View Full Version : 5. Josh Kennedy

Jeremias
21 Feb 2007, 20:13
This thread is to discuss Josh Kennedy.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

Djibril Cisse
3 Mar 2007, 20:43

The Old Dark Navy's
4 Mar 2007, 00:26
Getting better each game. Bad dropped mark coming out of the square but it was a quick snap and he wasn't ready for it. Presented strongly and held a couple.

Djibril Cisse
4 Mar 2007, 12:22
Getting better each game. Bad dropped mark coming out of the square but it was a quick snap and he wasn't ready for it. Presented strongly and held a couple.

Bad? That was down right atrocious! He was in acres of space, had time to see the ball, and it bounced off his chest... that was shocking

Jeremias
4 Mar 2007, 14:16
I thought he looked VERY good last night, played well.

Looks ready to have a big year. Hoping for 22 games, but I just hope he stays injury free the whole season and has an impact on some games.

I'm hoping he can kick between 15 and 20 goals this season, and get nominated for the rising star award. Hopefully he gives that a shake. Imagine a 1, 2 finish with Kennedy and Gibbs. :)

Djibril Cisse
4 Mar 2007, 15:21
Kennedy is a special sort of Superstar!!!

He is head and shoulders above Jon Brown, Jon Brown should not even bother turning up to play for Brisbane, every single round, Josh Kennedy will just prove he is a better player.

bluegal1983
5 Mar 2007, 10:30
Kennedy is a special sort of Superstar!!!

He is head and shoulders above Jon Brown, Jon Brown should not even bother turning up to play for Brisbane, every single round, Josh Kennedy will just prove he is a better player.

You are not serious are you? That is a big tag you have put on Josh :rolleyes:

NWTYRX
5 Mar 2007, 10:37
no, he is not serious

if you haven't guessed by now, my brother is not one of Kennedy's supporters

HBF
7 Mar 2007, 14:38
Just watched a replay of the Hawthorn game, and thought Josh played very very well indeed. Led up the ground well, and got to quite a few contests. I know alot of our focus has been on Gibbs and Murphy, but young Josh could really be in for a pretty good year this year.

Wonder if Hansen might get the job in Josh on Saturday night?

Gilly1972
7 Mar 2007, 14:44
no, he is not serious

if you haven't guessed by now, my brother is not one of Kennedy's supporters

U sure you two aren't he Bannister boys? :D :p

Djibril Cisse
7 Mar 2007, 18:32
U sure you two aren't he Bannister boys? :D :p

What have the Bannister boys done to you Gilly, they happen to be very good blokes, but no, we aren't them

Djibril Cisse
7 Mar 2007, 18:34
Just watched a replay of the Hawthorn game, and thought Josh played very very well indeed. Led up the ground well, and got to quite a few contests. I know alot of our focus has been on Gibbs and Murphy, but young Josh could really be in for a pretty good year this year.

Wonder if Hansen might get the job in Josh on Saturday night?

Kennedy has to survive the chop first, big chance to go back to the magoos, and Banno is a chance to get his first taste of senior action for the season!

Gilly1972
7 Mar 2007, 20:56
What have the Bannister boys done to you Gilly, they happen to be very good blokes, but no, we aren't them

lol, bit touchy mate, i'm just stirring, like i stir C4 about them. :thumbsu:

HBF
7 Mar 2007, 21:58
Kennedy has to survive the chop first, big chance to go back to the magoos, and Banno is a chance to get his first taste of senior action for the season!

Thats hilarious. :D

Djibril Cisse
20 Mar 2007, 15:14
Kennedy set the world alight during the NAB Cup..

I especially loved his performance in the final, what was it... 1 kick, 1 hand ball and 3 tackles in 59 minutes of Football?

Awesome stats, definately my first choice for B.O.G

bluegal1983
20 Mar 2007, 15:29
Kennedy set the world alight during the NAB Cup..

I especially loved his performance in the final, what was it... 1 kick, 1 hand ball and 3 tackles in 59 minutes of Football?

Awesome stats, definately my first choice for B.O.G

I think I speak on behalf of the majority of Carlton BF posters when I say that I am getting really sick of the negativity you show towards JK.

The kid has played a handful of games so lay off!!!

one_twelve112
20 Mar 2007, 15:34
I think I speak on behalf of the majority of Carlton BF posters when I say that I am getting really sick of the negativity you show towards JK.

The kid has played a handful of games so lay off!!!
I find comfort in knowing - JK will be a real star in a year or 2....Djibril Cisse will still be a tool!

Bluebear
20 Mar 2007, 16:28
I'm a huge wrap for this Kid, but can he please stop dropping uncontested marks.
One at the top of the goal sq. vs Roos which would have been very timely and helped our run.
Another in the centre square on Sat night from the t/o that had the Lions all out of position. Marks and turns to have Fev 1 out in F50. Instead it goes back into Lions F50 for a goal.

I love ya JK but 'sure' hands.......please.:thumbsu:

his leading is great, and decision making/kicking has improved heaps since last year, where he seemed unsure and slow to react, decide the best option.
All good attributes for our future CHF, but would like to see a little more in the strong marking column.

Djibril Cisse
23 Mar 2007, 20:30
I truly believe he is a genuine superstar of the AFL...

JK > Jon Brown
JK > Chris Judd
JK > Matthew Pavlich

He is just daylight ahead of the rest

blues4flag
23 Mar 2007, 21:11

JK > Jon Brown
JK > Chris Judd
JK > Matthew Pavlich

:confused: Give the kid a break. He's only in his second season, he'll come good (hopefully).

Bluebear
23 Mar 2007, 21:51

JK > Jon Brown
JK > Chris Judd
JK > Matthew Pavlich

JK > Banno ? :D

Djibril Cisse
23 Mar 2007, 22:32
JK > Banno ? :D

No-one, and I mean no-one is > Banno..

And that goes for both Banno's, they are just too good

AndyWalkersGirl
30 Mar 2007, 16:48
No-one, and I mean no-one is > Banno..

And that goes for both Banno's, they are just too good

Gee this whole thread was dedicated to Kennedy, shame it has been ruined with ridicule between Kennedy and Bannister. No need for it anymore DC. Seriously, stick your Banno rants to the Bannister thread please.

It's degraded this thread.

Bluebear
30 Mar 2007, 18:04
Gee this whole thread was dedicated to Kennedy, shame it has been ruined with ridicule between Kennedy and Bannister. No need for it anymore DC. Seriously, stick your Banno rants to the Bannister thread please.

It's degraded this thread.

I think DC has been put in his place. After a brain explosion last week DC has been pretty good.

Just on Josh - he reminds me a bit of Riewoldt, in terms of the ground he covers etc.
So I thought I would have a look at their stats for their first years.
I will post them when I get a chance, but JK stacks up pretty well. If its any indication we could be in for a real journey with this guy.:thumbsu:

sticks74
1 Apr 2007, 20:57
The more i see of this kid the more i like...

Looked way better at CHF than Whitnal and i would be paying him there!
If this kid gets some confidence he could be anything...

blues4flag
1 Apr 2007, 21:27
An improvement over last week and took a couple good marks. He's developing well and will continue to improve. Great to see him play reasonably well after a shocker last week:thumbsu:. Still a big man, and will take him probably a couple of years before he's consistently good.

AndyWalkersGirl
1 Apr 2007, 22:20
by teh sounds of it, he presented well, chased hard and provided a good option up forward.

Took a good pack mark that had all the commentators going crazy over him :)

he'll be so much better by the end of the season as well:thumbsu:

Jeremias
1 Apr 2007, 22:53
Got knocked pretty bad.

Corky, and got his shoulder crunched.

Apparently was heavily iced after the game.

Hopeefully he can play next week. Only injuries will keep him out if he doesn't play.

K.Simpson
2 Apr 2007, 00:35
JK is fine. got a knock to the thigh by a richmond player running with the flight of the ball and was winded, but walked it out after the game. if anyone saw him run from the bench when the siren went, rofl, he looked perfectly fine and ice on the shoulder was pre-cautionary.

there was a fair few players with ice around shoulders and knees, including fev, fisher and waitey.

no injury concerns out of the that will cause a player to miss, touch wood *touches desk*

XXX KINGS
2 Apr 2007, 00:54
I have started calling Kennedy the K-train. Choo choo!

Bluebear
2 Apr 2007, 13:05
One of his best games for us. I had to laugh at the mark he took in the sq. for his goal. Went through his hands and hit him in the chest, managed to clutch it in..........i think that got his confidence up because the one grabber on 50 Sthn stand end was a cracker.
He'll be just fine. He stacks up well vs other kpp's this early in their careers. Will have more on this when time permits (Easter).

james Dean
8 Apr 2007, 17:48
Worst on ground last night

TheGeneral
8 Apr 2007, 18:06
Worst on ground last night
A bit harsh on a young player.

He presented more than Lance last night and our midfield and coaches didn't give them many chances to mark one out in space.

Bluebear
8 Apr 2007, 18:51
A bit harsh on a young player.

He presented more than Lance last night and our midfield and coaches didn't give them many chances to mark one out in space.

Certainly not worst on ground, but at some point he needs to start taking those contested marks. He gets spoiled too easily on the lead, even when the kick is good. This means he is either slowing to the ball allowing his man to close, or not getting enough space on his man to begin with.

I'm confident he will make it, and we wait patiently.:thumbsu:

TheGeneral
23 Apr 2007, 21:20
Does anyone want to own up as his buddy? :D

http://shop.afl.com.au/blues/graphics/products/detail_2150.jpg

ClayBlue87
23 Apr 2007, 21:28
:eek: Disgraceful.

Almost as bad as James Brayshaw's underwear modeling.

And am I correct in saying that JK is on his knees? Im sure we don't need THAT at our club:rolleyes:

AndyWalkersGirl
25 Apr 2007, 14:09
Does anyone want to own up as his buddy? :D

http://shop.afl.com.au/blues/graphics/products/detail_2150.jpg

I really really like what he is wearing and also love his hairdo.... :o It's that bed-hair look.

Hmm...

TheGeneral
28 Apr 2007, 16:49
I'm tipping we'll have a Cleve Hughes v Kennedy thread posted on the polls board within the next week. ;) :D

TheGeneral
29 Apr 2007, 23:44
Not a rising star game but promising for a bad game. :cool:

11 disposals - 5 kicks, 3 marks, 1 inside 50, 1 spoil - on Charman?, 1 clearance.

TheGeneral
6 May 2007, 23:39
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=212586

bLuEbOy1984
20 May 2007, 19:12
how did he go with the bullants this week?.. anyone

marcmurphy3
20 May 2007, 19:25
how did he go with the bullants this week?.. anyone

Kicked three goals rotating between ruck and foward. Was BOG.

bLuEbOy1984
21 May 2007, 17:32
Kicked three goals rotating between ruck and foward. Was BOG.

BOG? really id love to see the tape

nicksblues2
1 Jul 2007, 21:48
Never want to see JK in the ruck, wasn't recruited as a ruckman please pagan stop playing him in the ruck who knows he might turn out like mclaren if pagan keeps putting him....not a nice thought:(

Bluebear
1 Jul 2007, 22:18
Never want to see JK in the ruck, wasn't recruited as a ruckman please pagan stop playing him in the ruck who knows he might turn out like mclaren if pagan keeps putting him....not a nice thought:(
Rucked at junior level, and stands 198cm. What you want is irrelevant.

TheGeneral
1 Jul 2007, 22:31
Kennedy isn't a ruckman and he shouldn't be played as a ruckman.

Height means jack.

It's what Pratt wants that counts because Pagan is history.

Jeremias
2 Jul 2007, 14:11
With Fev out, we'll see JK return to the seniors for a few weeks at least.

We need him to step up and be counted.

JK-You're time is now.

AlecDuncan
2 Jul 2007, 23:21
JK-You're time is now.
Maybe Jake Edwards for that matter. Either way, you're right.

Djibril Cisse
3 Jul 2007, 14:52
Maybe Jake Edwards for that matter. Either way, you're right.

Josh Kennedy will have been told already, he is going to go straight back into the seniors, all he has to do is do what he was doing when he was playing earlier in the season, his work rate is great, he leads, all we can hope for is that when his team-mates kick him the ball, he takes marks and shows himself capable of strong marks and kicking goals, which will see his team-mates kick him the ball more often, even if we get Fev back in the side, if he continues to drop easy marks, the midfielders will just bypass him again, and look for Waite or Fisher.

He'll know that he has to stand up now, hopefully he has what it takes, and can stand up and show everyone that he will be a quality player.

Djibril Cisse
3 Jul 2007, 14:54
Rucked at junior level, and stands 198cm. What you want is irrelevant.

From what I understand, he stands at 195cm, but I could be wrong.

EDIT: Just did some checking, the Carlton website players section hasn't been updated since 2005, so, he probably has grown 3 or 4cm since then.

Bluebear
3 Jul 2007, 15:25
From what I understand, he stands at 195cm, but I could be wrong.

EDIT: Just did some checking, the Carlton website players section hasn't been updated since 2005, so, he probably has grown 3 or 4cm since then.
Yeah, I'd heard he was 195cm at draft camp, but had grown 3cm since then and the end of his first year with the Blues.....could be wrong though.:thumbsu:

Djibril Cisse
3 Jul 2007, 16:23
Yeah, I'd heard he was 195cm at draft camp, but had grown 3cm since then and the end of his first year with the Blues.....could be wrong though.:thumbsu:

Yeah, that's the height I knew him to be standing, but like I said, the profile on the Carlton website hasn't been updated since 2005, so I would imagine, he'd be around 198cm now, still not really tall enough to be a ruckman, because he doesn't have a prodigious leap.

Maybe play him at FF on Sunday and see what happens.

Bluebear
3 Jul 2007, 16:27
Yeah, that's the height I knew him to be standing, but like I said, the profile on the Carlton website hasn't been updated since 2005, so I would imagine, he'd be around 198cm now, still not really tall enough to be a ruckman, because he doesn't have a prodigious leap.

Maybe play him at FF on Sunday and see what happens.
Its more about technique than massive leap......timing and body position, and its only 1cm shorter than Setanta.
I agree though, would like to see him get at least some time in the goal square.

He play ruck as a junior, and while I don't think we should use him there a lot, if he can do some of the work with either Setanta or Cloke / ? Aisake next year then Cain will get to play lots of footy against the guy who replaced him at the Saints - Gardiner, when they play Casey........assuming gardiner is fit (as if he wouldn't be :D)

Djibril Cisse
3 Jul 2007, 16:37
Its more about technique than massive leap......timing and body position, and its only 1cm shorter than Setanta.
I agree though, would like to see him get at least some time in the goal square.

He play ruck as a junior, and while I don't think we should use him there a lot, if he can do some of the work with either Setanta or Cloke / ? Aisake next year then Cain will get to play lots of footy against the guy who replaced him at the Saints - Gardiner, when they play Casey........assuming gardiner is fit (as if he wouldn't be :D)

Yeah, but if you can leap, like Setanta or Jeff White, you don't need to be 200cm tall, I also don't think that Josh is suited to the ruck, even though he may have played some junior football there. If we've got Cloke fit next season, and Aisake has cemented a spot in the team, then we can play Setanta in defence, and JK in the forward line, and they wont need to do any ruck work, which is better for the Carlton Football Club, and then like you say, Cain Ackland can enjoy life in the VFL for the Ants, but I wouldn't bank on him playing against Gardiner :p

nicksblues2
3 Jul 2007, 20:52
jk really needs to be settled deep in the forward line and told not to venture and just keep presenting to force the midfielders to make the pass.

[ToTTi]
8 Jul 2007, 18:30
Thought JK was reasonable today... though I was pissed off that I didn't get to see him at full forward for 4 quarters with Fev out. Maybe that's just a silly pipe-dream.

bluesinsider
8 Jul 2007, 19:01
;8055062']Thought JK was reasonable today... though I was pissed off that I didn't get to see him at full forward for 4 quarters with Fev out. Maybe that's just a silly pipe-dream.

Yep I agree, 13 minutes of game time in the first half, comes on the second and makes an impact, kicks 2 goals takes 6 marks and provides a target, chaese hard, ran down 2 players.

Bluebear
8 Jul 2007, 19:09
Yep I agree, 13 minutes of game time in the first half, comes on the second and makes an impact, kicks 2 goals takes 6 marks and provides a target, chaese hard, ran down 2 players.
Really?
I had him down for 9 minutes in the first Q and 12 in the second...........not that I was watching.;)

The fact is even playing 9, 12, 19, and 32 minutes, he RAN OUT OF STEAM in the fourth Q, and after contesting at CHB (where the Dees kicked a goal) he was so stuffed he only made it back to the Members wing........where he contested the ball that came out and did quite well.

The FACT is (sorry to wreck a nice little "story") that he CAN"T run out all 4 quarters, and what he did he did quite well.
Maybe there is something to the fact that he has had 2 interrupted pre-seasons........:cool:

truebluenavyblues
16 Jul 2007, 13:04
I love this kid he's gonna be great just give him time.

Wish i'd have joined BF earlier to try and get him as my buddy.

no. 4
23 Jul 2007, 15:31
Was probably his best or second best game on the weekend (behind the Collingwood game last year). Was the quickest he moved and was able to find a bit of the ball. Unfortunately he is being played out of position coz we have no rucks. He will tie up the centre half position over the next two years.

matty lloyd the champ
30 Jul 2007, 17:24
is there any chance kennedy will come back.
Good player

Jeremias
30 Jul 2007, 17:29
is there any chance kennedy will come back.
Good player

Yes, there is a big chance that JK will be back.

He is out injured ATM, but will be back in 1-2 weeks IIRC.