View Full Version : DreamTeam or Supercoach?

Jeremias
20th February 2007, 16:52
This is regarding the fantasy footy game we are going to have.

There is a big debate going on regarding the use of supercoash or dreamteam.

This vote will be open for a few days, and the leading option will be the way to go.

This is how it will be decided.

blues4flag
20th February 2007, 16:54
Poll???

Anyway, I'd rather Supercoach.

Jeremias
20th February 2007, 18:32
Oops, sorry guys, poll didn't work.

Disregard this thread, vote in the other.

Jeremias
20th February 2007, 18:35
Hi guys

Vote in this thread regarding which game you would prefer to play with your fellow Carlton supporters.

Jeremias
20th February 2007, 19:17
Please note that the votes of those not participating, and of opposition supporters, will NOT be counted.

cfc05
20th February 2007, 21:44
Supercoachs scoring is by far the more accurate indicator... any comp that rewards clargers and ineffective disposals is badly floored!

Both are awesome though!

Djibril Cisse
20th February 2007, 21:46
I vote SuperTeam or wait... was it DreamCoach?

Ahh bugger it, I cannot remember

Funkalicous
21st February 2007, 10:03
DreamTeam has already won on a national scale. I just hope that it doesn't become too commercial.

It could soon be known as the 'Colgate 4 in 1, McDonalds Zoo Pasta Happy Meal Dreamteam'. :rolleyes:

I've played quite a few Dreamteam sports, but none are as balanced and challenging as the AFL one. It's a highlight of every footy season. :thumbsu:

Djibril Cisse
21st February 2007, 14:36
DreamTeam has already won on a national scale. I just hope that it doesn't become too commercial.

It could soon be known as the 'Colgate 4 in 1, McDonalds Zoo Pasta Happy Meal, Nutri Grain, Powerade, Kelloggs Crunchy Nut Dreamteam'. :rolleyes:

I've played quite a few Dreamteam sports, but none are as balanced and challenging as the AFL one. It's a highlight of every footy season. :thumbsu:

Edited for accuracy

HBF
21st February 2007, 17:34
Have never been involved with the Supercoach, but Dreamteam is always a bit of fun.

Blue_4_Life
22nd February 2007, 09:58
Can anyone elaborate on the difference between the two?

I've only ever done the Dreamteam. :thumbsu:

cfc05
22nd February 2007, 10:59
Same set up besides scoring really:
Dreamteam scoring = Goal 6 point, tackle 4, kick 3, handball 2, etc. With no cosideration to wether or not the stats were effective or not. IE: can get 10 uncontested marks and all 10 kicks be clangers you will be on 60!

SC - Points are given for effective kicks and handballs, and you lose points for ineffective disposals. Contested possesions are also worth more than uncontest possesions. Basically the score is meant to show who was the most valuable player on the ground. (champion data)

cfc05
22nd February 2007, 11:01
POINT SCORING - HERALD SUN TOYOTA SUPERCOACH
Stat Description Points Awarded/Deducted
Effective kick 4 Points
Ineffective kick 0 Points
Clanger kick -8 Points
Handball effective 2 Points
Ineffective handball 0 Points
Handball clanger -6 Points
Handball receive 1 Point
Hardball get 4 Points
Loose-ball get 4 Points
Goal 8 Points
Behind 1 Point
Mark uncontested (maintaining possession) 1 Point
Mark contested (maintaining possession) 6 Points
Mark uncontested (from opposition) 4 Points
Mark contested (from opposition) 8 Points
Tackles 4 Points
Free kick for 4 Points
Free kick against -6 Points
Hitout to Advantage 3 Points

As you can see much more detailed and really does try and reward players for doing the hard work and been effective rather than just anyone who can get the easy uncontested possesions.

NWTYRX
22nd February 2007, 11:05
yup, thats the reason i enjoy playing the SuperCoach

Blue_4_Life
22nd February 2007, 13:05
Good summary mate. I'm easy either way, supercoach sounds good.

Jeremias
22nd February 2007, 19:00
Supercoach it is...now, who wants to start a league for me?

:p

NWTYRX
22nd February 2007, 19:04
well, we are gonna have to wait, until the Herald Sun opens up their SuperCoach again

Jeremias
22nd February 2007, 19:16
well, we are gonna have to wait, until the Herald Sun opens up their SuperCoach again

As if we can be bothered waiting...we may as well start a DreamTeam league then :D

hong_kong_bond
23rd February 2007, 11:47
if it's like previous years, these websites are often left til the last minute to be finalised and then don't open up until 2 or 3 days before the start of the season...

recently blue
25th February 2007, 07:51
J, do we have 16 players.. and who are they?

Jeremias
25th February 2007, 10:44
J, do we have 16 players.. and who are they?

I'm not sure exactly how many we have, but I don't think it's quite 16...do we need 16?

Refer to the other thread for the names of those interested in participating.

bluegal1983
25th February 2007, 19:27
I'm not sure exactly how many we have, but I don't think it's quite 16...do we need 16?

Refer to the other thread for the names of those interested in participating.

Yeah you need 16 in order to create a league

Jeremias
26th February 2007, 14:07
Yeah you need 16 in order to create a league

Well, in that case, I think you should put up a list of all those that have said they will participate so that we can see how many spots are still up for grabs.

bluegal1983
26th February 2007, 16:11
Well, in that case, I think you should put up a list of all those that have said they will participate so that we can see how many spots are still up for grabs.

You organised this thing!!! You do it!!! LAZY BUM!

NWTYRX
26th February 2007, 16:12
well, im in, since ill be making the league, when they open it up for 2007

Jeremias
26th February 2007, 17:47
You organised this thing!!! You do it!!! LAZY BUM!

I organised it, correct-I've done enough.

I am a lazy bum, but so are you.

Dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo it.

:cool:

bluegal1983
26th February 2007, 20:09
Well there are 12 that have responded in the thread but Sublime, HBF and Gilly all said they would be involved as well so that makes it 15.

We need one more :D

recently blue (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=20227)
bluegal1983 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=25634)
NWTYRX (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=12325)
DIG (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=8918)
BlueDevil (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=32396)
Melbdave81 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=31636)
blues4flag (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=11039)
hong_kong_bond (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=34189)
Djibril Cisse (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=21844)
Jeremias (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=12453)
Blue_4_Life (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=32278)
Johnny_3 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=29728)
Sublime
HBF
Gilly1972

Djibril Cisse
26th February 2007, 21:25
Well there are 12 that have responded in the thread but Sublime, HBF and Gilly all said they would be involved as well so that makes it 15.

We need one more :D

recently blue (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=20227)
bluegal1983 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=25634)
NWTYRX (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=12325)
DIG (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=8918)
BlueDevil (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=32396)
Melbdave81 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=31636)
blues4flag (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=11039)
hong_kong_bond (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=34189)
Djibril Cisse (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=21844)
Jeremias (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=12453)
Blue_4_Life (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=32278)
Johnny_3 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=29728)
Sublime
HBF
Gilly1972

Did Cisse really say he was going to participate? That's interesting, I can't remember saying it... oh well, if BG is involved, I'm happy to take part :p

Jeremias
27th February 2007, 05:59
15......come on Blues boys and girls, we need one more spot.

Mods, would one of you be interested in participating?

bluegal1983
27th February 2007, 06:52
Did Cisse really say he was going to participate? That's interesting, I can't remember saying it... oh well, if BG is involved, I'm happy to take part :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=299612

post 3

I assume you meant that you would participate????

Djibril Cisse
27th February 2007, 12:32
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=299612

post 3

I assume you meant that you would participate????

:D perhaps it did mean I was going to participate :p

BlueDevil
6th March 2007, 16:57
well folks supercoach is open so umm yeah, just thought i'd mention it :)

Jeremias
6th March 2007, 17:03
Well, if someone can be bothered-make a league and post the link and details.

:)

bluegal1983
6th March 2007, 18:48
OK guys. I have created a league.

http://heraldsun5.virtualsports.com.au/

Details are as follows:

League Name: Carlton Big Footy

League Code: 903862

Join now :)

blues4flag
6th March 2007, 19:03
^Probably a better idea to PM those who stated their interest in joining...I'm sure there'll be a couple unhappy about being left out after they put their name down.

Jeremias
6th March 2007, 19:13
Signed up :thumbsu:

On reflection, I have WAY too many Roos players! :eek:

Will definitely have to change it at some stage.

NWTYRX
6th March 2007, 19:14
kewls, ive joined up

BlueDevil
6th March 2007, 20:23
this is the most blues players i've had in my side for yonks. :thumbsu:

after seeing them play in launceston last saturday murphs and stevo were the first two centres picked. carlos was the first player in the squad. :D

Melbdave81
7th March 2007, 08:10
Just joined then, my team name is MurphytoGibbs

Djibril Cisse
7th March 2007, 10:06
Just joined then, my team name is MurphytoGibbs

Supercoach eats the proverbial PENIS!

:thumbsd::thumbsd:

DIG
7th March 2007, 13:59
I'm in.

NWTYRX
7th March 2007, 17:47
my foward line is gonna rip everyone else's to threads

Djibril Cisse
7th March 2007, 18:29
Supercoach eats the proverbial PENIS!

:thumbsd::thumbsd:

Well said DC, absolutely agree with that comment.

I wouldn't participate in SuperCoach if I was being paid to do so, that's how bad it is

DIG
8th March 2007, 05:32
Well said DC, absolutely agree with that comment.

I wouldn't participate in SuperCoach if I was being paid to do so, that's how bad it is
I prefer Dreamteam but have to say Supercoach better rewards the better players and not the Patrick Bowdens for taking 20 uncontested marks in the backline.

bluegal1983
8th March 2007, 06:53
I prefer Dreamteam but have to say Supercoach better rewards the better players and not the Patrick Bowdens for taking 20 uncontested marks in the backline.

Exactly. The way the points are calculated for Supercoach are far better than Dreamteam. Your loss DC.

Djibril Cisse
8th March 2007, 13:06
Exactly. The way the points are calculated for Supercoach are far better than Dreamteam. Your loss DC.

J. Bowden and P. Bowden are still get possessions though, why should they be disadvantaged? Not my loss, Dreamteam is better :D

It's a loss for all of you participating in Supercoach

blues4flag
8th March 2007, 14:03
J. Bowden and P. Bowden are still get possessions though, why should they be disadvantaged? Not my loss, Dreamteam is better :D

And my double win for participating in both:) .

bluegal1983
8th March 2007, 18:25

Yes but they aren't penalised for their clangers.

Jeremias
8th March 2007, 18:33
Out of curiosity, how many Blues do you all currently have in your team? ATM I have 3, but I'm looking to get rid of one of them.

bluegal1983
8th March 2007, 18:41
I have 5

BlueDevil
8th March 2007, 19:13
i have 10 ;)

carrazzo, walker, o'hailpin, stevens, murphy, cloke, fevola, kennedy, gibbs, hampson

feel free to question :thumbsu:

blues4flag
8th March 2007, 19:16
I've got 4, but only 2 in my 22, with Kennedy a possibility to be moved there.

Djibril Cisse
9th March 2007, 16:17
I've got 4, but only 2 in my 22, with Kennedy a possibility to be moved there.

Superstar!

I'd pick 22 Josh Kennedy's if I was allowed to :p

bluegal1983
9th March 2007, 17:13
Superstar!

I'd pick 22 Josh Kennedy's if I was allowed to :p

Enough of the sarcasm... what do you have against him anyway?

NWTYRX
9th March 2007, 19:19
i have 5, with Walks, Fev, Gibbs and Murphy in the 22, and A. O'hAilpin on the pine

gandaal
10th March 2007, 16:47
I have five but I'm not going to mention who.

Djibril Cisse
12th March 2007, 17:53
22 Josh Kennedy, you'd get so many points the internal scoring system would break down, just over loading with multi thousands of points for Josh Kennedy

C4[2]Yo`DooR
14th March 2007, 12:00
I've got the greatest team ever ... yet no league .. anyone else starting one up ?

bluegal1983
15th March 2007, 12:05
Yo`DooR;6938534']I've got the greatest team ever ... yet no league .. anyone else starting one up ?

OK guys. I have created a league.

http://heraldsun5.virtualsports.com.au/

Details are as follows:

League Name: Carlton Big Footy

League Code: 903862

Join now :)

Pays to read the thread C4 ;)

gandaal
15th March 2007, 13:44
Pays to read the thread C4 ;)

Isn't your league full?

C4[2]Yo`DooR
16th March 2007, 16:32
Your League is Full :(

Djibril Cisse
16th March 2007, 21:32
Don't worry, there's plenty of Dream Team leagues open, ready for participants to join.

SuperCoach is S H I T E H O U S E

bluegal1983
20th March 2007, 15:43
Isn't your league full?

Yo`DooR;6956797']Your League is Full :(

Oooh, so it is. Perhaps you can start another league if you get enough interest from other posters?

Djibril Cisse
20th March 2007, 20:51
Go the blues!

Funkalicous
21st March 2007, 15:04
I'm running 2 dreamteams this season, through www.footyfreaks.com.

They're more for devoted particpants. It's high standard with plenty of exclusive incentives that take it above and beyond. We store exclusive private leauge statistics, various blogs (again specific to the league), week by week results, ect...

I'm not sure how many spots are left, but if you reckon you're good enough, we'll take you onboard.

hong_kong_bond
21st March 2007, 16:51
Oooh, so it is. Perhaps you can start another league if you get enough interest from other posters?
i just signed up....guess someone must have dropped out.

and for what it's worth i've got 4 Blues in my line-up...

bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 02:55
i just signed up....guess someone must have dropped out.

and for what it's worth i've got 4 Blues in my line-up...

I've got 5 ;)

Jeremias
23rd March 2007, 08:29
I've got 5 ;)

And I reckon I can guess who they are!

The Grover
23rd March 2007, 11:35
Dreamteam looks dodgy to me, started selecting a team & it has Jake Edwards as playing 4 games last year ???????, he hasn't played a game yet.

The Grover
23rd March 2007, 11:42
Dreamteam looks dodgy to me, started selecting a team & it has Jake Edwards as playing 4 games last year ???????, he hasn't played a game yet.

Getting dodgier by the minute, A.McDougall is in the forwards twice ( apparently he played 22 games for doggies last year ).

bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 13:33
And I reckon I can guess who they are!

Go on then.... who are they?

Gilly1972
23rd March 2007, 13:44
Go on then.... who are they?

1AW

Gibbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbs

Murph

Josh

Kade

Djibril Cisse
23rd March 2007, 13:47
Supercoach sucks, Dreamteam is the way to go

BlueDevil
23rd March 2007, 14:03
I've got 5 ;)

i'm not going for one-upman/womanship here but i've got 9.

B:Carrazzo, Walker
C: Murphy, Stevens (Gibbs on bench)
R: (Hampson on bench)
F: Fevola, Fisher, Betts

did have cloke in the ruck which made 10 but needed some spare cash just in case

Djibril Cisse
23rd March 2007, 14:15
I have 22

They are all the superstar Josh Kennedy

cfc05
23rd March 2007, 14:21
Cisse try explaining how Dream team is better than Supercoach....?

bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 15:26
1AW

Gibbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbs

Murph

Josh

Kade

Tex, Gibbs and Murph :)

NWTYRX
23rd March 2007, 15:29
Cisse try explaining how Dream team is better than Supercoach....?

i can do that for him... he doesn't like the fact, that supercoach penalises a players ineffecitivess

cfc05
23rd March 2007, 16:07
hahah how stupid it penalises ineffective possesion and clangers.... whilst rewarding efffective possesions and hard ball gets.

Djibril Cisse
23rd March 2007, 20:01
A player gets a possession, that should be the specific value of points for me, but SuperCoach does not do that unless it's effective or something...

Stupid rule, a possession is a possession, no matter what the result of it is.

Bad luck SuperCoach, maybe next year.

blues4flag
23rd March 2007, 21:13
I've only 2 Blues in my team, after Marc Murphy was traded.

Jeremias
23rd March 2007, 22:12
I've only 2 Blues in my team, after Marc Murphy was traded.

Tell me you didn't do the unthinkable?

:eek:

blues4flag
23rd March 2007, 22:31

Knowing my luck I'll come to regret it. But with 70k cash left over I had to do something:o . Murph seems to score better in SC than DT and that's where he was first picked.

gandaal
23rd March 2007, 23:03
Here's my dreamteam

Backline
Chad Cornes
Joel Bowden
Lindsey Gilbee
Adam McPhee
Jordan McMahon
Andrew Walker
Justin Koschitzche

Jessie Smith
Xavier Ellis

Center
Kade Simpson
Brett Deledio
Marc Murphy
Paul Hasleby
Ryan Griffin
Nigel Lappin

Bryce Gibbs
Joel Selwood

Rucks
Dean Cox
Peter Everitt

Ben Hudson
Brent Renouf

Backline
Barry Hall
Jason Akermanis
Angus Monfries
Russell Robertson
Nathan Brown
Lance Franklin
Alwyn Davey

Josh Kennedy
Leroy Jetta

cfc05
24th March 2007, 17:44
A player gets a possession, that should be the specific value of points for me, but SuperCoach does not do that unless it's effective or something...

Stupid rule, a possession is a possession, no matter what the result of it is.

Bad luck SuperCoach, maybe next year.

Actually one of the dumbest things ive ever seen written!!

So you honestly believe Judd bursting through a contest, getting a hard ball out of the centre then pinpointing a foward with a awesome pass should be worth less than Dane Swan taking a mark that has been kicked back to him due to time wasting and then he turns it over which results in an oppsition goal.

Above situation

SC... Judd: 12 points Swan: -7
Dreamer ..Judd: 3 points Swan: 6

Which is the better system ?

Djibril Cisse
24th March 2007, 18:01
Actually one of the dumbest things ive ever seen written!!

So you honestly believe Judd bursting through a contest, getting a hard ball out of the centre then pinpointing a foward with a awesome pass should be worth less than Dane Swan taking a mark that has been kicked back to him due to time wasting and then he turns it over which results in an oppsition goal.

Above situation

SC... Judd: 12 points Swan: -7
Dreamer ..Judd: 3 points Swan: 6

Which is the better system ?

The one that earns the "coach" more points, obviously!

cfc05
24th March 2007, 18:10
Obviosuly... so the more points the better?

mm id say rewarding players for good performances, not cheap kicks and clangers.

If you want max points, take out salary cap aswell!

Dream team scoring is not at accurate representation of best players, chapion data is.

Its for the simplicity it has been kept that way!!

Djibril Cisse
24th March 2007, 20:30
Obviosuly... so the more points the better?

mm id say rewarding players for good performances, not cheap kicks and clangers.

If you want max points, take out salary cap aswell!

Dream team scoring is not at accurate representation of best players, chapion data is.

Its for the simplicity it has been kept that way!!

I'd be happy to take out the salary cap, I don't like it anyway.

But, I prefer points for every possession that a player has. Regardless of what the end result of said possession is.

blues4flag
25th March 2007, 22:12

Has earned his way back into my team at the expense of Stevo. I've probably made a few dozen changes in the last week, easy.

Jeremias
2nd April 2007, 12:31
Loving my start to the season!

DIG
2nd April 2007, 12:36
Loving my start to the season!

They don't hand out premierships in March J :p

Jeremias
2nd April 2007, 12:49
They don't hand out premierships in March J :p

Thankfully it's April then.

:p :D

BlueDevil
2nd April 2007, 13:08
my Blue Devils have bounced back from last years GF loss in a positive way. had embly played i could have been top but ah well. really pleased i stuck with eddie and fish. :D

bluegal1983
4th April 2007, 08:31
My team includes the 10 most popular picks in Supercoach.

Hrrrrrrrm......