View Full Version : 37. Jake Edwards
Jeremias
21st February 2007, 20:36
This thread is to discuss Jake Edwards.
It will be used throughout the season for everyone, and will be the home for his buddy poster.
Kegs44
7th March 2007, 20:33
go jakey, gun bloke!!!
recently blue
9th March 2007, 09:46
I posted some material on Jake earlier.. berfore the buddy draft was up and going. I waill ask ODN to merge it in if possible.
one_twelve112
9th March 2007, 10:00
I posted some material on Jake earlier.. berfore the buddy draft was up and going. I waill ask ODN to merge it in if possible.
This is one guy I am really keen to hear;
What type of player he is (a comparison would be good)?
Strengths/Weaknesses
Where he will play
If he will make it and when etc...
recently blue
11th March 2007, 17:31
This is one guy I am really keen to hear;
Didn't see the practice match today, but Edwards had a good one by all accounts. Kicked 3 goals himself and set up a couple more.
* What type of player he is (a comparison would be good)?
Closest comparison in the current list is probably Fisher. Edwards is probably quicker, and a better kick. Fisher is a better mark (although Edwards is a good mark too) and reads the play better at this stage.
NB Lance Whitnall 192cm, 100kg (age 27)
Brad Fisher 192cm, 82kg (age 22)
Jake Edwards 192cm, 82kg (age 18)
* Strengths/Weaknesses
See above. His pace will be his main weapon. Can take a pack mark. No obvious weaknesses that I can see. Just needs more strength and experience.
* Where he will play
Most likely accross HF. Not strong enough yet to play CHF, and probably not tall enough.
* If he will make it and when etc...
Yes he can make it, and is not that far away. I would think it's Fisher's spot he would have to win. If Fisher got injured I think Jake or Wiggo would be the immediate replacement. Not sure how else he could break in. A few good games in the Ants might see him win a spot on the interchange.
Gilly1972
11th March 2007, 17:42
Good write up mate, agree, Edwards plays most like Fish, probably doesn't quite push up into the midfield as much as Fish.
He was most impressive today. Very impressive.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
30th March 2007, 11:37
Edwards played his final year of TAC as a defender.
Any chance of him playing as a KP Backmen ? on shorter, running types such as Nathan Brown, Mark Williams etc ?
bluegal1983
30th March 2007, 13:36
Yo`DooR;7069475']Edwards played his final year of TAC as a defender.
Any chance of him playing as a KP Backmen ? on shorter, running types such as Nathan Brown, Mark Williams etc ?
Each time I have watched him play for the Bullants he has played in the forward line.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
30th March 2007, 14:03
Each time I have watched him play for the Bullants he has played in the forward line.
That aside,
Jake himself said in an interview with carltonfc.com.au that by playing defence with the Jets in the TAC for the 2005 season - it helped him get drafted.
However: Thornton, Setanta, Waite, Austin, Hartlett, Saddington, Flint, Anderson, Jamison etc, may prove that he's not needed there.
bluegal1983
30th March 2007, 15:31
Yo`DooR;7070635']That aside,
Jake himself said in an interview with carltonfc.com.au that by playing defence with the Jets in the TAC for the 2005 season - it helped him get drafted.
However: Thornton, Setanta, Waite, Austin, Hartlett, Saddington, Flint, Anderson, Jamison etc, may prove that he's not needed there.
Agree. Does he fit into our current forward line?
Fev, Whitnall, Fisher, Kennedy, Betts possibly Gibbs, Blackwell and Murphy all rotating through at some stage.....?
It is getting hard to find him a spot but he does deserve to debut, possibly due to an injury though one would think.
Bluebear
2nd April 2007, 14:00
Should he come in for Whitnall?
Give red a weeks leave for personal issues and give the young bloke a crack?
[ToTTi]
2nd April 2007, 14:40
would love to see jake the snake get a game soon! got to speak to him last nite for a bit after the game he said he was sore from yesterday (saturday)...
he wouldn't be too far away you'd think.
Gilly1972
2nd April 2007, 16:12
;7102527']would love to see jake the snake get a game soon! got to speak to him last nite for a bit after the game he said he was sore from yesterday (saturday)...
he wouldn't be too far away you'd think.
I think he was more "sore" about Harts not honouring his lead on a couple of occasions :p :D
[ToTTi]
8th April 2007, 00:12
come on down snakey
lets hope he warrants a call up next saturday afternoon at the 'g after his game 2moro
[ToTTi]
31st May 2007, 14:54
I saw on the injury list on carltonfc.com.au that 'snake' is available...? perhaps he will return to the Ants this weekend...
would really like to see him in navy blue sooner rather later...
walkers a legend
4th June 2007, 21:58
can anyone tell me his stats for 2s (ants)
Jeremias
4th June 2007, 22:12
can anyone tell me his stats for 2s (ants)
He's just coming back from injury, not sure if he has returned to the Bullants yet.
[ToTTi]
30th July 2007, 23:57
FFS I wanna see this boy on the park!!
He can't take a trick!
Jeremias
31st July 2007, 09:36
Yeah he picked up another injury on the weekend, apparently.
Not sure how serious it is, but let's hope he'll be fine. I would think that the coaching staff would want to have a proper look at him before the end of the year.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
31st July 2007, 09:37
Jake Edwards reminds me of a taller version of Kane Pettifer.
I think they play a very similar type of game.
BlueYoss
1st August 2007, 15:42
Yo`DooR;8265510']Jake Edwards reminds me of a taller version of Kane Pettifer.
I think they play a very similar type of game.
He looks a lot broader and stronger than Pettifer to me
C4[2]Yo`DooR
1st August 2007, 16:28
He looks a lot broader and stronger than Pettifer to me
yeah .. he is.
BlueYoss
1st August 2007, 16:36
Yo`DooR;8278615']yeah .. he is.
Pettifer + height + strength = very likely type!
Team Mo'
4th August 2007, 10:55
Has he made his debut for carlton, if not will he this year becase i've never heard of him.
Jeremias
4th August 2007, 10:59
Has he made his debut for carlton, if not will he this year becase i've never heard of him.
No, he hasn't made his debut as of yet.
Injured himself last week playing for the Bullants, and not sure how serious it is. If he didn't get injured, he would have made his debut because the coaching staff will want to have a look at him, just like other kids on the list. I would say he is still a good chance of making his debut before the end of the year-it really just depends on the severity of his injury.
bluegal1983
6th August 2007, 13:04
Bad news for Jake. He is our for the rest of the season with an ankle injury.
Bluebear
6th August 2007, 13:11
Bad news for Jake.
Is Jacobs a chance to be elevated and debut?
bluegal1983
6th August 2007, 13:50
Bad news for Jake.
Is Jacobs a chance to be elevated and debut?
Hrrrm. Interesting point.
I haven't watched the Ants in a few weeks so I'm not sure how he is progressing. Can anybody else comment?
[ToTTi]
6th August 2007, 16:24
FFS :mad::thumbsd::(
Rambo Stallone
21st August 2007, 02:11
C'mon give him a year contract at least, so he can concentrate for next year,2 years isn't surely enough.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
21st August 2007, 10:33
Try telling that to his old man.
Homer Simpson for Lance
21st August 2007, 16:16
C'mon give him a year contract at least, so he can concentrate for next year,2 years isn't surely enough.
He will get a contract.....but will really need to start showing something next year
recently blue
2nd September 2007, 11:25
According to the Melbourne board we have offered him a 2 year deal, and Melbourne has offered a 3 year deal.
Bluebear
2nd September 2007, 12:32
According to the Melbourne board we have offered him a 2 year deal, and Melbourne has offered a 3 year deal.
Have I missed something?
Are the Dees pushing for a trade?:confused:
Jeremias
2nd September 2007, 12:33
Hope we don't lose him. If given opportunities, will be a player.
If this was true, what would we get for him?
Bluebear
2nd September 2007, 12:35
Hope we don't lose him. If given opportunities, will be a player.
If this was true, what would we get for him?
Given our forward line (our only line with some depth) we would have to entertain it.
Jeremias
2nd September 2007, 12:37
Given our forward line (our only line with some depth) we would have to entertain it.
Of course it will be entertained, but I wouldn't want him to leave.
If Fev goes, which even though it is unlikely, it is a possibility, you would have to think that Jake would stay. He could play at full forward for us, would be an exciting build for a full forward.
blues4flag
2nd September 2007, 12:40
We'd be remiss to trade him for draft picks. Wouldn't take a 2nd rounder for him because he has shown he has talent, whereas whoever we pick up in the second round, who knows what we'll get. A decent youngster is what I'd want for Edwards if a trade were to happen. Still, as you've said we have depth in our forward line. Do we really want to trade away part of that depth in Edwards?
Bluebear
2nd September 2007, 12:51
We'd be remiss to trade him for draft picks. Wouldn't take a 2nd rounder for him because he has shown he has talent, whereas whoever we pick up in the second round, who knows what we'll get. A decent youngster is what I'd want for Edwards if a trade were to happen. Still, as you've said we have depth in our forward line. Do we really want to trade away part of that depth in Edwards?
I agree. I think we should keep him, but I'm not convinced the original post has landed in the right thread.
Why would the Dees offer a 3 year deal to a guy who hasn't debuted and has been patchy at best in the VFL.........looking for the logic...........:confused:
doh its me
2nd September 2007, 13:04
I agree. I think we should keep him, but I'm not convinced the original post has landed in the right thread.
Why would the Dees offer a 3 year deal to a guy who hasn't debuted and has been patchy at best in the VFL.........looking for the logic...........:confused:
It sounds a little ridiculous to me too mate
recently blue
2nd September 2007, 15:45
I'm just the messenger... quote from the Dees board, from a Richmond supporter:
29th August 2007, 21:26 #11
RodneyDangerfield
BigFooty Member
Club: Richmond
Re: Trade/Draft/Delist
Hope you don't mind me posting guys.
I know a kid at Carlton,Jake Edwards.Loads of ability,injury plagued season.
Carlton offered him another two years,as have Melbourne.Interestingly though melbourne have come again with three.
Bluebear
2nd September 2007, 17:16
RodneyDangerfield
BigFooty Member
Carlton offered him another two years,as have Melbourne.Interestingly though melbourne have come again with three.
Well that would be amazing if true.
Given that he is out of contract we don't want to lose him for nothing.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
3rd September 2007, 09:10
RodneyDangerfield
BigFooty Member
I actually trust that poster - so what he says would be correct. As he is family friends with Butch and Jake.
I remember before we even drafted Jake - the poster in question told us of our clubs strong interest in him, so if anything, he'd be on the money.
bomberandy
29th September 2007, 19:11
If this is true. What would you be expecting to get for him. It would surprise me if u got anything more than a 3rd-4th round pick
C4[2]Yo`DooR
29th September 2007, 19:17
If this is true. What would you be expecting to get for him. It would surprise me if u got anything more than a 3rd-4th round pick
It's irrelevant.
Jake has stated he'll play at Carlton for "many years to come" - that was from Jake himself.
bomberandy
29th September 2007, 19:19
Oh ok. Thanks for that mate
BiG NaTh
2nd October 2007, 19:05
Jake Edwards is a gun the blues have a great future ahead of them:thumbsu:
TheGeneral
1st November 2007, 19:28
Do you think Edwards can play more than five games in the seniors in '08 if he's lucky?
I don't see him playing CHF next year, so where would he fit into our plans next year? :confused:
Jeremias
1st November 2007, 19:53
Do you think Edwards can play more than five games in the seniors in '08 if he's lucky?
I don't see him playing CHF next year, so where would he fit into our plans next year? :confused:
It's a difficult one.
Jake is very much like Fisher in build and player type. Fisher is the better player though, and the only thing Jake has over Fish is pace, IMO.
Will be played if a forward gets injured as he is pretty much ready made now.
Really needs to work his butt off, as opportunities won't be plentiful, I wouldn't have thought. Needs to push for selection hard and early, and needs to maintain it throughout the season. One of Jake's negatives is that when he started to look good in the reserves, he must have come under consideration for senior selection, but then sealed his own fate by failing to continue to push.
One thing I have thought about in the past, is trying to make him a defender, able to run out of defense - very much like Michael Pettigrew from Port. The only problem I have with this is that we already have quite a few running defenders. We need big bodied defenders, and Jake doesn't have a big enough body to play in a Key Position defensive role.
TheGeneral
1st November 2007, 22:41
I thought about Edwards being used a CHB or defender earlier this year, but he really doesn't have the size to play down there. Obviously Austin, Waite, Setanta, Bower and Jamison will get a crack at a spot in the backline before Jake.
I don't know where Jake fits into the team ATM. :confused:
Is he contracted past next year?
Jeremias
1st November 2007, 22:57
I thought about Edwards being used a CHB or defender earlier this year, but he really doesn't have the size to play down there. Obviously Austin, Waite, Setanta, Bower and Jamison will get a crack at a spot in the backline before Jake.
His best is up forward, for sure.
I don't know where Jake fits into the team ATM. :confused:
That's exactly the problem. Jake has a lot of talent, and would be in our 22 if it wasn't for Fisher, who plays the same position as him, only better. He doesn't fit into our team right now as I see it.
Is he contracted past next year?
His contract actually expired at the end of season 2007, so I assume that we have/are about to re-sign him.
TheGeneral
1st November 2007, 23:04
One year deal like Hartlett received last year and we'll take it from there. ;)
whippety boy
2nd November 2007, 09:40
I'll think you'll find that when the club recruited Jake as a bottom age they were banking on him growing a little bit more than what he actually has.
Blue Dimension
2nd November 2007, 17:52
One year deal like Hartlett received last year and we'll take it from there. ;)
He'll get more than a one year deal, as it is my belief that Melbourne offered him a 2 year deal.
Bluebear
2nd November 2007, 18:04
He'll get more than a one year deal, as it is my belief that Melbourne offered him a 2 year deal.
The rumour was three.:cool:
Blue Dimension
2nd November 2007, 21:24
The rumour was three.:cool:
Melbourne really that desperate huh? ;)
RodneyDangerfield
2nd November 2007, 21:59
G'day guys.That was me who posted about Melbourne.It was 100%.They were interested,Jake pretty keen to stay though and loves Ratten.
I know Carlton offered him two and I assume that is still the case.Haven't seen Jake for a few months,but speaking to Butch and he says he is up and flying(touch wood) and really excited about Judd.
Funny little story about Judd copping heaps from the boys about not knowing Northcote was a hive of Gay activity,but he reckons there the best neighbours you can have.
On Jakes luck this year,I know Denis told him "you're in son" for the first Collingwood game and he stuffed his heel,and then Ratts told him the last 5 games in the ones and he stuffed his ankle.
Fingers crossed for Jakey,can really go and is just fanatical about it.He'll be right.
Blue Dimension
2nd November 2007, 22:24
G'day guys.That was me who posted about Melbourne.It was 100%.They were interested,Jake pretty keen to stay though and loves Ratten.
I know Carlton offered him two and I assume that is still the case.Haven't seen Jake for a few months,but speaking to Butch and he says he is up and flying(touch wood) and really excited about Judd.
Funny little story about Judd copping heaps from the boys about not knowing Northcote was a hive of Gay activity,but he reckons there the best neighbours you can have.
On Jakes luck this year,I know Denis told him "you're in son" for the first Collingwood game and he stuffed his heel,and then Ratts told him the last 5 games in the ones and he stuffed his ankle.
Fingers crossed for Jakey,can really go and is just fanatical about it.He'll be right.
Thanks for that Fella. Awesome stuff :D
Ole Gill
16th November 2007, 11:59
Judd lives in Prahran dude.
Da Bull
19th March 2008, 07:02
Little bit suprised that no one has posted in here for the pre season.
I saw Jake in the Doggies praccy match and i'd have to say I was a little impressed with Jake. I thought he was a good foil for Fevola and presented well. Hopefully he stays injury free and can play some really good senior footy this year.:thumbsu:
Jeremias
19th March 2008, 09:44
Little bit suprised that no one has posted in here for the pre season.
I saw Jake in the Doggies praccy match and i'd have to say I was a little impressed with Jake. I thought he was a good foil for Fevola and presented well. Hopefully he stays injury free and can play some really good senior footy this year.:thumbsu:
You're right. Jake has impressed this preseason and has presented himself as another viable forward option for us this season.
I managed to have a close look at him when we played the Bulldogs and I was impressed by what I saw. Probably won't end up a KPP but a very handy 3rd forward type. His marking is very strong and he's a pretty good kick for goal from what I saw, too.
IMO, he has done more than enough to justify being selected in the team for tomorrow night, especially with Fisher out injured. His next challenge is to perform well enough to maintain his spot even once Fisher returns, and to provide some much needed competition for spots.
I look forward to hopefully seeing him make his debut tomorrow night for the Blues against the Tigers, and kick a few goals too.
Deledio2Tambling
16th April 2008, 09:56
Sorry this is strictly another Dream Team question, but is Jake up for selection this week?
C4[2]Yo`DooR
16th April 2008, 13:14
Sorry this is strictly another Dream Team question, but is Jake up for selection this week?
wouldn't have thought so.
Blue Dimension
16th April 2008, 16:46
Kicked four goals in the reserves but due to the fact that we won against Collingwood i doubt there will be many changes. I'd think Hartlett would probably come in ahead of him at this stage anyway.
aaronmx
22nd May 2008, 20:23
good to see jake back in against freo.
Blue Dimension
31st May 2008, 13:06
Very unlucky to get dropped after last week's performance against Freo.
Led up the ground well, took marks and contested well. Disposal was up to standard also.
He couldn't do much more i don't think considdering the amount of opportunity he was given.
Hopefully he doesn't lose any confidence, continues to perform in the two's and fights his way back and earns his spot in the 22.
stephen22
7th July 2008, 22:22
After a solid performance against the tiges, do you think that Jake Edwards will hold his spot against the saints with Andrew Walker coming back from injury ?
thoughts?
Blue Dimension
7th July 2008, 23:22
After a solid performance against the tiges, do you think that Jake Edwards will hold his spot against the saints with Andrew Walker coming back from injury ?
thoughts?
I'd like to think he would keep his spot, but it is a possibility that he could be dropped to make way (because he was dropped even after a decent performance in the Fremantle game)
After his performance against the Tigers and with his tandem work with Fisher you'd think he'd keep his place however.
I'd like to think he would keep his spot, but it is a possibility that he could be dropped to make way (because he was dropped even after a decent performance in the Fremantle game)
After his performance against the Tigers and with his tandem work with Fisher you'd think he'd keep his place however.
Would expect MC are aware of this and for the sake of his development will give him another
BlueYoss
8th July 2008, 14:51
Jake Edwards needs to be given 6-8 consecutive games in the seniors to find his feet and get accustomed to the pace and intensity of the game at that level.
We manage to find consecutive games to give Russell and Grigg and look how they've benefitted from it!
Only difference: we have plenty of tall running flank/wing/midfield rotation type players on the list and a glaring shortage of strong marking targets inside 50.
Bottom line: Jake is a potantially crucial player to our structure moving forward and if we can find the games to give Russell and Grigg (and see the benefit of investing those games into them) there is no reason why Jake should not play every game for the remainder of the season!
Also, having Jake working in tandem seemed to have brought out Fish's best game in an otherwise pretty average year.
Bluebear
8th July 2008, 18:01
Jake Edwards needs to be given 6-8 consecutive games in the seniors to find his feet and get accustomed to the pace and intensity of the game at that level.
We manage to find consecutive games to give Russell and Grigg and look how they've benefitted from it!
Only difference: we have plenty of tall running flank/wing/midfield rotation type players on the list and a glaring shortage of strong marking targets inside 50.
Bottom line: Jake is a potantially crucial player to our structure moving forward and if we can find the games to give Russell and Grigg (and see the benefit of investing those games into them) there is no reason why Jake should not play every game for the remainder of the season!
Also, having Jake working in tandem seemed to have brought out Fish's best game in an otherwise pretty average year.
Agree. He needs to get a good run at it.
Showed some serious toe vs Tiges as he chased Deledio out of our forward line - nearly caught him on the wing.
Good leap, kicking needs some work, but just needs to find his way in our Fev-centric team structure.:thumbsu:
Pred_ator
10th July 2008, 02:19
Couldn't agree more. Whilst I bagged him in another thread after the Tigers match his lack of familiararity with the senior side is no fault of his own. Hammer will develop for next year, Jackson is gone but we need to play Edwards for the rest of the year to determine whether we keep him on Carlton's list.
Blue Dimension
15th July 2008, 23:02
Copping quite a bit of flak this week is Jakey.
Think it's quite unessecary really. One bad game and everyone gets on his back.
Was very difficult for him to find space in St.Kilda's ultra flood of our forward line. Hoping he bounces back this week against the Swans and shuts a few up.
BlueYoss
16th July 2008, 12:22
Copping quite a bit of flak this week is Jakey.
Think it's quite unessecary really. One bad game and everyone gets on his back.
Was very difficult for him to find space in St.Kilda's ultra flood of our backline. Hoping he bounces back this week against the Swans and shuts a few up.
I'm with you there, I'd love to see Jake play senior football for the next 7 weeks straight BUT if if was difficult for him to find space in St Kilda's ultra flood how will he go against Sydney's ultra ultra flood? :confused:
Blue Dimension
16th July 2008, 16:08
I'm with you there, I'd love to see Jake play senior football for the next 7 weeks straight BUT if if was difficult for him to find space in St Kilda's ultra flood how will he go against Sydney's ultra ultra flood? :confused:
Well it's something that he'll have to learn i think.
Every game is a learning curve for him. Just hope he doesn't get dropped. Deserves games ahead of Wiggins and Russell who have been gifted opportunity after opportunity.
Bluebear
16th July 2008, 16:23
Part of the problem is he is trying to get a kick in a forward line that only ever looks for one player.
When Fev learns to share his space, and create space for others our forward line will fire up nicely.:thumbsu: