View Full Version : Whippety Boy's Ground Reports
whippety boy
8th February 2007, 09:37
Over the next month Whippety Boy will travel the western region far and wide to give some general feedback on the state of the grounds in both the division 1 & 2 of the WRFL.
Sunshine Heights Football Club - Ainsworth Reserve
After strolling the Home of the Dragons yesterday I was somewhat surprised at the dryness of the ground on the Glengala side of the Rd.
If I was a wingman, which I'm not (I'm a gun forward) I would be heading straight across to the northern side of the ground where the grass cover is pretty good. The turf pitches in the middle as well at either end of the ground where the juniors play on a Friday night could also pose problems down the track.
If a practice game was scheduled at this very minute there would be definitely issues realated to the south side and the hardness of the that area. Hopefully a good down pour could rectify the problem.
New additions to the ground include a new park bench under the new scoreboard and the exterior of the club rooms have been painted. The high black cricket fences around the wings, which were erected last year also look ace.
Ground Rating: 5.5/10.
Stay tuned for more!!
GoesBangFrom50
8th February 2007, 09:49
Great report Whippety. I beleive the reason for the grass cover on the Northern side of the ground may be attributed to players and supporters staggering out of the Glengala and urinating on that side of the ground... (Mentioned on the Div 2 thread) ...seems to be doing the trick. Next time i'm in for a Pot I'll ask the boys to concentrate a bit more on the other wing.
Note for all opposition: Keep your feet at Heights
whippety boy
8th February 2007, 12:29
Nth Sunshine Football Club - Dempster Park
******** this is a big, big, big ground!!! It is nearly wider than it is long.
I can understand why North Sunshine changed their name from Crossroads to the Roadrunners.
This ground can be basically described as a sheep dog's wet dream. If you couldn't find space on this ground then find something else to do on Saturdays in winter.
The ground looks like an American Quilt. It is green in patches and very very dry in others. The big problem I can forsee is that where it is predominately dry, down the corridor, is where you would like to play this ground. Like Ainsworth Reserve some decent rain could rectify this problem.
Some new seats in front of the 'Tom O'Brian' Pavillion look swell. This looks like it could be a pretty windy place in August.
Ground Rating: 6/10
I_know_everything
8th February 2007, 15:42
Whippity,Yarraville's ground is looking great,a little patchy in places,getting good water each week,only training once a week as using seddon and another ground for the other two nights.
Rating 8/10
newton
8th February 2007, 16:50
Whippity,Yarraville's ground is looking great,a little patchy in places,getting good water each week,only training once a week as using seddon and another ground for the other two nights.
Rating 8/10Whippety wont be happy you cutting his lunch :p
whippety boy
8th February 2007, 17:23
Parkside Football Club- Merv Hughes Oval
This ground would have to be every Division One footballers best friend.
In a word it is amazing!:thumbsu:
If you could draw an analogy to a Brazilian wax on Jennifer Hawkins you wouldn't hesitate going down on it....
When I was wandering across the lush outfield I could just imagine Whippety Boy going for one of those trademark hangers without fear of injuring himself when he hit the turf from 3 metres above.
The ground is in tip top shape and although their hangs a dark cloud over the Magpies prospects in 2007 they can at least lay claim to having the best ground in the business.
It's a fair size of a ground and I could imagine teams getting lost on the wings and in the pockets...
Kick it down the ********ing guts I can hear Rock shouting, while Obe1 scratches his head from the sidelines as another centre square break goes far and wide into the dark corners of Merv's Oval.
Rating 9/10
high_flier
8th February 2007, 17:46
Are you going to make your way to the colts for a ground report tonight wippy if you get there quick you might be able to say hello to the boys and introduce yourself at training
whippety boy
8th February 2007, 17:48
Are you going to make your way to the colts for a ground report tonight wippy if you get there quick you might be able to say hello to the boys and introduce yourself at trainingThe Colts ground is on the radar in the next week or so. Probably best to head down there on Sunday arvo.
Tony Delaney
8th February 2007, 18:51
The Colts ground is on the radar in the next week or so. Probably best to head down there on Sunday arvo.
I would probably suggest about 3 in the morning might be a good idea.
whippety boy
9th February 2007, 06:25
Glenordan Football Club - Heatherdale Oval
To be perfectly honest I expected a hell of alot worse. The ground itself is in fair condition, however there are parts of it that are real worry.
The concrete cricket pitch will need to be covered before the season starts which will result with one of those annoying sand mounds that you get at some suburban grounds when they have an artificial wicket.
Also in front of the practice nets there would be a 30x30 metre patch of dirt that takes up most of the forward pocket at the clubroom ends. Pack the benedine boys this could be horrific on the elbows and knees!!:o
Most of the ground is greenish, however you wouldn't call the ground cover even. There are tuffs of grass everywhere. The boundaries and goal squares are as hard as rock.
This is a pretty intimidating place actually! As I was inspecting the ground there was a group of locals having a hit of cricket. No teeth, longbeach cigarrettes, jimbean cans and aggression. Pretty much sums it up.
The surroundings are Ugly. Nestled in amongst a backdrop of commission houses I can just see the neighbours jumping their back fences, slab in hand, when the game starts.
The club looks like they have spent a bit of cash on building a very impressive doubled teared terrace in front of the social club, but if I was an opposition supporter I would stay well clear of this area.
Rating 5/10
whippety boy
9th February 2007, 10:42
Albion Football Club - JR Parsons Reserve
The home of the Cats or should I say the home of the pretenders...Albion people aren't going to like this but it is about time the boys from Wright Street extracted the digit. For far too long they have offered plenty but delivered little.
One thing in their favour though is they have a very good ground. It really is the perfect size for paddock football. After inspecting it this morning Whippety Boy was quite impressed with the general condition of the surface. Sure it is a little firm all over and very dry and bare in the goal square, at the city end of the ground, but overall the ground has a pretty even spread of grass. With some more rain in the coming weeks this ground, which is surrounded by lovely gum trees and a fanatastic wind break (the silos) should come up a treat come the start of the season.
Like most of the ovals in the Brimbank precinct some new bench seats have been placed in front of the social rooms for the long suffering Albion faithful to watch the proceedings unfold.
Rating 6.5/10
whippety boy
9th February 2007, 11:03
Sunshine Kangaroos Football Club - Kinder Smith Reserve
Whippety Boy played school footy here once and it was great to reminisce about his match winning 6 goal haul.
The ground itself is good and like Parson Reserve it is a good size....
The goal posts let this ground down though. They are crooked and they make the ground look cheap to a certain extent. The ground cover is even all over except for some dry patches around the turf cricket pitch in the middle, which will be ok once the season begins.
If you're a full forward on this ground you would have to be careful not to boot the pill too far over Lily Street and into the house directly behind the goals. When I played school footy here I did just that and the lady living in the house refused to return the ball. If that lady reads Bigfooty I would just like to tell you that you're one hell of a lucky old bat to have the ball the great ones boot touched.
Rating 6.5/10
1's.good.2's.beta
9th February 2007, 14:53
Congratulations Whippety Boy, it is quite refreshing to read something other than the crap that has been going on of late.
Looking forward of your reviews of Kings Park and Murphys.
Keep up the good work:thumbsu:
PS . if your footy form is of the same standard as your penmanship, then perhaps it is a time for a comeback??
whippety boy
9th February 2007, 19:24
Western Magpies Football Club - Laverton Park
Does everyone remember the Aussie band Redgum and their smash hit in the 80's 'I was only 19'?
Well if you do there is a classic line in that song that goes "And tell me doctor why I still can't get to sleep, and why the Channel Seven Chopper chills me to my feet". This refers to a Vietnam Veteran's constant nighmares and reminders of a horrible war.
Well when I drove through the front gates of Laverton Park this afternoon this particular ground certainly chilled me to my feet.....
I have horrible memories of travelling to this hell hole as a junior. I'm not ashamed to say that this place as an innocent 9 year old use to scare the ******** out of me. Maybe it's changed, I don't know but when I walked the ground today I could almost feel someones clenched fist connecting with the back of my head.
As a junior Whippety Boy kicked one of the great goals seen in local footy when he snapped the ball directly over his shoulder from an impossible angle. The locals said it was a point but the umpire said it was a goal, so the Laverton boys spent the rest of the morning trying to kill me.
The ground is the worst I've seen so far and certainly the hardest. From the road there is a tinge of green but on a closer inspection it is as dry as a nun's you know what. There is no way games can be played on Laverton Park in its current state. Someone could get seriously injured or killed.
Without sounding condescending I really feel for clubs like the Western Magpies. I peeped through the Social Club rooms and they are just so modest it's not funny, and 10 minutes down the road there is a club like Hoppers Crossing.
Rating 4.5/10
whippety boy
9th February 2007, 19:55
Hoppers Crossing Football Club - Hogans Road
First thing I would like to say is the Warriors Junior ground next door to the main oval is totally rooted...It will be interesting to see where their Juniors will start the season.
The Main oval is a little bit of a worry as well. It is so hard and dry at the moment and there is no way praccy games could be schedule here. The biggest concern though is 60x30 metre dirt patch on the scoreboard wing. Someone explain how this is going to be ready for the start of the season? After doing some further investigating there are a number of dangerous potholes and uneven sections on the ground, especially the Hogan's rd goal square. Oucch!!!!
As you would expect Hoppers are trying their damdest to to disguise the problem and from the car park the ground doesn't look that bad.
Michael Frost wouldn't want his players wearing anything but runners on this ground during the pre-saeson.
This is another big club ground with ******** goal posts. They aren't up at the moment but I remember them from previous years. they are small and cheap.
Rating 5/10
Gotheroos
10th February 2007, 07:24
Good write ups Whippty. Looking forward to see your review on the rest of the grounds.
bully84
10th February 2007, 10:15
Hoppers Crossing Football Club - Hogans Road
First thing I would like to say is the Warriors Junior ground next door to the main oval is totally rooted...It will be interesting to see where their Juniors will start the season.
The Main oval is a little bit of a worry as well. It is so hard and dry at the moment and there is no way praccy games could be schedule here. The biggest concern though is 60x30 metre dirt patch on the scoreboard wing. Someone explain how this is going to be ready for the start of the season? After doing some further investigating there are a number of dangerous potholes and uneven sections on the ground, especially the Hogan's rd goal square. Oucch!!!!
As you would expect Hoppers are trying their damdest to to disguise the problem and from the car park the ground doesn't look that bad.
Michael Frost wouldn't want his players wearing anything but runners on this ground during the pre-saeson.
This is another big club ground with ******** goal posts. They aren't up at the moment but I remember them from previous years. they are small and cheap.
Rating 5/10
It might pay you to head down to Chirnside Park because talk's ongoing with council about ground sharing with the mighty Tiger's .Main sticking point being who get's the bigger share of the bar sale's.This leaves Hoppers main ground for the juniors if it goes ahead.You enjoy talking yourself up are you still having a kick ,if so who with.
whippety boy
10th February 2007, 20:41
St. Albans Football Club - Kings Park
It was Saturday morning when I checked out Kings Park and I'm 100% sure I saw Debbie Lee walking out of the main rooms with a huge smile on her face.
Could the former Spur's star and queen of Women's football be making a play as the new assistant coach at St.Albans....Time will only tell. A disappointing few years by the Demons could see the larger than life figure inject some much needed spirit and enthusiasm into the somewhat lack lustre crew at St.Albans.
The ground itself is very dry and and there are lots of bare patches around the centre square and the forward line at the social club rooms end. This joint is in need of some water and lots of it.
This is the perfect sized football ground and unlike most of the other grounds I have graced over the last few days it's a traditional footy oval not a cricket ground like many others.
Although the ground is struggling, because of the drought, the same can't be said about the surrounding facilities. A new fence has been erected at the main end as well as a huge net behind the goals to stop the ball heading into the car park and onto the road. ******** it's handy having pokies!!!!
This place has some impressive lights as well. Four giant light towers surround the boundary and there is no doubt night games could be fixtured here....Whippety Boy suggests St.Alban's host Friday night games at Kings Park followed by a massive rave party in the glassed social club area.....I will make a special guest appearance if you like!!!;)
Rating: 5/10
whippety boy
10th February 2007, 21:09
Albanvale Football Club - Robert Bruce Reserve
The work they did on this ground a year or two back has certainly paid dividends. Although there is only a tinge of green about the surface it actually has excellent grass cover except for a bare section on the HFF in front of the wierd looking pavillion they call a social club..... It's quite soft under foot as well.
If the Cobras could somehow muster a deal to swap facilities with thier neighbours St.Albans then they would be right in business.
As a full forward and car lover I would have real problems concentrating on this ground. Although I'm confident I would kick a lazy 6 or 7 here, a bag of 10 would probably be out of the question, because I would be continually distracted by the impressive array of vehicles heading up and down Station Street...
As I eluded to the facilities here are very basic but it's great to see one of the Albanvale supporters has erected their own sign (Pete's Pocket) next to the changerooms. This fellow must be a real character or most likely a pain in the arse.
Rating: 6.5/10
obe1
11th February 2007, 10:50
Albanvale Football Club - Robert Bruce Reserve
The work they did on this ground a year or two back has certainly paid dividends. Although there is only a tinge of green about the surface it actually has excellent grass cover except for a bare section on the HFF in front of the wierd looking pavillion they call a social club..... It's quite soft under foot as well.
If the Cobras could somehow muster a deal to swap facilities with thier neighbours St.Albans then they would be right in business.
As a full forward and car lover I would have real problems concentrating on this ground. Although I'm confident I would kick a lazy 6 or 7 here, a bag of 10 would probably be out of the question, because I would be continually distracted by the impressive array of vehicles heading up and down Station Street...
As I eluded to the facilities here are very basic but it's great to see one of the Albanvale supporters has erected their own sign (Pete's Pocket) next to the changerooms. This fellow must be a real character or most likely a pain in the arse.
Rating: 6.5/10
The sign has been erected out of respect for a past member, parent and coach that passed away a few years back after suffering a heart attack on the training track. Peter's two sons continue to play at the club and are well respected young men as was the case with their old man.
whippety boy
11th February 2007, 18:54
The sign has been erected out of respect for a past member, parent and coach that passed away a few years back after suffering a heart attack on the training track. Peter's two sons continue to play at the club and are well respected young men as was the case with their old man.My apologies. No disrespect to Pete and his family. Now that you mentiom it I vaguely remember reading it in the local paper. The sign is a nice gesture. :thumbsu:
obe1
11th February 2007, 19:33
My apologies. No disrespect to Pete and his family. Now that you mentiom it I vaguely remember reading it in the local paper. The sign is a nice gesture. :thumbsu:
No harm done i'm sure, to digress a little , the Keilor night comp has been cancelled, speaking to an Keilor committeman earlier today he eluded to the prospect of hiring the Whitten oval for a round robin competition.
Do you know much about its condition and availibility for such an event?
whippety boy
12th February 2007, 07:18
Braybrook Football Club- Pennell Reserve
I always expected Braybrook's dung heap to be situated in the heart of Braybrook, amongst the intimadating houses and narrow streets but instead it's in the industrial area, and ironically only a dropkick away from one of the biggest Buddhist Temple's in Australia......
I could imagine this to be a wind swept joint in the middle of winter and as a visiting team not a pleasant place to visit...
The ground itself has not bad grass cover although it is firm under under foot with only a tinge of green. There are some areas of worry including the the wing on the outer side, Half forward flank on the club room side and the goal square at the car park end.
The goal posts are in need of a good coat of paint but the Braybrook club colours painted at the tip of the posts are a nice touch and a subtle reminder for opposition sides to where they are.
If you're over six foot you wouldn't be want to spending too much time on the pine at Pennell Reserve. The coaches boxes are tiny and the club are in desperately need of some new ones.
Finally if you are a full forward playing at Braybrook the carpark end could pose some problems. When the wind gusts up you could quite possibly get some nasty pain on the back of the legs from that lovely red gravel in the carpark....Speaking of the carpark it's a disgrace. If you are having problems with the suspension on your car consider parking in the street.
whippety boy
12th February 2007, 07:47
Wyndham Vale Football Club - Wyndham Vale Oval
Terrible!
By far the worst ground I have inspected so far. There is really nothing to like about this place. The surface is crap and the surroundings are bleak..
It is little wonder the Falcons have had trouble recruiting quality players in the past. One look at this joint and you would be on your bike.
The ground is extremely dry and 50% of it has very limited grass cover....
The council has spent some money developing the front entrance to the ground with a fully concreted carpark and some landscaping but really this only slightly distracts you to the horrors that lie ahead.
I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that the Falcons could be relocating in the near future. They would be hoping it would be pretty soon...In it's current state this ground isn't fit to host games of football.
Rating: 3.5/10
whippety boy
12th February 2007, 09:50
Nth Footscray Football Club- Walker Oval
Three empty kegs welcomed Whippety Boy on his arrival to Walker Oval. If they had of known I was coming I'm sure the president would have put on a few beers for the great one.....
I know it's a ridiculous hypothetical but if Whippety Boy was to saddle up in Division two, this would be the club of his choice. Pencil in 80+ goals for Whippety Boy on the wide expanses of Walker Oval, this ground would suit him right down to the tee.
The ground is in fabulous condition and only Parkside's ground is better. There is excellent grass all over the ground and it's reasonably soft under foot. Opposition sides such as Wyndham Vale and the Western Magpies are going to relish travelling here.
The surroundings are interesting. Mostly occupied by factories and some well established trees the home of the Devils is certainly a hidden treasure.
The Blue stone clubrooms give the the place a rural feel, while the leaning flag pole suggests that it has been a long time between drinks at Nth. Footscray. The ground only has the solitary coaches box which is a bit tight but the club has its very own cycling valedrome which would be usefull for some cross training during the long and tedious pre-season.
Rating 8.5/10
acr2751
12th February 2007, 13:26
It was Saturday morning when I checked out Kings Park and I'm 100% sure I saw Debbie Lee walking out of the main rooms with a huge smile on her face.
Could the former Spur's star and queen of Women's football be making a play as the new assistant coach at St.Albans....Time will only tell. A disappointing few years by the Demons could see the larger than life figure inject some much needed spirit and enthusiasm into the somewhat lack lustre crew at St.Albans.
The ground itself is very dry and and there are lots of bare patches around the centre square and the forward line at the social club rooms end. This joint is in need of some water and lots of it.
This is the perfect sized football ground and unlike most of the other grounds I have graced over the last few days it's a traditional footy oval not a cricket ground like many others.
Although the ground is struggling, because of the drought, the same can't be said about the surrounding facilities. A new fence has been erected at the main end as well as a huge net behind the goals to stop the ball heading into the car park and onto the road. ******** it's handy having pokies!!!!
This place has some impressive lights as well. Four giant light towers surround the boundary and there is no doubt night games could be fixtured here....Whippety Boy suggests St.Alban's host Friday night games at Kings Park followed by a massive rave party in the glassed social club area.....I will make a special guest appearance if you like!!!;)
we might have to take you up on that one
Gotheroos
12th February 2007, 15:17
No harm done i'm sure, to digress a little , the Keilor night comp has been cancelled, speaking to an Keilor committeman earlier today he eluded to the prospect of hiring the Whitten oval for a round robin competition.
Do you know much about its condition and availibility for such an event?
I drive past the Whitten Oval every day and it is in tip top condition. Nice and green. A hell of a lot better that it looked through out the finals series.
whippety boy
12th February 2007, 18:41
West Footscray Football Club - Shorten Reserve
I had to giggle when I approached Shorten Reserve and noticed the sign on Essex Street which read "The Roosters, Where Legends are made"......
If you had any brains you would stay clear of this joint!!!:thumbsd:
The boys from Wyndham Vale can rest easy because we now have a football ground which is worse than theirs.
The ground for a start is tiny. Excited by the prospect of testing his suspect hammy out, Whippety Boy fetched his trusty Sherrin from the boot of his car and proceeded to unload barrels from inside the centre square, straight through at goal post height. He then tried the same thing on his preferred side with even greater success...Some passes by were more than impressed with what they were witnessing. Lucky devils!!!
The ground is crap in every aspect. The grass cover is shocking and it is unbelievably dry. No football could possibly be played on here if the league is serious about avoiding injury and subsequent law suits.
On the plus side the Roosters do have two large coache's boxes plus four bus shelters around the boundary. By the state of the ground it appears the Sunshine bound bus, heading up Essex Street stops on the ground about 20 times a day.....
Shorten Reserve has the best playground I have seen at any of the grounds thus far. This should please the majority of the list at Deer Park who could bring their grandchildren down to play while their poppies stumble around the dust bowl at West Footscray.
Rating: 2.5/10
high_flier
12th February 2007, 18:53
Lets not worry to much about the ground at least they have quality visitors rooms and great showers to. Great facilities at the Roosters.
Spewin they arent in 1st division anymore!
GoesBangFrom50
12th February 2007, 18:57
West Footscray Football Club - Shorten Reserve
Shorten Reserve has the best playground I have seen at any of the grounds thus far. This should please the majority of the list at Deer Park who could bring their grandchildren down to play while their poppies stumble around the dust bowl at West Footscray.
Just when I thought it couldn't get any funnier ... out comes this Gem!!!
Love your work Whippety!!
Tony Delaney
12th February 2007, 21:25
Lets not worry to much about the ground at least they have quality visitors rooms and great showers to. Great facilities at the Roosters.
Spewin they arent in 1st division anymore!
Not too mention no door being on the toilet if you need a s... What a disgrace.
whippety boy
13th February 2007, 07:43
Deer Park Football Club- Deer Park Oval
On his much anticipated arrival at Deer Park Whippety Boy was welcomed by some hard working tradies doing some alterations to the home changerooms...Further investigation revealed that the tradesmen were installing hand rails in the showers as well as fitting a number of commodes throughout the Deer Park rooms....They also told me a wheelchair ramp leading up into the rooms was the next project on the agenda.
Like many of the grounds in the area the surface is struggling because of the drought. There is decent grass cover but there are a number of dry patches on the wings, flanks and pockets. At this stage it is touch and go whether games should be scheduled here early in the season...
Surrounded by well established Australian gums and shrubs the ground has a real country feel to it. If it wasn't for the hustle and bustle of Ballarat Road, in the background you would think you were playing a game of footy in Kerang rather than Deer Park...The Social Club has an excellent verandah and great area to view the footy.
Whippety Boy played a pearler of a practice match at this venue a few years back and vaguley remembers a coaches box assembled on top of a shipping container...On that afternoon Whippety Boy stood on the shoulders of his opponent and had time to wink at the spectator sitting in the box as he crashed to the ground...The box is gone and with it goes a slice of history of the Deer Park Football Club!!!
Rating 4.5/10
whippety boy
14th February 2007, 10:07
Spotswood Football Club- McKlean Reserve
This morning Whippety Boy headed into the the "Two Bob millionaire" precinct of the Western Suburbs and was quite impressed with what McKlean Reserve had to offer.
Talking to a number of former Spotty players they always spruik about how wonderful a club Spotswood is socially. I've even heard amazing stories of fully ticketed social functions and 50 metre queues to try and get into their Saturday night extravaganzas.This is all very well if you are getting the runs on the board. The facts of the matter is Spotswood haven't won a flag since 1995, so its time for the boys from the Avenue forgot about strutting around the social scene in their Diesel jeans and Lenny T-shirts and started concentrating on winning the big one.
The ground is in reasonable shape without being excellent. The surface is greenish allover with good grass cover except for some areas on the flanks. This ground should be in pretty good nick once the season kicks off....From the bridge the ground looks small but once you walk it, you realise it's the perfect size.
The ground has the best time keepers box in the caper as well as a fantastic elevated social club and changerooms...Is the carpark an issue on big game days? Sharing a relatively small carpark with one of Victoria's finest golf courses could be a real headache if you're use to rocking up at the ground after 1pm.
Rating 7/10
Devil-13-Rudy
14th February 2007, 18:35
Nice reviews mate. You must get around alot to be able to have a look at all these grounds. Hows your petrol bill? lol
Think Big
14th February 2007, 19:36
Deer Park Football Club- Deer Park Oval
On his much anticipated arrival at Deer Park Whippety Boy was welcomed by some hard working tradies doing some alterations to the home changerooms...Further investigation revealed that the tradesmen were installing hand rails in the showers as well as fitting a number of commodes throughout the Deer Park rooms....They also told me a wheelchair ramp leading up into the rooms was the next project on the agenda.
Like many of the grounds in the area the surface is struggling because of the drought. There is decent grass cover but there are a number of dry patches on the wings, flanks and pockets. At this stage it is touch and go whether games should be scheduled here early in the season...
Surrounded by well established Australian gums and shrubs the ground has a real country feel to it. If it wasn't for the hustle and bustle of Ballarat Road, in the background you would think you were playing a game of footy in Kerang rather than Deer Park...The Social Club has an excellent verandah and great area to view the footy.
Whippety Boy played a pearl of a practice match at this venue a few years back and vaguely remembers a coaches box assembled on top of a shipping container...On that afternoon Whippety Boy stood on the shoulders of his opponent and had time to wink at the spectator sitting in the box as he crashed to the ground...The box is gone and with it goes a slice of history of the Deer Park Football Club!!!
Rating 4.5/10
Hats off to you Whippety Boy this thread must be the most constructive thread Big Footy has ever seen !!
Not sure how your travelling but I thought I would save you some petrol tickets and advise that Cole Reserve, home to Coburg Districts is absolutely RS !!!
No chance of footy on this ground - it has died except for the centre square that is being watered for cricket - what a contrast - the middle is picture perfect but the rest of the ground is an absolute dessert.
Looks likely alternative ground will need be sourced or perhaps Districts play the first half of season away and then play all home games in the second half...just a thought.
1's.good.2's.beta
14th February 2007, 19:43
Nice reviews mate. You must get around alot to be able to have a look at all these grounds. Hows your petrol bill? lol
What ever the job, he seems to have agood one, could be unemployed?, perhaps a council worker?, what about a taxi driver?, a reporter?? mmm or better still what about someone who drives a car with a blue bubble on it?
What ever the case I am envious of he's spare time. And what a footballer he must have been, he's modesty leaves Rock07 for dead:)
GoesBangFrom50
15th February 2007, 08:40
What ever the job, he seems to have agood one, could be unemployed?, perhaps a council worker?, what about a taxi driver?, a reporter?? mmm or better still what about someone who drives a car with a blue bubble on it?
What ever the case I am envious of he's spare time. And what a footballer he must have been, he's modesty leaves Rock07 for dead:)
Gotta be a Sales Rep!!
1's.good.2's.beta
15th February 2007, 11:48
Gotta be a Sales Rep!!
You could be right Bangers, he certainly has the gift of the gab:thumbsu:
What do you think he sells?
whippety boy
15th February 2007, 12:38
Yarraville Football Club - Yarraville Oval
From the hill league headquarters looks as good as both Parkside's and Nth. Footscray's grounds. But after a closer inspection the ground is patchy all over. The grass cover is nowhere near as good as the other two grounds.
The biggest concern at Yarraville is the area surrounding the practice wickets. The bowlers run-ups have caused an aweful amount of wear and tear in the forward pocket area at the Williamstown end.
The venue has it it's obvious pluses. It has a great old grandstand with plenty of character, the terraces are tight and enclosed and it's the only ground with an electronic scoreboard.
What I found surprising was when I arrived the primary school next door had opened their backgates and were allowing the kids to use the ground as a play area. Surely with the dubious state of the Yarraville ground and it's importance to the league the council would cut out any such activities or groups using the ground in such a way. Maybe the primary school are paying back Yarraville for stealing their school portables all those years ago. Surely the league could chip in and replace those ugly changerooms and build something more akin to the heritage of the ground....
Yarraville Oval is a great finals venue and Division One finals have lost a bit of their spunk since they moved to the Whitten Oval.
Rating 6.5/10
whippety boy
16th February 2007, 12:27
Altona Football Club - Grant Reserve
Grant Reserve is just another footy ground in a long array of venues that Whippety Boy excelled on as a junior......
It's Amazing the transition some individuals go through from junior ranks to senior football. It's hard to believe but as a junior Whippety Boy was a lightning quick midfielder with exquisite skills, whereas now he is a power forward with loads of x factor....
Once at Grant Reserve, I think it was under 11's, Whippety Boy pounced on the ball at half back and proceeded to bounce his way down the ground, weaving and dodging the violent crumbles at will until he landed a bullet pass on the the full forwards ******....A goal from that piece of individual brilliance resulted in a come from behind victory.
Grant Reserve is in ok condition, however it is very dry except for the area surrounding the turf wicket. The grass cover is reasonable but the wing closest to the changerooms is extremely bare especially along the boundary. Some good solid rain should see this ground come up ok once the season starts but I wouldn't be putting my hand up to play any practice games on Grant Reserve in its present state.
The No.2 ground which is used for cricket is in alot better condition and I wonder if there has been any consideration given to transferring games there.
Rating 5/10
bloods05
16th February 2007, 17:25
Grant Reserve is just another footy ground in a long array of venues that Whippety Boy excelled on as a junior......
It's Amazing the transition some individuals go through from junior ranks to senior football. It's hard to believe but as a junior Whippety Boy was a lightning quick midfielder with exquisite skills, whereas now he is a power forward with loads of x factor....
Once at Grant Reserve, I think it was under 11's, Whippety Boy pounced on the ball at half back and proceeded to bounce his way down the ground, weaving and dodging the violent crumbles at will until he landed a bullet pass on the the full forwards ******....A goal from that piece of individual brilliance resulted in a come from behind victory.
Grant Reserve is in ok condition, however it is very dry except for the area surrounding the turf wicket. The grass cover is reasonable but the wing closest to the changerooms is extremely bare especially along the boundary. Some good solid rain should see this ground come up ok once the season starts but I wouldn't be putting my hand up to play any practice games on Grant Reserve in its present state.
The No.2 ground which is used for cricket is in alot better condition and I wonder if there has been any consideration given to transferring games there.
Rating 5/10
Your W anking on about being a star under ager is starting to make me sick,when are coming to Murphy's Res to spin your crap or were you alway's a B grader and never played there.
high_flier
17th February 2007, 16:52
Rating 5/10
Whipy did you ever play senior footy you keep refering back to your junior career. Maybe you could start your own Whippety boys junior W.R.F.L web site so you can tell all the young kids about how good you were when you were a young lad
GoesBangFrom50
20th February 2007, 19:50
Whippety... where are you?
Have heard a rumour that you were last seen at the Colts ground taking notes for you report......????
cougarman
21st February 2007, 18:56
c'mon whippety boy get back into it i was enjoying reading the ground reports it was nice to read something relevant instead of some of the other posts that you and others were producing
bully84
23rd February 2007, 14:16
Whippety... where are you?
Have heard a rumour that you were last seen at the Colts ground taking notes for you report......????
Hope no harm has come to my friend Mr Whippet.
foxxy
25th February 2007, 20:36
Hope no harm has come to my friend Mr Whippet.
whippety is a f u c k w i t i have never seen such a bigger load of s h i t other than driving past werribee and it was rock07 whose best part of him that he left behind and it was heading down that way to the sewerage farm.soon it will be floating on glenordens ground when the water gets turned on.
so i guess whippety's report on glenordens ground will be
rock07 found loitering around the half forward flank got stuck on a small mound of grass,the type you smoke because that is all you will find in the bronx and also a big part of frosty who has s h i t himself again after finding himself dropping a mark in the goal square.
hate to see the first game at glenorden with all the turds floating around on it mixed up with the boys leaving the social rooms and p.ssing all over the ground
whippety boy
26th February 2007, 07:20
Port Colt's Football Club- Woodruff Oval
As Darrly Kerrigan would say "How's the serenity?"
As I walked through the front gates of JJ Murphy Reserve I could honestly cut the positive aura of this place with a knife.....
As I sat under one of the old Pine trees surrounding the immaculate Woodruff oval I could just imagine Rock, Couga, Chopsewie and even Gotheroos strutting their stuff on this amazing ground....The grass cover at present is sensational and at this stage Port's ground is easily in the Top 3 grounds in the competition.
It was also nice to go for a stroll around the vast parklands and take in some junior baseball training adjacent to Woodruff Oval. The kids were really going at it and at one stage Whippetty Boy fetched a ball that was hit over the fence...On returning the ball with a powerful, low throw the coach replied "nice arm buddy"...The coach was obviously unware that Whippetty Boy excelled at Baseball as a junior and could have represented Victoria if not Australia had he not decided to play Australian Rules Football instead...
Ports Social Club is ace. WB was lucky enough to meet the hard working volunteers from the Port Colts Baseball Club who invited WB in for a cup of coffee and a look around the rooms...Half an hour later WB left a better man.
It was a privelege to look up at the honour boards and see such great names as Meunch and Clarke as well as dynamo adminstrators such as Penniluna...Whippety Boy also had time for a game of air hockey which thrilled one of the many kids who came into the rooms to see what all the fuss was about....
The BBQ area outside as well as the verandah in front of the rooms would be a great entertaining area for such a social club like Port Colts...
For all the Port Boys who read Bigfooty Whippety Boy has left a little reminder of his much enjoyable visit on the Clare Castle Hotel sign, in the forward pocket near the scoreboard.
Rating8/10
speculator
26th February 2007, 18:02
Port Colt's Football Club- Woodruff Oval
As Darrly Kerrigan would say "How's the serenity?"
As I walked through the front gates of JJ Murphy Reserve I could honestly cut the positive aura of this place with a knife.....
As I sat under one of the old Pine trees surrounding the immaculate Woodruff oval I could just imagine Rock, Couga, Chopsewie and even Gotheroos strutting their stuff on this amazing ground....The grass cover at present is sensational and at this stage Port's ground is easily in the Top 3 grounds in the competition.
It was also nice to go for a stroll around the vast parklands and take in some junior baseball training adjacent to Woodruff Oval. The kids were really going at it and at one stage Whippetty Boy fetched a ball that was hit over the fence...On returning the ball with a powerful, low throw the coach replied "nice arm buddy"...The coach was obviously unware that Whippetty Boy excelled at Baseball as a junior and could have represented Victoria if not Australia had he not decided to play Australian Rules Football instead...
Ports Social Club is ace. WB was lucky enough to meet the hard working volunteers from the Port Colts Baseball Club who invited WB in for a cup of coffee and a look around the rooms...Half an hour later WB left a better man.
It was a privelege to look up at the honour boards and see such great names as Meunch and Clarke as well as dynamo adminstrators such as Penniluna...Whippety Boy also had time for a game of air hockey which thrilled one of the many kids who came into the rooms to see what all the fuss was about....
The BBQ area outside as well as the verandah in front of the rooms would be a great entertaining area for such a social club like Port Colts...
For all the Port Boys who read Bigfooty Whippety Boy has left a little reminder of his much enjoyable visit on the Clare Castle Hotel sign, in the forward pocket near the scoreboard.
Rating8/10
Whip boyo, you are letting all us Hoppers boys down by sucking up to our arch rivals.......please please review your post.
GoesBangFrom50
26th February 2007, 19:24
Don't be shy guys... let us know what the reminder was?
Kooley
27th February 2007, 09:29
Whip boyo, you are letting all us Hoppers boys down by sucking up to our arch rivals.......please please review your post.tongue.in.cheek ;)
Gotheroos
27th February 2007, 20:42
Don't be shy guys... let us know what the reminder was?
It says Whippety Boy waz ere 07
GoesBangFrom50
28th February 2007, 09:41
It says Whippety Boy waz ere 07
Classic..... I bet the Colts boys had a bit of a giggle at that!!!
Gotheroos
28th February 2007, 18:45
Classic..... I bet the Colts boys had a bit of a giggle at that!!!
You could say it was a bit of a talking point. I know it was the first thing that I did when I got to training.
newton
2nd March 2007, 12:09
whippety is a f u c k w i t i have never seen such a bigger load of s h i t other than driving past werribee and it was rock07 whose best part of him that he left behind and it was heading down that way to the sewerage farm.soon it will be floating on glenordens ground when the water gets turned on.
so i guess whippety's report on glenordens ground will be
rock07 found loitering around the half forward flank got stuck on a small mound of grass,the type you smoke because that is all you will find in the bronx and also a big part of frosty who has s h i t himself again after finding himself dropping a mark in the goal square.
hate to see the first game at glenorden with all the turds floating around on it mixed up with the boys leaving the social rooms and p.ssing all over the groundYou obviously struggled at school idiot!
This is one of the worst pieces of attempted humour of all tiime :thumbsd:
whippety boy
15th March 2007, 09:48
Sunshine Heights Football Club - Ainsworth Reserve
After strolling the Home of the Dragons yesterday I was somewhat surprised at the dryness of the ground on the Glengala side of the Rd.
If I was a wingman, which I'm not (I'm a gun forward) I would be heading straight across to the northern side of the ground where the grass cover is pretty good. The turf pitches in the middle as well at either end of the ground where the juniors play on a Friday night could also pose problems down the track.
If a practice game was scheduled at this very minute there would be definitely issues realated to the south side and the hardness of the that area. Hopefully a good down pour could rectify the problem.
New additions to the ground include a new park bench under the new scoreboard and the exterior of the club rooms have been painted. The high black cricket fences around the wings, which were erected last year also look ace.
Ground Rating: 5.5/10.
Had a chance to have a look over the Dragons ground again yesterday and I must say it has deteriorated somewhat since my initial report...It's in real trouble and will only get worse if we don't have some good rain soon.
You couldn't be playing competitive games of football on Ainsworth Reserve in its current state.
Ground Rating: 4/10
bloods05
15th March 2007, 11:23
Had a chance to have a look over the Dragons ground again yesterday and I must say it has deteriorated somewhat since my initial report...It's in real trouble and will only get worse if we don't have some good rain soon.
You couldn't be playing competitive games of football on Ainsworth Reserve in its current state.
I thought you were dead..:cool:
whippety boy
15th March 2007, 12:45
I thought you were dead..:cool:Not at all bloods05, I've just been flat out training and negotiating where I will be playing in 2007. There have been a plether of enquiries and subsequent huge offers, to secure my services as you could imagine.
bloods05
15th March 2007, 12:58
Not at all bloods05, I've just been flat out training and negotiating where I will be playing in 2007. There have been a plether of enquiries and subsequent huge offers, to secure my services as you could imagine.
Sound's like the Colt's are cashed up,why don't you come down and hopefully be part of a historic three in a row,i'll go your manager i have know the Pres since he was a little tacker,what are looking to be paid..:cool:
whippety boy
15th March 2007, 13:09
Sound's like the Colt's are cashed up,why don't you come down and hopefully be part of a historic three in a row,i'll go your manager i have know the Pres since he was a little tacker,what are looking to be paid..:cool:Thanks for interest bloods05 and no disrespect to WRFL but Whippety Boy is attracting some serious attention from the higher leagues.
unit27
15th March 2007, 16:27
Whippety surely Laverton Park cannot be given a 4.5 .. the surface is hard il say that, but the ground is as green and the centre square is as good as any other.
whippety boy
16th March 2007, 07:25
Whippety surely Laverton Park cannot be given a 4.5 .. the surface is hard il say that, but the ground is as green and the centre square is as good as any other.Point noted Unit. I inspected the ground about 5 weeks ago and at that stage the ground wasn't in particularly good condition except for the centre area which has been well maintained because of the ground's committment to cricket. The rest of the ground may have improved since my visit so if I get the opportunity I will pop in for another look in the coming weeks.:)
whippety boy
20th March 2007, 10:56
Galdstone Park Football Club - Tullarmarine Park
:eek: :eek:
In a word terrible!!
Seriously if Port Phillip Prison fielded a side in the WRFL Division 2 you wouldn't even contimplate sending them to this hell hole.
The ground is completely dry and there isn't a skeric of green anywhere. What makes the ground even more unplayable, then the actual shocking state of the surface, is that there is two exposed articial wickets at both ends of the ground.
The facilities are pox as well. The only positive that come out of WB's visit to Gladstone Park was passing the excellent Melrose Reception Centre where Whippety Boy did some of his finest womanising as a youngster.
No games will be played here in the first 6 weeks at least, which will please plenty.
Rating: 2/10
GoesBangFrom50
20th March 2007, 11:08
Galdstone Park Football Club - Tullarmarine Park
:eek: :eek:
In a word terrible!!
Seriously if Port Phillip Prison fielded a side in the WRFL Division 2 you wouldn't even contimplate sending them to this hell hole.
The ground is completely dry and there isn't a skeric of green anywhere. What makes the ground even more unplayable, then the actual shocking state of the surface, is that there is two exposed articial wickets at both ends of the ground.
The facilities are pox as well. The only positive that come out of WB's visit to Gladstone Park was passing the excellent Melrose Reception Centre where Whippety Boy did some of his finest womanising as a youngster.
No games will be played here in the first 6 weeks at least, which will please plenty.
Rating: 2/10
I reckon you would take off 1 of them 2 ratings points if you had a look at the visitors rooms... at best 12 of your 21 players are able to sit down... the rest of the team has to change outside.... absolute joke!!!
whippety boy
20th March 2007, 11:20
I reckon you would take off 1 of them 2 ratings points if you had a look at the visitors rooms... at best 12 of your 21 players are able to sit down... the rest of the team has to change outside.... absolute joke!!!I'm more than happy to change my rating.
Rating: 1/10
typewriter
22nd March 2007, 11:09
Laverton ground is in great nick I was there tuesday 4 grass coverage it is 1 of the best ive cn
GoesBangFrom50
28th March 2007, 09:27
Whippety.... perhaps you could have another crack at Heights ground on Friday or Monday.... word around the Glengala is that the boys have had enough of the council not doing any work on the surface and are taking matters into their own hands... bit of a working bee organised for tonight involving pulling out about a thousand weeds...
flea 3
28th March 2007, 10:36
Whippety...was down at st.albans on the weekend, grounds looking a little better except for scoreboard end not much grass on it,no hope of playing first game at home, was told that they will be contacting sunshine to see if they want to change round 1 to sunshine.
252466Fan
4th April 2007, 13:19
Updates on div 1 grounds??? (out of 10 will do)
Albion 6/10 - Will be fine for round 2 vs Colts
Altona
Glenorden
Hoppers
Parkside
Port Colts
Spotty
St Albans
Sunshine
Yarr/Sed
I_know_everything
29th April 2007, 20:40
It would be interesting to know how the grounds have held up since the season began and with the wet weather over the past two weeks.
Post your comments here.
borgsta2006
30th April 2007, 12:16
It would be interesting to know how the grounds have held up since the season began and with the wet weather over the past two weeks.
Post your comments here.
I have umpired at yarraville, port colts and parkside. Fantastic ground this year the three of them. The rain will certainly help the grounds.
Palace03
30th April 2007, 14:22
Hoppers, surprisingly is in very good nick. Yarraville is lush and reasonably soft, and Spotty was perfect Saturday, but seeing it after more rain and having 7 games of footy over 2 days on it looks really chopped up.
I_know_everything
18th July 2007, 23:19
Hoppers, surprisingly is in very good nick. Yarraville is lush and reasonably soft, and Spotty was perfect Saturday, but seeing it after more rain and having 7 games of footy over 2 days on it looks really chopped up.
Yes this post was made a while back, quite ironic really.
Both these grounds are curently in a very poor condition and they won't get any better over the next 4 -5 weeks to see the season out.
How are all the other grounds holding up?
Kooley
19th July 2007, 10:22
Chirmside Park in Werribee where the Division 2 finals are taking place is in superb nick except for the centre which is terrible which is understandable.
OverRated_13
19th July 2007, 10:28
Chirmside Park in Werribee where the Division 2 finals are taking place is in superb nick except for the centre which is terrible which is understandable.
mate im pretty sure that the division 1 finals are being played at werribee this year im not to sure where the divvy 2 finals are being played at.
does anyone know exactly where finals are this year
Kooley
19th July 2007, 10:49
mate im pretty sure that the division 1 finals are being played at werribee this year im not to sure where the divvy 2 finals are being played at.
does anyone know exactly where finals are this yearSorry mate i just assumed divvy 2 would be having finals there again in 2007. personally i think it's one of the best grounds in victoria so division 1 would be stoked to be playing finals there. the atmoshere at chirnside Park is 100% on the whitten oval.
Bobby Skilton
23rd July 2007, 20:19
Sorry mate i just assumed divvy 2 would be having finals there again in 2007. personally i think it's one of the best grounds in victoria so division 1 would be stoked to be playing finals there. the atmoshere at chirnside Park is 100% on the whitten oval.
Agree
whippety boy
10th September 2007, 11:22
What's everyones opinion of Chirnside Park as a final's venue?
The atmosphere appears to electric and even on the windiest of days there always appears to be some good shelter. Is there any reason why the social club hasn't been opened during the final series?
obe1
10th September 2007, 12:59
What's everyones opinion of Chirnside Park as a final's venue?
The atmosphere appears to electric and even on the windiest of days there always appears to be some good shelter. Is there any reason why the social club hasn't been opened during the final series?
Great Venue, no idea regarding social club, Perhaps Chest could eloborate further seeing as Yarraville are running the catering etc.
By the way the boys loved your banners..... lol
BEAZER
10th September 2007, 13:59
Great Venue, no idea regarding social club, Perhaps Chest could eloborate further seeing as Yarraville are running the catering etc.
They were quite good I must admit.
chest
10th September 2007, 14:05
I presume the social clubs at chirnside we are talking about. Not sure why not open but when the div 2 finals were at yarra there was a little bit of vandalism in the social rooms so the president and comitee made a decision not to open them. I would be guessing that would be the same for chirnside as keep people outside and not damage the inside of the social rooms. That would be my guess.
cougarman
10th September 2007, 15:27
I presume the social clubs at chirnside we are talking about. Not sure why not open but when the div 2 finals were at yarra there was a little bit of vandalism in the social rooms so the president and comitee made a decision not to open them. I would be guessing that would be the same for chirnside as keep people outside and not damage the inside of the social rooms. That would be my guess.
poor form by the minority of supporters who do damage in social rooms at finals venues or opposition rooms:thumbsd:
Micka Morris
13th September 2007, 11:58
I presume the social clubs at chirnside we are talking about. Not sure why not open but when the div 2 finals were at yarra there was a little bit of vandalism in the social rooms so the president and comitee made a decision not to open them. I would be guessing that would be the same for chirnside as keep people outside and not damage the inside of the social rooms. That would be my guess.I'm good mates with the pres at Werribee and the reason they are not open is becos Yarra have paid a premium to play host and they make all the money off the grog - they wouldn't be happy. In saying that surely they could open up after the game?
Kooley
14th September 2007, 10:12
The wrfl would be silly not to play all division 1 finals at chirnside park. the ground craps all over the whitten oval as suburban finals venue.
i think you'll find the reason the social club is not open is that the werribee football club would be concerned about the damaged that could be done to it.
newton
18th September 2007, 14:36
What's everyone thoughts on Chirnside Park as the new home of WRFL finals?
Personally I thought it was outstanding. The atmosphere on Grandfinal Day was probably the best I have ever witnessed at a Suburban Game.
The ground was packed. Would have had to been close to 8,000 at the game.
Thumbs up to the WRFL and lets hope they decide to stay at Chirnside Park in the future.:thumbsu:
I_know_everything
18th September 2007, 18:16
What's everyone thoughts on Chirnside Park as the new home of WRFL finals?
Personally I thought it was outstanding. The atmosphere on Grandfinal Day was probably the best I have ever witnessed at a Suburban Game.
The ground was packed. Would have had to been close to 8,000 at the game.
Thumbs up to the WRFL and lets hope they decide to stay at Chirnside Park in the future.:thumbsu:
More like 6000 at the ground and it was good.
With Bulldogs going to be hosting the WRFL Offices in the near future, chances are the they will want to host the finals there or thier new counterpart Williamstown.
bac
21st September 2007, 20:35
Reference the socail club at the werribee ground my club hires the rooms and Blue room (used for after match function we take all the profits) the ground is hired from the council.
If we use the social club you pay the bar staff wages and all the profit from the beer sales goes to WFC.
yarraville hiring the ground and hosting the finals sounds right and keeping the beer profits from around the ground.
We pay a fortune to Werribee FC (well alt of money for supers club) to use there facilities
whippety boy
29th October 2007, 20:32
I don't know what's going on at Sunshine Heights but their ground has gone from being a dry dung heap towards the end of the year to an absolute oasis.
red devil1
29th October 2007, 20:37
I don't know what's going on at Sunshine Heights but their ground has gone from being a dry dung heap towards the end of the year to an absolute oasis.
Probably due to cricket. I am sure TD or GB50 could tell you. Unfortunately it appears they have retired from Big Footy.
OntheOuter_07
30th October 2007, 08:49
I drive past Heights on the way to work in mornings and noticed in particular this morning that the sprinklers are working all over the ground.
Certain that the Cricket Club have permission to use them
whippety boy
30th October 2007, 11:04
I drive past Heights on the way to work in mornings and noticed in particular this morning that the sprinklers are working all over the ground.
Certain that the Cricket Club have permission to use themGotta feel sorry for the footballers, they had to play and train on a shit heap while the fat arse cricketers who wouldn't move more than a metre during a game get to play their game on a bowling green.
WRFLfan
31st October 2007, 18:07
Gotta feel sorry for the footballers, they had to play and train on a shit heap while the fat arse cricketers who wouldn't move more than a metre during a game get to play their game on a bowling green.
What was the go with the signs during the finals series you would have had to got there early Gotheroos took his one home
whippety boy
31st October 2007, 21:12
What was the go with the signs during the finals series you would have had to got there early Gotheroos took his one homeWhat an absolute pisser!!
Whippety Boy put the banners up the night before the games in pitch black darkness. It was quite bizarrre to see them still there during and after the games :D
whippety boy
28th November 2007, 06:29
Don't know if it has been mentioned in another thread but the WRFL have just signed a agreement with the Werribee Football Club to play all their finals games at Bartercard Oval (Chirnside Park) for the next three years.
Pretty good move by the league I would have thought :thumbsu:
DaVinci
28th November 2007, 12:09
Don't know if it has been mentioned in another thread but the WRFL have just signed a agreement with the Werribee Football Club to play all their finals games at Bartercard Oval (Chirnside Park) for the next three years.
Pretty good move by the league I would have thought :thumbsu:
I think that it proved to be an excellent venue, a little far out but did hold a sensational atmosphere!
go4gold
10th March 2008, 13:08
There is less than 4 weeks to go til the first ball is bounced on Friday 4th April at StAlbans.
I miss whippety boy,where are you.
It would be great if you could give us your thoughts on the ground conditions again.
Palace03
11th March 2008, 11:13
Have been running on Albion the last few weeks and it is very comfortable to run on. The summer grass has really started to spread and the centre wicket area is green and doesn't seem to be the slab of concrete it felt like last year.
Have also run on Altona a few times over the summer and is also in reasonable nick, a bit clumpy in parts, but green in the most part and has a little give in it.
whippety boy
13th March 2008, 13:52
There is less than 4 weeks to go til the first ball is bounced on Friday 4th April at StAlbans.
I miss whippety boy,where are you.
It would be great if you could give us your thoughts on the ground conditions again.Thanks. I miss me too :)
I've posted a picture of ainsworth reserve, the home of the dragon. It's in terrible strife and no footy should be played on this ground at all.
http://www.legendsofamerica.com/photos-arizona/PaintedDesert-js-500.jpg
red devil1
13th March 2008, 18:36
Thanks. I miss me too :)
I've posted a picture of ainsworth reserve, the home of the dragon. It's in terrible strife and no footy should be played on this ground at all.
http://www.legendsofamerica.com/photos-arizona/PaintedDesert-js-500.jpg
Looks in better condition than their opposition changing room!
w.weapons
13th March 2008, 20:51
Looks in better condition than their opposition changing room!
spot on.........
now deer park doesnt look much better but wonder if whippety boy has sussed out the new rooms and the works going on at the newly named john mcleod reserve.........any reports????
triple oh
14th March 2008, 23:09
gee isnt it funny that altona and albion are in good nick both div 1 clubs but the div 2 clubs hav 2 play on paddocks the WRFL is a joke:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:and they know it
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.