View Full Version : Grand Final a Tall Order

TheLeftFist8
22 Feb 2007, 13:10
In analysing the clubs list i believe that the major area of vulnerability which may prevent a GF appearance is in the big man department, as we are well served with utility sized players across the ground (Once in the GF, the midfield match-up with current favourites WC would provide its usual headaches...but we gotta get there first!).

If we cannot adequately cover these positions (we did manage last year without Hudson, Perrie, Bock for most of it so it is possible), we will struggle to maintain structure and will constantly rob Peter to pay Paul at the other end. This will either lead to a 'leaky' defence or impotent attack, making the premiership in 07 unlikely. (For a bold early predicition, i reckon another heart-breaking finals series this year followed by a premiership in 2008!).

Now i know this contention is not ground-breaking with the costly absence of Hentschel and, to a lesser extent, Biglands. However, it has raised a few questions (some left field and ridiculous) that the club may be forced to consider if injuries or form dictate...

If Rutten goes down, who would play full-back against the 'larger bodied' full forwards?
Could Gill or Perrie ever play down back? (I am having nightmares of Alistair Lynch embarrassing Perrie at the Gabba as i write:eek: )

In terms of trying to fit an extra tall/increased flexibility into the 22:

Are any of our ruckman capable of being developed into key position players?
Are any of our other talls capable of playing in the ruck as pinch-hitters (Kenny?, Others?)
Are any of our talls agile and quick enough to play 'short' (i.e. a tall HBF such as Stevens, giving 4 talls in defence)

If the answers to these questions is NO, then we may be forced at some stage to have a poor standard of talls, or develop a game plan to play 'short' up forward (though i think this would be unsuccessful as we dont have the speed and overall foot skills to the leading forward to the standard of a team like the Bulldogs)

Finally, a starting point...what is our best line-up of talls/KPPs?

For mine, i would start with:

3 Defenders (plus a tallish utility such as Mattner): Rutten, Bassett, Stevens.
3 Forwards (plus 1-2 utilities capable of playing tall, such as Burton, Ricciuto): Bock, Perrie, Welsh
2 Ruckmen: Hudson, Maric

Other Talls/KPPs: McGregor, Gill, Sellar, Tippett, McIntyre (if elevated as expected).
Other Rucks: Griffen, Meesen

- PC -
22 Feb 2007, 13:18
Is this for the NAB?

Waaaaay waaaaay to early to be making this stuff up

Lets wait and see how the AFC position themselves , say after round 16, then we can start this thread

Markthirtytwo
22 Feb 2007, 13:21
I personally think we are in for learner year than the last two.

But stranger things have happened ala 2005

Capitalist
22 Feb 2007, 13:27
in '05 I thought we could win a flag in '07

however things haven't happened how I expected (injuries, players leaving)

i think '07 will be different than 05-06 because we aren't going to dominate the comp for large period of times. Like I have said before the standard of the comp hans't lifted that much IMHO so I think a top 4 is still likely

TheLeftFist8
22 Feb 2007, 13:29
Is this for the NAB?

Lets wait and see how the AFC position themselves , say after round 16, then we can start this thread

This is in preparation for the real stuff. That is why we should consider it now, so we can actually prepare in the pre-season for some likely eventualities in during the season. One would think that is exactly what the match committee and Neil Craig himself is doing in trialling McGregor in the ruck. We could bury our heads in the sand until round 16, and cross our fingers and toes in hope, but if injury and poor form strike, what is your contingency plan? Look at the list of those in reserve...a limited veteran, an injury prone recyled player and a bunch of inexperienced youngsters...where is plan B coming from?? Surely now is the time for planning and conjecture...isn't that what being a footy supporter is all about;)

relapse
22 Feb 2007, 13:30
I dont think we are a chance for the Grand Final this year, again stranger things have happened with sides in the past, but I expect us to finish around about 5th and not even have a GF sniff.

Eggzoi
22 Feb 2007, 13:49
You are all too pessimistic. The lads are going to the the GF a real shake this year, once Craigy works out how to beat that damn West Coast I'm mega confident.
That's just me though.

crows98
22 Feb 2007, 14:00
You are all too pessimistic. The lads are going to the the GF a real shake this year, once Craigy works out how to beat that damn West Coast I'm mega confident.
That's just me though.

There is lots and lots of water to go under that bridge and plenty of things have to go to plan but I am with you and have mega confidence. :thumbsu:

Capitalist
22 Feb 2007, 14:06
well here is the AFL Adelaide review 07

preview: Adelaide
2 hours, 14 minutes ago | Back

By Matt Burgan Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News
Over the coming weeks, afl.com.au will do a club-by-club preview of season 2007. Every weekday, we'll post a new preview, working our way through the league alphabetically. First cab off the rank is Adelaide.

ADELAIDE

2007 CLUB DETAILS

Coach: Neil Craig
Captain: Mark Ricciuto
2006 season: Third – Won 17, Lost 7
2006 best-and-fairest: Simon Goodwin
Games Record Holder: Ben Hart (311)
Goals Record Holder: Tony Modra (440)
Brownlow Medallists: 1 – Mark Ricciuto (2003)
Premierships: 2 – 1997, 1998
Home Ground: AAMI Stadium

2007 PREVIEW

Having been denied a grand final berth for the past two seasons, on both occasions by West Coast, Adelaide’s mission will be to go that extra step, make the grand final and ultimately add to its trophy cabinet. But can the Crows go all the way? It’s an interesting question, as the club’s list has remained relatively stable. Veterans Ben Hart (delisted) and Matthew Clarke (St Kilda) have departed while the experienced core of skipper Mark Ricciuto, Andrew McLeod, Simon Goodwin and Tyson Edwards remains integral to the cause. But the loss of key forward Trent Hentschel and ruckman Rhett Biglands, both through knee injuries, will hurt. Injuries took their toll on Adelaide in 2006, particularly towards the end of the season and during the finals, and if it is to have a genuine crack at the title, it needs a healthy list to choose from. The Crows also need their ‘second-tier’ players and youngsters to rise to the occasion to ease the load on its top, ageing echelon if a third flag is to land in the pride of South Australia.

2007 PLAYING LIST – COMINGS AND GOINGS

Additions:
Exchange period – received: -
Rookie elevation: –
Father/son selection: -
NAB AFL Draft: Bryce Campbell (Norwood), Nick Gill (North Adelaide), David Mackay (Oakleigh Chargers), James Sellar (Glenelg), Kurt Tippett (Southport)
NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft: –
NAB AFL Rookie Draft: Rhys Archard (South Adelaide), Greg Gallman (North Adelaide), Andrew McIntyre (North Adelaide), James Turner (South Adelaide)

Deletions:
Retired: Matthew Clarke
Exchange period – traded: -
Delisted: Chad Gibson, Ben Hart (veteran – outside list), Alan Obst, Hayden Skipworth, Adrian Bonaddio (rookie), Sam Elliott (rookie), Tom Redden (rookie), Brad Sugars (rookie)

2007 BEST 22

B: Johncock, Rutten, Bassett
HB: McLeod, McGregor, Mattner
C: Burton, Goodwin, Reilly
HF: Thompson, Perrie, Bode
F: Welsh, Bock, Ricciuto
FOLL: Hudson, Shirley, Edwards
I/C: Doughty, van Berlo, Knights, Meesen
EMG: Stevens, Porplyzia, Douglas

2007 PLAYER PROFILES

Bassett, Nathan – One of the AFL’s elite defenders, though still vastly underrated. Won All-Australian honours last year.

Rhett Biglands – Unfortunately, the big ruckman will miss the season with a knee injury sustained in last year’s preliminary final defeat by West Coast. A big loss.

Nathan Bock – Plagued by stress fractures in his lower back in 2006, the key defender/forward will be looking to bounce back to the strong form shown in 2005.

Matthew Bode – The small forward’s 2006 was his best season since 2002 as he shook off his injury woes of recent times. Will be primed to back up with another consistent season.

Brett Burton – Important forward/midfielder because of his marking and goalkicking ability. Part of 2007 leadership group. Has recovered well from knee surgery before Christmas.

Bryce Campbell – The 22-year-old draftee gets his chance after shining with Norwood in 2006. The left-footed midfielder/forward will be sure to impress with his strong work ethic.

Michael Doughty – Midfielder/half-back had his most consistent AFL season in 2006 claiming a top-10 best-and-fairest finish.

Richard Douglas – Bounced back from knee injury to play three matches, including the first final in his debut season. The midfielder is set to build on his first-year development.

Tyson Edwards – Only in recent times has the outstanding veteran ball-winner gained the kudos he deserves. Will again be a vital cog in Adelaide’s running brigade.

Nick Gill – Previously with Melbourne and the Roos, the 24-year-old gets his third crack at AFL level. A tall forward capable of freakish marks, he could prove a handy addition.

Simon Goodwin (veteran – outside list) – One of the competition’s finest players in 2006, the hard-running ball-magnet will again be instrumental to the club’s fortunes.

Jonathon Griffin – The 200cm-plus developing ruckman enters his third AFL-listed season. With Biglands sidelined and Clarke at St Kilda, he will be looking to make his debut.

Trent Hentschel – Like Biglands, the key forward will be watching from the sidelines after he suffered a serious knee injury in round 21 last year. A huge loss.

John Hinge – On the cusp of selection when named an emergency in round 14 last season, the defender is likely to make his debut in his third AFL-listed season.

Ben Hudson – The ruckman shone in 2005, yet a knee reconstruction prevented him from playing a game last year. Ready to regain the No.1 rucking mantle.

Luke Jericho – A crucial year looms for the forward, now in his fifth AFL season. A shoulder injury ruined his 2006, yet he has been given another opportunity to show his wares.

Graham Johncock – Unlucky not to receive All-Australian selection in 2006 after a stellar season. One of the best small, rebounding defenders in the game.

Chris Knights – A quadriceps injury curtailed the second half of an otherwise impressive second season in 2006. The midfielder will be pushing to be a regular on the team sheet.

David Mackay – It will be a year of development for the long-kicking midfielder as he enters his first AFL-listed season. Set to line-up with South Adelaide in the SANFL.

Ivan Maric – A genuine opportunity has emerged for the young ruckman with Biglands injured and Clarke no longer at the club. The 21-year-old could be the No. 2 ruckman to Hudson.

Kris Massie – The half-back’s ninth AFL season was his best and he will be eager to recapture that consistency, though a fractured jaw has interrupted his pre-season.

Martin Mattner – Dashing half-back/winger has been part of the club’s resurgence over the past two seasons. Expect the 24-year-old to gain greater prominence this year.

Ken McGregor – Key forward/defender was sorely missed through injury late in 2006. He will play an important role, particularly with talls Biglands and Hentschel sidelined.

Andrew McLeod – The dynamo was brilliant across half-back in 2006, despite playing with a foot injury. Could play up forward more. Still one of the elite performers in the AFL.

John Meesen – Entering his third AFL season, the emerging ruckman is almost certain to make his debut as he challenges for a spot in Adelaide’s ruck division.

Ian Perrie – Returned for the finals last year despite a knee injury denting his 2006 season. ‘Sarge’ will be a welcome return up forward as a key goalkicking option.

Darren Pfeiffer – A back stress fracture and the demands of the game hindered the midfielder’s 2006. He will be determined to bounce back and make his debut.

Jason Porplyzia – Small forward/midfielder impressed in his second stint with the Crows (he was a rookie in 2003). Looking to firmly establish a position in the best 22.

Brent Reilly – Last year was his best AFL season, as he played every match. Still only 23, the classy half-back/midfielder/half-forward should step up again.

Mark Ricciuto (veteran – outside list) – Even injuries and illness in 2006 could not stop the midfielder/forward leading the club’s goalkicking. A modern great, still a crucial cog in the Crows set-up.

Ben Rutten – One of the competition’s best full-backs, the 23-year-old continued to be one of the most miserly defenders in 2006.

James Sellar – Key forward was the club’s first selection (No 14) and somewhat of a bargain in last year's NAB AFL Draft. Likely to debut in 2007. Looms as a decade player.

Robert Shirley – Had his best year in 2006, enhancing his reputation as a fine run-with player. Now in his eighth season, he will be expected to maintain his consistency.

Scott Stevens – Revived his career to carve out his best season in 2006, playing 18 matches, as a key defender. Both club and player will be hoping that form can be maintained.

Scott Thompson – In the midfield or across half-forward, Thompson remains pivotal in Adelaide’s set-up. Entering his third season with the club, he should continue to blossom.

Kurt Tippett – Key forward/long-term ruckman with enormous potential. Hit a hurdle when he injured his neck pre-Christmas, but is expected to return to full training in mid-March. Will be given time to develop.

Jason Torney – Battled injuries in the past three seasons and will be determined to re-establish his status as a courageous defender. Important year looms, as he turns 30 in 2007.

Nathan Van Berlo – An athlete with super endurance, Van Berlo is a key part of Adelaide’s midfield rotation. Should elevate his status further this season.

Bernie Vince – Somewhat of a bolter in the 2005 draft, the midfielder played four matches in 2006 before injuring his knee. Expect further progression this year.

Scott Welsh – Injuries have interrupted much of this talented forward’s career, including 2006. Shone in 2005 and will be desperate to bounce back to that form.

ROOKIE LIST

Rhys Archard – Mature-age midfielder – he turns 24 in 2007 – was drafted after claiming South Adelaide’s best and fairest in 2006.

Greg Gallman – Quick-off-the-mark defender who represented South Australia in last year’s NAB AFL Under-18 championships and will develop with the SANFL’s North Adelaide.

Andrew McIntyre – The club’s first pick (No 14) in the rookie draft, the tall defender will continue his progress with North Adelaide, where he played seniors last year.

James Turner – Strong marking forward was an Under-18 South Australian representative in 2006. Will continue his apprenticeship with South Adelaide

TheLeftFist8
22 Feb 2007, 14:07
That's just me though.

I agree we can give the GF a real shake, i am very happy with our depth and mix of running/utility players across the ground in terms of ability and range of experience...in my opinion they are probably equal 2nd best in the comp.

I just fear we are vulnerable in the big man department. Even now, where is our back-up? McGregor injured, Perrie injured, Maric injured, Gill injured, Sellar not yet fit, Tippett not yet fit, McIntyre a promising but untried rookie, Meesen and Griffin still not ready. I know some of those injuries are short term but it paints a scary picture.

Does everyone think our big man stocks are sufficient? Or wont it matter in terms of our overall performance?

- PC -
22 Feb 2007, 15:31
Does everyone think our big man stocks are sufficient? Or wont it matter in terms of our overall performance?

Depends on the injury issue. I think Mad Dog said it best that of our injuries, if we were playing for 4 points, who would still miss out?

As to the second part, a good coach will have plan A,B and C when it comes to man management and playing style determined by player selection ( one would hope anyway)

Pagans paddock only ever worked when Carey was on the field

crows4always
22 Feb 2007, 16:28
That's just me though.:thumbsu:
I agree with your thoughts,cant see why we wont be in the top 4 again & give the finals a real shake. IMO we have the most depth ever in our squad with the quality of our young players something that Graigy has been working on with succes I feel.
But as always it depends on injuries especially to our big man department.

birdmanptr
22 Feb 2007, 17:03
That's just me though.

I hope you are right however i can see us not making or just sneaking into the 8

WHY RUCKMAN our no 1 ruckman has not played for over a year and the other 3 have about 6 games of AFL between them and that all belongs to one player say what you want about last years prelim when Biglands went down and they got right on top in the ruck that was the end of our chances

Hope i am wrong but................

maccas_no1
22 Feb 2007, 17:38
Will finish the minor round 6th to 9th, no hope at all finishing there, just enjoy watching the kids develop over the next few years thats what Im looking forward to:thumbsu:

maccas_no1
22 Feb 2007, 17:44
I hope you are right however i can see us not making or just sneaking into the 8

WHY RUCKMAN our no 1 ruckman has not played for over a year and the other 3 have about 6 games of AFL between them and that all belongs to one player say what you want about last years prelim when Biglands went down and they got right on top in the ruck that was the end of our chances

Hope i am wrong but................

Your very much right, if Biglands hadnt off gone down I would be more confident, but not now, nothing against any of them but Hudson coming back after 18 mths out of the game and then have three backup ruckmen with next to nil AFL experience isnt promising.

Forwardline is also of major concern, Hentschel gone easy our best forward, Riccuito well that is a week to week proposition at the moment, so we rely on the inconsistant forwards in Welsh (injury prone) Perrie (inconsistant) McGregor (Injury prone can suffer from form slumps) Bode (Has got alot better) Burton (Injury Prone but when he doesnt suffer from a brain fades is a star) simply not going to cut it Im afraid:(

Crow-mo
22 Feb 2007, 19:36
Is this for the NAB?

well said.

Crow-mo
22 Feb 2007, 19:39
Well seeing as we had our no.1 ruck out ALL of last year, and we've another year of development into our young bigs - how are we not at least as well placed as last year????

certainly at THIS stage, our bigs are no more of a problem than last year, and we were in the mix for the GF right to the last.

Southerntakeover
22 Feb 2007, 22:11
Well seeing as we had our no.1 ruck out ALL of last year, and we've another year of development into our young bigs - how are we not at least as well placed as last year????

certainly at THIS stage, our bigs are no more of a problem than last year, and we were in the mix for the GF right to the last.

I agree.

Isnt it strange that people on this board suddenly appreciate Biglands? When he was playing there were complaints that he wasnt giving us enough in the ruck contests, and now hes injured we cant win the flag without him.

birdmanptr
23 Feb 2007, 15:27
I agree.

Isnt it strange that people on this board suddenly appreciate Biglands? When he was playing there were complaints that he wasnt giving us enough in the ruck contests, and now hes injured we cant win the flag without him.

For me my only complaint was that he did not take marks up forward and when he did his kicking let him down for a guy of his size he should have had at least 2 goal average from marks in the forward line

Markthirtytwo
23 Feb 2007, 15:51
For me my only complaint was that he did not take marks up forward and when he did his kicking let him down for a guy of his size he should have had at least 2 goal average from marks in the forward line

Our kicking let us down in 2005 & 2006 PFs.

Crow-mo
23 Feb 2007, 17:53

2 goals a game = 50 goals a season for us. a bit much expecting that sort of output from our resting ruckman.

birdmanptr
23 Feb 2007, 19:43
2 goals a game = 50 goals a season for us. a bit much expecting that sort of output from our resting ruckman.

He should be doing this as part of the play when he is on the ground

Crow-mo
24 Feb 2007, 04:13
He should be doing this as part of the play when he is on the ground

so he shouldn't be kicking 2 goals a game, resting in a forward pocket?

make up your mind :D