View Full Version : What DVD Are You Watching Now?
In line with the music thread and book thread I figured we could list what DVDs we are watching. I know some like to keep up to date , while others pull out old favourites and watch them
I have actually done some catching up and looking back
Watched Reservoir Dogs and enjoyed it. Fantastic 4 was bleh. Da Vinci Code was enjoyable and Nixon was way too long and booooring, going to watch Narnia tomorrow
Any hidden gems you watch over and over or can recommend?
SouthSwans
25 Jan 2007, 01:23
Just a few recent ones I've watched.....
Seinfeld: The Complete Collection
SouthSwans
25 Jan 2007, 01:28
What was Carl Barron like?
I assume the Steve Waugh one is the Hundred at the SCG?
Correct, and a sensational hundred it was.
Carl Barron was good, very very funny, all his new stuff. I hate buying comedy DVDs, I prefer to rent them because the same jokes get old quickly but every time I watch this I piss myself.
dont bowl there
25 Jan 2007, 08:52
Have been watching Smallville series one, never watched any on TV and its pretty good.
Am 2 DVD's through Season 7 of Will & Grace. Missed the final 2 seasons of this excellent sitcom, so I plan on watching the rest of season 7 and then season 8, which was their last, over the next few weeks.
Big Nasty
25 Jan 2007, 09:43
Ive just watched One flew over the cuckoos nest and raging bull.
Macca19
25 Jan 2007, 09:49
Last DVD I watched was Hard Candy. Pretty good movie.
I'm watching Season 1 of Transformers at the moment. :cool:
I cant wait until they release the Frontline DVD.
Haven't they? I thought I saw the boxset of that before Christmas.
SWANNIES RULE
25 Jan 2007, 09:53
Season 2 of Scrubs.
peternorth
25 Jan 2007, 09:58
40 year old virgins been getting a work over in the last 2 weeks.
Hap Hapablap
25 Jan 2007, 10:26
seinfeld and jackass (never watched the movie finally did)
Freedom Land - Didn't mind it but could have had more of a twist at the end as i figured out "who done it" - Samuel L Jackson is one of my fav's and he's good in it.
And on a lighter note have finally got out Beyond The Sea to watch tonite - have been waiting to see it for ages.
Jeffers
25 Jan 2007, 12:40
I'm watching Season 1 of Transformers at the moment. :cool:
Respect.
onlyhandball
25 Jan 2007, 12:41
Get Politics and Animals by Ricky Gervais and take it in turn watching them until you know every word.
neddy36
25 Jan 2007, 12:57
Hired 3 weekly's the other day:
The Dreamers - thought it was pretty good. The fact that you get to see new Bond girl Eva Green naked for most of the film, is certainly enough for a replay before returning.
High Tension - seen it before but wanted to check out the gore again. Some may hate the ending but I recommend everyone give it a chance.
Spun - haven't watched it yet. A lot drug-addicted young adults, so hopefully some juicy storylines and confronting scenes.
crows98
25 Jan 2007, 12:59
25 Jan 2007, 13:04
They already have, it was in Big W before christmas.
So good. So so good.
Greatness23
25 Jan 2007, 13:17
Just finished watching Man On Fire.
Great film :thumbsu:
crows98
25 Jan 2007, 13:39
I got the season one box set of My Name is Earl and have watched 12 episodes. Didn’t have time to watch it on channel 7 and it a great show.
SouthSwans
25 Jan 2007, 14:08
They already have, it was in Big W before christmas.
REALLY!? :eek:
Ooooohhhh yesssss.....
year of the roo
25 Jan 2007, 15:45
Ive just watched One flew over the cuckoos nest and raging bull.
Classics. 2 great choices there.
I've just finished watching Once Upon a Time in America again. Superb film.
danzan22
25 Jan 2007, 15:48
King of Queens - season 2
lioness
25 Jan 2007, 17:43
Pretty Woman. Watched some last night, will watch the rest later. :D
danzan22
25 Jan 2007, 17:44
Clerks 2
Lindenow Cat
25 Jan 2007, 21:23
Frontline series 1-3. I had forgotten just how good this show was, remember watching it 12 years or so ago and enjoying it, but I had forgotten exactly how good it was. He's done it again!
SouthSwans
25 Jan 2007, 21:40
Frontline series 1-3. I had forgotten just how good this show was, remember watching it 12 years or so ago and enjoying it, but I had forgotten exactly how good it was. He's done it again!
It's sensational isn't it.
-Junior-
26 Jan 2007, 14:58
Just finished watching Man On Fire.
Great film :thumbsu:
Yeah same i watched that the other night one of the best movies ive seen for sure!! :thumbsu:
Also watched Flight of The Phoinex recently which i thought was pretty good
HomerThompson
26 Jan 2007, 15:05
The Shield - series 3
Working my way through in anticpation of the release of series 5.
Socceroos World Cup 06 - haven't managed to watch the end of the last game yet.
Munich
Heavy going, but excellent film.
Arrested Development - series 3
Hilarious. Way to end in style.
danzan22
26 Jan 2007, 15:11
Just Shoot Me - season 2
crows98
26 Jan 2007, 15:12
Socceroos World Cup 06 - haven't managed to watch the end of the last game yet.
FFS please don't tell him who wins. :D
HomerThompson
26 Jan 2007, 15:18
FFS please don't tell him who wins. :D
:D :thumbsu:
The disc cuts out with 2 minutes to go. I just assumed it was a draw and the tournament finished....
:p
ManWithNoName
26 Jan 2007, 18:53
Have been watching Smallville series one, never watched any on TV and its pretty good.
Compared to the later seasons, Seasons 1 and 2 are rubbish. Much too "Freak of the Week" for my liking. So ensure you keep watching, it's the second best show on TV.
flamethrower
26 Jan 2007, 21:57
Just watched Snakes On A Plane.
Next on the list are Clerks 2 and the My Name Is Earl box set.
danzan22
26 Jan 2007, 22:08
Orange County :thumbsu:
Arrested Development Season 3
dont bowl there
27 Jan 2007, 10:14
Compared to the later seasons, Seasons 1 and 2 are rubbish. Much too "Freak of the Week" for my liking. So ensure you keep watching, it's the second best show on TV.
Yeah to be honest i am having doubts on whether or not to keep watching. Im 7 episodes in and there really hasnt been any character development, but i will take your advice and keep watching.
ManWithNoName
27 Jan 2007, 10:27
Yeah to be honest i am having doubts on whether or not to keep watching. Im 7 episodes in and there really hasnt been any character development, but i will take your advice and keep watching.
Seasons 1 and 2 are almost purely Freak of the Week style. It's ok at first, but gets very repetitive very fast. Every episode follows the same formula:
Freak gets his powers, is bitter towards everyone, kidnaps Lana/Chloe/Pete, Clark finds out what's going on, goes to the rescue, fights the freak, seemingly wins, nearby Kryptonite incapacitates him, manages to escape from said Kryptonite and saves the day.
It really picks up around season 3, that's when the freak of the week stuff ends. Season 5 and 6 are unbeliveable.
Just knocked over Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Serenity.
Mr Magoo
27 Jan 2007, 11:33
Just watched the street fighter aka Hard times starring Charles Bronson, very good flick about a drifter in the depression (Bronson) who sees a no holds bare knuckled boxing match that is set up by James Coburn & he sees this as a way of making some money.
Also watched the court room drama 12 Angry men .... which has an all star cast including Henry Fonda, E.G Marshall, Lee J Cobb & is about a group of 12 men in the jury where 11 are convinced that the boy is guilty of killing his father, while Henry Fonda isn't as convinced. A classic movie.
finbarr
27 Jan 2007, 12:27
Just bought and watched 'To Live & Die In LA'.
That movie even manages to make the music of Wang Chung sound decent!
Warwick
27 Jan 2007, 14:47
Just finished watching Thank You For Smoking.
The cover told me i might laugh until my head fell off.
I don't think i managed a smirk.
Greg Miller= Messiah
27 Jan 2007, 16:42
Watched Ricky Gervasis Politics and Animals
The greatest movie of all time Fight Club
Next is Godfather 2
Cinderella Man- One of Crowes' best performances imo but was overshadowed because it was all around the time of the phone throwing incident.
raikkonen
27 Jan 2007, 16:54
Currently - How I met Your Mother, Season 1 :D Very funny stuff.
In the coming days...some Xmas presents: Firewall, POTC2, and a DVD I am intending to purchase - Ashes 06/07, 5-0.....that goes for 585 mins!!!!!! At only 29 bucks in Big W a real bargain. ;)
Currently watching the American Gothic complete series.
Finally I can see it in the correct order too :thumbsu:
Huddo91
27 Jan 2007, 20:47
Casino Royale
:cool::cool::cool:
nicolbolas
27 Jan 2007, 22:03
Brotherhood of the Wolf
TorresIsGod
28 Jan 2007, 09:55
Smallville - The complete second season, currently watching Episode 21 (of the season) I have seen them all already, but I like watching my favourite episdoes again
Greatness23
28 Jan 2007, 17:35
Currently - How I met Your Mother, Season 1 :D Very funny stuff.
Same, I love it.
And Barney is legendary!
THATSGOLD
28 Jan 2007, 20:00
Saw man on fire years ago... been meaning to buy it!
Virgin suicides 10/10
Scarface 10/10 had to watch it with subtitles to understand al pacios accent
also hired the real cancun pretty funny stuff.
HorseHead
29 Jan 2007, 00:07
Virgin suicides 10/10Really? Not having a go at you here, but I found that to be one of the most excrutiatingly boring films I have ever seen. I made myself sit all the way through it on the off chance that it would improve...
Warwick
29 Jan 2007, 23:29
Seabiscuit.
I read the book by Laura Hillenbrand before the movie so i'm not sure how i would have rated it without the comparison.
As it stands, the book is heaps better than the movie. If you have read the book, don't bother with the movie, and conversely, if you enjoyed the movie, take a look at the book.
5.5/10
Brittany
29 Jan 2007, 23:57
Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds - Road To God Knows Where / Live At The Paradiso
TorresIsGod
30 Jan 2007, 10:14
Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds - Road To God Knows Where / Live At The Paradiso
Top choice there Brittany.
The Specialist (Stallone & Stone)
Brittany
30 Jan 2007, 19:43
Top choice there Brittany.
The Specialist (Stallone & Stone)
Thats mate, it was very good :thumbsu:
TorresIsGod
30 Jan 2007, 21:58
Thanks mate, it was very good :thumbsu:
I figured it would be.
American Pie 5: The Naked Mile (don't ask why, I'm bored as)... I'm sure it cannot be worse than Band Camp... hopefully...
docker_azza
31 Jan 2007, 10:37
Kingswood Country - Best Of - Volume 1, Disc Two.
Jeremias
31 Jan 2007, 13:04
Arrested Development-season 1
jorel6669
1 Feb 2007, 21:40
Just can't seem to keep the 2006 AFL Grand Final out of my DVD player...
Seriously, though, re-watched Kill Bill vols 1 and 2 the other night. Man I wish Tarantino is holding an alternative ending back for a future release, because the last half of vol 2 completely sucks.
Biggest. Letdown. Ever.
Just hired X Men 2 and 3
Lantana and Robin Williams Live On Broadway and also xXx the next level
Jeremias
2 Feb 2007, 22:01
Arrested Development season 1...still!
texascat
4 Feb 2007, 06:53
Yesterday was very hot, so just vegged in front of tv - watched High Fidelity and then Shaun of the Dead. Then after I realised they are both romantic comedies really and they both have the main focus on the bloke. Both very funny movies.
Shaun of the Dead. Then after I realised they are both romantic comedies really and they both have the main focus on the bloke. Both very funny movies.
Never figured I would see romantic comedy and Shaun of the Dead in the same post
Well done :thumbsu:
OneEyedHawk
4 Feb 2007, 10:22
Just watched 'Candy', have been meaning to see it for ages.:thumbsu:
Am also working my way through the 'Boston Legal' and 'Scrubs' series.
Jeremias
4 Feb 2007, 10:46
Hot Shots!
danielcan
4 Feb 2007, 11:52
Right at this minute, Bend It Like Beckham. About 26 minutes through it.
Love this movie.
Muunky Tuunk Man
5 Feb 2007, 09:31
I'm not watching it right now but I found a copy of "The Running Man" on DVD on Saturday so I got it and sat back yesterday and enjoyed it.
lachlan24
5 Feb 2007, 17:19
Oceans 12 and The Italian Job for me
The Inside Man
About to turn it off :thumbsd:
Greatness23
11 Feb 2007, 12:31
Chappelle's Show Season 2
Classic :thumbsu:
Jeremias
12 Feb 2007, 19:22
The Inside Man
Inside Man is a great movie...
Crosby87
12 Feb 2007, 19:30
Slapshot.
jacqui9
12 Feb 2007, 22:16
Slapshot.
Absolute pi**er :D
dont bowl there
13 Feb 2007, 12:16
Buffy: season 1.
Not the greatest series but still fun to watch. Im on Smallville series 2 now, it is getting beter and the characters are building. Love Lex!
apollo_creed
13 Feb 2007, 12:17
Buffy: season 1.
Alternate way of coming out?
Last King Of Scotland
Whittaker was good, MacAvoy was better
Well presented and the building of the confusion fear and madness within the country , Amin and the doctor was well done
4/5
Rod Stroker
16 Jun 2007, 01:02
The Inside Man
You cannot be serious? :eek:
Brilliant movie. Great original story, good acting, superb ending. I enjoyed it because it's one of the few movies I've seen in a while where *SPOILER ALERT*
the bad guy (or was he a good guy in the end? ;)) doesn't get caught.
My Mrs is overseas at the mo' so my DVD player has been copping a fair hiding lately:
Children Of Men (very graphic war scenes, think Saving Private Ryan)
Next (one of Nicholas Cage's better ones, well worth a look)
The Good Shepherd (average)
Crash (loved it)
I Trust You To Kill Me (Kiefer Sutherland, crap)
Wild Hogs (horrible)
Match Point (probably my favourite Scarlett Johansson flick)
Stranger Than Fiction (not your typical Will Ferrell movie but possibly the best one I've seen this year)
40 Year Old Virgin (right up my alley)
Love Actually (OK)
Russell Peters Outsourced (absolute cack-fest!)
God I love living in Sth East Asia where DVD's are available on most street corners for under $2 :)
Frasier Season 6 i've just completed
and
just bought the fifth season of Scrubs which i haven't looked at yet
TelkoTheGreat
17 Jun 2007, 12:29
I'm watching Xena Warrior Princess season 1 onwards, still gotta love it.
Mr Eagle
17 Jun 2007, 12:50
Monty Python's Flying Circus. Up to Series 3.
thewhippersnapper
18 Jun 2007, 21:04
scrubs season 3.
Brittany
18 Jun 2007, 23:16
The Incompleat Shaun Micallef.
The Best of the Footy Show 06 (NRL)
lachlan24
9 Oct 2007, 20:36
Shooter. It wasn't that bad either 7/10 for me
wce4premiership
9 Oct 2007, 21:25
the departed. :thumbsu:
SouthSwans
9 Oct 2007, 21:51
Shonky Golf - Mick Molloy
:thumbsu:/10
JuniorBurger
9 Oct 2007, 22:02
House season 3
24 season 6
The Departed
Talledega Nights
Baseketball
Arrested Development Season 1
Monty Python's Flying Circus. Up to Series 3.
Got the box set too, pretty disappointing with 0 extra features I suppose but the only way you can get the series. Season 3 is ok but season 4 is pretty rubbish (still some ok stuff but you've got to be a fan, but it still doesn't compare with 1-2).
ManWithNoName
10 Oct 2007, 14:57
The Fratellis Live: Edgy in Brixton
F--k Yeah :D
dont bowl there
10 Oct 2007, 15:02
Watched White Men Cant Jump last night. Such a great movie.
NitroFan
10 Oct 2007, 19:20
I'm making my way through my Curb Your Enthusiasm DVD's.
About half way through season 3 at the moment.
Mr Magoo
11 Oct 2007, 12:59
Oceans 13..... it was a lot better than oceans 12 that's for sure
Virgin suicides 10/10
great great movie..9/10:thumbsu:
just watched..
half nelson 9/10
punch-drunk love 10/10 (for about the 5th time)
bradrowe#32
31 Oct 2007, 10:31
Hired out a heap of weeklies the other day:
Munich: 9.5/10
Thumbsucker: 9/10
Transamerica: 10/10
Green Street Hooligans: 7/10
Good Night and Good Luck: 7/10
My Own Private Idaho: 6/10
The Constant Gardener: 7.5/10
And bought some:
Pearl Jam, Immagine in Cornice: 10/10
Summer Heights High: 9/10 (crap extras)
Mr Magoo
31 Oct 2007, 11:24
the transformers .... I didn't care for much of the dialog or the love story. The action scenes were really amazing, though.