View Full Version : AC/DC.......Bon or Brian?

Wally
21 Mar 2002, 15:33
No disrespect to Brian Johnson, whose work i really love, but for mine Bon Scott is the man. Brian has done some great stuff, 'Back In Black' is an all-time classic rock'n'roll album. 1983's 'Flick Of The Switch' (one of my fave AC/DC albums) is another great....if...underrated record (well in my opinion anyway). I've seen the band four times (with Brian) and they've blown me away everytime. They were brilliant last year, Angus' playing and the band's 'tightness' is better than it's ever been, (to be expected after nearly 30 years, i know).

Having said that, the early recordings with Bon had a lot less 'polish' in the studio, but......in my opinion....more excitement and 'danger' to the bands' sound. I had the old vinyl.....anyone remember vinyl? copy of 'TNT' on the stereo the other night and it sounded bloody great. A classic Aussie rock album.

AC/DC lost it's sense of humor....something which could be heard and seen in Bon's songs and performances.....it also lost it's 'Australianness' when Bon died. It was a such a shame when he left us, the 'Highway To Hell ' album was to many, Bon's finest moment. AC/DC remain my favorite all-time band, but
Bon Scott's death was a great rock'n'roll tragedy.

where's wally?

TheButcher
21 Mar 2002, 16:22
Big Balls

poetry in motion...some of the best lyrics ever written..classic tongue in cheek Bon!

I love all the Bon albums - all had his special charm.

Having said that Back in Black is a monster album and For those about to Rock followed pretty strongly...things kind of got fuzzy after that..

well thats my opinion anyway

hawkfan5
21 Mar 2002, 16:41
Actually never really heard a whole lot of Bon myself.

From the stuff I have heard from Brian over the years, I have been very happy with it.

Especially when I got to hear them live, that was bloody brilliant!

IAMDASH
21 Mar 2002, 17:07
One of my bigget disappointments was that I never got to see Bon fronting the band. It does not help that I was born in 1975 and they would not have let me into many venues as an infant to watch the great man. I have a mate who reckons he saw' em at the Wonthaggi footy ground in the late 70's sitting on top of his old mans shoulders. I really like Brian. He fits the band well and has allowed them longevity but he does not even come close to Bon. I guess I will have to be content with watching him on musicmax. They always play vintage Bon footage. Rock In Peace..........

The Hitman
21 Mar 2002, 17:11
Bon. Bonfire is electric. Brian is good, but Bon is better.

The Hitman

Darky
21 Mar 2002, 18:39
Brian Johnson by a poofteenth for me.

Don't know why, but I think when people these days think of AC/DC they think of his voice and not Bon's.

Bon made 6 albums with the band in 6 years, Brian has been there for about 10 albums and 22 years. The style has changed in a subtle way (haha, the irony of using the word subtle in a post about AC/DC).

I think the reason people usually prefer original singers is slightly guided by the fact they've been listening to original singers for longer. Anyone old enough to have been around in Bon's day, have been listening to his records for almost 30 years, as opposed to just over 20 years for Brian's stuff... an extra few years to grow to love it even more.

Of all the bands who have had vocalist changes, AC/DC is the band where the two are hardest to separate.

35eye
21 Mar 2002, 20:21
Originally posted by Darky

I think the reason people usually prefer original singers is slightly guided by the fact they've been listening to original singers for longer. ..

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh but I dare say no one prefers the original singer of AC/DC. I saw Dave Evans front Thunderstruck a couple of years back. He is totally in a time warp. Rockin' In The Parlour indeed.

I've seen Brian Johnson perform stacks of times in various parts of the country and in the USA. I got the chance to meet him a couple of times last year which was a real thrill. He is an amazing showman and in my eyes he is AC/DC.

I refuse to believe that the band lost their sense of humour with Bon. The last couple of albums in particular are full of comedy.
:D How good is Caught With Your Pants Down or Honey Roll Over & Lettuce on Top? :D :D

Bloodstained Angel
22 Mar 2002, 06:05
Not as good as TNT mate !

Bon's voice sizzles edgy menace on that one !

I too really regret never seeing Bon do his stuiff in the flesh. I had a chance to catch them at the Largs North one Sunday evening - but my Mum made me go to church instead !:(

cheers

PC28
22 Mar 2002, 08:58
I've seen AC/DC a few times, and the only regret i have is i didn't see them with Bon Scott...

The guy is a legend, and sould be spoken in the same breath as Hendrix, Morrison, Joplin etc etc...

Let There Be Rock - How can you resist that man in his white get up?? :D:D

If that man preached, i'd listen :p

Bon for sure...

(Brian is good, and i love ACDC possibly more than any other band, but Bon was god)

TheButcher
22 Mar 2002, 09:42
The Let There Be Rock - live in Paris video/movie is one of the best music vids out there...i think its hard to get these days..hope it turns up on dvd

the soundtrack material on the Bonfire Boxset is just as much a gem!

roofus
29 Mar 2002, 13:18
Originally posted by 35eye

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh but I dare say no one prefers the original singer of AC/DC. I saw Dave Evans front Thunderstruck a couple of years back. He is totally in a time warp. Rockin' In The Parlour indeed.

Not only that, he's a tosser in real life as well.

dreamkillers
29 Mar 2002, 14:51
Originally posted by
I've seen AC/DC a few times, and the only regret i have is i didn't see them with Bon Scott...

The guy is a legend, and sould be spoken in the same breath as Hendrix, Morrison, Joplin etc etc...

Agree with you there.....

my favourite AC/DC Album would have to be the live album 'If You Want Blood'......

A great line up of classic songs.......

Riff Raff (Young-Young-Scott)
Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be (Young-Young-Scott)
Bad Boy Boogie (Young-Young-Scott)
The Jack (Young-Young-Scott)
Problem Child (Young-Young-Scott)
Whole Lotta Rosie (Young-Young-Scott)
Rock 'n' Roll Damnation (Young-Young-Scott)
High Voltage (Young-Young-Scott)
Let There Be Rock (Young-Young-Scott)
Rocker (Young-Young-Scott)

with the Bonfire Box Set a highly valued possession...........

35eye
29 Mar 2002, 15:47
Originally posted by roofus

Not only that, he's a tosser in real life as well.

He-he! I met him too. Poor guy, he seems to have spent the last couple of decades re-telling the same few stories about his time with the Young brothers and doesn't have much else to speak of.

He was polite & pleasant enough to me but I'm told he believes he is some kind of Australian rock legend. Funny in comparison to Angus or Malcolm who are such down to earth, ordinary blokes despite their fame & fortune.

roofus
29 Mar 2002, 16:17
Originally posted by 35eye
He was polite & pleasant enough to me but I'm told he believes he is some kind of Australian rock legend.

Well in a previous life I worked with him a couple of times and yes.....he's a legend in his own mind.

Mcchawk
30 Mar 2002, 08:28
Didn't Bon unoffically co-write Back in Black?

I'm proud to also so I say AC/DC at the Sidney Myer music bowl with Bon out front can't remember nothing from it though.:(

you_idiot
31 Mar 2002, 23:32
Originally posted by Mcchawk
Didn't Bon unoffically co-write Back in Black?

Unofficially would be a great way to put it, since "Back In Black" as a concept album was penned as a tribute to Bon, so say those behind the scenes on VH1's "Behind The Music" show back in the U.S.

Cheers,
William

Wally
1 Apr 2002, 00:38
Originally posted by you_idiot

Unofficially would be a great way to put it, since "Back In Black" as a concept album was penned as a tribute to Bon, so say those behind the scenes on VH1's "Behind The Music" show back in the U.S.

Cheers,
William

Back In Black was a magnificent tribute to the great man. Classic album. Bon would be proud.

where's wally?

Santos L Helper
1 Apr 2002, 09:37
I'm also proud to say that I saw AC/DC with Bon Scott. Memorial Drive (sometime in the 70's) as a little tacker, and I remember it pretty well. I was in awe of the power they had and the way they just rawked for an Aussie band, of course they were up against TMG and Sherbet, so I was hanging for some hard rock.
In answer to the question..............AC/DC with Bon for me.

SydneyBomber
1 Apr 2002, 17:10
No disrespect to Brian, but Bon for mine.

BT
3 Apr 2002, 13:44
Bon

TheButcher
3 Apr 2002, 14:04
Bon

i hear original singer Dave Evans is about to tour the US and Canada in cash in of Bon Scott...pretty sad i reckon...but everybodys gotta make a dollar

TheSheik
29 Jun 2002, 00:00
AC/DC died the day Bon did, end of story !!

Winston Wolf
29 Jun 2002, 12:06
you gotta be jokin don't ya ?.......there is absolutely no comparison !

BON SCOTT is the man !!!!

he had style, charisma, a sense of humour, a grrrrrowl, and more importantly .... he managed to mix them all together and deliver them into his lyrics, vocals and stage presence.

Plus u could actually understand him when he sang, and therefore u could really appreciate his tongue-in-cheek style !!!!

R.I.P. Bon

"She was holding a pair, but I had to try
her deuce was wild, but my ace was high"

Defender
29 Jun 2002, 13:55
kudos to you mr winston wolf

Bon Scott was definately a character..very tongue in cheek..
the Bonfire box set is worthy

Woodson
30 Jun 2002, 17:09
Sheesh, it's a tough call..... Bon WITHOUT A SHADOW OF A DOUBT
although I never got the chance to see him live - although Brian is doing a swell job .... Bruising The Beat....

Highway To Hell is my fav over Back in Black

Had the pleasure of meeting Brian & Angus in '88...just like you & me, very approachable. Can't believe Angus is that small in real life.

Mattster
30 Jun 2002, 18:19
i love my acca dacca now.

they know how to rock

Slax
1 Jul 2002, 01:05
It was Bon that helped create the AC/DC sound not Brian and Bon was a far more adventurous song writer. I have Bon any day Brian just churns out stuff that sounds the same now so why does he bother.

happy_in_hell
1 Jul 2002, 11:54
My only AC/DC record is Razor's Edge so i've only ever heard Brian. THEN i watched 'A Long Way To The Top' and Bon is a champion. The bagpipes played on "Long Way to the top' were hilarious, especially considering he didn't even know how to play them!!!

That said - Razors Edge is a great album.

So both ae as good as one another i reckon. Although without Bon, didn't Angus charisma come through a bit more? I watched the start of the ballbreaker concert and Angus was amazing.

mud n blood
1 Jul 2002, 18:15
:( Yes, I too am old enough to have had the pleasure of personally witnessing the electrifying antics of Ronald Scott ....

I rate them the same - almost two different styles with Bon And Brian. I love both.

Pump
1 Jul 2002, 21:25
Both good in their own way....but Bon Scott got the blood pumpin a bit more!!

Believe it or not AC/DC played at our Primary School Hall in Oakleigh (Melb, VIC) one Friday night (circa 1976) - Legend has it that Bon & Angus walked down our street after the show.

TheSheik
1 Jul 2002, 22:09
Originally posted by happy_in_hell
My only AC/DC record is Razor's Edge so i've only ever heard Brian.

As Molly meldrum used to say, "do yourself a favour" and get the TNT album, then try and tell us that Razors Edge is so good !!

oh_my_hat
1 Jul 2002, 22:19
Well Brian sang on their best seller but I go with the original singer is the best singer theory, like David Lee Roth with Van Halen.

If positions were reversed I would think most of us would be saying Brian (as the original) was the preferred singer.

oh_my_hat
1 Jul 2002, 22:21
Originally posted by happy_in_hell

As Molly meldrum used to say, "do yourself a favour" and get the TNT album, then try and tell us that Razors Edge is so good !! Are you saying that you've never heard TNT, Jailbreak, Highway to Hell et al?? :p

TheSheik
1 Jul 2002, 23:01
I've got them all !!

sawf
3 Jul 2002, 23:19
has anyone heard this "AC?DC Back in Black Rare Bon Scott" i heard the other day? sounds fake but a good one. anybody know the history?

roofus
4 Jul 2002, 02:01
Originally posted by oh_my_hat
Well Brian sang on their best seller but I go with the original singer is the best singer theory, like David Lee Roth with Van Halen.

Dave Evans???? you've got to be joking!

35eye
4 Jul 2002, 10:45
Originally posted by roofus

Dave Evans???? you've got to be joking! Its groundhog day. :D

Beausgirl43
5 Jul 2002, 12:16
Bon for mine .... nothing wrong with Brian tho.

cheers ... Kaz :)

windyhill
28 Jul 2002, 13:27
Bon. Never saw the great man, just a bit too young. have everything on the boys along with the music,some great books, fantastic reading. Have seen them heaps of times with Brian leading them, he is very good in concert.
I take my hat off to Brian as he had monstrous boots to fill, not many could have done it and most would probably say he hasn`t, even the man himself would probably defer to Bon
The way i gather is that Back in Black was written for Bon, but then we all know what happened

Wally
29 Jul 2002, 17:16
Originally posted by windyhill

I take my hat off to Brian as he had monstrous boots to fill, not many could have done it and most would probably say he hasn`t,

I seriously doubt if anyone else could've pulled it off.

where's wally?

Goldenblue
30 Jul 2002, 14:00
Bon for me.

I am old enough to remember Bon Scott. Bon was a brilliant frontman for AC/DC. His energy and rawness helped make the band for what it is today......

Mayhaps I am sentimental....:)

Briedis
31 Jul 2002, 16:36
Bon Scott was the man!

His death was a massive loss to rock. RIP Bon.

TheFoxhat
4 Aug 2002, 11:46
Brian is good but Bon will always rule.:D
Big Balls
The Jack
Please don't go
TNT
Jailbreak

:) :D

Savatage
4 Aug 2002, 15:43
Bon by a mile.

No disrespect to the great Brian, but AC/DC lost a lot of its spark when Bon passed away.

AC/DC back then was more adventurous & unpredictable, that has plenty to do with the fact that Bon actually was a songwriter -Brian was credited as a songwriter on the first few albums, but to which extent I don't know.

R.I.P Bon Scott.

hotpie
4 Aug 2002, 16:33
Bon by a mile.

He was actually fun to listen to and sounded like he was having fun singing...

Dirty Deeds
Jailbreak
The Jack