View Full Version : Great effort by our defenders
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 09:16
After having one of the weakest defenses in recent times, I was very impressed by how well our defense played last night, in particular Waite, O'hAilpin and Thornton, on Lucas, Lloyd and Johns last night:thumbsu: .
Jarrad Waite, in his first game at CHB, did brilliantly well on Lucas. He started of slow and did a few mistakes early, but apart from that starred, and his run and attack from defense was great - playing CHB really allows him to make the most of his athleticism and agility, and we might finally see Waite become the player we all hoped he will be, playing out of defense instead of at CHF:D .
Bret Thornton easily accounted for Courtney Johns, though it's no more than you would have expected given the match-up. He will have a lot more freedom this season, with Waite and Setanta able to match up on the gorillas, and letting Thornton play on the third defender, where he can hurt with his attack from defense and great foot disposal. Plus, if one of the other two is being beaten by their direct opponents, we have Thornton as back up and is more than capable on playing on the opposition's best.
And finally...the Irishman Setanta O'hAilpin:p . Played on the "great" Matthew Lloyd and had him comprehensibly beat. A fantastic effort by Setanta, having only played a dozen AFL games to come and beat the greatest FF in recent years (though Fev will have something to say about that). Played well on two of the game's best in his previous two outings, having also beat Hall in Sydney last year. We have finally found ourselves a full-back, one who is capable of going against the gorillas and will free up Thornton. Not to mention his ability at ground level, and his blistering pace for a guy his size, will be great coming out of defense for us, might turnover a few but will only get better with time. Good on you, Setanta:thumbsu: .
Looks like we have found our CHB and FB in Waite and O'hAilpin, freeing up Thornton and once Bower comes into the team, our once pathetically weak defense could quite possibly be one of the best in the AFL. And if not, it certainly will be as exciting as any:p .
AlecDuncan
25 Feb 2007, 09:22
After having one of the weakest defenses in recent times, I was very impressed by how well our defense played last night, in particular Waite, O'hAilpin and Thornton, on Lucas, Lloyd and Johns last night:thumbsu: .
I was very impressed with how quick & clean our pickups and layoffs were - especially in close. Someone's drills have made a difference - Ratten's influence if I had to guess.
AlecDuncan
25 Feb 2007, 09:25
...might turnover a few but will only get better with time. Good on you, Setanta.
Every kick was a winner last night. Not one failed to find a teammate or picked the wrong position. He's coming along nicely.
BlueDevil
25 Feb 2007, 09:32
Every kick was a winner last night. Not one failed to find a teammate or picked the wrong position. He's coming along nicely.
and that grab backing back in front of Lloyd or was it hird? ah well. bugger the irish luck. thats irish magic. :thumbsu:
gandaal
25 Feb 2007, 09:35
Not only did he hit his targets with ease but, unlike in the past, none of his kicks looked awkward or cring worthy.
You can't help but be excited by our new defense :thumbsu:
gandaal
25 Feb 2007, 09:35
and that grab backing back in front of Lloyd. bugger the irish luck. thats irish magic. :thumbsu:
That was Hird but it was still a great mark.
thylacine60
25 Feb 2007, 09:51
Yep it's official. Carlos can now kick to position. I don't think people REALLY understand how important this bloke is going to become to us down the track. And of course the more he succeeds the more incentive for Aisake to make a go if it. This is a huge development for us.
That was Hird but it was still a great mark.
even better that he did it in front of Hird. Hird thought he had that mark all to himself and the look on his face when our Setanta took it...priceless. That was easily my #1 moment of the match.
2centsworth
25 Feb 2007, 10:05
The back line one us the game. JW killed them by being able to read the ball like a foward and attack the ball, something not many defenders can do. All of them did a great job.
The only thing that worried me is when, at times, they are moving the ball from around the HBF, our mid fielders and HFF's would not lead or give an option which turned over the ball.
All in all a great effort.:)
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 10:11
Definitely, his game yesterday was fantastic and I couldn't fault it. He will probably stuff up here and there, but that's to be expected given he didn't even pick up a footy til 3 years ago, however the bad will become much, much rarer as he gets more experience. The Irish experiment has paid off:thumbsu:
always right
25 Feb 2007, 10:13
Guys...I have to admit I was impressed with the blues yesterday....but have to remind myself that you always start the preseason like this and it was only against the bombers afterall.
Still credit where it's due....you look capable of moving up the ladder this year.
Also I'd like to nominate Jarred Waite as the AA centre half back this year.....if he can just avoid injuries. O'Hailpin was also extremely impressive.
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 10:19
Guys...I have to admit I was impressed with the blues yesterday....but have to remind myself that you always start the preseason like this and it was only against the bombers afterall.
Still credit where it's due....you look capable of moving up the ladder this year.
Also I'd like to nominate Jarred Waite as the AA centre half back this year.....if he can just avoid injuries. O'Hailpin was also extremely impressive.
Thanks mate:thumbsu: . On Waite, after a dissapointing season at CHF many thought that he would never reach his potential - me personally, I never thought he'd be a star - but a very good player in his own right. However, watching his game last night, he looks super comfortable in defense, and is able to play to his strength there much more than in the forward line. It looks like, at CHB, Waite could finally become the player that Carlton fans have been hoping him to be.
Setanta was fantastic last night. He didn't put a foot wrong against Lloyd, and with Waite and Thornton back there as well, we certainly have the makings of a pretty sound defence. When Bower comes into the team, which he will of course, and perhaps Anderson with some run and carry, the future looks rosy with a young, but promising back six.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
25 Feb 2007, 10:25
we even chose to play Saddington up forward - due to the defence holding its own.
bluegal1983
25 Feb 2007, 10:28
Yo`DooR;6805418']we even chose to play Saddington up forward - due to the defence holding its own.
That wasn't a good move though....
C4[2]Yo`DooR
25 Feb 2007, 10:30
where else should we play him ? If the defence is holding up ... his only other option is to play as a forward ..
That wasn't a good move though....
Still, he provides us with some depth in the back half, and another body in the forward line.
bluegal1983
25 Feb 2007, 11:14
Still, he provides us with some depth in the back half, and another body in the forward line.
Yeah but another big, tall body in the foward line. As we have discussed, we are tall enough in the foward line.
^ look forward to seeing Lappin resume his career as a small forward.
drusswaylander
25 Feb 2007, 11:59
The back line one us the game. JW killed them by being able to read the ball like a foward and attack the ball, something not many defenders can do. All of them did a great job.
The only thing that worried me is when, at times, they are moving the ball from around the HBF, our mid fielders and HFF's would not lead or give an option which turned over the ball.
All in all a great effort.:)
I agree the interceptions were great to see:thumbsu: An attacking backline..drools:D
I think the movement up forward was stifled when they started to run out of puff in the second half and started to choke a bit...we aren't used to winning afterall:D
The movement wasn't too bad in the first half, but it's great to see that our backhalf could end up a strength rather than a weakness:)
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 12:17
Hats off to Setanta last night-I thought he was excellent.
Waite was good at times, but still tends to do some silly stuff that makes me think he is still best suited on the wing/half forward line.
Thornton didn't do much as he wasn't called on as often as he used to be. He played as a 3rd defender, and what he did, as usual, was very good.
Happy for the most part about how our defense stood up last night. Let's hope it keeps going, still very early days.
mcphee_is_a_gun
25 Feb 2007, 12:26
Not knocking your Defence at all because i thought it was very good, Waite in particular but i would've liked to seen what the result would of been had we moved the ball alot quicker than what we did rather than kicking sideways and stupid handballs. Your backline worked very well together helping each other out when needed.
That was the difference in the game for me, the fact we kicked sideways instead of forwards. By moving it quickly like the Blues did, it allowed your forwards more room to lead into.
I also thought your defence played quite well, but just a couple of points before you get too carried away.
Lloyd has ben out of the game for app 1 year
kicked 2 and could have been 3
Disposal into the forward line was terrible and don't expect to be defending crud like that too often.
Having said that i think Setanta has been good at stopping jobs, or getting the ball, he usually lets himself down with what he does with it.
Waite is a class act, and would be more highly thought of, if he hadn't had soo many injuries.
Well played and imo, you were clearly the better team last night.
chimpreo
25 Feb 2007, 13:52
all i know is that, how good is it that whitnall is freed up to roam the ground like he used to when he dominated a few yrs back. only a matter of time before he gets his confidence back and does the same.
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 14:04
all i know is that, how good is it that whitnall is freed up to roam the ground like he used to when he dominated a few yrs back. only a matter of time before he gets his confidence back and does the same.
Good to see him up forward, hopefully he doesn't play too deep though, as him and Fev do tend to get in each other's way.
Il Naso De Gastev
25 Feb 2007, 14:30
and we might finally see Waite become the player we all hoped he will be, playing out of defense instead of at CHF:D .
WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!
I can picture it now, Waite streaming from half back with a bounce, looks upfield for options.... ideally an athletic dynamic, potentially matchwinning half forward... oh hang on, he's been shifted to half back and the Blues are without a genuine leading half forward who can come and meet the ball... a rare commodity these days.
Fact is forwards are twice as valuable as defenders. We have a good forward in Waite, now he'll become run-of-the-mill.
gandaal
25 Feb 2007, 15:02
Was Waite a good forward? He was always a player with undoubted talent but he's played almost every game in is career in the forward line so far and I can only remember one game of any note. Truth is that he was a poor kick for goal and his positioning wasn't the best. Also physical strength was never his greatest assest, and in this day and age of flooding you need a bit of that (or a hell of a lot of speed) to be successful as a key position forward.
Lance Uppercut
25 Feb 2007, 15:38
good performance from the Blues. Waite must have you guys licking your chops. Killed us aroud the packs and in the middle, but Fev - he won the game.
The Blues are on the way up. Good for footy. I'm actually not too shattered by last night, because we had some good signs, and it just may be we were beaten by a pretty good side :thumbsu:
I can picture it now, Waite streaming from half back with a bounce, looks upfield for options.... ideally an athletic dynamic, potentially matchwinning half forward... oh hang on, he's been shifted to half back and the Blues are without a genuine leading half forward who can come and meet the ball... a rare commodity these days.
Fact is forwards are twice as valuable as defenders. We have a good forward in Waite, now he'll become run-of-the-mill.
Kennedy, Whitnall and Fisher - what are they?
Reading that post, have you ever even seen a game of football?
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 15:50
As HBF said, Kennedy and Whitnall can feel those roles just as good, if not better than Waite, not to mention Fisher. Waite in the forward line was always a player with potential, but at CHB hopefully he can go from "a player with unlimited potential" to a "star CHB".
BlueWorld
25 Feb 2007, 16:06
Yo`DooR;6805448']where else should we play him ? If the defence is holding up ... his only other option is to play as a forward ..
We will need him when we get injuries, which are sure to happen.
Where's Mokbel?
25 Feb 2007, 16:14
'C4[2]Yo`DooR;6805448'] where else should we play him ? If the defence is holding up ... his only other option is to play as a forward ..
At the Northern Bullants.
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 16:16
Anyone know how much gametime Saddo got? I'd be surprised if he was on for more than 20 minutes.
bluegal1983
25 Feb 2007, 17:39
Anyone know how much gametime Saddo got? I'd be surprised if he was on for more than 20 minutes.
I think he replaced Betts when he got injured. Didn't see him before half time.
Not a lot of game time at all. 20 minutes would just about be right.
drusswaylander
25 Feb 2007, 20:14
I also thought your defence played quite well, but just a couple of points before you get too carried away.
Lloyd has ben out of the game for app 1 year
kicked 2 and could have been 3
Disposal into the forward line was terrible and don't expect to be defending crud like that too often.
Having said that i think Setanta has been good at stopping jobs, or getting the ball, he usually lets himself down with what he does with it.
Waite is a class act, and would be more highly thought of, if he hadn't had soo many injuries.
Well played and imo, you were clearly the better team last night.
I don't think we are getting too carried away:D Most of us realise this was just a glorified practice match, but the signs were good:thumbsu:
If we persist with the Irishman and Waite in the key posts they will inevitably get stitched up at times because of their inexperience down back, but I think it is worth the risk.
Their inexperience could even work to their advantage with the new hands in the back interpretation. They have both played a number of games as forwards so both are used to playing in front, which coupled with great vertical leaps should mean that they both should give away fewer free kicks...hopefully:) I think some of the more established key position backs may struggle, as Michael and Fletcher did, just because they will have to change the habits that have served them well.
I wasn't convinced with the idea of Waite going back, but an encouraging start:thumbsu:
Mayesy_23
25 Feb 2007, 21:41
Our defence was great. Three potent attackers; Johns, Lloyd, Lucas. We dealt with them easily. They had many more opportunist goals that may not have gone through an another day.
Bluebear
26 Feb 2007, 12:43
And finally...the Irishman Setanta O'hAilpin:p . Played on the "great" Matthew Lloyd and had him comprehensibly beat. A fantastic effort by Setanta, having only played a dozen AFL games to come and beat the greatest FF in recent years (though Fev will have something to say about that). Played well on two of the game's best in his previous two outings, having also beat Hall in Sydney last year. We have finally found ourselves a full-back, one who is capable of going against the gorillas and will free up Thornton. Not to mention his ability at ground level, and his blistering pace for a guy his size, will be great coming out of defense for us, might turnover a few but will only get better with time. Good on you, Setanta:thumbsu: .
Add Chris Grant to that list of scalps from last year.
Our defence was fantastic though. Just wonder if Bower might come in to play on Franklin this week.
Sharks On A Plane
26 Feb 2007, 13:44
'C4[2]Yo`DooR;6805448'] where else should we play him ? If the defence is holding up ... his only other option is to play as a forward ..
At the Northern Bullants.
Champagne. :thumbsu:
BlueYoss
26 Feb 2007, 16:37
The defence held up really nicely against a potentially potent forward line and it was great to watch.
Bower and Hartlett add further size and strength and I hope they get some game time in the NAB cup too.
When you think about further prospects in Flint, Austin, Benjamin, Anderson and Jamison still developing in defensive roles our much maligned defense is starting to look more promising than ever.
Last year the CHF v CHB debate was all about Lance, this year I imagine it will be all about Waite, why not just enjoy the fact that we have 2 quality KPP who are just as comfortable playing at either end of the ground, it's great versatility to have!
WC have their Mr. Fix It in Hunter -now we have 2! :D
The Grover
27 Feb 2007, 12:59
Waite couldn't kick for goal, we couldn't have him & Fisher in the same forward line.
Players these days can often kick well to targets, however put them in front of goal & they are useless.
Waite can also make more use of handballing in the backline, very hard to dish off handballs in the forward line.
Only 1 game so far but he played very well on S.Lucas ( I rate Lucas highly ) & will allow Thornton to match up on medium talls/smalls.
was chattin the old man on monday.Hes a Hawthorn man but watched our game saturday night.The 2 things he noticed most was, "Geez whos that Murphy kid!?"(he was over-seas most of last year)and how solid our backline looked compared to what he saw last year.Will be really tested against a buddy franklin lead hawks this week.Cant wait!
Il Naso De Gastev
27 Feb 2007, 16:47
Kennedy, Whitnall and Fisher - what are they?
Reading that post, have you ever even seen a game of football?
Fisher would be the only leading option out of those... and he can't kick.
And to answer your question, i've seen and played a lot more footy than you. If you think backmen are as valuable as forwards then you have issues, and you have no idea what you're talking about.
Fact is we're sacrificing a potential matchwinner, so he can play a position that just about anyone with moderate ability and some height and pace can play. Waite is far too talented to be playing there.
XXX KINGS
27 Feb 2007, 17:37
SOS was a talented forward, in your opinion was he wasted at full back?
Il Naso De Gastev
27 Feb 2007, 17:52
SOS was a talented forward, in your opinion was he wasted at full back?
How many games did SOS win off his own boot by playing at full back? I reckon the count would be about even compared to the games he won playing forward... at the total games tally is grossly one-sided.
There are many many many players past and present that would have been better full-backs than SOS, just that they were too valuable to their teams to be spending all their time at full back. SOS was helped out by the fact he played in a very strong team for most of his career, therefore eliminating the need to play up the ground.
XXX KINGS
27 Feb 2007, 17:57
How many games did SOS win off his own boot by playing at full back? I reckon the count would be about even compared to the games he won playing forward... at the total games tally is grossly one-sided.
There are many many many players past and present that would have been better full-backs than SOS, just that they were too valuable to their teams to be spending all their time at full back. SOS was helped out by the fact he played in a very strong team for most of his career, therefore eliminating the need to play up the ground.
What should we offer to Hawthorn for Zac Dawson then?
Obviously the quality of defender is irrelevant because they don't win you games off their own boot. :rolleyes:
Il Naso De Gastev
27 Feb 2007, 18:05
Nothing. ZD is no good as a defender... he's not going to be any good as a forward.
Defenders don't require the same level of talent as forwards. If a coach plays a talented player in the backline he's going to do well because it's easier to get the ball there. It's harder to get the ball as a forward... hence the reason players like Lloyd and Fevola are so valuable bc they kick goals... it's a rare ability.
drusswaylander
27 Feb 2007, 18:06
Are you sure you have been watching Carlton?:D
XXX KINGS
27 Feb 2007, 18:23
Nothing. ZD is no good as a defender... he's not going to be any good as a forward.
Defenders don't require the same level of talent as forwards. If a coach plays a talented player in the backline he's going to do well because it's easier to get the ball there. It's harder to get the ball as a forward... hence the reason players like Lloyd and Fevola are so valuable bc they kick goals... it's a rare ability.
I would have thought having a Fevola in the forward line as well as having someone who stops a Lloyd from the opposition would be even more valuable, wouldn't you? Otherwise you end up having a shootout between Lloyd and Fevola and you end up going nowhere.
I find it hard to make sense of what your argument is. It is totaly unfeasable to think that your midfield will dominate to such an extent that the ball will not enter your defensive fifty. If this occurs you are obligated to do all you can to ensure that the opposition don't score. If you don't do this, you will lose. It is so incredibly shortsighted to underrate the value of a strong defence, I don't think Brisbane would be complaining about their's during 2001-2004.
If during a match Jarrad Waite either kicks two goals a game playing as a forward or stops the opposition's CHF from kicking four goals, which is more beneficial for us as a team?
It makes sense to trial Waite in the backline as he has all the attributes for being a good defender. He is athletic, strong and a good reader of the play. As you say, kicking goals is a rare ability... well Waite's goal kicking accuracy last year isn't soemthing I'd refer to as elite. We already have Fevola, Whitnall, Kennedy and Fisher playing as tall marking forwards, one of them had to go and Waite is the most versatile in my opinion out of all of them.
If it so happens that Waite doesn't work out in the backline, then by all means move him out. However, don't begrudge him the opportunity to find a position of his own under the ridiculous notion that a good defender is not as valuable as a forward.
Il Naso De Gastev
27 Feb 2007, 19:12
I would have thought having a Fevola in the forward line as well as having someone who stops a Lloyd from the opposition would be even more valuable, wouldn't you? Otherwise you end up having a shootout between Lloyd and Fevola and you end up going nowhere.
I find it hard to make sense of what your argument is. It is totaly unfeasable to think that your midfield will dominate to such an extent that the ball will not enter your defensive fifty. If this occurs you are obligated to do all you can to ensure that the opposition don't score. If you don't do this, you will lose. It is so incredibly shortsighted to underrate the value of a strong defence, I don't think Brisbane would be complaining about their's during 2001-2004.
If during a match Jarrad Waite either kicks two goals a game playing as a forward or stops the opposition's CHF from kicking four goals, which is more beneficial for us as a team?
It makes sense to trial Waite in the backline as he has all the attributes for being a good defender. He is athletic, strong and a good reader of the play. As you say, kicking goals is a rare ability... well Waite's goal kicking accuracy last year isn't soemthing I'd refer to as elite. We already have Fevola, Whitnall, Kennedy and Fisher playing as tall marking forwards, one of them had to go and Waite is the most versatile in my opinion out of all of them.
If it so happens that Waite doesn't work out in the backline, then by all means move him out. However, don't begrudge him the opportunity to find a position of his own under the ridiculous notion that a good defender is not as valuable as a forward.
Wrong. Ultimately the forward is the better footballer. Someone with athletic ability and limited footballing skills can play as a backman effectively ie Mick Martyn. Great fullback... but would not have even played U18's if he were coming through the ranks these days.
Would you play Setanta O'hailpin anywhere bar full back??... I sure hope not... because he's not good enough to play anywhere else... he has the athletic capacity to shut down any forward, yet he wouldn't fire a shot as a forward.... another example of a player with athletic ability but not many footy smarts, able to play as a key backman effectively.
There's only one (that's 1 at the very most) gun full-forward at any given club, ie Fevola/Lloyd, yet you'd find probably 10 blokes at each club that would be a potential match-up for him. My point is that good forwards don't grow on trees... good defenders are dime-a-dozen.
Clearly you place more emphasis on stopping goals than creating them, which is important don't get me wrong, I'm sure our '95 premiership side would attest to that, but it essentially comes down to depth. We had guns all over the park, and we could afford the luxury of having big names in the back half, without having to swing them forward or midfield. Subscribing to your theory would create a team full of Mick Martyn's that would strangle the opposition... i sure as hell wouldn't want to go and see that.
Question: At draft time, and we're in need of a key defender, do you think it's best to draft a 6'5" athlete, who can't kick, but can stop any full-forward, or a 6'4" gun (ie Pavlich) who has footy smarts and could play anywhere including a key back, who has the ability to play forward and kick 8 or get 35 touches in midfield, who do you choose??
Bluebear
27 Feb 2007, 19:32
And to answer your question, i've seen and played a lot more footy than you. If you think backmen are as valuable as forwards then you have issues, and you have no idea what you're talking about.
Aussie rules? or Rugby.........
Your arguement about talented forwards and hack backs is quite amusing, but doesn't support this statement above at all.........let me guess, you were a forward right?:rolleyes:
You know, bowlers are just frustrated batsmen.........:rolleyes:
XXX KINGS
27 Feb 2007, 19:39
Wrong. Ultimately the forward is the better footballer. Someone with athletic ability and limited footballing skills can play as a backman effectively ie Mick Martyn. Great fullback... but would not have even played U18's if he were coming through the ranks these days.
Would you play Setanta O'hailpin anywhere bar full back??... I sure hope not... because he's not good enough to play anywhere else... he has the athletic capacity to shut down any forward, yet he wouldn't fire a shot as a forward.... another example of a player with athletic ability but not many footy smarts, able to play as a key backman effectively.
There's only one (that's 1 at the very most) gun full-forward at any given club, ie Fevola/Lloyd, yet you'd find probably 10 blokes at each club that would be a potential match-up for him. My point is that good forwards don't grow on trees... good defenders are dime-a-dozen.
Clearly you place more emphasis on stopping goals than creating them, which is important don't get me wrong, I'm sure our '95 premiership side would attest to that, but it essentially comes down to depth. We had guns all over the park, and we could afford the luxury of having big names in the back half, without having to swing them forward or midfield. Subscribing to your theory would create a team full of Mick Martyn's that would strangle the opposition... i sure as hell wouldn't want to go and see that.
Question: At draft time, and we're in need of a key defender, do you think it's best to draft a 6'5" athlete, who can't kick, but can stop any full-forward, or a 6'4" gun (ie Pavlich) who has footy smarts and could play anywhere including a key back, who has the ability to play forward and kick 8 or get 35 touches in midfield, who do you choose??
See bolded area for why Waite should be playing defence. Obviously if somone is a gun forward it is stupid to play them anywhere else. Likewise a gun in and under centre on the half back flank. However, in the case of someone like Waite who is very talented but yet to really click in the forward line, a switch to the backline could revitalise his career.
In regards to your question you obviously take the gun forward over the good defender like you should always take the gun in any position. A gun defender like Chad Cornes I would take over a good forward like Chris Tarrant. As important that the forward line is you can't neglect the backline. It's a team sport and you need to be good all over the ground.
Bluebear
27 Feb 2007, 20:24
Luke Livingston is strangley the answer to this debate.
A talented forward, taken for god knows what reason, into a team boasting several talented forwards and few backmen.
According to the current arguement, as a talented forward he should have thrived in the ease of defense, lazing his way to 250 games while "real" footballers did the hard work at the other end.
Sadly, much like the case that has been presented, this is BS.
THe fact is, as XXX points out, its a team sport. Your forwards can have all the talent in the world, if they don't get good service from the midfield they may as well be blind with no arms.
Same goes for your defenders. If the mids don't put pressure on then the opposition forwards get great delivery and chances are your gonna have a bad day.
But its not just the mids that are pivotal. If the forward fails to chase his man out of the 50 and pressure his delivery then same goes.
At junior level the arguement may be true that the most talented players go forward to kick goals, but this disappears rapidly by the time these guys get to under 18's.
The Grover
28 Feb 2007, 10:22
Some players are suited as forwards only, some as backs only & others who could play both easily.
To say any hack could play in defence is just crap, Lloyd & Fevola would both be useless playing as backmen.
Why does Adam Hunter play so regulary in defence when he excels whenever moved forward ( team balance is the answer ).
For team balance at the moment Waite in defence is the right move, can anyone recall Waite ever playing a gun game in the forward line, I can only recall some minor cameos.
gandaal
28 Feb 2007, 10:27
Some players are suited as forwards only, some as backs only & others who could play both easily.
To say any hack could play in defence is just crap, Lloyd & Fevola would both be useless playing as backmen.
Why does Adam Hunter play so regulary in defence when he excels whenever moved forward ( team balance is the answer ).
For team balance at the moment Waite in defence is the right move, can anyone recall Waite ever playing a gun game in the forward line, I can only recall some minor cameos.
I can only remember that one Hawthorn game where we didn't have Fevola and he essentially won the game for us single handed. That's not a great hit rate as a forward over 60+ games. If Waite can work on the defensive side of his game he'll be an All Australian CHB down the road. Due to his poor kicking for goal he'll never be anything more than a mediocre forward.
Bluebear
28 Feb 2007, 15:09
I can only remember that one Hawthorn game where we didn't have Fevola and he essentially won the game for us single handed. That's not a great hit rate as a forward over 60+ games. If Waite can work on the defensive side of his game he'll be an All Australian CHB down the road. Due to his poor kicking for goal he'll never be anything more than a mediocre forward.
Why is it that Waite and Fisher's field kicking is reasonably good, yet goal kicking sucks?