View Full Version : 7. Adam Bentick

Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:14
This thread is to discuss Adam Bentick.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

AndyWalkersGirl
3rd March 2007, 09:03
Good work setting this up J.

Bentick is my boy for 2007. He's a tough, in and under type player and I feel he is often underrated by a few supporters because he is a quiet, hard worker. Played all of 2006 with a shoulder in jury, which ended his season early. From all reports, he has looked good on the track and Pagan is easing him back into his footy, with a game last week for the Bullants.

AndyWalkersGirl
3rd March 2007, 09:06
[/QUOTE]
Adam Bentick

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 40
Height: 184
Weight: 83
DOB: 1985-06-13

2006 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 20
Goals: 6
Marks: 88
Disposals: 336
Kicks: 179[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]Lifelong Blue learns to make most of his chances
By Melissa Ryan
August 17, 2005

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/08/16/sp_blue_1708_wideweb__430x310.jpg Adam Bentick has climbed from Carlton's rookie last year to this week earn a Rising Star nomination after a best-on-ground performance against Collingwood on Saturday.
Photo: Jason South

Adam Bentick is determined to make the most of his chances, having already understood the importance of hard work in overcoming life's hurdles.
Two years ago as an 18-year-old he captained the Calder Cannons to one of its many premierships, alongside teammates from then such as Eddie Betts, Jesse D. Smith and Nick Becker, all now with him at Carlton.
Bentick, in making a gracious victory speech — Calder Cannons regional manager Ross Monaghan had given him a few pointers about the niceties of the occasion, as he had prepared captains in other years "just in case we won" — caught the attention of Denis Pagan.
It would prove a help to the midfielder when he was passed over in the national draft, but rookie-listed by Carlton, which saw impressive qualities in the young footballer who was a lifelong Blues supporter.
Elevation to the senior list late last year was the next step, and last Saturday night against Collingwood, having rejoined the senior team in round 18 after a four-game stint this year, he pressed on with not squandering chances that turned his way.

He collected 34 possessions to be named best on ground and earn Carlton's second Rising Star nomination in three weeks, after Kade Simpson.
"Maybe some clubs thought he might not be quick enough but he's very powerful now and pace isn't an issue with him, and he's very strong at the footy," Pagan said.
"We're really pleased with how it turned out. We rookied him. He was captain of the Calder Cannons, and you look back at him, and his grand final speech, you knew he was a quality kid when we were looking at that.
"It really is about doing your apprenticeship, coming in, playing a few games, maybe coming up a bit short and going back and really taking VFL football by the scruff of the neck and really conquering that … Adam's come in this time and from the moment he came in he's grasped it better than he has the previous couple of times."
Last Saturday was only Bentick's 12th game, but it was the most comfortable he had felt at AFL level, surrounded by men such as Anthony Koutoufides and Scott Camporeale, who he had idolised as a youngster watching the Blues dominate the 1995 season and premiership.
Walking into the club to try for a rookie spot, and training with Koutoufides and Camporeale, or seeing Stephen Kernahan wandering the corridors, was just "an amazing feeling", and to learn from them was a privilege he did not take for granted.
"With the encouragement of guys like Nick (Stevens) and Kouta, they make you feel at home out there," Bentick said.
"You've certainly got to make the most of your opportunities. Some people get more than others, and if you don't grab your opportunity, that can be the end of you. Coming off the rookie list and being elevated to the senior list this year was a fantastic opportunity.
"I probably didn't make the most of it at the start of the year and it took me a while to break into the team.
"I played four games through the middle part of the year and I probably lacked a bit of confidence playing in the seniors and let an opportunity slip there as well. I'm just grateful for the chance I've been given by Denis and the match committee at this stage of the year, and I'm just trying to make the most of it."
With a young core of Blues taken late in the national draft, picked in the pre-season draft or rookie-listed now establishing themselves — including Andrew Carrazzo, Brad Fisher, Simpson, Chris Bryan, and Betts, the forward who Bentick and Pagan hope earns a Rising Star nomination in the next two weeks — Bentick hopes to help lift his club back to the glory he once watched from afar.
"There's a lot of tradition associated with this club, and growing up in the 90s, through my teenage years, and seeing the success of the '95 premiership and the greats who played through that era, it would certainly be something that I hope this group of players can bring the club back to that success," he said.[QUOTE]

AndyWalkersGirl
3rd March 2007, 09:36
Ratten, back home as an assistant to Denis Pagan, did his bit to maintain morale by endorsing disciplined midfielder Adam Bentick as the new owner of his No. 7 jumper.

The Blues acknowledged Bentick's emergence in 20 games last season by giving him a giant leap up the locker-room pecking order from No. 40.

"I knew Ratts had worn it and Wayne Johnston recently," Bentick said.

"Those two had worn it for around 25 years, so there's a lot of tradition surrounding that jumper at Carlton. There's certainly a little added pressure.

"But whether you're wearing 40 or seven, your role in the team doesn't change."

Coincidentally, Ratten wore No. 40 in his AFL debut against Fitzroy in the last round of 1990.

He took over Johnston's No. 7 jumper at the guernsey presentation two weeks before the next season.

The relentless on-baller wore No. 7 with distinction through another 253 games, winning the Blues' best-and-fairest three times. He also was a member of the 1995 premiership team.

Bentick, elevated from the 2004 rookie list, was Carlton's leading tackler last season as he took strides to become a regular senior player.

However the Christmas break is timely for the 21-year-old after he strained a hamstring this week.

"Adam is a quality kid the way he goes about his training," Ratten said.

"The games I've seen, his tackling and pressure around the midfield is outstanding.

"Some of the jobs on some of the elite players like Scott West -- he kept him to around 20 possessions which is pretty hard for anyone to do.

"Next year I'm going to see it first-hand."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,20974338%255E20322,00.html

Mentallo
10th March 2007, 22:07
Thought he played really well this evening.

douls
11th March 2007, 11:33
Great game from Bentick last night and is showing a lot of the promise many of you guys have had in him. A real in and under player and is slotting in nicely with Murph, Stevens and Co. an injury free year is vital this year to really see how our midfield can work together. Keep it up Bent's :thumbsu:

AndSmithMustScore
11th March 2007, 12:05
I really liked his game tonight, did some very nice things.

Hopfully Ratts can tutor him to develop into a prime extractor of the ball.

He's got the skills and bulk to do a Ratten like job.

Jeremias
11th March 2007, 13:00
One of our better players last night for sure.

Was excellent, his work in the packs is great. Tough as nails, never gives in.

Skills and pace were better than I thought, too.

AndyWalkersGirl
11th March 2007, 16:50
Played extremely well last night, and really kept us in the game during the 3rd quarter.

His pressure around the ground was brilliant, and his tackling was superb. Lost count of how many times he was on the bottom of a pack, or wrapped around one of the kangas players.

Very unselfish player, will always do the 1%ers and the team thing. We saw this last night, when he went for a run, and instead of going for goal, pinpointed a pass right into Fev's chest, laces out. Beautiful passage of play, somethign definately on his highlight reel from last night's game.

AndyWalkersGirl
11th March 2007, 18:16
7 kicks, 16 handballs. 23 mostly effective possessions last night.

AndyWalkersGirl
18th March 2007, 14:46
Nab Cup Final

Was a bit quiet last night, in terms of not setting teh Dome on fire. He was yet again our quieter achiever, he did a lot of little things, such as providing support, blocking players, all teh team things that he does week in week out. was pretty good in teh first quarter, layed some nice tackles.

Good to see him used as part of our midfield rotation, when he came on, he and Cloke worked well, and on more than one occassion, Bentick got the ball out of the centre and hit a teammate on teh chest up forward or on teh wing.

He's just so solid, and adds that extra dimension to our team. We have a bunch of good midfields coming through, with pace and skills, however Bentick gives a bit of grunt and is very good at the stoppages. I really think that with Kouta's pending retirement, Bentick will be one of our regulars over the next 5-10 years.

Bluebear
23rd March 2007, 10:26
Developing into a real stoppage and clearance specialist (like a former no.7). Appears to have taken another step this year.
The likes of Murph, Stevo, Simmo, Hoops, and Gibbs will really appreciate his in-and-under work, inmuch the same way Bradlles, Campo, Brown, Kouta fed off the suppluy of Mr Ratten.

Go you good thing.:thumbsu:

Its even better that most opposition supporters wouldn't have a clue who he is (excpet maybe Pies fans......"Oh what a night".....;) )

bluegal1983
23rd March 2007, 14:04
I honestly thought that Adam would struggle for a game this year but he has proven me wrong!!!

He has had a great preseason and is one of our gutsy players. Always on the bottom of the pack working hard and a real goer. The only thing I question is his speed but that is accomodated by other speedsters in our midfield. It's about time we had somebody who isn't scared to go in and get the ball!!!

He was given number 7 for a reason and I sure hope he has a great 07!

Djibril Cisse
24th March 2007, 14:13
I honestly thought that Adam would struggle for a game this year but he has proven me wrong!!!

He has had a great preseason and is one of our gutsy players. Always on the bottom of the pack working hard and a real goer. The only thing I question is his speed but that is accomodated by other speedsters in our midfield. It's about time we had somebody who isn't scared to go in and get the ball!!!

He was given number 7 for a reason and I sure hope he has a great 07!

Bentick is often under-rated by opposition supporters, and sometimes our own supporters (not having a go at you BG, but I'm glad you were man (woman) enough to admit you had made the mistake.

I think Bentick will always be in our best 22, because he is one of a select group of players that isn't afraid to go in and get the ball, like the Ratten/Bradley combination that was so good for so long, we now have the Bentick/Stevens or Murphy or Gibbs or Simpson combination which could be just as good.

Bentick improved a lot last season, and as was mentioned, he played most of it with a shoulder injury, now that he has that right, was eased back into football this season via the Bullants, but he's fit and firing and ready to go for Round 1.

I expect a big game from him in Round 1

AndyWalkersGirl
30th March 2007, 16:47
Bentick will cement his spot this year, don't worry about that :thumbsu:

Just as an aside, there is a lovely little article in the herald sun today, sport section.

Talking about a 7 year old boy taking his cousin to school for show and tell, because he was so proud that his cousin had won a footy grand final, albiet a summer one.

So, Adam Bentick obliged, went into school for show and tell and sat there with the kids with his medal around his neck.

I always gain/lose so much more respet for players when i hear about what kind of character they are off-field. In this case, glad to hear Bentick is a top guy. :)

[ToTTi]
2nd April 2007, 14:47
great game last night AB

:thumbsu:

Bronx Bomber
2nd April 2007, 14:54
Bentick will cement his spot this year, don't worry about that :thumbsu:

Just as an aside, there is a lovely little article in the herald sun today, sport section.

Talking about a 7 year old boy taking his cousin to school for show and tell, because he was so proud that his cousin had won a footy grand final, albiet a summer one.

So, Adam Bentick obliged, went into school for show and tell and sat there with the kids with his medal around his neck.

I always gain/lose so much more respet for players when i hear about what kind of character they are off-field. In this case, glad to hear Bentick is a top guy. :)

Very well said AWG. Great to here that he is a top bloke.

Bluebear
2nd April 2007, 15:29
Very well said AWG. Great to here that he is a top bloke.

Rapidly becoming one of my favourite Blues. Has taken another, more consistent step up thus far this year.:thumbsu:

go ratts......er... I mean AB :)

AndyWalkersGirl
2nd April 2007, 20:52
Great game last night by Adam.

Slotted in two handy goals when we needed them, and has really stepped up in the midfield in the past few games (Nab cup and Rn.1).

Looks like his confidence has grown, and he is more settled with his role within the team.

Let's hope it continues throughout the rest of his career with us.

And bluebear, perhaps you're right- wearing No.7 may just have added some extra inspiration, and now that his hero is helping coach the blues, i think he may have found the motivation need.

bluegal1983
9th April 2007, 00:32
Was Bentick ill last night? He only played half a game.

Jeremias
10th April 2007, 10:40
Was Bentick ill last night? He only played half a game.

Not sure, to be honest.

I hope his shoulder injury hasn't returned...

AndyWalkersGirl
14th April 2007, 19:22
Best tackler at our club, and fourth in the comp overrall thus far.

[ToTTi]
14th April 2007, 19:25
Was instrumental in getting us back into the game I thought, for a guy his size my god he's so strong!

Go AB!!!!

;)

Bluebear
14th April 2007, 20:43
Really ignited our hardness on the ball in the second half......great stuff.:thumbsu:

Will be one of those guys who rarely gets votes etc, parlty because you often don't see who it was that squeezed out that handpass while being tackled by 3-4 guys.

big_bad_blue
15th April 2007, 09:49
Really ignited our hardness on the ball in the second half......great stuff.:thumbsu:

Will be one of those guys who rarely gets votes etc, parlty because you often don't see who it was that squeezed out that handpass while being tackled by 3-4 guys.

I think that your right he will not get the recognition for the next few years but i can see him developing into an absolute ball magnet that the opposition will look to tag (later on in his career).

He is doing the hard yards now and good on him

Bluebear
15th April 2007, 11:33
I think that your right he will not get the recognition for the next few years but i can see him developing into an absolute ball magnet that the opposition will look to tag (later on in his career).

He is doing the hard yards now and good on him
I took Ratten nearly 5-6 years of that in and under work to be noticed (outisde the club.....and to some extent inside).

Adam just needs that consistency in his game now..........Pagan gave him HUGE wraps in the press conference too.

ClayBlue87
15th April 2007, 16:41
I think that he is easily the best tackler in the club. I also recal that when he first came to Carlton, one of the senior players, i think kouta, tried to hip and shulder him and he didnt budge. The guy is solid. Looking great for in&under prospects.

So we have a solid built
in & under player
good tackler
wears #7

Brett Ratten?

one_twelve112
16th April 2007, 12:28
Has certainly exceeded my expectations of him in 07. I really thought he would struggle with the emergance of some midfield depth players (Russell, Simpson, Walker, Stevo, Lappin, Scotland, Houlihan, Carrazzo - all starting at times in the middle now). Invariably gets his hands on the ball at stoppages and looks like being a crucial player for some years to come. I believe himself and Blackers are competing for the same spot in the Blues team, I have Bentick well ahead ATM.

ClayBlue87
16th April 2007, 17:38
Saw a nice stat in the Hun today for AB. Out of his 14 disposals 7 were goal assists. Very underated

AndyWalkersGirl
28th April 2007, 12:19
Saw a nice stat in the Hun today for AB. Out of his 14 disposals 7 were goal assists. Very underated

He is one of the main reasons, other than Fev, as to why we were able to come back and beat the Bombers.

Top effort by Bentick! He and Fev were the only two players singled out by Pagan in the match conference IIRC.

AndyWalkersGirl
28th April 2007, 12:20
Anyone know how he played against West Coast? Didn't have access to the game.

Looking forward to a big game from him tonight - another 6 or 7 goal assists! :)

I think his kicking has really improved - he is hitting targets lace out, and while his tackling remains very good, so too does his work ethic around the ground.

TheGeneral
29th April 2007, 23:25
A bit slow last night and he was caught alot, but he was matched up on a good opponent in Black who had a great game.

16 disposals - 9 kicks, 1 mark, 6 inside 50, 6 tackles, 3 FF, 4 FA, 4 first disposals, 3 clearances.

AndyWalkersGirl
6th May 2007, 17:53
was quiet on Friday night against the Saints. Ended up on the bench.

Rumours are that he injured himself against Brisbane, and it got worse during teh Saints game, hence him seeing out the game on the bench.

Hopefully it's not the shoulder again :( He was just starting to find some great form, and to prove to be a real ball winner for us.

AndyWalkersGirl
27th May 2007, 22:02
Another solid game from Adam last night.

He had 11 tackles. yes, that's correct, 11. He was the only player in both teams to reach double figures, and the average tackles for the rest of our team was around 4.

Just shows how much hard work he does.

Quiet achiever, team work, in the shadows of other players, and that's how i like it :thumbsu: :cool:

Aussie Joe
10th August 2007, 14:15
I believe himself and Blackers are competing for the same spot in the Blues team, I have Bentick well ahead ATM.

How times have changed!

Five
24th March 2008, 13:57
Adam is my man for 2008 and I am privileged to be reporting on a tuff nut with a big heart. We missed his tackling and 'in and under' play last Thursday but going on HBF's report from the Bullants practise match
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=424305&page=2
the selectors should rectify that for St.Kilda.

For anyone not familiar with Adam's building resume, rather than me attempt an inferior version go to
http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=Adam+Bentick

Five
31st March 2008, 20:25
AB is knock-knock-knocking on the door - in the best for the Bullants and with our team rated last for tackles, you would think he could be a very useful addition to our onball rotations. Regardless he will keep giving his all and be in peak condition when they open the door.

:rolleyes:

Five
31st March 2008, 20:47
Then again according to MelbDave it may not have been that great a performance

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=427353&page=3

Five
10th April 2008, 21:02
Well we may be in - probably Adam or Browney. Sorry for no post after last week's Bullants as I did not know whether to believe some of the claims of 40 possessions after AB did not get named in the best. :)

Five
13th April 2008, 02:43
Bentick probably BOG. (Most possessions)
Bullants v Collingwood April 12

I'm starting to wonder what more AB has to do to force his way into the senior team. Guess he just has to stay in the form he's in, and he'll eventually get his chance.

AB did not get the nod but he's no longer knocking on the door - he is Hammering on the door

Five
16th April 2008, 22:20
Round 3 SCORES
Northern Bullants (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=8079555&c=1-118-0-67835-0) 20.8-128 def. Collingwood (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=8069633&c=1-118-0-67835-0) 12.5-77
Northern Bullants Goal Kickers: P. Colbert 5, J. Edwards 4, A. Hartlett 4, A. Iacobucci 2, J. Saddington, A. Bentick, R. Jackson, A. O''hAilpin, A. Joseph
Best Players: P. Colbert, D. Armfield, J. Saddington, A. Bentick, A. Iacobucci, M. Austin

Of course

Jeremias
17th April 2008, 11:13
Gotta feel for AB.

Constantly performing for the Ants but just can't get a look in for the Blues ATM.

Our new midfield has strengthened the side a hell of a lot but it is severely restricting him.

Still a very valuable player to have on the list for depth and he'll be first cab off the rank if the likes of Judd, Hadley are out of the side.

Five
21st April 2008, 22:28
AB got a game and although it may not have been an 'in your face' performance, it was respectable
He was used very sparingly - only 44% game time and yet he had 11 disposals 100% Effective and included 3 clearances.
Double his stats to compare with all those who had double the time on the ground and his performance stacks up nicely
I am a realist - with Gibbsy back, he will be lucky to hold his bench posie but he is a chance :)

LondonCalling
21st April 2008, 23:50
AB got a game and although it may not have been an 'in your face' performance, it was respectable
He was used very sparingly - only 44% game time and yet he had 11 disposals 100% Effective and included 3 clearances.
Double his stats to compare with all those who had double the time on the ground and his performance stacks up nicely
I am a realist - with Gibbsy back, he will be lucky to hold his bench posie but he is a chance :)

It was the other things that disappointed me.

The broken tackles. The lack of want to run at full pace, instead of jogging to contests. No second efforts.

He seems a bit disillusioned under Ratts.

Five
24th April 2008, 23:14
The selection panel seem to be saying that 'we will give you about half a game but to hold your spot you will need to get more than a dozen effective disposal'
- HARD TO KEEP YOUR SPOT (for some)
:confused:

Five
28th April 2008, 00:46
Late call up and pretty much given the big job on Thompson. I watched the whole game again just focusing on AB and him.

Stats 10k 10h 11tackles 3centre clearances 78%TOG
They don't really tell the story - the tackles are a bit of an exaggeration but over half were important, the supposed 75% effectiveness was more like 90% and the stats do not show the number of times AB forced a ball up.

Q.1 Did little but kept Thompson in check (possies 3-5)

Q.2 AB started with the first clearance and worked hard throughout with his last possie setting up a goal. Thompson may have had more possn's again but AB was a real work-horse and definitely won the quarter.

Q.3 Started in same manner as last but was rested and this was when Adelaide got their run on and Thompson most of his possies, including 3 in 10secs. Came back on and set up Stevo's boundary goal.

Q.4 Adam's biggest possie quarter (9) but it was his hard work again which included 3 BIG tackles

Overall a good game and would say Adam at least shared the honours with Thompson. This was a fair achievement when you consider Thompson was leading possession winner on the ground (and did not waste it as much as he usually does) I will call it a draw because I am probably biased but the few extra handball Thompson out-statted AB by are more than balanced out by Adam's tackles (worth far more than an over-used Adelaide handpass, in all the rating systems) plus there were all the times Adam forced a bounce with a tug of war - something that does not seem to show up in any of the stat's systems.

Five
4th May 2008, 19:42
Have been doing a bit of spruiking for AB on main board but here is my report:

A great game from Adam, with Juddy, got in and under to make sure we defeated WCE after they put us to the test.

It was however a 4Q effort as he evenly gathered 20 disposals 5k 15h and led tackles with 11 and clearances with 6. Half of his disposals were contested ball and Adam was continually on the bottom of the pack, copping heaps but always getting under the next one.

Pity we cant educate the fools who dont understand the importance of this. I watched the replay with an eye for Adam (and for Setanta, after saying I would, as I had to be convinced the Irishman had played well) and I think if the knockers did the same, they would gain a whole new appreciation of what the little fella does.

He would have liked to ice his game with the goal that was his for the taking - next time :)

Bluebear
5th May 2008, 17:35
It was a great game from Adam. Is there room for he and Hadley in the same team?

Five
5th May 2008, 21:04
It was a great game from Adam. Is there room for he and Hadley in the same team?
Sure - we can always use two hard nuts provided they are in form and while AB may not be that versatile, I think Hadley is.
Interesting to note in the Carlton feature article in today's Herald Sun that when Riley was giving the midfield their pre-address, he was talking to 15 players.

Five
19th May 2008, 02:23
Despite all the baggers being out after a loss AB had a reasonable game.

6K 14H (85% EFF) 6ConP 4Clear 8T (I am sure I counted 9) 1Clanger with only 68%TOG

He laid most of his tackles in the first quarter and this had plenty to do with Black's EFF% being only 64%. In the first Q Black had a scrappy 12 possn's (Black's last Q was much better and why I think he edged out some others for the BOG, he had 6Clangers by the way)
He was not on Black for the whole quarter (rested). Ch10 listed AB as being on Black for 33min in total, during which time Black had 7 to AB's 5 possies

AB continues to get in and under and due to our woeful ruck is spending more time tackling and preventing clearances than receiving taps and making clearances. I feel his game compliments Judd's in some way as Juddy is often on the end of AB's handball - including his goal today (AB's 2nd assist for the day)

I know he is not going to get any faster but I hope with some 'Diesel' input AB will get even smarter AND he will always get dirty for us :thumbsu:

Five
27th May 2008, 22:54
v Fremantle 24/5/08

AB was in, if not, our Best

31 possies
10 contested
87% eff

10 kicks
21 hball

7 clearances
5 tackles
2 goal assists

All in only 76% TOG

AB was given the job on their rising star Palmer and while limiting him to 20 possns (less on AB as Palmer played 84%) it was a real drubbing as Palmer never hurt us at all.

Whether he was following instructions or just the fact that AB figured he was only a kid (probably both) he seemed to go for the ball more rather than be hell-bent on negating. Things may have been simplified by the fact that the team seemed to be under instructions to pretty much rove to Sandilands.

With the great man coaching him AB can play a Diesel type role for our team. AB's smarts have to counter his lack of pace and I am under no illusion that AB has to be at the top of his game and play close to this level most weeks to cement a place in this team.

He is our gutsy in and under player who never ever worries about his safety, whose role is to give it out to others

Great Game :thumbsu:

blues4flag
27th May 2008, 23:10
Was voted equal BOG by the coaches. :thumbsu:

chelseacarlton
27th May 2008, 23:13
i watched the game again on foxtel today and really took note of how hard this kid attacks the ball.he is one tough nut and his speed and accuracy by hand comes very close to diesels,but he is generally at the bottom of the pack when doing so
it was an absolute blinder of a game by AB
not sure the coaching staff could find a reason to demote him to find a place for hadley,and believe there is a place for both rotating off the bench
someone has to miss out i know.with the likes of wiggins,pfieffer,russell,grigg,browne etal filling simialar roles,we are in a position of actually finally having a bit of depth and having players earn a place in the cfc jumper.
a great place to be in imo
:):thumbsu:

Five
3rd June 2008, 02:28
v Geelong 31/5/08

AB was once again a goer

23 possies
6 contested
74% eff

10 kicks
13 hball

8 tackles
4 clearances
5 inside 50

85% TOG

BUT this week he had 4 clangers
You would not think that should spoil these stats but it does

TRUTH TIME
Geelong does not have one slow midfielder which necessitates AB taking their least damaging (this was mostly Byrnes in the first half) and hurting them more than his opponent. In order for AB to do this - not only does he have to be at the top of his game but he also needs Murph and Stevo to finish off his bullocking work, thus making him look good.

I love the kids guts. One time the commentators, wondering why he did not get a free for a high tackle, mentioned he got stomped on the head for good measure - he did not even rub his head
BUT in order to keep his spot he has to play at near Diesel level every week (even Diesel might be getting hurt going the other way nowadays!)

Bluebear
3rd June 2008, 17:19
I love the kids guts. One time the commentators, wondering why he did not get a free for a high tackle, mentioned he got stomped on the head for good measure - he did not even rub his head
BUT in order to keep his spot he has to play at near Diesel level every week (even Diesel might be getting hurt going the other way nowadays!)
Nice write up Five.

Diesel was slow for his time, but it didn't really matter as most of the time his disposal hit its target, as did the next couple. You rarely get burned going the other way when this happens. Benticks problem, along with many of our "unaccountable mids" is that his disposal is o.k. so we run forward to support (part of our game plan - as it is for most teams) which generally puts you a metre or two ahead of your direct opponent at a minimum.
When the turnover comes you find yourself between your man and the guy that just won the footy, and we are all now on the defensive side of our opponents, looking slow, and getting carved up.

Five
3rd June 2008, 20:23
Nice write up Five.

Diesel was slow for his time, but it didn't really matter as most of the time his disposal hit its target, as did the next couple. You rarely get burned going the other way when this happens. Benticks problem, along with many of our "unaccountable mids" is that his disposal is o.k. so we run forward to support (part of our game plan - as it is for most teams) which generally puts you a metre or two ahead of your direct opponent at a minimum.
When the turnover comes you find yourself between your man and the guy that just won the footy, and we are all now on the defensive side of our opponents, looking slow, and getting carved up.

Spot on. The experienced units turn it over less and we will get there but oh to have exhilirating pace - it is like a Get Out of Gaol Free card, when things go wrong

Bluebear
3rd June 2008, 20:28
Spot on. The experienced units turn it over less and we will get there but oh to have exhilirating pace - it is like a Get Out of Gaol Free card, when things go wrong
True......but just look at the Dons to see what "Pace without skill" does to you...........it just means that you are so much further away from your man when you turn it over.:thumbsu:

Five
3rd June 2008, 21:37
True......but just look at the Dons to see what "Pace without skill" does to you...........it just means that you are so much further away from your man when you turn it over.:thumbsu:

lol :D

Five
9th June 2008, 21:29
v Port 8/6/08

AB in the best again, he has been very consistent - he is so dam honest

25 possies
10 contested
76% eff

9 kicks
16 hball

5 tackles
5 clearances

Only 70% TOG

The conditions suited AB and his cleanness impressed many

Did not play much of last Q - had no possies but did a couple of things
Would not be surprised if he was somewhat spent as he worked his butt off to man up when they had possession and once we started the last Q run on, Ratts would have been minimizing the changes.

This shorter TOG may suit AB as his best game of the year v Freo was with 76% - it may be a tactic we are trialling ie AB run harder as with our midfield depth in all likelihood you will only be playing 3/4.

I do however hope that we manage to have either AB or Juddy on the ground all the time as they are our main in and under men at present

Bluebear
10th June 2008, 17:18
This would have to be close to AB's best run in terms of form with the club.

I hope he works a lot on his pace and skills over the summer as he did last PS.

Staaar_Blue
10th June 2008, 19:55
This bloke is a gem. His fitness levels have improved and his disposal by foot looks to have improved. The best thing about this bloke is the quality of his disposal when it is contested and under pressure. He has shown a level of class when disposing of the ball in close to put him up there with some elite players in close.

Five
15th June 2008, 23:05
Found this on a thread in defence of AB and just had to post it here

I will update it when I do this week's report

Bentick is an absolute superstar! Was pivotal to us in the last quarter, have u seen people try and tackle him? They just can't, he's so friggin strong. 3 or 4 times in the last he shook of 2 or 3 tacklers then dished it out to our players for goals or clearances..

Heres some AFL averages stats for Adam

Handballs- ranked 10th in AFL at 14 pg
Tackles- ranked 7th in AFL at 7.1 pg (was first be4 this game)
Clearances- ranked 21st in AFL at 4 pg
1st Possesions- ranked 12th in AFL at 5.7 pg
Contested Possesions- ranked 2nd in AFL at 5.3 pg (ahead of Judd)
1%ers- ranked 30th in AFL at 5.6 pg (behind Jamison and Waite)

Now remember these are AFL rankings, what a superstar!
Lebron James ####23!!!

Five
19th June 2008, 00:22
v Collywobbles 15/6//08

AB played another serviceable game

19 possies
9 contested
68% eff

9 kicks
10 hball

3 tackles
5 clearances

only 70% TOG

3 stand out Clangers took a little gloss off his game but credited with 2 goal assists (I thought I saw more) so this balanced out the ledger somewhat

AB and Juddy continued to work well together but Murph would be considered by most to be the midfield star on the day

AB is clearly running fit now and apart from his strength in the packs, you now see him running into space to provide an option

I will update AB's rankings posted in the previous post when I clear up what seems to be a mistake in the latest clearance rankings :)

Bluebear
19th June 2008, 11:25
Ranked 1st in the AFL with 6.5 tackles per game.

Has been a big factor in our increased midfield pressure.

A credit to a guy that was under the pump at the start of the year, and Ratts, giving him his old number, clearly sees the quality of AB.:thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
19th June 2008, 18:13
A credit to a guy that was under the pump at the start of the year, and Ratts, giving him his old number, clearly sees the quality of AB.:thumbsu:

I'm 99% sure that Pagan gave him #7.

Big fan though.

Blue Dimension
19th June 2008, 18:29
I'm 99% sure that Pagan gave him #7.

Big fan though.

Ratten's number - he passed it on. Bentick was originally 40.

Five
19th June 2008, 23:41
Ranked 1st in the AFL with 6.5 tackles per game.

Has been a big factor in our increased midfield pressure.

A credit to a guy that was under the pump at the start of the year, and Ratts, giving himis old number, clearly sees the quality of AB.:thumbsu:

You are probably right there BB but I think Lebron got his rankings from Pro Stats (?) as they give clearance stats, so this week I will update his post using Pro Stats data (although Clearances is the one I can't understand for AB as he improved on his av this week but is nowhere to be found in the category this week - they have Stevo roughly where Lebron said AB was)

Pro-Stats Rankings for AB after Rnd 12:

Handballs- ranked 14th in AFL at 13.5 pg
Tackles- ranked 9th in AFL at 6.6 pg (Kirk, Al Davey, Burns, Ball, Cassisi, Hayes, J Bolton, Cross all ahead!?)
Clearances- not ranked and yet Herald Sun figures are 4.6 pg = to 7th
1st Possesions- ranked 16th in AFL at 5.4 pg
Contested Possesions- ranked 4th in AFL at 5.4 pg (Black, Judd, Ablett)
1%ers- ranked 50th in AFL at 5.1 pg

The discrepancy in stats is unbelievable eg Tackles
- while both Pro and Footywire agree on AB av 6.5/6.6 one has him first the other 9th
- Al Davey is 2nd on Pro av 7.4 but 24th Footywire av 4.6 (!!!!!)

:)

Murph is baby Judd
20th June 2008, 05:47
bents has come a long way since last year
absolutely cemented his spot in the starting 18 and the club now consideres him as one of our most important players, and i dont blame them.

Bluebear
20th June 2008, 11:44
The discrepancy in stats is unbelievable eg Tackles
- while both Pro and Footywire agree on AB av 6.5/6.6 one has him first the other 9th
- Al Davey is 2nd on Pro av 7.4 but 24th Footywire av 4.6 (!!!!!)

:)

Footywire was my source. Have never really had much confidence in it.:D

Ben the Gooner
23rd June 2008, 20:13
Ratten's number - he passed it on. Bentick was originally 40.

I know Bentick was originally 40, but he's been 7 since before the start of the year right?

I read your post as Ratten, as coach, made the decision to give it to him, but you obviously meant differently.

Bluebear
23rd June 2008, 22:04
Given Judd was clearly compromised on Sunday, I was VERY disappointed with Adams game.

With Hille dominating and Judd effectively out it was not a good day for him to go MIA.

Five
23rd June 2008, 22:55
Given Judd was clearly compromised on Sunday, I was VERY disappointed with Adams game.

With Hille dominating and Judd effectively out it was not a good day for him to go MIA.
I have not reviewed the game yet but there were a couple of things that I thought strange which I will elaborate on after watching it again
- AB (whose first 10min has been xlnt lately) started on the bench
- he only had 50% game time (Judd was on the gnd inj/concussed)
- AB's only kick goes to Fev for a goal and he was immediatley benched, if we are trying to get him into game Y? (preset rotations suck!)

I am going to watch the tape now mate, I did notice he still managed 5 tackles and his measly 6 possies were at least 100% eff

We do not even know if there was an injury cloud over him (doubt it but who knows)

The Hille domination was OUTSTANDING

bluejudd
23rd June 2008, 23:36
I have not reviewed the game yet but there were a couple of things that I thought strange which I will elaborate on after watching it again
- AB (whose first 10min has been xlnt lately) started on the bench
- he only had 50% game time (Judd was on the gnd inj/concussed)
- AB's only kick goes to Fev for a goal and he was immediatley benched, if we are trying to get him into game Y? (preset rotations suck!)

I am going to watch the tape now mate, I did notice he still managed 5 tackles and his measly 6 possies were at least 100% eff

We do not even know if there was an injury cloud over him (doubt it but who knows)

AH the joys in having a very good ruckman.....please Hampson and Kreuze develop...please!!!

Bluebear
24th June 2008, 18:00

Ratts definately changed the midfield structure this week, before Judd was injured.
Gibbs started in the C Sq the first three Q's.

Maybe he just wants everyone to move through there a bit more.......but 50% game time sounds odd.........injury?
Maybe.:confused:

Five
25th June 2008, 01:22
v Bumbers 22/6/08

Minimal impact

6 possies
4 contested
100% eff

1 kick
5 hball

2 clearances
5 tackles

only 50% TOG (least for team)

Minimal impact as I said but if I don't make excuses for him who will LOL

- strangely started on bench (when he has been so good early of late?)
Only played 8min of Q1 and laid all his 5 tackles (but no possies)
- 2nd Q came on 7min in again, played on Watson and for the 10min AB was on, they both had 4 possies
- 3rd Q started on gnd, about the 8min mark of Q he had his only kick for the day, a beautiful 45+m pass to set up Fev gl but was immediately benched (as I have said before, set rotations don't always add up)
- 4th Q came on 4 min in and played the 8 min where we looked good but did not have a possie himself. Did get first touch at 2 bounces and 1 throw in before being sacked each time. Went off when they got back in front and did not get back on until it was all over.

He did not appear to be injured at all and although he was not on fire, he did show a flicker or two however the coach did not believe it was his day

I expect him to bounce back against the Tiggers and hope he is in at the first bounce

Bluebear
25th June 2008, 08:38
Maybe his job was to shut down Watson rather than go head to head.........seems odd though.:confused:

sweet17
30th June 2008, 15:53
v Bumbers 23/6/08

Minimal impact

6 possies
4 contested
100% eff

1 kick
5 hball

2 clearances
5 tackles

only 50% TOG (least for team)

Minimal impact as I said but if I don't make excuses for him who will LOL

- strangely started on bench (when he has been so good early of late?)
Only played 8min of Q1 and laid all his 5 tackles (but no possies)
- 2nd Q came on 7min in again, played on Watson and for the 10min AB was on, they both had 4 possies
- 3rd Q started on gnd, about the 8min mark of Q he had his only kick for the day, a beautiful 45+m pass to set up Fev gl but was immediately benched (as I have said before, set rotations don't always add up)
- 4th Q came on 4 min in and played the 8 min where we looked good but did not have a possie himself. Did get first touch at 2 bounces and 1 throw in before being sacked each time. Went off when they got back in front and did not get back on until it was all over.

He did not appear to be injured at all and although he was not on fire, he did show a flicker or two however the coach did not believe it was his day

I expect him to bounce back against the Tiggers and hope he is in at the first bounce

Great stats 5.

WTF is with it keeping him off then saying you're disappointed in his game(the coach I mean)? Our best clearence player was living in fairyland so we take our second best off for extended periods:confused:.

Anyway, another good game this week. Must be top 5 of the JN medal so far.

Five
6th July 2008, 19:15
v Tiggers 28/6/08

AB bounced back in a BIG way

25 possies
8 contested
68% eff

9 kicks
16 hball

7 inside 50's
5 clearances
3 tackles

74% TOG

In Juddy's absence the coach threw AB the challenge and he was more than up to it.
He spent most of the time on Tuck - who also got his share of ball, but AB set up so much play he was awesome!

His second half was exceptional - especially the 3rdQ. Hope Fish bought him a beer after the game as he continually supplied him with ball today.
Don't know what the criteria for %eff is, as in the hurley burley of the engine room I couldn't really fault his efforts today.

No goals as yet but I think he may be due :) (mind you he does not venture into forward 50 very often - instructions?). Only credited with 1 direct assist but this figure would have been much higher if his recipients had been more accurate but it was the passages that he started that made this one of AB's best games :thumbsu:

Five
12th July 2008, 22:11
v Saints 11/7/08

Faded out of game

11 possies
6 contested
73% eff

6 kicks
5 hball

3 clearances
3 tackles

62% TOG

10 possies at half time only 1 in second half
He had 4 clangers but 3 of these were disgusting free kicks against him

I much prefer AB to be given free reign at CBs as getting first touch or laying first tackle is what he is in the team for - too often in this game he seemed to be charged with stopping Ball or some other Saint

Their ruck dominance was awesome but that should not be the end of the story if he backs his reading ability - was BOG roving to Sandilands. He was his usual hard self - it is just that he got little away and tended to be the tackled (getting in there obviously) rather than the tackler

I think we will need AB's hardness v Swans and once again I expect him to bounce back

LOL if adv is paid he would have kicked a goal!

Bluebear
12th July 2008, 23:24
I wonder if his interrupted pre-season is starting to catch up with him?

Had a real good purple patch, but was out of position too often in the centre allowing Hayes clear passage, when we were always going to loose the hitouts, and seemed to get caught a lot last night.

Djibril Cisse
13th July 2008, 03:44
You're right bluebear, I don't know what it was against St. Kilda, but he was always out of position, Hayes hurt us all night, Bentick did a few good things, but wasn't his usual self, despite Juddy having 30 touches, we didn't enjoy a good night for centre clearances and we needed AB to help stem the flow a bit, was poor in my opinion

Bluebear
13th July 2008, 11:28
You're right bluebear, I don't know what it was against St. Kilda, but he was always out of position, Hayes hurt us all night, Bentick did a few good things, but wasn't his usual self, despite Juddy having 30 touches, we didn't enjoy a good night for centre clearances and we needed AB to help stem the flow a bit, was poor in my opinion

To be fair, Hayes wasn't his direct opponent all night, but there was two clear cases where Bentick was outpositioned.

You'd think, knowing we will lose the tap vs King, that we would set up goal side of our opponents.:confused:

Djibril Cisse
13th July 2008, 12:02
To be fair, Hayes wasn't his direct opponent all night, but there was two clear cases where Bentick was outpositioned.

You'd think, knowing we will lose the tap vs King, that we would set up goal side of our opponents.:confused:

Maybe Ratts thought that's where we'd win the taps against King, rather than against Kosi out-jumping Kreuzer or Cloke.

The general idea may have been to nullify them and create a contest at ground level and back our guys to win the hard ball, however, King won quite a few easy hit outs and was free to put them wherever he pleased, and Bentick wasn't anywhere near the drop of the ball

Five
13th July 2008, 12:25
I still think he would be better intsructed to back his judgement - minding an opponent he is only going to be tackling - not clearing

Five
26th July 2008, 23:13
v Swans 20/7/08

Last Q was it

14 possies
3 contested
71% eff

7 Kicks
7 Hball

4 inside 50's
1 clearance
3 tackles

Only 52% TOG

AB's centre bounce game was not there today and when he became a bounce tagger there was not going to be any clearances coming from him - with Juddy being well held (except for the 2ndQ) and Stevo having a shocker, it is amazing to think we could have won it

AB had a purple patch when he came on with 12min to go in the last raking up 8 possies. It made his stats tally look ok for having played only half a game. He was no longer on Bolton and he played with freedom - I thought this may have won him another week but it was not to be so

Unfortunately there is no Bullants game for him either :(

Bluebear
27th July 2008, 15:55
Was very disappointed that twice he was the player running past to play on from a mark at HB. One of these he took the ball when Judd was about to run onto it.

Both kicks he sprayed.

He should know his level, block for Judd and NOT be the guy pinpointing a 40m pass up the ground.

As you said, amazing we were so close with these three having off days.

Five
28th July 2008, 22:14
v Dogs 27/7/08

No clangers this week

Sorry AB :o

Five
25th August 2008, 00:51
v Lions 23/8/08

I loved his game

10 possies
5 contested
60% eff

5 kicks
5 hball

2 inside 50's
3 clearances
10 tackles

only 56% TOG

His possie stats are probably the lowest he has had but I will tell you why I loved his game - the things that aren't necessarily in the stats

Every time he came on he did something in the first minute on and his best patch was probably at the start of the last

His 10 tackles generally put the man on the ground and out of the contest

Twice he was totally robbed of a free when he wrapped them up and they did not dispose of the ball correctly. This is not counting when he came on early in 3rd and nabbed Charman at bounce but the kick was incorrectly given to Hammo. He was also robbed of another stat when his back was ridden into the ground but as usual no Free however the Non Stat you have to look hard to see was with 5 min to go in the 2nd - he got a hand in when they had all but got the centre clearance and thanks to that we were away.

Juddy may get the assist for Walks goal in the 3rd but it was AB's dumping of Black that set it up
His 10 tackles was = Highest for round (tied with Mattner who had 94%TOG)

I think AB is the fittest he has been - there was a chase late in the third where he came from nowhere (it was really Juddy's chase) and made good ground and maybe contributed to the missed goal

We know his kicking still needs work - he did a bit of a floater to a contest in the 1st and there was not too much wrong with the execution of his kick to Walks in the Last but it would seem he did not see Brennan sweating on it.

I don't know whether he is going to make it but he has something that not many in our team have and I really believe if Ratts or Diesel made him their special project the improvement and confidence it would produce may reap huge long-term benefits for Carlton.

On the other hand, if we secure Kerr, I think we owe it to AB to trade him and give him a chance elsewhere

Five
1st September 2008, 20:15
I will keep it brief as there are very few supporters who appreciate AB

v Hawks 30/8/08

ONLY 51% TOG

18 possies
7 contested
83% eff

4 clearances
4 tackles

Before posting I suggest the knockers double the above in order to get the gist of how well he is doing off the bench

Bluebear
2nd September 2008, 10:40
I will keep it brief as there are very few supporters who appreciate AB

v Hawks 30/8/08

ONLY 51% TOG

18 possies
7 contested
83% eff

4 clearances
4 tackles

Before posting I suggest the knockers double the above in order to get the gist of how well he is doing off the bench

You know I'm a rap for AB Five, but he along with Stevo were seriously exposed for leg speed (yes, they weren't alone).
Benticks man, Lewis at times, then others, would run forward at will when the hawks had the footy.

Needs to do loads of sprint work this pre-season, try and pick up a yard.:thumbsu:

Most sides won't hurt us that way, but the Bombers do, and the Roos and Hawks do. It needs to be fixed. I hope AB will be part of the solution.

Five
2nd September 2008, 19:57
You know I'm a rap for AB Five, but he along with Stevo were seriously exposed for leg speed (yes, they weren't alone).
Benticks man, Lewis at times, then others, would run forward at will when the hawks had the footy.

Needs to do loads of sprint work this pre-season, try and pick up a yard.:thumbsu:

Most sides won't hurt us that way, but the Bombers do, and the Roos and Hawks do. It needs to be fixed. I hope AB will be part of the solution.

Not totally fair bb (not denying AB lacks leg speed, mind you) as AB was not on Lewis in 1st Q when Lewis got his 13 possies (I think it was mediumsizered who praised AB for putting the brakes on Lewis in 2ndQ)

We cant blame AB for Lewis and co running free as he played less game than anybody and was surely only ever responsible for one man at a time (if any :eek: as like the rest of our mids - nobody seemed to take any responsibility for anyone in what seemed to be a pre-arranged shootout)

Once again the way their rucks dominated at times made it a surreal game - esp the way they cleared it in the last.

The future is a big ask for AB - he has to be Deisel like and hurt them more than they hurt him/us :confused:

carves
2nd September 2008, 20:43
Must stay on our list.
i really like what he does... he may not be a massive ball getter, but thats mostly due to his limited game time.
i love his tackling and clearance work as well as his off the ball stuff.
he will always be underated

Bluebear
2nd September 2008, 21:05
Not totally fair bb (not denying AB lacks leg speed, mind you) as AB was not on Lewis in 1st Q when Lewis got his 13 possies (I think it was mediumsizered who praised AB for putting the brakes on Lewis in 2ndQ)

The future is a big ask for AB - he has to be Deisel like and hurt them more than they hurt him/us :confused:
Fair enough. Had trouble spotting who was on Lewis TBH, saw Bentick at times and assumed he was the culprit.