View Full Version : 30. Jarrad Waite - blues4flag

Pages : [1] 2

Jeremias
21 Feb 2007, 20:31
This thread is to discuss Jarrad Waite.

It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.

blues4flag
3 Mar 2007, 08:23
Fortunate enough to pick up Waite in the Buddy Draft, looks set for a big and definitely interesting year. Interested to see how he goes at half back, did great in his first game there on Lucas and hopefully he matches up on Franklin today, definitely my most anticipated match up of the game. After never living up to the high hopes of Blues fans at CHF, hopefully he can make CHB his own and have a great season there for the Blues.

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Mar 2007, 08:31
We all know he has the athletic ability to be a champion of the game. Whether he pulls it off or not is up to him and his commitment. An injury free preseason has given him his best shot in ages. Waitey is our ace up the sleeve.

blues4flag
3 Mar 2007, 18:56
Thought he had the better of Franklin tonight. Franklin got two goals early in the first quarter, but after that had few touches of the footy and only managed one goal. Neither of the two had good disposal around the ground, with Waite wasting quite a few of possessions, however his attacking style is very exciting, and if he can get his kicking right he will be dangerous. Still, needs more gametime in defense to get comfortable there, but it seems to be a position that suits him and he will hurt opposition sides with his rebound, if he can dispose of the ball reasonably.

gandaal
4 Mar 2007, 16:15
Just thought I'd mention that Waite was Man of the Match in round 1 of the NAB Cup playing at CHB and kept Scott Lucas to one supergoal for the night.

For historical purposes or whatever.

blues4flag
10 Mar 2007, 21:46
Jarrad Waite was very good today, and his skills were a big improvement over last week. Provided alot of run out of defense, his five bounce run was great to watch. Played on Leigh Brown early and demonlished him and went forward towards the end of the match where he did some good things. Keep him at defense, move him forward when needed. A versatile player, and, barring injury he looks set to have his biggest season yet and really prove that he can be a very, very good footballer.

blues4flag
1 Apr 2007, 20:27
Good game by Waite tonight. Was probably beaten early in defense, but went forward late into the match and kicked 2 goals, including a beauty five metres in from the boundary. We needed another target up forward late in the game and it was Waite, along with Fisher, who provided that, and I thought Waite played a large role in our turnaround. He's a very valuable player to have, similar to Adam Hunter, in that he can go forward and back when needed. Definitely looks set for a big season, if he can stay injury-free, he will have his best season to date.

Jeremias
1 Apr 2007, 20:53
:mad: :thumbsd:

JARRAD WAITE IS NOT A DEFENDER!!!

blues4flag
1 Apr 2007, 21:19

He's played a couple good games in defense, and will continue to improve there. Looks like the club is going to persevere with him there, and with more experience at CHB should be very good. Still, I'm sure he won't be confined to defense - will be moved forward as he was tonight when needed, which gives us a great backup plan when we need a spark up forward.

XXX KINGS
2 Apr 2007, 00:53
Waite can definately be our Adam Hunter.

Bluebear
2 Apr 2007, 14:02

Scott Lucas and Buddy Franklin would tend to disagree.

He is a utility - he will go where the match ups dictate.:thumbsu:

blues4flag
23 Apr 2007, 16:22
Was quite yesterday, as he's been for the last couple games. Had ten touches and kicked a behind (was a goal, but he was robbed :mad: ). Don't remember who he played on early - might have been Hansen, if I recall, but was moved forward after being beat (as would almost anyone with the amount of pressure on our defenders in the first q). Didn't have an impact up forward. Ordinary start to the season, however he'll improve with more time down back, though should spend a bit of time up forward depending on the matches, especially with Fisher's injury and Whitnall jumping between defense and forward to find form.

AndyWalkersGirl
28 Apr 2007, 12:03
He is such a passionate player and would do anything for this club. I remember hearing an interview with him during the pre-season, and he spoke so well and so highly of everyone involved with the team.

Also found this article of when he played after he just lost his dad.

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2003/07/06/1057430076893.html

Interesting to note that he was playing as a wingman and doing well there! :)

blues4flag
28 Apr 2007, 23:51
I'm starting to worry about Waite. He was good in the first half, cut of some leads and took some marks, but his decision making, particularly in the second half was horrible. He doesn't use the ball well and doesn't make right decisions when he does use it. I don't know if it's a lack of confidence or him just trying to adjust to playing so far up the ground, but whatever it is, he's gotta improve it as him turning it over, particularly in the defensive half, is far too detrimental.

Jeremias
29 Apr 2007, 12:54
Played the worst game I remember seeing from him-he was absolutely terrible.

If you ever need evidence that Waite is not a defender, go and watch last night's game.

Error after error, turnover after turnover-he just doesn't have the smarts to play down back. He needs to either move much further up the ground or play for the Bullants.

He is really lacking in confidence, and getting beaten week in, week out, in an unnatural position for him is NOT the way to get the confidence back.

TheGeneral
30 Apr 2007, 00:14
Cold, colder, coldest. :mad:

18 disposals - 14 kicks, 6 marks - 3 contested, 1 inside 50, three tackles, zero spoils, 2 bounces, 1 critical error, 2 FF, 2 FA, 2 clearances.

The Grover
30 Apr 2007, 13:12
7 Clangers

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
30 Apr 2007, 21:59
used to love waite. has so much potential i reckon. but seriously, he's lost it lately. really needs to step up and make better decisions. i just want him to settle down in a spot. either CHF or CHB whatever, just let him get settled

BlueWorld
30 Apr 2007, 23:55
7 Clangers

and 3 were in the space of a minute.

blues4flag
5 May 2007, 00:25
After a horribly horrid week last week, he's come out with his best game in defense. He was fantastic tonight, thrashed Reiwoldt. Must have had atleast half a dozen spoils - Nick I don't think took a mark inside 50. With games like this, you begin to hope that maybe Waite can make it at CHB - his problem is his consistency, if he can perform at his best most weeks, then he's got the speed, size and athleticism to be a very good defender. His disposal is poor, that definitely needs to improve - hopefully with more experience playing in defense it will improve.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
5 May 2007, 11:53
omg jarrad bloody awsome!!! Dennis, leave him at CHB! if he's having a poor game, keep him in defense. let the kid learn. he has so much potential, let him settle into his position. well done jarrad, great stuff

The Old Dark Navy's
5 May 2007, 20:26
Nice job Waitey!

bexta444
8 May 2007, 20:59
Sensational on Friday night keeping Riewoldt to 15 touches & 1 goal!
Good on him, I hope those negative Blues supporters out there were taking notice!!!

Blues_Man
12 May 2007, 19:03
Too many brain fades ..and seems very selfish ...too inconsistent by far from Waite

Jeremias
12 May 2007, 19:06
Once again showing that he is definitely not a defender

blues4flag
13 May 2007, 11:27
Up and down as always...But to be expected from a guy playing his seventh game in defense. Persist with him down back, he'll make progress and could be a very good defender as he showed last week.

Bluebear
15 May 2007, 14:19
Up and down as always...But to be expected from a guy playing his seventh game in defense. Persist with him down back, he'll make progress and could be a very good defender as he showed last week.

Spot on.

The skill set of a defender is very different to that of a forward. The things that we are critical of are split second decisions that career defenders make automatically.........Waite is not yet a career defender and makes attacking rather than defending decisions automatically.

The only way to get these things to become second nature is to leave him in position.

His games on Franklin and Riewoldt should be all we need to say leave him at CHB to learn the trade, learn the right decisions.:thumbsu:

blues4flag
30 May 2007, 10:31
Fantastic game on the weekend, best for the Blues with four at CHF. Had he kicked straight, could have had seven. His athleticism is amazing, I've had achange of mind, keep him up forward.

EddieBettsIsAChamp
30 May 2007, 18:26
The J-Rods's a gun mate!!!

[ToTTi]
3 Jun 2007, 20:00
2 good games in a row for Vinny's boy... :thumbsu:

blues4flag
3 Jun 2007, 20:15
Has done it twice in a row, another game whether he dominated athletically, getting up the ground and even going into the ruck for a bit. Wasteful in front of goal, with 3 goals 1 and 2 out on the full, but he was right up there with best on ground. If he can continue this form, he is on his way to being an elite. Still, that's been said heaps of times before about him, but he finally looks ready. Maybe playing in defense has helped his attacking game?

Jeremias
3 Jun 2007, 23:17
If only he could ****ing kick straight...:(

Blues_Man
4 Jun 2007, 18:05
Could become an absolute superstar of the competition ..just needs to focus more .

bexta444
9 Jun 2007, 21:51
Fantastic yet again on Sat night against Port!
Kicks - 10
Handballs - 3
Marks - 6
Tackles - 5
Goals - 4

blues4flag
9 Jun 2007, 22:12
He has been great the last three - leave him at CHF because he's infinitely more valuable there than he is in defense. Couldn't care less about Franklin next week - let them worry about Waite up forward. Amazingly athletic, and after his last three the consistency looks there. Shaping into a star of the competition.:thumbsu:

Bluebear
9 Jun 2007, 23:06
Early tip..........Aisake to come up, Setanta to take Buddy, and Waite to play forward next week.

He is getting some consistency into his footy..........lovin it.:D

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
10 Jun 2007, 11:27
Man im trying soo hard not to get too excited by Waitey, because of his inconsistent nature, but seriously, this guys a freaking gun! He's such a big reason for our last 2 wins, imagine if he starts consistently performing like this - *drools

Agree with Bluebear's tip. In his media conference Pagan seemed to hint that Aisake could get a game next week if he plays well this week in the 'Ants. I want Waite up forward, but if he does, who could take Franklin if Setanta forced to ruck? Waite is our only real mobile, tall defender. Thornton won't be tall enough. Maybe Saddo?

walkers a legend
18 Jun 2007, 18:52
the boys a freak holds nick reiwoldt down back goes up forward and kicks 4 goals

walkers a legend
18 Jun 2007, 18:52
forgot to mention good in ruck aswell

AndyWalkersGirl
25 Jun 2007, 16:35
Not too many people get to play AFL football. Nowhere near as many get to play for this great club in the Carlton Football Club.

Very few get to captain it.

Congratulations to Jarrad Waite for being named Captain for the upcoming game. :thumbsu:

blues4flag
25 Jun 2007, 18:18
Seems my influence as his buddy has taken Waitey to new heights. :D

Seriously though, very happy for him. Has probably had his best month of footy ever, barring Friday night, and I think the captaincy will do him good. Definitely unexpected, but hopefully he responds well to the pressure.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
25 Jun 2007, 22:01
Congrats Jarrad, tear it up mate

bexta444
27 Jun 2007, 21:56
Good on you Jarrad! All the best!! :thumbsu:

KnockOut
28 Jun 2007, 16:13
Proboly blues4flag's job but here's a nice article from The Age.
Waite Theres More (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/waite-theres-more/2007/05/25/1179601669734.html)

blues4flag
28 Jun 2007, 16:54
Proboly blues4flag's job but here's a nice article from The Age.
Waite Theres More (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/waite-theres-more/2007/05/25/1179601669734.html)

I should probably have posted it, :o but go ahead and post any article you find about Waitey. :thumbsu:

blues4flag
25 Aug 2007, 22:56
Waite has definitely stepped up another level this year - in the past few weeks, he's playing with a confidence and presence which I haven't seen from him before. Looks like he's finally starting to get some consistency in his game. :thumbsu:

DaveyBlues
10 Sep 2007, 21:50
can we please develope another tall strong defender to free waite up. if he could hold a perminant possition in the forward line along with fev, fisher, betts and the numerous talls we'll have pushing forward ie hampson kreuzer (if taken) and kennedy, itd be domination.

Dima
10 Sep 2007, 23:52
I fully agree with the above comments!

From the time he was first unleashed in the forward line you could clearly see that that was his dominant position.

I think going forward we should have enough people to hold down the key defensive roles with Waite maybe going back if a kozi or other mobile tall is damaging us..... Needs to work on his goal kicking though. Looked good kicking at goal in the kangas game at the end of the year, but particularly earlier in the season he kicked some shockers, both set shot and on the run....

bexta444
12 Mar 2008, 23:35
v Bulldogs NAB Challenge match
7/3/08

couldn't help it.......it's a great grab!
I promise I'll be back to business from R1! ;)

http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg38/GeneralCypher/ac9a24e3.jpg
http://i244.photobucket.com/albums/gg38/GeneralCypher/bbb1f062.jpg

bexta444
26 Mar 2008, 09:05
Sorry for the delay.....been m.i.a

R1 v Tigers, MCG.
Stats
Disposals
1st - 4
2nd - 3
3rd - 4
4th - 1
Kicks 8
Hballs 4
Marks 3
Tackles 1
Efficiency 83%
TOG 100%
Frees: For - 1 / Against 2
Clangers: 3
Contested possies 7
Uncontested possies 5

Q1
* Pushed up the ground to fwd 50 line kicked to Fev (no mark) ball spilled to ground Edwards toe poked off ground GOAL.

* Strong intersept mark, umpire called play on (thinking he ran off the line - though he walked straight back...!), tackled, turn over - Foley goal.

* Good defensive pressure on Schultz to boundary, kicks in.

*Pushes up again, delivers to HF - Hartlett.

Q2
* Delivers to Edwards just outside centre square.

* Intersepts with a high leap in back 50.

* Spoils Newman in marking contest.

Q3
* McMahon kicks to contest in fwdline, taped down by Bower, picked up by Waite, turns it over, marked by Bannister @ FB.

* Disposes to Edwards

* Marks on goal line

Q4

* Put on fwd line in last 10 mins.

Don't expect me to be up with all the terminology guys, I don't listen to commentary at the games, prefer to draw my own conclusions, but hopefully this doesnt make what I'm trying to say unclear. :)

Happy with Waites game, overall disappointing for the boys, having the lead for 70 mins then all downhill from there, but hey its only R1! :cool:

bexta444
31 Mar 2008, 17:47
couldn't get there this week, saw Waitey was in the best though :D
Here's his stats

R2 v Saints, Dome

Disposals
1st - 4
2nd - 2
3rd - 4
4th - 4
Kicks 9
Hballs 5
Marks 7
Tackles 0
Efficiency 93%
TOG 92%
Frees: For - 1 / Against 3
Clangers: 4
Contested possies 7
Uncontested possies 7

Bluebear
1 Apr 2008, 10:22
His kicking this year (touch wood) has been a real feature. Hasn't shanked too many and has delivered some searing passes to the midfield.

An example vs Saints where stats don't tell the story. Putting up Riewoldt's stats would probably tell a greater story.

Of the 3 times Waite has played Roo, he has embarrassed him twice, and held his own on the other.

Excellent work.:thumbsu:

bexta444
1 Apr 2008, 16:17
Fair call, less clangers would be good too,

Roo's stats______Waite's stats

Disposals
1st - 3_______4
2nd - 2_______2
3rd - 3_______4
4th - 6_______4
Kicks 9_______9
Hballs 5_______5
Marks 10______7
Tackles 0_______0
Efficiency 79% ____________93%
TOG 88%_________________92%
Frees: For - 2 / Against 0____1/3
Clangers: 1________________4
Contested possies 6_________7
Uncontested possies 8_______7

bexta444
13 Apr 2008, 18:40
Definitely in our best today,
Was strong and steady and clearly beat Rocca.
Very well supported by Bower and Jammo also.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
13 Apr 2008, 19:15
Apart from a few dodgy kicks he was awsome. Today people finally realised that we have a capable defensive unit building. With an appropriate game plan, these guys can hold their own. It's only been difficult in the past becasue the ball has been coming in so quickly

Waite, Bower and Jammison all worked together beautifully today. I was sooo happy with their efforts. I was real glad to se Bower used in a defensive role rather than a running defender/wingman. Play him on a key forward every week. He's pretty much equal with Waite as my favourite player now
One thing I was really impressed with was that it seems obvious that our defenders have been told to attack the ball and play infront. Although sometimes this doesn't pay off, numerous times today you saw them playing infront or coming charging through attatcking the ball. Worked beautifully. Was a great defensive display today. Well done boys

Bluebear
13 Apr 2008, 19:21
Apart from a few dodgy kicks he was awsome. Today people finally realised that we have a capable defensive unit building. With an appropriate game plan, these guys can hold their own. It's only been difficult in the past becasue the ball has been coming in so quickly

Waite, Bower and Jammison all worked together beautifully today. I was sooo happy with their efforts. I was real glad to se Bower used in a defensive role rather than a running defender/wingman. Play him on a key forward every week. He's pretty much equal with Waite as my favourite player now
One thing I was really impressed with was that it seems obvious that our defenders have been told to attack the ball and play infront. Although sometimes this doesn't pay off, numerous times today you saw them playing infront or coming charging through attatcking the ball. Worked beautifully. Was a great defensive display today. Well done boys

Given the new hands in the back interpretation along with the chopping the arms rule, high contact.......you name it, its almost impossible to defend from behind now. Sounds like our boys are stepping up though......lets just hope we can do it with some consitency and smash the Dees next week.

Interesting match up with Waite on Rocca. Wouldn't have been my obvious choice but sounds like he is really developing into a quality defender.

Can't Waite to see a tape of the game.:thumbsu:

bexta444
8 May 2008, 15:48
Pretty solid again against Eagles at Subi Friday night.
I think he was beaten by Kennedy and Lynch in a few contests though, had a few different opponents but it was only these two that provided him with a few headaches. Thankfully Lynch was kicking rubbish so it didnt really hurt us, but I'm pretty sure the two leads Josh made resulted in goals....from memory watched the game again last night. Had to see the song! Didn't get to see that over in the West.
Few bad kicks in the game...gave away a silly 50m cant remember on who though....gave a bit of an upper cut after the mark was taken.
All in all, good job :thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
8 May 2008, 22:18
He really needs to sort out his emotions and keep under control. Whether it is whacking blokes after they take a mark or punching the ball after a goal he should be using that energy productively. I think that is the only thing holding him back is his lack of self discipline. Sort that out and he will be one of the best Players in the AFL

Bluebear
9 May 2008, 14:40
Pretty solid again against Eagles at Subi Friday night.
I think he was beaten by Kennedy and Lynch in a few contests though, had a few different opponents but it was only these two that provided him with a few headaches. Thankfully Lynch was kicking rubbish so it didnt really hurt us, but I'm pretty sure the two leads Josh made resulted in goals....from memory watched the game again last night. Had to see the song! Didn't get to see that over in the West.
Few bad kicks in the game...gave away a silly 50m cant remember on who though....gave a bit of an upper cut after the mark was taken.
All in all, good job :thumbsu:
He beat Josh quite comfortably in the first quarter.

I think Bower was on Josh when he got going, but JK did beat Waite on the lead up on the wings a couple of times.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
9 May 2008, 15:10
Congrats to Jarrad on making the Vic side :thumbsu:

Bluebear
9 May 2008, 22:38
Congrats to Jarrad on making the Vic side :thumbsu:
Yeah, although I'm a bit puzzled..........doesn't Bomber know that Roo isn't playing?:p

thegreenmachine
11 May 2008, 16:48
Jarrad Waite is a gun. He can play CHB/CHF or even on the wing, because he can move around like a panther. I can't really remember Fraser Gehrig in his early days as I didn't watch as much football back then, but along with Kouta he must be among the 1st people who changed the way someone of their height and build moved around. It might be easy to forget, especially because of the way he's built now, but Gehrig was once built similarly to Waite right now, yet he ran like a gazelle and had an amazing amount of endurance, and could also play just about every position on the ground. If you can remember Gehrig back in his early days, do you reckon Jarrad Waite is reminiscent of him?

bexta444
12 May 2008, 18:14
Stats for BIG V vs DREAM TEAM

Disposals_____11
Kicks_______5
Hballs_______6
Marks______1
Tackles_______2
Efficiency____________64%
TOG_________________86%
Frees: For - 1 / Against 0
Clangers:________________1
Contested possies_________2
Uncontested possies_______8
Score________1 behind

Bluebear
13 May 2008, 21:00
Stats for BIG V vs DREAM TEAM

Disposals_____11
Kicks_______5
Hballs_______6
Marks______1
Tackles_______2
Efficiency____________64% :eek:
TOG_________________86%
Frees: For - 1 / Against 0
Clangers:________________1
Contested possies_________2
Uncontested possies_______8
Score________1 behind
Goals against? I thought on the night about 5 but it may have been 4. :confused:

Not his finest game but lets hope he backs up this week and isn't down on himself about it.

bexta444
15 May 2008, 18:51
Goals against? I thought on the night about 5 but it may have been 4. :confused:

Not his finest game but lets hope he backs up this week and isn't down on himself about it.

Last time I checked the Herald Sun didn't publish a 'goals against' statistic :rolleyes:

Efficiency = the percentage of disposals effective.

Bluebear
16 May 2008, 10:07
Last time I checked the Herald Sun didn't publish a 'goals against' statistic :rolleyes:

Efficiency = the percentage of disposals effective.
Sorry.......I didn't mean it to look like those two comments were related.

I bolded the efficiency (and yes.....I know what it means) and put the :eek: next to it because it was so bad............

The goals against was more a question to you, knowing it wasn't readilty available to look up (which I would have done myself) on the off chance you may have noticed.

Sorry for the confusion.:thumbsu:

My gut feel on the night was about 4 goals, maybe more. If the game tonight gets a bit dull I might watch the Vics game again and check.

Motlop and Richo kicked one each........I thought Buddy kicked his goal on the run on Waite......and I thought Burton might have kicked 1 or two on him.:thumbsu:

bexta444
18 May 2008, 20:53
v Lions, Dome.

A bad night from Jarrad, probably the worst of it was his kicking, turned the ball over a few times and kicked direct to the opposition. Was beaten in the leads and marking contests by Brown (how good is he! And his form hasn't even been that great, we always struggle with his match up).

Nevermind, hopefully he keeps his chin up and bounces back next week!

bexta444
18 May 2008, 20:59
Sorry.......I didn't mean it to look like those two comments were related.
I bolded the efficiency (and yes.....I know what it means) and put the :eek: next to it because it was so bad............
The goals against was more a question to you, knowing it wasn't readilty available to look up (which I would have done myself) on the off chance you may have noticed.
Sorry for the confusion.:thumbsu:
My gut feel on the night was about 4 goals, maybe more. If the game tonight gets a bit dull I might watch the Vics game again and check.
Motlop and Richo kicked one each........I thought Buddy kicked his goal on the run on Waite......and I thought Burton might have kicked 1 or two on him.:thumbsu:

No worries at all :thumbsu:
Sorry for my misunderstanding too.
I unfortunately didn't tape the game and can't remember precisely being at the game who they were. I try and remember to jump on here the day after the game because once Monday and the working week rolls round I usually forget.
My recollection was your right with the ones against Buddy, Richo, Burton unsure about the Motlop one...
Thanks for your input :thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
21 May 2008, 19:53
I did like Waite taking plenty of marks. Maybe his ego was suffering a bit after making the V and he did need to come back down to earth
I expect a great improvement this week

Bluebear
21 May 2008, 22:29
I did like Waite taking plenty of marks. Maybe his ego was suffering a bit after making the V and he did need to come back down to earth

Waite to take Pav again? Maybe Setanta.

Tarrant will be wrapped that Jammo is out. Bower will get him I suppose. Maybe Austin to come in.:confused:

bexta444
22 May 2008, 08:15

Honestly I don't think Jarrad has an ego, I think he does circum to pressure though. When he did his week of the captaincy last yr he played dreadful, I think he suffers from nerves. Everyone handles it differently he's human afterall and it doesn't make me think any less of him.......of course :)

blue gunslinger
22 May 2008, 10:27
Ego may have not been the best word. Call it youthful excitement. He is very flashy instead of being the nuggety fighter I want in a backman. More Brett Lee then Glenn McGrath if you know what I mean.

bexta444
22 May 2008, 14:21
Ego may have not been the best word. Call it youthful excitement. He is very flashy instead of being the nuggety fighter I want in a backman. More Brett Lee then Glenn McGrath if you know what I mean.

Yeah?

I see it more as fumbling and uncoordinated at times, but if he makes it look likes he's meant it, haha, hat's off Jarrad! :D

blue gunslinger
22 May 2008, 20:27
Yeah?

I see it more as fumbling and uncoordinated at times, but if he makes it look likes he's meant it, haha, hat's off Jarrad! :D
Sounds like HBF trying out his pick up lines

Bluebear
22 May 2008, 20:41
Yeah?

To me he is the classic flawed genius.

Sometimes he can do things witht he football that take your breath away for shear brilliance.......then he does things that take your breath away for the exact opposite reason.

At his best he is one of the most sublimely talented players in the competition.

At his worst he is a rung above Ackland.

The job for Waite is to bridge the gap and bring that worst performance up to a Bentick level.......still contributing but nothing special........and then add the glimpses of brilliance that we know he can produce.

If only he could produce the brilliance all the time he could still become one of the al time great AFL players.........IF only.;)

bexta444
22 May 2008, 21:32
To me he is the classic flawed genius.

Sometimes he can do things witht he football that take your breath away for shear brilliance.......then he does things that take your breath away for the exact opposite reason.

At his best he is one of the most sublimely talented players in the competition.

At his worst he is a rung above Ackland.

The job for Waite is to bridge the gap and bring that worst performance up to a Bentick level.......still contributing but nothing special........and then add the glimpses of brilliance that we know he can produce.

If only he could produce the brilliance all the time he could still become one of the al time great AFL players.........IF only.;)

Got it in one BB ;)
Here's hoping!

blue gunslinger
22 May 2008, 22:54
Genius - footy player.MMMMM - if you say so!

bexta444
23 May 2008, 06:44
Genius - footy player.MMMMM - if you say so!

You starting on Jarrad?? Hmm?
Hehe :p

blue gunslinger
23 May 2008, 10:01
No footy players in general being described as genius material. Yes a few have been vets, pharmacists etc but very much in the minority

bexta444
23 May 2008, 13:22
No footy players in general being described as genius material. Yes a few have been vets, pharmacists etc but very much in the minority

The original statement was "flawed" genius Dear! :p

Bluebear
23 May 2008, 13:41
So in your opinion to be a genius you must have a degree or something? :rolleyes:

The artists of the world would not agree.

I consider, as do many, Shane Warne to be a genius, in that he can do things with the cricket ball that even truly great cricketers marvel at........but clearly he is also flawed.

Warne is no Rhode scholar.......in fact he's a bogan from the backblocks of Morrabbin.

By no means am I suggesting Waite is to footbal;l what Warne was to cricket...........that's Judd's job (;)), but my original comments about Waite stand. Flawed Genius. ATM we see more flaws than genius, but we can only hope.

blue gunslinger
24 May 2008, 13:46
Wayne Carey is still describesd as a genius. He was a great football player that used his physical skills to the best. But genius.....are you with me yet

Bluebear
25 May 2008, 18:08
Wayne Carey is still describesd as a genius. He was a great football player that used his physical skills to the best. But genius.....are you with me yet

I do understand you, but you still seem to be arguing that to be considered a genius it must be intellectual........I still present Shane Warne.

Are you with me yet?

Many geniuses have absolutely no social skills at all. Doesn't mean they aren't brilliant in their selected areas of expertise.

phantom 309
25 May 2008, 18:19
Mick Fitzpatrick maybe:)

Bluebear
26 May 2008, 16:38
Has been cited from the weekend.

Has some points I think.:(

Poo.

Would have got a reprimand if it wasn't for the carry overpoints. 1 week.

Team Mo'
26 May 2008, 21:11
Come back us up on the polls board!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11153465#post11153465

blue gunslinger
27 May 2008, 10:22
Mick Fitzpatrick maybe:)
He is (I will take the credit as well because my dad was his teacher and mentor as a kid)
Waite had another brain explosion. Fitz should sit him down and have a chat to him about discipline and self control

bexta444
27 May 2008, 22:37
Blue Waite to miss Geelong clash

CARLTON defender Jarrad Waite's appeal to play in Saturday night's clash with Geelong (R10) has failed, consigning him to the sidelines for the one week he was offered.

Waite argued that his high contact on Fremantle's Chris Mayne came after he leapt in an attempt to block the forward's handball.

The AFL Tribunal saw the case differently, ruling that his action was negligent and enough to be deemed a strike.

Eighty demerit points was all the charge carried, however, Waite had 93.75 existing points which pushed him into suspension territory.

http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=60316

blue gunslinger
28 May 2008, 10:14
Bexta even you must be disappointed in Waite over this.

bexta444
28 May 2008, 17:31
Bexta even you must be disappointed in Waite over this.

Even me?
Of course, I'm unbiased, he had a brain fade, I've seen him do it many times over the years, silly thing to do but he's paying the price.
Also happy to give him a smack on our behalf......very happy to if you deem it appropriate ;)

Bexta
30 Jun 2008, 18:20
Good solid game on Saturday. Kept Richo quiet :thumbsu:
Oh yeah, I love this picture! :D:thumbsu::thumbsu:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11555492#post11555492

frankie blues!!
30 Jun 2008, 18:33
Well done Jarrod, U gave Richo a bath on the weekend!!

Bluebear
2 Jul 2008, 11:36
Looking forward to seeing him play Riewoldt again.

Does anyone think he might be able to go with Goodes?:confused:

Not sure myself.

Bexta
12 Jul 2008, 20:33
Beaten by Roo last night, nevermind though, he's kept him quiet in the past, he's a very tough opponent, his pace and marking strength is fantastic. Kicked a goal for us at a very crucial time, was very relieved it went through! ;) Frustrating though was the strike on Jones in the third, haven't seen the incident up close myself but do know Waite has pretty high demerit points which could easily push him over for a suspension

Bexta
12 Jul 2008, 20:35
Just couldn't resist posting this pic! :D

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6130448,00.jpg

Bluebear
12 Jul 2008, 23:16
Beaten by Roo last night, nevermind though, he's kept him quiet in the past, he's a very tough opponent, his pace and marking strength is fantastic. Kicked a goal for us at a very crucial time, was very relieved it went through! ;) Frustrating though was the strike on Jones in the third, haven't seen the incident up close myself but do know Waite has pretty high demerit points which could easily push him over for a suspension

Nothing to worry about. Eyes on the footy, and the forearm hits the head as he tries to spoil. High contact but no strike.

The ump should be sent to Wodonga for a week for wasting the MRC's time.

Bexta
15 Jul 2008, 17:24
Nothing to worry about. Eyes on the footy, and the forearm hits the head as he tries to spoil. High contact but no strike.The ump should be sent to Wodonga for a week for wasting the MRC's time.

Thrown out! :D :thumbsu:

Bexta
15 Jul 2008, 17:25
http://www.comments.zingerbugimages.com/congratulations/Congratulations_navy_gold_glitter.gif

ON YOUR 100TH GAME THIS WEEK JARRAD! :D:D:D
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

blue gunslinger
17 Jul 2008, 10:38
Almost as pretty as you Bexta (not a come on line for the windy new bloke)

Bexta
22 Jul 2008, 06:46
http://bigpondvideo.com/CarltonTV/67169