View Full Version : Roy in the commentary box

Warwick
9 Feb 2007, 13:37
Did you like :thumbsu:

or dislike :thumbsd: ?

Big thumbs up from me.

Shmoses
9 Feb 2007, 13:39
Roy's grouse. Probably a bit too laconic to get a full time commentary gig after he quits cricket though.

likka
9 Feb 2007, 13:59
He did a good job considering Heals was knobbing him the whole commentary stint.

Fair Dinkum Heals is more like a groupie than commentator.

Roy was okay.

Foreign Legion
9 Feb 2007, 14:32
Sounds pretty good to me- he might have a future as a special commentator.

How the hell would he have played for England with that accent!:p

RoosterLad
9 Feb 2007, 14:45
He is a superstar in the box, what a star.

Papa G
9 Feb 2007, 14:47
He is actually a half wit

Xtreme
9 Feb 2007, 15:04
Gilly outshines him though.

likka
9 Feb 2007, 15:19

He sounds half cut in the second stint... maybe it is the pain killers for the shoulder.

Give him the benefit...

camsmith
9 Feb 2007, 15:19
Yep he's good.

HBF
9 Feb 2007, 16:05
Didn't get to see him today as I was at work, but looking forward to hearing him tonight. Should be pretty funny though.

Grimreepah
9 Feb 2007, 16:08
He did a good job considering Heals was knobbing him the whole commentary stint.

Fair Dinkum Heals is more like a groupie than commentator.

Roy was okay.

You're becoming a bit monotonous bagging Healy all the time. We get it. This thread is about Roy.

Gets!
9 Feb 2007, 16:09
Definetely a GUN.

Warwick
9 Feb 2007, 16:15
Maybe you only listened to him for 15 minutes. Seemed a full wit to me.

It was a nice change to have someone with a bit of personality in the box.

likka
9 Feb 2007, 16:30
You're becoming a bit monotonous bagging Healy all the time. We get it. This thread is about Roy.

Exactly, Roy was doing a good job despite Heals slobbering all over him.

Ever tried speaking coherently whilst getting a Brad Johnson?

Marklar_33
9 Feb 2007, 21:26
Exactly, Roy was doing a good job despite Heals slobbering all over him.

Ever tried speaking coherently whilst getting a Brad Johnson?

Henry Johnsons more popular brother...

Richie needs to hold the commentary fort for 5-7 more years, cause we have the new Captain of the Commentary team. He has the X-Factor :D

glengowan
9 Feb 2007, 21:49
Yeah, I like him. He's a character. Like his call when Mahmood dropped that catch "It hit him on the drumstick", referring to the part of your hand where the thumb goes into the palm.

I can't help but look at my hand now and wonder if I added those 11 secret herbs and spices.....

King Kieran
10 Feb 2007, 05:38
Definitely Ritchies replacement, he was very open and great a awesome insight into what was going on. Heaps better then listening to Healy going on bout crap, whats gonna happen, whos gonna stand up, crap like that!

Dandy_GO
10 Feb 2007, 19:30
Perhaps I'm crazy, but I thought he sounded an awful lot like Sir Les Patterson.

footy_rulz
10 Feb 2007, 20:18
Didn't get a chance to see him commentating as I was at the game, look forward to seeing it tomorrow.

emperor
11 Feb 2007, 09:56
Enjoyed it. Loved it when he told Healy it wasn't rocket science (ie bowling for the top of off) when Healy was implying that Australia must of had elaborate plans for each English batsman. Simple game cricket, and good to see Roy views it that way too:thumbsu:

likka
11 Feb 2007, 13:19
How many times has Roy said "Catch It" during this commentary stint?

Bartram_Class
11 Feb 2007, 13:38
He's no Gilchrist but always good to see a current player in the box, giving his views. He commentates the game like he is talking to himself on the field.

apollo_creed
11 Feb 2007, 14:28
boring.

bluechampion
11 Feb 2007, 14:56
When he came on a mate of mine wondered aloud if someone from the crowd had strolled into the commentary box and just picked up a mic...

raikkonen
11 Feb 2007, 16:01
He is a gun. :thumbsu: