View Full Version : Albert Proud
Some more fine work from our mate, Nick.
If Proudy had the tank of someone like Selwood or Stiller, I would easily regard him as our Daniel Kerr equivalent.
Very similar game styles.
That's a big if, but it's a tantalizing thought.
If Proudy had the tank of someone like Selwood or Stiller, I would easily regard him as our Daniel Kerr equivalent.
Very similar game styles.
Kerr didn't have a brilliant engine when in his first couple of seasons. I seem to recall that when guys like Cousins, Judd, Embley etc were running all day, Kerr would be given short bursts on the field.
chopperduck
16 Mar 2008, 15:02
is it just me, or does anyone else think proud and hooper will be the new bashem brothers aka the scotts ??
when they are both on the field at once no one is safe from a tackle, and proud has already shown his tackles have some punch in them, gaining 5kg will do that tho.
which reminds me, prouds biggest setback seemed to be his endurance last year. we all know leigh thru down the challenge to him to pick up his game and he added 5kg, but has he improved his endurance at all ??
could still be very useful playing last 5 or 10 minutes in the quaters tho to give someone a rest and to lay some pressure onto the other team as they tire out.
BigCat2
16 Mar 2008, 15:12
Already posted by Grim:
Fitness and form has star smiling Proud
Nick Smart 11Mar08
WHEN Queenslander Albert Proud made his AFL debut in round 12 last year, at Skilled Stadium against Geelong, he came off after just 10 minutes feeling exhausted.
He was spent, and it dawned on him just how hard he was going to have to work to make it as a top level AFL footballer.
Ever since, getting as fit as possible has been Proud's priority, and this year the hard-at-it midfielder is seeing results.
He has been named in the best for all four of the Lions' pre-season matches and looks a likely starter for round one.
It has been an amazing transformation for Proud, who now feels ready to take on the AFL competition in 2008.
"Last year, in my first AFL game, I played for the first five or 10 minutes and I came off and spoke to the psychologist and told him I had never been so tired in a game," he said
"This year I am feeling a lot fitter and stronger with my endurance.
"And after games I feel like I could go again the next day, so I am running out games a lot better than last year."
The former Mt Gravatt player has not put a foot wrong during the pre-season and said he now had the confidence to show his stuff on the big stage.
"At the start of the pre-season I spoke to the coach and my mentor, Chris Johnson, and I said that I am confident if I get a pre-season under my belt that I can show my strengths on the field," he said.
"The pre-season has helped me big time and I am getting more confident with every game."
When he arrived at the Lions last season coach Leigh Matthews told him in no uncertain terms that with his build Proud was ready for AFL footy. All it came down to was fitness, which became Proud's priority after playing just two senior games in 2007.
"My main priority this whole pre-season was to be as fit as I can be, so I can do the full training and get the most out of myself," he said.
Proud, who bases his game on his mentor and former Lion Chris Johnson, is naturally keen for a spot in the team in round one, but with a strong Lions side knows it will be a close call.
"My sights are on round one but with people coming back from injury, we will see," said the 19-year-old, who believes his best position is in the midfield but expects to play more up forward this season.
"The coach has told me that he will use me in the midfield as an X factor, just to get the ball going forward," he said.
Grimreepah
16 Mar 2008, 15:33
when they are both on the field at once no one is safe from a tackle, and proud has already shown his tackles have some punch in them, gaining 5kg will do that tho.
It was report (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10221695&postcount=76)ed that he lost 5kg to get himself into shape.
chopperduck
17 Mar 2008, 08:31
my bad. i thought it was the other way around. guess that answers that question, should but running a lot better this year then. good to see him getting set for a good season after he got huge wraps last year.
Grimreepah
27 Mar 2008, 22:12
This weekend will almost be like a 2nd debut for Proud. You get the feeling he is a lot better prepared for senior footy than last time.
ZoBlitz
28 Mar 2008, 00:52
This weekend will almost be like a 2nd debut for Proud. You get the feeling he is a lot better prepared for senior footy than last time.
I think he'll have a good one too. I wonder if he'll be rotated through the midfield or whether he'll spend more time up forward.
konstas_87
28 Mar 2008, 01:04
great to see him get a game straight up (more or less), hopefully he'll go really well and play the majority of the season.
Grimreepah
29 Mar 2008, 02:43
I love the way Proud plays. He attacks the ball at 100 miles an hour and he looks to move the ball on as quickly as possible. There is no hesitation, he just plays on instinct. I think he looks promising, and will the type of player who can win us matches when the game is in the balance. He just needs to keep improving his fitness so he can get to more contests.
Yeah, 90% of his touches made a difference. He's not prepared to just shuffle the ball around hoping someone gets a nice open chance to dispose.
The thing I like: He slices through play like a knife, but has the ability to instantly morph into a sledge hammer, brutally pound someone out of the way and just as quickly revert to knife-mode without missing a beat. He's a little transformer! :)
chopperduck
29 Mar 2008, 12:07
wasn't always great with decision making or disposal last night, but well worth having in the team i think. those things will come with more game time at the top level. hope he stays in for the swans game
TheBigUnit
29 Mar 2008, 12:14
Had some good moments last night, but didn't seem to get much TOG(?) Although, I haven't seen much of him, it's clear he has a lot of potential and the Daniel Kerr comparison is very accurate.
I love this kid. Nearly every touch he got was hard earnt, he also did alot of bullocking work for no reward. He definitely deserves more TOG, only got 50% last night. I also think he needs to learn how to get more cheap ball to complement his hardball gets.
Cousin Jed
29 Mar 2008, 15:48
Was interesting to hear Nathan Buckley say on 3AW earlier when he spoke to Leigh before last week's game, Leigh told him that Proud was not picked because of his lower running capacity (as we all knew) and that he was basically an almost certain selection for round 2 though.
Sherminator.
29 Mar 2008, 16:58
He'll shine against Sydney. 20 touches or more. ;)
Grimreepah
7 Apr 2008, 01:48
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23493141-5016169,00.html)
Albert Proud works hard for possessions
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
April 07, 2008 12:00am
LIONS coach Leigh Matthews is facing a selection poser this week: does he need possession accumulators or someone who'll attack the man and ball. Albert Proud had only eight touches against Sydney on Saturday night but half of them were hard won and he trailled only noted inside specialist Simon Black and the emerging Rhan Hooper in the hardball-get category. Brisbane was swamped by a weight of possession to the Swans so Matthews has a valid point in needing players who can get their hands on the ball. But they were well and truly beaten in the contests, too. So is the need for a player who is willing to pt his head over the ball just as great?
Proud's career is only four games old but his willingness to dive to the bottom of packs in search of the footy is a habit of a lifetime.
"I grew up in the Western Suburbs of Melbourne, its tough there and that's how I've ben raised and taught how to play my football," he said.
"Sydney are a good team to play against because that's how they play it, it really got me going.
"Growing up with my height I had no choice, I can't really jump so I just have to go in as hard as I can, that is one of my strengths here at the club."
But Matthews needs someone who can do both.
The four time premiership coach constantly warns journalists to take no notice of statistics because they mean nothing but it was the stats sheet he referenced when asked if Proud had played well against the Swans.
"The stat sheet didn't, you have got to get the ball in his hands and Albert didn't find the ball much I don't think." he said.
That a player with so few effective touches can look to have been one of the better players to an outsider highlights a problem that has dogged the Lions all year.
Too few are throwing themselves into contests.
Port will pose a different problem to contested possessio specialists Sydney. The Power will look to run and spread the ball at every opportunity.
Proud has a reputation as a burst player and probably missed out on Round 1 because of concerns over the size of Subiaco Oval which favours runners.
He feels his fitness has improved after a pre-season reality check courtesy of some advice from former champion Chris Johnson.
"If you'd asked the boys who was having a shocking pre-season at the start they would have probably said my name," he said.
"But I put my head down and butt up and did everything that was needed, everything that was hard for me and I feel fit."
Proud nominates Port gun Shaun Burgoyne as the best player he has seen a close quarters and is desperate to retain his spot this week.
"I'd love to get another crack at him," he said.
"I've grown up and matured and I feel fit, I watched him play a bit and I'd love another chance.
"They (Port) run well, that's what I found last year, especially Burgoyne."
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/6748/proud2xl9.jpg
Proud was one of our best, he showed the ability to get in and under, when others wanted to stand back and watch, Proud went in. Hammo, you missed your opportunity to put Rischa and a few others under the spotlight.
Ill Nino
8 Apr 2008, 03:53
I love him more each week.
kangaroo19
16 Apr 2008, 01:40
I love him more each week.
How's Al looking for this week? Wish we picked him up over urquhart in the 2006 draft, but not to be... Chance for a game this week? Cheers!
Lace Out
16 Apr 2008, 01:54
How's Al looking for this week? Wish we picked him up over urquhart in the 2006 draft, but not to be... Chance for a game this week? Cheers!
He's probably 80/20 IMO.Had a good game with Suncoast and Troy Selwood who is on the edge anyway had an ordinary outing against Port.That could be one of the changes.Saturday game so you'll get the teams well before lockout ;)
Grimreepah
16 Apr 2008, 01:54
He would be bordering on selection, but my guess is after last week's win they will make as few changes as possible.
Apparently he played another exceptional game, i see him as a future elite player, why not get him in there mixing it up against the best.
Apparently he played another exceptional game, i see him as a future elite player, why not get him in there mixing it up against the best.I really like him too. Who would you drop in the current squad to fit him in??
Old Den
28 Apr 2008, 02:58
I really like him too. Who would you drop in the current squad to fit him in??
Albert Proud looks an exciting 200 gamer in the making - still early days and there has been no need to rush him - we have to be patient
Grimreepah
19 May 2008, 03:16
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5465432§ionID=56333)
Lachlan Henderson knocked the ball into the path of an unchecked Albert Proud, who ran down the ground and goalled with 20 seconds remaining. It was fitting that Proud should kick the tying goal because he worked tremendously hard all day, shaking the tag of a very good player in Daniel Wise in the process.
Good to see he doesn't go back and sook about getting dropped.
Lace Out
20 May 2008, 12:50
We may not need him much this season but his development as an inside mid is very important for us as a team going forward.
Tassie4ever
20 May 2008, 13:09
IMO, there's no room for both Proud and Harding in the same team at the moment- from the little I've seen of Proud he needs another year of development, body, endurance and application-wise. However, he has obviously got great potential
Yep, I'd probably agree with that.
Certainly, there's no way I'd be putting Albie in the side ahead of Harding, Corrie or Hooper on current form.
TheBrownDog
20 May 2008, 15:27
Yup, I was doing cartwheels when we picked up Proud with our second selection in 2006, but I still think Albie is the sort of bloke that needs to be constantly reminded what it takes to play in the big time. Shouldn't be rewarded on potential... but on work ethic and team mentality.
All you can do when you are dropped is go back to the 2's and play well. Proud is in the best every week. I would play Proud ahead of Harding ( as expected) because i think he is a much better prospect. Harding is good but Proud is going to be elite.
chopperduck
21 May 2008, 09:19
i think its too early to tell who will be better out of proud and harding. i really like how harding goes about his game, and has always done a good job in the middle when black is out. he has a real hunger for the ball, and for a lil bloke, he can really rip it out from people. he still needs a while to get fitness and get his skill level up, but he has the ability to be a really good in and under player.
proud i think will also be great, but i see him playing a slightly different role. he really needs to stay injury free and rack up games all season and come back and have a really good preseason and i think could have a big impact playing next year playing off the bench. he also has a radar for the goals which is a big plus for him.
proud will be a great player if he keeps himself on track, but i think he is a bit off yet. he had a good chance early this year when we had some injuries, but his fitness let him down a bit. he is awesome in the 2nds, which is great, but isn't quiet ready for the top level.
I'd say there's not much separating the two of them at the moment. I suppose Proudy was a bit unlucky in that when he was given a chance, we lost. Harding has done about as much as Proud in the chances he's had, but we've looked better in the games he's played which may have helped him keep his spot IMO. Proudy's also Hardo's junior, if that means anything.
Both these guys have shown us what they're capable of, they just need to work on their weaknesses and things will happen for them. Best case scenario at this stage would be to have them both playing seconds together, pushing each other hard and learning each other's games too. because they're gonna be the heart of our midfield in 2011.
I reckon Albie likes to be in the game a lot a la Blacky. He hasn't been given the game time he needs to get into a game yet, due to fitness and positional play weaknesses. As was said previously, an injury free year + solid pre-season might see him really explode next year :thumbsu:
TheBrownDog
21 May 2008, 14:56
No one works harder for Suncoast than Harding.
Deserves that last senior midfield spot at the moment... although it sounds like Polkinghorne and Proud are both pushing hard.
Both have been doing all they can while at Suncoast, but frankly Albie's last senior game -- the Geelong game -- he was pretty ordinary. I really like Albie, but he played jumpy, mistake-ridden footy against the Cats. Wasn't at all surprised to see him missing the following week.
chopperduck
21 May 2008, 18:25
Both have been doing all they can while at Suncoast, but frankly Albie's last senior game -- the Geelong game -- he was pretty ordinary. I really like Albie, but he played jumpy, mistake-ridden footy against the Cats. Wasn't at all surprised to see him missing the following week.
that basically is the difference between the two. whilst harding isn't great, he is a step about proud in that area. but for a young player that doesn't matter, its something he will learn, work on and improve with as he gets game time. better fitness will give him more confidence as well.
i totally agree with browndog, in that harding deserves the last midfield spot. ive liked the look of harding since he arrived, he just has that mongrel about him that you can teach, and a hunger you love to see. again he is young and skills will improve, but for both players they have a great foundation for footy.
i've only ever seen polka play once, which was his game this year, but like harding he had an impact on me. he really does seem like a player that could force his way into the team. was only dropped due to injury i believe.
Harding moves well at the clearances and looks very dangerous when moving with the ball. He holds onto it too long and is unaware of pressure. His kicking is pokie at best. His biggest asset is pace and clearance work
Proud is hard bodied, strong at the clearance and a fierce tackler, he does get lost in traffic and he needs to find more ball in the seniors. Harding has had a better extended run and if he can't nail it over the next 3 weeks then i expect to see Proud taking his possie if Lappin isn't back.
Dylan12
22 May 2008, 00:40
It would be nice to see Proud selected in this indigenous round, however I hardly think Leigh will share similar sentiments based on a themed round. Either way I would have Proud before Harding and miles ahead of Selwood anyday of the week.
Just a thought but, I reckon Bunno's place in the team depends a bit on our form.
If we're going well in the midfield and our non-elite mids like Riska, Sherman, Corrie, Poss, Stiller etc are on song, then we can afford to play another runner with an average boot because the other blokes make up for his (lack of) disposal and that leaves Troy to do a job on one of theirs.
When those blokes are down on form or we lose too many classy mids, we need to play someone like Proudy just to give us another hard-ball option and a bit of forward oomph.
Just think he's a bit unlucky that we're at full strength right now.
Old Den
22 May 2008, 01:48
I can't see any need to push Proud's development - he looks a great prospect for a long career and if the coaches think he is better served in the AFLQ just now it will probably be worth the wait
Or maybe he just needs to show more in certain areas to force his way in
I don't think Albert has any huge break on Scotty in the tackling stakes -- maybe the 2006 model Harding, but not the 2008 model. Proud is averaging 3 tackles a game this year and Scotty averages slightly more than that.
Grimreepah
22 May 2008, 15:06
The reason why Proud and Harding would be competing for spots is they both lack running power, which puts too great a strain on our rotations and link up play. But other than that I think both can play either inside or outside and there shouldn't be any reason why they can't play alongside one another.
In a sense it is frustrating because I think both, particularly Proud, can be very good players but they just have this weakness that is holding them back for now.
Pedro the Lion
25 May 2008, 19:04
Got to be back in the team next week. Custom made for shinboner stoush.
TheBrownDog
25 May 2008, 19:59
Got to be back in the team next week. Custom made for shinboner stoush.
Will need to bring his defensive game if he wants to play.
Grimreepah
25 May 2008, 20:30
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5494413§ionID=56333)
Centreman Albert Proud continued his stellar for the Suncoast with another outstanding effort, and it was Proud’s determination around the clearances in the last five minutes that got his side home. Proud lifted for one last big effort, winning two clearances against the tide
Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 01:54
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5526544§ionID=56333)
Henderson received silver service from Albert Proud in the first half, the form Lion winning the ball everywhere and helping his side to a 30-point lead at halftime.
However, Vultures co-coaches Russ Harding and David Lake swung Michael Hamill onto Proud in a run-with role in the second half and he took Proud right out of the game.
Do you think that should be Will Hamill?
sherrin_footy
1 Jun 2008, 11:49
Do you think that should be Will Hamill?
nope, michael and will both play for vultures.
Cheers. I assume they are related? Is Michael younger?
charles202
2 Jun 2008, 12:54
It will be good for Proud's progress to get some attention from a tagger in the 2's. (In retrospect, this is a benefit that Sherm never had, and the main reason (other than injury) why he had such a tough year last year.)
Part of me does wonder about Proud though, how much of the drop in output was due to the tag and how much was to running out of gas?
He deserves a a game in the ones regardless.
Grimreepah
8 Jun 2008, 21:05
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5562785§ionID=56333)
Albert Proud continued his outstanding form for the full four quarters
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=30833156&c=1-109-0-64171-0&pool=-1)
Best Players: A Proud, C Stiller, M Austin, T Collier, J Tippett, B Dalziell
Albie is certainly beating down the selector's door. If Harding doesn't pull up you'd think Proud would be a good chance of getting a gig.
Lace Out
8 Jun 2008, 22:29
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5562785§ionID=56333)
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=30833156&c=1-109-0-64171-0&pool=-1)
Albie is certainly beating down the selector's door. If Harding doesn't pull up you'd think Proud would be a good chance of getting a gig.
Time for Proud even if Harding is fit.
Lets stealthily introduce.
Time for Proud even if Harding is fit.
Lets stealthily introduce.
I've been thinking that, but didn't want to say it. Harding doesn't seem dangerous enough when he does have the ball, and he gets it rarely enough to begin with. Every time he gets it it's almost predictable as "he burns off his chasers, gets in the clear, and then puts just out of the reach of someone in the forward 50".
It'd be nice to see Albie get a bat this week. Not that I don't rate Hardo, hw's looking better each week. But safety first, and unless Hardo's 100% I wouldn't risk him with such a great replacement available.
TheBrownDog
9 Jun 2008, 10:15
It'd be nice to see Albie get a bat this week. Not that I don't rate Hardo, hw's looking better each week. But safety first, and unless Hardo's 100% I wouldn't risk him with such a great replacement available.
Judging by the look on Harding's face as he hobbled off the field yesterday (not to mention the whopping big bag of ice strapped to his knee)... we wont be seeing him for a while.
Proud should get his spot.
Tassie4ever
9 Jun 2008, 11:52
Harding has it all, IMO- pace, hardness, and run. Unfortunately, isn't getting the ball often enough at the moment. Needs to be where the ball is, more frequently, a la Simon Black.
Proud has all Harding's attributes as well, perhaps even harder at it and with a bit better disposal. From what I saw on Sunday he looked good for the Suncoast, but faded in the later part of the game, which I gather is the core criticism of his game- endurance!!
There is not a player on our list who attacks the ball harder than Proud
TheBrownDog
9 Jun 2008, 19:17
There is not a player on our list who attacks the ball harder than Proud
Yep, and once he can just get more of it, contribute more defensively, and run out a game..., he'll be a starting 22 player.
to do this he requires opportunity and game time
TheBrownDog
9 Jun 2008, 19:25
to do this he requires opportunity and game time
You could say that about a group of guys in the reserves.
He'll likely come in for Harding, but as a finals bound side, we need to be fielding the best side possible each week.
Proud is still a kid and a work-in-progress, and the injury list will be his key to playing senior football this year.
There was concern over the pre-season over his effort at training, and his love of the party lifestyle... he'll need to keep working hard.
I've always been bullish on him acuguy... (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7842408&postcount=39) but you seem to be well and truly besotted. ;)
Quigley
10 Jun 2008, 18:36
I watched the entire game on Sunday. There is no way that Proud should not be playing the Bulldogs this week. He and Stiller were the dominant players on the ground and were clearly a cut above the rest. He fitness seemed okay and he played a lot of game time splitting it between onball and the forward line.
If he doesn't play this week there is something other than onfield performance going on.
TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 19:10
something other than onfield performance going on.
Perhaps he was out late with Travis one night and Leigh got jealous? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11327038&postcount=301)
Gabbatoir
10 Jun 2008, 20:03
Perhaps he was out late with Travis one night and Leigh got jealous? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11327038&postcount=301)
Power strikes me as having a pretty damn good sense of humour. I found his carry on before the Hall of Fame match pretty amusing as well.
I watched the entire game on Sunday. There is no way that Proud should not be playing the Bulldogs this week. He and Stiller were the dominant players on the ground and were clearly a cut above the rest. He fitness seemed okay and he played a lot of game time splitting it between onball and the forward line.
If he doesn't play this week there is something other than onfield performance going on.
I have seen plenty of players over the years tear em up in the ressies but not get selected. His time will come.
Great to hear that Quigley!
TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 22:52
Hope he plays, if only to show up that bloody acuguy who doesn't rate him whatsoever.
Warwick
10 Jun 2008, 22:56
I have seen plenty of players over the years tear em up in the ressies but not get selected. His time will come.
Yep.
Forsyth comes to mind.
TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 23:03
Yep.
Forsyth comes to mind.
Geez he had massive wraps on him.
Ended up getting savaged by OP didnt he?
Geez he had massive wraps on him.
Ended up getting savaged by OP didnt he?
Yeah, was often described as running like a busted crab. Can have an impact on your footy, that.
Hope he plays, if only to show up that bloody acuguy who doesn't rate him whatsoever.
Young Michael Long!
Dylan12
19 Jun 2008, 21:25
I can't help but think young Albert will request a trade at seasons end, but who would blame him?
One can only get overlooked so many times, especially when he is a consistent performer at the level below.
I was absolutely rapt when we got him at pick 22 and thought he would answer some our mid-fielder deficiencies at the time. With those deficiencies still clearly prevalent I don't know what this guy has to do.
With alot of family in Melbourne from what I understand, I just can't help but think he will be lost to us if not given a chance. In my eyes, he is much better than Polkinghorne and Harding (similar types). They have persisted with them throughout the season, when both really do nothing yet Albie gets rounds 2 and 3 and doesn't get another look in.
Maybe I am missing something. Did he get in a blue at a nightclub, not turn up for training or something along those lines at some stage?
campbell
19 Jun 2008, 21:34
I can't help but think young Albert will request a trade at seasons end, but who would blame him?
One can only get overlooked so many times, especially when he is a consistent performer at the level below.
I was absolutely rapt when we got him at pick 22 and thought he would answer some our mid-fielder deficiencies at the time. With those deficiencies still clearly prevalent I don't know what this guy has to do.
With alot of family in Melbourne from what I understand, I just can't help but think he will be lost to us if not given a chance. In my eyes, he is much better than Polkinghorne and Harding (similar types). They have persisted with them throughout the season, when both really do nothing yet Albie gets rounds 2 and 3 and doesn't get another look in.
Maybe I am missing something. Did he get in a blue at a nightclub, not turn up for training or something along those lines at some stage?
Nope.
I hope you are wrong on the trade thing, that would be awful for us.
I can't help but think young Albert will request a trade at seasons end,
I think you're reading too much into it.
but who would blame him?
Me. He's a second year player. Our first draft pick that year is also languishing in the reserves. They are playing for a club that is having more success than not. There is a lot of competition for spots.
Daniel Merrett ran 3rd in the Grogan at AFLQ level...as a ruckman. Marcus Allan dominated at that level. Marty Pask was unstoppable as a full forward in the reserves. It is not always a great form guide.
It is not like Polkinghorne has played a lot of games. Harding though - fair call. Except that the club really only has this year to find out if Scott is a player. If he hasn't shown anything by years' end, he's probably out. There's not the same pressure on Albie to perform or perish. He can bide his time and his career won't end.
The only place I've heard those sort of things is on here.
There are issues with Albie's game right now. I think the point that acuguy and others like yourself are making is that his strengths overcome his weaknesses. I'm not totally sure. Last Saturday showed what happens when the side drops its intensity. Proud does a lot right but he still does a lot wrong and the things he does wrong can affect the team. It would appear that Stiller is being similarly judged.
In my opinion, Albie will make the side in the next 4-6 weeks and won't leave it for years to come. Bookmark it if you like.
TheBrownDog
19 Jun 2008, 21:54
?
Groupthink is a powerful thing.
Lets look at the reality for a moment though.
Albert Proud is a 2nd year player who is showing very good form in the reserves. His demonstrated output at AFL level however makes him a fringe player at the moment in a finals bound team. He has a case to push for selection, but so do many other players. People need to stop acting like a great injustice is being done each week he isn't selected.
No offence, but I have a little more faith in our four time premiership winning coach and his team.
The idea that he will request a trade after 2 years on a list due to a perceived lack of opportunity is really quite silly.
campbell
19 Jun 2008, 21:56
Groupthink is a powerful thing.
Lets look at the reality for a moment though.
Albert Proud is a 2nd year player who is showing very good form in the reserves. His demonstrated output at AFL level however is not at the level required for a team with finals on the radar.
The idea that he will request a trade after 2 years on a list due to a perceived lack of opportunity is really quite silly.
Except he is only human after all, and may be disappointed in his lack of opportunity at the higher level.Especially seeing though he is playing the house down in the ressies.
It can be frustrating for players to get a go in the main team, but to only see a tiny proportion of the game and sitting the rest on the pine.
Who knows, this may be how he feels, he may not.
konstas_87
19 Jun 2008, 22:15
if he was mentally strong he would slog his guts out in the offseason and give the match committee no choice but to select him every game of 2009.
not take the easy option out ala Cameron Wood.
Cousin Jed
19 Jun 2008, 22:18
Except he is only human after all, and may be disappointed in his lack of opportunity at the higher level.Especially seeing though he is playing the house down in the ressies.
And yet Brad Dalziell has more votes in the Grogan Medal, I haven't looked at any other threads since I logged in 1 minute ago, but I presume there is a similar post (by the original poster, not yourself) on his thread.
Grimreepah
19 Jun 2008, 22:39
Can't help but laugh at the hysteria. Players and coaches do actually speak to one another, and you'd think Proud knows why he's not in the team and what he has to work on to get there. For someone who's never had more than 12 possessions in a game the love for Proud does seem a bit over the top. All clubs have talented youngsters on the fringes, and at this stage of his development he'll be a fringe player wherever he goes. Can't see him leaving.
Lace Out
20 Jun 2008, 00:53
Can't help but laugh at the hysteria. Players and coaches do actually speak to one another, and you'd think Proud knows why he's not in the team and what he has to work on to get there. For someone who's never had more than 12 possessions in a game the love for Proud does seem a bit over the top. All clubs have talented youngsters on the fringes, and at this stage of his development he'll be a fringe player wherever he goes. Can't see him leaving.
Spot.
On.
Dylan12
20 Jun 2008, 02:57
I have no inside word on Albert, merely just raising a discussion. I think his two games this year were against Collingwood and Sydney, tough games even for seasoned players and it is pretty tough judging his performance on those games.
I was just basing my concern on being frustrated for the guy. He came to us as a highly rated junior, that is all, and whilst I do have faith in the match committee, just thought he would have got a game based on his form in the reserves. I just think we need more grunt in the middle, especially against a club like the Crows and no, I certainly wouldn't expect him to pack up at season's end, but it does happen.
Ill Nino
20 Jun 2008, 04:26
I think Proud can learn a lot from Sydneys Jarred Morre.
http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-displ...or-moore-49032 (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/roos-full-of-praise-for-moore-49032)
The cases of Merrett, Allan etc dominating reserve level footy i feel are not accurate comparisons. Proud seems to be in the best 2-3 players week in week out. It is general consensus that we probably lack extractors of the footy and some leg speed. Proud has both and that is probably why people are on the front foot about him being selected. I feel he has the ability to add to our team, while some people are more than happy to point out some of his deficiencies as a reason why he isn't in the team, why they are happy to overlook the deficiencies of players in the team leaves me dumbfounded!:D
I have no inside word on Albert, merely just raising a discussion. I think his two games this year were against Collingwood and Sydney, tough games even for seasoned players and it is pretty tough judging his performance on those games.
I was just basing my concern on being frustrated for the guy. He came to us as a highly rated junior, that is all, and whilst I do have faith in the match committee, just thought he would have got a game based on his form in the reserves. I just think we need more grunt in the middle, especially against a club like the Crows and no, I certainly wouldn't expect him to pack up at season's end, but it does happen.
I like to believe that coaching decisions are best on what's best for the team. This is a team sport after all. Decisions can't be based on what's best for an individual.
Dylan12
20 Jun 2008, 14:13
I like to believe that coaching decisions are best on what's best for the team. This is a team sport after all. Decisions can't be based on what's best for an individual.
Did I not categorically state in my post that you quoted from, that I do have faith in the match committee. The whole point to my discussion was merely to state how frustrated I am for the guy coupled with fact that we are real light on for in and under players. I do look forward to his return but as others have said before, maybe he has more to work on before he is selected again.
Pedro the Lion
20 Jun 2008, 16:17
Which is exactly why the situation is somewhat confusing.
Clearly Proud is playing well enough in the reserves to warrant selection in top team. He is surely higher in the pecking order than at least 5 of the players in the 22 this week. Yet continually it is deemed that it is the best for him and the team that he stays in the reserves. Why?
In Leigh we trust.
TheBrownDog
20 Jun 2008, 16:27
Which is exactly why the situation is somewhat confusing.
Clearly Proud is playing well enough in the reserves to warrant selection in top team. He is surely higher in the pecking order than at least 5 of the players in the 22 this week. Yet continually it is deemed that it is the best for him and the team that he stays in the reserves. Why?
Why is he higher in the pecking order? Because he gets named in the best on the AFLQ website?
I think he's a great prospect, but there are even people screaming for his inclusion who haven't even seen him play in the reserves.
Like Grim said... there is hysteria, and people are falling for it.
Pedro the Lion
20 Jun 2008, 17:02
Well as someone who has seen him play in the reserves I'd say he should be higher in the pecking order at the moment than Polkinghorn, Copeland, Stiller, Collier, Henderson and (HERE WE GO) Sellwood. Why? Because from my perspective he is further advanced in his development than 3 of those players and is as good with more upside than the other 3.
The reason I jumped in here though is because Dylan seemed to be copping a bad rap for even posing a question about it, which I think is getting a bit out of hand. Is it really hysteria? I'd think where Dylan, Aquaguy and apparently now I are coming from is more of a what else does he need to do angle. Which I think is a question worth asking.
So what say you Browndog? Is it just an issue of endurance? What do you think is the plan with Albie?
dmac_55
20 Jun 2008, 17:23
Just worth noting that both Sherman and TJ have been withdrawls due to injury, and the ins are Henderson and Stiller..
That looks like 2 small mids out for one mid and one big..
I would of thought Albie would have come in along with Stiller.. However this also indicates Leigh may have been worried TJ wasnt going to come up and planned his side to include Henderson anyway.. What do we think
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2008, 17:41
What do you think is the plan with Albie?
I think the reason for his non-selection is because he has had opportunities but hasn't really grabbed them. If he was yet to play senior footy, he may well have gotten a gig this week, but they have seen him and decided he's not ready yet.
With our injury list somewhat declining, there has been less opportunity to blood players, and I think they are wanting to give different players a run to see how they go. Proud isn't the only one pushing for selection and rather than put faith in one player, they are giving each of them a chance to prove themselves.
TheBrownDog
20 Jun 2008, 17:56
With our injury list somewhat declining, there has been less opportunity to blood players, and I think they are wanting to give different players a run to see how they go. Proud isn't the only one pushing for selection and rather than put faith in one player, they are giving each of them a chance to prove themselves.
Great point.
If you went entirely on ressies form, you never would have picked Drummond as a surefire AFL standard player.
Many people were in fact miffed to see him elevated to begin with. This is why I have faith in the coaching staff.
He deserves his opportunity more so than most. You can only do what you can do and being regularly in the best in the 2s is all one can do when out of senior selection. He must be a bit dismayed, what i am about to say will piss some people off
In footy clubs there is selection, if you are consistently playing well in the 2s and players are getting selected ahead of you (even though you know you are playing much better than them) you will get pissed off and eventually quite dejected. Anyone that has been in this situation will know exactly what i am getting at. You can spout all this bullshit about waiting your turn, others are playing well, it is Lethal's plan whatever. The point is if you are playing well regularly and are not being rewarded you are likely at some stage to throw your hands in the air and say this isn't ____ing Fair
Ive seen him play in the ressies as well. FWIW I thought that as much as he dominated he sometimes got himself into poorish positions around the ground and this was IMO exposed at top level earlier this season. Another area that worries me is his tackling that is very crude at times. He gets into the oppositions back a bit too easy for my liking and this can be exposed at top level as the players read a tackle a lot better than at AFLQ level. As to endurance there are apparently questions being asked as to his ability to run out a game. The interesting thing is that when I used to watch say Marcus Allan he too was always BOG, had 50 odd possies in the wet etc etc but one just knew that size and maybe stamina where always going to be an issue. Rhetorically will it be the same for Albie? I hope not. All should bear in mind that he is only a 2nd year player.
FWIW the player I got most excited about this season was actually Clousten who from last year to this looks to have improved in leaps and bounds. He seems to get no kudos around here:confused:. He is only a rookie so therefore not eligible but if he was available and got a game I for one would not be surprised.
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2008, 18:46
The point is if you are playing well regularly and are not being rewarded you are likely at some stage to throw your hands in the air and say this isn't ____ing Fair
I'm hoping Proud is made of sterner stuff than to take that attitude. He would know his performances at the top level haven't demanded selection, and he would know that he isn't the only one with a strong case for selection. Competition for spots is a good thing, and hopefully it brings about the best in players, not the poor me syndrome.
I am sure the roller coaster of selection would have to have an effect on him. Just like any other ordinary human being. Footballers love footy and do get emotional about it regardless of the level you play at. Outwardly you wouldn't want him displaying that attitude but inward you would have to think it would now be starting to take a bit of a toll. Once again it is great to see people willing to highlight Proud's deficiencies but then defend the deficiencies of current team members. Yet i would think some of their deficiencies cost us much more than Proud's!
As a player you would know that certain areas of the team are covered a fair bit more than the others:thumbsu:. The midfield, Albies natural position has more than sufficient coverage at this point though the same may not be said for our defense. Yes the defense has been outstanding this season but IMO we do not have the same depth as the midfield. Could Albie play one of those roles downback? I doubt it. If any player is to go into the defense and change the structure IMO it will be Colm when he is fit.
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2008, 19:33
inward you would have to think it would now be starting to take a bit of a toll.
I'm sure he would be disappointed when his name doesn't get read out, but if he's already thinking of throwing in the towel then he's not cut out for AFL footy. Personally I have more faith in him and would like to think that his will has not weakened, and in fact is as strong as ever.
Once again it is great to see people willing to highlight Proud's deficiencies but then defend the deficiencies of current team members.
That is a perception based on your own views of the matter. I would have thought that Proud gets a better rap than most around here.
Dylan12
20 Jun 2008, 20:13
I think the reason for his non-selection is because he has had opportunities but hasn't really grabbed them. If he was yet to play senior footy, he may well have gotten a gig this week, but they have seen him and decided he's not ready yet.
Albert played against Collingwood and Sydney this year - two of our toughest games and IMO games that are an unfair measure for a young player. Polkinghorne gets a go about Melbourne IIRC and Hawksley against Freo and Harding against most of the easier teams. If Albert was fortunate to play during our typical winning streak and didn't perform, then I agree with all comments since I posed the question yesterday.
Secondly, if we are giving guys who haven't played a go, why not Dalziell against a strong experienced and seasoned outfit who is more mature age? Polkinghorne has done nothing to warrant selection and surely will be exposed agaisnst the Crows and if not Proud then why not Dalziell?
I will be happy to admit if I am wrong come Saturday night, but with Sherman and Johnstone now going down our midfield looks massively exposed. I don't see how Henderson and Stiller and the already selected Polkinghorne, fulfill the glaring deficiencies and Proud or Dalziell would certainly have helped. Thank-god I am not selector, because IF we lose, it will be obvious what everyone's beef will be about.