View Full Version : South Africa vs Australia - 3rd Test.... Official Thread

SeinDude
15 Mar 2002, 12:04
3RD TEST:
South Africa vs Australia at Durban
Friday 15th March - Tuesday 19th March 2002

Starts 7:00pm tonight... cant wait!! :):)

SeinDude

Spogs
15 Mar 2002, 13:46
Without jumping too heavily on the bandwagon, what odds of Mark Waugh making between 40 and 47 in either innings.

Other than that though if this game's anything like the last one it's going to be a few very entertaining late nights coming up.

blurton
15 Mar 2002, 14:50
Put in Cullinan, Pollock, Rhodes, and even Monty and SA look a half decent side. Anyway, Rhodes is not going to play test cricket again, same with Cullinan I spose. Is Pollock back?

Kane McGoodwin
15 Mar 2002, 18:14
Aus 2/61 after Hayden out to Kallis for 28. The Waughs better pull their fingers out as we haven't go our usual century opening stand.

BW
15 Mar 2002, 18:39
Ponting is looking bloody fantastic, he's gonna pull off a big one for the north melbourne people :)

BW
15 Mar 2002, 19:00
Ponting is on 57 and looking fantastic, Mark Waugh will be lucky to get to 5 be4 lunch. Aus 2/104 and as i speak Waugh moves to 6 :D

Nic
15 Mar 2002, 19:55
2/130

Mark Waughs made it all the way to 23.

Deestroy
15 Mar 2002, 20:02
Not sure if anyone's reading/is interested... well wateva! :D
After a shaky start in which we lost both of our champion openers cheaply, the Aussies have picked up the pace.

Ponting is in fine touch hitting the ball all over the ground. Mark Waugh on the other hand is very... lucky. A few inside edges past the stumps for four... some thick edges through slips... Hopefully he can hit himself into some form, providing he doesn't get himself out first.

Australia are now 140/2 and are playing reasonable well.

Mark Waugh is 27 (47)
Ricky Ponting is 72 (86)

Waugh is definately looking more hungry for runs, hopefully he can pull off a big score!

BW
15 Mar 2002, 20:25
cmon punter do it for north, only 11 runs too go :)

Deestroy
15 Mar 2002, 20:28
Ponting OUT!! As quick as he is he couldn't beat the Gibbs throw, out by a few inch's. Stupid run with Ponting set up for another hundred... But you can't be in every time..

RT Ponting run out Gibbs 89 (100) 16x4

Mark Waugh is looking more comfortable on 39 (64) And his brother Steve has joined him in the middle. Both players are looking for big scores... Lets see what happens.

BW
15 Mar 2002, 20:29
fcuk i jinxed him bloody poof :mad:

Deestroy
15 Mar 2002, 20:44
And now Mark Waugh departs, edging the ball to slip. His problem was lack of foot-work, and it was a good catch by Smith. If the Aussie's lose another 1 or 2 quick wickets they risk getting bowled out cheaply.

ME Waugh c Smith b Kallis 45 (80b 8x4 0x6)

Coming out now is Martyn who joins Steve Waugh at the crease.
Steve being on 3 (9) So essentialy there are 2 new batsman.

i_luv_westcoast
15 Mar 2002, 20:46
Originally posted by Spogs
Without jumping too heavily on the bandwagon, what odds of Mark Waugh making between 40 and 47 in either innings.

Other than that though if this game's anything like the last one it's going to be a few very entertaining late nights coming up.

Your a legend mate, you picked it perfectly. Mark Waugh out for 45.

Deestroy
15 Mar 2002, 20:56
Well, well, well. Steve Waugh fails again, top edging the ball to the keeper. The replay showed a clear top edge, and Boucher took a tough catch.

SR Waugh c Boucher b Adams 7 (16b 1x4 0x6)

There has now been a minor collapse, losing 3/13 in 30 mins. The score is now 5/182, with Gilly joining Martyn at the crease.
Martyn is yet to score off 8 balls, we need Gilly to have another big inning.

RogerC
15 Mar 2002, 21:11
Steve Waugh average update: 50.04

He needs 42 in the second innings to preserve his 50 average. This won't be his last test, I imagine, but shades of Bradman here.

Good lord, isn't Gilly a freak! He really clouts it.

SeinDude
15 Mar 2002, 21:50
TEA - DAY ONE

Australia: 6 for 230

Damien Martyn was out bowled for 11 just before tea. Adam Gilchrist and Shane Warne are the not out batsman.

I am still hopeful for a score of 350+ as long as the tail supports Gilchrist while he smashes it around. :)

SeinDude

topdon
15 Mar 2002, 22:39
6/272

Gilchrist 57*

He is killin' em ... again! His average is lookin good!

Spogs
16 Mar 2002, 06:11
Poor middle order showing again. They won't drop Steve now but he really has to start pulling his weight again consistantly. Marto's struggled a bit is SA but his form over here was great.

M Waugh predictibly made a score that was enough to make it hard to drop him without really being convincing.

Best news of the day was Punters following up his century with another beautiful innings.

Australia 315 (Ponting 89, M Waugh 45Gilly 91)

South Africa 1/48 (Gibbs no.24, P Adams no. 0, Kirsten 21)

End day1

Santos L Helper
16 Mar 2002, 08:21
Steve Waugh must go!!

dogboy23
16 Mar 2002, 08:42
M.Waugh would have to hold the record for the most scratchy innings ever.At his best he is good to watch but more often than not he is almost painful to watch.

Santos L Helper
16 Mar 2002, 08:46
Originally posted by dogboy23
M.Waugh would have to hold the record for the most scratchy innings ever.At his best he is good to watch but more often than not he is almost painful to watch.

Agreed. It is painfully obvious that his best is well behind him.

Spogs
16 Mar 2002, 14:49
Thanks i_luv-westcoast but legend is a bit strong, I prefer the term genius. Wish I could have done the same on the horses though this afternoon. :cool:

daicos4ever
16 Mar 2002, 17:10
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Steve Waugh must go!!

Could not agree more. Please, for the sake of Australian cricket, please drop this white elephant at least until he remembers how to bat.

RoosLuver
16 Mar 2002, 17:53
Has the 2nd day started yet??

joshhem
16 Mar 2002, 17:55
yeah.... got hit around a bit at first, but then 2 wickets fell in 2 overs. lee got rid of adams and then mcgrath got rid of smith

score: 83/3
gibs-50
kalus-2

joshhem
16 Mar 2002, 18:02
Gibs OUT! 51

85/4

SeinDude
16 Mar 2002, 20:39
Australia: 315 all out

South Africa: 7 for 147

Hall and McKenzie are at the crease.

Shane Warne has 3 wickets, 2 of them with full tosses!! :)

SeinDude

Kane McGoodwin
16 Mar 2002, 21:26
South Africa collapsed to be all out for 167 to trail by 148 on the 1st innings. Hayden actually failed for one as Australia lose an early wicket - 1/4.

Nige_Bix
17 Mar 2002, 00:00
Well -its getting late - but its too interesting to go to bed yet at 6/120. With Gilly out to a great Kallis ball its time for Steve to see if he can put it up all those knockers etc. Hopefuul Warnie can help out with a few useful wellplaced swishes!

What a crumby decision against Damien Martyn - and I'd say he was stiff to go lbw in the 1st innings!!
Hmm - I wonder if the law of averages is going to catch up with Justin and Mat!

Oh No! just about to post and Warnies gone!! - 6/129!! - :eek: :eek: Hmm- Gillespie in before Lee

We need to set them over 300 at least. Now how will Steve bat with the tail - remembering that he is reluctant to keep the strike and has been criticised for this!!

Harry
17 Mar 2002, 00:31
Australia 8/150 lead South Africa by 298.
Looks like this might be another 3 day test match.
I still think the Aussies will win, despite the weak Aussie 2nd innings. I can't see RSA scoring 300+ to win.

Nige_Bix
17 Mar 2002, 00:38
28 wickets in nearly 2 days - will it be 30??

Steve not really protecting the tail!:confused:

We have a habit of dominating a team in a series but still manage to lose the odd match in a series.

I think SA will struggle to get 300+ - but you never know if you neve give it a go!! - look at Nathan Astle!! - what a great knock!!

Slax
17 Mar 2002, 00:48
Does it really mater, I can't see the tail scoring enough to cause SA any problems.

Bucks
17 Mar 2002, 11:01
WTF is wrong with Australia?? why do they consist and try to score at almost a run a ball?? whats the point!? ITS ONLY THE 2nd Day! Bloody Langer should be trying to see the new ball off instead of flashing at everything, Ponting aswell. Thats why we are 8/159 cause we are careless. Its only the 2nd day and theres heaps of time left, better play smart cricket, and now we might even lose!

Nige_Bix
17 Mar 2002, 13:46
Originally posted by Bucks
Langer should be trying to see the new ball off instead of flashing at everything, Ponting aswell. Thats why we are 8/159 cause we are careless. Its only the 2nd day and theres heaps of time left, better play smart cricket, and now we might even lose!

Couple of reasons - Langer has point to prove - for years a stodgy slow scoring batsman who suddenly decided to "break free" and Steve has given team a license to play "positive cricket" with an aim of scoring 300+ a day!

London Dave
17 Mar 2002, 17:23
Oz all out for 186, SA 335 to win.

Steve Waugh made 42, a top catch by Kallis at second slip.

Mike Proctor insists this is a good batting pitch...time will tell. Ball seemed to be doing a bit still.

RogerC
17 Mar 2002, 21:34
South Africa 1/150 nearing tea. Barring a piece of madness which caused Kirsten to be run out, South Africa are travelling nicely. Whenever Australia take a wicket, especially in these circumstances, they're very good at cranking the pressure up; but on this pitch, we can't win - South Africa will have to lose ie. get themselves out. And I don't put it past them to do that.

You'd think Lee got Kirsten out all by himself the way he carried on.

Santos L Helper
18 Mar 2002, 06:26
Originally posted by bluecrow
:D :D :) :) WOOOHOOOOOOOO :D

Finish them off boys!! :)

Yeah, 5-1. Big effort from the supposed powerhouse of international cricket.............winning a dead test. Sorry bluecrow but SA should come back and play us when they have a team capable of competing against us consistently and when it really counts.

dogboy23
18 Mar 2002, 09:32
Originally posted by chicken minute

BTW The Age really seems to have stuck the boot into Mark Waugh, saying that he should get dropped because he only averaged 33.80 this series. IMO that seems a reasonable average and is better than what Martyn and Langer managed this time around. It wasn't so long ago that the press had Warne written up as a has-been and almost a liability for the team. And what has he done? He's come good again and is a shoe-in for player of the series. Mark Waugh has the talent to do the same and it would seem odd to drop him him for Zimbabwe. Its more the manner in which he is scoring his runs.Langer and Martyn are hitting the ball aswell as they ever have while M.Waugh is looking horrible at the crease.IMO his slips fielding has helped to keep him in.BTW who will go in to second slip once he is gone?Perhaps move Ponting in there with a Martyn or Hayden coming into a third.

RogerC
18 Mar 2002, 10:13
I had a mate over to see the first session, and something he said came back to haunt me at stumps - he said if South Africa are around 4/240 or so at stumps, they'd stuggle to win.

Well, they're a little better on than that, but four down still could give them a sleepless night. I think it'll be a very tense first hour.

And like I said, they got themselves out. Every single wicket. Smith's was the worst, but Gibbs and McKenzie had no excuses either.

5-1 does appear comprehensive, but in context it doesn't look too bad. Last test could have gone either way, they were competetive up to a point in the first test over here. They lack composure in the big moments - tend to do stupid things like bowl badly under pressure or give up wickets. But they're a young side, it's not like we can play much better than we are - Warne, Gilchrist, Hayden, Ponting, McGrath are all doing all they can, and Langer and Martyn have dominated at times. It wouldn't hurt them to have a full list to choose from, and there's a lot of inexperience in their line-up, so if one side was to improve over the next couple of years, I'd put my money on South Africa.

It's great to actually hear McGrath's sledging, BTW.

Fat Red
18 Mar 2002, 10:39
Originally posted by RogerC

5-1 does appear comprehensive, but in context it doesn't look too bad.

You must be kidding. In context it looks even worse. After NZ gave the Australians a scare (helped by the weather), SA have been competitive only in the last 2 tests, which is when they've actually been injury hit. Doesn't look bad for the future, but the 90s generation of South African cricket has had it, the bowling lacks class without Pollock and the batting is inexperienced.

They have been comprehensively outclassed and Australia can only improve with the inclusion of Lehmann and Watson for the Waughs.

Team I'd like to see for Zimbabwe:

Hayden
Langer
Ponting (c)
Lehmann
Martyn
Gilchrist
Watson
Warne
Lee
Gillespie
McGrath

That would solve Australia's one big problem which is the over-reliance on 4 bowlers and especially McGrath.

Langer should give up trying to prove he's a one day player. I reckon he would prove it much better by playing his normal game, Gary Kirsten style.

neville
18 Mar 2002, 10:53

You'd think Lee got Kirsten out all by himself the way he carried on.

Does this surprise you? Lee does this with every wicket he gets, including those important 10 and 11's.

RogerC
18 Mar 2002, 17:05
That's a pretty big call, Fat Red.

I see the re-writing of history continues unabated. Helped by the weather indeed. In the first test arrogant captaincy and an underestimation of the quality of New Zealand very nearly lost us a test match. In the second test the first innings wasn't even completed. In the only unaffected test they outplayed us and very nearly won. You can hypothesize about the first test if you like, but would haves and should haves would have meant jack sh*t if we'd lost - and that was just a couple of Chris Cairns blows away.

The retirement of Donald, added to the unavailability of Hayward, Pollock and Ngam doesn't just set back their bowling - it negates it entirely. As I've said before, try bowling anyone out with an Australian team with Bichel retired, and McGrath, Lee and Watson unavailable.

Hayden, Gilchrist, Warne and (maybe) Langer give us an edge over any side in the world, but South Africa are clearly finding their feet. After an appalling first test, the second was still in the balance on day five, and with just a touch of composure they should win this one.

We'll see about Lehmann. Watson is clearly an unknown quantity. McGrath and Warne are irreplaceable, and both well on the wrong side of 30 - along with the vast majority of this side, and one of your Waugh replacements. Over the next couple of years we'll do very well if we can maintain any sort of superiority.

Fall Out Boy
18 Mar 2002, 17:54
4-297

Match all but over :(

Kane McGoodwin
18 Mar 2002, 18:13
Need a miracle 4/320.

Kane McGoodwin
18 Mar 2002, 18:29
Warne picked up Prince as his 2nd wicket. However, the game is all over (like Mark Waugh's career) as Boucher hits a 6.

SeinDude
18 Mar 2002, 18:33
Congratulations to the "Cricket Box" of South Africa on their test victory against Australia. They fully deserved the win as we batted terribly in the 2nd innings on a good batting track.

South Africa have achieved their highest score in the 4th innings to win a test match in their history. They made the 335 needed with 5 wickets in hand... this beats their previous best of 4 for 297 in 1952/53.

Well played South Africa... looking forward to the one-day series.

Cheers!! :)
SeinDude

JUBJUB
18 Mar 2002, 20:54
Whose Ngam ?

Fat Red
19 Mar 2002, 10:33
That's a pretty big call, Fat Red.

I see the re-writing of history continues unabated. Helped by the weather indeed. In the first test arrogant captaincy and an underestimation of the quality of New Zealand very nearly lost us a test match. In the second test the first innings wasn't even completed. In the only unaffected test they outplayed us and very nearly won. You can hypothesize about the first test if you like, but would haves and should haves would have meant jack sh*t if we'd lost - and that was just a couple of Chris Cairns blows away.

The retirement of Donald, added to the unavailability of Hayward, Pollock and Ngam doesn't just set back their bowling - it negates it entirely. As I've said before, try bowling anyone out with an Australian team with Bichel retired, and McGrath, Lee and Watson unavailable.

Hayden, Gilchrist, Warne and (maybe) Langer give us an edge over any side in the world, but South Africa are clearly finding their feet. After an appalling first test, the second was still in the balance on day five, and with just a touch of composure they should win this one.

We'll see about Lehmann. Watson is clearly an unknown quantity. McGrath and Warne are irreplaceable, and both well on the wrong side of 30 - along with the vast majority of this side, and one of your Waugh replacements. Over the next couple of years we'll do very well if we can maintain any sort of superiority.

Roger, you're contradicting yourself. What I am saying is that SA losing 5-1 to Australia is even worse in the context that NZ nearly beat Australia. If that was because NZ were actually better and not because of weather, all the worse for South Africa.

As for re-writing history, that's how I would describe paying too much attention to a dead test. That has been part of England's problem over the years, they win a dead match or two in an Ashes series and convince themselves on that basis that they're 'not too far off'.

Fat Red
19 Mar 2002, 10:43
First test: Australia played much better than NZ. Nearly lost the match, but as you say through arrogance, not through being outplayed. 5 days without rain, Australia would undoubtedly have won.

Second test: Yes only one innings, but 8/558 against 7/243 is fairly comprehensively superior. 5 days without rain, hard to see Australia losing, although a draw would still be possible and much stranger things have happened, at least twice!

Third test: Well outplayed in the first innings. Took risks to try to win the match and nearly got there, 60 runs short with 3 wickets in hand. Points to NZ, but very close. Draw a fair result.

RoosLuver
19 Mar 2002, 11:29
When do the one-dayers start??

GoEagles
19 Mar 2002, 13:22
Originally posted by RoosLuver
When do the one-dayers start??

Friday I believe

RogerC
19 Mar 2002, 14:02
Oh right, that's what you were getting at, Fat Red. Fair call, then.

Yep, there's no doubt South Africa have been appalling at times in both series. But the signs are there. Dead rubber or not, Australia never deliberately tank in a match - Steve Waugh has too much pride in our achievements for that. I think in that last test South Africa played all over us apart from their crap first innings effort. Brett Lee in his current form doesn't deserve 4 wickets in any innings, and rash strokes got most of them out.

Us too, admittedly, but what has been highlighted most effectively in the last two tests is more that our middle order is clueless. Shane Warne is outperforming them.

South Africa have amassed a couple of massive scores (470 in a second innings is pretty damn good, and 5-340 was heading the same way), and have managed to dismiss us cheaply a couple of times too. Right now they have to take their positives where they can find them.

Lehmann for either Waugh is only a short term solution. He's 32. Where are our next generation of cricketers? Surely they should be beating the door down with the opportunites being presented to them. Katich, Hussey, Hodge - they're dropping by the wayside. Jimmy Maher is good but he'll never be a Ricky Ponting or a Matthew Hayden.