View Full Version : 20. Clinton Benjamin - Gilly1972

Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:25
This thread is to discuss Clinton Benjamin.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

Gilly1972
27th February 2007, 11:30
From the CFC website:

Selection 51
Clinton Benjamin
DOB - 27/07/1988
Hgt - 189.2
Wgt - 80.5

Super quick defender/wingman from Broome in far North WA. WA U18 representative this year and AIS/AFL Academy Graduate. Ran a 2.95sec for 20m at the NAB AFL Draft Camp. A combined total of 24.74sec for the Repeat Sprint Test saw Clinton ranked in the top 3% of players undertaking the test in Canberra.

I will be looking after Clint this year. Wanted to pick up one of the kids as i took an interest in the U18 champs last year.

Not much to report at the moment as Clint has has a quadricep strain for a few weeks now (in fact i think we are about on a month to be precise). I am hoping he is right to line up for the Bullants next practice match (not this weekend but the weekend after), and i will do my best to get along and report.

In the meantime, it is often interesting to wind back the clock on the kids, remembering that recruiters are watching them from the time they are 15 and 16 playing in the under 16's champs. I recall seeing this article last year when i was reading up on the kids prior to the champs.

Source: http://www.theage.com.au/news/Geoff-McClure/Sporting-Life/2005/04/13/1113251680511.html

He's only 16, but boy can he play

When you see AFL talent scouts and player football managers watching a game of school footy involving boys who will not be old enough to be recruited for another 18 months, it usually means one thing - a youngster with super talents is playing. Which was precisely the scenario at Melbourne Grammar yesterday when word got out about a certain 16-year-old Aboriginal boy from Western Australia who not only has outstanding talent but is also 192 centimetres (6ft 4in in the old) tall (and still growing) and can run 100 metres in under 11 seconds to boot.
Clinton Benjamin is his name and he turned out for his school, Perth's Hale school, just a few days after returning home with the rest of the team which represented Australia in the under-17 international rules series in Ireland. Now, both his Australian Institute of Sport coach Alan McConnell and his school coach Brian Clarkson were careful not to single Benjamin out at the risk of being unfair to his teammates, but others who have been watching his progress say he has the hallmarks of being a future superstar.

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/04/13/wbSPLIFEclinton_narrowweb__200x270.jpg

Clinton Benjamin, a 16 year old from Broome playing for Hale against Melbourne Grammar.
Photo:Vince Caligiuri

Described by McConnell as a one-touch player, not only is he a high flyer (as he showed in this photograph from yesterday's game) and can he play back or forward but, because of his speed and athleticism, he is already an eye-catcher. "He was going on 70-metre searing runs in Ireland with opponents chasing him the whole way," said McConnell. AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan is another who has has been impressed by the teenager. "He has got the tools you want to see on the AFL playing fields," said the usually conservative Sheehan. "With good management, good coaching and with the kid keeping it all together, we look forward to seeing him appear on the MCG or Subiaco."
Others to impress in Ireland were another 16-year-old Aboriginal from Western Australia, Leroy Jetta, Scott Gumbleton, also from Perth, and Bendigo's Joel Selwood, brother of the twins Troy (Brisbane Lions) and Adam (West Coast), who began their AFL careers this year. Indeed, one of the highlights of the Irish tour, from Western Australia's perspective, anyway, is that 10 of the 30 boys who toured are all home-grown WA boys, a sure sign that the state that has produced only a handful of drafted players in the past few years might be about to turn things around. "It represents a terrific group - WA is basically back on track," said Sheehan.

It is interesting and exciting to note that at the time he was mentioned in the same breath as some of the top 10 draftees. Many have asked why he slipped to #51. I obviously can't answer as i am not skilled in the area of recruitment, however my naive understanding is that his form dropped slightly after the U16's, and he was hampered by some injuries, and perhaps being that in-between height (he is listed as 189.2cm on the CFC web-site, not 192 as reported here), he might have struggled to find a regular position on the field. IN his junior footy he has been played in defense, including Key Position roles, up forward and on a wing. IMO his best position at AFL will be as an attacking wingman. I belive that due to these factors his form curtailed a little. At times there may be a perception that he lacks aggression and intensity. He seems like a nice, meek kid and he may need to develop this side to his game....but i suspect it is also in part due to the ease and athleticism over which he covers the ground, he fair dinkum moves like a gazelle.

Anyway, hope this can satisfy some curiosity until we (hopefully) see him line up for the ants in a fortnights time. :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
28th February 2007, 15:05
Training Pic taken 28/02/07 courtesy of Italian Styles.

http://www.thesexysquad.com/gallery/albums/training/2007/feb_28/normal_29.jpg

What a beautiful specimen for an AFL footballer :o

No strapping on the quad, not sure if he participated in full training, but kind of looks that way. Might try and search for a training report as it is difficult for me to get there with work committments. Hopefully he will line up for the next Bullants praccy match :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
3rd March 2007, 11:08
I'm pretty much going to treat this as an online scrapbook of Clint's season at CFC.

another pic from training...and again, a great physique for a modern footballer. Could potentially be a great steal for #51.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j10/Gilly1972/clint.jpg

one_twelve112
8th March 2007, 10:43
With another 4 or 5 kilo's on him, he really will have the perfect build on him for the modern game.

So Gilly, he's back at full training? What expectations can we have of Benjamin in 2007?

Gilly1972
8th March 2007, 11:52
With another 4 or 5 kilo's on him, he really will have the perfect build on him for the modern game.

So Gilly, he's back at full training? What expectations can we have of Benjamin in 2007?

I haven't been able to get along to training so not 100% sure. Haven't seen any reports on TC of late either. I am assuming from the latest pics though that he is back into full training. Am hoping like hell he is playinig in the Bullants match on Sunday and i will be able to write a report.

As far as expectations for 2007, well just a mugs opinion, but I suspect he will play most of the season in the Ants and try to find his best position. As i have said before, I think that will be as an attacking wingman and I think his assetts would be wasted playing deep at either end, although he has the ability to play as a quick leading forward or on the third tall down back. There are obvioulsy others in front of Clint in this role, but possibly with injuries later in the year and good form in the Ants we could see a senior debut later in the year. I really think he needs a year or two development playing against men and i hope Mitchell can develop some real 'grunt' and aggression into his game.

TheGeneral
8th March 2007, 12:00
I think Gilly wishes he was on a couch with Benjamin. :eek: :p

one_twelve112
8th March 2007, 12:10
I haven't been able to get along to training so not 100% sure. Haven't seen any reports on TC of late either. I am assuming from the latest pics though that he is back into full training. Am hoping like hell he is playinig in the Bullants match on Sunday and i will be able to write a report.

As far as expectations for 2007, well just a mugs opinion, but I suspect he will play most of the season in the Ants and try to find his best position. As i have said before, I think that will be as an attacking wingman and I think his assetts would be wasted playing deep at either end, although he has the ability to play as a quick leading forward or on the third tall down back. There are obvioulsy others in front of Clint in this role, but possibly with injuries later in the year and good form in the Ants we could see a senior debut later in the year. I really think he needs a year or two development playing against men and i hope Mitchell can develop some real 'grunt' and aggression into his game.
I know it is often hard to say, unless we're talking about a Murphy or Gibbs, but is your gut-feeling that he will be a longterm player at the club?

Gilly1972
8th March 2007, 12:18
I know it is often hard to say, unless we're talking about a Murphy or Gibbs, but is your gut-feeling that he will be a longterm player at the club?

Gut feeling is that he has the ability to be, yes. How is that for appropriately non-committal?? :D

Gilly1972
9th March 2007, 10:24
Have it on (hopefully ;) ) good authority that Clint won't be playing in the Ants practice match this Sunday and needs another week of full training before he is ready to go.

Gilly1972
11th March 2007, 19:26
Looked great standing at the players race today, mucking about with Eddie...hopefully he can stay fit and crack it for a game next week. :thumbsu:

AndyWalkersGirl
11th March 2007, 19:39
Looked great standing at the players race today, mucking about with Eddie...hopefully he can stay fit and crack it for a game next week. :thumbsu:

Great to hear that Eddie gets down and supports the boys.

Always good to have that sort of atmosphere. Any more boys show their head?

Gilly1972
11th March 2007, 21:12
Great to hear that Eddie gets down and supports the boys.

Always good to have that sort of atmosphere. Any more boys show their head?

AWG it was great to see all the young boys are hanging out and building some rapport. Bryce was in at the 3/4 time huddle, giving Ando and Grigga some encouragement.

Saw bryce, sam jacobs, benjamin, eddie, carlos and bower. HBF, anybody i missed??

AndyWalkersGirl
11th March 2007, 21:41
AWG it was great to see all the young boys are hanging out and building some rapport. Bryce was in at the 3/4 time huddle, giving Ando and Grigga some encouragement.

Saw bryce, sam jacobs, benjamin, eddie, carlos and bower. HBF, anybody i missed??

Great to hear that Gilly! :)

Do you get the feeling we are going to be witnessing something special down at carlton over the next few years? Not talkign about wins only, i'm talking about a wonderful place to be :) Good support between teammates, a real sense of pride for the club and for each other.

Wow it gives me goosebumps.

Gilly1972
11th March 2007, 22:10
Great to hear that Gilly! :)

Do you get the feeling we are going to be witnessing something special down at carlton over the next few years? Not talkign about wins only, i'm talking about a wonderful place to be :) Good support between teammates, a real sense of pride for the club and for each other.

Wow it gives me goosebumps.

AWG, that was certainly the impression i got today...oh and to give you more goosebumps, HBF and I noted that of the boys not playing, Bryce was the only one wearing a CFC polo....going back to SA in 2 years huh?? BOLLOCKS

AndyWalkersGirl
12th March 2007, 11:56
AWG, that was certainly the impression i got today...oh and to give you more goosebumps, HBF and I noted that of the boys not playing, Bryce was the only one wearing a CFC polo....going back to SA in 2 years huh?? BOLLOCKS

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :)

4th Tier
12th March 2007, 15:07
Have it on (hopefully ;) ) good authority that Clint won't be playing in the Ants practice match this Sunday and needs another week of full training before he is ready to go.

Quaddie is ready to go, has been fully training with the main squad for the last week and at this stage is going to play a half this weekend for the 'Ants.

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 15:31
Quaddie is ready to go, has been fully training with the main squad for the last week and at this stage is going to play a half this weekend for the 'Ants.

Thanks for the update mate, will be keen to get along again this weekend.

Gilly1972
19th March 2007, 10:10
Made the trip down to Sleep Hollow to watch Clint on Saturday. Due to a screw up with the times I only arrived at 1/4 time of the seniors game. Clint didn't play the last quarter and looked a bit proppy on his quad at the end of the third, so I'm sure he was rested for precautionary reasons. Was on and off the bench for the 2nd and 3rd quarters but spent more time on the ground more than off.

First thing that I noticed about Clint (aside from the fact he was wearing Chief's number 34), was who is this guy running across the ground like he's floating on air. He doesn't run over the ground so much as glide....he is quick, but it looks effortless. He played HFF all of the time he was on the ground. Wasn't involved in play a whole lot, but showed enough for mine to suggest he will make it and in future years he will provide us with some special moments. He took a beautiful grab deep in the forward line, where he moved into the contest from the side, jumped and glided through the air laterally and showed a nice vertical leap and strong hands. Missed a sitter of a set shot though and his kicking action looked awkward....from what I have seen of him so far, his field kicking looks slightly better than his set shot, however I admit that observation is based on a pretty small sample set.

Defensively he was prepared to chase and his closing speed is very good, however on a few occasions I thought that if he had of put in a few harder paces to start with then he could have laid a strong tackle, perhaps he was sitting back watching his opponent to see where he was going to run to before closing, but I'd rather see him show a bit more desperation defensively.

I think some of the younger kids could do very well by watching Murph this year. Murph reminds me of a kid with a new Christmas present. His upper body strenght is much better this year, and he is like a kid playing with his new toy...his chasing and tackling have been outstanding in the pre-season, and he just straight lines his man, even if that means he misses occasionally, for the most part he doesn't.

Anyway, for a first hit out for the Ants, Clint showed some exciting signs and is a perfect size for a wingman/flanker at AFL level....good times ahead.

I will head out again this Saturday to Casey Fields to have another look and hopefully his quad pulls up ok.

one_twelve112
19th March 2007, 10:25
How quick is he? Are we talking Deledio/Lovett quick?

Sounds like he should sit down and have a good look at Eddie Betts' defensive pressure when in the Carlton FC.

I am really looking forward to seeing this guy play. Based on the weekend, would you say we are likely to see him in the seniors at any stage this year Gilly? Or more likely a project player?

Gilly1972
19th March 2007, 10:57
How quick is he? Are we talking Deledio/Lovett quick?

Sounds like he should sit down and have a good look at Eddie Betts' defensive pressure when in the Carlton FC.

I am really looking forward to seeing this guy play. Based on the weekend, would you say we are likely to see him in the seniors at any stage this year Gilly? Or more likely a project player?

I can't really answer that. I suspect he would be quicker over 100m than both of those players, perhaps not as quick over the frst 20. He has long legs and take big strides, not those quick steps and furious leg pumping like Judd, Deledio and Murph. That's why I think his best work might be out of a FP on a long lead, or on the wing where he can find space, or hit the ball at speed. I am surprised he wasn't drafted by a WA team as the wide spaces of their grounds would suit him to a T. Perhaps that is one factor that put Victorian clubs off drafting him?? I dont' know, but it will be their loss and our gain.

Like I said, it was his first hit-out and he had limited time and was obviously nursed through the game with his quad, so I am not going to make a judgement on this one game. When he plays a full game and if he shows more glimpses like he did last weekend and if we get some injuries later in the year then I just suspect it is a matter of where the coaches see him in the pecking order as far as making a debut for us later in the year. . (i.e. is Jake in front of him for a mid-tall forward spot, is Grigga in front of him as an attacking wingman).

I wouldn't call him a project player...his body is a good size already, his skills are fine (although his kicking might need a bit of work).

Gilly1972
3rd April 2007, 23:50
Quad is still presenting some troubles, restricted work in training and is still proabably a couple of weeks off playing for the Ants.

If anybody gets a chance take a look at Jarrad Oakley Nichols from richmond/Coburg Tigers to get a rough comparison (only we have the better model :D :thumbsu: )

Muji
4th April 2007, 16:04
and we go him with pick 52 aswell nice work blues saved us 44 picks :p

Gilly1972
23rd April 2007, 21:15
Thought I would bump my buddy back to the first page. Any of you looking for extra incentive to get along to the Bullants game this Saturday, I have it on good authority (thanks to my good authority ;) ), that Clint's quad is right to go and he should be playing for the Ants this weekend. Well worth the admission price i would say :thumbsu:

Jeremias
23rd April 2007, 21:36
Thought I would bump my buddy back to the first page. Any of you looking for extra incentive to get along to the Bullants game this Saturday, I have it on good authority (thanks to my good authority ;) ), that Clint's quad is right to go and he should be playing for the Ants this weekend. Well worth the admission price i would say :thumbsu:

Will he be playing for the Ants senior or reserve team?

I'd like to see him come through the reserves, make him really improve his game, and get rewarded each time he does. From the Bullants reserves, soon into the Bullants seniors, and maybe later in the season into the Carlton team.

Gilly1972
23rd April 2007, 22:02
Will he be playing for the Ants senior or reserve team?

I'd like to see him come through the reserves, make him really improve his game, and get rewarded each time he does. From the Bullants reserves, soon into the Bullants seniors, and maybe later in the season into the Carlton team.

I don't know. I would be very surprised if it was for the reserves. If you had seen Clint play the practice match earlier in the year, you would realise what a special athlete he is. Far too good for the Bullants reserves.

Homer Simpson for Lance
24th April 2007, 00:55
Clint is a super athlete who could have gone top 20 if his foot skills were good.
Unfortunately they are poor.

Hopefully it will gradually improve like Carrazzo, but was seen by recruiters as his big weakness

AndyWalkersGirl
25th April 2007, 14:07
Clint is a super athlete who could have gone top 20 if his foot skills were good.
Unfortunately they are poor.

Hopefully it will gradually improve like Carrazzo, but was seen by recruiters as his big weakness

Fortunately, foot skills can be worked on, athleticism cannot.

Lingsface
26th April 2007, 11:24
how did he go on weekend

Gilly1972
26th April 2007, 11:34
how did he go on weekend

He didn't play mate, this week he should get a game for than Ants. I would be there to give a report but unfortunately I will be in Sydney for work. I am hoping Bluegal or HBF will pick up the loose ball get and help me out.:thumbsu:

[ToTTi]
26th April 2007, 11:34
Fortunately, foot skills can be worked on, athleticism cannot.

Fish and Waitey might dispute that...

TheGeneral
26th April 2007, 11:36
how did he go on weekend
We had a bye in the VFL but he should line up this week with a bit luck. :thumbsu:

I'm looking forward to watching his debut. :)

The game is live to air on the ABC this week so you'll see the game replayed on ABC2 late next week if you have a set top box. :thumbsu:

TheGeneral
26th April 2007, 11:37
;7346755']Fish and Waitey might dispute that...
Walker, Carrazzo, Setanta and Ben Johnson would agree with that. ;) :thumbsu:

bluegal1983
26th April 2007, 12:33
how did he go on weekend

The Ants had a bye.

And yes Gilly, I will be there to pick up your work - slack :p

Gilly1972
26th April 2007, 13:10
The Ants had a bye.

And yes Gilly, I will be there to pick up your work - slack :p

Fair crack of the whip BG, I've been to every Ants game bar one (including practice matches) :p

bluegal1983
26th April 2007, 14:07
Fair crack of the whip BG, I've been to every Ants game bar one (including practice matches) :p

And I have been to every Bullants match excluding the practice matches. Have I let you down in the past with a match report? NOOOOOOOO :p

blues4flag
26th April 2007, 18:17
We had a bye in the VFL but he should line up this week with a bit luck. :thumbsu:

I'm looking forward to watching his debut. :)

The game is live to air on the ABC this week so you'll see the game replayed on ABC2 late next week if you have a set top box. :thumbsu:
Be good to see the youngsters. Not sure I can watch it this weekend, do you know when it's shown on ABC2?

bluegal1983
28th April 2007, 12:41

He isn't named in the senior line-up so must be playing reserves.

AndyWalkersGirl
28th April 2007, 12:51
;7346755']Fish and Waitey might dispute that...

Totti, Fish has been fantastic for us this year. To judge both he and waite on previous years, where they have been riddled with injures, have not had solid pre-seasons is unfair to them.

Have you not been watching teh games? Fish is going to be a huge loss... like Bentick and Walker, his skills have dramatically improved :thumbsu:

Waite - i'm not sure it's his foot skills that are the biggest problems - i think it's a lack of confidence at the moment because he is being moved around so much and has had no chance of actually finding his feet, getting settled in a position, gaining confidence. Confidence is a big thing when speaking of foot skills.

Look at Carrazzo - he is a perfect example - shocking in the past, heavily criticised, and this year, one of our best players, often hitting Fev laces out :)

marcmurphy3
28th April 2007, 14:16
Apparently Clinton kicked 4 for the bullants reserves.

AndyWalkersGirl
28th April 2007, 14:18
Apparently Clinton kicked 4 for the bullants reserves.

not bad for a HBFlanker :)

Good to hear we have some running goals going on somewhere within the Carlton fraternity :)

TheGeneral
28th April 2007, 15:48
I think we will get a game this year but Denis will probably put him behind the ball. :cool:

But he might be a frustrating player and inconsistent until he puts it all together like Walker. ;)

Did Gilly streak and run onto the ground?

2007 TRUenergy VFL Reserves

Northern Bullants 5.3 5.5 11.7 13.7 (85)
Werribee 5.2 12.4 14.7 19.13 (127)

GOALS:
Northern Bullants: Benjamin 4 Colbert 2 Moussi 2 Micevski Murray Jacobs Williams MacUla
Werribee: Lynch 6 Kennedy-Hunt 3 Batchelor 2 Hughes 2 Thompson 2 Eddy Penny Hill Chisholm

BEST:
Northern Bullants: Siciliano Micevski Raso Hocking Bransgrove Colbert
Werribee: Lynch Tiller Thompson Stack Hill Forster-Knight

Gilly1972
28th April 2007, 16:26
I think we will get a game this year but Denis will probably put him behind the ball. :cool:

But he might be a frustrating player and inconsistent until he puts it all together like Walker. ;)

Did Gilly streak and run onto the ground?

2007 TRUenergy VFL Reserves

Northern Bullants 5.3 5.5 11.7 13.7 (85)
Werribee 5.2 12.4 14.7 19.13 (127)

GOALS:
Northern Bullants: Benjamin 4 Colbert 2 Moussi 2 Micevski Murray Jacobs Williams MacUla
Werribee: Lynch 6 Kennedy-Hunt 3 Batchelor 2 Hughes 2 Thompson 2 Eddy Penny Hill Chisholm

BEST:
Northern Bullants: Siciliano Micevski Raso Hocking Bransgrove Colbert
Werribee: Lynch Tiller Thompson Stack Hill Forster-Knight

I started to then realised it might be a bit time consuming and futile from Sydney :rolleyes:

TheGeneral
28th April 2007, 16:47
I started to then realised it might be a bit time consuming and futile from Sydney :rolleyes:
I assumed you were at the game. ;)

marcmurphy3
28th April 2007, 17:31
Was anyone at the reserves game? If so, it'd be interesting to know how C.B played? What position was he in, did he get many touches, how was his ball use? I Was surprised he wasn't in the best after kicking 4 goals.

flankerfromsrilanka
29th April 2007, 14:49
Friend of mine went & said Benjamin only played 2 and a bit quarters (apparently they were scheduled). All of his goals came in the 3rd and were all running goals where he used his pace to gather the loose ball at half forward or wing and then sprint away to slot the ball through. Looked too good for VFL reserves according to my friend so hopefully we'll see him promoted to the Bullants seniors very soon.

marcmurphy3
29th April 2007, 16:24
Friend of mine went & said Benjamin only played 2 and a bit quarters (apparently they were scheduled). All of his goals came in the 3rd and were all running goals where he used his pace to gather the loose ball at half forward or wing and then sprint away to slot the ball through. Looked too good for VFL reserves according to my friend so hopefully we'll see him promoted to the Bullants seniors very soon.

Thanks alot. Did he say what position Benjamin was playing?

C4[2]Yo`DooR
29th April 2007, 19:10
Wierd to see Sam Jacobs not named amoungst the best in the Bullants ressies yesterday.

Considering he played Senior SANFL previously.

TheGeneral
29th April 2007, 20:21
I heard that Jacobs played CHF and not in the ruck. :thumbsd:

marcmurphy3
29th April 2007, 20:21
Yo`DooR;7380324']Wierd to see Sam Jacobs not named amoungst the best in the Bullants ressies yesterday.

Considering he played Senior SANFL previously.

Maybe it's because they didn't play full games?

TheGeneral
29th April 2007, 23:17
Be good to see the youngsters. Not sure I can watch it this weekend, do you know when it's shown on ABC2?
11 PM Wednesday night. :(

Gilly1972
5th May 2007, 21:07
For all the Ants watchers, just heard that Clint hurt his groin at training on Friday and won't be playing tomorrow :thumbsd:

I think he has been hit by the soft tissue curse :(

AndyWalkersGirl
5th May 2007, 21:21
For all the Ants watchers, just heard that Clint hurt his groin at training on Friday and won't be playing tomorrow :thumbsd:

oh no :(

[ToTTi]
5th May 2007, 21:58

****!

blues4flag
6th May 2007, 10:57
Man, is that bad news, after just returning. :( Hopefully it's nothing too serious.

AndyWalkersGirl
6th May 2007, 12:56
Gilly, Did you find out whether it's been something that has affected him throughout his footy, or whether it's just a new thing?

Gilly1972
7th May 2007, 11:58
Gilly, Did you find out whether it's been something that has affected him throughout his footy, or whether it's just a new thing?

AWG, I'm not sure.

peter1979
7th May 2007, 16:44
benjamin is faster than lovett, and so is griggs when we try him after he gets back from injuries, so look forward to great times ahead at bluesland

reesd
8th May 2007, 09:00
played school footy with clint.. one word- freak. his trademark was pickin up a loose ball on the wing or playing on.. cruising past players and slotting them from outside 50m.
impossible to catch, just so fast and agile.
give him time and his skills will be up to scratch.
and he is committed as well..

AndyWalkersGirl
9th May 2007, 20:08
played school footy with clint.. one word- freak. his trademark was pickin up a loose ball on the wing or playing on.. cruising past players and slotting them from outside 50m.
impossible to catch, just so fast and agile.
give him time and his skills will be up to scratch.
and he is committed as well..

Great to hear, thanks Reesd!

reesd
10th May 2007, 05:01
thats me roving clint.. in that pic on the first page. back in teh school days haha

Gilly1972
12th May 2007, 18:50
Apparently Clint went alright today, kicking 3 goals. I was off watching the Vic Metro U18 trial game so I didn't see it, but will review the tape and post a write-up later :thumbsu:

AndyWalkersGirl
12th May 2007, 18:55
Apparently Clint went alright today, kicking 3 goals. I was off watching the Vic Metro U18 trial game so I didn't see it, but will review the tape and post a write-up later :thumbsu:

Thanks Gilly, i look forward to reading it. Has he got a bit of hardness in him?

Gilly1972
12th May 2007, 21:02
Thanks Gilly, i look forward to reading it. Has he got a bit of hardness in him?

AWG, IMO that is one aspect of his game (other than his kicking) which he can work on, confidence and hardness as far as the defensive side of his game is concerned. They are not bad, just not the strongest part of his game.

Gilly1972
13th May 2007, 01:01
Great first up game from Clint. Knows where to run to find the ball, good engine and blistering pace. 3.5 quarter effort, understandably ran out of legs and cramped up towards the end, but it was a hot day and has been lacking some game time.

Q1: 4K, 5HB, 2M, 0T, 1G, 2B
Q2: 5K, 1HB, 1M, 1T, 1G, 0B
Q3: 4K, 1HB, 2M, 0T, 1G, 0B
Q4: 2K, 1HB, 1M, 0T, 0G, 1B

T: 15K, 8HB, 6M, 1T, 3G, 3B

Will write up more tomorrow, is too late and I have watched too much footy today :eek:

The Grover
13th May 2007, 07:17
watched all the game last night, he was the standout in that match.

If there are no concerns with his body, I would play him next week.

He could play as a half forward replacing Young or Lappin.

marcmurphy3
13th May 2007, 13:51
Did Benjamin use his pace much around the ground?

Gilly1972
13th May 2007, 17:33
Did Benjamin use his pace much around the ground?

If you mean defensive running and pressure like Aaron Davey then not really, this is a side of his game he can wrok on IMO. If you mean using his pace to run off his opponent and find the ball in space then yes. there was one passage of play where he took the ball in the middle of the ground and hit (IIRC) Hammo by foot at HF, then continued to sprint into the forward line and receive the kick from Hammo again. That kind of running is exciting. He also looks most damaging when he receives the ball at pace, barely breaking stride. Doing that he would virtually be uncatchable by anybody at AFL level. :thumbsu:

bLuEbOy1984
14th May 2007, 21:19
i am really excited about this boy.. hope he can get into th senior team and make a name for himself

reesd
15th May 2007, 04:03
what position have they got clint playing for the bullants??

Gilly1972
15th May 2007, 10:52
He started on a HFF, but mostly seemed to play as an extra midfielder between HF and HB, pushing forward when he could. I think that actually is a pretty good role for him, use his pace and athleticism to link up on the wing or through the middle of the ground then charge forward to use his leap and marking ability as another forward option.

marcmurphy3
15th May 2007, 16:59
Did Clint kick any good goals on the run? Also were his misses easy shots? Does he look like he could be a good finisher?

Gilly1972
15th May 2007, 17:07
Did Clint kick any good goals on the run? Also were his misses easy shots? Does he look like he could be a good finisher?

Now you are stretching my memory. IIRC one was on the run but 30m out directly in front. I think the others might have been from set shots. One of the misses was him just banging the ball onto his boot and dribbling it from the boundary line so unless you are Daicos I wouldn't expect him to kick it, but I really can't recall to be honest. As far as being a good set shot, I think this is something he knows needs work and will work on it. He will never be a Fev or Brad Green, but I don't think he will suffer from Fisher/Riewoldt type yips, but who knows. As others have pointed out he has a somewhat unusual kicking action where he seems to lift the ball up above his waist with both hands before dropping it onto the boot.

Lingsface
16th May 2007, 11:30
was with clint last night he is looking pretty big he is going to be amonster in a few pre seasons.

Gilly1972
16th May 2007, 11:57
was with clint last night he is looking pretty big he is going to be amonster in a few pre seasons.

Yup has the perfect physique for the game. Was sitting a couple of rows behind him at the Bullants v Port game (second last game) and was tempted to go introduce myself as his "BF Buddy", but I hear he is a quiet lad and I didn't want to freak him out :eek:

Lingsface
16th May 2007, 16:28
Yup has the perfect physique for the game. Was sitting a couple of rows behind him at the Bullants v Port game (second last game) and was tempted to go introduce myself as his "BF Buddy", but I hear he is a quiet lad and I didn't want to freak him out :eek:

you should hes a funny guy, and use to read a bit of big footy.

Gilly1972
16th May 2007, 16:44
you should hes a funny guy, and use to read a bit of big footy.

Oh god, i hope i didn't give him any bad press pre-draft last year :eek: .

In fact IIRC I picked him up for Melbourne at #30 in the BF phantom draft.

TheGeneral
17th May 2007, 14:20
CB needs at least another month in the VFL before he gets a game in the seniors. His kicking would have the trolls on the main board comparing Walker to Darren Jarman.

One of his goals was Digby's from a set shot right out in front, whilst the another was from a good kick near where Hampson kicked that goal on the boundary line.

But further in.

I think he ran into an open goal square to kick his third goal. :confused:

I wasn't that impressed given the hype but he's a project player and an athlete learning the game.

Gilly1972
17th May 2007, 14:37
CB needs at least another month in the VFL before he gets a game in the seniors. His kicking would have the trolls on the main board comparing Walker to Darren Jarman.

One of his goals was Digby's from a set shot right out in front, whilst the another was from a good kick near where Hampson kicked that goal on the boundary line.

But further in.

I think he ran into an open goal square to kick his third goal. :confused:

I wasn't that impressed given the hype but he's a project player and an athlete learning the game.

Some people are flowering hard to please :mad:

TheGeneral
17th May 2007, 14:40
Some people are flowering hard to please :mad:
I'm not flowering! :D :confused:

I'm not his buddy or his buddy poster. ;) :cool:

Staaar_Blue
17th January 2008, 17:59
How has Clinton been going at training? Anyone keeping an eye on him or have a fair idea of how he is travelling? I am a benji fan and believe he has what it takes to be a great player for our developing squad. Unfortunately I have not seen training this pre season but have seen pics of him in awesome condition. :thumbsu:

C4[2]Yo`DooR
17th January 2008, 18:01
How has Clinton been going at training? Anyone keeping an eye on him or have a fair idea of how he is travelling? I am a benji fan and believe he has what it takes to be a great player for our developing squad. Unfortunately I have not seen training this pre season but have seen pics of him in awesome condition. :thumbsu:
Meh ... he's alright

Blueinblood
17th January 2008, 19:39
Yo`DooR;9888809']Meh ... he's alright
he looks fit. I think he could be ready to play seniors by about rd 5 or 6 if he is going well....i think he will be used as a wingamn

C4[2]Yo`DooR
17th January 2008, 20:06
he looks fit. I think he could be ready to play seniors by about rd 5 or 6 if he is going well....i think he will be used as a wingamn
Thats all well and good, but we're still overlooking the fact that he just simply cannot kick. :(

blues4flag
17th January 2008, 23:16
Yo`DooR;9889840']Thats all well and good, but we're still overlooking the fact that he just simply cannot kick. :(

Yep. He's got to significantly improve on his disposal if he's any chance.

Gilly1972
18th January 2008, 09:08
Yep. He's got to significantly improve on his disposal if he's any chance.

Seen Clinton a few times at training this year. Pleased to report his field kicking seems to have improved considerably. Still prone to spraying or over-kicking a few, but on the whole he is looking a lot more sound.......we need to get him with the boxing gloves on and develop a bit of mongrel now :):thumbsu:

recently blue
16th February 2008, 07:04
Looks OK to me....

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh262/recently_blue_oz/CFC3Jan2008037.jpg

Brad Pearce
16th February 2008, 08:41
Looks OK to me....

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh262/recently_blue_oz/CFC3Jan2008037.jpg
Looks like he ****ed that kick up hard to me

Bluebear
30th June 2008, 13:28
Just wondering if CB's buddy could make some comments on his year to date.

SuperDude
7th July 2008, 00:24
Watch him play for WA in 2006 U-18 Champs and looked really good at FB

Gilly1972
7th July 2008, 14:51
Just wondering if CB's buddy could make some comments on his year to date.

I'm not his buddy this year, been too busy to get to many Ants games this year.

one_twelve112
21st August 2008, 12:54
What is going on with Benjamin? I do realise he has spent quite some time on the injury list this year, but is he coming along as well as hoped or has his developement stalled to the point he may be delisted?

If I remember correctly, he was considered one of the 'steals' of the draft at such a late pick...

4th Tier
21st August 2008, 17:38
Hamstring at the moment.

Didnt play last weekend.

Been playing reserves up until then, and hasnt played a league match since round 10.

Will he get delisted...?

What are the chances of him being rookie listed by Carlton or re-drafted?