View Full Version : Carrazzo Looked Great
Kouta_legend
25 Feb 2007, 09:38
Carrazzo looked at home in the midfield, he started on the bench but when he came on the grouns after the ball up he was the first man to get the ball.
I reckon he can play in the midfield, hes got decent height and a good build.
All I know, if Wiggins is in the leadership group, then carrazzo could be pushing for captain almost
What are your guys thought on his game, and his future
thylacine60
25 Feb 2007, 09:54
Thought he was the start of our game momentum. He was everywhere in the first quarter. Still makes mistakes but he just gets the bloody thing so often. A real turning point game for Carrots.
he has a big future. he still seems to be carrying the confidence problems from last year and I hope he can get over them. He was in everything last night.
i have always thought his best position is back pocket.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
25 Feb 2007, 10:08
what a great night he had - he was everywhere, and his ball handling abillity in close was superb.
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 10:11
Looked good in the middle, and I think he's set for a pretty big season.
One of the best games i've seen Carrazzo play. Has matured as a player, and looks very comfortable in the midfield. Won a couple of important clearances for us as well. Our midfield stocks are looking very very good at the minute.
See what happens when he's played the right position
Very good game :thumbsu:
bluegal1983
25 Feb 2007, 10:21
I was very impressed with his effort last night. Was everywhere in the first half and is a ball magnet. His disposal was decent as well which was a real positive.
Can definately see him rotating through the midfield.
I was very impressed with his effort last night. Was everywhere in the first half and is a ball magnet. His disposal was decent as well which was a real positive.
Can definately see him rotating through the midfield.
That's the key statement there BG. He adds to our depth in the midfield, and we now have quite a few players that can go into the midfield and hold their own in there.
he has a big future. he still seems to be carrying the confidence problems from last year and I hope he can get over them. He was in everything last night.
i have always thought his best position is back pocket.
I hate him in the back pocket, not accountable enough. He's such a ballwinner they've gotta play him in the midfield/wing or otherwise a flank.
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 11:29
He looked excellent.
Sometimes his skills let him down, but boy does he know how to get the ball.
Will never get the same attention as Murphy, Walker, Simpson, Gibbs, Stevens etc. in the middle, but is still a very damaging player.
macca69
25 Feb 2007, 11:40
I like him as a midfielder (sounds like you guys do as well), but during the 3rd quater he was moved back into the backline (on Alwyn Davey IIRC). For Carrazzo to become a genuine part of the midfield rotation, Carlton will need to find someone to fill his role as a negating small defender. Who will do this? Only Simon Wiggins really comes to mind and he seems a fairly limited player to me, are there any others on your list that could play that role? (fwiw I reckon that role could suit Ross Young perfectly, but he's only a rookie unfortunatly).
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 11:50
I like him as a midfielder (sounds like you guys do as well), but during the 3rd quater he was moved back into the backline (on Alwyn Davey IIRC). For Carrazzo to become a genuine part of the midfield rotation, Carlton will need to find someone to fill his role as a negating small defender. Who will do this? Only Simon Wiggins really comes to mind and he seems a fairly limited player to me, are there any others on your list that could play that role? (fwiw I reckon that role could suit Ross Young perfectly, but he's only a rookie unfortunatly).
You are right, midfield is where he is best suited.
Wiggins won't be moved back there. Last year, when he was playing his best football, he played on the half forward line as a defensive forward, sometimes pushing into the middle in short spurts.
The player best suited to play as a smallish defender is Joey Anderson. He won't play all the games this year, but he will play a few. Russell may be tried, as he has in the Bullants, but I reckon he is much better in the role he played last night.
Wheres C4?
Banno is the other player who is quick enough, and defensive minded.
I wouldnt mind playing him to ensure Carrots plays in the midfield and Joey earns his spot (as soon as joey is upto it though, banno out!)
Gilly1972
25 Feb 2007, 12:04
Good question Macca, one thing that stood out to me last night is we still look a tad slow. Just pure leg speed was a tad down on the bombers (although the bombers have collected an extraordinary array of quick runners - all the indigenous kids are jets). I think we might have addressed this in the current draft where Joe Anderson might be groomed for that role and Grigg running off a HBF. In the meantime, i agree that Ross Young might have shown enough so far in the pre-season that he could step up in this role. Jacko is serviceable but is not quick enough to run with a Davey type. i would play Chief out of a FP, again i don't know if he has the pace to run down the super quick small forwards. Eddie chased well last night but have never seen him tried down back, but would rather somebody with the height and leg-speed back there.....Ando will be our man if and hopefully when he makes it.
drusswaylander
25 Feb 2007, 12:11
Good question Macca, one thing that stood out to me last night is we still look a tad slow. Just pure leg speed was a tad down on the bombers (although the bombers have collected an extraordinary array of quick runners - all the indigenous kids are jets). I think we might have addressed this in the current draft where Joe Anderson might be groomed for that role and Grigg running off a HBF. In the meantime, i agree that Ross Young might have shown enough so far in the pre-season that he could step up in this role. Jacko is serviceable but is not quick enough to run with a Davey type. i would play Chief out of a FP, again i don't know if he has the pace to run down the super quick small forwards. Eddie chased well last night but have never seen him tried down back, but would rather somebody with the height and leg-speed back there.....Ando will be our man if and hopefully when he makes it.
Benjamin is another who can really move:thumbsu: So with Ando and Grigg who you mentioned we do have some speed that will one day come in, but you are right in terms of just pure speed the Bombers did have the edge.
They have the Johnsons to come back in so that should take care of that though:D
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 12:11
On leg speed, can't wait to see Clinton Benjamin get a game.
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 12:13
Wheres C4?
Banno is the other player who is quick enough, and defensive minded.
I wouldnt mind playing him to ensure Carrots plays in the midfield and Joey earns his spot (as soon as joey is upto it though, banno out!)
Yeh but banno is ******** :p
NO BANNO!
drusswaylander
25 Feb 2007, 12:13
Carrazzo looked at home in the midfield, he started on the bench but when he came on the grouns after the ball up he was the first man to get the ball.
I reckon he can play in the midfield, hes got decent height and a good build.
All I know, if Wiggins is in the leadership group, then carrazzo could be pushing for captain almost
What are your guys thought on his game, and his future
Midfield is his spot as he is a ball magnet, but just don't let him shoot for goal:D
macca69
25 Feb 2007, 12:19
Wouldn't mind seeing Anderson get a run early, reckon he was a very astute pick where you guys got him. Forgot about Jacko, he's another I rate, but he's not a small defender, but would be good as a run with midfielder.
I remember one real classy handball of Carrazzo's where he under pressure he got it to Gibbs in space without breaking stride. Can't remember seeing much of Gibbs apart from that passage of play though, did he much much gametime?
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 12:25
Wouldn't mind seeing Anderson get a run early, reckon he was a very astute pick where you guys got him. Forgot about Jacko, he's another I rate, but he's not a small defender, but would be good as a run with midfielder.
I remember one real classy handball of Carrazzo's where he under pressure he got it to Gibbs in space without breaking stride. Can't remember seeing much of Gibbs apart from that passage of play though, did he much much gametime?
He played quite a bit in the first half, seemed much less in the 2nd. Not sure exactly why, but someone hinted that he got a slight corky which may have something to do with it.
Didn't get too much of the ball, but when he got it he used it very well. I think he looked pretty composed out there.
He will turn out to be a quality player, I just think we are easing him into it far more than what we did with Murphy.
Kouta_legend
25 Feb 2007, 13:57
This is a big turnaround, pre pre-season, people where saying Carrazzo was an early chance to get delisted if he doesnt have a dominant season.
People were saying he was too slow, cant kick, not good enough.
I stuck with him, watch his year 2007, mind you i thought his 2006 was a ripper aswell, hes also a very good tagger when needed
Gilly1972
25 Feb 2007, 14:57
Gibbs started on Winderlich IIRC. He played mostly across the HBF with a brief stint up forward. He was relatively quiet and a few spectators were lamenting his "unaccountability"
I suspect it was a case of following instructions as one thing i wouldn't have said about Bryce watching him for Glenelg was that he is unaccountable. I suspect with the thumb dislocation about 10 days ago he was told just to play off his man, and work his way into the game. When he got the ball he looked composed and his decision making and disposal was top notch as we would expect mate. He sat out a lot of the second half. Played on Houli for a while and i turned around to HBF commenting it was S.A. vs Metro. Probably broke even, there was one moment in particular when they were running to a one on one contest in space and Gibbs had a little bit of acceleration up his sleeve, caught up to Houli, then used his superior body positioning to block Houli from the ball and give himself a yard or two to on houli to collect the ball and dish it off. At times i thought he looked just a tad sluggish, I don't know when he supposedly copped this corky. As we know he is never going to be express, but more like a Hird or Hayes who use their superior reading of the play and knowledge of the nuances of the game to find space.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
25 Feb 2007, 15:48
Yeh but banno is ******** :p
NO BANNO!
Disagree.
Bit harsh as Banno is not shyte
There's just no room for him on our side - with this obsession of "youth".
He's a solid contributer - who brings a lot to our side in the way of atheleticism, size and strength.
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 15:50
Yo`DooR;6807615']Disagree.
Bit harsh as Banno is not shyte
There's just no room for him on our side - with this obsession of "youth".
He's a solid contributer - who brings a lot to our side in the way of atheleticism, size and strength.
There is a reason why he wasn't picked in the team, and won't be picked many times this year-there are far better options than him.
Good reserves player, seems to be lost when he plays in the Seniors.
He has no future at the Blues.
BlueWorld
25 Feb 2007, 16:15
Can't remember seeing much of Gibbs apart from that passage of play though, did he much much gametime?
78 mins.
BlueWorld
25 Feb 2007, 16:17
There is a reason why he wasn't picked in the team, and won't be picked many times this year-there are far better options than him.
Good reserves player, seems to be lost when he plays in the Seniors.
He has no future at the Blues.
Why was he re-signed at the end of 2006?:confused:
Jeremias
25 Feb 2007, 16:18
No idea, maybe for depth.
Will be lucky to play more than 5 games.
If I was in charge, I wouldn't give him a game.
Unfortunately I am not :(
blues4flag
25 Feb 2007, 16:19
78 mins.
Would have played most of that in the first half.
78 mins.
That seems a tad high, but could be right. Seemed to be on the bench quite a bit in the second half.
Gibbs started on Winderlich IIRC. He played mostly across the HBF with a brief stint up forward. He was relatively quiet and a few spectators were lamenting his "unaccountability"
I suspect it was a case of following instructions as one thing i wouldn't have said about Bryce watching him for Glenelg was that he is unaccountable. I suspect with the thumb dislocation about 10 days ago he was told just to play off his man, and work his way into the game. When he got the ball he looked composed and his decision making and disposal was top notch as we would expect mate. He sat out a lot of the second half. Played on Houli for a while and i turned around to HBF commenting it was S.A. vs Metro. Probably broke even, there was one moment in particular when they were running to a one on one contest in space and Gibbs had a little bit of acceleration up his sleeve, caught up to Houli, then used his superior body positioning to block Houli from the ball and give himself a yard or two to on houli to collect the ball and dish it off. At times i thought he looked just a tad sluggish, I don't know when he supposedly copped this corky. As we know he is never going to be express, but more like a Hird or Hayes who use their superior reading of the play and knowledge of the nuances of the game to find space.
Great summary Gilly.
Just seeing Gibbs last night really confirmed what I already thought, and that is that he is not fazed by playing against men, and his composure and skills are just first rate. He'll be better for the run, and i'm already looking forward to next week.
Mayesy_23
25 Feb 2007, 21:34
Carazzo gets leather poisoning, just needs to learn how to use it. Dunno if the damage has already been done.
Think Carrots looked great. His ball winning and handballs are really as good as any in the team. His kicking is the problem. But it seems to be some simple short passes without much pressure and goal kicking that lets him down. It gives me hope b/c you'd think this could be improve. I'd have in front of Bentick at this stage. Either way is great to see some decent quality depth in the middle.
BlueWorld
25 Feb 2007, 23:07
That seems a tad high, but could be right. Seemed to be on the bench quite a bit in the second half.
It was in this article:
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21283466-23211,00.html
Aussie Joe
26 Feb 2007, 05:36
This is a big turnaround, pre pre-season, people where saying Carrazzo was an early chance to get delisted if he doesnt have a dominant season.
People were saying he was too slow, cant kick, not good enough.
I stuck with him, watch his year 2007, mind you i thought his 2006 was a ripper aswell, hes also a very good tagger when needed
I hear your KL. I have always liked Carrots. I thought after his two 30+ possession games in the VFL last year that he should be part of the midfield rotation and not dumped in the back pocket.
As I have always said and believed
Carrots >>>> Bentick
I think they kept him for depth given our weak small defender stocks.
After we axed Cory McGrath it would have further misbalanced our list to fire Bannister also.
BlueWorld
26 Feb 2007, 21:55
I think they kept him for depth given our weak small defender stocks.
After we axed Cory McGrath it would have further misbalanced our list to fire Bannister also.
Might only get a run if we get a lot of injuries.