View Full Version : Best courtroom drama movies....

Roddy
16 Feb 2007, 21:18
Just watched A Few Good Men. Have seen it at least 10 times, but enjoy it heaps every time. Am a sucker for courtroom movies too, and this is definitely one of the best ever. What are some other good 'uns???

Warwick
16 Feb 2007, 21:22
To Kill a Mockingbird

pmad87
16 Feb 2007, 22:15
Pretty old but the movie: Inherit the Wind isn't bad.

Tony_Clifton
17 Feb 2007, 00:58
A time to kill
Primal Fear
Philadelphia

Mr Magoo
17 Feb 2007, 11:01
12 Angry men ... not a courtroom drama as it's the 12 jurors but still one great movie.
A civil action ...
The Verdict ... Paul Newman is superb in this movie
A Time to Kill ...
The Rainmaker ...
The Firm
My Cousin Vinny ...
Class Action
Erin Brockovich ...not really a courtroom drama but Julia Roberts best role.
Presumed Innocent
The Young Philadelphians ...
Runaway jury
High Crimes

Captain Sensible
17 Feb 2007, 11:13
The original 12 Angry Men.

Nothing else comes close.

- PC -
17 Feb 2007, 18:37
And Justice For All

Glyndon
18 Feb 2007, 17:08
The Verdict is a classic. Cant agree with A Few Good Men - too cliche ridden for me. Maybe an unfair comment as I am extremely anti Hollywood....but The Verdict is one of the great courtroom films of our generation.

SWANNIES RULE
18 Feb 2007, 18:27
A Few Good Men

Best acting I have seen.

Glyndon
18 Feb 2007, 18:35
A Few Good Men

Best acting I have seen.

Take a look at Kenneth Branagh in Henry V, take a look at Edward Norton in Primal Fear, American History X and Fight Club, take a look at Sean Penn in Mystic River - then you will see some of the best acting you have seen.

SWANNIES RULE
18 Feb 2007, 18:42
Didn't you like the acting in a few good men?

Glyndon
18 Feb 2007, 18:45
To be honest, no, not really. Thought it was predictable and almost "acting by numbers". I am not a Tom Cruise fan at all, Jack N, was in form, as he usually is, but didnt push the boundaries of acting at all.

You see, I am not a mainstream Hollywood movie fan, although I do watch mainstream, I just prefer different films and look for different things in films.

All that being said, a film is only a good one for you if you enjoy it. If you loved AFGM, then good luck to you, and that's fine, but go outside the box and challenge yourself.

CaptainDangerfield
18 Feb 2007, 18:51
And Justice For All - Pacino at his best.
Primal Fear - I'm one of the few that didn't pick it.
To Kill A Mocking bird
Murder in the First
Philadelphia

sandeano
18 Feb 2007, 20:33
Witness for the Prosecution

Shell
18 Feb 2007, 21:00
12 Angry men ... not a courtroom drama as it's the 12 jurors but still one great movie.
A civil action ...
A Time to Kill ...
The Rainmaker ...
The Firm
My Cousin Vinny ...
Class Action
Presumed Innocent
Runaway jury
High Crimes

I doubt My Cousin Vinny could be classified as a drama! But def, classic that one, Joe Pesci was born to play the Vinny role. (Juge: What did I say about coming into my courtroom in that attire? Vinny: You were serious about dat? :D )

For me, I also like The Rainmaker and Philadelphia.

jacqui9
18 Feb 2007, 22:12
The acting in The Verdict is simply brilliant. James Mason as Concannon, the defence for the Catholic church is every inch the snake. Jack Warden as 'Frankie's' only friend and right hand man, is just the sort of person you picture as a mate who is tough on the exterior, but cares for you deeply. Charlotte Rampling is purely chilly as the 'femme fatale'. Then there is Paul Newman as Frank Galvin. He was simply brilliant as the washed out alcoholic lawyer who has been relegated to ambulance chasing. It was rubbish that Newman missed out on the academy award. No offence to Ben Kingsley who was fine in Gandhi, but Newman in The Verdict is simply the greatest example of film acting I have ever seen. He simply breaks your heart in some scenes. It is an incredibly dark film - not just in theme but costumes, lighting, weather etc....A

A special 2 DVD disc edition of The Verdict is due out this month actually.

Mr Magoo, I haven't met anyone who has seen or even heard of The Young Philadelphians. It is pure 1950s fluff, but nice to watch. Robert Vaughan was magnificent.

I too am not a big fan of AFGM, mainly because of my intense dislike of all things Tom Cruise.

Runaway Jury
Class Action
12 Angry Men
To Kill A Mockingbird
A Time To Kill

sandeano
18 Feb 2007, 23:32
Nicely said, Jacqui.

I caught "The Verdict" again recently on Foxtel. I was supposed to met somebody for lunch but ended up canceling because I was too caught up in the drama. What is sort of unusual for the genre is that this is such a 'quiet' film. There are no real desk-thumping, "You can't handle the truth!" moments, everything is kept to a more even, simmering tone so the feeling for the viewer is one of complete frustration (even anxiety) as Newman and his client are thwarted at every turn through legal-gobbledygook and a judge that is obviously siding with the defendants - no matter that moral/ethical injustice that would transpire.

Nor does Newman get any great "we shoved it up 'em" scene - the audience just isn't given that sort of catharsis that you expect from such a film. Instead, rather than being a standard courtroom drama, it is something more - a superb character study (the court case serves the character drama, rather than the other, usual, way around).

May I add that as much as Newman deserved the best acting gong, James Mason should have been awarded the best supporting actor Oscar. Seldom have actors been able to deliver lines with such style and ease. The scenes between him and Newman (actors of completely different styles and backgrounds) are a joy to watch.

Sidney Lumet is a vastly underrated director, not 'cinematic' enough for many critical tastes. As far as I am concerned he is one of the best and anyone with the likes of "The Hill", "The Pawnbroker", "Fail-Safe", "The Offence", "Serpico", "Dog Day Afternoon", "Murder On The Orient Express", "Equss", "Network", "Prince of the City" and "The Verdict" (among others) has the runs on the board to prove it.

sandeano
18 Feb 2007, 23:33
Oh, and Jimmy Stewart in "Anatomy of a Murder".

Lady Lawrence
19 Feb 2007, 10:14
Not a drama as such, or a comedy etc etc but from that 80's brat pack genre.

From The Hip

Stars John Hurt, Judd Nelson, Elizabeth Perkins.

here's a review from imdb

Overall not a bad movie if you can overlook the ridiculous way the judicial system is portrayed. Everything that happens in this movie pertaining to the law is sensationalized and cliché, but if you can ignore that and just appreciate it for the story about a man who is caught up in his personal sense of right and wrong, then it's a funny and charming film. This story centers around a young attorney named Robin "Stormy" Weathers who manages to make partner in his law firm after his very first case. He is immediately handed a high profile capital murder trial and is not sure how to handle it. Elizabeth Perkins is well cast as Robin Weathers' sweet and perpetually understanding girlfriend. John Hurt is downright diabolical in his scenes as the defendant on trial for capital murder. And Judd Nelson, as Weathers, is endearing as an attorney forced to defend a man he's not sure is innocent. The main problems with this film are the aforementioned clichés about the justice system and some fairly cheesy dialogue. Not an absolute must see unless a fan of one of the lead actors, but not a bad watch if you happen to catch it on cable.

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Feb 2007, 09:49
Definitely "Inherit The Wind" for mine. The Spencer Tracy one, not the Kirk Douglas one, though I also like the latter somewhat, as well.

Dan26
20 Feb 2007, 17:05
To Kill a Mockingbird.

Primal Fear.

A Few Good Men.

They are three of my fave's. Does anyone here think Primal Fear is an underrated film?

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Feb 2007, 20:48
They are three of my fave's. Does anyone here think Primal Fear is an underrated film?

If I haven't heard of a good film, does that mean I've over- or under-rated it?

- PC -
20 Feb 2007, 21:39

I thought Ed Norton should have gotten the Oscar

Asgardian
21 Feb 2007, 03:51
A couple not mentioned

"Judgement at Nuremberg" is very hard to beat

"Murder" from 1930 by Hitchcock

"The Paradine Case" also by Hitchcock

"The Caine Mutiny" is fabulous with Ferrer

"Miracle on 34th Street" with the irrepressible Edmund Gwenn

"Compulsion" with Orson Welles

nicky
26 Feb 2007, 03:00
Just watched A Few Good Men. Have seen it at least 10 times, but enjoy it heaps every time. Am a sucker for courtroom movies too, and this is definitely one of the best ever. What are some other good 'uns???

Yep me too. I loved 'a few good men' as well and i would probably say its my favourite.

Another good one thats name has slipped my mind is the one with matthew machonhey defending morgan freeman after he shot those white guys who raped his 6 yr old daughter. I found his closing speech where he described in great detail the horrific things the white guys did to the little black girl, then asked the jury to close their eyes and picture her.... "now imagine she's white"... It was very powerful and for that i put it up there as one of the great court room dramas. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Mr Eagle
26 Feb 2007, 11:59
12 Angry Men... such a good movie that not ever the presence of Tony Danza could ruin the remake :)

Captain Sensible
26 Feb 2007, 12:09
"The Caine Mutiny" is fabulous with Ferrer

Forgot that one. The scene where Ferrer is cross examining Bogart and the worry balls come out is one of the most compeling scenes in cinema ever.

O9KlQPX1qiE

Then the final scene when Ferrer walks into the victory celebration and let's fly at the ships crew is pure genius.

Crosby87
26 Feb 2007, 17:02
To Kill a Mockingbird.

Primal Fear.

A Few Good Men.

Not really. It's important if only for the fact that it launched Ed Norton. Solid film, but not really outstanding. One for the collection, though.

tima
26 Feb 2007, 17:14
JFK
The Firm
Primal Fear
To Kill a Mockingbird
A Few Good Men
Suspect
Exorcism of Emily Rose

For documentaries:
Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills

TorresIsGod
26 Feb 2007, 21:17
The original 12 Angry Men.

Nothing else comes close.

A civil action ...
A Time to Kill ...
The Rainmaker ...
The Firm
My Cousin Vinny ...
Class Action
Presumed Innocent
Runaway jury
High Crimes

You sirs, are simply gods!

nicky
26 Feb 2007, 21:30
12 Angry Men... such a good movie that not ever the presence of Tony Danza could ruin the remake :)

Hey i was going to say the original 2 angry men but refrained because "technically" it ain't a court room drama.;)

sandeano
27 Feb 2007, 21:28
Forgot that one. The scene where Ferrer is cross examining Bogart and the worry balls come out is one of the most compeling scenes in cinema ever.

Then the final scene when Ferrer walks into the victory celebration and let's fly at the ships crew is pure genius.

Thanks for posting that, mate.

Stunning stuff, I had forgotten just how good that movie was.

Wow, Bogie, eh?

*shakes head*

If only we had his calibre today.

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Feb 2007, 04:01
Thanks for posting that, mate.

Stunning stuff, I had forgotten just how good that movie was.

Wow, Bogie, eh?

*shakes head*

Ahh I've seen this, skipper losing control on a ship, and commanding deathwish manouvresm right? Which one was this again? Utterly arresting film.

Captain Sensible
28 Feb 2007, 09:25
Ahh I've seen this, skipper losing control on a ship, and commanding deathwish manouvresm right? Which one was this again? Utterly arresting film.

The Caine Mutiny-comfortably Bogies best acting performance. He is so compelling as a man who is losing it and dragging others down with him.

Captain Sensible
28 Feb 2007, 09:28

IMO He is the greatest actor of the 20th century.

Just in that little clip the moment he realises he's ranting and raving, does the double take and then looks around the room is captivating. His fear is almost palbable.

Mobbenfuhrer
28 Feb 2007, 10:00
The Caine Mutiny-comfortably Bogies best acting performance. He is so compelling as a man who is losing it and dragging others down with him.

Ahh yeah, what a fantastic film! Remembering more and more now.

Comfortably is right, but this role is up against such competition as "Adelaide! Adelaide!" :)

Noddy Holder
28 Feb 2007, 15:43
It's already been mentioned but Philadelphia is one of my favourite movies so I have to mention it again.:thumbsu:

Drummond
1 Mar 2007, 14:29
12 Angry Men. In my top 3 movies of all time.

Just a classic. :thumbsu:

gadj1976
1 Mar 2007, 21:30

12 Angry men, by far the best ever. Original only please!!!!!

tima
2 Mar 2007, 22:16
For documentaries:
Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills

Anyone else seen this?

I found a trailer for it if anyone is interested...
http://www.videodetective.com/titledetails.aspx?MasterID=334609&playvideokbrate=300

It's well worth tracking down if you haven't seen it. The Australian dvd is a little expensive, but includes the sequel "Revelations: Paradise Lost 2" too and a commentary on the first film. But it's worth downloading if you can find it ;) It's pretty disturbing though.

It's one of those documentaries where the real story is better than what many movies come up with I reckon.
Just that the filmmakers get so much co-operation from the victims families and the accused (& their families), plus were allowed to film the court cases is pretty interesting in itself, let alone the story.

Captain Sensible
3 Mar 2007, 11:02
Some scenes from 12 angry men;

DQ_nM5NkQzs

wYAuzs-AxXA

I couldnt find the best bit where Henry Fonda proves that the knife wasnt unique-he pulls one out of his pocket that he bought on the way to court that morning. The whole film turns on that moment.

Mobbenfuhrer
19 Mar 2007, 12:43
Saw 12 Angry Men on Friday night ... very very good!

I still put Inherit The Wind above it though, then Caine Mutiny now that I think of it, but a great recommendation folks!

sandeano
19 Mar 2007, 12:52
Saw 12 Angry Men on Friday night ... very very good!

Caught some of the TV remake starring Jack Lemmon, Ossie Davis, William Petersen, Tony Danza and George C. Scott the other night.

It was actually surprisingly good, worth a look if you have the time.