23 Feb 2007, 19:51
John hurt in the first quarter with knee as the first report
No luck for this poor lad
Mad Dog
23 Feb 2007, 20:27
Drummond - step back from the ledge......:eek:
maccas_no1
23 Feb 2007, 20:45
Meeson is injuried not sure what it is though.
From what the commentators are saying on the radio far too many AFC players have gone missing:(
birdmanptr
23 Feb 2007, 21:07
Meeson is injuried not sure what it is though.
From what the commentators are saying on the radio far too many AFC players have gone missing:(
We gave away to many STUPID frees partly because of the new rules but some were just plain stupid
worst example Ben Rutten on Ebert
maccas_no1
23 Feb 2007, 21:11
We gave away to many STUPID frees partly because of the new rules but some were just plain stupid
worst example Ben Rutten on Ebert
That wouldnt be to the fact Port put far too much pressure on us and we were forced to be 'reckless' to win the ball back???
birdmanptr
23 Feb 2007, 21:14
That wouldnt be to the fact Port put far too much pressure on us and we were forced to be 'reckless' to win the ball back???
At times but the Rutten one was just a brain fade a simple shepard would have been the order of the day and hes grabbed him
To be honest i'm a little non-plussed we got so close to the paps.
A heap of 1st choice players to come back in & we never gave it up.
Hudson, Griffin, Welsh & Douglas caught my eye the most.
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2007, 22:00
Any actual news from the club about the type of injury? or is it a case of wait until tomorrow?
macca23
23 Feb 2007, 22:02
Any actual news from the club about the type of injury? or is it a case of wait until tomorrow?
Just on 5AA now - strained ligaments in the knee. That's usually about 6 to 8 weeks out of the game on average.
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2007, 22:05
Thanks Macca - can't stand listening to a bunch of incompetents that have no idea about the modern game or how to interview someone.
That's at least not as bad as I first feared. Good luck to Meese.
macca23
23 Feb 2007, 22:08
Thanks Macca - can't stand listening to a bunch of incompetents that have no idea about the modern game or how to interview someone.
:D :D
Understandably too Nikki. I was going to turn the TV sound down and listen to 5aa until I remembered that they had footy's version of the Goons calling the match!! :p
Mad Dog
23 Feb 2007, 22:08
at least no structural damage....:thumbsu:
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2007, 22:11
:D :D
Understandably too Nikki. I was going to turn the TV sound down and listen to 5aa until I remembered that they had footy's version of the Goons calling the match!! :p
Macca, not at the game? I'm disapointed.......did the spitting scare you away? (there's no way you could call that rain tonight!) ;) Luckily I took the scarf, which became a nice rain hat (ish).
macca23
23 Feb 2007, 22:15
Macca, not at the game? I'm disapointed.......did the spitting scare you away? (there's no way you could call that rain tonight!) ;) Luckily I took the scarf, which became a nice rain hat (ish).
I never take the pre-season comp seriously Nikki.
Rarely if ever do I go to the pre-season games, so that the anticipation of going to that first game played for match points is even more acute!! :)
Can't wait for that.
Drummond
23 Feb 2007, 22:19
What the heck did he do? I was keeping a close eye on him when he was on and I didn't see any injury. I thought I saw him go off under no duress, very confusing.
Terrible luck for Meese. We'll be seeing a lot of him with Norwood.
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2007, 22:31
I never take the pre-season comp seriously Nikki.
Rarely if ever do I go to the pre-season games, so that the anticipation of going to that first game played for match points is even more acute!! :)
Can't wait for that.
Ahh but we had our first bbq for the year and at least discovered the leak in the gas line prior to the first real game! See pre-season is important, gotta test everything before the real season.
I go to check out the youngsters and see what new little things are being trialled by the team and like you don't really put much in store for the 'who cares' cup.
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2007, 22:33
What the heck did he do? I was keeping a close eye on him when he was on and I didn't see any injury. I thought I saw him go off under no duress, very confusing.
Terrible luck for Meese. We'll be seeing a lot of him with Norwood.
His knee got a little twisted when he contested a ball on the ground with Brogan on the edge of the square on the outer wing. He immediately grabbed the knee and he did hobble of the ground with assistance from one of the trainers.
Stiffy_18
23 Feb 2007, 22:33
Hard luck for the lad. I actually thought he was pretty competative when he got in but only lasted for a couple of minutes. He just can't take a trick :(
Kane McGoodwin
23 Feb 2007, 22:37
Just on 5AA now - strained ligaments in the knee. That's usually about 6 to 8 weeks out of the game on average.
Buggar, I was really looking forward to watching the Meese tonight. :thumbsd:
I suppose the positive is it have Griffen more minutes to showcase his talents.
Drummond
23 Feb 2007, 23:30
...and ruckman John Meesen showed promise before going off early with an ankle strain
Adelaide lost ruckman John Meesen with strained knee ligaments, an injury which could sideline the youngster for up to six weeks
6 weeks isn't too bad, should be back by about Round 2-3 of the SANFL season.
Mad Dog
23 Feb 2007, 23:34
Ahh but we had our first bbq for the year and at least discovered the leak in the gas line prior to the first real game! See pre-season is important, gotta test everything before the real season.
I go to check out the youngsters and see what new little things are being trialled by the team and like you don't really put much in store for the 'who cares' cup.
I'm hoping my Carpark comes thru this year so I can swoop on some of those snags.......:D
relapse
24 Feb 2007, 00:56
I'm hoping my Carpark comes thru this year so I can swoop on some of those snags.......:D
I havent opened my membership package yet, still at my dad's house. Are the car park ballots blank ???
If so did you want me to send you mine so you can use it so you have an additional chance to win it ??
My mate and I never bother to enter the draw, if it was free then it might be different, but having to pay. No thanks.
Crow-mo
24 Feb 2007, 04:22
Drummond - step back from the ledge......:eek:
ha ha, very good :D
maccas_no1
24 Feb 2007, 07:50
Maccas No1 - if you are going to spend this season slagging our side - then most of us would prefer that you just took up following the lawn bowls.......;)
I'm ********ing sick of your "told you so" attitude already...
...I really don't know what your problem is.......:thumbsd:
Read my PM then come back and edit your own post, the days of having a decent disscussion on this board are dwindling:thumbsd:
Re-read my post and tell me where the 'told you so' came from, I simply asked were we reckless because of Port's pressure on us, where is the 'told you so' in that???
Kane McGoodwin
24 Feb 2007, 20:02
Read my PM then come back and edit your own post, the days of having a decent disscussion on this board are dwindling:thumbsd:
Re-read my post and tell me where the 'told you so' came from, I simply asked were we reckless because of Port's pressure on us, where is the 'told you so' in that???
Marty, calm down.
Sometimes it is best to move on...
Out for 3 Months :thumbsd:
http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=316382
Crows ruckman John Meesen faces three months out of football after knee surgery on Monday night.
Meesen, who dislocated his right kneecap and strained ligaments early in his NAB Cup debut on Friday, saw a specialist on Monday and was told surgery was the best option.
Further details will be released by the club on Tuesday.
Oh :(
Dislocated kneecap. Isn't that the same injury which kept Tredrea out of Port's lineup for most of last season? If so, lets hope Adelaide don't rush him back too early or we might lose him for more than just half the season.
Malibu#27
27 Feb 2007, 07:57
Dislocated kneecap. Isn't that the same injury which kept Tredrea out of Port's lineup for most of last season? If so, lets hope Adelaide don't rush him back too early or we might lose him for more than just half the season.
Tredreas was more than just a dislocation and strained ligaments from what I had heard. I was told it also involved a small bone fragment which he (tried to) play with throughout the season.
They were saying 12 weeks on NOVA this morning.
Carl Spackler
27 Feb 2007, 10:44
Rarely if ever do I go to the pre-season game
Me neither. The last one I went to was when Shaun Rehn slipped on the bounce mat and did his knee. Decided not to go to another one.
Terrible luck for Meesen. The worst thing isn't just the 12 weeks out, it is the increased chance of injury when he does return. How many times has Tredrea dislocated his kneecap now? Hopefully Meesen doesn't have to carry this injury throughout his career.
Dandy_GO
27 Feb 2007, 10:51
Me neither. The last one I went to was when Shaun Rehn slipped on the bounce mat and did his knee. Decided not to go to another one.
Terrible luck for Meesen. The worst thing isn't just the 12 weeks out, it is the increased chance of injury when he does return. How many times has Tredrea dislocated his kneecap now? Hopefully Meesen doesn't have to carry this injury throughout his career.
Not necessarily. Like most injuries, if he builds the muscle up again and wears a brace and some tape for a while he may well be fine, but there are people who are more susceptible to that type of injury than others. I've dislocated my knee-cap 4 times over the last 5 years, once with quite serious ligament damage. If he is one of those people then he there are operations you can have to try and correct it, but it would mean several more weeks out of the game. Given that this is the first time Meesen has done it (that I know of, at least) I'd be tempted to say that as long as he takes his time with his recovery and does everything the physios ask him to do he should be okay.
I have disproportionatly large muscles surrounding my kneecaps, given that I've spent much of the last few years squeezing my mums pilates ball thingie between my legs like an egg. I'm not sure which way Meesen's knee cap dislocated, but he may well have to do that same exercise. You feel like an absolute goose.