View Full Version : 19. Eddie Betts

Pages : [1] 2

Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:24
This thread is to discuss Eddie Betts.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

douls
11th March 2007, 09:35
Howdy all, Eddie Betts is my chosen buddy and i invite all to post on this thread.

Well what a game by Eddie last night. He was everywhere. Best four quarter game i have seen him play. Was good to see he has improved his fitness levels and had periods where he was on the ball and didn't look out of place and was also very lively on the forward line. Took a few nice marks and has a very good kick for goal. He has an amazing ability to get a to a contested situation and dive on the ground and knock the ball to our advantage but just as quickly regain his footing and assist in the clearance. I think it will be a huge plus for the Carlton Football Club if at certain times in games Betts can be injected into the midfield for a five minute burst. Her never stops trying and lets hope he continues to show improvement as he did last night

The Grover
14th March 2007, 12:56
Howdy all, Eddie Betts is my chosen buddy and i invite all to post on this thread.

Well what a game by Eddie last night. He was everywhere. Best four quarter game i have seen him play. Was good to see he has improved his fitness levels and had periods where he was on the ball and didn't look out of place and was also very lively on the forward line. Took a few nice marks and has a very good kick for goal. He has an amazing ability to get a to a contested situation and dive on the ground and knock the ball to our advantage but just as quickly regain his footing and assist in the clearance. I think it will be a huge plus for the Carlton Football Club if at certain times in games Betts can be injected into the midfield for a five minute burst. Her never stops trying and lets hope he continues to show improvement as he did last night

Douls you beat me to it.

That was the best game I have seen him play, what impressed me was his leading & marking further up the ground.

Just gives him more strings to his bow, we know his tackling & kicking for goal are first rate if you combine that with some midfield action & fast leads up to half forward, Little Eddie can become a gun for us.

AndyWalkersGirl
2nd April 2007, 20:53
8 tackles last night by our smallest forward...

talk about attacking pressure :)

What a great little attitude.:thumbsu:

Muji
4th April 2007, 16:07
Very good work rate there 8 tackles is fantastic by eddie.

Djibril Cisse
5th April 2007, 16:34
Eddie is a gun, where would we be without his pressure on the forward line

AndyWalkersGirl
6th April 2007, 10:59
Eddie is a gun, where would we be without his pressure on the forward line

Exactly. More players need to attack like Eddie :)

Bluebear
8th April 2007, 14:56
Eddie is the barometer, when he started missingf tackles last night I knew we were in trouble.

douls
10th April 2007, 13:21
Eddie is the barometer, when he started missingf tackles last night I knew we were in trouble.

absolutley. when his intensity is down it seems he has 15 or so mates lacking the same. Hopefully this week he can get back to what he was showing pre season

TheGeneral
29th April 2007, 23:27
Eddie kicked three rippers last night. :)

14 disposals - 8 kicks, 1 mark, 5 tackles :thumbsu: , 2 FF, 1 critical error, 1 first disp, 1 clearance, 3 goals 2.

AndyWalkersGirl
6th July 2007, 11:52
After a few weeks away with a buggered Hammy, Eddie Betts is playing his 50th match this week.

Congratulations Eddie! Another nice story of a kid who came off the rookie list and excites fans week in, week out with his enthusiasm, dedication and love for the jumper. :thumbsu:

douls
6th July 2007, 12:25
After a few weeks away with a buggered Hammy, Eddie Betts is playing his 50th match this week.

Congratulations Eddie! Another nice story of a kid who came off the rookie list and excites fans week in, week out with his enthusiasm, dedication and love for the jumper. :thumbsu:

Well said AWG - Let's hope we can have a win and see that cheeky smile of Eddie's again :thumbsu:

Eddie is God
18th November 2007, 19:09
Great to see all who appreciate my Fav player Eddie Betts!!
He is turning 21 on the 26/11/07, so here's hoping 2008 will be a stellar year for him & the Blues!!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
19th November 2007, 10:54
Great to see all who appreciate my Fav player Eddie Betts!!
He is turning 21 on the 26/11/07, so here's hoping 2008 will be a stellar year for him & the Blues!!
I take it you've never read any of my posts:) Your not the only Eddie Betts obsessant:thumbsu:

Bluebear
20th November 2007, 09:29
I take it you've never read any of my posts:) Your not the only Eddie Betts obsessant:thumbsu:
and yet this is the first time this year you have graced the one thread that is dedicated to him..........:D

EddieBettsIsAChamp
21st November 2007, 20:04
and yet this is the first time this year you have graced the one thread that is dedicated to him..........:D
Well I could post about how much I love Eddie in each post if that would please you?

Bluebear
23rd November 2007, 11:52
Well I could post about how much I love Eddie in each post if that would please you?
Not necessary. But in the one thread that's been here all year, dedicated to Eddie, you were conspicuous by your absence.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
24th November 2007, 12:35
Not necessary. But in the one thread that's been here all year, dedicated to Eddie, you were conspicuous by your absence.
Well, fair enough. Honestly, I never used to go onto the Buddy Draft or Blue Room. I was unnaware!:)

EddieBettsIsAChamp
16th December 2007, 15:58
So, am I able to sponsor Eddie this season? I'm not sure about how it all works...

Bluebear
17th December 2007, 11:55
Sponsor?

Do you mean be his "Buddy" or to actually sponsor ($$) him?

There will be a buddy draft........anytime actually, that was orgainsed early this year for people to report on their player.
Started out well but after a few rounds the reports for most dropped off.

Just in case you weren't meaning his Buddy:
In terms of player sponsors you couold talk to the club, but this forum sponsors 1 player each year.....and we have Kreuzer...........for about (IIRC) $2500.

There are different levels of player sponsorship but enquire at the club.

:thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
20th December 2007, 12:52
Sponsor?

Do you mean be his "Buddy" or to actually sponsor ($$) him?

There will be a buddy draft........anytime actually, that was orgainsed early this year for people to report on their player.
Started out well but after a few rounds the reports for most dropped off.

Just in case you weren't meaning his Buddy:
In terms of player sponsors you couold talk to the club, but this forum sponsors 1 player each year.....and we have Kreuzer...........for about (IIRC) $2500.

There are different levels of player sponsorship but enquire at the club.

:thumbsu:
Oh I do beg your pardon, I did mean buddy him:) Sponsor, buddy, it's hot, my brain doesn't function:)

If theres any news on the time of the Draft could you please let me know? Thanks:thumbsu:

Jeremias
22nd December 2007, 00:22
Oh I do beg your pardon, I did mean buddy him:) Sponsor, buddy, it's hot, my brain doesn't function:)

If theres any news on the time of the Draft could you please let me know? Thanks:thumbsu:

I will most probably be in charge of the buddy draft this season.

As I am overseas and don't have much access to a computer, it most probably will not be run until I arrive back home which will be at the end of January.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
23rd December 2007, 18:19
I will most probably be in charge of the buddy draft this season.

As I am overseas and don't have much access to a computer, it most probably will not be run until I arrive back home which will be at the end of January.
Excellent, thanks for the notification Jeremias:thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
16th February 2008, 18:57
Pre-Season Cup Round 1

Carlton vs. Port Adelaide

Eddie Betts, compared to round 22 last year was very quiet, but in comparison to his average totals last year, he is right on the money to continue his steady improvement. His disposal was a bit off (alike most players today), but continued to strive and go into contests as often as possible.

He set up a goal for Brendan Fevola late in the first term due to a lovely peice of vision.

As long as little Eddie continues to attack the contests and put his body on the line to win possession, we will have no worries in being named in the senior side week after week. Me and Eddie Bear will be rooting for him!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
24th February 2008, 09:58
Pre-Season Cup Round 2

Carlton vs. Hawthorn

Kicks: 3
Handballs: 7
Possessions: 10
Marks: 1
Tackles: 2
Frees For: 0
Frees Against: 0
Goals: 0
Behinds: 2

Last night Eddie applied great pressure to the man with the ball, but struggled to dispose of the ball as well as he is able to (with the limited chances he had). His kicking was off, as was most of the boys last night. He still looks as though he is in pretty good nick, but maybe he just needs two-three more weeks of on field play to get himself back up to scratch. Next weekends game will be the perfect opportunity to do so, as there is nothing at stake other than the boys development.

Smiley43
24th February 2008, 13:08
Last night Eddie applied great pressure to the man with the ball, but struggled to dispose of the ball as well as he is able to (with the limited chances he had). His kicking was off, as was most of the boys last night. He still looks as though he is in pretty good nick, but maybe he just needs two-three more weeks of on field play to get himself back up to scratch. Next weekends game will be the perfect opportunity to do so, as there is nothing at stake other than the boys development.

EddieBettsIsAChamp, my hat goes off to you mate. Loyal to somebody you believe in no matter what the performance/ result. Everybody is on the main Carlton board paying him out, but you just focus on the positives that came from the game.

Keep it up.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
24th February 2008, 13:19
EddieBettsIsAChamp, my hat goes off to you mate. Loyal to somebody you believe in no matter what the performance/ result. Everybody is on the main Carlton board paying him out, but you just focus on the positives that came from the game.

Keep it up.
Cheers mate, I don't see much of a point in focussing on the negatives so early in the year, a time where the boys need support more than ever.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
8th March 2008, 14:27
NAB Challenge Round 4

Carlton vs. Western Bulldogs

Eddie Betts again was far off his potential best, paying on and and from the bench all day. The little bugger has absolutely no problem getting his hands on the ball, it's more or less his disposal that's letting him down at the moment, much like a few of our boys. He did receive the ball close to goals, something he really should have kicked and trickled it across face. Chatting with him after the game, he realises that he really should have kicked it, exclaiming "I put my foot on it and the bugger just kept rolling.":)

marcmurphy3
8th March 2008, 14:44
Hasn't looked great in the PS games so far after good reports on his training. Hopefully he can really imrpove and step up because he is our only real crumbing foward.

Still I have faith he can do well

EddieBettsIsAChamp
8th March 2008, 16:00
Hasn't looked great in the PS games so far after good reports on his training. Hopefully he can really imrpove and step up because he is our only real crumbing foward.

Still I have faith he can do well
It's situations like this where he becomes of an obligation to play in the forward pocket, rather than by choice.

marcmurphy3
8th March 2008, 19:03
It's situations like this where he becomes of an obligation to play in the forward pocket, rather than by choice.

Yeah. I'd really like to see us draft some more medium/small forwards. Cyril Rioli/Maric from last years draft would have been nice.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
21st March 2008, 10:35
AFL Premiership Season Round One

Carlton vs. Richmond @ MCG (20/3/08)

Kicks: 7
Handballs: 2
Possessions: 9
Marks: 3
Tackles: 1
Frees Against: 1
Goals: 2
Behinds: 1

Eddie Betts showed what he hadn't throughout the pre-season last night, his ability to get the ball in space and kick the goal. He ran hard all day and was rewarded with two goals on the board, one coming after he was penalised with a 50m penalty for smothering the ball (what the hell!). Last night was exactly what I want from Eddie Betts week in, week out. 10 touches, a few marks and one or two goals. Top job Eddie, very impressed.

bluegal1983
22nd March 2008, 09:53
Hrrrm, sorry EBIAC but I disagree.

He needs to be at Fev's feet, so when the ball goes to ground, he is there ready to crumb.

Betts is too slow IMO and if we had zero injuries then he wouldn't be in my best 22.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
22nd March 2008, 16:30
Hrrrm, sorry EBIAC but I disagree.

He needs to be at Fev's feet, so when the ball goes to ground, he is there ready to crumb.

Betts is too slow IMO and if we had zero injuries then he wouldn't be in my best 22.
Everyone entitled to their own opinion, but when he played say on the Half forward line, he came out with a couple of goals, one to put us up by 25 so i'm pretty happy with that as a result.

bluegal1983
23rd March 2008, 10:49
Everyone entitled to their own opinion, but when he played say on the Half forward line, he came out with a couple of goals, one to put us up by 25 so i'm pretty happy with that as a result.

Yes and one of his goals was part of great link up work with Murph, Simmo and Juddy. Great to see him finish it off :D

If he had more speed then my opinion will probably change but I think Betts is a very good VFL player but a very average AFL player unfortuantely.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
23rd March 2008, 11:02
Yes and one of his goals was part of great link up work with Murph, Simmo and Juddy. Great to see him finish it off :D

If he had more speed then my opinion will probably change but I think Betts is a very good VFL player but a very average AFL player unfortuantely.
He dominates VFL... he's too slow for the midfield, forward pocket just seems right. Hopefully he keeps up some form:thumbsu:.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
30th March 2008, 14:19
AFL Premiership Season: Round One

St.Kilda vs. Carlton @ Telstra Dome (29/3/08)

Kicks: 10
Handballs: 6
Possessions: 16
Marks: 6
Goals: 1

Eddie get his hands on the ball last night, pushing up the ground like last week, but having no significant influence on the game at any stage. If he had kicked the miracle goal in the fourth(if I do say so myself) while the game was in contention during the second, it could have made all the difference to the boys morale on the field. If he can get into the game earlier than the second half, it could do the boys all the better. While he improved on his stats from last week (something I really wanted to see), he didn't enforce himself into the game until it was well and done, unlike against Richmond.

While i'm on the subject, so much for Eddie Betts having no hands! 6 marks to the little guy.

Goal of the year, Eddie Betts!

Five
30th March 2008, 15:05
Very honest appraisal Eddie on Eddie, we need him to be more Milne like and hurt the opposition with goals but he is surely trying.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
30th March 2008, 15:52
Very honest appraisal Eddie on Eddie, we need him to be more Milne like and hurt the opposition with goals but he is surely trying.
He gets a very bad wrap from those on this forum. The young guy tries his heart out. It's all 'Eddie's done', yet Bannister is still up and flying:rolleyes::p.

Bluebear
30th March 2008, 16:07
Love Eddies energy, but his turnovers hurt us last night. Twice running into open goal with no pressure on him he sprayed it, and once he shoulod have got it at least close to Fisher who would have goaled. Needs to steady on the run, or practice at training at full tilt.

Great goal in the last, but I'd trade those miraculous things for steadier disposal.

bluegal1983
30th March 2008, 16:10
He gets a very bad wrap from those on this forum. The young guy tries his heart out. It's all 'Eddie's done', yet Bannister is still up and flying:rolleyes::p.

I don't think anybody disputes.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
30th March 2008, 16:18
Love Eddies energy, but his turnovers hurt us last night. Twice running into open goal with no pressure on him he sprayed it, and once he shoulod have got it at least close to Fisher who would have goaled. Needs to steady on the run, or practice at training at full tilt.

Great goal in the last, but I'd trade those miraculous things for steadier disposal.
You're far from wrong. Ed a lot of the time gets carried away in the moment and doesn't do the team thing. I'm sure he'll get himself into line sooner rather than later:thumbsu:.

Bluebear
30th March 2008, 16:22
You're far from wrong. Ed a lot of the time gets carried away in the moment and doesn't do the team thing. I'm sure he'll get himself into line sooner rather than later:thumbsu:.
It wasn't so much the "team thing".

His decisions were fine. Each shot on goal there wasn't really any other option and he was open. Unlike last week vs Tiges where he steadied and made sure of the kick he seemed to rush and kick at full tilt, even though the pressure was similar.

The kick to Fisher was a shank off his left foot.

Decisions good, execution lacking.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
30th March 2008, 16:31
It wasn't so much the "team thing".

His decisions were fine. Each shot on goal there wasn't really any other option and he was open. Unlike last week vs Tiges where he steadied and made sure of the kick he seemed to rush and kick at full tilt, even though the pressure was similar.

The kick to Fisher was a shank off his left foot.

Decisions good, execution lacking.
I guess a few of our boys could be under a bit of scrutany for their kicking last night, it seems that kicking to targets and leads should be the main priority at training this week.

Bluebear
30th March 2008, 20:31
I guess a few of our boys could be under a bit of scrutany for their kicking last night, it seems that kicking to targets and leads should be the main priority at training this week.
Apparently it was last week.:o

I wouldn't do a single drill on it.........maybe it was over-emphasiszed and players were thinking too much about it.

Guys that normally are reliable like Stevo and Scotty had bad ones as well.

Five
2nd April 2008, 00:42
Did a little research and found that the more experienced permanent small forwards are not statistically as far in front of Eddie as I thought.

Milne av 1.9
Didak 1.4
Davis,N 1.4
Davey 1.4
Davis,L 1.2
Eddie 1.1

:rolleyes:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
3rd April 2008, 11:12
Did a little research and found that the more experienced permanent small forwards are not statistically as far in front of Eddie as I thought.

Milne av 1.9
Didak 1.4
Davis,N 1.4
Davey 1.4
Davis,L 1.2
Eddie 1.1

:rolleyes:
The only names in that list that I can pull out as 'good forward pocket' (disregarding Eddie) Leon Davis and possibly Alan Didak. The other listed players play out of position/up the field.

Five
3rd April 2008, 19:51
Noticed Rod Ashman's name mentioned in the paper as having a role down at BlueLand - think it was to do with player welfare, wouldn't it be great if this Great was also mentoring Eddie
:)

EddieBettsIsAChamp
5th April 2008, 13:34
Noticed Rod Ashman's name mentioned in the paper as having a role down at BlueLand - think it was to do with player welfare, wouldn't it be great if this Great was also mentoring Eddie
All the help Eddie can get, anything to mould him into the ultimate FP (not that I don't love him now:)).

EddieBettsIsAChamp
6th April 2008, 12:14
AFL Premiership Season: Round Three

Essendon vs. Carlton @ MCG (5/4/08)

Kicks: 15
Handballs: 12
Possessions: 27
Marks: 11
Tackles: 4
Frees For: 1

Last night, Eddie Betts did what I have been waiting and waiting to see him do. He led up the ground, provided a great, fast option and got the ball in open spaces, topped off by excellent disposals. For those who say that he's a slow, small guy, you'd better have a look at the tape again. Bettsy got away from his man with absolute ease and kept it up all night.He managed a goal (by sheer luck, nice bounce!) as well as 12 disposals by quarter time.

If you think that he managed his touches from kicks to the lead all day, you'd be dead wrong. Eddie was in the packs, crumbing the ball (resulting in two shots on goal, one being a goal), handpassing the ball off (Chris Judd's second goal), he did it all!

Under pressure, Eddie Betts reacted the best I have ever seen him do. Surrounded by players, he shrugged them off with ease, regurly followed by great disposal. Oh, and that reminds me... How in the world did Eddie Betts get his disposals so damn accurate? Kicking, A+, handballing under pressure, A+.

I'm very pleased with what I saw from Bettsy, A+ job. For those who think that he should be confinded to the forward pocket after last night, you're insane.

Oh, and before I forget, for those who say Eddie Betts can't mark, pull your head in:thumbsu:.

bluegal1983
6th April 2008, 16:03
I have been one of Eddie's biggest critics but last night he did everything right.

His disposal was great, he lead well into space and crumbed the packs well. He was absolutely brilliant!

Let's hope he can put a few performances like that together this year and be a consistent contributor :thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
6th April 2008, 16:15
I have been one of Eddie's biggest critics but last night he did everything right.

His disposal was great, he lead well into space and crumbed the packs well. He was absolutely brilliant!

Let's hope he can put a few performances like that together this year and be a consistent contributor :thumbsu:
Pfft, and you doubted him:D.

I always knew he had it in him, but I must admit, the way he was weaving in and out of packs was just a different Eddie Betts. I think he set up a couple of goals, pressure the opp. players into turnovers, the whole shebang!

bluegal1983
6th April 2008, 16:25
Pfft, and you doubted him:D.

I always knew he had it in him, but I must admit, the way he was weaving in and out of packs was just a different Eddie Betts. I think he set up a couple of goals, pressure the opp. players into turnovers, the whole shebang!

Lets hope he can do it consistently this year :)

blue gunslinger
6th April 2008, 17:58
Great effort Eddie Betts. Keep it going son!

Bluebear
8th April 2008, 02:35
Lets hope this wasn't the "one good game for the year" from Eddie. If he can produce some consistency, not even at that level, but even slightly below, and he will be a huge asset.:thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
14th April 2008, 08:13
AFL Premiership Season: Round Four

Carlton vs. Collingwood @ MCG (13/4/08)

Kicks: 4
Marks: 2
Tackles: 3
Behinds: 0

Eddie Betts had a considerably quiet game in comparison to last week, but I don't think stats tell the story in this case. Again, he led up the ground, was hard at the ball and his hands were like glue in a contest. A ripper of a goal from the boundary line in the first quarter told the story of how far Eddie Betts has come so early in the year.

Eddie Betts >>>>>>>>>>> Leon Davis:thumbsu:.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
23rd April 2008, 13:55
AFL Premiership Season: Round Five

Melbourne vs. Carlton @ MCG (20/4/08)

Kicks: 8
Possessions: 14
Marks: 4

Again, Eddie didn't manage 20+ stats, but he still got the job done. A goal or two may have done us all the better, but never the less, she still strived hard at the ball, applied much pressure and used the ball well. These last two weeks have been exactly what I want from Eddie, 10 or so touches and maybe a goal or two:thumbsu:. Hopefully he gets a few chances this week!

Excuse the delay on the report.

Pamam
23rd April 2008, 14:01
i think we will need Eddie's crumbing ability against the crows this week!!

considering the tight defence of the crows will come to play therefore fev will be required to take on 2 opponents

therefore as long as fev makes a contest we will require crumbers to shoot at goal at times

Eddie would need to kick a couple this help us out this week!!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
23rd April 2008, 14:04
i think we will need Eddie's crumbing ability against the crows this week!!

considering the tight defence of the crows will come to play therefore fev will be required to take on 2 opponents

therefore as long as fev makes a contest we will require crumbers to shoot at goal at times

Eddie would need to kick a couple this help us out this week!!
Exactly right, in wet conditions (if the forecast follows through), our crumbers become essential to us. I'm pretty sure Bettsy does alright in the wet performing as a crumber, and I wouldn't mind 'betts'ing that he'll kick 2 or 3 this week!

blue gunslinger
25th April 2008, 13:11
The Crows will be focusing so much on Fev, Judd, Stevo etal that this is a great chance for eddieB to cut sick and kick a bag full!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
25th April 2008, 14:20
The Crows will be focusing so much on Fev, Judd, Stevo etal that this is a great chance for eddieB to cut sick and kick a bag full!
Spot on, absolutely spot on.

It's these situations where Eddie is at his best, when he is allowed to run free. He scared the competition a couple of weeks ago, but now that the dust has settled, I don't think many people would expect him to come out and have a cracker.

Ed, this is your chance!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
26th April 2008, 21:01
Spot on, absolutely spot on.

It's these situations where Eddie is at his best, when he is allowed to run free. He scared the competition a couple of weeks ago, but now that the dust has settled, I don't think many people would expect him to come out and have a cracker.

Ed, this is your chance!
Well, I wasn't wrong, was I? Too bad it was only for the one quarter...

EddieBettsIsAChamp
26th April 2008, 21:07
AFL Premiership Season: Round Six

Carlton vs. Adelaide @ MCG (26/4/08)

Kicks: 10
Tackles: 0

Well, Eddie Betts sure as heck looked dangerous! I was expecting him to go on and kick for the way he was going, but after the first quarter, he struggled to effectively get himself into game. Although the tackle count may not suggest it, Betts put on a massive ammount of pressure in the forward line.

Eddie's two goals in the first quarter were about as 'Eddie Betts' as you could possibly get. I read that he once kicked 10 goals in a game, but it was a junior soccer game. He sure as hell proved he would have been a more than capable soccer player! His second goal was just pure Betts, weaved in between two and ran into the goal.

Overall, Eddie still needs to work on his four quarter effort. To play so well in the first quarter (2 goals, 7 touches) and then to drop off just shows what type of player he could be. Imagine a forward pocket who could potentially kick 5 per week with 20+ touches!:p

Five
28th April 2008, 23:30
What a 1stQ ! You always know he is giving his all and you can actually see he loves the jumper - did he barrack for Carlton as a boy?
Don't forget EBIAC - averaging 2 a game will make him a 'Hall of Famer'

EddieBettsIsAChamp
29th April 2008, 09:22
What a 1stQ ! You always know he is giving his all and you can actually see he loves the jumper - did he barrack for Carlton as a boy?
Don't forget EBIAC - averaging 2 a game will make him a 'Hall of Famer'
Oh god, please don't put those thoughts in my head! For the good of this forum!:p

Pamam
29th April 2008, 09:49
Eddie betts what a champ!!!

considering my statements last week regarding his crumbing and how important it was to us against the Crows

i decided to put $10 on him for the first goal kicker paying 15:1

when he kid kicked it i jumped on my mates back and rode him

hahaha

150 bucks in the kitty!!!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
29th April 2008, 11:49

considering my statements last week regarding his crumbing and how important it was to us against the Crows

hahaha

I must say, I feel pretty sorry for your mate:).

Pamam
29th April 2008, 11:54
I must say, I feel pretty sorry for your mate:).

hahaha

i was very exicted in the first 10 minutes

though i must say i usually pick the first goal kicker every 5 rounds or so

Mike_blues
30th April 2008, 20:54

hahaha

nice man
feel sorry for ya mate :p

EddieBettsIsAChamp
3rd May 2008, 21:57
AFL Premiership Season: Round Seven

West Coast vs. Carlton @ MCG (2/5/08)

Kicks: 11
Handballs: 3
Possessions: 14

Again, Eddie Betts played a solid game. This bloke is really starting to do his intended job, and that is to pop up, kick a goal or two, get some possessions in the midfield, so on and so forth. I can't see how anyone could have doubted him!:)

Continue what you're doing son, it's paying divit ends for both you and your team!

Mr. Consistant.

blue gunslinger
7th May 2008, 10:18
I call on the football world to gang up on B Waters from West Coast
The tough man of the Eagles was spooked by B Hall so instead nails EddieB in the back when he was not looking.
Good on Fev for defending you EddieB. Remember we play them at home later in the season. A teddie might come flying over the fence Waters and it might be ticking.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
7th May 2008, 10:59
I call on the football world to gang up on B Waters from West Coast
The tough man of the Eagles was spooked by B Hall so instead nails EddieB in the back when he was not looking.
Good on Fev for defending you EddieB. Remember we play them at home later in the season. A teddie might come flying over the fence Waters and it might be ticking.
Pfft, i'd use Eddie Bear on someone who's worth it:).

blue gunslinger
8th May 2008, 10:20
Pfft, i'd use Eddie Bear on someone who's worth it:).
You cannot control Eddie Bear anymore than you can control that goldfish of yours

EddieBettsIsAChamp
8th May 2008, 14:03
You cannot control Eddie Bear anymore than you can control that goldfish of yours
If you're not careful, I won't be able to control my foot making it's way into your ar*e:).

blue gunslinger
8th May 2008, 22:16
If you're not careful, I won't be able to control my foot making it's way into your ar*e:).
It couldn't reach pygmy boy!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
9th May 2008, 15:30
Back on track...:p

I have a feeling that next weekend Eddie Betts will be played as more of a midfielder. The only real chances I see for Eddie to kick goals against Brisbane is from set shots, and there's maybe only once or twice he marks it inside 50 per game.

His speed could really benefit us again.

Five
9th May 2008, 22:01
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:NlQNN5lcYLnDhM:http://www.goldfish-designs.com/images/editedgoldfish2.jpg (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.goldfish-designs.com/images/editedgoldfish2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.goldfish-designs.com/&h=452&w=471&sz=35&hl=en&start=15&tbnid=NlQNN5lcYLnDhM:&tbnh=124&tbnw=129&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dgoldfish%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG)
?????

Bluebear
9th May 2008, 22:36
Back on track...:p

I have a feeling that next weekend Eddie Betts will be played as more of a midfielder. The only real chances I see for Eddie to kick goals against Brisbane is from set shots, and there's maybe only once or twice he marks it inside 50 per game.

His speed could really benefit us again.
Why?
Why won't Eddie be able to do what he has done (well) all season and hit the pack at Fev's feet running and sneak goals?

Did you see the last time we played the Lions at TD?

I'd say they would be VERY concerned about Betts goal kicking ability........why push him up the ground (any more than he does) and take that worry away?

blue gunslinger
14th May 2008, 10:28
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:NlQNN5lcYLnDhM:http://www.goldfish-designs.com/images/editedgoldfish2.jpg (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.goldfish-designs.com/images/editedgoldfish2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.goldfish-designs.com/&h=452&w=471&sz=35&hl=en&start=15&tbnid=NlQNN5lcYLnDhM:&tbnh=124&tbnw=129&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dgoldfish%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG)
?????
Bet you EddieB made this his wall paper!
Eddie Betts will have a cracker this weekend! Again Leigh will focus all his attention on Fev after the Vic effort. Eddie for 10!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
15th May 2008, 20:26
Why?
Why won't Eddie be able to do what he has done (well) all season and hit the pack at Fev's feet running and sneak goals?

Did you see the last time we played the Lions at TD?

I'd say they would be VERY concerned about Betts goal kicking ability........why push him up the ground (any more than he does) and take that worry away?
Sure did, and he put in a great effort that night.

I have nothing to go by for my opinion, but I think that the majority of goals Eddie will kick will be from set shots.

Came to be in a dream:p.

Bet you EddieB made this his wall paper!
Eddie Betts will have a cracker this weekend! Again Leigh will focus all his attention on Fev after the Vic effort. Eddie for 10!
"Tell him he's dreamin'!"

blue gunslinger
15th May 2008, 21:19
[

"Tell him he's dreamin'!"[/quote]
EddieB - you are dreaming!

The Cranium
15th May 2008, 22:10
[

"Tell him he's dreamin'!"
EddieB - you are dreaming![/quote]

I want to be there when EBIAC goes to Perth and has his first drink. (If he brings that damn bear to the pub I will burn it.....)

EddieBettsIsAChamp
16th May 2008, 08:21
I want to be there when EBIAC goes to Perth and has his first drink. (If he brings that damn bear to the pub I will burn it.....)
Uhm, yeah, haha, uhm, *tugs on collar*.

:p

Hey, Eddie Bear has a right to go to the pub if he wants!:D

EddieBettsIsAChamp
18th May 2008, 15:20
Sure did, and he put in a great effort that night.

I have nothing to go by for my opinion, but I think that the majority of goals Eddie will kick will be from set shots.

Came to be in a dream:p.

Huh? Huh? Was I right or was I right?:p

EddieBettsIsAChamp
18th May 2008, 15:23
AFL Premiership Season: Round Eight

Carlton vs. Brisbane @ Telstra Dome (17/5/08)

Kicks: 6
Possessions: 9
Marks: 1
Frees For: 2
Behinds:1

In a night where the majority of the team played poor football, I think Eddie Betts played considerably well, even though he had 5 odd touches less than he usually does. That handball off to Marc Murphy was nothing but sheer class. Again, his tackling was good, and I think we're really starting to see some consistancy in Eddie's game, running hard, tackling well, kicking 1-2 goals per game.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
24th May 2008, 21:27
AFL Premiership Season: Round Nine

Carlton vs. Fremantle @ Telstra Dome (24/5/08)

Kicks: 11
Handballs: 5
Marks: 6
Behinds:1

If you approached me on the Thursday before a game and said to me "Eddie Betts will kick at least one goal this weekend," i'd have to agree with you. I go without doubt in saying Eddie Betts has been the most consistant player on our list this year. Another solid game this week during Indigenous Round, got us on the board early by slotting a nice goal from 40, doubling his goal tally with a sneaky goal in which he plucked the ball from the pack. He's such a tricky bloke, he just goes in and pops up with the ball! I'm also loving his new trademark contested mark aswell!

Well done again Eddie!

Five
25th May 2008, 00:03
I go without doubt in saying Eddie Betts has been the most consistant player on our list this year.

Consistently GOOD that is

http://www.phillysucks.com/images/uploads/consistency.jpg

blue gunslinger
27th May 2008, 10:23
Another good one EddieB - deserves more respect by opponents and our fans as well!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
1st June 2008, 12:55
AFL Premiership Season: Round Ten

Carlton vs. Geelong @ Telstra Dome (1/6/08)

Possessions: 12
Hitouts: 1 (Take that Cain Ackland!:D)
Behinds: 2

Eddie started off okay, a very poor shot on goal by his standards to begin his scoring tally (just sneaking in for a behind). He didn't really get invovled in the game for both the second and third quarter, but popped up and kicked two late goals, unfortunately when the game was over. Still, going by statistics, he had another reasonably solid game.

Keep pushing Ed.

Bluebear
1st June 2008, 18:50
1 tackle. :(
Eddie IS our forwardline pressure. Whatever focus they had on tackles at training they can stop it.......NOW. After the build up it was one of our worst tackling performances for the year.

3 marks after the way he has been presenting is a standout too.

Not his best game, but he was not alone in being down.

I hate night games at the Dome.:(

EddieBettsIsAChamp
8th June 2008, 21:05
AFL Premiership Season: Round Eleven

Port Adelaide vs. Carlton @ AAMI Stadium (8/6/08)

Handballs: 4
Possessions: 12
Marks: 5
Tackles: 0

Well, I guess when it comes down to it, Eddie just couldn't keep the ball in his hands in the wet conditions. He was pretty sloppy midway through the game, but managed his usual touches (wasn't always effective). The most notable thing out of this game is the goal he kicked to get the ball rolling for us in the last term, got us the momentum and got us on the path to victory.

Again, well done Ed! Start turning these two quarter efforts into three quarters, then four. Coming along VERY nicely!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
15th June 2008, 21:07
AFL Premiership Season: Round Twelve

Collingwood vs. Carlton @ MCG (15/6/08)

Handballs: 7
Possessions: 13
Frees For: 3

Eddie was pretty quiet today goalwise, but he still carried his usual first quarter goal threat, unfortunately not making anything come of it. He was pretty smart to trap the ball in when it went into the forward line and tap it to our advantage, leading to Dennis Armfield's goal (i'm pretty sure it was Den), so well done to Ed for that.

Keep at it Ed, you can see he really tries hard when the balls around him, unfortunately he sometimes tries a bit too hard.

TOPBLUE_25
19th June 2008, 09:17
Did some nice things in the middle in the last term against the Pies:thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
22nd June 2008, 19:41
AFL Premiership Season: Round Thirteen

Carlton vs. Essendon @ MCG (22/6/08)

Kicks: 12
Handballs: 4
Marks: 4
Tackles: 5

Eddie had his usual day today, in the 10's for disposals, one or two goals, that sort of thing. He kicked off the game with a nice goal early, too bad the rest of the boys didn't follow by example until the next quarter. His chasing and harrassing rose today, posting 5 tackles compared to his 1 or two in previous games. He was put in the midfield in the last quarter and won a couple of centre clearances.

He still needs to keep at it does Eddie, but so far he's coming though. I'll be all smiles if he finishes off the season like this.:thumbsu:

Bluebear
23rd June 2008, 16:08
Unlucky not to have another goal in the fourth.......Fev should have shepherded it through.

Five
25th June 2008, 12:22
Unlucky not to have another goal in the fourth.......Fev should have shepherded it through.

Very strange that one - unlike Fev

Meant to compliment Eddie on his first tackle last week (the first tackle of the game?) - he came from nowhere and made a statement about the degree of pressure we were going to put on the Wobblers

blue gunslinger
28th June 2008, 10:20
Important for Eddie today to get amongst it both up he field and to present in the forward line!

EddieBettsIsAChamp
28th June 2008, 19:45
AFL Premiership Season: Round Fourteen

Richmond vs. Carlton @ MCG (28/6/08)

Kicks: 5
Handballs: 5

Eddie played another good game today, picking up the tempo in the second half, kicking two very timely goals, both from crumbing situations (one being that sensational sliding, soccer like goal), aswell as nearly kicking the goal of the century! His pressure lifted today, and he really chassed and hassled the Tigers backline and he ended up getting them to turn the ball over a couple of times. He found it hard to get his hands on the ball in the first half, being out muscled most of the time. He then found his straps after being moved to the centre for the bounce, pushing forward afterwards.

Another good performance from Eddie, he's well and truely cemented his spot in the team.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
12th July 2008, 16:28
AFL Premiership Season: Round Fifteen

Carlton vs. St. Kilda @ MCG (11/7/08)

Possessions: 11
Goals: 3

God this guy's good! Eddie played an excellent game last night. All three of his goals came from roving, aswell as kicking the goal of the year (again) from the exact same spot from against the Saints in Round 3. His accuracy wasn't the best when spotting up targets, but shooting for goal he is remarkable. He provides a good target and has well and truely proved that he can take a strong mark, aswell as kick goals when we need them.

Well done Eddie. :thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
12th July 2008, 16:35
Not sure about excellent but he was one of only 3 players that I think could hold their heads up at the end of the game along with Gibbs and Judd.
Hats off to both Eddie Betts and you EddieB. Was Eddie Bear cold at the game last night?