View Full Version : 4. Bryce Gibbs

Pages : [1] 2

Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:12
This thread is to discuss Bryce Gibbs.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

Johnny_3
3rd March 2007, 07:08
FROM CARLTON FC

Jumper No: 4
Height: 187.4
Weight: 77.6
DOB: 15/03/1989
Recruited From: Glenelg

A medium sized midfielder who is poised, well balanced and a skilled playmaker who had an outstanding year at Glenelg and finished in the top 3 in the Glenelg Best & Fairest. Was outstanding with the SA Under 18 team, winning All-Australian honours. Recruited from Glenelg in South Australia, originally from Plympton Football Club.
Draft history: 2006 NAB AFL Draft 1st round selection (Carlton) No. 1 overall.

Nursing a dislocated thumb from match practice at training as well as the after-effects of celebrating Carlton's NAB Cup win over Essendon with a handful of his closest mates from Adelaide, Gibbs said one day captaining the club would be one of the greatest honours he could imagine. "For sure," Gibbs said at the Blues' family day last Sunday when asked if he would like to ascend to the top job.
"It would be a pretty big honour to captain an AFL side, especially one like Carlton who has such proud history. We'll see how we go, but who knows.

"But Denis said they had put it to every player and 94 per cent of them voted for him — and they've only known the kid for three months. They've got a new president and new board and they're going to throw a couple of kids in the deep end and reckon they're the future of the club.

The kid looks in for an exciting year. Hopefully he turns it on tonight and for the rest of his career in the Navy blue.http://www.thesexysquad.com/gallery/albums/training/2007/feb_28/normal_74.jpg

Brad Pearce
3rd March 2007, 11:37
FROM CARLTON FC

The kid looks in for an exciting year. Hopefully he turns it on tonight and for the rest of his career in the Navy blue.http://www.thesexysquad.com/gallery/albums/training/2007/feb_28/normal_74.jpg
Love it how you call him a kid when you're 2- 3 years younger than him:D :p

Johnny_3
3rd March 2007, 12:24
Love it how you call him a kid when you're 2- 3 years younger than him:D :p
2 lol.
when i met him last week his so built but his face is still so little.
love gibbsy so much almost as much as murph. 2 great guys/players.

Brad Pearce
3rd March 2007, 14:31
2 lol.
when i met him last week his so built but his face is still so little.
love gibbsy so much almost as much as murph. 2 great guys/players.
That's exactly what my mum keeps saying. She calls him a baby.

Good work on the info though mate, thanks:D :thumbsu:

Johnny_3
3rd March 2007, 14:59
Sorry Sublime.
To my confusion this is actually Sublime's buddy player. He can delete/take over my posts as soon as he gets on. sorry guys.

Sublime
4th March 2007, 00:20
Thanks for the start Johnny. Feel free to help me with my job as much as you like ;)

I'll continue with this as soon as i'm not blind drunk and take 10 minutes to write this.

Johnny_3
4th March 2007, 08:25
Thanks for the start Johnny. Feel free to help me with my job as much as you like ;)

I'll continue with this as soon as i'm not blind drunk and take 10 minutes to write this.
celebrating the win this week aye.
Well lets hope next week Gibbsy racks em up so you have something to write.

The Grover
5th March 2007, 11:29
My 6yr old son was watching the footy with me & he said where's that guy with the fuzzy hair, he had me stumped but I figured out it was Gibbs.

Hopefully some of the guys will point him to a decent hairdresser, I don't think they have any in adelaide

Sublime
5th March 2007, 14:46
From the Carlton Website

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/portals/0/images/players/blues/Bryce_Gibbs_large%20image.jpg

Bryce Gibbs

Jumper No: 4
Height: 187.4
Weight: 77.6
DOB: 15/03/1989
Recruited From: Glenelg

A medium sized midfielder who is poised, well balanced and a skilled playmaker who had an outstanding year at Glenelg and finished in the top 3 in the Glenelg Best & Fairest. Was outstanding with the SA Under 18 team, winning All-Australian honours. Recruited from Glenelg in South Australia, originally from Plympton Football Club.

Draft history: 2006 NAB AFL Draft 1st round selection (Carlton) No. 1 overall.

Sublime
5th March 2007, 14:51
From Wikipedia

Pre-AFL

Gibbs has been an exceptional youth talent, leading to much speculation about his ultimate AFL drafting. In 2004 he won Glenelg's Under 17s Best & Fairest award, despite spending part of the season playing SANFL reserves grade. That year he also captained the South Australian under 16's team at the national championships.
In Round 7 of the 2005 season, at age 16, he debuted in Glenelg's League team and has been a regular ever since. Playing against grown men in the SANFL, Gibbs has excelled, coming third in the Club's 2006 best and fairest, and dominating recent ex-AFL players such as Damian Cupido during the season.
He featured prominently in the 2006 under-18 national championships and won All-Australian selection. He has also co-captained the Australian youth side against an Irish youth side in an international tournament in Australia in 2006.
Gibbs attended Brighton Secondary School[/URL], where he sat his SACE in 2006.

AFL career

Despite his father's long career with Glenelg, Gibbs was ineligible to be taken by the Adelaide Crows (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brighton_Secondary_School) under the father son rule, much to Adelaide's chagrin. Gibbs was subsequently selected with the first overall pick in the 2006 AFL Draft (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Father-son_rule) (held on 25 November 2006) by the Carlton Football Club, a selection which was widely expected.
Gibbs will wear the number 4 guernsey, formerly worn by club champion and administrator, Stephen Kernahan, a close friend and former Glenelg teammate of Gibbs' father. Gibbs was named in Carlton's leadership group for the 2007 AFL (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Kernahan) season without having played a single AFL[URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFL"] match, which is the first time in history this has happened. Bryce Gibbs dominated Carlton's pre-season intra club matches, making many fans believe he and teammate Marc Murphy will carry the club for the next few years.

"Bryce Gibbs Cup"

Spectulation that Gibbs would be the #1 draft pick began early in the 2006 season. When Essendon and Carlton met in Round 16, the sides were firmly entrenched at the bottom of the ladder, with Carlton having lost its last seven games and Essendon a club-record fourteen. Speculation that the result would decide the wooden spoon (and hence the first draft pick) led to the game jokingly being dubbed the "Bryce Gibbs Cup" by some in the media. The game finished in a draw, a rarity in Australian rules football.

Sublime
5th March 2007, 14:56
Bryce So Far

There has been alot of speculation and hype behind Bryce, even before he had even played a game. So far in his first 2 competitive matches (be it the NAB Cup) he has shown poise, decision making and disposal in his game time so far.

Its good to see he hasn't just been thrown to the wolves into the midfield, he's being eased into the game. He hasn't set the world on fire quite yet, but that will come with time.

The thing that has impressed me most so far would have to be just how cool he is with the ball while under pressure in closed spaces. Really amazing for a kid of just 17 years of age.

AndSmithMustScore
11th March 2007, 15:52
Did a few things last night that made me think wow!.

He'll eventually end up being a Dal Santo like player in that they don't move that quick yet they still seem to be able create space for themselves so easily.

His kick into the foreward line though was a shocker of a shank :D

blues4flag
11th March 2007, 21:50
Put my face in my hands after that one :o . His nerves showed big time, had a very staggered approach leading in to the kick.

Sublime
12th March 2007, 19:57

Ugh, tell me about it. I was right in the middle of a classic 'just watch this for class' spiel to one of my Kangaroos mates just as he was about to kick that one. Gee, i didn't cop it from him at all about it either :rolleyes: Never fails to happen when you give someone a wrap!

Sublime
12th March 2007, 20:00
Has been playing well without being spectacular in the NAB Cup so far. Has slowly been working his way into each match and has shown alot with a few cameo pieces of play. Hopefully will really be hitting his pace when the season proper begins!

Sublime
18th March 2007, 20:19
Bryce wasn't all that prominent in this match. Had his standard couple of cameos but other than that wasn't sighted all that much but again, you could see small glimpses of what he will become. Seems as though he's slowly learning to play with the big boys, so hopefully by about round 6 he'll really start to mature at AFL level.

Jeremias
19th March 2007, 07:20
Exactly right Sublime.

I don't want any Carlton supporters to be unrealistic about Bryce. We simply cannot expect him to step in and stand up straight away like Murph did last year. He doesn't have the body for that.

I have no doubt that he will be an excellent player but we must give him time. Remember, Cooney didn't exactly set the world on fire in his first season. In fact, it took him a long time to get accustomed to AFL footy, and only got nominated for the NRS in round 22 of his debut year. Now, I think Bryce will pick it up a bit quicker than Cooney did, but that's not the point. Now, Cooney is a very good player.

Patience is needed. Bryce won't become great overnight, it will take time, and we should all be prepared to wait. Because it will happen that he becomes a very good player. Of that I have no doubt.

Bluebear
20th March 2007, 16:55
Murph didn't set the world on fire in last years pre-season either.
Great interview with BG's mum and Dad at half time - saying he is in awe of he guys he is with at the club.

Similar sentiments from heath Shaw on SEN today, saying b4 he went to the Pies Bucks was his fav player, then one day he was standing next to him, getting changed in the same room, kicking the footy to each other etc......very overwhelming for a young 17y.o.

Probably similar to BG meeting sticks, getting the number 4 and then sitting with Stevo, Red, Kouta, Murph.

Once he believes he belongs, look out.:thumbsu:

AndyWalkersGirl
20th March 2007, 19:03
Murph didn't set the world on fire in last years pre-season either.
Great interview with BG's mum and Dad at half time - saying he is in awe of he guys he is with at the club.

Similar sentiments from heath Shaw on SEN today, saying b4 he went to the Pies Bucks was his fav player, then one day he was standing next to him, getting changed in the same room, kicking the footy to each other etc......very overwhelming for a young 17y.o.

Probably similar to BG meeting sticks, getting the number 4 and then sitting with Stevo, Red, Kouta, Murph.

Once he believes he belongs, look out.:thumbsu:

Uncle Sticks to Bryce... (he grew up with STicks and his family)

bexta444
20th March 2007, 21:16
He's such a young kid, had his 18th bday last week, he’s got the whole 'deer in headlights' look about him. I heard his parents chat about him during the NAB Final saying he can’t believe the speed of the game and he's in awe of all the players at the club. For me all I need is those glimpses of greatness he shows, he needs time to mature and to grow as a player. Long term we will surely reap the benefits of Bryce Gibbs.

bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 14:19
I agree with all of the above in that we need to give the kid some time to adapt to the level of AFL. He has admitted that the speed of the game has taken him by surprise - it won't take long for him to adapt :)

At times throughout the NAB Cup, Bryce looks very nervous, particularly when lining up for goal. Don't worry guys.... his first goal IS coming!!! :D

AndyWalkersGirl
23rd March 2007, 19:14
I agree with all of the above in that we need to give the kid some time to adapt to the level of AFL. He has admitted that the speed of the game has taken him by surprise - it won't take long for him to adapt :)

At times throughout the NAB Cup, Bryce looks very nervous, particularly when lining up for goal. Don't worry guys.... his first goal IS coming!!! :D

He's been building up for it BG :) I reckon perhaps... third Quarter Richmond, Rnd. 1.

Once he kicks his first goal, i think we'll see a more confident boy :)

Bluebear
23rd March 2007, 22:21
Just ran some numbers on Gibbs in the GF Sat night. While he had a quiet game, its the little things he does which are very impressive - the so called 1%ers. Very mature team oriented player.

1stQ

Kick - centre clearance, 50m kick hits Fishers hand overhead 10 m out sl angle - Fish drops the mark. Great kick though.
Kick - free kick for high tackle after gathering loose ball on F50. Gets a little close to man on the mark, but drill a 60+m drop punt from 50 into the front row, sl pull to left. Amazing distance for 18y.o. 1% - spoils kick in to make contest. OOB
1% - hard run to assist Stevo on HFF, locks ball in for contest, Wiggo eventually arrives and kicks OOF when pushed while kicking.

2nd Q

Handball - picks up loose ball on F50, tavkled and spun but holds onto ball to put it into space to the advantage of Ackland - I50 and goal to ScottyMissed mark - poor disposal from Walker, should have hit him
Missed mark - easy mark at CHF. Should have held it.

3rd Q

Handball - centre sq, receives from Stevo, passes to Bentick, kicks to Stevo - searing daisy cutter hit Red - goal4th Q
1% - Shepheard his man off the ball to create contest, helps gang tackle JB when he takes possession - free kick Murph
1% - Puts his body on the line with JB running out on lead, slide in front of JB, taps ball on to O'hAilpin, stands up to shepheard JB as Carlos clears with kick
1% - Shepheards two BL players at CHB to allow Murph to run onto loose ball and kick off ground to F50.

He's not racking up possies, that will come. But all these thing are good signs, especially putting his slight frame in front of a rampaging Brown and winning twice - takes courage.
Great stuf BG:thumbsu:

Sublime
26th March 2007, 17:42
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncVIl0Omxl4

The Grover
27th March 2007, 13:41
I was watching some of the Kangas match again the other night, Gibbs was running through the centre kicking to someone on the lead.

The balance he showed in executing the kick was just unbelieveable, not many AFL players have that.

Sublime
18th April 2007, 08:38
Nice, solid start to the season from Bryce. Solid stats without being too spectacular. Per match stats to round 3:

10.6 kicks
3.3 handballs
5 marks
4 tackles

Playing mainly out of defence with a little time on the ball Bryce is adjusting nicely. Has had a few big tasks so far, with the toughest possibly playing on James Hird for a while in round 3 and doing well.

Has shown unbelievable poise at times, his baulking ability is incredible, wrong footing opponents each and every time to date. This allows him so much time to steady for his impeccable foot passes. Growing in composure each and every match, things are definitely looking the goods.

Can't wait for his biggest test so far, against the West Coast Eagles in Perth. Huge match for him and the Blues as well.

TheGeneral
29th April 2007, 23:39
Class act, but he needs to be moved to the midfield or wing.

14 disposals - only 6 kicks which proves we're wasting his best talent(kicking) in the backline and the opp. would thank Pagan for that, 1 I50, 1 tackle, 3 spoils, 1 bounce, 1 FF, 1 first disposal, 1 clearance.

bluegal1983
30th April 2007, 15:56
Class act, but he needs to be moved to the midfield or wing.

14 disposals - only 6 kicks which proves we're wasting his best talent(kicking) in the backline and the opp. would thank Pagan for that, 1 I50, 1 tackle, 3 spoils, 1 bounce, 1 FF, 1 first disposal, 1 clearance.

I'm happy for him to have stints in the midfield but I don't think he should play an entire game in the midfield just yet.

His body needs to get stronger and he has already admitted that the pace of the game has taken him by surprise.

Sublime
31st May 2007, 13:39
Round 9 Update:

Bryce is still playing primarily in the backline, at BP and HBF depending on the matchup. His composure is second to none and rarely makes mistakes which is fantastic. Can see he is slowly finding his feet in the big time and this is rewarded with small runs in the middle every so often.

Seems to be at home in most positions and i think we will only see his role growing as he moves into the second half of the year.

[ToTTi]
3rd June 2007, 20:02
Was really good today, perhaps he will get his rising star nom this week and then people will go "zOMGggggggg Gibbs got a rising star nomination ohhh he must be good"

Very composed for a lad of barely 18. :thumbsu:

Jeremias
3rd June 2007, 23:21
Oh man, Gibbsy was sensational.

Easily his best game in the AFL, should get nominated for the rising star award this week.

He is starting to look at home out on the footy field, and looks to have well and truly gotten used to the speed of the game.

Looks great down back and pushing up the ground-just has so much composure for a kid, he is brilliant.

Slotting that opportunity for goal near the end of the game would have capped a magnificent game, unfortunately he decided to pass it off instead.

Bluebear
4th June 2007, 10:00
Sad thing is he may not get one.

Of all the first year players, he hasn't had a stand out game, but every game he has played he has been consistently improving, and they have all been good games.

He should get the award for consistency rather than flash onto the scene one week with a few dashing runs or flashy goals, then disappear for a while......as many of these kids do.

With Gerrard "The Kellogs physio" Healey and Kevin "lets fix rules that aren't broken" Bartlett judging the award though who knows who the hell will get it.

Fact is i don't really care. We know he is the best first year player going around, and in some ways it will keep him under the radar a bit if he doesn't win it.

Blues_Man
4th June 2007, 18:04
His composure while under pressure have impresed me immensely , With that and his pin point passes..this kid has the potential to be a superstar .

Bluebear
5th June 2007, 13:13
Congrats to Gibbs on his Nomination.
Well deserved.:thumbsu:

Sublime
6th June 2007, 17:57
Good to see him get his nomination. Just showing how he's slowly getting his feet in AFL life. Starting to actually put his own stamp on games with timely fists from behind, cool handballs and pinpoint field kicking.

Can't wait to see him in the second half of the year, i have a feeling he'll REALLY start showing us what he's got.

Jeremias
6th June 2007, 20:30
Congrats on the nomination-he deserved it.

But if he didn't get nominated or doesn't win the award at the end of the year I really couldn't care less-a somewhat meaningless award in the grand scheme of things-we know that he has been very good consistently and will continue to improve.

Wood_Duck
7th June 2007, 09:02
His composure while under pressure have impresed me immensely , With that and his pin point passes..this kid has the potential to be a superstar .

You can see now why his old man was called "the ice man".

Sublime
30th July 2007, 09:06
Last two games has shown a fair bit. Has been given a bit more freedom at times to go find his own ball which is promising and has resulted in good returns of 17 possessions both times. Looking forward to his run home where i'm hoping he can really show us what he has got.

Team Mo'
4th August 2007, 10:53
Young bryce is staying with of my mates in murrumbeena, so if you want to go and see him hes somewhere of kangaroo road. Apparantly he is a freak at fifa 07 because that's all he does all day. :D

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
4th August 2007, 23:18
Young bryce is staying with of my mates in murrumbeena, so if you want to go and see him hes somewhere of kangaroo road. Apparantly he is a freak at fifa 07 because that's all he does all day. :D

Lol love hearing stuff like that. It's funny to see that he really is still a kid and makes you realise how mature he is on the footy field. Not like i can talk, im 18 and i spend half my time playing fifa06 on ps2. I rkn i'd give Gibbsy a run for his money ;)

FWIW i actually rkn Gibbsy had one of his worst games today against the pies. gave away some bad free kicks

DamianBis
6th August 2007, 21:04
i reckon gibbs got a bit pissed off at the pies being wankers, so he gave them a bit of their own medicine

I loved it when he pushed one of the collignwood players into the other one while they were going for a mark, i jumped up and clapped for that

bluegal1983
7th August 2007, 16:30
i reckon gibbs got a bit pissed off at the pies being wankers, so he gave them a bit of their own medicine

I loved it when he pushed one of the collignwood players into the other one while they were going for a mark, i jumped up and clapped for that

Gibbs did show some feistiness on the weekend which was good to see although, as a result of this, he did give away a few free kicks.

Jeremias
7th August 2007, 16:33
Gibbs did show some feistiness on the weekend which was good to see although, as a result of this, he did give away a few free kicks.

That free kick paid against him in the marking contest when he was against 2 Collingwood players was rubbish.

Was good to see Bryce have a bit of a battle with Didak behind the play as well :)

WALKERTOBETTS
7th August 2007, 17:08
Was good to see Bryce have a bit of a battle with Didak behind the play as well :)[/quote]

Agree! only more fire in the belly.

And the recovery of Murph after clement lined him.

marcmurphy3
7th August 2007, 20:01
That free kick paid against him in the marking contest when he was against 2 Collingwood players was rubbish.

Yeah. to me it looked like Clement fell into the other Collingplayer. Gibbs wasn't touching either of them.

Bluebear
7th August 2007, 20:41
Yeah. to me it looked like Clement fell into the other Collingplayer. Gibbs wasn't touching either of them.
Gibbs pushed him..........in the front. Usually called a show of strength. Not if you wear Navy Blue.:thumbsd:

Then again picking up the ball, taking on two guys and getting tackled is usually called holding the ball........unless you are Leon Davis........counted 4 of these on Sat.:(

don't get me started.:cool:

j2roc
21st December 2007, 10:22
SOFT AND GUTLESS

http://youtube.com/watch?v=bvXYAazPJnA (http://youtube.com/watch?v=bvXYAazPJnA)

The Old Dark Navy's
21st December 2007, 11:07
SOFT AND GUTLESS

But not STUPID unlike opposition supporters who troll here.

bringbackschwarter5
21st December 2007, 11:12
SOFT AND GUTLESS

Dale Thomas has nothing to do with this thread

DaveyBlues
21st December 2007, 11:49
Dale Thomas has nothing to do with this thread

My respect for Melbourne is rising.

j2roc
21st December 2007, 11:53
But not STUPID unlike opposition supporters who troll here.

Ouch!

__aria__
10th February 2008, 11:36
Just popping in to say this guy will be an absolute champion.

Played a lot of footy against him back in Adelaide and I expect him to become one of the greats of the game.

marcmurphy3
10th February 2008, 12:12
Just popping in to say this guy will be an absolute champion.

Played a lot of footy against him back in Adelaide and I expect him to become one of the greats of the game.

Thanks. nice to hear. he's going to make so many BF posters look like absolute idiots over the next few years.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
11th February 2008, 13:58
SOFT AND GUTLESS

http://youtube.com/watch?v=bvXYAazPJnA (http://youtube.com/watch?v=bvXYAazPJnA)
How is that soft?
a) He didn't wanna get rhomped in the face
b) Someone has to stay back while the other four people go the tackle.
c) You don't mention anything about him going for the tackle he tackle.

marcmurphy3
11th February 2008, 14:02
How is that soft?
a) He didn't wanna get rhomped in the face
b) Someone has to stay back while the other four people go the tackle.
c) You don't mention anything about him going for the tackle he tackle.

It is soft because 90% of BF poster are idiots and can't from there own opinions. One person says Gibbs is soft so everyone says Gibbs is soft

Bluebear
12th February 2008, 14:47
It is soft because 90% of BF poster are idiots and can't from there own opinions. One person says Gibbs is soft so everyone says Gibbs is soft
I didn't see Craig Bradley lay too many shirtfronts in his day either. Sometimes discretion is the better part of valour.

Gibbs made a decision that was:
a) Get crunched and not win the footy, and let them take the footy away while you lay motionless on the ground
b) hold your position, hold your feet and grab the guy who picks it up.......result.........ball locked in.....

soft?

Try smart. we broke even in a play that would have most likely resulted in a clearance.

Soft is punching guys in the guts while they are running towards the ball...........Baker........looking at you here.

I suppose he'd just about be starting his pre-season now with 11 weeks or so until he can play.:o

Bluebear
25th February 2008, 07:04
Gibbs pre-season campaign has shown us a couple of things:

He has matured physically and is throwing himself into contest when necessary.
He has great goal sense..........awesome "Buckley/Hird-esque" snap vs Port through traffic
Can win plenty of the ball and hurt sides with it
Still has some way to go with his disposal.......pulls his kicks a little from time to time.
Is a star on the rise.Looking forward to seeing more of BG this year as he will be the forgotten man in the midfield behind Judd, Stevo, Carrots, Walker and Murph.

Bluebear
11th March 2008, 14:40
Was just watching the Hawks game (NAB cup 08) again over the weekend.

Gibbs PUMPED Mitchell at the stoppages. They played on each other the whole quarter, Gibbs had 5 clearances, 5 I50 and 11 touches.........on the "best stoppage player" at the Hawks.....and some might argue, in the comp.

Won plenty of his own pill.

Well done young man.

FFS repeat the dose over and over.:thumbsu:

Jeremias
13th March 2008, 07:28
Gun :thumbsu:

Good news : http://au.news.yahoo.com/060719/2/zu5e.html

Bluebear
13th March 2008, 09:59
His parents were at the launch last night as well, and were singled out for their support when they announced the re-signing.

Gibbs is here to stay.:thumbsu:

Carlton Kid
15th March 2008, 12:55
Happy Birthday to Bryce,
Happy Birthaday to Bryce,
Happy birthday to Bry-ce,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!!!!

Bluebear
26th March 2008, 21:01
Sorry this is a bit late, but have been away over the break and wanted to look at the tape again before I posted.

Gibbs had an avergage night vs Tiges. He played a lot in the centre square, especially in the second quarter, and seemed to beplaying a more defensive role. Not so much a close checking tagger, but he certainly seemed to be more worried about his man than he was about getting his own kicks.
Depending on the Tiges rotations he played on Johnson and Foley predominantly.

His numbers:
15 possies (8 k, 7 h/b, 4 contested, 11 u/c), 80% efficiency, 4 uncontested marks, 1 tackle, 3 clearances.

Not terrible but not great and largely without impact.

I want to recognise that he is only 18 y.o. and learning the ropes so to speak.

Having said that I do wish to echo some of the comments made regarding his running and urgency.

At times, especially when his man has the ball, he shows good closing speed and often gets hands onto the player kicking to affect the disposal.

My concern, and again, he is young and will learn, is that his hard running at times is very reactive, and not pro-active.

Rather than push hard to man up and stop his man getting the ball, or put pressure on him as he receives, he often doesn't push hard until his man has the ball and then has to try and close him down.

Along with running harder for longer, these things will come with further pre-seasons, and already this year Murphy looks to be running a lot more.

My mind casts back to the belting that the Hawks gave us last year and the one thing that impressed me, and that I want our boys to aspire to, was that they Hawks ran very hard in support of each other, in attack, but more improtantly in defence as well, and they did it for the four quarters.

Some food for thought for BG.:thumbsu:

marcmurphy3
26th March 2008, 23:07
Also needs to be told to take them on more and demand the ball. Tries to be to safe at times which means he is less damaging.

bluegal1983
27th March 2008, 11:30
I want to recognise that he is only 18 y.o. and learning the ropes so to speak.

He is 19 now :)

Bluebear
27th March 2008, 19:50
He is 19 now :)
Just. :p

Bluebear
30th March 2008, 16:20
The numbers:
17 kicks, 9 handballs, 85% efficiency, 12 uncontested marks, 1 hit out, 1 tackle, 5 clangers, 3 clearances.

Gibbs highest possession game for the club, but wasn't really damaging IMO.

Ran with Harvey early, but didn't last as Harvey ran off too easily (see comments above). Played most of the game on the resting mid across HB and got most of his possession uncontested across HB. Used it well, but goes sdieways a lot and doesn't take his man on, which is a shame because when he is forced to he is "Judd-esque" in his composure and ability to find space and the right option.

Comments re-running hard haven't changed from last week.

Good game but not damaging. If he was kicking the ball inside 50 when Bower was then the result might have been very different.

BlueWorld
31st March 2008, 22:49
The numbers:
17 kicks, 9 handballs, 85% efficiency, 12 uncontested marks, 1 hit out, 1 tackle, 5 clangers, 3 clearances.

Gibbs highest possession game for the club, but wasn't really damaging IMO.

Ran with Harvey early, but didn't last as Harvey ran off too easily (see comments above). Played most of the game on the resting mid across HB and got most of his possession uncontested across HB. Used it well, but goes sdieways a lot and doesn't take his man on, which is a shame because when he is forced to he is "Judd-esque" in his composure and ability to find space and the right option.

Comments re-running hard haven't changed from last week.

Good game but not damaging. If he was kicking the ball inside 50 when Bower was then the result might have been very different.10 were contested- highest in the team.

Effes
1st April 2008, 16:21
10 were contested- highest in the team.
10 contested possessions? Nice work Gibbsy

Bluebear
3rd April 2008, 09:16
The bear family are going travelling for the next four weeks and as a result my usual spot on, high quality, precision analysis of Gibbs will be temporarily unavailable.

Anyone want to do a 4 week locum for Gibbs buddy.:confused:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
5th April 2008, 13:36
The bear family are going travelling for the next four weeks and as a result my usual spot on, high quality, precision analysis of Gibbs will be temporarily unavailable.

Anyone want to do a 4 week locum for Gibbs buddy.:confused:
As noted in the Buddy Draft thread, i'll take over for the required weeks:thumbsu:.

Just reposting so that some peoples are aware!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
6th April 2008, 12:16
AFL Premiership Season: Round Three

Essendon vs. Carlton @ MCG (5/4/08)

Kicks: 8
Handballs: 8
Possessions: 16
Marks: 2
Tackles: 2
Frees For: 1
Frees Against: 3
Goals: 1
Behinds: 0

Bryce Gibbs played out most of the game in the backline, manning up on the smaller forwards and doing quite a good job of it, sticking to his man like glue. The scoreline doesn't have a reflection on Gibbs defensive performance in the slightest, although I think he's being wasted in the backline.

Around the 2nd/3rd quarter, Gibbsy played in the midfield and wasn't afraid to go in hard for the ball and attack the opposition players. This kid is footy hungry, it reflects in the way he plays.

Gibbsy was quiet the last quarter, despite kicking a late goal from the goal square after receiving a handpass from Fevola. By then, it was all too late.

I think that if Bryce is going to develope into the player we want to see (the hardball getting hard nut), he needs to start in the centre in a few weeks to come, rather than playing on no name players in the backline. I'd like to see him man up on some of the Collingwood hard nuts next week for a bit of experience next week. There's a lot riding on next weeks game, I think we need Gibbs to play in a position that favours both him and the team.

Please excuse my dull write-up, Bluebear shames me! I try:p.

Bluebear
8th April 2008, 02:41
AFL Premiership Season: Round Three

There's a lot riding on next weeks game, I think we need Gibbs to play in a position that favours both him and the team.

Please excuse my dull write-up, Bluebear shames me! I try:p.
Never fear.......the bear is here.:thumbsu:

Nice report EBIAC. I'm surprised that you noticed anyone other than EB given the game he had.
I listened to the game on the radio while waiting to check in at the airport, so you don't really hear a player called unless he has the footy.

Just a note on BG and the centre square. He has played quite a bit in there in the first two rounds, and quite frankly looked lost at times. Yes, I agree he needs to rotate through there to develop but I don't think it is his best position ATM.

BTW, babybear was a legend on the flight to the UK and despite having bugger all sleep in a 24hr period, charmed the whole flight and had enough energy when we arrived to charm our hosts as well.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
9th April 2008, 15:00
Never fear.......the bear is here.:thumbsu:

Nice report EBIAC. I'm surprised that you noticed anyone other than EB given the game he had.

I'm always watching every player, suprisingly enough i'm really into my footy:).
BTW, babybear was a legend on the flight to the UK and despite having bugger all sleep in a 24hr period, charmed the whole flight and had enough energy when we arrived to charm our hosts as well.
Naww!:)

Some good juice you've got there BB:p.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
13th April 2008, 19:03
Pretty impressive game by Gibbs today. A few yips (eg gifting the Pies the first goal of the game) but overall had a good game. 8 tackles - some were absolutely brutal too! And he appeared to play on Thomas all day, completely shutting him down. Thomas had no impact at all

Bluebear
13th April 2008, 19:23
Pretty impressive game by Gibbs today. A few yips (eg gifting the Pies the first goal of the game) but overall had a good game. 8 tackles - some were absolutely brutal too! And he appeared to play on Thomas all day, completely shutting him down. Thomas had no impact at all
Great to hear. Sounds like his goal was pretty good too.:thumbsu:

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
13th April 2008, 19:38
^ twas awsome!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
14th April 2008, 08:18
AFL Premiership Season: Round Four

Carlton vs. Collingwood @ MCG (13/4/08)

Kicks: 12
Handballs: 7
Possessions: 19
Marks: 5
Tackles: 8
Frees For: 4
Frees Against: 1
Goals: 1

Bryce a squibb? Hardly.

Hard at the ball (and the Collginwood players) all day, and his tackle and free kick for count compliments that. Some of his disposals early on were very skakey, but from midway in the first quarter, it was all smooth sailing. He didn't have a 30 possession game, but I wouldn't be suprised if he polled a vote or two in the Brownlow tally for this game:thumbsu:.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
26th April 2008, 21:17
I think I have one more week of doing Bryce so, here it goes!:p

AFL Premiership Season: Round Six

Carlton vs. Adelaide @ MCG (26/4/08)

Kicks: 12
Handballs: 8
Possessions: 20
Marks: 5
Tackles: 1
Frees For: 2
Frees Against: 1
Goals: 0

Watching Bryce today, I didn't really see him get into the action, but according to the stats, he had a lot of the ball! Playing out of the backline again, he was pretty quiet IMO. I still think he needs to be persisted with in the midfield. On a pretty bad day for football, he kept his man to a couple of goals (if I recall?), so it's a bit of a win on that note.

He needs to play in the midfield, his pressure is so much better when he's there, and it will do both him and the team wonders:thumbsu:.

Bluebear
30th April 2008, 17:20
Thanks EBIAC for looking after my buddy for me.

I'll have poll position in front of the T.V. Friday night for the WCE game.......and if babybears sleep doesn't get better quickly then the report could follow soon after in the wee small hours.

It's good to be back, but jst in cased i missed something:
Russell is a dud
We should have kept Kennedy
Fev should be traded
Waite should play forward
Judd doesn't look fit
We should have taken Cotchin or Palmer
If Hoops was playing I'd wish he wasn't
Bannister is a hack
Gibbs is soft
Cloke is 1.5cm too short to be a ruckman (one of my fav's this :p)
and finally
Betts is sloppy with his disposal and doesn't sneak enough goals
Bower is indecisive.....or maybe just has poor disposal.......no, I think I was right the first time........but actually now I think of it.........ah whatever....
Hartlett is GAWN......his body too fragile for AFL and we should take whatever we can get for him at the end of the year.
Kreuzer is too small to be a ruck and too tall to be a mid, too thin to be a KPP and too fat to be in fashion week.
Bentick is too slow
Fisher is a legend

Did I miss anything?:D

Blue Dawn
2nd May 2008, 23:41
^^

You've obviously got your team's jumper filling your head sh!t and p!ss for brains!? The boy, and that's still what he is, will be an bloody champ. Already one of the better tacklers in our line-up and will be Buckley's size when physically mature down the track. :rolleyes:

Cruiser23
3rd May 2008, 02:49
Another promising game tonight, kicked a few goals and used his evasive skills quite well.

What is going on with him playing as a backman? Played on Thompson, Goodwin and Porplyzia last week and now Embley when he went forward this week. His talent seems to be going to waste, surely his role will change very soon. He needs to be 'let free' so to speak, give him chances in the centre bounces and just lets him prove himself. Against Essendon, he had 11 touches and 4 clearences in the second half. Has been very good down back but he will definately be more effective for us playing through the middle. He has spent pretty much his whole career down back, i think it is time to "REALESE THE GIBBS!!!"

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
3rd May 2008, 17:04
jeeze, gibbs' confidence has skyrocketed I reckon. He took on an eagles player (think it was stenglein), swearing at him, full into it. Then when he got his second goal he was real pumped up. then in the rooms after hte game whilst singing the song, he was making signs to the camera, winking at it n shit, and the only one dousing the boys in the middle who got their first win.

he seems very confident out on the field and amongst his teammates now, which is great

Bluebear
9th May 2008, 11:15
BG vs WCE, round 7 2008.

The Summary:
18 possies (8 k, 10 h/b)
4 contested possessions
94% Efficiency
2 Clangers (both from kick ins)
7 marks
3 tackles
2 goals
3 Bounces
1 1%er (I dispute this ;))

The opponents (stats while on Gibbs):
Masten (4 kicks, 1 ineffective)
Armstrong 2 kicks
Rosa 2 kicks, 1 effective
Embley 1 ineffective possie
Ebert 1 ineffective possie

The detail Quarter by Quarter

1st Quarter - Lines up on Masten on HF/midfield rotation

Loose ball get, effective handball to Scotland for clearing kick
Kick in from behind, hits Scotland
Loose ball get, effective h/b across HB
Leads Masten to contest, Browne pushes Masten in back for free kick
Benched for 2 mins
Receives h/b at HB, switches play with kick to Scotland
Playing loose man well across HB while only allowing Masten to get 3 kicks on him.

2nd Quarter

Drops mark but cleans up, handball to bower
Changes opponent to Armstrong as WCE rotate their midfield/small forward
Marks behind play, switches with kick to Jammo
Gathers loose ball under pressure, h/b to Bower
Receives h/b at CHB, ducks and weaves then delivers 50m pinpoint pass to Ellard on the lead at CHF
Smothers kick on goal from Stenglein
Changes to wing on Schofield
Receives h/b, gives H/B to Carrazzo
In centre square on Masten, lays tackle on Cox after ball up
Masten had 1 kick on Gibbs which went to Lynch who missed a sitter. Armstrong had 2 possies. Gibbs had 6 possies, all setting up the play across half back helping us to the lead we enjoyed at half time.

3rd Q - on Rosa at HB.

Receives h/b, tackled immediately by Rosa
Blocked Rosa's backheel attempt on goal and tackles Rosa while handballing for ineffective disposal
Rosa get loose kick at HB as Gibbs runs forwards to block space for Lynch - ineffective as Lynch marks Rosa kick.
Switches to Embley as Rosa rotates to midfield on Scotty
Slips into the forward 50 unmanned and marks 35m out. Goal.
Lays a body on Embley to allow Scotty free run at the footy who wins it forward.
Embley - o possies.
Rosa - 2 possies, 1 ineefective
Gibbs - 1 kick. 1 goal.
Gibbs appeared to be taken away from HB by his opponent, deeper into the WCE forward line, but still managed to keep his man quiet, at a time when the WCE were surging, and also sneaked forward to get a vital goal for us.

4th Quarter - on Embley at HB

Gather loose ball from Setanta spoil, h/b to Setanta
Recevies h/b from Bower, h/b back to Bower
Play on from kick in, misses target with kick outside 50m arc (? clanger)
Stands on line from kick in (? clanger)
Kick in hits pack with Cloke and Judd
Kick in to Grigg in BP
Embley gathers loose ball, forced to kick in hurry, Bower marks, rebounds to Setanta leading to Simmo goal breaking the WCE run
Marks at HB behind play, plays on with duck and weave and h/b clear
Runs forward and gathers in FP, kick on goal smothered OOB
Waiting goal side of 2 ball ups, Judd wins clearance, Embley runs to Judd, Gibbs pushes free to goal square and receives handball for easy goal.
Ebert moves onto Gibbs (as Embley is getting flogged :o)
Marks at CHB, kicks across ground to Waite
Holds up Rosa and forces him to pass, then catches up to Ebert and smothers kick 2 possies later.
Jones bumps Fisher, Gibbs remonstrates with Jones, then Stenglein as games slips away from WCE.
Tackles Embley and causes ineffective kick
Kicks in to Carrazzo
Marks return pass from Carrazzo at BP, plays on with HB
Ebert - 1 ineffective kick
Embley - 1 ineffective kick
Gibbs - 4 h/b, 4 kicks, 1 goal

I think this was one of the more pleasing games from Gibbs. His opponent tried to take him out of the game in the secoind half, and Gibbs was smart enough to attack and kick 2 goals, while still keeping his man, playing as a forward, to a few generally ineffective disposals.

Is developing into a bit of a general across HB and was yelling instructions to players to set up the play at times. Agree with the comments about this game showing a more mature Gibbs........and a counterattacking one as well.:thumbsu:

Pamam
9th May 2008, 11:34
great work Bluebear!!! enjoyed it :thumbsu::thumbsu:

gibbs is improving game by game

quite happy to see him make mistakes as long as he keeps redeeming himself as he has been doing!!

another few possessions a game on average would be nice too.

Bluebear
9th May 2008, 14:02
great work Bluebear!!! enjoyed it :thumbsu::thumbsu:

gibbs is improving game by game

quite happy to see him make mistakes as long as he keeps redeeming himself as he has been doing!!

another few possessions a game on average would be nice too.
What I really liked, as you point out, is that in the Pies game his first 10 minutes was terrible, then he turned it around with hard work and was one of our best by the end of the day.
Same with the WCE game. A couple of botched kick-ins but he went back and had a third go........and guys like Stevo and Scotty let him - shows some faith and some confidence.

Love the goals off the HBF too.:thumbsu:

Bluebear
20th May 2008, 16:54
I have done the review but I just can't find time to type it up ATM........I know you are all waiting with baited breath.:p

BG vs Lions, round 8 2008.

The Summary:
24 possies (11k, 13 h/b)
6 contested possessions
79% Efficiency
5 Clangers
5 marks
1 tackles

5 kicks, 1 h/b, 1 goal, 2 SA.
Corrie (1 k, 1 h/b, set up 1 goal)
Johnstone 1 handball, 1 kick, 1 goal
Hooper 1 kick, 1 handball
Harding 0
Notting 0
McGrath 2 kicks, set up 1 goal - not Gibbs fault).

The detail Quarter by Quarter

Q1 - Wing vs Corrie
1. Handball (Clanger) - gathers loose ball on the HBF, turn into corridor running to CHB bouncing football. HAndball to Simpson who is immediately tackled. Turnover goes inside 50 for a behind.

2. Mark and Kick - Marks kick in in BP. Slow to dispose, kicks to Jammo in goal square. Jammo kick marked by Johnstone outisde 50. Goal.

Corrie receives and gives handball at CHB, Gibbs trailing with little pressure. Corrie follows up pushing deeo into F50, Gibbs trailing in midfield.

3. Handball - Gathers smothered Lions kick in midfield, tackled immediately by MacDonald. Handball intercepted by Merrett, Russell gives away high tackle, h/b to Power. Corrie (Gibbs man) pushed to wing, receives h/b, kick to Charman, h/b Sherman, h/b Brown - goal.

Gibbs had to contest, Russ laid his second crap high tackle in 30 seconds, should have been ball up CHF.

Gibbs now moved to loose man in front of Brown. Starts off standing right next to him. Grigg on Corrie.

4. Kick - Spoils Bradshaw on wing, Jammo gathers loose ball, h/b to Gibbs running back towards D50. Under pressure from Johnstone, kicks to Waite at D50 flank. Waite kick into corridor intercepted by Brennan. Gibbs had run to play where mark would have been taken to receive handball....Johnstone trailed.....Johnstone runs forward with turnover 15m headstart on Gibbs, recevies from Brennan - goal.

5. Kick - Sucked up to D50 with Brown. Doubles back to gather spoil from Jammo on Bradshaw in FP. Kick to Browne across goal square is marked and cleared.

Pushed up into midfield to man up Corrie during Lions kick in. Had run back to D50 when Brown marks running back with the flight of the ball 15m out.

Gibbs starts 10m in front of Brown at next C sq bounce as loose man.

6. Handball - receives h/b from Hadley, h/b to Scotty 30m out. Runs forward to D50. Ackland marks from Scotty kick, tries to h/b to Gibbs running past - Gibbs under immediate pressure, tries to knock ball on instead of tacking possession. Johnstone gathers, h/b to Black, misses shot on goal.

Bench last few mins of quarter.

Gibbs - 3 kick, 3 h/b
Corrie - 1 h/b, 1 kick, sets up 1 goal
Johnstone - 1 kick, 1 goal.

Too loose on Corrie. Too attacking and not respecting his man. Could have been hurt more as Corrie pushed into dangerous positions unmanned, but Brown and Bradshaw main targets.
Pushed into midfield when clearly supposed to be filling hole in front of Brown. Loose play contributed to two goals. COuld have been 4.
Basically, like the rest of the team, slow start and unusual poor decisions at times.

Q 2 - On Hooper at CHF.

1. Handball - receiving poor handball from Waite. Gathers loose ball and H/b back to Waite. Continues to run to D50 to receve next 2 possies.

2 & 3. Handballs - receives from Jammo, gives to Scotty, gets back from Scotty and gives to Setanta who is under pressure immediately and a turnover results.

Hooper marks and handballs free on the wing.......Gibbs nowhere near him.
Easily sidestepped by Notting as Notting runs forward without much pressure.
Grigg to Hooper. Gibbs on Harding.

4. Kick - Marks Simpson kick on the wing. Kick hits Murph lace out in the C sq., kick to Scotty, h/b to Russ, kicks goal on the run.

Bench for 3-4 mins
Back on into centre square on Harding and then Johnstone.

Sucked into contest in c sq. while Johnstone stays out. Johsntone receives contested ball and clears C sq without pressure.

5. Handball - lays body on Selwood to win contested footy, handballs to Bentick running past to go I50.

6. HAndball - Marks at HFF, quick handball to Scotty running past

On Harding on the wing.

7. Handball - receives handball from Kreuzer at CHF, h/b to Murph running past.

Gibbs - 6 handballs, 1 kick
Harding - 0
Hooper - 1 handball
Johnstone - 1 handball
Improved effort. Pure midfield role and seemed to be making better decisions.

Q 3 - CHB on Hooper

Clearance from C sq to CHB, footrace with Gibbs and Hooper. Gibbs keeps body in front well and holds up Hooper, taps ball out b/w legs to support.

1. Kick - Mark from Kick in, play on called. Delivers 40m kick to Hadley outside D50.

Pushing forwards 20m from Hooper. Not quick enough when the turnover comes, Hooper marks uncontested outside F50 - hits Johnstone - misses.

2. Kick - playing loose behind ball up as safety at D50. Takes possession of loose handball, Kicks to Betts on tight lead, h/b to Murph running past, 3 bounces and goal.

Bench for 3 mins.
Wing on Notting on return.

3. Kick - marks kick in outside 50, plays on and kicks to Bentick at CHF, h/b to Judd - goal

4. Handball - receives from Bower and gives to Scotty in loose play on wing.

Pushes forward umanned. Hadley blazes from boundary and misses. Would have backed Gibbs from 40m 45 degrees.

5. Kick - chases loose ball on D50, kicks to boundary line.

Gibbs - 4 kicks, 1 h/b
Hooper - 1 kick
Notting - 0

Pushing from wing into F50. SHould have had 1 shot on goal from 40m. Kicking to targets contributed to 2 goals. Now back to standards of WCE game 2 weeks prior.

Q4 - Starts on bench 5 mins. Then HF on McGrath.
Flys for mark on goal line over Fev, misses.

1. Kick - h/b receive from Fisher, hits Wiggins at CHF on lead. Runs hard forwards to receive.

Hitout as 3rd man up.

2. Kick - h/b receive from Simpson, snaps on goal - OOBOF.

3. Handball - receives from Bower whilst running past on the wing, in trouble does u-turn, hits Scotty whilst being tackled.

Kick in from behind hits Grigg.

4. Kick - Receives h/b, kicks inside 50 to Judd marking contest. Fev goal from free kick.

Starts in C sq. and runs forwards unmanned to FP with our clearance win. Kick from Scotland clears Gibbs head. Would have marked and kicked from 30m, 45 deg.

5. Handball - takes possession of loose kick from Scotland near boundary line, h/b whilst being slung in tackle. Turnover.

Good pressure on McGrath kick, turnover to Scotland.

6. Kick - Marks kick from Scotland.

Gibbs - 4 kicks, 2 h/b, 1h/o
McGrath 2 kicks.

Overall Gibbs game after half time was quite good and back up to the standards he set during the WCE game where I thought he played one of his best games for us.

Seemed to be having trouble knowing whether to attack or defend, but turnovers from teamates put him out of position badly at times.

Kicking was very good and decisions perfect to be involved in setting up a couple of goals.

Anyone who thinks he is still stuck in the back pocket didn't watch this game closely as he rarely got that deep, and even then it was as a loose man. Still learning his midifield role and maybe too attacking, but that's fine at this stage. Good learning game from Gibbs. :thumbsu:

Bluebear
25th May 2008, 15:11
BG vs Freo, round 9 2008.

The Summary:
17 possies (7k, 10 h/b)
6 contested possessions
88% Efficiency
1 Clangers
4 marks
10 tackles

Didn't get to tape the game (baby bear hit the stop button playing with the remote while I was at the game so only got the first 2 and a half quarters.

In that time Gibbs started on the bench each of the first 3 quarters. When he came on played in the midfield, rotating in the centre square. Up until the middle of the third Q his opponents only had 3 possies while he had 13.

Was very good at pushing back this week to man up, then push forward into space, such that it was hard to figure out who his direct opponent was at times.

Pivotal in the goal that Stevens kicked, winning a hard ball (squib indeed) copping two oncoming tacklers, ducking them (Leigh Mathews style) before gaining his feet, hitting Stevo with the handball and giving us the lead.

Now up to 5th in the club for tackles which is great given he is playing as a midfielder rather than in the back pocket. Is creating a lot of pressure around the stoppages, but also running to space to recevie when we clear the ball.

Still learning the midfield ropes, and an unaccountable Freo outfit certainly didn't punish any loseness. Looked to be better at picking when to attack, and with older/more senior players demanding the ball in the midfield tends to get caught in the middle of plays, but is on a steep midfield learning curve and coming along nicely.

Next week will be a much bigger test as his opponent will likely push hard the other way to hurt him, and try and restrict him.

Bluebear
4th June 2008, 19:07
BG vs Cats, round 10 2008.

The Summary:
21 possies (9k, 12 h/b)
8 contested possessions
76% Efficiency
3 Clearances
4 Clangers
5 marks
1 tackle

Had 8 touches in the third when we were getting pumped.
A dismal game from all in the Navy Blue. Couldn't bring myself to watch the tape and sit through it again.

Held his head reasonably high after half time.........but, in a week when tackling was supposed to be our buzz word, Gibbs went from 10 vs Freo to 1.

He wasn't alone.

Snapped a lovely goal early in the last, and followed up with an pressure free goal later.

He, along with the rest of the midfield will be hoping to ACTUALLY increase their pressure, rather than talk lots about it and do the opposite.

Five
4th June 2008, 22:29
Watch the tape Bb - the only truly scary Q is the 3rd and you have the consolation of Gibbsy getting 8 possies :thumbsu:

Bluebear
5th June 2008, 10:10
Watch the tape Bb - the only truly scary Q is the 3rd and you have the consolation of Gibbsy getting 8 possies :thumbsu:

Not sure I can............I hate playing the Cats.:(

To think, at half time I had my hopes up.:eek:

Anyway, for the second youngest guy on our list, he held his head high.

Bluebear
8th June 2008, 22:32
BG vs Power, round 11 2008.

The Summary:
13 possies (12k, 1 h/b)
4 contested possessions
69% Efficiency
4 Clearances
4 Clangers
3 marks
4 tackle
1 goal
3 inside 50's

I will do a bigger write up when I have seen the game, but C Cornes numbers:

9 possies (5k, 4 h/b) (avg 23)
5 contested possessions
67% Efficiency
1 Clearances
1 Clangers
5 marks
3 tackle

Not sure why Chad has such as big mouth when playing us. Never seems to do much.;)
I understand Gibbs wasn't on him the whole time and his numbers on Gibbs may have been as few as 4-5 possies.:o Ouch!:D

Bluebear
16th June 2008, 22:52
BG vs Pies, round 12 2008.

The Summary:
13 possies (9k, 4h/b)
4 contested possessions
85% Efficiency
1 Clearance
1 Clanger
5 marks
3 tackles
4 rebound 50's

Again, BG with a modest return from the stats sheet, but he kept H Shaw to his worst figures for the season. Even in round 4 when Grigg did a good job (I thought) tagging Shaw, he got 25 possies.

Shaw was SMASHED, in much the same way Cornes was, and Gibbs picked up twice as many himself.

Heath Shaw
6 possies (3k, 3h/b) (avg 20.5)
2 contested possessions
83 % Efficiency
1 Clearance
1 Clanger
2 marks
0 tackles

A Star in the making.:thumbsu:

Jeremias
16th June 2008, 23:01
He's had extremely important roles for us over the last 2 weeks and done them brilliantly.

First it was Chadwick, and now Shaw - 2 of their respective clubs most damaging players. He has managed to completely nullify their influence on the games.

He has been a vital part of our success over the last few weeks.

Who gives a ____ if he doesn't get much of the ball when he's tagging?

Gun :thumbsu:

Bluebear
24th June 2008, 12:58
BG vs Dons, round 13 2008.

The Summary:
18 possies (11k, 7 h/b)
10 contested possessions :)
61% Efficiency :(
3 clearances
3 Clangers
2 marks
6 tackles
2 behinds
1 inside 50
2 rebound 50

5 kicks, 5 h/b, 1 goal
Watson (3 k, 2 h/b)
Monfries 1 kick, 2 h/b, 1 goal (free from Carrazzo)
McVeigh 1 kick
N Lov Murray 1 handball
Myers, Stanton - 0

The Detail Quarter by Quarter

Q1 - C. Sq vs Watson
1. Kick - Watson roves throw in Blues FP, h/b bounces off teamates chest, Gibbs gathers and snaps behind

2. Handball - Gathers loose ball from kick in, h/b to Carrazzo on wing, OOF as tackled when kicking.

Watson mark and h/b

3. Handball - receives from Carrazzo on the wing, tackled immediately, quality "give" to Cloke result in insdie 50 and shot on goal.

Gibbs on HBF vs Monfries, Bentick to Watson.

Monfries gathers loose ball, h/b to Lovett, h/b to Lucas, hits the post.

4. Kick - Gathers loose ball at D50, kicks as tackled.

Spoil on Monfries, Mon gathers, h/b to Lucas who goes to ground at Gibbs feet, free kick for high contact (not sure what Gibbs was supposed to do), misses set shot.

Monfires gathers loose ball from Lucas on Setanta contest (Setanta infringed by Lucas not paid), Gibbs 2m off Mon, Carrazzo tries to stop Mon, high contact - goal.

Gibbs - 2kick, 2h/b (1 ineff), 1 FA, 1 goal against
Watson - 1 k, 2 h/b, 1 mark
Monfries - 1 k, 2 H/b, 1 goal
McVeigh - 0 possies.

Started in the C sq, pushed into defence but not tight enough on Monfries or Watson, possibly due to more attacking role rather than close checking.

Q 2 - C. Sq vs Watson

Missed tackle on Lloyd, Watson kick forward, follows up and gets h/b, soft free to Stanton, 1 behind.

C Sq on Stanton

1. Kick - loose ball get, 5m chip kick to Carrazzo, inside 50 to Fev, poor kick, spolied easily.

2. Kick and Mark - Mark on wing, 40m lace out pass to Fev on the lead - goal.

Tackle on Jetta causing t/o.

3. Handball - receives h/b under pressure, gives to Fisher

4. Handball - Attacks loose ball, gathers, give to Fisher.

Bench - 15 min mark of Q.
On with 4 mins to go on Myers.

5. Kick - runs to receive handball, left foot kick along boundary line, OOB.

Gibbs - 3 k, 2 h/b (1 ineff), 1 score assist
Watson - 1 kick, 1 h/b
Stanton, Myers - 0

Moved into midfield and did well. One beautiful pass to Fev moments after Carrazzo fluffed one........a real standout.

Q 3 - C. Sq on McVeigh

McV gathers loose ball and gets 1 kick.

1. H/b - Muscled Watson off the ball, contested possession, h/b to Kreuzer as Gibbs is tackled. Kreuzer tackled and spills, leads to next possie for Gibbs.

2. Kick - gather loose ball from above, kicks to Murph on lead at CHF.

3. Kick - gathers loose ball from throw in. 30m pass up boundary line to Wiggins.

Spoils to keep ball inside 50.

C Sq on Watson.
Watson kick on wing, smothered by Gibbs OOB.
Watson kick across HB

4. Kick - Roves pack in D50, bounce and kick to Murph on wing

5. Kick - Marks kick in. Pass falls short of Waite on the wing.........contested ball.

6. Kick - receives handball from previous contest, kick again falls short of Waite on wing and another contest. Ball up.

Gibbs - 5 kicks, 1 h/b. Official stats had 7 possies. Not sure if I missed 1.
McVeigh - 1 kick
Watson - 2 kicks (1ineff)

Q4 - Starts on bench 5 mins. Then HF on Lovett-Murray.

LM loose ball get, h/b while being tackled. Ineff kick.
LM gathers loose ball, chased and tackled by Gibbs. No free kick.

1. Kick - Intercepts kick across F50, plays on and shoots on goal. Celebrates initially as it would put us up 7 points.........misses. Blues 2 point lead.

2. Handball - Ball up, receives from Judd, gives to Fisher, gives to Fev, give and go with Carrazzo - Fev kicks goal of the year from the boundary line.

Gibbs - 1 kick, 1 h/b, 1 behind
NLM - 1h/b, ineff.

Five
25th June 2008, 12:17
My son was critical of him not roving the tap at the very first bounce but unless you see the down the ground angle as well, there is no way of really telling how close it went to a player for TV gives you a limited view - 2 dimensional at that. Same in Q2 when I was desperate to see AB get in the game - I could not see why BG wheeled around when he received a hball from AB but most likely there was no one presenting down the ground.
You have to love all those contested possies and tackles. It was a pity about his 2 behinds - any other week and he probably gaols/goals them both. Good for his development to see him put in the mix early. :thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
28th June 2008, 10:22
With Judd down today may be the most important game of this lad's carreer so far. I hope he has a red hot go and plays 4 solid accountable qtrs.

Bluebear
2nd July 2008, 16:20
Well bg, I think you would agree Gibbs had a very good game.

Diesel powers Gibbs' impact (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsid=62565)

BG vs Tiges, round 14 2008.

The Summary:
20 possies (17k, 3 h/b)
4 contested possessions
70% Efficiency
3 clearances
0 Clangers :thumbsu:
8 marks
3 tackles
3 goals
4 inside 50
4 rebound 50
4 bounces

Gibbs showed us something quite new on Saturday, and took a big step towards becoming an A grade midfielder.

He showed us run and carry, and not only that but the ability to hit targets with his 40m+ passes on the run.

For mine, this was Gibbs best game for the Blues. He has been fluctuating between being a defensive midfielder pushing forwards, and being an attacking midfielder with defensive qualities.

He has found himself between the play a lot this year when trying to attack, and getting caught out going back the other way when the turnover comes. Too often when he got the ball previously, he would stop and direct a kick. Saturday he had licence to run and bounce..........and he looked every bit as quick as anyone on the field.

Gibbs arrived Saturday as a midfielder. He may fluctuate again, but he is growing week by week.

I just hope the boys don't step back when Judd comes back into the side.:thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
3rd July 2008, 21:43
He certainly was in my votes! I think he has taken a massive step foward now!

Lingsface
4th July 2008, 15:52
Gibbs is going to be unbelievabley good he just tries to do all the right things, and the more he gets use to afl footy the more he seems to do it.

He seems like a real classy stand up type guy as well in the James Hird mould and would be an obvious choice for captain in the future.