roostersgal4eva
20 Jan 2007, 22:43
http://lions.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/person/133751aj.jpg
Guernsey Number: 29
Date of Birth: 13 March 1984
Height 192cm
Weight: 84kg
Recruited From: North Adelaide (SA)
Previous Clubs: Nightcliff, Cairns City, Collingwood, North Adelaide.
Draft Details: 2005 Rookie Draft - No. 6
AFL Debut: Rd 6, 2006 v Sydney, the Gabba
AFL Finals: 0
For years, the surname Jarman was the source of frustration for followers of Brisbane football.
Both Andrew and Darren Jarman were drafted by the then-Bears in the 1989 National Draft but opted not to make the trek north. Andrew eventually became an Adelaide Crow, playing 110 games between 1991 and 1995, while Darren started out with Hawthorn, winning a premiership in 1991, before moving to the Crows at the end of 1995 and playing in Adelaide's 1997 and 1998 flags.
Now, in the shape of exciting elevated rookie Jason Roe, Lions fans finally have reason to be thankful to a Jarman - in this case Andrew. For it was to North Adelaide, where Andrew coaches in the SANFL, that Roe moved for the 2004 season, in what he describes as one of the best moves of his footballing career.
The Northern Territory product was just coming off a year on Collingwood's rookie list and readily admits he was at football's crossroads.
"When I was in Melbourne, I was a bit young and immature and didn't know much about preparation and sacrifices," Roe explained.
"But I was fortunate enough to get a call from Andrew Jarman who said 'we want you in Adelaide.' I went there and it was the best choice that I've made in the last few years. He (Jarman) has probably been the biggest influence on me in the last two or three years of my footy career. "He really turned things around for me, because I was in no man's land when I first went down there."
If Roe's career took a slightly meandering route before he arrived in Brisbane - featuring stop-offs in his native Darwin, Cairns, Melbourne and Adelaide - then it has moved ahead at breakneck speed since he became a Lion via last December's rookie draft.
Collarbone surgery delayed his start to season 2006 but it took only three impressive reserves outings with the Suncoast Lions for the coaching staff to elevate him to the senior list in place of the injured Chris Scott. Three days later, Roe found himself standing Sydney's monster full-forward and co-skipper Barry Hall in a Round 6 debut at the Gabba.
"I was heaps nervous on Friday at training but I wasn't that nervous on the weekend. I got out, had a warm-up and soaked up the atmosphere - so I wasn’t too bad," Roe said of the lead-up to his first AFL game. "We spoke about (Hall) during the week, the coaches and I. At some stage I knew I'd end up on him but I just had to stick to my guns and try not to get body on body with him. Obviously he's a big man.
Despite conceding an imposing 18kg to his foe, Roe performed superbly. Only one of Hall's three goals came against his far less experienced marker and, had the Lions being able to celebrate Chris Johnson's 250th game with a win, Roe says it would have been the dream debut.
"I've spoken to a lot of people over the last two years and picked up small things off them - now I'm trying to put it all together. That may take a few years but I enjoy speaking to people and learning things.
"I sat down at the start of the year and wrote a few goals down. To stay injury free - that was probably the biggest one - and play good footy in the reserves and hopefully get elevated. Those goals are reached now so I guess I'll re-assess it after I play a few more games.
"I don't want to be one game and out the door - I want to stick around and try and be consistent."
Interesting Fact = Jason is Anthony Corrie's cousin
Just saw this link (http://www.injuryupdate.com.au/afl.php) on the main board which mentions Roe has a knee injury.
...is this accurate? is this new to others aswell? or am I just way out of the loop?
Just saw this link (http://www.injuryupdate.com.au/afl.php) on the main board which mentions Roe has a knee injury.
...is this accurate? is this new to others aswell? or am I just way out of the loop?
I can't ever remember that site being accurate. It talks about Tim Notting - Wizard Cup finals Rnd 1
Grimreepah
25 Mar 2007, 20:09
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/8323/roewx9.jpg
I think they are referring to his knee injury from last year and it just hasn't been updated yet.
Cheers for that...all good then!:thumbsu:
roostersgal4eva
4 Apr 2007, 08:59
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21501072-23211,00.html
Lions in a spin over Roe fitness
DOUBTS over the fitness of defender Jason Roe have thrown the Brisbane Lions' match committee into chaos on the eve of tomorrow's Easter blockbuster at the Gabba.
Roe must pass a fitness test on an injured hamstring at training today to be considered for the clash against St Kilda.
Nigel Lappin and Robert Copeland, who suffered corked thighs in the round one victory over the Hawks, will also be tested but the chances of both playing have improved with each day.
Some weeks in football, the sides and the match-ups pick themselves, but this clash is definitely not one of them. The Lions need to know if star Saints forward Nick Riewoldt and ever-reliable defender Max Hudghton will make their first appearances for the year.
If Roe misses and Riewoldt plays, the Lions will struggle to contain a Saints forward line that also includes Fraser Gehrig and Justin Koschitzke.
Daniel Merrett is the strongest of the Lions defenders and is already locked in for the job on man-mountain Gehrig.
At the other end of the ground the Saints are in as much trouble, with key defender Matt Maguire out for up to six weeks.
Maguire was the logical match-up for Lions gun Jonathan Brown, but has developed stress fractures in the leg he broke last season.
Brown was double-teamed against the Hawks, but St Kilda will struggle to copy that tactic with Maguire out and their other main tall defender Hudghton in doubt.
Brisbane will prepare on the assumption Riewoldt and Hudghton will both play, but the absence of either would be a huge boost.
If Roe misses out, Matthew Tyler would come under consideration for his debut as the third defensive tall.
Tyler could even get a gig as an extra marking forward after the Lions struggled to take marks inside the forward 50 against Hawthorn.
Tyler played forward throughout the NAB Cup but was used in defence for the Suncoast Lions on Saturday.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews insists the forward line plan used against the Hawks would still work, provided there wasn't an over-reliance on Brown.
fingers crossed hes ok
TheBrownDog
4 Apr 2007, 09:04
What did you think of his hair the other night (or lack there of) RoostersGal?
I reckon it makes him look like an 'ard bastard.
Hope he sticks with it.
Grimreepah
4 Apr 2007, 09:42
What did you think of his hair the other night (or lack there of)
I thought his previous haircut was a bit poxy, so it was an improvement.
Anyway, I have been very impressed with Roe during the preseason and round 1. No 2nd year blues for him. They said he had put on 5 kilos during the summer and he looks in terrific shape. Even if Riewoldt doesn't play I think he would still be a big loss because he's been in such good form.
Grimreepah
27 Jul 2007, 02:21
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22137803-10389,00.html)
Roe eyes happy 'homecoming'
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
Marco Monteverde
July 27, 2007 12:00am
THERE are few bigger occasions in Australian rules for an emerging talent than playing Collingwood at the MCG.
And when the Magpies are your former club, the experience goes from being grand to colossal. Brisbane Lions defender Jason Roe has had July 28 marked in his 2007 diary since the release of the season's fixture list.
Not that he holds a grudge against his former team, with the 23-year-old Darwin product admitting he failed to do himself justice during his one season at Collingwood in 2003.
"I was less committed, I was injured and basically things didn't work out for me there," Roe said.
"It was all me, not the Collingwood footy club. But having been on their rookie list you always want to prove a point when given the opportunity to play against your old side.
"And for a young guy like myself, there is no better opportunity to play than in front of a packed house against Collingwood at the MCG. It's going to be awesome."
It's a chance that might not have come after Roe was dropped – not for the first time this season – by Lions coach Leigh Matthews after Brisbane's 50-point loss to Geelong at Skilled Stadium on June 17.
At another crossroad in his young career, Roe was asked to again prove himself in the AFLQ for the Suncoast Lions.
" I was just making the wrong decisions out on the field," he admitted.
"All the coaching staff wanted me to work on that, knuckle down on my decision making, when to go and when not to go.
"That's improved now. I'm back in the team and I'm making all the right decisions at the moment."
Roe's latest return to the seniors has co-incided with Brisbane's run of three straight wins that has given the club an outside chance of making the top eight for the first time since 2004.
To make it four on the trot tomorrow night, the Lions will have to reverse the result of last season's corresponding fixture at the MCG, where the Magpies prevailed by 26 points.
Despite the defeat, Roe felt "lucky" to have played in that round 10 game, having feared he blew his opportunity to play in the AFL after his bad year at the Magpies.
However, two seasons in the SANFL for North Adelaide under former Lions nemesis Andrew Jarman put Roe back on the right path.
"Andrew really turned things around for me, because I was in no man's land when I first went down there," he said.
The Lions eventually recognised Roe's undoubted talent and placed him on their 2006 rookie list.
He was soon elevated to Brisbane's senior list in place of the injured Chris Scott and made his AFL debut on none other than Swans star Barry Hall in the Lions' round 6 clash against Sydney last season.
"I was lucky enough to play most of the games last year," said the modest Roe, who wore the Lions jumper 15 times in 2006.
Establishing himself as an AFL player has convinced Roe he made the right decision when he chose Australian football over rugby league as a 17-year-old in the Northern Territory.
A talented fullback in the 13-a-side code, he was urged by his parents to pick one sport over the other to maximise his chances of playing either game at the highest level.
"I played both games basically all my life, then I had to decide whether I wanted to play Aussie rules or rugby league," Roe said.
"I guess in the end I thought there were better opportunities in Aussie rules and I always wanted to play AFL footy as a young fellow growing up."
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/5411/roego4.jpg
lionbear
30 Jul 2007, 12:32
Was it just me or has Jason Row filled out a little the last month or two. Watching him live on Saturday night it was the first time I looked at him and thought he has the body size to go man on man with some key position forwards. Was the best game I watched him play as well and the goal he kicked was a excellent running goal.
notting18
30 Jul 2007, 14:29
Was it just me or has Jason Row filled out a little the last month or two. Watching him live on Saturday night it was the first time I looked at him and thought he has the body size to go man on man with some key position forwards. Was the best game I watched him play as well and the goal he kicked was a excellent running goal.
His decision making was what hurt him early this year and he seems to have turned a corner in that respect. When Drummond (one of our best players this year) went down i was quite worried, but Roe deifnitely stood up, especially after Drummond proved he was just too injured to play on (Maxwell's two goals at the start of the 4th).
Grimreepah
31 Jul 2007, 15:33
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=48343)
BRISBANE Lion Jason Roe has received an unexpected plaudit for his goal-saving spoil against the Magpies on Saturday.
Along with Carlton’s Brendan Fevola and Jason Saddington, the Lions’ defender has been nominated as one of three round-17 contenders for the 2007 AFL Army Award.
No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination. Well done to Roe though.
http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/3497/roesg0.jpg
notting18
31 Jul 2007, 15:37
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=48343)
No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination. Well done to Roe though.
It was a brillant spoil.....he just came from nowhere (and i actually thought that he would get a nomination for it when i saw it live - thanks to hoops i know it exists lol). Charman's chase down was exceptional though - so quick for a big man and such determination:)
TheBrownDog
31 Jul 2007, 15:40
No disrespect to Roe, but I thought Charman's multiple tackles on Didak was a stand out for an Army nomination.
Fancy a superstar small forward getting tackled twice on the run in the space of 10 seconds by a ruckman.
:o
Back on topic though, fancy letting such a talented player as Roe go from your rookie list.
Grimreepah
31 Jul 2007, 15:42
Back on topic though, fancy letting such a talented player as Roe go from your rookie list.
In fairness to Collingwood, Roe was overlooked completely in 3 drafts.
Grimreepah
20 Aug 2007, 17:22
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=49422)
Roe faces ban
4:52 PM Mon 20 August, 2007
for lions.com.au
Vodafone Brisbane Lions defender Jason Roe has been charged by the Match Review Panel with making forceful contact from front-on to Sydney’s Luke Brennan during the first quarter of Saturday night’s match at the Gabba.
The incident was assessed as negligent conduct (one point), medium impact (two points) and high contact (two points). This is a total of five activation points, resulting in a classification of a Level Two offence, drawing 250 demerit points and a two-match sanction. He has no applicable good or bad record. An early plea reduces the sanction by 25 per cent to 187.50 points and a one-match sanction.
The Lions will tonight consider whether to challenge the suspension or accept a one-match sanction and 87.5 points towards his future record with an early plea.
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/5425/roeme6.jpg
Grimreepah
21 Aug 2007, 10:53
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=49422)
Lions accept Roe ban
9:52 AM Tue 21 August, 2007
for lions.com.au
The Vodafone Brisbane Lions have accepted the one match suspension handed down to defender Jason Roe by the AFL Match Review Panel last night.
Roe was charged with making forceful contact from front-on to Sydney’s Luke Brennan during the first quarter of the Round 20 match between the Brisbane Lions and the Sydney Swans at the Gabba on Saturday 18 August 2007.
The incident was assessed as negligent conduct (one point), medium impact (two points) and high contact (two points). This is a total of five activation points, resulting in a classification of a Level Two offence, drawing 250 demerit points and a two-match sanction with no applicable good or bad record.
The Lions early guilty plea reduced the sanction by 25 per cent to 187.5 points and a one-match sanction.
Roe will now miss the Lions’ Round 21 match against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night.
http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/5190/roenj7.jpg
konstas_87
21 Aug 2007, 11:52
i disagree with roe getting suspended but he never would have got off so i agree with taking the 1 week.
Lace Out
21 Aug 2007, 12:02
1 week is a good result,considering they thought Johnson's was 6 times worse.
Grimreepah
26 Aug 2007, 02:23
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22307078%255E19746,00.html)
Bell tolls on big hits
26 August 2007 Sunday Herald Sun
Nathan Buckley
The Roe example has brought into focus the difficulty in balancing a fierce attack on the ball, which has always been a fundamental aspect of our game, with the demands on players safety.
A footballer with his head over the ball has always been sacrosanct and any contact above the shoulders has always been closely monitored by the umpires and tribunal. And rightly so.
It takes courage to keep your eye on the ball in these circumstances and the player or players attacking the ball should always be rewarded.
Not to mention the attempt to prevent serious neck and spinal injuries -- the primary reason for the new laws.
In an attempt to stamp out head-high contact the AFL is using the tribunal as a big stick to bring about a change in players on-field actions.
It has proven to be a difficult task as there are more incidental head clashes than anyone would have cared to imagine - and the players are becoming unsure of what is and not acceptable in this new age of duty of care.
I would have thought the contest between Roe and Brennan was about as pure a clash as you could see, the ball was the sole intent and that is all I needed to see.
To penalise players with the pure intent of winning the ball is not in the spirit of our game.
In this instance the duty of care was placed firmly in Roe's lap. Apparently it was his responsibility to realise he was going to be beaten to the ball, concede the contest and move out of the way because any contact from his position was going to be reportable.
Keep in mind Brennan would have been the perpetrator had Roe got to the ball first.
The dangerous precedent being set is that the player with his head over the ball is being encouraged to lead with his head more than at any other point in the game.
We used to see players - and this is how I was coached - turn their bodies to protect themselves from on-coming traffic.
"Don't put your head where your a--- can fit" was a catchcry I remember. Now it's more like: "Stay down and run out of the contest with your head down, you'll get a free."
Ironically, it was Roe who turned his body to protect himself at the last moment and he was penalised for what has been coached in to him since he was a kid.
I completely agree with what Buckley has said here, in particular the bit in bold. Everyone agrees with the idea of protecting the head and neck, but you are going to do more harm than good if you punish people for protecting themselves. The current interpretation of the rule actually encourages you to go in head first which is counterproductive to the intention of the rule, as it increases the chances of a serious injury.
Grimreepah
1 Nov 2007, 11:39
End of Season Player Review
Jason Roe started the year on the senior list for the first time and played mainly as a third defender. Although he played in defence last year, this year he played more as an attacking defender, and it was a bit of an education for him learning when and when not to leave his man. His form throughout the year was not spectacular, but it was fairly solid and he was probably a little unlucky to get dropped for a couple of games in the middle of the year.
Roe came to the club with a reputation as someone who has attitudinal problems, but every indication is that he has turned that around. On the field he is very business like – he doesn’t complain to umpires, he doesn’t engage in niggle, he just gets on with the job. In fact, similar to Mark Waugh, he is so phlegmatic that he sometimes even looks a bit lackadaisical.
In terms of Roe’s weaknesses sometimes his footy instincts let him down, and can result in the occasional brain fade. However it is probably all part of his adjustment to the speed of the game, and it looks to be something that has improved. Roe is also not a very good handballer, who for some reason tends to dish off to people’s feet. And late in the year when he took over the kick ins he had difficulty finding easy targets, often resorting to bombing it long.
But while he has his faults, and probably still needs to add bulk, he seems like a player with a big upside. With his athleticism and skills he looks like the modern day prototype as a tall attacking defender.
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/471/roeyl6.jpg
Grimreepah
9 Nov 2007, 00:01
Found an old article (http://www.vibe.com.au/vibe/corporate/celebrity_vibe/showceleb.asp?id=276):
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/5120/roeus8.jpg
Jason Rowe
Jason Roe is a very excited young man these days. He has signed a one-year contract with his favourite footy team. “I always wanted to play with Collingwood,” he said. “As a kid I barracked for the Western Bulldogs until Mark West retired and ever since then I supported the Magpies.”
Hailing from Darwin, Jason played his junior footy for the Nightcliff Tigers in Darwin, making his first-grade debut at the tender age of 15 before joining the Cairns City Cobras for the 2001-2002 season. A man on the move, both on and off the field, he returned to Darwin to play out the 2002 season with the Tigers and make the grand final.
After joining the rookie draft and completing the draft camp in Canberra, no less than six clubs showed interest in the 18-year-old. Consequently, he nominated himself for the 2002 AFL draft and got lucky. “I was selected by Collingwood at number 18 and couldn’t believe it,” he said. “I was over the moon - I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.”
Playing various positions, including centre half-back, centre half-forward and ruck rover, he has no doubt about the strength of his game. “I have a big kick, a strong overhead mark and can use both sides of my body,” he says.
Simply known as ‘Roey’, he won’t forget the first day he walked into training. “It was excellent. It was something else. I was so excited at the time”, he says. “All my favourite players were there and I was sort of freaked out. I suppose I was a little bit in awe of them.”
And how will the Pies go this year? “I really think we can go one better this year and win the flag. We have the players and we know what it takes to win a premiership”, Jason says.
As for his own expectations, he says: “I will start the season playing for the Williamstown Seagulls, which is the feeder club for Collingwood. If I can produce some good form with them, I am hoping to play a few games in the top grade towards the second half of the year.”
(Story 1/4/2003 end)
Sounds like he was a troubled young man:p
danielcanberra
9 Nov 2007, 13:40
Roey is deadly eh!
Grimreepah
13 Dec 2007, 15:31
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/580/hanleyoo7.jpg
Roe and Hanley jostle for position.
It looks more like "Nipple cripple!"
SuperHooper
15 Mar 2008, 14:06
What injury does he have?
lookagoose
16 Mar 2008, 02:15
Still a few weeks away. Common knowledge is there will be no rushing anyone back until necessary. Especially with Quads!!! How long? Quads are the hardest to judge, especially if it is the kicking leg.
chopperduck
21 Mar 2008, 10:16
was watching a few games from last season recently, how quickly you forget things. Roe is such a back up spoil defender. i forgot how much he reads the play, leaves his man to go help another play. he isn't the biggest boy around, but man, do we need him at chb.
if only patful was bout 3-4 cms taller ;)
Gabbatoir
20 Apr 2008, 13:39
Whose spot does he take when fit?
TheBrownDog
20 Apr 2008, 14:12
Whose spot does he take when fit?
Preferably Centre half back... allowing Patfull to play as the third tall.
Gabbatoir
20 Apr 2008, 15:00
sorry, i meant who does he displace.
TheBrownDog
20 Apr 2008, 16:14
sorry, i meant who does he displace.
Its not like our 22 is set at the moment so you cant pinpoint a specific person he will replace.
It will put pressure on the Copelands, Selwoods, Millsys etc.
His absence has never stood out more, he provides an extra tall marking player in our defence and he runs off his opponent like Drummond does. Both him and Drummond are in our best defence.
This is our best back six and this group was constant during our 5 match winning run last yr:
Begley Merrett Drummond
MacDonald Roe Patfull
Copeland, Selwood and Mills can also come through there.
Old Den
20 Apr 2008, 23:49
Yes,Roe is a couple of cm taller and very athletic - I thought Patfull was quite good on Franklin - It's funny how match ups work
Chasing the Dream
27 Apr 2008, 17:54
Returned today in the twos.I missed the last quarter, but was told he got through that OK as well.
Showed some of his usual run from defence, and looked pretty good.
Maybe another game in the reserves next week, then with the seniors and reserves with a bye he might be right for round 8:thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
28 Apr 2008, 13:43
Read in the Season Guide that Roe is Anthony Corrie's uncle (i.e. not honorary uncle, but a real uncle).
Pretty rare to have uncle and nephew playing in the same team.
Read in the Season Guide that Roe is Anthony Corrie's uncle (i.e. not honorary uncle, but a real uncle).
Pretty rare to have uncle and nephew playing in the same team.
Aren't they about the same age??
Roe for who?
Hawthorn want him.
awesome_assassin
1 May 2008, 07:18
How long before Roe might be ready for seniors, couple weeks still?
TheBrownDog
1 May 2008, 10:42
How long before Roe might be ready for seniors, couple weeks still?
We have a one week break after this week for the Hall of Fame match, so I reckon he should be ready for the Carlton match.
Grimreepah
4 May 2008, 23:37
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5400074§ionID=56333)
Aitken did kick 1.1 in the first 80 minutes, but had his hands full with Jason Roe, who looks very ready for senior selection after two games with the Suncoast. Roe began to create more and more as the game wore on, but his side was unable to capitalize on his fine work.
awesome_assassin
5 May 2008, 08:00
We have a one week break after this week for the Hall of Fame match, so I reckon he should be ready for the Carlton match.
Thanks TBD:thumbsu:
Now there's a Tim Boyle trade value thread going on in Hawthorn and guess who they're interested in.. :)
Is Roe out of contract by any chance this season ? better to sign him up and that'll make a lot of them go quiet.
notting18
5 May 2008, 18:32
I would think Roe is contracted until 2009. Hawthorn's board is an absolute joke if they keep discussing trades when they are undefeated after 7 rounds.
Donno who started it, but they seem to be obsessed with Roe. Jason should visit their board, would feel like a celebrity :)
LuckyLuke
5 May 2008, 21:33
Hands off our J-Roe!!!
They have an obsession with Roe.
Half of them wouldn't have seen him play 3 games.
Boyle for Roe? Yes please. We need some more tall forwards. :rolleyes:
TheBrownDog
6 May 2008, 00:20
They have an obsession with Roe.
Half of them wouldn't have seen him play 3 games.
Boyle for Roe? Yes please. We need some more tall forwards. :rolleyes:
I can't stand the annual trade scenario flogfest that occurs on here.
Bunch of kids who have no idea of the value of players and draft picks, nor the needs of the opposing team.
Usually it doesn't start until about July... the fact that its being started in May by supporters of a team that is 7-0 shows that the problem is becoming a pandemic.
Can't wait for Collingwood supporters to come fishing with Chris Egan and a third rounder again this year.
I can't stand the annual trade scenario flogfest that occurs on here.
Bunch of kids who have no idea of the value of players and draft picks, nor the needs of the opposing team.
What I love about it is they are so sure any rumours involving their players is a load of crap (e.g. the Mitch Thorp thread on there), but are willing to bet any player they want will be willing to jump ship if they offer any old trash.
Collingwood, Richmond, and Carlton supporters are the worst, but Hawthorn are not too far behind.
Tim the Toolman
6 May 2008, 12:10
BOG on the weekend - is he due to get a game for the Seniors?
What's the latest with Roey?
Grimreepah
8 May 2008, 17:22
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=59268)
Roe looks to catch some luck
Simon White
10:25 AM Thu 08 May, 2008
MOBILE Lions defender Jason Roe is looking forward to trading the needles of the acupuncturist for the relaxation of a fishing hook over the AFL's Community Football Weekend.
Roe, on the comeback trail from serious quad injuries, had initially contemplated another run with an AFLQ club to bolster his chances of a return to senior action.
But after a chat with coach Leigh Matthews and Lions football operations manager Marcus Ashcroft, Roe has chosen to make good use of the scene of his community football visit.
The 24-year-old will join young teammate Joel Tippett in attending Saturday’s clash between Surfers Paradise and Burleigh.
"There’s definitely worse places you could go," Roe said with a chuckle.
"While I’m down there I’ll probably go to Hastings Point, down past Kingscliff and do a bit of fishing.
"Back in the Northern Territory, when I was growing up, I used to do a bit of pig and goose shooting. But these days I just love getting out on the boat and fishing."
While Roe is looking forward to dangling a line this weekend, his injuries have stalled his start to the season.
After his first quad tear in January, Roe was almost back to full fitness when he tore it again in early March.
Now, with a combination of acupuncture and orthodox methods of physiotherapy, he is again pressing for senior selection.
"It’s been very frustrating for me – I’ve been training virtually by myself when all I wanted to do was play and be out there with the rest of the boys," Roe said.
"There has been a lot of time on the bike, swimming and boxing with Maxy Kennedy and I’m glad it’s all but over. I’m okay with the boxing and the bike but I don’t think I’ll ever be the world’s best swimmer.
"The acupuncture’s actually pretty good. It really picks you up and you end up leaving feeling re-energised.
"Plus you get to have a sleep while you have 20 or 30 needles stuck in you!"
After two games at the lower level, Roe is hopeful of playing his first AFL game for the season when the Lions take on Carlton at Telstra Dome next Saturday.
Matthews has indicated the hard-running defender is likely to be in the selection frame following the general bye for the Hall of Fame Tribute Match.
"I’m pretty confident I’ve done as much as I could have to push for a spot in the seniors," Roe said.
"Now it’s a selection matter for the coaches and Leigh and hopefully they’ll pick me.
"It’s pretty much out of my control. So I’ve just got to be patient and wait and, if I don’t get in, make sure I keep playing well in the reserves."
http://i29.tinypic.com/jts96o.jpg
I reckon we'll see big things from Roe this year if he can stay fit. Patfull looks like he's cemented the CHB spot, and on his current form who would begrudge him that but I'd like to see them alternate that 2nd tall defender role, while the other ran the ball hard.
Grimreepah
17 May 2008, 10:12
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23710206-5016169,00.html)
Jason Roe is back for his first game of the season. Although he has played all his football for the Lions in defence, he cheekily suggested Matthews might find a more profitable use for him in attack given that Joel MacDonald, Joel Patfull and Daniel Merrett have done an admirable job this season. "I'm not sure where I'll be playing. I just got a phone call from Choppers (football manager Marcus Ashcroft) last night to say that I was in the 22. He didn't exactly say where I was playing so I think I'll just have to wait," Roe said.
"I wouldn't mind kicking a goal or two."
http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/6904/roecl4.jpg
Pedro the Lion
25 May 2008, 18:02
I thought Roe was geeting back to his best today. Makes our backline flow so much better when he's out there and provides great cover for Merrett and Patfull. Great to have you back Jason!
Got his wish too.. Kicked a goal today.. Yay !!!!!!!
I thought Roe was geeting back to his best today. Makes our backline flow so much better when he's out there and provides great cover for Merrett and Patfull. Great to have you back Jason!
Couldn't agree more he did great today! (and that kick for goal was never in doubt :P)
Yeah, you can see Patfull and Merrett are much more comfortable running and bouncing the ball when they know Drummond and Roe are cutting back to D50 to cover any turnover.
Tim the Toolman
26 May 2008, 11:19
It was such a relief to see Drummo, Patfull and Roey working in tandem out of the defence yesterday! Great to have him back with this duo.
Our defence was maligned last week but with these guys, we can't go wrong!
Grimreepah
31 May 2008, 22:08
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60593)
Jason Roe left the ground in the second quarter and did not return.
Grimreepah
23 Jul 2008, 02:45
Link (http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/2008/07/23/4772_ntsport.html)
Roe set to help Lions pounce
Northern Territory News
GREY MORRIS
July 23rd, 2008
Territory Lion Jason Roe hopes his 2008 AFL season is back on track after a disastrous runwith injury.
The 24-year-old defender was one of Brisbane's best in the 45-point win over West Coast last weekend.
His return to the league side came after long periods on the sidelines this season with quadricep and hamstring problems.
"I've missed a lot of footy since tearing a quad in January and damaging a hamstring when I tackled Lindsay Thomas in a game against North Melbourne,'' the former Nightcliff player said.
"But I felt pretty fresh against West Coast and hopefully that showed in my footy.''
Roe, one of three Territorians in the Brisbane side with Jared Brennan and Anthony Corrie, said this Saturday night's game against Richmond at Telstra Dome was a crunch match in terms of his side's finals chances.
The Territory trio have never played finals football and are desperate to change that this season.
"We need to start winning in Melbourne and beating Richmond and Richard Tambling would be a good way to start that,'' he said.
"Plus we have to start beating sides above us and hopefully that will happen in a couple of weeks against Hawthorn.''
Roe said Lions coach Leigh Matthews had not been happy with the side's win over West Coast, despite the comfortable margin.
"There were parts of our game he didn't like, particularly when we only played in patches,'' Roe added.
"But the players were grateful to get a win after the disappointing back-to-back losses to Melbourne and Essendon.''
The Lions have not played a finals match since losing to Port Adelaide in the 2004 grand final. But Roe knows there are better times ahead with Brennan and Corrie now permanent members of the side.
''Jared's been great for us in a utility role this year and Nutsy (Corrie) is playing some good footy across half forward,'' he said.
"We just have to pull our fingers out if we want to have a say in the finals this year.''
http://i36.tinypic.com/21l04lf.jpg
BACK: Territorian Jason Roe has been sidelined with injury for much of the season, but is now back playing and keen to help the Brisbane Lions reach the AFL finals
''Jared's been great for us in a utility role this year and Nutsy (Corrie) is playing some good footy across half forward,'' he said.
"We just have to pull our fingers out if we want to have a say in the finals this year.''
lol,.. Nutsy ...:D
(Nuxy, I think)
Grimreepah
12 Aug 2008, 21:42
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=65369)
We’ll make sure our tackles stick: Roe
By Simon White
8:03 PM Tue 12 August, 2008
DASHING Brisbane Lions defender Jason Roe has one promise ahead of Saturday night’s vital Gabba clash against the Western Bulldogs – tackles will stick.
Statistics from last week’s 69-point loss to Hawthorn had the Lions ahead 66-63 in the tackle count, but Roe says those figures masked a multitude of missed opportunities.
The ninth-placed Lions’ finals hopes could well rest on the result against the Bulldogs and pressure around the football is likely to be major factor.
“We pride ourselves on our tackling and pressure and on the weekend it just wasn’t good enough,” Roe told lions.com.au.
“When we did our weekly review, there was something like nine missed tackles that resulted in (Hawthorn) goals – that’s a massive amount.
“I missed a few myself and I’ll be making sure that doesn’t happen again on Saturday.
“We’ll all be kicking ourselves if we can’t improve this week.”
Aside from defensive duties, Roe will have plenty of additional responsibility against the Bulldogs due to kick-in expert Josh Drummond’s absence with a thigh injury.
Roe himself has been slowed by hamstring trouble in 2008 but says he is now fully fit and unflustered by the challenge of directing the Lions’ transition from defence into attack.
“I’m not bothered by it – when Drummo isn’t around I tend to take the kick-ins and that’s what is going to happen this week,” Roe said.
“I actually ended up kicking in during my first AFL game and I got through that okay, so I don’t think I’ll feel the pressure too much.
“If you sit and think about it, it can be a bit frightening. But it’s really just a matter of finding an open man, trusting your instincts and hitting a target.
“We’ve got places where we like to go with that first kick but as long as you’re hitting a target you are normally alright.”
Roe believes his own upbeat nature ahead of the Bulldogs showdown is representative of a vibe that is prevalent throughout the entire Lions squad.
Since moving to 8-5 with a round 13 home win over Adelaide, the Lions have won only one of six outings and have dropped outside the top-eight.
But, according to Roe, spirits are far from flagging.
“One of the best things about us at the moment is that the enthusiasm is still bubbling and there is a really good atmosphere about the club,” he said.
“You won’t see anyone with their head down – that’s the worst thing that could happen. We’re all feeling pretty confident and we honestly think we can get a win against the Bulldogs.
“The tide always turns eventually and if we keep working hard, it’s going to turn for us. Hopefully that will be on the weekend.”
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/7440/roead0.jpg
LionKing
12 Aug 2008, 23:00
Vinnie, comes across as a very positive individual which is good to see.
It was great to read that the boys spirits are still up :thumbsu: