View Full Version : Footy Tipping Competition 2007-Early start
Jeremias
30th January 2007, 16:10
Hi all,
Just wanted to inform you that I will be running a footy tipping competition here on The Blue room in 2007!
At the moment, spots are limited to 20, but if we have enough interest, we may expand.
Negotiations are still in their early stages, so the prize for the winner is unknown at this present time, but as we get closer, I will inform you all.
As for the rules, well there won't be too many, just the basics:
1)You must be a Carlton supporter
2)You must post regularly
3)You must get your tips in by a specific time each round, of which you will be notified later. Failure to do so will result in you getting a 0 for that round
4)Most importantly, have fun. We are all Carlton supporters, and this should be entertaining.
Draws will probably result in half tips being awarded, but, once again, that will be decided closer to the season.
I imagine this will be pretty popular amongst us, so try and get in as early as possible. If we don't organise a prise, we can keep it going anyway.
If you join, you must provide an email address, and notify me whether you use MSN or not. MSN and PM will be the primary means of giving me your tips, email as a last resort.
At this present stage, as there is a while to go before the season starts, some details about this competition will be a little vague. However, join up ASAP, and details will become much clearer as the season grows nearer.
If you are interested, post in this thread to notify me.
Cheers :thumbsu:
Interested tippers:
1. Jeremias
2. douls
3. sticks74
4. bluegal1983
5. muji
6. sherb
7. Djibril Cisse
8. NWTYRX
9. AndyWalkersGirl
10. Sublime
11. murphster
12. whippersnipper
13. hong_kong_bond
14. HugeBluesFan
15. mediumsizered
douls
30th January 2007, 16:51
Count me in :thumbsu:
sticks74
30th January 2007, 17:15
Im in Jeremias!
Maybe we can put in $20.00 each and winner takes all...something to make it interesting...Just a thought!
bluegal1983
30th January 2007, 17:38
Count me in :D
Muji
30th January 2007, 18:28
I'm in too.
sherb
30th January 2007, 19:10
I'll be part of it as well. :thumbsu:
Djibril Cisse
30th January 2007, 20:18
I hope you reserved a spot for me :thumbsu:
NWTYRX is in too mate :D
Just a thought: As I will be tipping Carlton each round myself, should we all automatically have to tip Carlton?
AndyWalkersGirl
30th January 2007, 20:36
I'm in :)
Sublime
30th January 2007, 20:47
I'll have a crack.
At least with me participating everyone else will be guaranteed to not finish last :( :p
sherb
30th January 2007, 20:52
Just a thought: As I will be tipping Carlton each round myself, should we all automatically have to tip Carlton?
You can't let sentiment dictate who you pick in a tipping competition DC, especially where money is at stake. :p
Djibril Cisse
31st January 2007, 06:50
Well, regardless of what you guys, I always have tipped Carlton every week and always will.
I get my fixture before round 1 and fill in all of Carlton's games, no matter who we are playing and where, I always tip Carlton
Jeremias
31st January 2007, 07:39
As it stands, we have 10 interested tippers. I have included an updated list of tippers in my original post in this thread.
That's a great response for the first day that the competition has been open. Looks like we may have to expand to more than 20 places if the interest continues to be large.
Once again, thanks for joining up, guys and girls :thumbsu:
Jeremias
31st January 2007, 07:41
Nope-not everyone tips with their heart.
Me, for example-I tip with my head, so I tip against the Blues quite often.
Some people want to win! :p
douls
31st January 2007, 07:56
Nope-not everyone tips with their heart.
Me, for example-I tip with my head, so I tip against the Blues quite often.
Some people want to win! :p
exactly ;)
Was easy in the years gone by to just pencil us in for a win, but it's generally throwing away your tip these days unfortunatley :o
murphster
31st January 2007, 12:50
Yeah count me in Jerimias, just let me know the details:thumbsu:
Jeremias
31st January 2007, 12:54
Yeah count me in Jerimias, just let me know the details:thumbsu:
Thanks for joining :thumbsu:
Everyone will be notified of the details closer to the start of the season when the everything is organised.
I'm currently working on a few initiatives which may help this competition become very innovative, and I will pose these to you all, but that will also be closer to the start of the season.
whippersnipper
31st January 2007, 15:15
Count me in:thumbsu:
Jeremias
31st January 2007, 15:21
Count me in:thumbsu:
Sure-thanks for joining.
hong_kong_bond
1st February 2007, 15:44
I'll have a crack as well.
Guaranteed last spot is right here :thumbsd:
Jeremias
1st February 2007, 15:52
I'll have a crack as well.
Guaranteed last spot is right here :thumbsd:
Thanks for joining.
Don't be so negative from the beginning, it's a new season-anything can happen...
Jeremias
1st February 2007, 15:53
Looking for some, if not all of our moderators to join up as well...
hong_kong_bond
1st February 2007, 15:56
Thanks for joining.
Don't be so negative from the beginning, it's a new season-anything can happen...
since leaving Australia - my tipping form has gone down hill dramatically. Used to consistenly win or place in most comps I entered...
Disadvantage of not getting to see as many games...particularly live.
Only 3 games in the last 2 seasons....:thumbsd:
Never mind - the only way is up...Hopefully that is the theme for this year in more ways than one...:thumbsu:
Jeremias
1st February 2007, 16:00
since leaving Australia - my tipping form has gone down hill dramatically. Used to consistenly win or place in most comps I entered...
Disadvantage of not getting to see as many games...particularly live.
Only 3 games in the last 2 seasons....:thumbsd:
Never mind - the only way is up...Hopefully that is the theme for this year in more ways than one...:thumbsu:
Stick around the forums and AFL sites as much as possible, and you should be fine. :thumbsu:
hong_kong_bond
1st February 2007, 16:17
Stick around the forums and AFL sites as much as possible, and you should be fine. :thumbsu:
believe me I do....
no substitute for the real thing though.
At least the TV coverage up here is pretty good though - 5 games a week, with usually 3 of them being live :thumbsu: ...hopefully they show a few more Carlton games this year
Funkalicous
1st February 2007, 19:27
Thanks for joining :thumbsu:
Everyone will be notified of the details closer to the start of the season when the everything is organised.
I'm currently working on a few initiatives which may help this competition become very innovative, and I will pose these to you all, but that will also be closer to the start of the season.
I'm curious as to what those initiatives are, Jeremias. There might be some way that I could help.
Jeremias
2nd February 2007, 14:54
I'm curious as to what those initiatives are, Jeremias. There might be some way that I could help.
If you are interested in joining, I'll PM them to you.
You in?
bluegal1983
3rd February 2007, 07:45
If you are interested in joining, I'll PM them to you.
You in?
Can you fill us all in J?
Jeremias
3rd February 2007, 09:39
Can you fill us all in J?
maybe :p
If you're super super nice!
The Old Dark Navy's
3rd February 2007, 10:57
Not the initiatives you discussed with me J? Those are commonplace on BF.
The Old Dark Navy's
3rd February 2007, 11:17
If you guys want to do it online, then simply go here:
http://www.footytips.com.au/cfm/ft/engine/engine.cfm?CFID=12179901&CFTOKEN=cb50a13c61e99b37-85633512-3048-85B0-54B1D5E55C6FF874&r=913411109889&fg=competitions&ff=compsearch
I have set up a comp called BigFooty Blues in case that is your preferred option. Completely automated and it sends reminders. Just have to register.
bluegal1983
3rd February 2007, 11:56
If you guys want to do it online, then simply go here:
http://www.footytips.com.au/cfm/ft/engine/engine.cfm?CFID=12179901&CFTOKEN=cb50a13c61e99b37-85633512-3048-85B0-54B1D5E55C6FF874&r=913411109889&fg=competitions&ff=compsearch
I have set up a comp called BigFooty Blues in case that is your preferred option. Completely automated and it sends reminders. Just have to register.
We need to know the online password in order to join the comp.
The Old Dark Navy's
3rd February 2007, 12:05
Blues07
HBF
3rd February 2007, 14:31
J, i'll be in if there are still enough positions. I think you know that I post regularly around here.
Jeremias
3rd February 2007, 15:42
J, i'll be in if there are still enough positions. I think you know that I post regularly around here.
I don't think you post enough around here to be included! :p
ODN, I was thinking more of a competition run on here. What does everyone else think?
whippersnipper
3rd February 2007, 15:45
ODN, I was thinking more of a competition run on here. What does everyone else think?
I be happy to have one on here. I know who well you organised the Draft, so I know there wouldnt be any problems.
Besides, having it on BF is much easier than having it on a different site.
Sublime
3rd February 2007, 15:46
I just joined the one at footytips. :thumbsu:
HBF
3rd February 2007, 15:50
Myabe I need to increase my post count.
Just give me the details when you have them J. We still have the best part of 2 months to organise it.
Jeremias
3rd February 2007, 16:03
Myabe I need to increase my post count.
Just give me the details when you have them J. We still have the best part of 2 months to organise it.
You definitely need to increase your post count, HBF. You're not posting here much at all these days.....:p
I'll add you to the competition, so whether we have it on here or on the other site, you will be a participant. Thanks for joining :thumbsu:
The Old Dark Navy's
3rd February 2007, 16:30
I'm not too worried folks, just makes it easy to log in, nobody knows your picks until the weekend is over so they can't change their opinion to counteract yours towards the end.
Majority rules.
HBF
3rd February 2007, 21:41
You definitely need to increase your post count, HBF. You're not posting here much at all these days.....:p
I'll see what I can do J.
I'll add you to the competition, so whether we have it on here or on the other site, you will be a participant. Thanks for joining :thumbsu:
Would be great if we could have it on here, but either way, just give me the details when it was ready to go.
bluegal1983
4th February 2007, 14:40
I just joined the one at footytips. :thumbsu:
Me too. Much easier. All automated and eliminates human error.
Jeremias
19th February 2007, 20:00
BUMP.
Just a reminder that the competition is still running, and if you haven't joined up as of yet, there are still spots available.
Also, news on the prize front. Chief has agreed to give the winner a free year subscription to the BFSC, which is very good. Also, he has been generous enough to offer the winner a BigFooty T-shirt.
What I would like to know is-would you prefer there be a monetary prize or the T-Shirt?
Just let me know.
Thanks guys.
cfc05
19th February 2007, 20:10
Geez pulled out the big guns on that J, got a few nice prizes!
Any decision made on wether this is going to be run by you on here or at the footytips site?
Jeremias
19th February 2007, 20:22
Geez pulled out the big guns on that J, got a few nice prizes!
Any decision made on wether this is going to be run by you on here or at the footytips site?
Yeah, I had my eye set on the BFSC membership from the word go.
Chief has been very generous to accept that as well as offering a T-Shirt.
Looks like the competition will be run on the other website, as there has been a more positive reaction to running it there.
cfc05
19th February 2007, 20:24
Well thanks for getting it up and going!!
Same to you ODN.
Interesting side note aswell - Do we all have to tip Carlton, surely we cant tip against our own team!!!
Jeremias
19th February 2007, 20:28
Well thanks for getting it up and going!!
Same to you ODN.
Interesting side note aswell - Do we all have to tip Carlton, surely we cant tip against our own team!!!
No worries, hopefully we can have a bit of fun with it.
And no, we don't have to all tip Carlton. I prefer to tip with my head and not my heart. Each to their own.
A reminder that there are plenty of spots available, so sign up, it will be a lot of fun.
Djibril Cisse
19th February 2007, 22:09
I'm in Jerry, oh wait, I already am, aren't i? :p
Jeremias
19th February 2007, 22:10
I'm in Jerry, oh wait, I already am, aren't i? :p
Not sure, mate.
Did you sign up on the other website?
The Old Dark Navy's
19th February 2007, 22:23
The t-shirt is no given folks. Depends on stocks and sizes. Would do well not to expect it for sure.
Jeremias
19th February 2007, 22:28
The t-shirt is no given folks. Depends on stocks and sizes. Would do well not to expect it for sure.
That's why I suggested a monetary prize as well as the BFSC subscription.
That's probably better than the T-Shirt, anyway.
FWIW I would prefer the money-what the hell am I going to do with a BigFooty T-Shirt! :D
Seriously, thanks Chief for offering/suggesting it, but I don't think it's a winner.
:thumbsu:
Funkalicous
21st February 2007, 10:13
Doesn't Chief have a box of shirts in his attic?
He may as well just order a medium now though. :cool:
PS. What's the link?
big_sav
26th February 2007, 18:06
count me in:thumbsu:
Jeremias
26th February 2007, 18:12
count me in:thumbsu:
Make sure you sign up for the competition on the footy tipping site-that's where we will be running the competition.
HBF
27th February 2007, 06:49
Make sure you sign up for the competition on the footy tipping site-that's where we will be running the competition.
Got the link there J?
cfc05
27th February 2007, 07:46
Thats the link HBF, ODN set up out league as the bigfooty blues... password Blues07.
Djibril Cisse
27th February 2007, 12:56
Thats the link HBF, ODN set up out league as the bigfooty blues... password Blues07.
Good work guys, just signed up now.
Jeremias
27th February 2007, 14:32
Good work guys, just signed up now.
Good to hear :thumbsu:
Come on fellow Blues supporters, keep signing up...
cfc05
27th February 2007, 15:35
Is there any limit on numbers J?
Will cheif withdraw the prize if less than 20 sign up or something?
Jeremias
27th February 2007, 16:31
Is there any limit on numbers J?
Will cheif withdraw the prize if less than 20 sign up or something?
No, I don't think so.
And no, I don't think so.
;)
Djibril Cisse
27th February 2007, 16:43
No, I don't think so.
And no, I don't think so.
;)
Really? Are you sure?
Jeremias
27th February 2007, 17:28
Really? Are you sure?
Maybe.
Maybe.
Djibril Cisse
2nd March 2007, 15:01
Maybe.
Maybe.
Fair enough.
Funkalicous
5th March 2007, 22:18
Sweet. I'm in. :cool:
AndSmithMustScore
11th March 2007, 11:16
I'll be in it.
bexta444
12th March 2007, 21:47
Yep definately, Thanks!
Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 21:56
Yep definately, Thanks!
Hey bexta, nice to have you back sexy ;) :D
Sublime
13th March 2007, 00:12
You're gone buddy. ;)
bexta444
14th March 2007, 20:44
Hey Gilly! Haha your a stirer! :o
Gilly1972
15th March 2007, 09:11
Hey Gilly! Haha your a stirer! :o
Yes, but now I know how cute you really are....all i can say is don't come to visit Melbourne without sub :D ;)
bexta444
16th March 2007, 19:21
Ooooh I'm on notice! :p
How smooth are you Gilly! :o
Gilly1972
16th March 2007, 19:52
Ooooh I'm on notice! :p
How smooth are you Gilly! :o
So Sublime told you about my "success" at Crown ?? :D
bexta444
16th March 2007, 19:56
No actually but I'll have to ask him now! :D
blues4flag
16th March 2007, 22:11
I joined. Not a great tipper, although with you lot as my competition it'll be no challenge:cool:
The Old Dark Navy's
22nd March 2007, 10:31
Have handed the automated comp over to Jeremias due to time contraints.
Gilly1972
22nd March 2007, 11:02
A bit like handing an orphanage over to a catholic priest.....watch out for Jeremias picking 7 winners the first two weeks (8 would be too obvious, he will drop one on purpose) :o :D
Jeremias
22nd March 2007, 18:38
Glad to see you trust me so! :D
What powers does that give me?
On a side note, I call on other posters to sign up. HBF, MS, AWG, NWTYRX etc. but really any Carlton supporter.
BTW who is Jack? Is it you, big_sav?
The Old Dark Navy's
22nd March 2007, 23:01
I don't trust you at all J. Just that the original comp was at your instigation and I thought you would sook if I gave it to anyone else, ;)
sherb
22nd March 2007, 23:04
Glad to see you trust me so! :D
What powers does that give me?
On a side note, I call on other posters to sign up. HBF, MS, AWG, NWTYRX etc. but really any Carlton supporter.
BTW who is Jack? Is it you, big_sav?
I will sign up in the next couple of days. :thumbsu:
Perhaps you should put a post up on the main Carlton mb reminding them about the competition again Jeremias. :)
Thrawn
22nd March 2007, 23:04
I see there are 5 places left?
Add me in.
The Old Dark Navy's
22nd March 2007, 23:07
Thrawn, you have to add yourself in by registering. I hope my brain doesn't turn to mush when I retire from modding. I want to go senile on the job.
Thrawn
22nd March 2007, 23:16
Thrawn, you have to add yourself in by registering. I hope my brain doesn't turn to mush when I retire from modding. I want to go senile on the job.
Yes, I just got bothered to read the whole thread. ;)
Done.
Looking forward to it!
cfc05
23rd March 2007, 09:25
That would be me J..... i will change it to lappinitup, as that has been my name in most dreamteam/tippining style comps.
Jeremias
23rd March 2007, 10:39
That would be me J..... i will change it to lappinitup, as that has been my name in most dreamteam/tippining style comps.
Why don't you change it to your BigFooty name like most of the tippers have done so it will be easier to identify?
Thalidomide
23rd March 2007, 11:00
I'm in!
bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 13:36
You won Supercoach last year didn't you? Did you join our league this year?
cfc05
23rd March 2007, 14:19
Changed to CFC05 for you J, just in case people couldnt cope with another naame.
Havnt gone in the carlton supercoach league, is it full? - i didnt go in because i usually do it with a group of mates and i dont know what there doing this yr
sherb
23rd March 2007, 18:47
I'm there now. :thumbsu:
I have just got to remember to enter my tips each week, but I think I have set it so I get a reminder email.
At least I hope I have......:)
AndSmithMustScore
25th March 2007, 15:11
Ok, signed up.
Hope there's a prize for last.
bluegal1983
27th March 2007, 22:49
So what's the deal with the footy tipping comp this year?
Is there a cost per round? What are the prizes?
Jeremias
27th March 2007, 22:53
So what's the deal with the footy tipping comp this year?
Is there a cost per round? What are the prizes?
No idea, but the current prize for the winner of this competition is a years free subscription to the bigfooty supporters club.
bluegal1983
27th March 2007, 22:56
No idea, but the current prize for the winner of this competition is a years free subscription to the bigfooty supporters club.
But I already get that with my JK sponsorship
AndSmithMustScore
27th March 2007, 23:00
And one for last too?
Jeremias
27th March 2007, 23:00
But I already get that with my JK sponsorship
Some of the participants, including myself, don't have that though.
And since you aren't going to win, the prizes shouldn't really affect you!
:p :D :thumbsu:
Jeremias
27th March 2007, 23:01
And one for last too?
I don't think so, ASMS.
Could be wrong though.
AndSmithMustScore
27th March 2007, 23:51
I don't think so, ASMS.
Could be wrong though.
I hope so.
It's as hard to come last as it is to come first.
Jeremias
28th March 2007, 10:03
I hope so.
It's as hard to come last as it is to come first.
Not really.
Not tipping at all practically guarrantees you last place.
:D
AndSmithMustScore
28th March 2007, 11:29
Not really.
Not tipping at all practically guarrantees you last place.
:D
Knowledge can be a dangerous weapon.
It's why women with no idea about football often win footy tipping comps.
And why ya granny picks the Melbourne Cup winner more often than you do.
Jeremias
29th March 2007, 17:54
To all participants:
Don't forget to submit your round 1 tips some time within the next 24 hours.
Good luck to all-may the best tipper (me :D), win.
Djibril Cisse
29th March 2007, 18:42
Just done all 22 rounds of tips!
Go the Blues!
sherb
29th March 2007, 19:18
To all participants:
Don't forget to submit your round 1 tips some time within the next 24 hours.
Good luck to all-may the best tipper (me :D), win.
Tips locked in. :)