View Full Version : AFL Dream Team 07
Lonie_from_50
13 Feb 2007, 19:09
Just thought it would be good to have a discussion, between ourselves, about the upcoming Dream Team. Probably due for release about a month's time (you know how slow they are).
Anyway, obviously we'll get a league together with just Collingwood BigFooty nuts, but would be good to have a core group of people involved. Last year I am not sure if we did it as a group, or, well me anyway (I was in the no.1 league for both Supercoach and Nutri-Grain :thumbsu:)
So, just a discussion thread based on what will be prize picks, who is expected to play first year footy, etc. Obviously there are some secrets, but in the end we are as smart as each other I guess.
Matthew Lloyd missed most of the season, but not sure how his price will be. He did play 3 games, and averaged a fair bit too, surely.
Nathan Bock, Nigel Lappin, Danny Jacobs, Nathan D. Brown, Brent Moloney, Lenny Hayes, Michael Gardiner, Luke Darcy and Robert Murphy are some others who may be a little too cheap to ignore.
taz@freo
13 Feb 2007, 19:12
From the wraps I've heard on Xavier Ellis I'd imagine he'd play straight away and be cheap
Lonie_from_50
13 Feb 2007, 19:16
Yeah, he'll be cheap, as will some other Hawks in Dowler etc. I presume. Obviously Gibbs will play first year.
Picking the right draftees always pays off. Alot of people picked Birchall last year because he was named to debut in round 1. People who persisted with him were lucky for his late season form.
nick_savo
13 Feb 2007, 19:24
Nathan Brown (Richmond) will be a very good pick up this year, because he didn't got average very high last year due to him not playing he will be very cheap in either Nutri-Grain or Supercoach.
Ricky Dyson (Essendon) Will be another big improver this year, will really step up in the Essendon line up and score really well in both competitions.
You would be best to buy any of the top ten draft picks either for our Reserves or in your starting 22.
Some other younens you may want to invest in could be Bryce Gibbs, Joel Selwood, Tom Hawkins, John Anthony, Xavier Ellis, Beau Dowler, Jack Riewoldt.
Some good people that will be really cheap may be Nick Maxwell, Nathan Van Berlo, Sean Rusling and Travis Cloke (Should be in every team, Absolute Superstar!)
LF50, I would stay away from Gardiner this year, I don't know why but I just don't think he will do to well at St.Kilda.
Kosi will be in nearly every team I would say, He will be very very cheap and will go up majorly in price so buy him at the start.
I did some league last year but every year I forget about it and get disinterested.
malteaser
13 Feb 2007, 20:32
On a site called FanFooty you can get the prices for this year. Not sure how accurate it is though.
You know every year you think you have the team of the century. I always wonder when will every player will get over 100 points in the one team all at once.:rolleyes:
Anyway Lenny Hayes who will be expensive will have a blinder of a year I reckon, he was racking up the points before he got injured.
Minson if only he wouldn't get so many penalties.
Bode looked up his stats, not only posessions but also tackles and goals. A bit pricy downfall.
One that got away from me last year was Mc Donald, do you think that melb will have a bummer year. I find it hard to chose Melb and Geelong, because you never know how thier year will be.
Could see a big turn around for the Cats so Primsall might be a bargin. Had Ling for a while last year totally big let down especially for Super Coach probably not for Dream team.
R Murphy from the Dockers looks promising, low price and looked the goods before his injury.
Carlton, obviously gibbs but I reckon there will be a few 2-4 year players who could really kick on, and at a good price. Not sure who.
Anyway I think for Collingwood, R Shaw as an emergency could be good, T Cloke again as an emergency.
crows_4_life
13 Feb 2007, 20:47
a few lads from here that would be on the cheap and a good addition to your team:
Mattner (always has a high tackle count)
Gill (good pick up from the SANFL and should adapt well to AFL and will be cheap)
Douglas (great young player, a real ball magnet)
Meesen (should get alot of game time this year a promising ruckman / forward)
Some players I'm pretty keen on:
Mids
Deledio
Griffen
Nicholls (will wait to see him named as the elevated rookie first)
Gibbs - will start on for my team I reckon.
Was keen on Nigel Lappin but he seems like he won't be right for round 1
Forwards
Bench will have Edwards and Hansen. Hansen's been killing pre-season.
I'm keen for Leon Davis. reckon he'll have a blinder at a decent price.
Dearest player I can see myself getting on in is Fev.
Rucks
Kosi - be stupid not to have him.
Robbie Campbell - Hawthorn's new #1 ruckman
Hale/Mackintosh
Hampson and Maric/Meesen for bench.
Backs
So far just keen on Xavier Ellis for a spot on the bench.
Probably gave away too much here so thank me later.
you would think joel selwood would feature prominently as of course will gibbs.
what about marc murphy, he might be a good pickup considering the injury he had.
doppleganger
14 Feb 2007, 08:26
plenty depends on prices
they usually change up the game in some way every couple of years so no real point in making a team yet as it all may change, position wise
murphy may be rather expensive as his average was high before doing his shoulder
dont load up too much on the young kids tho, need a couple of cash cows but wouldn't want any draftees playing in ur starting team
Parallel Andy
14 Feb 2007, 09:18
I'm not giving any of my secrets away....hehehehe.
It started giving me the sh*ts when they started printing info about who you should and should not pic in the newspapers.
On another note though if we are going to do our own league here I AM IN!!!!!!!
We should start organising it now. We can always have a second league if the first one gets full, etc etc. You are allowed 16 teams in the league yeah?
So let's start the list now. Everyone just add their name.:
Group 1: Parallel Andy
magpie_militia
14 Feb 2007, 09:46
I'm not giving any of my secrets away....hehehehe.
It started giving me the sh*ts when they started printing info about who you should and should not pic in the newspapers.
On another note though if we are going to do our own league here I AM IN!!!!!!!
We should start organising it now. We can always have a second league if the first one gets full, etc etc. You are allowed 16 teams in the league yeah?
So let's start the list now. Everyone just add their name.:
Group 1: Parallel Andy
I am in too. It would be good to have a league with just Pies supporters from BF.
kempos_kingz_05
14 Feb 2007, 09:53
Yeah i'll be in a league :thumbsu:
MarchingOnTogether
14 Feb 2007, 10:21
Count me in.
Dj Chriss
14 Feb 2007, 12:39
Me 9 (im in)
Stakerz
14 Feb 2007, 12:58
I'm in it too win it :thumbsu:
doppleganger
14 Feb 2007, 13:37
id drop a team in
Lonie_from_50
14 Feb 2007, 17:01
Throw me in I guess...btw, PA, you can organise it :p
Lonie_from_50
14 Feb 2007, 17:08
Here is the FanFooty 2007 Player Price Projector (http://www.fanfooty.com.au/players/dreamprices.php)
Some bargains:
Justin Koschitzke (StK) $147,500
Daniel Merrett (Bris) $149,100 (ready to step up to the next level)
Guy Richards (Coll) $180,200
Will Minson (WB) $184,700
Brad Miller (Melb) $207,700
Ricky Dyson (Ess) $208,700
Luke McPharlin (Frem) $244,900
Trent Croad (Haw) $246,000
pies4eva
14 Feb 2007, 17:45
im in for sure i need sum revenge after losing the grand final last year
nick_savo
14 Feb 2007, 19:30
Are you doing a league for Nutri-Grain and Super Coach because if you are I will be in the Nutri-Grain one, I already have a league organised for SuperCoach as much as I would like to be in the Pies one, I can't really bail out now.
malteaser
14 Feb 2007, 19:39
Am I too late if not I'm in
Hells K1tch3n
14 Feb 2007, 20:56
I think this makes me number 16!
Parallel Andy
14 Feb 2007, 22:18
The Bigfooty Magpies League 1:
1. Parallel Andy
2. magpie militia
3. Kempos Kingz 05
4. MarchingOnTogether
5. us3
6. Dj Chriss
7. Stakerz
8. Doppleganger
9. Lonie From 50
10. pies4eva
11. nick savo
12. Malteaser
13. Hells K1thch3n
Still three more teams needed for the first league.
Then we can start on the second one cause I'm sure we will get more than 16 teams.
PieLebo87
14 Feb 2007, 22:56
Count me in if theres a chance guys :)
Lonie_from_50
15 Feb 2007, 12:00
League name simple...BigFooty Pies #1 and BigFooty Pies #2...therefore, the forum gets recognition if we are good enough to get into the top 20, which I am sure we are.
Tarkyn_24
16 Feb 2007, 20:56
Ditto, would love to be a part. But if not doesn't matter. For DT. I've got a league for SC
Parallel Andy
16 Feb 2007, 21:54
Bigfooty Magpies 1:
1. Parallel Andy
2. magpie militia
3. Kempos Kingz 05
4. MarchingOnTogether
5. us3
6. Dj Chriss
7. Stakerz
8. Doppleganger
9. Lonie From 50
10. pies4eva
11. nick savo
12. Malteaser
13. Hells K1thch3n
14. PieLebo87
15. Tarkyn 24
Still one more team needed for the first league.
crows_4_life
17 Feb 2007, 00:05
if u lads are willing to let me in i'd like to join if thats ok, the blokes on the adelaide board havent even discussed the Dream Team 07 :mad:.
cheers :thumbsu:
Stakerz
17 Feb 2007, 16:03
if u lads are willing to let me in i'd like to join if thats ok, the blokes on the adelaide board havent even discussed the Dream Team 07 :mad:.
cheers :thumbsu:
Possibly if we get a league that needs people.
With this just PM us the code :thumbsu:
Parallel Andy
19 Mar 2007, 20:36
League is now created.
All those already in the league have been Messaged (check your messages!!!!!).
We need one more team to fill this league.......
crows_4_life
19 Mar 2007, 20:51
League is now created.
All those already in the league have been Messaged (check your messages!!!!!).
We need one more team to fill this league.......
andy! as i posted earlier any chance of getting a gig in your league??? :thumbsu:
Parallel Andy
19 Mar 2007, 21:03
andy! as i posted earlier any chance of getting a gig in your league??? :thumbsu:
Sorry mate, unless we don't get another Pies supporter in here I can't help you....it is the 'Bigfooty Pies' after all.
crows_4_life
19 Mar 2007, 21:07
Sorry mate, unless we don't get another Pies supporter in here I can't help you....it is the 'Bigfooty Pies' after all.
thats cool no worries :thumbsu:
could i by chance have the final position if possible
Is there any chance i could get into the league? got my afl dream done and if bigfooty got a league up with a space then that be sweet if i could join
Parallel Andy
19 Mar 2007, 21:34
could i by chance have the final position if possible
Sent you the code.
If anyone else wants to start up the 'Bigfooty Magpies 2', feel free to start up another one.
ok done and done
anyone who wants to sign up let me know and PM me! BF Magpies #2 is up!
Dj Chriss
19 Mar 2007, 22:15
is it supercoach or kellogs dream team?? Andy your code didnt work :(
nick_savo
19 Mar 2007, 22:18
Its Coke Zero dream team now
Parallel Andy
19 Mar 2007, 22:25
is it supercoach or kellogs dream team?? Andy your code didnt work :(
Maybe you entered it wrong. Try again. I checked and I sent you the right one. Everyone else seems to be able to join. It's not Super Coach. It's the one on afl.com.
Parallel Andy
19 Mar 2007, 22:28
ok done and done
anyone who wants to sign up let me know
League name: BF Magpies #2
Well anyone from any team can join now that you've posted the code.
Edit your post maybe and delete the code?
Well anyone from any team can join now that you've posted the code.
Edit your post maybe and delete the code?
ok fine....though mainly collingwood supporters on a collingwood forum i assumed.....
anyone who wants the code please pm me and i will get it back to u asap.
Dj Chriss
20 Mar 2007, 14:24
Thanks andy im in now :D GO TONY RAMBO :rolleyes::thumbsu:
The Royal Sampler
20 Mar 2007, 17:20
It doesn't look as though there's any spots available, but if I'm wrong I'd like to switch my team into the Pies BF league, so please send me the code. Ta. :thumbsu:
SnIcKeRs #3
20 Mar 2007, 18:41
willsam illes get a chance to play all 22 games this season and also would he be a good prospect for a dream team sort of fantasy game
nick_savo
20 Mar 2007, 18:59
I doubt it, Dont buy him
Parallel Andy
20 Mar 2007, 20:30
It doesn't look as though there's any spots available, but if I'm wrong I'd like to switch my team into the Pies BF league, so please send me the code. Ta. :thumbsu:
Nesian is organising the second Big Footy Magpies league.
We should be able to fill up both before the season starts.
Hey I hope you don't mind me moving this thread to our non-footy board "The Magpies Nest". We just need to help prop up that board a bit. This way you could post seperate threads for different leagues or even to discuss strategies if you want to. A redirect link will be left on the main board for a while. Obviously if you are reading this though, you already know where it is.
nick_savo
20 Mar 2007, 20:42
Good idea jabso, That will get the magpie nest going a bit more
Parallel Andy
20 Mar 2007, 20:47
Hey I hope you don't mind me moving this thread to our non-footy board "The Magpies Nest". We just need to help prop up that board a bit. This way you could post seperate threads for different leagues or even to discuss strategies if you want to. A redirect link will be left on the main board for a while. Obviously if you are reading this though, you already know where it is.
Yeah leave the redirect link for a while hey?
I've never even gone to the non-footy board.
Others may not find the post and hence we may not fill up the two leagues
Therussian
24 Mar 2007, 21:34
get on adcock boys, cheap as chips.
Yeah leave the redirect link for a while hey?
I've never even gone to the non-footy board.
Others may not find the post and hence we may not fill up the two leagues
It's there for about 3 more weeks.
Parallel Andy
27 Mar 2007, 08:49
There are still 6 Dream Team places to be filled in the Bigfooty Magpies League 1.
Message me for the code.
Timmy from Thomastown
27 Mar 2007, 08:51
get on adcock boys, cheap as chips.
I'm trying to choose between him or Patful who's about the same price - any thoughts?
Adcock for sure. Patful is overpriced, he might fail to fire this year in his 2nd year. Adcock should go up in price so at least you'll get a profit.
doppleganger
27 Mar 2007, 09:27
Adcock for sure. Patful is overpriced, he might fail to fire this year in his 2nd year. Adcock should go up in price so at least you'll get a profit.
adcock a definite as the 7th back
patful could be a look in as ur 7th forward, i dont like the forwards page that much.....after all the really expensive guns it drops away very badly
Timmy from Thomastown
27 Mar 2007, 09:47
Thaks guys. Jed's a cool name too, got to have a Jed in your team if possible!!!
Lonie_from_50
27 Mar 2007, 09:47
Adcock is close to a definate as a backmen in Supercoach at $460,000...so at $150k he is a steal! He averaged over 80 in both scoring systems last year.
Therussian
27 Mar 2007, 16:33
here's my cheap smokey boys
Heath grundy from the swans
he's put on 4 kgs, and will play rd 1, will get the 4th best backman each week, kicked 9 goals from his 6 games last year.
Behold the crapulance!
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/7746/newteam2gf2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
I've changed it AGAIN
BACKS
Out: Mattner
In: Raines
Raines is a safer bet than Mattner.
RUCKS
Out: Ryder
In: Griffin
Why?: Ryder is pretty dear for a player who is my 4th choice ruck. I went for one of the cheaper rucks who is the most chance to play. With Biglands out he is apparently ahead of Meeson for the 2nd ruck with Hudson. This spares up cash.
FORWARD LINE
In: Pavlich, Embley, Kennedy, Aaron Davey
Out: Fevola (inj concerns?), Tarrant, Croad, Cloke
With some extra cash I rejigged it and I think I came out on top. The forward line was my weak link IMO.
I don't really know if this team will be any good (not enough superstars IMO) especially with the risk of Kennedy, Adcock, Mattner and Pendles in the first team who may be inconsistant.
grimlock
28 Mar 2007, 09:32
here's my cheap smokey boys
Heath grundy from the swans
he's put on 4 kgs, and will play rd 1, will get the 4th best backman each week, kicked 9 goals from his 6 games last year.
Er, no he's injured at the moment and played nada in the pre-season. There's way better options out there.
magpie_militia
28 Mar 2007, 09:38
When is the cut off to be in a league in Dream Team? Is it this Friday? Or can you create a team before round 4 of the AFL?
Parallel Andy
28 Mar 2007, 16:25
There are still 6 Dream Team places to be filled in the Bigfooty Magpies League 1.
Message me for the code.
BUMP!!!!!!!!!!!
Lonie_from_50
28 Mar 2007, 16:39
Lonie_from_50
B: G Johncock (Adel), C Cornes (Port), L Gilbee (Dogs)
HB: M Mattner (Adel), J Bowden (Rich), J Adcock (Bris)
C: M Rischitelli (Bris), L Hodge (Haw), C Newman (Rich)
HF: S Pendlebury (Coll), B Fevola (Carl), D Thomas (Coll)
F: M Pavlich (Frem), F Gehrig (StK), N Brown (Rich)
Foll: D Cox (WCE), J Bolton (Syd), S Black (Bris)
I/C: J Koschitzke (StK), B Gibbs (Carl), P Everitt (Syd), T Cloke (Coll)
Em: L Hansen (Kang), J Selwood (Geel), B Dowler (Haw)
Res: X Ellis (Haw), T Varcoe (Geel), L Darcy (Dogs), B Hudson (Adel), A Davey (Ess)
How did you get Pendlebury forward?
Jabso
B: L. Gilbee (WB), J. Koschitzke (StK), J.Adcock (Bris)
HB: D. Mundy (Frem), J. Bowden (Rich), C. Jones (Kang)
C: B. Johnson (Coll), B. Hodge (Haw), N. Dal Santo (StK)
HF: A. Embley (WCE), M. Pavlich (Frem), G. Ablett (Geel)
F: A. Davey (Melb), N. Brown (Rich), D. Thomas (Coll)
R: A. Sandilands (Frem), C. Judd (WCE/Capt), M.Murphy (Carl)
Int: A.Raines (Rich), S.Pendlebury (Coll), B.Hudson (Adel), J.Kennedy (Carl)
Emg: X.Ellis (Haw), B.Gibbs (Carl), A.Edwards (Kang)
Res: J.Smith (Kang), J.Selwood (Geel), L.Darcy (WB), J.Griffen (Adel), A.Davey (Ess)
Therussian
28 Mar 2007, 22:12
he'll play rd 1
You're talking about Grundy right?
Therussian
28 Mar 2007, 22:51
yep.
eerrrrrrrrrrr no
Lonie_from_50
29 Mar 2007, 11:06
How did you get Pendlebury forward?
Just made my team look realistic, as Cornes is in my forwards...
I scored 1670 which is not too good.
Disapointments:
Mundy with 46. I'll put it down to Freo playing crap.
Marc Murphy 58 - Hope he was just tagged out of it.
Ben Johnson: 51 - I've decided to trade him for Kerr.
Aaron Davey
Hodge !
Brown and Embley being injured with Edwards my emg not being played and me trading Fevola because I thought he was injured. Lucky Alwyn Davey played and I was only 1 man down.
Good:
Sandilands, Pendlebury, D.Thomas, Pav, Gilbee.