View Full Version : 23. Adam Hartlett

Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:27
This thread is to discuss Adam Hartlett.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

Muji
6th April 2007, 16:29
Good youngster whom I rate, hopefully will be in our best 22 by the end of the season, and get over his injury worries which have been a nightmare for him in the past.

Has a big kick on him and wouldn't mind seeing him play down back or up forward, but we'd be a bit too top heavy then. WILL BE A GUN! Just very unlucky with injuries.

Bluebear
7th April 2007, 16:12
Good youngster whom I rate, hopefully will be in our best 22 by the end of the season, and get over his injury worries which have been a nightmare for him in the past.

Has a big kick on him and wouldn't mind seeing him play down back or up forward, but we'd be a bit too top heavy then. WILL BE A GUN! Just very unlucky with injuries.

Would be great to see him get some confidence in the two's. He will wait to replace a tall in the case of injury, but would be good if he could force his selection with some form with the Ants.
Starting to give us some depth.:thumbsu:

bLuEbOy1984
17th May 2007, 13:42
i saw his game, was very impressed with his game, thought he read the play really well, his not scared either, he doesnt like getting pushed around and if anyone does he doesnt backdown, nice booming kick, only really worry was his disposal when under pressure he just seemed to put it on the boot and kick it as far as he could... other than that he was a delight to watch

Bluebear
17th May 2007, 14:01
i saw his game, was very impressed with his game, thought he read the play really well, his not scared either, he doesnt like getting pushed around and if anyone does he doesnt backdown, nice booming kick, only really worry was his disposal when under pressure he just seemed to put it on the boot and kick it as far as he could... other than that he was a delight to watch

Thats a concern. In the seniors he will have heaps more pressure, far less time.
Still waiting for him to dominate the VFL, he needs to start repaying the faith shown in him through his injuries. I'm hoping for a very solid second half of the season, big uninjured pre-season, then pushing very hard for selection next year.........will only get selected this season (in his current form) if several players get injured at once (Thornton, Waite, Fisher, Whitnall).
Having said that Bower will want to produce something this week (if he isn't dropped for Blackwell or Thornton).

Jeremias
17th May 2007, 16:04
Thats a concern. In the seniors he will have heaps more pressure, far less time.
Still waiting for him to dominate the VFL, he needs to start repaying the faith shown in him through his injuries. I'm hoping for a very solid second half of the season, big uninjured pre-season, then pushing very hard for selection next year.........will only get selected this season (in his current form) if several players get injured at once (Thornton, Waite, Fisher, Whitnall).
Having said that Bower will want to produce something this week (if he isn't dropped for Blackwell or Thornton).

I'm not too concerned about that-I watched the game and I only saw it happen once, and it wasn't Adam's fault. The ball came to him (don't remember if it was kicked or handballed to him) and he was under immense pressure from an opponent, and really had no other option besides to bomb it long, because he didn't want to give a free away.

Harts played very well and would be close to senior selection. Just needs to put in a few more solid performances before he gets a game with the Blues. He is tough at it, and it's great to see that his injuries haven't hampered his long kicking-his goal was an absolute beauty.

[ToTTi]
17th May 2007, 21:57
Harts played very well and would be close to senior selection. Just needs to put in a few more solid performances before he gets a game with the Blues. He is tough at it, and it's great to see that his injuries haven't hampered his long kicking-his goal was an absolute beauty.

Have to agree with that. It was the first full Bullants game I watched last night and whilst Hartlett is dominating like I wanted him to he didn't do too much wrong. Seems pretty composed, is a fair unit, bit of mongrel, can take a grab and is versatile. Definitely should be close to senior selection :thumbsu:

Bluebear
18th May 2007, 17:48
I liked what I saw in the pre-season, but if JK goes back and does really well for a couple of weeks you can't see Harts getting in the queue ahead of him.

[ToTTi]
23rd May 2007, 20:39
Very happy he gets his chance this Saturday. I hope he proves he will make it, and I hope this isn't the debut where he spends 20 minutes on the field and 100 minutes on the pine.

Good luck Harts.

blues4flag
23rd May 2007, 21:45
;7618462']Very happy he gets his chance this Saturday. I hope he proves he will make it, and I hope this isn't the debut where he spends 20 minutes on the field and 100 minutes on the pine.

Good luck Harts.

That news to me, good to hear. Hopefully he makes the most of the opportunity.

Bluebear
24th May 2007, 00:31
Has had a lucky break IMO.....but I really hope he makes the most of it.
FWIW I liked what I saw pre-season, just hope he brings his A-game with him on Sat.....and not his Ants game.

Good luck Harts.:thumbsu:

Might just give JK a kick in the pants to compete for his spot too......can't hurt.:)

[ToTTi]
26th May 2007, 18:38
Besides his early fumble (nerves, big stage etc), I thought Harts looked good in his limited game time. Tackling was excellent, and did a few good things. I hope he is persisted with.

Blues_Man
26th May 2007, 19:10
;7642941']Besides his early fumble (nerves, big stage etc), I thought Harts looked good in his limited game time. Tackling was excellent, and did a few good things. I hope he is persisted with.

I thought he was very very ordinary ( apart from one tackle) He is obviously not ready to play at this level just yet .

Bluebear
28th May 2007, 14:01
Laid a superb tackle to keep us in the game.
Should have won a free kick vs Welsh for a more blatant shove in the back than Richo's..........bottom sides always get screwed.

Needs to be persisted with but may get the arse in favour of some midfield legs for the dogs match.

TheGeneral
5th June 2007, 00:36
Hopefully we persist with him and give him another two years to prove himself given the injuries he's had and the fact KPP take longer.

I hope Adam can repeat the efforts of Hawthorn's Tim Boyle who had two broken legs early in his career and played good footy after playing just the two games last year. Hartlett has the size, skill, aggression and marking ability to make it and might develop into the goalkicker we need to complement Fev.

Adam is definitely a better kick than Waite and Fisher if you look at the distance he can kick, but lacks their speed and athleticism which makes them so hard to match up on.

His debut wasn't as bad as Bluesman said.

He looked OK after a nervous start which is only natural unless you're a freak like Bryce and Marc.

That tackle was brilliant for a man that big.

[ToTTi]
5th June 2007, 16:34
Hopefully we persist with him and give him another two years to prove himself given the injuries he's had and the fact KPP take longer.

I hope Adam can repeat the efforts of Hawthorn's Tim Boyle who had two broken legs early in his career and played good footy after playing just the two games last year. Hartlett has the size, skill, aggression and marking ability to make it and might develop into the goalkicker we need to complement Fev.

Adam is definitely a better kick than Waite and Fisher if you look at the distance he can kick, but lacks their speed and athleticism which makes them so hard to match up on.

His debut wasn't as bad as Bluesman said.

He looked OK after a nervous start which is only natural unless you're a freak like Bryce and Marc.

That tackle was brilliant for a man that big.

Exactly, one bad mistake due to nerves, but when he was on late he was good I thought, given my expectations. Hope he gets another chance soon.

the_berger
23rd February 2008, 16:24
hows he been lately?

Bluebear
24th February 2008, 07:40
Played well in South Africa vs Freo but........again......pulled up with a Hammy at training before the Port game last week.

Was in the squad for last night but obviously needs to get some fitness back. Played with the Bullants and kicked 4 goals in a half.

I have my doubts as to whether he will ever be fit enough to play a full season......I hope I'm wrong.

marcmurphy3
8th March 2008, 13:34
My new buddy.

Really hoping he can stay fit and firing thi season and play 22 games. Has had a good pre-season after a shaky start. Kicked 4 in SA and 4 in a half for the Ants 2 weeks later. Then against WC while not named in the best he did kick and goal and the commentators made refference to his good work.

Yesterday in the intra club game he played CHF and lead up the ground well. Someone on TC mentioned that he took 9 marks and kicked a goal (45 out froma tight angle). Can anyone confirm if with respect to the marks that this is around abouts right? If so this a really good effort and exactly what we need from him.

Based on the attributes he has I'm really hoping he can start round 1 at CHF and hold that position throughout the year with no injuries.:thumbsu:

bloods01
8th March 2008, 13:36
Can you see him holding down CHF?

marcmurphy3
8th March 2008, 13:37
Can you see him holding down CHF?

Yeah I can and so can many other Blues supporters but obviuosly nothing is set in stone. Should play round 1 and will be interesting to see how he goes.

bloods01
8th March 2008, 13:40
Yeah I can and so can many other Blues supporters but obviuosly nothing is set in stone. Should play round 1 and will be interesting to see how he goes.

He looks a steal in both DT and SC. :thumbsu:

marcmurphy3
8th March 2008, 14:20
He looks a steal in both DT and SC. :thumbsu:

Could be but I'd be cautious of starting him.

Jeremias
13th March 2008, 07:31
I wouldn't take the risk on picking Hartlett in either SC or DT.

If fit will be a very valuable player for the Blues on the field but I don't think he's the type of player that will score consistently well.

Will play his fair share of games this year I would have thought, and will be given every opportunity to make CHF his own. If, and it's a big if, he remains injury free, I think he'll make it.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
13th March 2008, 07:39
Hartlett has had to change his running style to prevent him from ripping his hamstrings again.

Watching him last Friday, it was good to see him sprint with his head down, taking short steps.

Bluebear
13th March 2008, 10:38
Got through the season launch uninjured.........baby steps Harts.......baby steps.

TheGeneral
20th March 2008, 23:29
Acted like a ******** when he cost us alot of momentum and concentration by wacking Howat off the ball to fire the Tigers up. He looked fired up and at least has white line fever, but needs to re-direct his anger into his game and not playing the man.

blues4flag
20th March 2008, 23:52
Acted like a ******** when he cost us alot of momentum and concentration by wacking Howat off the ball to fire the Tigers up. He looked fired up and at least has white line fever, but needs to re-direct his anger into his game and not playing the man.
Was at the game but don't remember the incident - when did it happen and where?

Staaar_Blue
22nd March 2008, 18:05
I like the aggressive look of this guy but am wondering why he has not developed a physically imposing body. Is it because of his injuries? I would expect him to have a stronger upper body and be more imposing in the forward 50. It looks though from the weekend that he tried playing fishers role and looked horrible. Cannot see him in the side for much longer unless he supports fev inside 50. Thoughts?

marcmurphy3
24th March 2008, 16:15
I like the aggressive look of this guy but am wondering why he has not developed a physically imposing body. Is it because of his injuries? I would expect him to have a stronger upper body and be more imposing in the forward 50. It looks though from the weekend that he tried playing fishers role and looked horrible. Cannot see him in the side for much longer unless he supports fev inside 50. Thoughts?

Yeah. Apparently he slimed down a bit so as to help his troubling hamstrings.

Bluebear
25th March 2008, 19:45
I thought he should have played Edwards role inside 50, and Edwards play up the ground more.

Jeremias
25th March 2008, 19:53
Has accepted a 2 match suspension and therefore won't be available until round 4.

A shame really as the CHF position was his to claim until a silly act of frustration ultimately cost him.

Didn't do enough on Thursday so will need to work his way back through the Bullants.

Kmasn
25th March 2008, 22:31
in a team with a shortage of major key position talent, i think how far hartlett progresses will have a major bareing on how quickly carlton can rise back to the top.

to me theres a lot of ashley hansen about him, taken 2nd round in a draft that has seen a lot of players develop much quicker then him, and spent a majority of his first 2 years injured. hansen is no star, but i think the fact he has a rediculously large winning percentage when he plays shows how important his role is in a team wiht an elite midfield, which carlton should hopefully have in the not too distant future.

if he can develop into a lead up chf, having 15 odd posessions, around 7 marks, and kicking 1-2 goals every week once hes fully developed, i think he'll be a very important player to our structure. however if he fails to ever make the grade, we'll probably have to look to the draft to find someone else to fill that position, thus setting us back another few years

eugene_tomas
28th March 2008, 12:24
so u blue supporters dnt rekon he will be back in seniors straight away after suspension??

Bluebear
28th March 2008, 12:27
so u blue supporters dnt rekon he will be back in seniors straight away after suspension??
Depends on Edwards form in the next two weeks. With Fisher and Edwards playing similar games HArts gives us something different, so if Jake can't put some runs on the board I'd expect Harts to come in for him.

Kreuzer also likely to return next week as a forward, so getting a bit tall with all of them in the side.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
28th March 2008, 13:27
IMHO.

Pavlich > Hartlett.

Pav has a better all round game.

Bluebear
28th March 2008, 13:49
Yo`DooR;10463007']IMHO.

Pavlich > Hartlett.

Pav has a better all round game.
Pfft......what would you know.:cool:

marcmurphy3
30th March 2008, 23:28
Apparently kicked 5 and gave off 5 in the Ants reserves today.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
31st March 2008, 09:23
Gave off 5 goals? or gave out 5 whacks ? :D

TheGeneral
2nd April 2008, 22:48
Straight back in.

marcmurphy3
18th April 2008, 16:48
4 goals and 9 marks in the VFL on the weekend. Got praise from Teague and in the extended squad. Hopefully will come in for O'hAilpin.

Jeremias
18th April 2008, 18:07
Final team is in and he's an emergency.

He's right on the cusp of selection so hopefully he plays well for the Ants tomorrow and forces his way into the side.

Silky
27th May 2008, 11:25
Has Adam gone to Germany for his hammies?

Hes a mate of a mate and I was just wondering what is going on with him. He was due back last week and there was no sign of him.

Do you guys think he will break back into the senior side later this year? He showed promise in the games he played in and i believe is a better prospect than Wiggins,

My ideal Carlton fwd line:

Pfeiffer Fisher Houlihan (Gun footballer, i know hes soft but he can play)

Betts Fevola Hartlett

This forward line incorporates height, speed, toughness and delivery, as well as a coleman medallist

Bluebear
27th May 2008, 15:42
Has Adam gone to Germany for his hammies?

Hes a mate of a mate and I was just wondering what is going on with him. He was due back last week and there was no sign of him.

Do you guys think he will break back into the senior side later this year? He showed promise in the games he played in and i believe is a better prospect than Wiggins,

My ideal Carlton fwd line:

Pfeiffer Fisher Houlihan (Gun footballer, i know hes soft but he can play)

Betts Fevola Hartlett

This forward line incorporates height, speed, toughness and delivery, as well as a coleman medallist

Take the injuries out and you are right. He is a better prospect than Wiggins.

Sadly for Harts, his running technique lacks a lot of stability around the pelvis, and its something that you can improve, but not generally fix altogether. He will always have hamstring problems IMO.

Hence, anyone is a better prospect.
Will be traded or delisted when the current contract expires.:(

SpiritR
28th May 2008, 19:25
Anyone know if he's fully fit now,is he playng in the Ants on the weekend?

Id love to see him string together a few games without injury!

sebely62
29th May 2008, 14:38
Anyone know if he's fully fit now,is he playng in the Ants on the weekend?

Id love to see him string together a few games without injury!

He did run around in the two's last week, I watched the game at Sandy and seen a bit of his footy over the past 3 seasons ( when his not injured ).

He got a few touches last week but with Hampson, Cloke & Kruze playing and Fisher & Fev up forward there no place for him in the best 22.

Our bacline will develop with jarrod, jamo, thornton and bowser with 1AW due back in 4 weeks.

Trade him at seasons end for a draft pick round 3 or 4 and take another kid.

Staaar_Blue
4th June 2008, 18:25
Honestly can people who are able to see this bloke play in the VFL give an opinion on how he is going and whether he is progressing? I live in Adelaide for the record and do not post on here much but am always on here checking on whats going on (for those who care haha). I am a West Adelaide boy and saw him play and have seen his brother play and I am telling people from what I have seen take place in ADELAIDE (adam playing back in the day and his brother now) I think these two brothers could stand up to become one of the well known families of the next decade. Adam has to be sent to Germany if his hammies are not allowin him to play cause if he can get half a season together from what I saw he would be great. This is going on what I saw a few yrs ago though. Plz peoples thoughts. We need a CHF so bad and for those thinkin kreuzer and cloke will do it....I don't think so if we are going to win a premiership in the next 5 yrs.

Bluebear
4th June 2008, 18:57
Honestly can people who are able to see this bloke play in the VFL give an opinion on how he is going and whether he is progressing? I live in Adelaide for the record and do not post on here much but am always on here checking on whats going on (for those who care haha). I am a West Adelaide boy and saw him play and have seen his brother play and I am telling people from what I have seen take place in ADELAIDE (adam playing back in the day and his brother now) I think these two brothers could stand up to become one of the well known families of the next decade. Adam has to be sent to Germany if his hammies are not allowin him to play cause if he can get half a season together from what I saw he would be great. This is going on what I saw a few yrs ago though. Plz peoples thoughts. We need a CHF so bad and for those thinkin kreuzer and cloke will do it....I don't think so if we are going to win a premiership in the next 5 yrs.

Send him to Germany?

Lets wait and see if the "miracle" cure works first.

For the record the Geelong Doc wasn't convinced it speeded up Rooke's recovery, and Goghlan is still two weeks away, making it a fairly standard time frame for a bad hammy.

Harts has severe stability issues with his running technique around his pelvis.
That can only be changed so much.

I agree that, barring injuries, he could be a very good player......hence we took him where we did. He obviously had potential as a junior.

His body, along with many others along the way just doesn't appear to be up to the rigours of AFL.

Staaar_Blue
5th June 2008, 22:52
I have not heard of this instability around his pelvis affecting his running technique and balance???

Bluebear
6th June 2008, 16:08
I have not heard of this instability around his pelvis affecting his running technique and balance???

Was more an observation of his gait, putting that together with his reccurrent problems.

It's what I do for a living.

Blue Dimension
6th June 2008, 16:32
Send him to Germany?

Lets wait and see if the "miracle" cure works first.

For the record the Geelong Doc wasn't convinced it speeded up Rooke's recovery, and Goghlan is still two weeks away, making it a fairly standard time frame for a bad hammy.

Harts has severe stability issues with his running technique around his pelvis.
That can only be changed so much.

I agree that, barring injuries, he could be a very good player......hence we took him where we did. He obviously had potential as a junior.

His body, along with many others along the way just doesn't appear to be up to the rigours of AFL.

We won't have time to wait if he's delisted at years end.

Need to get him right now. Unless the CFC intend on keeping him on for another year. Although i doubt that after he was only given a 1 year contract in the off season.

Bluebear
6th June 2008, 19:05

Need to get him right now. Unless the CFC intend on keeping him on for another year. Although i doubt that after he was only given a 1 year contract in the off season.

So he goes to Germany now.

Has the injections, needs to rehab anyway.........still about 3-4 weeks away.

Probably puts him further back than he is right now.......and has it fixed the underlying problem?

What's the 12 month and 2 year follow up data like?

Rooke is still in and out of the Cats team...........with soreness?
Coughlan yet to play.

I love the idea of miracle cures, but when you run, and your pelvis bounces around all over the place, it doesn't matter what you inject into your hammies.....they don't have a solid platform to work off.

A bit like a crane trying to lift a load without its base being anchored.......and what we are discussing here is who should drive the crane........doesn't matter when the base is unstable.:rolleyes:

SpiritR
15th June 2008, 20:59
He had a very good game in the Ants yesterday.Apparently Teague said he will be back for the blues soon,hopefully he can make it back and string together a few games injury free.

Bluebear
16th June 2008, 09:33

Coughlan still yet to play for either Tiges or Coburg, and still a couple away.
The miracle hasn't happened........he is just doing a hammy rehab.