View Full Version : Creed Concert

Macca19
20 Mar 2002, 22:28
Well...i bought the $72 ticket specifically for Sevendust. Then they pulled out. I couldnt get a refund or onsell the ticket to any of my friends, so i thoguht instead of wasting the 72 bucks..id go along and see it anyway. I went there with an open mind....'who knows' i thought, 'ive only heard 3 or 4 songs...even tho i hate those, they might change my mind with a lightning live show and some really good songs'.

The new support act was Crash Palace. They were actually ok. I didnt mind them. They seemed a bit...stale i guess. Most of their songs sounded very similar in sound...but the best part of the band is the singer....he has a really great singing voice...they could become quite big in Australia...definatly check them out. They sound to me like a hybrid of Shihad with Daniel Johns (minus whinging) vocals.

Then came the big act Creed.
I will say now....it was the biggest piece of pretentious, self indulgent, unoriginal, arrogant piece of masturbation ive ever witnessed. How Creed have become one of "the biggest bands in the world" is beyond me. They have no talent.
Ill break it down for everyone:
The singer....good old Eddie Vedder...oh i mean Scott Stapp. Could he really be anymore like Eddie Vedder. The funniest thing was (and i know he will kill me) he actually looks like Santos L Helper with long hair.....get that pic of Santos with the wig on the BF Picture Page and back and they look similar.
But the singer looks like Eddie Vedder....he dresses like Eddie Vedder...he SOUNDS like Eddie Vedder....but worst of all....he has actually stolen 2 or 3 'Eddie Vedder Poses' as well. They are:
1) the 'one foot on the feedback speaker, slightly crouched over with squinting face "singing" into the mic' pose
2)the 'legs apartm slightly leaning backwards with squinting face "singing" into the mic' pose
3) similar to 2 except pointing to the crowd
He has done his study and he has done well. You could not act more Eddie Vedder if he tried!!
Now the guitarist.....for someone that only knows how to play 4 power chords, he certianly thinks he is top s#*t!

Now onto the music. I wont call Creed unoriginal anymore...as that is false as every other band in the world has variety in their music. Not Creed!!! I was actually astounded. They played about...i dunno...18 songs. Of those 18 songs...16 sounded EXACTLY the same. Of those 16 songs....14 started in the same way....with the guitarist playing a soft melodic 'riff' (only word i can think of at the moment)..for example the start of 'With Arms Wide Open'...that same start is in 14 other songs they played tonight. I mean comeon...a bit of variety wouldnt go astray. But it gets worse. Each song literally sounds teh same. It starts with that soft melodic riff...goes for between 10-20 seconds...then the bass and drums kick in...continuing the same melodic guitar riff...then the eddie vedder vocals kick in for the verse....then comes the loud 4 power chord choruses which ALL sound the same. You could swap the lyrics of the choruses for every song...and it would all fit together perfectly still...you wouldnt know any different. Thats all Creed are....loud Power Chords. Thats all they have. No variety at all....i mean hell...i can play 4 power chords.
It was dissapointing to say the least....16 out of 18 songs unable to be told apart.
And Scott Stapp....at least when other bands talk tot he crowd they have interesting things to say....but Scott Stapp..what a tossbag...could be hte most boring lead singer in the world. Before one song he said 'before we play this next song....im gonna tell you about it...........about 4 years ago.......it was a summers day......and i was sitting on my porch.......looking....looking at....looking at the sun.......and i was thinking......thinking to myself.....how life is' and then went into some song which sounded the same as all the others. I mean come on.....who gives a rats anus if you were sitting on a porch.

The lighting was alright.....but the telltale sign of a crap band...they had pyrotechnics and fireworks....which always take away from the fact they are a crap band. The crowd...what a bunch of idiots.....each time a firework went off, or flames shot in the air, they would cheer and scream like imbeciles...i mean who claps fireworks?? Have you not seen fire before in your life??
On the crowd....was dissapointing....there was less people here than there was at Incubus, which i didnt think was possible. They had the stage halfway up the entertainment centre...blocked off completly one half...and of the 14 seating sections left...6 of those were blocked off as well....of the 8 sections left they would of been about 70% full, and the "moshpit" *snigger* would of been about 40% full. I doubt Creed would of made any money tonight...no wonder they werent originally gonna come to Adelaide!!

It really was a very dissapointing concert.....the fact that 90% of their songs they played sounded the same was just ridiculous.

I have new found respect for the likes of Pearl Jam, Live, Nickelback and Silverchair.....they (except Pearl Jam) may not be original, but goddamn at least they have VARIETY to their music. They can play a set and most of the songs sound different. But not Creed. How gullible is the music buying public?? How could a band with no variety become one of the top selling bands in the world!! I reckon i can put together a band with a singer that copies Eddie Vedder and a guitarist who only knows 4 chords.

A lot of posters here hate Metal...which is fair enough...its one of those genres you either love or hate....you all say they just scream...its just racket with people banging their drums and thrashing guitars and scremain vocals you cant understand....well at least 95% of Metal bands have VARIETY...you can actually tell their songs apart, and listening to 1 song isnt like listening to an entire cd. Creed could of interchanged the lyrics in all their songs tonight and noone probably would of noticed the difference. Most of the people there were only there to here Higher and My Sacrifice. My Sacrifice was one of the two songs that didnt sound the same (its actually "heavy" the entire way thru).

Its a disgrace that a band as pathetic as Creed can sell millions of records...but one thing it gives....it gives hope to every talentless bum in the world...as if they can sell millions of records, then so can every other person on this planet!

Docker_Brat
20 Mar 2002, 22:35
Originally posted by Macca19
Its a disgrace that a band as pathetic as Creed can sell millions of records...but one thing it gives....it gives hope to every talentless bum in the world...as if they can sell millions of records, then so can every other person on this planet!
Only if they have a good marketing team.

The Power Guy
20 Mar 2002, 22:35
I have to agree.... My sister got the Creed CD for Chrissy, I thought hey, I might have a listen. It got to the 4th track and I got hell bored, turned it off and everyime I see the CD I shudder.

hourn
20 Mar 2002, 22:38
Yep, not a huge fan of Creed, but i do LOVE my sacrifice - reckon the words are brilliant.

But agreed, all their songs sound the same, and they want to be to much like Pearl Jam.

With Arms Wide Open is a good song, but all their other songs sound just like it, and it gets repetitive to say the least.

daicos4ever
20 Mar 2002, 22:38
Good to see you had fun Macca ;)

Originally posted by The Power Guy
I have to agree.... My sister got the Creed CD for Chrissy, I thought hey, I might have a listen. It got to the 4th track and I got hell bored, turned it off and everyime I see the CD I shudder.

I have to agree, though I only made it to track 3 before I turned it off, got the CD, and took a hammer to it. Feeling the damage had not been sufficient, I got out the pocket knife, and, well, suffice to say, that CD work no more. Lucky it was a Xmas present :D

Macca19
20 Mar 2002, 22:44
Originally posted by hourn
Yep, not a huge fan of Creed, but i do LOVE my sacrifice - reckon the words are brilliant.

But agreed, all their songs sound the same, and they want to be to much like Pearl Jam.

With Arms Wide Open is a good song, but all their other songs sound just like it, and it gets repetitive to say the least.

i got no probs with the lyrics and i quite like My Sacrifice as a song...its kinda catchy....but when every other song they have is exactly the same...you just have to wonder what is going on in the music industry in recent years when a band with minimum talent and zero variety can be one of the biggest bands in the world.

As i said...i may hate the likes of Silverchair, Live, Nickelback and Pearl Jam and every other wanna be unoriginal Post Grunge band in the world....but i have to respect them for having variety to their music.

Its basically the same song over and over except with different lyrics

Macca19
20 Mar 2002, 22:48
Originally posted by daicos4ever
Good to see you had fun Macca ;)

lol....i loved every minute of it :rolleyes: :( :mad:

If only Sevendust had come....they would of literally blasted Creed off stage....Sevendust have variety. I didnt wanna waste $72. I went there with an openmind hoping to enjoy it even a little bit so the $72 wouldnt of been a waste.....but id rather pay $72 and watch Scandul'us or Enrique Inglesias perform than go and see that arrogant wanna be crap i saw tonight.

Santos L Helper
21 Mar 2002, 08:09
I'm gonna kill you!

That guy looks like a robbers dog, whereas I am 'the most beautiful man in the cosmos'.;) :rolleyes:

FIGJAM
21 Mar 2002, 10:53
The new support act was Crash Palace. They were actually ok. I didnt mind them. They seemed a bit...stale i guess. Most of their songs sounded very similar in sound...but the best part of the band is the singer....he has a really great singing voice...they could become quite big in Australia...definatly check them out. They sound to me like a hybrid of Shihad with Daniel Johns (minus whinging) vocals.
Glad you kinda liked 'em Macca! I agree with most of what you said about them, especially the bit about being stale-ish. It's material from their first album though and I think they'll improve over time! They'll get their own distinctive sound soon enough.

I am friends with Marcus the lead singer and I know the rest of the band via drunken nights out!

Marcus is the key to the band as he really knows how to pen a great melody and has a powerful voice. Mind you if I told him he sounded anything like Daniel Johns he'd chuck a full beer at my head!!! :D

BW
21 Mar 2002, 12:03
haha creed,

getting a refund after 7dust pulled out was the best decision ive ever made :D :D

TheButcher
21 Mar 2002, 13:52
I went i saw i sicked!

they wished they were motley crue with all the pyro..

and the sept 11 crap was as good as preaching godliness..

free ticket..wasted night

Macca19
21 Mar 2002, 15:10
Originally posted by FIGJAM

Glad you kinda liked 'em Macca! I agree with most of what you said about them, especially the bit about being stale-ish. It's material from their first album though and I think they'll improve over time! They'll get their own distinctive sound soon enough.

They definatly sound ok. If it wasnt for a few great solos in some of their songs theyd almost be a carbon copy of Creed with their 4 power chord choruses and the like. By stale i mean most of their main riffs sound very similar. They are heaps like Shihad..which isnt a bad thing..cos Shihad go off!

Marcus is the key to the band as he really knows how to pen a great melody and has a powerful voice. Mind you if I told him he sounded anything like Daniel Johns he'd chuck a full beer at my head!!! :D

Hes got an awesome voice thats for sure....its the first thing that really stands out is his voice.

FIGJAM
22 Mar 2002, 08:00
They definatly sound ok. If it wasnt for a few great solos in some of their songs theyd almost be a carbon copy of Creed with their 4 power chord choruses and the like. By stale i mean most of their main riffs sound very similar. They are heaps like Shihad..which isnt a bad thing..cos Shihad go off!

Hes got an awesome voice thats for sure....its the first thing that really stands out is his voice.
"carbon copy of Creed" :D ...I think you are best keeping your Shihad analogy...for their sake! They absolutely f*cken hate Creed!!!

Some of the bands they like are the punk bands from the 70's, Stone Temple Pilots and an unusual one, Kyuss!

I reckon that the super heavy guitar lines detract from Marcus' melodies in most cases. I am a guitarist and I reckon anyone can throw in a drop-D tuning and hammer out power chords through a song. There are moments in their sets where I think, "Yeah, that's what you should be doing all the time!". But hey, I'm not their producer am I...just a drinking buddy!! :)

Santos L Helper
22 Mar 2002, 08:07
Drop D tuning is for pussies. Why not tune down to E flat or even down to B? Much heavier sound.

gPhonque
22 Mar 2002, 08:28
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Drop D tuning is for pussies. Why not tune down to E flat or even down to B? Much heavier sound.

But E-flat is higher than D Santos..........

:confused:

:D

Santos L Helper
22 Mar 2002, 09:34
Originally posted by gPhonque

But E-flat is higher than D Santos..........

:confused:

:D

I mean tune all strings down to E flat, then you'd have a drop C I believe? Or even all strings down to D.
We used to play in E flat, cos we were tough.;) :rolleyes: