
but i would really like to get on rischitelli should have had him from the start but deciced to go for higgins from the dogs
yer same im not 100% on brennen as well and i got on rischitelli at the start of the year
The Flying Belgian
6 Apr 2007, 20:11
I've got him. He's going to get at least 15 possies a games you'd think, so for the money I reckon he's a safe bet, especially when you comapre him to others at the same price.
LuckyLuke
7 Apr 2007, 10:27
I agree, i thought riska might be a bit overpriced but not if he keeps getting 25+ possessions per game. Plus he can kick goals, might have to get him into the team.
Fortunately i was ballsy enough to pick Brennan. And Blacky, awesome, was my captain last week. Too bad about the 4 frees against.
I was stoked when i saw my score, i came 122nd!!! 3rd for Brissie supporters!! (Sorry, had to gloat a bit!)
I'm actually thinking of having Brennan as Captain next week just so i can cheer extra loud everytime he takes an uncontested mark in the backline! LOL! Actually, i might hold off till we play North or Carlton.:D
Chen - istry
7 Apr 2007, 11:57
Brennan is a must have (246k) ... he's so cheap at the back for the lions ... got 13 uncontested marks on thursday .. an easy 100 point game.
not sure about him being captain tho ...
other (lions) must haves b4 round 3 lockout are
adcock (another 90+ game at 158k)
lappin (196k .. he'll come good)
Colm Begley ... 117k .. value will go up
Im waiting for brown to have a bad game ... mite get him cheap
austinthedog
7 Apr 2007, 13:04
i picked him up for the past 2 years, didnt do to much.
has had a flying start to the year, i am going to trade n.brown (ric) for him, he will be an easy money earner, significant price rise after rnd 3.
loyallion
7 Apr 2007, 13:08
I agree, i thought riska might be a bit overpriced but not if he keeps getting 25+ possessions per game. Plus he can kick goals, might have to get him into the team.
Fortunately i was ballsy enough to pick Brennan. And Blacky, awesome, was my captain last week. Too bad about the 4 frees against.
I was stoked when i saw my score, i came 122nd!!! 3rd for Brissie supporters!! (Sorry, had to gloat a bit!)
I'm actually thinking of having Brennan as Captain next week just so i can cheer extra loud everytime he takes an uncontested mark in the backline! LOL! Actually, i might hold off till we play North or Carlton.:D
Which comp are you talking about Dreamteam? or SuperCoach?
LuckyLuke
7 Apr 2007, 14:28
Which comp are you talking about Dreamteam? or SuperCoach?
Dreamteam
I've got him. He's going to get at least 15 possies a games you'd think, so for the money I reckon he's a safe bet, especially when you comapre him to others at the same price.
probably get two or three less than that i reckon.
danielcanberra
8 Apr 2007, 11:46
http://www.news.com.au/sundaymail/story/0,23739,21515072-5003410,00.html
Rising ace for Lions
Andrew Hamilton
April 07, 2007 12:00am
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
JARED Brennan's one-year-old Leila watched her dad play for the first time in Thursday night's 52-point mauling of St Kilda.
She couldn't get what all the fuss was about – Dad was always a star in her eyes. He's fast becoming one in the eyes of the Lions and many of their fans too after standout defensive performances on Lance Franklin and Justin Koschitzke, two rising names of the game.
It has been said the first couple of minutes of Brennan's highlights reel compares with Chris Judd's – only his ends there while the Eagles skipper's goes on for hours.
Brennan may not add too much more to that reel, and it might just be the making of him as a footballer.
"I like playing in the forward line because you can do some tricks, but in the back line you have to knuckle down," he said.
"You can't take hangers, you can't do the one-handed marks, but I don't mind because it means I get a game every week."
The hangers looked good, but too often they were followed by a poor kick or a lazy chase – and generally after that a spray from coach Leigh Matthews.
Now the one-handed marks have vanished and so has the yelling – the one-time lair has been a revelation in defence, developing into a key cog in a rising Brisbane side. "I haven't got any lately, but yeah in my first couple of years I copped a few sprays," Brennan said.
And they haven't all been from the coach.
Until the recent arrivals of Mitch Clark and Matthew Leuenberger, he was the club's only top-10 draft pick and no Lion has felt the weight of public expectation and copped the brunt of criticism as much.
It used to sting, but he always believed he could play and now with a bit of confidence and fulfilling home life with the arrival of his daughter such comments barely register and he is living up to his undoubted potential.
"I think I've always had it, but I've matured a lot outside of football which has helped me a lot in football, I think they go hand in hand," he said.
"I was a pretty free living guy before but now I have a lot of responsibilities, changing nappies and that sort of stuff it keeps me in check."
His move to defence has given him responsibility on the field for the first time and it has resulted in the sort of sustained form Matthews always hoped he would produce.
Although Brennan admits being accountable doesn't come naturally. "I always have to remind myself," he said.
AdamG03
10 Apr 2007, 02:46
this thread was exactly the reason i came onto the brissy lions board :D good job :thumbsu:
bloody andrew raines jus hasnt performed at all :thumbsd:
note: out of birchall (haw) and gram (haw). are both good to keep? i think gram may go down in price. but may have to stick with him. in case he does prove to be a more consistent choice...
The Flying Belgian
11 Apr 2007, 13:54
http://www.insidefootballonline.com/casanelia_07032007.html
BRENNAN READY TO STAND AND DELIVER
BEN CASANELIA 07/03/07
Jared Brennan, the man once compared to Carlton great Anthony Koutoufides after one game, is confident a full time defensive role will be the key to finally delivering on his undoubted talent.
After producing a best-afield effort to help the Lions sink the Western Bulldogs last Friday night, the 22-year-old has his eyes firmly set on making a mark this season.
“I want to stay in one position,” Brennan said.
“In the past I’ve played ruck, forward pocket, wing, half forward, full forward, centre half forward … I’ve never had a spot to play.
“Each week I’ve been a utility, but I want to have one spot where my name is cemented in.”
Brennan said he hadn’t spoken with Lions coach Leigh Matthews about his role this year, but was letting his play do all the talking.
Brisbane assistant coach Justin Leppitsch was in no doubt as to where the exciting left-footer should play his football.
“He’s best position is down back and he proved that tonight with his carry and ability to take them on in defence,” Leppitsch said.
Leppitsch, the man considered by former teammate Shaun Hart as the player most likely to make it as a senior coach of any Lion he played with, said Brennan’s effort against the Bulldogs was his best in a Brisbane jumper.
It was only his fourth game playing in defence.
“He hasn’t played a lot of four-quarter games to start with (because of injury), but he’s getting to the age where he’s finding the right mix between defence and attack,” Leppitsch said.
The former No. 3 draft pick wasn’t getting carried away with his early-season form, but said he finally felt ready to hold down a permanent place in the side.
“It’s only NAB Cup but it would be nice to play that way in the real season,” Brennan said.
“I did my first full pre-season since I’ve been here and it’s more confidence to know that I can run that extra bit and that extra confidence is something I probably haven’t had in previous years.
“I’m confident because I’ve done all the work.”
While Brennan spent a large portion of the night at full back, he hopes to use his attacking flair from the half-backline during the premiership season.
Whatever his role, he’s confident he can fulfil it.
“I think so, but I’ve only played four games down back,” he said.
“I’m hoping … I don’t want say I’m hoping … if I can keep playing well in defence there’ll be a spot for me.”
Grimreepah
29 Apr 2007, 18:03
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/1223/brennanut6.jpg
TheBrownDog
29 Apr 2007, 19:30
Jared made me say alot of bad words last night.
The Flying Belgian
29 Apr 2007, 20:22
Poor game from Jared. Hope he learns a lot from that. Gotta like how how Matthews leaves him on his opponent though and how he can shut things down after being pantsed. Still needs to be commit himself at the ball when it's called for. That looked quite ordinary.
BigCat2
29 Apr 2007, 21:40
I'm just trying to think the last time Jared has put together several pieces of hard, physical play. I draw a blank.
The fact that his opponent got some uncontested footy was because he wasn't paying attention to his man, but just zoned off. Not a great sin, since there's a difficult balance to strike between defensive and offensive play. Leppitsch was a master at it, and it illuded even Chris Johnson at times. I anticipate Jared to improve in this area with time.
However there was one loose ball on the wing, where Jared really had to commit himself to make a contest. He had ample speed, but simply didn't go hard enough, and the Carlton player swept the ball forward. Now that's nothing to do with zoning off or whatever - that's just not committed. This to me is a far greater worry, and I'm not sure how the coaching staff will be able to drill this into him, if they haven't managed in the previous 4 years.
Jared plays flashy footy (which is fine) but isn't accountable, and just seems to be cruising most of the time. He needs to work harder to become the player we all know he can be.
The Flying Belgian
30 Apr 2007, 08:12
I'm just trying to think the last time Jared has put together several pieces of hard, physical play. I draw a blank.
The fact that his opponent got some uncontested footy was because he wasn't paying attention to his man, but just zoned off. Not a great sin, since there's a difficult balance to strike between defensive and offensive play. Leppitsch was a master at it, and it illuded even Chris Johnson at times. I anticipate Jared to improve in this area with time.
However there was one loose ball on the wing, where Jared really had to commit himself to make a contest. He had ample speed, but simply didn't go hard enough, and the Carlton player swept the ball forward. Now that's nothing to do with zoning off or whatever - that's just not committed. This to me is a far greater worry, and I'm not sure how the coaching staff will be able to drill this into him, if they haven't managed in the previous 4 years.
Jared plays flashy footy (which is fine) but isn't accountable, and just seems to be cruising most of the time. He needs to work harder to become the player we all know he can be.
I remember Shermo shirking it a few times early last year, which was the catalyst for his move to HB. He now takes his punishment when it's his turn. I reckon part of Jared's problems is that he's constantly thinking "how can I turn this play into an attack for us?". You'd like to think that he'll be reminded of team principles this week. Funny thing is he plays better when he gets physical and a bit fired up.
TheBrownDog
11 May 2007, 17:51
He's got a new hairstyle... dreddies.....looks pretty cool.
You'll all see it tomorrow I imagine!
Warwick
11 May 2007, 18:01
He's got a new hairstyle... dreddies.....looks pretty cool.
You'll all see it tomorrow I imagine!
I couldn't care if he wore a basket on his head.
He needs to shut down the opposition's CHF on the weekend, but more importantly, he needs to score 100+ to show the Hack's manager why he was brought over.
TheBrownDog
11 May 2007, 18:02
I couldn't care if he wore a basket on his head.
He needs to shut down the opposition's CHF on the weekend, but more importantly, he needs to score 100+ to show the Hack's manager why he was brought over.
As I was saying to Belgian today, hopefully this new hairstyle allows a little more oxygen into his brain.
Jared Brennan is starting to move towards an Aaron Fiora draft pick rather than a Buddy Franklin pick.
Soft as melted butter
Quigley
11 May 2007, 20:51
Don't worry guys I have sold Jarred out of my Dreamteam. I bought him after round 2 and obviously put the moz on him. Look for him to bounce back this week.
On the softness issue I think he needs to be given a little time to given a little time to get some confidence in his body back again. Remember the terrible run with injury he has had ever since he came into the AFL. It is only natural for him to be a little gun shy until he is confident that he can go a whole season without injury. What you don't want though is for the aversion to body contact to become a permanent feature in his game.
BigCat2
11 May 2007, 20:58
Many other guys with really bad injuries don't shirk the tough stuff. The problem with JBiz is that he's never been that hard at the ball.
I'm starting to believe more that Jared is a freaky genius - not just in his skills and athleticism, but also his thinking, ie nobody knows what he'll do next, although the man himself does.
I've seen other people (outside of football) that think laterally, and they'll use unorthodox methods to get the job done. If you tried to teach them to do things the 'normal' way it frustrates the hell out of them, and they struggle to understand it anyway. These folks thrive if they're allowed free reign over what they do and how they learn.
Not sure there's a place for that under Leigh's coaching. Everybody has to be accountable, and hard at the footy, and of course always do the team thing. I just hope that Jared can use his own way to come up with a method that'll allow him to do these things, then we'll really see his brilliance rise to the top. Even then, he'd still be prone to the occasional apparent brain explosion.
Quigley
11 May 2007, 21:08
BC Leigh managed to win a few premierships with a couple of unorthodox type players in Acker and White and managed to make the most of their talents. With both though he still required them to have some discipline in their play and I think that is what Leigh might be trying to get through to Jarred at the moment. Not necessarily trying to stifle his offensive game but making sure he knows what is expected at the defensive end.
I still think Jarred is best suited as a half forward and he might well end up playing there in the long run if we get another half back coming through. I still remember Ackers season in the backline and for me that year was the making of him. After that year he was a much more disciplined player who knew when and how to do the little things on the defensive end that were required. I am hoping the same thing happens with Jarred after his experience down back this year even if it is not a permanent move.
BigCat2
11 May 2007, 21:17
I hope you're right Quigs.
It seems playing in the backline has made Jared more (well, comparatively) accountable and aware of what may happen if he doesn't do his bit. We've already seen that this can go out the window after a couple of good performances - I shudder to think how quickly he'll forget if he played forward.
At the moment we have an abundance of key forwards and a shortage of key defenders. When fit, we've got Brown, Bradshaw and Clark up forward. Charmo may also pinch hit forward. Patfull has looked far better this year playing forward. Even Matt Tyler, who was recruited as a defender, has looked good as a forward.
Down back, we have 1 gorilla in Merrett, then a mobile key defender in Roe. If Garner was fit he may get a gig, but having played zero AFL games in his 3 years on our list, it's doubtful he'll get a shot next year - possibly rookie listed. Mills can't get a game at the moment.
Then there's Tippett and Clouston who are athletic talls and could be anything.
I think it'll probably work out the best for us if Jared can hold down a defensive spot. However, I still think we're 1 big key defender short in our premiership jigsaw pieces. If the opposition plays 3 big forwards (eg St Kilda with G Train, Nick and Kozi), or if Merrett goes down, our defense can fall apart very quickly. Hopefully Mills and Tyler can step up down back.
Quigley
11 May 2007, 21:33
I agree that when fit we seem to be stacked at forward and we are short of a KPB. I agree that I think Garner is probably headed to the rookie list next year. I for one think Mills with a little more bulk and some work on his kicking will end up playing CHB for us for quite a few years to come. Another option which could happen in a couple of years is that we could end up with Schmidt playing CHB the way Cornes or Bolton plays the position. That is provided he gets that 5cm or so late height burst that his brothers had.
Speaking of premiership teams remember that Leigh loves to have a tall utility player floating around on the wing that he can throw forward or back as needed. White and Pyke both played this role and if Jarred can at least show he can do a job if needed then I think he might get a look at that role. The one for me who seems to be being groomed for that role at the moment is Patfull and he seems to be doing it well. He is showing nice form up forward but played down back a fair bit last year and did very nicely down there last week when required.
Jarred has been given an opportunity this year and he started fantastically but has faded recently. There is still a 3/4 of the season to go and this season is going to make or break him. We will know after this year if he is going to be a part of our next premiership team. It won't necessarily be at CHB but he has to stand up to be counted.
BigCat2
11 May 2007, 21:41
Jarred has been given an opportunity this year and he started fantastically but has faded recently. There is still a 3/4 of the season to go and this season is going to make or break him. We will know after this year if he is going to be a part of our next premiership team. It won't necessarily be at CHB but he has to stand up to be counted.
Very true. To be honest, I can't see Jared emulating Leppitsch - styles are too different. To hold down CHB you need to have a really effective defensive side too, which Jared hasn't shown. He could be, like you said, a White or Pike who plays as tall utility.
If Mills develops as hoped, then he can play CHB. Huge motor to chase the opposition all over the park, and disciplined enough to play a negating role. His offensive side at the moment is a bit of an unknown, but it's not like we're lacking drive from the back with Roe, Brennan, Stiller, Lappin and Notting.
Good point on Schmidt - I had forgotten the attention on his brothers' height when we first recruited him. He only just turned 18 in March, so he may yet grow. I would imagine that clubs would've taken X rays of the growth plates in some of his long bones to see how much more he'll grow.
I also wonder whether the game is moving more towards having some athletic talls in the centre or on the wing to complement your in & under players. Adam Goodes is the prototype. If this becomes a trend, then athletic guys in the 190-193cm range no longer have to be consigned to be undersized key position players. It'll also make it easier for clubs to keep more players of this type on their list, knowing that they can do a variety of roles.
Quigley
11 May 2007, 21:50
Interesting to mention Roe. He has been trying to run more from defence and has been very reminicent of Lepper. I reckon Coach Lepper has been in his ear and it might be because their next CHB might not be the runner that his predecessor was.
Grimreepah
11 May 2007, 22:14
If we were to judge him on results, instead of how he looks, how would people rate him? Unlike previous years he is now playing on the gun players, and I would say he has only been beaten by O'Loughlin in the final quarter and Whitnall in the first half. Against Kosi, Pavlich and Franklin he has had held his own. I agree with the criticisms of Warwick and Raav, but the results have been pretty good, so maybe we don't give him enough credit in other areas.
At the same time, I don't think opposition clubs have exploited his weaknesses as well as they could have, which is isolating him one on one in the goal square. Only Sydney have done that, and that's when he starts to look vulnerable.
http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/9172/brennangn3.jpg
Quigley
11 May 2007, 22:28
Good point Grim although he was comprehensively beaten last week for me. I really rated his first couple of games when he was racking up possessions from half back. His confidence was high and he got right on top of Franklin which is something no-one else has really done so far this year. After teams started to shut down that room for him and he had to be more accountable his possessions have dried up and so has his confidence. His lose style was acceptable when he was running off and requiring his man to go with him but when he presents no danger he has been getting worked and has been lucky not to get pumped for a lot of goals over the last few weeks. Pav and Tarrant got 6 between them last week basically all when they were swapping at HF. Brennan and Roe were very lose and were lucky to not give up more.
konstas_87
14 May 2007, 13:37
If we were to judge him on results, instead of how he looks, how would people rate him? Unlike previous years he is now playing on the gun players, and I would say he has only been beaten by O'Loughlin in the final quarter and Whitnall in the first half. Against Kosi, Pavlich and Franklin he has had held his own. I agree with the criticisms of Warwick and Raav, but the results have been pretty good, so maybe we don't give him enough credit in other areas.
At the same time, I don't think opposition clubs have exploited his weaknesses as well as they could have, which is isolating him one on one in the goal square. Only Sydney have done that, and that's when he starts to look vulnerable.
i think our midfield pressure has just been much improved this year. whenever it has been 50-50 coming in he's been beaten.
He seems very lazy. Both times we have played Carlton Whitnall dominated him. Led him to the ball all night. How can a player with no pace beat someone so athletic. Lazy and not thinking.
BigCat2
31 May 2007, 00:20
Where to for Jared now?
We've had him up forward, and defense. Now, perhaps a run in the middle?
Our team is progressing nicely on the rebuilding path, and I think at this stage experimentation will be good. Let's see if we can't use his clean hands, speed, height and athleticism to clear the footy. A Goodes/Kouta role is not beyond him if he puts his mind to it.
charles202
6 Jun 2007, 17:11
At almost the halfway mark of the year and this being a contract year for Brennan. Two questions for fellow members:-
1. Do people thig that he has he done enough to be offered a new contract (at this stage)?
2. If he were to be offered up as trade bait at the end of the year what do people think that other teams would be willing to offer for him?
Worth offering as trade bait ...early 2nd round pick would be on offer I would think. I really don't think sides will give away a first rounder anymore for anyone less than a Judd.
Kochie 16
6 Jun 2007, 17:14
At almost the halfway mark of the year and this being a contract year for Brennan. Two questions for fellow members:-
1. Do people thig that he has he done enough to be offered a new contract (at this stage)?
2. If he were to be offered up as trade bait at the end of the year what do people think that other teams would be willing to offer for him?
1.) No! Not consistant enough.
2.) Buggers me:confused:
notting18
6 Jun 2007, 17:17
1) He deserves a base payments type contract (around 200k) - as much as i don't like him i do not want us to get nothing for him
2) Definitely, i would have traded him last year - i would think we could get a 2nd Rounder or equivalent player for him
konstas_87
10 Jun 2007, 12:20
ohh jared....
ive come to despise this man getting a spot every week, but again (about once every 6 weeks) he had a pretty fair game last night.
the question is can we afford to have a player in the side that performs once a month at best.
Grimreepah
10 Jun 2007, 12:50
I still prefer him at CHB. IMO he is our best option in that position, and that is the best spot to improve his weaknesses - playing the percentages and hardness.
BigCat2
15 Jun 2007, 01:04
I've had a long thought about Jared, and my conclusion was that he was born either several years too early, or several years too late.
Jared is that enigmatic player who, apart from outstanding athletic attributes, does the unexpected. He thinks in different ways to almost every other AFL player, and plays accordingly. Thus, he tries the freaky stuff which are spectacular when they come off, but look very ugly indeed when they don't.
His game style has always been the same. The way he played last week was not much different to the way he played his stunning debut back in 2003, apart from the fact that he's got a lot more muscle now.
Our thinking is that we hope to increase his consistency, so his bad isn't nearly as his current bad. If you take out the bad moments and keep the good moments, you've got a hell of a player - or so we reason.
To do this, we have tried to teach him discipline. We've given him specific tasks. This year, we have tried to play him as a key defender, whereby Jared can learn that mistakes cost the team. Tried to teach him accountability.
That, so far to me, has not worked to any great extent. Earlier this year he played his best in defense, but not as a dour defender - that's not Jared. He looked most composed and interested when he was given licence to run free, using his good understanding to read plays, cut across passes and coming into contests from the side with his athleticism. He was able to put his attacking flair to good use, and not only spoiled numerous contests, but also provided good drive out of our back half.
Ok, so where am I going with all this? I come back to my opening statement about him being born either too early or too late.
Why? I think Jared, in the foreseeable future at least, will continue to play football in his own way, that's just the way he is. He is not a round ball that will go neatly through a round hole. He's that triangle that we try hard to unsuccessfully fit into a round or square hole.
So how to best use him? Just the way he goes about it. Let's encourage him to play his own game, and back his own style, because he looks his best when he does it. That sort of style won't help provide accountability, but does provide the X factor - in truckloads.
Had he been born several years later and ended up at the Lions, he'd be coming into his prime just as our rebuilding has been completed and we're in contention. He can prove to be a gamebreaker in a side that is already full of established players and plenty of accountable footballers.
Alternatively, had he been born several years earlier, he would have coincided with our great run in the early 2000s, and provided even more freakish brilliance in an already stellar team.
Our coach, Leigh, of course, may have a different view on this. As is already plenty clear from his own playing days and our triple premiership team, he values toughness at the contests and playing with discipline, skill and run. Jared's natural way to football doesn't fit into his philosophy at all. I'm not sure if Leigh will ever make an exception for Jared, but the reward could be great. On the other hand, he may be unwilling to do this because he knows that the team is built on everyone playing with responsibility, and that he cannot ask something of any player unless he asks of it from everyone. Tough decision either way - that's if Leigh is able to see outside his own way of thinking.
I think Jared is a one-of-a-kind player, and I really wish for him to do well, since he is so exciting to watch. Voss during commentary in last week's game mentioned that possibly Jared was playing for his future at the Lions this year, and that may well be the case, after already 4 full years on the list.
How that pans out I think will largely depend on the coach and other staff at Lions' attitude towards Jared. We know he has oodles of talent, and the question is more how to utilise it. I'm afriad that if we decide to choose the inflexible option, Jared will not be able to thrive, and ultimately the Brisbane Lions will be poorer for it.
Now I'm not ruling out Jared becoming an accountable type of player in the future by any means - Darryl White was also quite disciplined late in his career, but still did the occasional brilliant thing. This may turn out to be the case, if Jared, under the right conditions, manages to put it all together.
If he parts company with Brisbane at the end of the year, I have little doubt he'll be snapped up by another club, and who knows what a different environment may do for him. Many will claim that Jared has finally "come of age" or "found the balance" but in truth, it's more likely that the different approach has allowed him to blossom in a way that wasn't possible before, rather than some magic pre-requisite time for him to learn his craft.
I really look forward to the day Jared becomes that exciting player that pulls supporters through the gates, the kind of reason that makes people want to watch the Game. I just hope he's in a Brisbane Lions jumper when that time comes.
Drummond
15 Jun 2007, 01:16
I really look forward to the day Jared becomes that exciting player that pulls supporters through the gates, the kind of reason that makes people want to watch the Game. I just hope he's in a Brisbane Lions jumper when that time comes.
Pipedream. He turns 23 shortly and he’s still the enigmatic player he was in his first season. He’s never going to break out of the slack and seemingly careless nature he displays out on the football field. Players like that don’t suddenly change overnight; what you’ve got now is what you’ll have for his entire career. Capable of brilliance one minute, worthy of being dragged the next.
BigCat2
15 Jun 2007, 03:08
Pipedream. He turns 23 shortly and he’s still the enigmatic player he was in his first season. He’s never going to break out of the slack and seemingly careless nature he displays out on the football field. Players like that don’t suddenly change overnight; what you’ve got now is what you’ll have for his entire career. Capable of brilliance one minute, worthy of being dragged the next.
Did you read the rest of the post?
notting18
27 Jun 2007, 20:01
50 games for Jared this week if he plays - http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/06/27/1963861.htm?site=queensland
Too bad only 15 odd games have been good, but maybe he will turn it around soon.
Grimreepah
27 Jun 2007, 20:37
http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/7933/brennanwp3.jpg
50 games in at 22 years of age he should be starting to hit his peak form. When he first started he was so skinny, and he's done well to bulk up to 95kgs. But so far it has been a waste because he just doesn't utilise it. He will always be a little bit unorthodox, but if he can start imposing a bit physicality on the match I think that will be the making of him. Now that Voss and co have gone, we need others to look after the younger players. Jared, it's time to put your hand up. You are not to fear - you are to be feared.
TheBrownDog
27 Jun 2007, 22:02
Expect a negative article by Hammo tomorrow, he apparently asked some harsh questions to Jared in the press conference today.
blynd_freddie
27 Jun 2007, 22:46
Expect a negative article by Hammo tomorrow, he apparently asked some harsh questions to Jared in the press conference today.
Actually it could be a positive story TBD.
I think many of us have questioned his application and lack of consistency. I hope Jared is able to reply with the answers we all wish to hear, acknowledgement of his current scenario and where he believes he can improve prior to the end of this season.
danielcanberra
28 Jun 2007, 18:58
http://i16.tinypic.com/4tiz3vb.jpg
Brennan passes first hurdle
11:29 PM Thu 28 June, 2007
for lions.com.au
News
Speaking on the eve of his 50th AFL match this weekend against Port Adelaide, Lions forward-come-defender Jared Brennan feels as though his football apprenticeship has come to an end.
“You learn so much in your first 50 games,” Brennan said. “The next 50 will be when I find out where I’m at.
“It’s 50 more AFL games than I probably thought I was going to play five or six years ago so in that regard I am pretty happy.
”Now in his fifth season at the Lions, the 22 year-old believes that while his initial football education may be over, the time is now to further establish himself as a student of the game.
“I’m 22 now and most players generally hit their straps at around 24,” he said. “The first 50 games are basically like primary school. So hopefully now I can step up to high school and pass.”
After being drafted with selection No.3 in the 2002 National Draft, Brennan burst onto the AFL scene with a scintillating debut match against Collingwood the following year. However, he managed to play only a further 20 games in his next three seasons at the top level.
“It probably took a lot longer than I thought (to reach the milestone) because of injuries and form,” he said.
He enjoyed his most consistent season in 2006 playing 17 games and will have played 12 of a possible 13 matches this year after the Lions tackle Port Adelaide at the Gabba.Brennan’s role has also changed significantly this season with Senior Coach Leigh Matthews looking to transform the exciting forward into a reliable key position defender.
Brennan is enjoying the challenge of being an integral part of the Lions’ new-look defence but is still learning plenty along the way.
“Down the back line you can’t be too flashy and that is something that I constantly have to remind myself and constantly have to work on,” he said. “It’s now my job to shut down my man and not let him kick goals.
“I still think I’m growing into my body. I’m much fitter now and definitely a lot stronger than I was two or three years ago. I still think that if I’m going to play at centre half-back, I’m always going to play on a Warren Tredrea, Scott Lucas and those types of players who are pretty strong. They’re up there in high 90 kilos and I’m still only 93 so I’ve got a couple of kilos to catch them boys.”
http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=46150
BigCat2
28 Jun 2007, 19:45
From the interview, it sounds like he's much more practical now compared to his early days.
Good luck JBizzy, hope it's a good one for you. May there be many more to come as a Lion. :thumbsu:
Grimreepah
29 Jun 2007, 20:38
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Tough-love-before-Brennans-50th/2007/06/29/1182624162180.html)
Tough love before Brennan's 50th
June 29, 2007 - 7:25PM
Tough love was dished out to Jared Brennan as the mercurial Brisbane Lions defender prepared for his first major AFL milestone.
Brennan, 22, has admitted to being hurt by media criticism of his hot and cold form approaching his 50th game for Brisbane against Port Adelaide at the Gabba on Saturday night.
"It is very hard not to take it on board because I'm human," Brennan told reporters.
But it seems he won't be using Lions coach Leigh Matthews as a shoulder to cry on.
When told that Brennan had admitted to being affected by critics, Matthews said: "If you get hurt by criticism you are kidding yourself really.
"Who cares? You will get applauded or criticised by what you do."
Matthews was just as candid when asked about Brennan's AFL progress to date.
Since his selection at No.3 in the 2002 national draft, the flashy Brennan has promised plenty but only shown sparks of brilliance - much to Matthews' frustration.
Inconsistency ensured plenty of flak.
"You'd hope his next 50 is better than his first 50," Matthews said of the Northern Territory product.
"Logic tells you it can be and should be. It's up to him to make sure it is."
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/2317/brennanvq7.jpg
Gotta tell ya, i'm loving Leigh's quotes in that article Grim...
If you get hurt by criticism you are kidding yourself really.
Who cares? You will get applauded or criticised by what you do.
You'd hope his next 50 is better than his first 50
Logic tells you it can be and should be. It's up to him to make sure it is.
Sounds like a challenge from the coach to stand up when it counts...lets just hope he can.
Grimreepah
30 Jun 2007, 11:24
Gotta tell ya, i'm loving Leigh's quotes in that article Grim...
Yep, me too. As a shy teenager I can see it might be in the best interests to protect him, but at this stage of his career it is time for some home truths. He's got to harden up mentally as well as physically.
TheBrownDog
30 Jun 2007, 11:51
Yep, me too. As a shy teenager I can see it might be in the best interests to protect him, but at this stage of his career it is time for some home truths. He's got to harden up mentally as well as physically.
Yup, Leigh would have been advised by Phil Jauncey on what psychological approach to take.
I missed large chunks of the game cause i was playing guitar hero with a few mates when we were supposed to be watching the game. How was brennan's form tonight?
Grimreepah
30 Jun 2007, 22:50
I missed large chunks of the game cause i was playing guitar hero with a few mates when we were supposed to be watching the game. How was brennan's form tonight?
Very good and shithouse.
Dr Pea P.I
30 Jun 2007, 23:03
From what i could make out of the radio broadcast: shithouse down back - very good up forward. It does sound like he is begining to use the defensive skills he picked up down back up forward now. Those two tackles (saw on bigpond) were great. One alarming incident was that he stopped chasing the ball when he was poked in the face (he ended up with the free but he was in no position to tell if the ump picked it up or not). He should have chased still as it was in the goal square.
Very good and shithouse.
lol.
don vito of fitzroy
1 Jul 2007, 19:51
Brennan was alright in defence but once he moved forward, he gave the team some real spark. Maybe, he should just play one half in defence and in the second half, he should move forward.
Alright in defence? C'mon now - I'm a believer in Jared, but even I would call his work in defense 'atrocious'. :p
Both he and Patfull are tall utilities. At the moment, I'd have Brennan play forward and Patfull play defence to start the match, but if things don't work out, they can switch over.
The Flying Belgian
2 Jul 2007, 08:20
Alright in defence? C'mon now - I'm a believer in Jared, but even I would call his work in defense 'atrocious'. :p
Both he and Patfull are tall utilities. At the moment, I'd have Brennan play forward and Patfull play defence to start the match, but if things don't work out, they can switch over.
The start of the season, including the NAB cup seem a distant memory to most it seems. He was OK in defence early on - when we were playing better and the ball wasn't coming down like artilliery fire. Not many defenders in the game will win against their opponent when the ball comes down quickly. Forwards always have the element of surprise and initiative when making leads. I'd contend that Jared could still be a very effective defender, but only in a team that functioning better (i.e. not at the moment), esepcially in the forward line.
Kochie 16
2 Jul 2007, 10:49
He wasn't too bad on saturday. On the other hand he wasn't shocking either. Consistantcy (or however u spell it) Boy!
Spot on Belgian. He looked good especially in round 2 vs St Kilda, but that was a game where our forward and midfield pressure was fantastic. We really limited their entry into attacking 50, and kept them to 50 points I think for the match.
I noticed that Jared playing on Kozi was still wearing as tightly as he could've, giving Kozi 2 uncontested mark & goal in the game, but as you say, our pressure up the ground helped.
Big Red also limited to G Train to 1 behind, and while he was very good defensively, the poor supply also helped him.
danielcanberra
2 Jul 2007, 18:40
A MINUTE WITH JARED BRENNAN
From The Pulse, Herald Sun - Monday 2 July 2007, page 42 (not online - thank me for typing this out)
What would your parents say annoyed them most about you as a kid?
They'd say I was very clumsy and that's why they called me Frank Spencer.
Whose poster was on your bedroom wall?
Michael Jordan and Alfie Langer. These days it's a picture of my daughter.
Do you have an eye for art?
Only music art. I played drums at high school and taught myself guitar over the last three or four years. I'm not in a band, but reckon I'm all right.
Do you talk politics?
No, never. Out of my depth.
If you weren't a footballer, what would you be doing?
That's a tough question. Maybe I'd be playing rugby league. I used to go all right at it.
Where would you take your wife for a romantic night out?
I'm not much of a romantic. Actually, I'm terrible at romance. Perhaps a barbecue at home.
When it comes to food, what's your weakness?
Seafood. I always eat way too much seafood.
Do you read banners before you run through them?
No, never.
Which teammate has the worst dress sense?
Mitchell Clark. He's from WA. Do I need to say anymore?
Where would you take your wife for a romantic night out?
I'm not much of a romantic. Actually, I'm terrible at romance. Perhaps a barbecue at home.
:D:thumbsu:
don vito of fitzroy
2 Jul 2007, 21:55
Alright in defence? C'mon now - I'm a believer in Jared, but even I would call his work in defense 'atrocious'. :pDefensively he was poor but I should have stated that he was still racking possession in defence.
Which teammate has the worst dress sense?
Mitchell Clark. He's from WA. Do I need to say anymore?
Gotta pay that.:p
Grimreepah
8 Jul 2007, 15:18
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/5495/brennango4.jpg
Brennan caught everything in sight tonight. Ended up with 4 goals but could have had more because he missed a few easy shots at goal. One thing I notice is that he seems to be having a little difficulty adapting to the hands in the back rule.
Kochie 16
8 Jul 2007, 16:08
What a ripper he had last night! Keep it up!
don vito of fitzroy
8 Jul 2007, 16:23
http://i15.tinypic.com/4tu7k43.jpg
Brennan caught everything in sight tonight. Ended up with 4 goals but could have had more because he missed a few easy shots at goal. One thing I notice is that he seems to be having a little difficulty adapting to the hands in the back rule.That pic looks sensational!
lionsrock9
8 Jul 2007, 16:53
He's dreads look awesome should grow it longer.
LuckyLuke
8 Jul 2007, 22:57
http://i15.tinypic.com/4tu7k43.jpg
He caught it with his wrists! Now that's skill!
Looks like Leighs perserverance with Jared is starting to pay off. Lets hope he can reach his full potential. He was great on Sat night.
He caught it with his wrists! Now that's skill!
Never underestimate Jared's ability to do the difficult things with unusual parts of his anatomy. Have you ever seen his knee/shin drop punt that goes 80m? :p
danielcanberra
25 Jul 2007, 22:03
Brennan nominated for AFL Army Award
3:46 PM Tue 24 July, 2007
for lions.com.au
News
JARED Brennan has been nominated for the AFL Army Award for his outstanding perseverance against Carlton on Sunday.
Brennan showed great determination when he ran hard for over 50 metres to apply a desperate lunging tackle on Simon Wiggins.
Lions fans can watch Brennan’s fantastic chase and vote for him at www.afl.com.au/armydefence/home.aspx (http://www.afl.com.au/armydefence/home.aspx).
New to the 2007 season, the Army Award aims to recognise and reward the ‘one-percenters’ such as game-breaking smothers, tackles and shepherds.
At the end of the home and away season, the AFL All-Australian Selection Committee will shortlist the 22 weekly winning acts to six nominations which will then be voted on by the public via afl.com.au (http://afl.com.au/).
The All-Australian selection committee will then endorse the winner.
In 2007, the AFL Army Award winner will receive a $10,000 Army Experience. The award will be officially presented at the 2007 Coca-Cola All Australian presentation dinner.
Dr Pea P.I
29 Jul 2007, 07:35
Well done son!!! Thanks for being so giving on your birthday. 7 goals, two great contested marks and one beautiful snap from boundary line. Can't wait to see what else you are going to do in the future. Is there a more naturally talented footballer/mover in the AFL?
BigCat2
29 Jul 2007, 11:04
That's one prayer answered. Thank you!!!
Grimreepah
29 Jul 2007, 13:33
http://i13.tinypic.com/67pna0k.jpg
The question mark for me was never how good he was, but whether he could sustain it for a long period. I'm more happy that he's strung together a good month of footy, than tonight's game. But you know you're doing something right if you get 12 shots on goal.:D Only thing that let him down was his conversion.
Grimreepah
29 Jul 2007, 15:29
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/many-happy-returns-for-brennan/2007/07/28/1185339331972.html)
Many happy returns for Brennan
Jake Niall | July 29, 2007
YOU might remember his first game, which also was against Collingwood. He scooped up the ball and waved it around in one hand, as if it was a baseball housed in a glove.
It was one of those rare, scintillating debuts that prompts big statements. The one-handed control of the football and freaky athleticism led many observers to compare him to a young Anthony Koutoufides. Leigh Matthews deemed him the most capable first-year player he'd coached.
But Jared Brennan wasn't Kouta. He didn't concentrate that well, and seemed to get lost. He was a gifted flake, and while he was 192 centimetres and quick, it wasn't clear that he could settle into a position, or that he even had one. He wasn't quite a flanker, nor was he robust enough to play key positions.
Matthews tried him in defence, where he would lose the plot, and his opponent. He sent him forward, but again, Brennan seemed clueless. For all that rubbery athleticism, he didn't appear to possess the game's most important attributes: a football brain, and indomitable will.
And, having been so exciting at the outset, he would be judged — harshly — against that precocious promise. Before long, he was spoken of as an expensive bust, the Lions having burnt pick three in the 2002 draft to secure him.
He was compensation for losing Des Headland, and, if Fremantle has ever questioned the wisdom of acquiring delicate Des, Brennan might have given the Dockers reason to be relieved.
Whatever becomes of Jared Brennan, he should not forget the evening of his 23rd birthday, when he booted five of his seven goals in a half and the Lions gave Collingwood a more severe beating than the 2003 grand final. It was the best of Brennan's 54 mostly underwhelming AFL games.
He was matched, initially, to the boy from Brazil, Harry O'Brien, who would probably match Brennan for speed and spring, but was comprehensively out-positioned in the first quarter, when Brennan banged through three goals and the Lions exploded from the blocks to a 38-point lead.
At half-time, Brennan had five goals. Jonathan Brown, supposedly the sole obstacle to a Collingwood victory, had only two of the Lions' 16 goals at three-quarter time. It was Brennan's third goal that signified that he was "on" and that his evening would showcase more thrills than spills or brain fades. The ball was bombed in long to the edge of the goal square, where four or five players converged. Coming from third in line, Brennan took a soaring pack mark, and converted.
Eventually, O'Brien was relieved by Tyson Goldsack, another athletic young defender, again Brennan had him covered, wrong-footing him and reading the ball better in flight.
Mind you, the speed and efficiency of Brisbane's ball movement and its utter domination of the midfield was such that any defender would have been challenged to contain Brennan and Brown. It was Simon Black, Jed Adcock and company, not big Browny, that minced the Pies.
Brennan had shown glimpses before last night, having booted four when shifted forward against West Coast, in what was hitherto, the Lions' best victory and his most impressive performance of 2007.
A chuffed Matthews said last night he wished he had sent Brennan forward earlier in the season.
Last night, Brennan and Brisbane bettered the West Coast game on both counts.
It wasn't so much all his birthdays coming at once, as him finally having a day worth celebrating, and it just happened to be his birthday.
http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/4687/brennanjg6.jpg
Grimreepah
29 Jul 2007, 17:56
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=48202)
Birthday Boy Brennan fires
3:35 PM Sun 29 July, 2007
By Ben Broad
for lions.com.au
MERCURIAL Brisbane Lions forward Jared Brennan thrilled fans and family members when he spearheaded his team’s 93-point win over Collingwood at the MCG on Saturday night.
On his 23rd birthday, Brennan turned it on at the home of footy: He took 10 marks and booted 7.5, including five first-half goals to set up the Lions’ win as he proved a nightmare match-up for the Magpies' defence.
Speaking after the game, Brennan said he had learned from his own stint in the back half earlier this season.
“I’ve played defence most of this year and I’ve played on some unbelievable forwards. You just learn so much from them,” Brennan said.
“The Tarrants, the Pavlichs, I played a bit on Buddy Franklin who moves around a bit, Koschitzke, so all of those players … you just try to take a bit from each one of them and use it when you play forward, which I’ve been doing a bit lately.”
Brennan said he was forced to rein in his natural attacking style when in defence, but the move closer to goal released the shackles.
“You can be more creative down in the forward line I think, whereas down back you’ve got to be more straight up and down,” he said.
“I suppose if you try to be creative [in defence] and it doesn’t turn out, you’re going to be dragged. Whereas, in the forward line, if you try and be creative and it doesn’t turn out, you’ve always got the [another chance].”
Brisbane dominated against Collingwood from go to whoa, with Brennan instrumental in establishing a nine-goal lead at the long break.
The man recruited from Southern Districts in the Northern Territory said the rare opportunity to play at the MCG – and have family and friends in audience – had brought out the best in him.
“This is my second time I’ve played on the 'G … it’s just unbelievable to play at the 'G,” he said.
“There’s no better place, I think, for football.”
Brennan said the Lions had not discussed the prospect of playing finals football in 2007 despite Saturday’s 22.17 (149) to 7.14 (56) win putting them right back in the picture for a top-eight position.
“We’re just thinking about the first 10 minutes of our game with the Kangaroos next week,” he said.
http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/121/brennanan8.jpg
Grimreepah
30 Jul 2007, 10:57
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22153140-5003410,00.html)
Brennan wants consistency
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
Marco Monteverde
July 30, 2007 12:00am
ENIGMATIC Lions utility Jared Brennan kicked seven goals against Collingwood at the MCG on Saturday night. Marco Monteverde talks him.
What is your response to critics who describe you as inconsistent and a player who can be brilliant one week and ordinary the next? "I'm not too sure. I'm trying to get consistency in my training. If I can get consistency in my training then I'll get consistency in my footy. It's something that I've really worked hard on, getting consistency in training. I've had a good training block now for a couple of months and hopefully I can just keep building on that."
Do you feel the pressure of needing to perform to secure your long-term future at the club?
"Not really. I've played down back for a lot of my career and when you play down back you can't be creative. All you've got to do is just stop your opponent. I learnt so much playing down back. It's invaluable experience playing at the back on great players. That's pretty much what I build my game on now in taking one-on-one opponents. It's most definitely helped me up in the forward line. When we played against Fremantle earlier this season, I played on Chris Tarrant and Matthew Pavlich and I learnt so much from that game. It's about always being in a contest, always running, always making sure your work ethic and defensive pressure are on. Playing down back has just helped me enormously."
With an undoubted talent such as Mitch Clark currently in the reserves, do you feel you need to produce more match-winning performances to hold on to your senior spot?
"I'm not sure if you get pressure from the Suncoast Lions players. For me, I think it's more the pressure that I've got to play consistently. I'm 23 now so I've got to start to buckle up and really get consistent with my training. If I can get a good training base it will hopefully flow on to the games. Mitch is an unbelievable player. If we can get Mitch , myself and Jonathan Brown up there, that's three marking targets that are pretty hard to handle."
What's it like playing alongside Jonathan Brown in the forward line?
"It's pretty good. He's such a great director. He tells you where to go and what to do. When Brownie tells you something, you don't really think twice."
Do you want to stay in the forward line for the rest of your career?
" I'd rather be up forward than play in the ruck, that's for sure."
What your performance on Saturday night the best of your Lions' career?
"It's up there and it's one that I'll remember. Playing at the MCG was just an incredible experience for me. I'm not sure what it is about the place, the stadium is just unbelievable. You really want to play good football here because this is the place to play. There were a lot of the boys who had never played at the MCG before. We've only got one or two games so to be playing at the home of football, I think is invaluable experience.
"We're just happy with the win. When you've got some great midfielders like Simon Black, Nigel Lappin and Luke Power running through the middle, your eyes just light up because if you can get a metre on your opponent, it's going to be there on a plate for you."
Have you ever kicked seven goals before in a game of football at any level?
"No, but I scored seven tries in a game of rugby league for a club back home in Darwin."
Can the Lions defy their tough run home to qualify for this season's finals?
"If we play the football we played against the Magpies, we should be all right but we've just got to worry about the first quarter against the Kangaroos at the Gabba this weekend because they're a good team and they gave us a touch up at Carrara earlier on in the year. Anything could happen."
You are off contract at the end of the year. Do you hope to re-sign with the Lions and go on to spend your entire AFL career with Brisbane?
"I love Brisbane as a place. I've got my family in Brisbane now. I'd love to stay in Brisbane."
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5337/brennantw2.jpg
JUNGLE warfare . . . Lion Jared Brennan lays down the law to Collingwood's Harry O'Brien at the MCG.
Grimreepah
30 Jul 2007, 11:09
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/1835/brennanbc7.jpg
Q. Who kicked 7 goals in round 17 at the MCG?
A. Collingwood... oh and Brennan did too.
TheBrownDog
30 Jul 2007, 11:31
http://i12.tinypic.com/662ccht.jpg
Nice. :D
http://i12.tinypic.com/662ccht.jpg
Dude u gotta post that in Bay 13. It's too just funny to stay here.
notting18
30 Jul 2007, 14:27
This reminds me of a thread that existed after the geelong game.....so good to be on the other side of the coin!
Grimreepah
1 Aug 2007, 00:36
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22167613-5003410,00.html)
Brennan comes of age
By Paul Malone
August 01, 2007 12:00am
MAYBE it's the glove. After all, anyone a generation or two older than Jared Brennan associates the wearing of one glove with Michael Jackson.
Perhaps it's the way the latest Brisbane Lions "thriller" is inclined to hold the ball in one hand, as if playing a backyard game rather than in the multimillion-dollar AFL competition.
Regardless, Brennan's seven-goal, coming-of-age night for the Lions against Collingwood last Saturday seems to have polarised opinion.
On one side are those who think it is about time a one-time national No. 3 draft pick produced. On the other are those who reckon this will be the start of something big.
The sides would have been picked in the same way a month ago, when Brennan was viewed by many as a player who might bring the club something in trade week.
Then came coach Leigh Matthews's decision to move him into Brisbane's forward 50m, from his previous roles as an also-ran centre half-back or wingman.
Brennan's four goals in the ambush of premier West Coast were the bellwether of a season that has again started to excite ahead of Saturday night's Gabba clash with the Kangaroos.
Last Saturday night the questions started coming about how he would feel about a new contract with Brisbane. As a Northern Territory product, there's no AFL club for Brennan to go home to.
Brennan's big night out was AFL's equivalent to Andrew Symonds's blazing innings in the past two Melbourne Tests when only his hardiest supporters believed he would produce the sort of Test performances his fleeting examples of breathtaking skill had indicated were possible.
On television's most exemplary sports show, Fox Sports's On the Couch, panellist Robert Walls grumbled his way over vision of one of Brennan's one-handed carries and his one-handed mark against Collingwood.
"He has let himself down. His coach wouldn't have liked it," said Walls, a stalwart Carlton player in the 1970s and former coach of Carlton and the Brisbane Bears.
"He's played one decent game in five years . . . he's averaged 11 games a season and seriously underperformed for five years."
Walls comes from one of the generations to which Flash Harry types are accepted in big-time sport only if their performances make their grandstanding a part of a mostly good package.
Young players were best regarded if they were heard only when spoken to. Young players like that are thinner on the ground these days – some dress to impress, wear hair to attract attention and fire off the wisecracks that older players sometimes wish they had said.
Talented players who appear to play with plenty of time often look lazy when they make an error after backing their skill to extract them from a hole.
Brennan's loping stride can be interpreted as complacency, but appearances can be deceptive.
Brennan wears a glove on his right hand. Like West Coast's Quentin Lynch, he has a habit of pausing to take it off when he has a set shot.
It looks a bit flamboyant when they miss.
But kids who like sport seem to be drawn to the flamboyant types. They rally to Jason Akermanis, Wendell Sailor and Anthony Mundine, much as their exuberance can annoy older watchers.
The Lions, having lost their greatest player, Michael Voss, and the greatest talking point, Akermanis, badly need a young man like Brennan to excel and excite emotions. I really like the direct way young Jed Adcock runs and plays and, as he prepares for his 50th game on Saturday night against the Kangaroos, he has become a leader on and off the field among the young band.
The way Josh Drummond measures off his left-footed passes, it's a surer thing than waiting to collect on an odds-on favourite at the races.
But I'm yet to hear anyone not vitally interested in AFL make casual conversation about either Adcock or Drummond.
"There are still eight or nine players in the Brisbane side who, if they walked down (Melbourne's) Bourke St, no one would know them," Walls said on Monday night.
But Brennan, who seems not to have much to say for himself in public, already stands out from the crowd.
And he doesn't even need his glove to do it.
http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/1613/brennanis8.jpg
Grimreepah
4 Aug 2007, 10:31
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22182895-5003410,00.html)
Brennan not a watcher
Andrew Hamilton
August 04, 2007 12:00am
JARED Brennan knocked back an invitation to watch the Lions win their third consecutive premiership in 2003 at the MCG because he didn't want to go to a grand final until he was playing in one.
Brennan, who appears so lackadaisical and has been accused of having a carefree approach to his football - had a driving personal ambition to be grand final contributor, not a spectator. 2003 was his first year at the Lions and now he is in his fifth year, and after playing just his second game at the 'G' last week, his stance is softening.
"That was my thinking at the time, I really wanted my first grand final experience to be as a player," he said.
"But now I'm making plans to go this year, I've heard so much about it from the boys and I really want to experience the atmosphere."
His initial determination to work for something rather than accept it on a platter is just another example of what Lions captain Jonathan Brown revealed in his Courier-Mail column on Friday.
Brown claimed the public perception of Brennan as a brash show pony couldn't be further from the truth.
Brennan is in fact shy and one of the most polite league footballers you could meet.
Last night Brown expanded on his views Brennan is mis-interpreted, saying his forward line partner should not be judged by the amount of goals he kicks.
Brown believes we are witnessing the 'coming of age' of Brennan as a footballer, and says his main value is the team related things he contributes.
Big hauls of goals, like the seven he booted against Collingwood last week, are a bonus.
Brown says he doesn't expect Brennan will begin to receive extra attention from opponents, starting tonight against the Kangaroos, because of his big night out last weekend.
He says opposition match committees would always have focussed on him because on any given day he could be the match winner.
"I really don't think so, oppositions would have always planned for him because he has such natural talent and, although consistency has been his problem, they couldn't afford to ignore him," Brown said.
"His potential to cause damage has always been there."
In the past month the Lions have shared the goal kicking duties, Brown booted six against Melbourne and slammed 10 through against Carlton while Brennan haunted the Pies last week.
While Brennan's heroics at the MCG last week earned rave reviews, brown says his one goal game against Carlton was equally valuable to the cause.
"A player like Jared shouldn't be judged by how many goals he kicks," he said.
"People said he had a poor game against Carlton, but the defensive pressure he put on their defenders created a lot of opportunities for us.
"It was a great game within our structure and Leigh acknowledged that after the game.
"Last week earned him attention from outside the group."
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/931/brennanrh5.jpg
danielcanberra
4 Aug 2007, 12:18
Quite a good one from Hammo. Shy and polite, and certainly misunderstood by too many supporters.
Great interview by Browny talking about Jared too.
Grimreepah
21 Aug 2007, 16:12
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=49477)
Brennan in line for Army Award
3:30 PM Tue 21 August, 2007
for lions.com.au
Jared Brennan as been nominated for the Round 20 AFL Army Award for his brilliant diving smother on Sydney’s Ed Barlow at the Gabba on Saturday night.
This is Brennan’s second nomination for the 2007 AFL Army Award for the season.
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/2633/brennanua7.jpg
Something I've been mulling over.
I think there's been a change in what is considered valuable in footy today.
Traditionally blokes who play like Jared were sneeringly referred to as 'lairs' if they got the ball, ran and took blokes on. If you mostly got away with it -- like Bartlett -- you were grudgingly respected, but generally it was considered a little anti-team and even anti-aussie. It was always considered better to do the team thing and just get it, kick it or get it forward -- rather than lairizing and risk getting done like a dinner.
However these days turnovers hurt you badly, so just roosting it long isn't anywhere near as useful as it used to be.
But equally, holding the ball up, fiddling around with it and giving the opposition time to flood back, set up and clog your forward line is often just as bad .
In the washup, in 2007 the classic lair -- like Brennan or Dale Thomas for that matter -- who takes on a couple of would-be tacklers, beats them and then has the space to deliver more precisely (risking capture and public ridicule in the process), is arguably more courageous and team-oriented than the 'percentages guy' who always gives off the first handball or runs backwards waiting for a perfect option.
Agree 100% xplo. Along the same lines (and this is not a comment about Brennan) - guys who run forward of the pack used to be derided as seagulls, soft etc. Now there are players who are actively encouraged to do that.
TheBrownDog
22 Aug 2007, 11:04
Something I've been mulling over.
I think there's been a change in what is considered valuable in footy today.
Traditionally blokes who play like Jared were sneeringly referred to as 'lairs' if they got the ball, ran and took blokes on. If you mostly got away with it -- like Bartlett -- you were grudgingly respected, but generally it was considered a little anti-team and even anti-aussie. It was always considered better to do the team thing and just get it, kick it or get it forward -- rather than lairizing and risk getting done like a dinner.
However these days turnovers hurt you badly, so just roosting it long isn't anywhere near as useful as it used to be.
But equally, holding the ball up, fiddling around with it and giving the opposition time to flood back, set up and clog your forward line is often just as bad .
In the washup, in 2007 the classic lair -- like Brennan or Dale Thomas for that matter -- who takes on a couple of would-be tacklers, beats them and then has the space to deliver more precisely (risking capture and public ridicule in the process), is arguably more courageous and team-oriented than the 'percentages guy' who always gives off the first handball or runs backwards waiting for a perfect option.
I've actually had similar thoughts xplo. When it works, its an easy philosophy to subscribe to.
However, when it goes pear shaped and Jared unsuccessfully dodges the second tackle and kicks the ball out on the full under pressure, you can find your perceptions change pretty quickly. ;)
It's certainly more 'personally risky' -- you wear the dunce hat alone and get hooted by the crowd for 20 minutes if it does go pear-shaped. Brennan has done that enough times.
But ultimately it may be more risky to the fate of the team to not have enough players that play that way. It just that the team dies a slow, choking death that it's harder to pin on any one player.
who was selected ahead and closely behind brennan?
TheBrownDog
22 Aug 2007, 22:05
1. Brendan Goddard (St Kilda)
2. Daniel Wells (Kangaroos)
3. Jared Brennan (Brisbane)
4. Tim Walsh (Bulldogs)
5. Jarrad McVeigh (Sydney)
6. Steven Salopek (Port)
7. Andrew Mackie (Geelong)
8. Luke Brennan (Hawthorn)
9. Hamish McIntosh (Kangaroos)
10. Jason Laycock (Essendon)
19. Troy Selwood (Brisbane)
30. Daniel Merrett (Brisbane)
44. Anthony Corrie (Brisbane)
Not a strong year. McIntosh looks the pick of those. Most are showing a bit but it's taken a while. Walsh has been smashed by injury.
Grimreepah
24 Sep 2007, 23:24
Brennan finishes as the third highest Brownlow vote getter for Brisbane (9 votes). Not that he is the 3rd best player, it's just that's the type of player he is. Incidentally he has not received any Brownlow votes prior to this year.