View Full Version : Luke Power
Chezwick
19th February 2007, 14:52
There we go. I gladly accept the task on reporting our great gun :D
danielcanberra
20th March 2007, 19:51
Congratulations on being appointed captain.
scott522
20th March 2007, 20:56
Congratulations on being appointed captain.
And so say all of us !
TheBrownDog
21st March 2007, 16:32
Lord of all gnomes eh scottster? :D
scott522
21st March 2007, 17:54
Lord of all gnomes eh scottster? :D
What can I say Dog, but good things come in small parcels...:p
Next time you're talking to him, ask him about the keyring I gave him a couple of years ago... lmao and so did the others...;)
TheBrownDog
21st March 2007, 19:09
What can I say Dog, but good things come in small parcels...:p
Next time you're talking to him, ask him about the keyring I gave him a couple of years ago... lmao and so did the others...;)
Will do! :D
kenrosewall
3rd May 2007, 12:21
Any news on a possible leg injury Luke picked up last night at training Chezwick or Browndog?
banana_bus
4th May 2007, 18:08
Any news on a possible leg injury Luke picked up last night at training Chezwick or Browndog?
anyone?
Grimreepah
4th May 2007, 18:25
Link (http://www.gcbulletin.com.au/article/2007/05/04/4899_sports.html)
LIONS co-captain Luke Power made only a brief appearance at training on Wednesday but has declared himself a definite starter for Sunday's big clash with Fremantle at the Gabba.
The gun midfielder, who brandished a bandaged knee, failed to complete Brisbane's midweek session. But Power says it is nothing serious.
"It is just a corkie (corked thigh), there are no worries there," he said.
"I actually would have trained last night (Wednesday) but I had a bit of a cold. So with everything else going on, they told me to have a night off."
http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/5604/powerkg5.jpg
So underrated by so many.
Love him
Grimreepah
26th June 2007, 10:52
Article
(http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,21966268-5003410,00.html)
BRISBANE Lions are confident of having Luke Power back for the game against Port Adelaide at the Gabba on Saturday.
Power completed the majority of the extended two-hour session under lights at the Gabba, and he showed no sign of the quadriceps strain that has sidelined him for the past three games.
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/4821/powergf7.jpg
TheBrownDog
28th June 2007, 19:04
Officially named in the side to take on Port.
Very relieved to have you back Luke.
TheBrownDog
8th July 2007, 16:01
I'm going to go out on a limb and say that after Buckley, Power has the best footskills in the competition.
How dangerous did our forward 50 entries look last night when Luke was the guy delivering it!
notting18
8th July 2007, 16:34
I'm going to go out on a limb and say that after Buckley, Power has the best footskills in the competition.
How dangerous did our forward 50 entries look last night when Luke was the guy delivering it!
You mean foot skills refering to only his left yeah? lol
Grimreepah
15th July 2007, 18:27
Link (http://sportal.com.au/default.aspx/afl-news-display/lethal-praises-lions-maturity-31183)
Describing Joel Patfull's marking job on Russell Robertson as exceptional, Matthews also highlighted the return of co-captain Luke Power as critical to the Lions' recent upturn in fortunes.The midfield maestro was best-on-ground for the Lions in terms of possessions and booted 1.2.
"Luke Power coming back a couple of weeks ago made an enormous difference. We've had three quite reasonable games," Matthews said.
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/6577/powerpp9.jpg
Grimreepah
9th August 2007, 01:54
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22212875%255E19746,00.html)
Good habits power Lions
09 August 2007 Herald Sun
Jon Anderson
LUKE Power, these days an elder statesman of the Brisbane Lions, knows exactly where his side's sudden improvement has come from ¿ the training track.Five successive wins puts Brisbane behind only Geelong as the competition's form side and co-captain Power said preparation was the key.
"It is a very close playing group and one whose training ethics have been right up with any I've played with. They are all about creating good habits on the track," said Power, 27, who now boasts 191-games to his credit.
"The improvement in players like Jared Brennan and Daniel Merrett is due to training and they are realising that you only become respected in this competition when you play well on a consistent basis.
"The Brisbane sides of 5-6 years ago had a number of players who did that but the two groups can't be compared until this one achieves something.
"When those premiership teams trained it was all about rest and recovery so we could keep fresh. This group is about competitive work and miles in the legs."
Power, who is two units from completing a journalism degree, admits the rapid recent rise of the Lions is genuinely exciting.
And he points to Leigh Matthews and his coaching group as key reasons behind their assault on the finals.
"Our backline coach Justin Leppitsch, who has done a lot of work with players such as Daniel Merrett and Jason Roe, doesn't get mentioned as a future coach but he should," Power said.
"He has the personality and confidence for the role.
"Craig Lambert has done a lot of work in development with the younger players, Craig Brittain (reserves and recruiting) is an important person while Shaun Rehn (midfield) and Paul Hudson (forwards) have come up with some really good theories.
"Two years ago our midfield was the worst in the competition in terms of clearances and Shaun has helped change that right around."
Power also nominates Nigel Lappin's return to the midfield as a key ingredient, admitting it had reduced the tagging pressure on Simon Black and himself.
Add Jed Adcock and Michael Rischitelli to the mix and you have a group capable of regularly feeding the competition's best power forward in Jonathan Brown.
"When you look up, `Browny' has a real presence and demands the ball but he has been helped but the emergence of Jared Brennan, the hard leading of Robert Copeland and the work rate of Wayde Mills at centre half-forward.
Power missed three weeks mid-season when he tore the kicking muscle in his quad, prompting a bevy of jokes from teammates that is must be a small muscle given his kicking distance hardly matches that of Anthony Rocca.
However he kicks straight, as Brown would attest.
Power has three years of a contract to fulfil with Brisbane.
"I always wanted to play 200 games and to do it with one club means more. I consider myself to be a loyal person in an age where loyalty doesn't mean as much," said Power, before addressing the question of whether he would remain in Brisbane or return to his native Melbourne.
"I have always said I will return to Melbourne after my career and that remains, although I now have a Queensland girlfriend. But she reckons she likes Melbourne," he said.
http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/9352/powercr6.jpg
Training for success: Brisbane Lions stalwart Luke Power pushes himself to the limit.
danielcanberra
10th August 2007, 15:15
Power has three years of a contract to fulfil with Brisbane.
Does this mean he has three years left on that contract?
BigCat2
10th August 2007, 15:18
Does this mean he has three years left on that contract?
At the end of 2005 he signed a 5 year contract. So I'd say yeah.
notliondown
10th August 2007, 18:32
And trust me Luke if you ever read this... Your loyalty means bloody heaps!!!! Dont ever doubt the collective sigh of releif that went through the supporters as well when you resigned a few years ago!!!!!
Grimreepah
20th August 2007, 17:25
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=49422)
Power was reported for charging Sydney's Craig Bolton during Saturday night's game. It was the view of the Panel that Power was running back with the flight of the ball with eyes only for the ball until the last second, while jumping to spoil the mark. Power did not turn and bump Bolton at any stage and it was deemed that contact was unavoidable and not unreasonable in the circumstances. No further action was taken.
http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/3780/powerkt4.jpg
Grimreepah
2nd November 2007, 11:10
End of Season Player Review
Luke Power was this year named one of 5 co-captains to take over from the retiring Michael Voss. It was another consistent year for him, having one or two quiet games, but generally being one of our most productive players week in week out. He averaging 23.8 disposals and 5 tackles a game, and finished 4th in the B&F.
Power is a very good player who has a good all round game. He brings to the side some much needed skills, especially with his short kicking, and he sets the example with his hardness at the ball. At the same time he is probably a step down in class from the elite midfielders in the competition, and because of that tends to not get much recognition. However his importance should not be underestimated, as he is one of a handful of players that the Lions are very reliant upon. When he missed 3 games mid-year with a quad injury, the side had great difficulty covering his absence.
Looking towards 2008, Power will be hoping he can have another consistent and uneventful year. While that may make for a dull player review, it also serves as the ideal foundation to help the younger players develop.
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/3671/powerus3.jpg
Grimreepah
2nd November 2007, 14:37
Afl.com (http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=52987) judges Luke Power as the best number 5 draft pick of all time:
5 – LUKE POWER (BRISBANE LIONS)
Recruited from: Oakleigh Chargers (1997)
The 195-gamer played in a hat-trick of flags, been All-Australian once and finished in the top-three of the club champion award on three occasions, earning him the gong as the best No.5 pick. There is some outstanding talent coming through, with Lance Franklin (Hawthorn – 2004) leading the charge long-term, followed by Brock McLean (Melbourne – 2004), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood – 2005) and Travis Boak (Port Adelaide – 2006).
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/1149/powerjn6.jpg
Grimreepah
5th November 2007, 23:48
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22708773-5003410,00.html)
Power pumped over prospects
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/) Matt Marshall
November 05, 2007 11:00pm
CLASSY midfielder Luke Power senses the bullish "never-say-die" attitude that characterised Brisbane's triple premiership feats in his club's new breed.
Brisbane's full squad completed its first pre-season training session yesterday on the heels of its most successful campaign in three winters.
After just two lean rebuilding years, Leigh Matthews' young squad stood on the cusp of a return to finals football in 2007, and is well placed to continue the resurgence next season.
"After the 2005 and '06 seasons, the year ended in a really negative way, it seemed we dropped our guard a bit," Power said.
"Things weren't going well, but after this year everyone felt the season was a really positive one apart from the last few weeks. The thing was, we played out every game, that's what our supporters came to expect."
Power believes the decisions of Jared Brennan, Josh Drummond, Troy Selwood and Rhan Hooper to knock back offers from rival clubs to remain in Brisbane stand as testament to a rebirth of the once mighty club's proud culture.
"A lot of those guys have been around for three to four years and they haven't been our best years," he said.
"I think they realise now we're improving, we're on the way up, and they want to be a part of it. It's good for them to see it through. Hopefully they can come out the other side."
The recruitment of silky midfielder Travis Johnstone, who completed light work with his wrist still on the mend, is another huge plus, according to Power.
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/5869/powerky2.jpg
TheBrownDog
6th December 2007, 12:12
If some of our younger midfield types take the next step, I wonder if we will ever see Luke return to the forward line on a permenent/semi-permanent basis?
We'd obviously need someone to step up in the midfield as Luke was our king of goal assists last year, but in 2000 he was a deadly small forward and kicked 50 goals... might be the natural place for him to return in coming years?
Grimreepah
6th December 2007, 12:48
If some of our younger midfield types take the next step, I wonder if we will ever see Luke return to the forward line on a permenent/semi-permanent basis?
We'd obviously need someone to step up in the midfield as Luke was our king of goal assists last year, but in 2000 he was a deadly small forward and kicked 50 goals... might be the natural place for him to return in coming years?
I can't see that happening in the near future. A good midfielder tends to be more important than a good forward pocket anway, but particularly so for us. We are still finding our way after the loss of Voss and Power's hardness and leadership in the middle is pretty important.
We've possibly seen Adcock overtake him this year, but it would probably take another 2 or 3 of the younger players to do the same for this to become even a consideration. And that will take time as there is a bit of a gap between our A graders and our B graders.
BigCat2
8th December 2007, 22:10
Luke's goal sense has also deteriorated in the last few years. When he ends up in the forward line, he no longer swoops on the ball like he used to, and is nowhere near as accurate both in general play and from set shots.
Grimreepah
4th January 2008, 20:07
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23005661-5003410,00.html)
"Even our older experienced players, such as Luke Power, who is already an elite midfielder, are breaking their 3km time-trial records," Penfold said.
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/7913/power15ds5.jpg
TheBrownDog
14th February 2008, 02:30
Top 6 players for goal assists in 2007.
J. Brown BRIS - 44
M. Pavlich FREO - 41
L. Power BRIS - 40
S. Johnson GEEL - 48
C. Mooney GEEL - 37
B. Harvey KANG - 36
POBT
14th February 2008, 13:37
Top 6 players for goal assists in 2007.
J. Brown BRIS - 44
M. Pavlich FREO - 41
L. Power BRIS - 40
S. Johnson GEEL - 48
C. Mooney GEEL - 37
B. Harvey KANG - 36
A good reason why he should spend more time in the front half than the back half. Just a smart footballer with plenty of vision.
TwoBlueEyes
14th February 2008, 14:05
A good reason why he should spend more time in the front half than the back half. Just a smart footballer with plenty of vision.
Totally agree....would kick a minimum 40 goals this season playing every game at hf or f :thumbsu:
His #1 ranked assist in 2007 would have to be the one against the Swans after Black found him in traffic on the boundary line and he then in turn found Brown......the rest is :D
danielcanberra
14th March 2008, 17:41
Last year it was Browny, this year it is Luke. The face of our captaincy in 08.
And deservingly so. Captain Buzz Lightyear. Err, Captain Power!
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/117545.jpg
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/117546.jpg
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/117560.jpg
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/117541.jpg
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/117558.jpg
POBT
17th March 2008, 11:35
Mike Sheahan had him at #41 in his Top 50.
Grimreepah
28th March 2008, 13:21
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/463/powerax2.jpg
Dylan12
29th March 2008, 19:28
Just saw Luke being interviewd on the news (looked like he had a nice stud mark across his forehead) and a reporter asked him about the coaches comments on the umpiring - his response - "What is Mick whinging about this time"? Love your work Luke, sticking it to grumpy Malthouse!
konstas_87
30th March 2008, 00:01
Just saw Luke being interviewd on the news (looked like he had a nice stud mark across his forehead) and a reporter asked him about the coaches comments on the umpiring - his response - "What is Mick whinging about this time"? Love your work Luke, sticking it to grumpy Malthouse!
*insert "proud" emoticon here*
OldLion
30th March 2008, 12:37
He is now officially a champion of the game - a sensational effort. Watched him as a junior with Balwyn .. the coach's instructions were pretty simple "kick it to Luke". Always quality, always energised - a leader through his actions.
Grimreepah
15th April 2008, 15:24
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=57866)
Co-captain Luke Power is set to become the Club’s 24th player to reach their 200th AFL match when he lines up against Hawthorn this Saturday night at the Gabba. Power was recruited by the Lions from Victorian Club the Oakleigh Chargers with Pick No.5 in the 1997 AFL National Draft.
Throughout his decorated 11-year career, the 28 year-old has received All-Australian selection, twice been Club Champion Runner-up and was a prominent member of the Lions’ hat-trick of premierships from 2001-2003. He is also one of the Club’s most active community event and charity initiative player volunteers.
Luke Power’s career highlights include:
AFL Rising Star Nomination 1998, 1999
5th place, AFL Rising Star Award 1999
Lions Most Improved Player 2000
Lions Attitude Barometer Award (Forward) 2000
International Rules Series 2000
Lions Premiership Player 2001, 2002, 2003
Lions Best Finals Player 2003
All-Australian 2004
Lions Club Champion Runner-up 2003, 2004
3rd place, Lions Club Champion 2006
Lions Co-captain 2007, 2008
Life Member
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/8665/powernp3.jpg
Ceebee
15th April 2008, 20:58
What a brilliant photo, thanks Grim ,for all you contribute to this board.
Much appreciated.
danielcanberra
16th April 2008, 18:55
Lions triple premiership player, All-Australian, Life Member and co-captain Luke Power speaks about his upcoming milestone and other issues in the lead-up to his 200th AFL match against Hawthorn this Saturday night at the Gabba.
This transcript is exclusive to Lions club newsletter subscribers...Did everybody get the email newsletter tonight? A great read.
Not going to post here, as it is 'exclusive'.
MacMum
16th April 2008, 19:12
Put it on "between the Lions".......isn't that what that thread is for.....private discussion between us Lions???....I'm starting to wonder.......cheers to you Daniel..
TheBrownDog
16th April 2008, 20:10
There is a two-page interview with Luke in this week's Inside Football as well.
Grimreepah
16th April 2008, 20:19
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/power-prepares-for-200th-match-for-lions/20080416-26k3.html)
Power prepares for 200th match for Lions
April 16, 2008 - 6:04PM
Family ties may yet pull Brisbane Lions co-captain Luke Power back to his hometown Melbourne.
But not before the classy midfielder completes some unfinished business at the Queensland-based AFL club.
Preparing for his 200th game - all for the Lions - Power didn't sound like a man leaving Brisbane any time soon.
However, Power, 28, admitted he came close to walking out in 2005 - and didn't rule out leaving the Lions in the future.
But Power said the lure of reclaiming the Lions' former glory had kept him in Queensland - and believed the club was on the verge of doing just that.
Three years ago, the off-contract Power contemplated big offers from Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon and St Kilda.
Adding extra spice, master niggler and then teammate Jason Akermanis had revealed that if Power left it could be because of a rift with Lions coach Leigh Matthews.
The Lions were also suffering a hangover - missing the 2005 finals after playing the previous four grand finals, winning three.
When the dust settled Power signed a five-year Lions deal in September 2005.
His loyalty will be rewarded when he plays game No.200 on Saturday night - a blockbuster against ladder leaders Hawthorn at the Gabba.
"There was at one stage (a temptation to leave). It was obviously a family thing - whether I wanted to pursue my football in Melbourne where my family was," Power said.
"At the time I wanted to be part of Brisbane's next success, hopefully at the moment we are on the verge of that."
The former All Australian's faith has been repaid somewhat.
After three lean seasons, the revitalised Lions have begun 2008 well with a 2-2 record - including a remarkable 67-point turnaround to beat Port last round.
But Power still baulked when asked if he would play out his career in Brisbane.
"It's hard to say in football, circumstances can change pretty quickly," he said.
"But I am contracted with the Lions for another three years and I am very happy here."
He could even afford to joke about his future, cheekily throwing up mooted AFL club Gold Coast as a possible option.
"Who knows maybe the Gold Coast might give me an extra year once I am finished, (former Lions captain Michael Voss) Vossy might give me an extra year - just a joke," he laughed.
Power - a three-time premiership player - will become the Lions' 24th player to play 200 games.
It has already been a good week for Power - after featuring in the miraculous last round win, he was named in the Victorian 40-strong squad for May 10's Hall of Fame tribute match.
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/9729/power10ze9.jpg
Link
(http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23551781-19742,00.html)
Luke Power considered leaving after 2003 premiership
Article from: Herald Sun
Jim Wilson
April 17, 2008 12:00am
ON THE eve of his 200th game, Brisbane Lion Luke Power has revealed he almost left the Sunshine State to return home to Melbourne after the Lions' third premiership.
The star midfielder, who will reach the milestone against Hawthorn at the Gabba on Saturday night, said family ties came close to luring him south after the 2003 Grand Final.
"It was obviously a family thing and whether I wanted to pursue my football in Melbourne, where my family was, or stay up here where I've always played," Power said.
Three years ago the off-contract Power also contemplated big offers from Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon and St Kilda.
Adding extra spice, master niggler and then teammate Jason Akermanis had revealed that if Power left, it could be because of a rift with Lions coach Leigh Matthews.
But when the dust settled, Power signed a five-year deal with the Lions in September 2005.
He said yesterday the lure of reclaiming the club's former glory had kept him in Queensland.
"At the time I wanted to be part of Brisbane's next success. Hopefully at the moment we are on the verge of that," he said.
But Power will not rule out a return to Melbourne once his deal ends in 2010.
"It's hard to say, and circumstances can change pretty quickly in football. I'm with the Lions for the next three years and I'm pretty happy here," the 2004 All-Australian said.
"Maybe the Gold Coast might give me an extra year once I finish -- that's just a joke."
Power will become the 24th Lions player to reach 200 games.
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/7759/power14jv9.jpg
notting18
17th April 2008, 10:31
Am I the only one surprised that article wasn't "Luke Power looks to future on the Gold Coast" where they happened to ignore his "that is just a joke" comment?:p
Chasing the Dream
17th April 2008, 11:54
Just flicking through the roster watch, it suprised me how little we have had to say on Luke over the past year or so, with the amount of posts on this thread way down on some of the other players.
It just goes to show that he has been doing his job week in week out with little fanfare.
May also have helped that he has not had contract negotiations during that time:o
Grimreepah
19th April 2008, 00:07
A photo tribute in recognition of 200 games, courtesy of the Courier Mail.
http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/8915/power10yp0.jpg
Luke Power's headshot for the 1998 season, when he made his AFL debut. Power's fist game was against Sydney at the SCG in round two, when, according to the Brisbane Lions official website, he collected 19 possessions and kicked three goals to win a nomination for the AFL¿s Rising Star Award.
http://img363.imageshack.us/img363/3491/power13cr8.jpg
Power has mixed playing AFL with university. Here he is at home in 1999 hitting the books.
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5237/power11nl5.jpg
Power misjudges a spoil...
http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/7355/power12yi9.jpg
Luke and Leigh chew the fat.
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/149/power14ki5.jpg
Power is gripped by Brisbane captain Michael Voss after the Lions clinch the 2002 grand final.
Grimreepah
19th April 2008, 00:11
http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/9670/power15co9.jpg
Power and Chris Johnson celebrate yet another victory over arch rival Collingwood at the Gabba.
http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/5476/power16pk9.jpg
Power and fellow midfield gun Simon Black celebrate a classic win in the wet over Geelong at the Gabba in 2005.
http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/236/power17fp3.jpg
Power takes some time out.
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/4215/power18mf8.jpg
Named as co-captain for the start of the 2007 season.
MacMum
19th April 2008, 06:26
Well done Grim......thanks.....Luke has always just gone about his business in a quiet fashion, letting others take the glory, but his contribution to the Lions will go down in club history as one of the Fab 5.....the backbone of the greatest team seen in the VFL/AFL for a long long time...Congrats Luke, you're a star....
Grimreepah
19th April 2008, 09:41
Link (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23561267-19742,00.html)
Pride of the Brisbane Lions
Article from: Herald Sun
Mike Sheahan
April 19, 2008 12:00am
DEEP into the 2003 season, with the Brisbane Lions headed for a third flag in a row, Luke Power told Leigh Matthews he would be late for training. Naturally enough, the coach wanted to know why. Particularly at the final session for the week, and at such a critical juncture of the season. Power said it was a personal matter, the funeral of a Brisbane teenager he had befriended three years earlier and adopted as a mate. He had been asked by the family to be a pallbearer for the young cancer victim; it became the most important commitment in his life at that time.
Matthews deferred training to accommodate the player. Everyone knows what a fine footballer Power has been for 10 years. Only the people within the club know what an outstanding citizen he is, too.
More recently, Brisbane rookie Pat Garner, whose career has been put in jeopardy by consecutive knee reconstructions, lost his father in his 40s. Late in 2006, Power paid Garner's return air fare to Melbourne and had him stay with him and his family in Balwyn for a week. Hence Matthews' description of his star midfielder as a "mother hen".
"He's been a vary caring teammate. If you want to be specific, he's the mother hen of the group," Matthews said.
"He's got a great empathy for people; he cares and he's very, very family-oriented."
So much so, he almost quit the Lions after the 2005 season.
"When I got back on the plane to go back to Brisbane, I was almost going (to leave)," Power said this week. His family certainly thought he was going back to Brisbane to pack up and come home.
"Then I got up here and had another think about it. I think the basic thing for me was I'd never struggled getting up and going to work - I shouldn't say going to work - getting up and going to train and play for the Brisbane Lions," he said.
"The grass isn't necessarily greener on the other side."
His then manager Ron Joseph, a family friend for 15 years, accompanied him to Brisbane. He said: "I thought he'd made up his mind that he was going to make the really tough call, which was to come home.
"He got home (to Brisbane), took a couple of phone calls from mates and then we went and had some lunch.
"At one point, he just said, 'I'm staying'. I knew straight away he had made his mind up.
"I said, 'Fair enough, so long as you've thought it through, you know what you're doing, let's get on with it'."
Power accepted the Brisbane offer on the table, re-signing for a further five years (2006-10) for an estimated $2.2 million.
That's real money, yet much less than Victorian clubs, principally Carlton and Collingwood, had been prepared to fork out for him at different times.
"It was very, very close," Power said.
"It was never a Collingwood versus Lions thing, it was more a lifestyle, a Brisbane versus Melbourne issue.
"Whether I wanted to stay at the club I'd always played for or come back to Melbourne where my family is.
"Loyalty is a massive part of life and to be a one-club player is something I'm very proud of."
While Power stayed in Brisbane, he remains a Victorian at heart.
"I'm a Victorian, mate. I'm not playing for the Allies, am I?" he said, referring to his selection in the Victorian team to play a Dream Team at the MCG on May 10. As for the long-term future, he said: "I'd hope to go back to Melbourne and be around the family.
"We're a very close family, and my two brothers (Ben and Sam) are my best mates."
There is, though, his impending marriage to Queenslander Anita Franke in November and her family ties.
Power, the innocent 17-year-old drafted by the Lions in 1997, has vindicated the club's faith in him when others were not so sure. He was small (177cm) and one-sided (left), but Brisbane recruiting pair Scott Clayton and Kinnear Beatson saw beyond those perceived deficiencies. "He just ticked all the other boxes," Clayton said.
"We rated him very highly. Just his speed over five, his decision-making; his hunger for the contest.
"He's genuinely tough, too, and he's got character, which is really important."
Matthews said: "We drafted him to be a very, very good player, and he's become one.
"He has an ability to find the footy and he's good in the congested areas. He's always been quite strong in the contest and he's not bad in the aerial contest, either."
Ten years on, it's hard to believe it all started in tears when the draft rudely interrupted the blissful life of Michelle and Kevin Power and their three sons. Power Sr says he still has not forgiven his former Victorian amateur teammate Andrew Ireland, then chief executive at Brisbane after a career at Collingwood, but it's tongue in cheek these days. After all, his son is about to play his 200th game and has played in three premiership teams from four Grand Finals. He is also co-captain of his team and a young man who has made an invaluable contribution to his club. The Lions' former chairman Graeme Downie said this week: "He's a gem of a human being, and I'd be delighted if you quoted me on that."
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/6509/power200gamesbc7.jpg
Grimreepah
19th April 2008, 09:50
Link (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23561263-19742,00.html)
Parents' life a Power struggle
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_heraldsun.gif (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/)
Mike Sheahan
April 19, 2008 12:00am
IN SEASON, Kevin Power lives the fantasy of virtually every football-loving father of sons.
He has two boys playing in the AFL - second son Luke with the Brisbane Lions, youngest son Sam with North Melbourne (after six seasons with the Western Bulldogs).
Yet it isn't all you might expect, according to the former VAFA veteran with De La Salle and North Old Boys.
"It's not fun while they're playing, not fun at all," he said this week.
"You just worry about them the whole time. How they're going, how the team's going, whether they're going to get hurt.
"We (he and wife Michelle) get lots of joy and we take great pride in what they do, but not until it's over for the day and, hopefully, they have played in a win and didn't get hurt."
The Powers were sitting in the MCG's Great Southern Stand, about 60m from the play, during the 2004 preliminary final, when Luke was mown down by Geelong's Steve Johnson.
"I remember seeing Johnson running towards Luke as Joel Corey kicked the ball up the field," Kevin said.
"The ball had gone, but he just kept coming and cleaned Luke up. He was knocked out and we had to sit there and watch him lying on the ground and shaking.
"You don't know what to do, whether to go to the rooms or wait until after the game; you're helpless. You just hope everything's OK."
Kevin and Michelle watch their sons religiously.
Usually, they see both of them each weekend, live in Victoria or on television from interstate.
"When there's a clash, one (parent) goes to one, the other to the other game," Kevin said.
This week, there's a clash, and it could not have come at a tougher time.
The Powers will be at the Gabba tonight watching Luke in his 200th game at the same time Sam plays for North against Collingwood in probably the biggest game of his career.
Just to add to the mix, eldest son Ben and his wife Fiona are expecting their second child on Monday.
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/4121/power9ms1.jpg
Cousin Jed
19th April 2008, 10:13
Excellent piece from Mike Sheahan there
TheBrownDog
8th May 2008, 13:10
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140268.jpg
Grimreepah
11th May 2008, 01:17
Luke Power was the best of the Lions in the tribute match as he put on a display of precision short passing in his 20 disposal effort.
http://i26.tinypic.com/rb0faw.jpg
Grimreepah
11th May 2008, 01:51
Player Ratings: Matt Burgan (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=59413)
Luke Power (8)
Started on the bench but delivered some lovely passes inside 50 when he entered the fray. A foot-pass to Bradshaw in the first term was particularly impressive. Had 20 touches and was a good contributor.
Rating: 7
Grimreepah
27th May 2008, 20:03
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60320)
Power surges for next Lion era
Simon White
1:07 PM Tue 27 May, 2008
SHOULD I stay or should I go?
Luke Power famously faced that question at the end of the 2005 season, when the out-of-contract All-Australian midfielder attracted attention from some of the bigger Melbourne clubs.
History will show that Power turned down the overtures, became a Brisbane Lions co-captain and, with a slice of luck, a leading light in the next generation of success at the club.
”One of the reasons I stayed was because I wanted to give back to the younger players what the senior players gave to me when I was coming through,” Power told lions.com.au.
”With guys like Jonathan Brown, Simon Black and Tim Notting, I wanted to be able to help provide the kind of experience and leadership that young players need to develop.
”Hopefully what we’re getting into now is part of the next good Lions era.”
The flipside to the stay-or-go equation is encapsulated by Power’s younger brother Sam, who left the Western Bulldogs at the end of last season to join North Melbourne.
After 84 games in seven seasons at the Dogs, Sam looks like blossoming in the blue-and-white after averaging 17 possessions per game over the opening nine rounds.
Last week he played in a thrilling three-point win over his old club and this Saturday night the two siblings are poised to do battle at the Gabba.
”Sam had some great years with the Bulldogs and made a lot of great friends there,” Power said.
”But now he’s really enjoying being at his new club and the change of environment that’s come with that.
”On the weekend it was terrific for him to have beaten his former team in such a close game.
”I had a bit of a chat to him afterwards – I think he was at a function for Brent Harvey’s 250th game – and he sounded really happy.
”I’m hoping he won’t be quite so happy this week!”
http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/5316/powervi6.jpg
lion_gooner
19th June 2008, 17:30
the bank of queensland ad they show at the gabba is SHOCKING
not as bad as the bulldogs one where all the guy says is woof woof woof
Grimreepah
21st June 2008, 22:04
Racked up 40 disposals tonight, beating his 38 against the Hawks in Round 16 2006. Considering Adelaide are fairly defensive side, that is a fair effort.
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/8130/power34nm8.jpg
Grimreepah
22nd June 2008, 00:21
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/sport/next-month-to-make-or-break-lions-power-20080623-2vgo.html)
Power shook off eight different opponents to grab 40 disposals against Adelaide - including 13 in the final term.
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61942)
But the foundations for the victory were laid in a brilliant four-quarter display from Power and a sublime second half performance by Brennan, who was moved into the midfield for the second half.
"I thought Luke’s effort was nothing short of superb," Matthews said.
"He won the footy and used it well. You have to use it well against Adelaide because they get so many numbers back.
"Luke kept us in it partly early on and then when Jared Brennan joined him we had two midfielders really playing well.
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/5329/poweruy5.jpg
Grimreepah
23rd June 2008, 12:57
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61984)
The Lions’ 13-point Saturday night win over the Crows was notable for an exceptional career-high 40-possession performance by Power himself.Among all Lions, only Travis Johnstone has accumulated more in a game – while playing for former club Melbourne – but Power was characteristically modest post game.
"I could probably have hit up (Jonathan Brown) a few more times – I reckon I missed him a couple of times," Power said.
"If I’d managed to do that, we could have had a few more goals, but the players around me looked after me pretty well tonight and got the ball in my hands."
http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5117/power37pt8.jpg
Grimreepah
29th June 2008, 16:31
Has been brilliant the last two weeks. Arguably in career best form and would have to be in contention for All Australian.
konstas_87
29th June 2008, 16:52
we would have lost by 5 goals+ if power wasnt playing today (V the Dees).
Grimreepah
30th June 2008, 00:36
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23942059-5016181,00.html)
The interchange bungle was the second of the round, after Sam Harris booted a goal for the Kangaroos on Saturday night from a Luke Ball infringement.
Yesterday, it was Lions skipper Luke Power who marginally crossed the white line in the 21st minute of the second quarter before stepping back when he realised co-captain Simon Back had yet to cross over.
"Maybe the penalty is too severe, but it is there to stop you having 19 blokes on the field," Matthews said.
"The fact is, every player in the competition should know that they can't go on until their interchange player has come off. There is no use being over-anxious and taking a step forward when he hasn't taken a step over. Everyone knows the rules."
http://img399.imageshack.us/img399/7548/power2wn2.jpg
Grimreepah
4th July 2008, 10:47
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=62679)
Player to watch:
Luke Power can’t be far off being the form player of the competition, averaging more than 30 possessions-per-game over the last seven weeks. The co-captain is now sixth in the league for disposals and, at $61 the win and $16 the place, might be the best Brownlow Medal long-shot going around.
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/4065/power34lu6.jpg
Grimreepah
11th July 2008, 17:41
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=63118)
Lions co-captain Luke Power currently ranks top 10 in the league in handballs, disposals, tackles, goal assists and contested possessions. No other player in the league matches that spread at present, with Western Bulldogs ball magnet Daniel Cross the closest – but missing out in goal assists.
http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/6361/power19xx2.jpg
Grimreepah
23rd July 2008, 20:15
Link (http://www.livenews.com.au/Articles/2008/07/23/Power_racing_the_clock_for_Tigers_clash)
Power racing the clock for Tigers clash
Brisbane Lions co-captain Luke Power is racing the clock to be fit for a crucial AFL clash against Richmond after missing training tonight.
The Lions are keeping their fingers crossed Power will complete training on Friday and take part in Saturday night's Telstra Dome showdown with the Tigers.
Power was again pivotal for the Lions with 31 possessions in Brisbane's 46-point thumping of West Coast at the Gabba last weekend, despite nursing the shoulder complaint.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews was confident Power would not be added to their injury list when he assessed his side on Monday.
But Power sent a scare through the team today when he did not front for training.
http://img92.imageshack.us/img92/2118/powerbm6.jpg
Grimreepah
25th July 2008, 23:32
Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/power-primed-to-tackle-tigers-53115)
Power primed to tackle Tigers
25/07/2008 4:32:46 PM
Angus Morgan
Sportal
In doubt throughout the week with a shoulder complaint, Luke Power is '99 percent right' to take his place in Saturday night's clash against Richmond, according to Brisbane Lions coach Leigh Matthews.
Power, who missed training on Wednesday, joined his team-mates in a light run at the Junction Oval in St Kilda on Friday afternoon under the watchful eye of a group of Richmond observers including assistant coach David King perched high in the Blackie Ironmonger Stand.
"We didn't think he was going to be OK really, but he trained yesterday afternoon, he did a fitness test and he'll run around tonight so I would have thought he's 99 percent now," Matthews said.
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8053/poweron7.jpg
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,24077819-5016169,00.html)
Luke Power to boost Lions' chances against Richmond
Article from:The Courier-Mail
Andrew Hamilton
July 26, 2008 12:00am
BRISBANE has been boosted by the availability of Luke Power for tonight's must-win clash with Richmond at Telstra Dome.
Although the in-form Tigers deserve favouritism, Power's expected availability should make the contest a far closer one than the betting suggests.
The triple premiership player is in career-best form and his running power will be an asset to a side that struggled to match Essendon's pace when they last played at Telstra Dome two weeks ago.
Power had been in doubt with a shoulder injury, but he was put through a fitness test by assistant coach Adrian Fletcher at a light training session at the Junction Oval in St Kilda last night and provided he suffers no ill-effects in the morning will take his place.
"He trained yesterday afternoon and did a fitness test 99 per cent now," Lions coach Leigh Matthews said.
http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/3638/powerja9.jpg
Grimreepah
27th July 2008, 00:24
Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/tigers-v-lionssnippets-53180)
Absolute Shocker: Luke Power is normally one of the most reliable kicks in the game but his kick-in midway through the last term will give the Lions' star nightmares all week. Power's attempted to find Jason Roe but his kick-in was intercepted by Bowden, which resulted in one of the Tiger veteran's three last quarter goals which helped give them a 3 point win.
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/8565/power33hx8.jpg
Kochie 16
27th July 2008, 13:10
Probably his worst performance of the year (Not including the Essendon game!)
konstas_87
28th July 2008, 09:18
sometimes it doesnt pay to take injured players into a game..
Grimreepah
16th August 2008, 01:22
Luke Power on his Fitzroy heritage (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/the-boys-from-old-fitzroy/2008/08/15/1218307237924.html?page=2)
MY DAD grew up around the corner from Brunswick Street Oval and would walk around with his brothers to watch Fitzroy play. I was the middle of three boys and we took on Dad's allegiance.
Every week without fail we'd go to the game in our Fitzroy jumpers, socks, shorts and boots. Afterwards, we'd hop the fence to have a kick and bash each other for hours, while our parents drank in the bar.
It's funny, because a lot of Victorian Brisbane Lions' fans still remember us as kids.
The memory that stands out most for me was missing one game for the 1986 season because I was sick. It just happened to be one of the greatest finals of all time: our semi against Essendon where Mick Conlan goaled close to the siren and got us over the line.
I used to like Paul Roos, Richard Osborne and Gary Pert. My younger brother Sam, who now plays for North Melbourne, loved Paul Broderick.
In the latter years, we used to love Alastair Lynch, Chris Johnson, Martin Pike and Jarrod Molloy all of whom I eventually played with, which was amazing for me.
Like all Fitzroy supporters, my family was sad to see the club leave Victoria. However, since I've been playing for the Lions, I see the reasons and merit behind merging with Brisbane.
I think the premiership successes of 2001-03 healed a lot of wounds and many Fitzroy people were very proud about it.
The club's done a good job of honouring the past, you just have to look the walls at the Gabba to see how much we respect Fitzroy.
The first time I wore the Fitzroy colours was in 2003 against Collingwood. It had special meaning for me and I know Dad was proud of me wearing the jumper he grew up supporting. Dad was pretty quick to grab it off me at the end of the game for safekeeping.
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/8858/power39de1.jpg
Grimreepah
17th August 2008, 18:39
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24194215-23211,00.html)
Power is playing with fire
By Tony Sheahan
August 17, 2008
BRISBANE Lions midfielder Luke Power is at risk of permanent damage by playing with a severe injury. Power has defied doctors' orders and continued to play on after tearing his pectoral muscle in Round 14 during the Lions clash against West Coast.
"He is playing under some difficulty," Lions coach Leigh Matthews confirmed.
"It's up to him, if he says he's right, he's right. He is not perfect, we know that."
The injury normally requires a six-to-eight week recovery period, and sports medicine expert Dr Peter Larkins said it could have devastating effects if left untreated.
"The shape of your chest would be permanently altered if you didn't have the pec attached properly from the sternum bone in the middle of your chest," Larkins said.
"If it's off the bone it can be fixed at any time and he shouldn't have any permanent risk because the damage is done. You'll be sore and you won't be able to play to the best of your ability with that type of injury.
"The bigger concern would be if the player had a three-quarter tear in the muscle and you are playing sore, there would be an enormous amount of scar tissue as it tries to heal.
"It may not heal properly so you might end up with permanent weakness in your arm. In a non-sporting sense it may not affect you later in life, but in a sporting sense it would."
Power, who had 22 possessions to be among the Lions' best on Saturday night, is in discomfort when he plays and suffers pain when kicking. He looks unable to lay or break tackles properly.
Larkins said he could not say whether Power would require pain-killing injections to play, but believed it was likely.
"If it's closer to his shoulder they might be able to anaesthetise his shoulder," he said.
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/4675/power38fj7.jpg
TheBrownDog
17th August 2008, 18:55
Shit thats not good.
If he wants to play, then we should let him I guess.
Can't doubt the commitment of these guys to the club.
acuguy
21st August 2008, 07:00
Gutsy Bugger! Let's get him out of the thick of the action and park him in the forward 50, get the young blokes to do the dog work in the middle of the ground!
Grimreepah
25th August 2008, 00:42
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,24228785-5016181,00.html)
As for Power, he is determined to be the front man at least until the end of his current deal, which expires at the end of 2010. "It depends if I win Tattslotto," he said when asked how long he planned to keep playing.
"Hopefully another four years. All I want to do is play to the best of my ability for these next two years and then the powers-that-be will decide if that's enough."
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/821/power12eu2.jpg