View Full Version : Pride Implodes!

Smokin
26 Feb 2007, 07:27
Anyone else watch this show?

What a show!! :eek:

Not only did Silva get bashed then KTFO for the second time straight (looks totally finsihed);

- Nog got iced a beaty by a nobody
- Gomi got beat on his feet, then took the fight down to get caught in a triangle by a 2nd level UFC WW in Diaz!
- Pride's WW Grand Prix champion Misaki beat by UFC reject Trigg!

At least Rua won, pride still has something.

Great show, but I dont think too many at Pride will be smiling this morning. lol

Deej
26 Feb 2007, 10:29
I've always thought the pride fans were living in a dreamworld thinking pride was point blank better than the UFC. And it wouldn't at all surprise me to see Tim Sylvia knock Crocop on his arse, but try telling even a couple of the locals here that and i get laughed at!!!!

I think Sylvia would bust open Fedor's head too just quietly.

drew_j
26 Feb 2007, 10:55
-*SPOILERS*- follow.

Little Nog got beaten good, but he's 5th in line at Pride.

Gomi fights at 155 and Diaz at 170. Nice submission though.

Misaki is sh1t and only won the GP through injury forefit and the fact Gomi was out.

Silva has been on the out IMHO for all of last year. Lost his will to fight and younger guys coming through. Been at the top for that long and should retire gracfully. Maybe Sakuraba might come out for him again :rolleyes:

Rua should come back down to Middle weight and fight Henderson. Then take on Chuck

Crocop is going to kill Sylvia. This isn't prediction so much as fact. And Fedor would beat Sylvia so hard that he'd kill sylvias offspring through reflected karma.

Deej
26 Feb 2007, 11:29
I reckon the whole Wanderlei worshipping thing came about as a result of Chuck losing to Rampage. So much of Pride's and Wanderlei's reputations have came from that result. Had Chuck gone through that tournament and won i think pride would not have nearly the aura it had in recent times. Chuck is on record as saying he was out of shape around the time of the Randy loss, which was around the Rampage loss too i think if memory serves.

Magnum
26 Feb 2007, 12:04
I've always thought the pride fans were living in a dreamworld thinking pride was point blank better than the UFC. And it wouldn't at all surprise me to see Tim Sylvia knock Crocop on his arse, but try telling even a couple of the locals here that and i get laughed at!!!!

Respect to Sylvia but that is laughable.

I've always said UFC is as a high level as pride, they just dont have the quality in the majority of divisions. GSP, Hughes, Penn at 170 are at the top level and that division is > than pride's. Pride just has more depth at a consistently high level in most of the divisions. I dont think that can be argued.

Nick Diaz suprised me though, however I do think Gomi was over confident. he's always been a tough kid though. I've always thought Diaz was a good fighter though.

Everything changes though, soon pride could be 2nd fiddle, but not just yet IMHO.

Smokin
27 Feb 2007, 07:34

Yea, Pride WAS better, but the past year or two has definitely seen a changing of the guard. It goes with money too, really. Pride has hit financial trouble from all reports, where as the UFC has become very cashed up (from reports again of course). Who would have thought 5 years ago the UFC could buy Crocop?

I would be in utter shock if Sylvia beat Crocop. I dont rate Sylvia all that highly, although his size makes him very awkward. Crocop is simply too seasoned against big guys, and is one of the very few in MMA who has GENUINE world class striking.

Id imagine this fight will go a bit like Silva-Franklin, sure Franklin had good MMA level striking, but against a guy with REAL striking ability, he looked a fish out of water. As good a MMA striker Arlovksi is, he is nowhere near a world class striker.

Have you seen much of Fedor?

On Sylvia, I actually think the UFC has got in Randy's ear to return to try and get some respectability back to their Heavyweight division. Sylvia is not a good HW champion for them image-wise, looks very goofy and a Randy win would do amazing things for the UFC. I just dont know what Randy has left.

Smokin
27 Feb 2007, 07:55
Dana goes off!

http://www.nbcsports.com/ufc/1122785/detail.html

drew_j
27 Feb 2007, 10:24
Dana fails to mention that Diaz fights at 170 and Gomi at 155 or that Anderson Silva being a PRIDE reject came into the UFC and owned Rich Franklin. If Jackson beats Liddell, what's he going to say then? PRIDE has always had the better fighters. This is changing but not enough for White to open his trap just yet.

Deej
27 Feb 2007, 11:10
Dana fails to mention that Diaz fights at 170 and Gomi at 155 or that Anderson Silva being a PRIDE reject came into the UFC and owned Rich Franklin. If Jackson beats Liddell, what's he going to say then? PRIDE has always had the better fighters. This is changing but not enough for White to open his trap just yet.
Dana hardly went off, he's just telling it how it is. Pride DOES have this mystique thing where people think if it's pride it's gotta be the best. Gomi the best? Give me a break, Japanese fighters are cans, the UFC has plenty of fighters that'd hand Gomi his arse on a plate around the 155-170 weight class. In other classes Rua hasn't looked like himself since busting his arm, and Wanderlei who eanred his reputation beating on Japanese cans and a few knees on Rampage was owned by Ortiz and the old (good) Vitor Belfort before going to Pride, Pride's biggest claim to fame like i said is Liddell losing to Jackson this result alone has given Pride so much of it's bottom credentials.
By the way I'm not saying Pride is sh#t I love pride but i cant stand the pride huggers assuming that pride is simply better, when just as much proof can be presented to suggest otherwise.

How can anyone definitely say Sylvia isn't the best right now? What if he beats Couture and then KTFO crocop? Suddenly the goalposts will REALLY change, people will think holy fk all this time we thought fedor was sooooo much better and timmy was crap but really timmy was right up there all along. Who has Fedor fought anyway in his last dozen or so fights? Coleman Randleman & Goodridge are pensioners, there's a collection of japanese cans, CC, and he didn't look that fantastic against Hunt. He hasn't fought Josh Barnett, Tim Sylvia, or Andrei Arlovski, and plenty think CC would nail him given another chance. Dont get me wrong he's a machine, but a once in a lifetime fighter? FFS not a chance. Go back a bit further he beat on Herring woopdy do.

Smokin
27 Feb 2007, 12:13
Yes, it's all about the image and stigma.

On this Pride show, they continually showed Gomi calling out UFC guys like St. Piere and Hughes. He then proceeded to get bashed by a guy nowhere near their level.

They hyped the $h!t out of Silva and a fight with Chuck, then he got iced again.

Pride coming to America was, amoung other things (having big dramas in japan) a direct assault on the US market in the UFC's "hometown".

Of course the UFC came out of this smiling.

It's an image/branding thing.

And on Silva/Cro Cop/Jackson etc - huge difference is that the UFC have them under contract and had them (Silva) or will have them in fights PRIOR to the title fight, hence developing them under the UFC brand as UFC fighters, then challengers then maybe champions.

Pride simply brought Diaz in as a supposed UFC sitting duck for a Gomi highlight reel and hype machine, and it blewup in their face.

drew_j
27 Feb 2007, 12:24
Coleman, Randleman and Goodrich may be over the hill but who the hell has Sylivia fought? Andrie Arlovski is about it, Frank Mir had him covered and then who else is there? Tra Telligman? Randy Couture is coming out of retirement at 43 to fight him because he doesn't respect him as a title holder. How much more of an indictment do you need? That like Jason Dunstal coming out of retirement because he doesn't think Franklin is up to the task. There's a flip side to your argument. What if Couture flogs Sylvia and then Crocop flogs him and does what he intends to which is to piss off back to Pride to unify the titles. Sylvia has a sluggers chance against crocop at best, and his tactic will be to counter punch using his range to eck out a decision victory like the borring fighter he is. I'm praying that Sylvia gets flogged by Couture because Sylvia as UFC heavy weight champ is a blight on the sport.

Presti_is_god
27 Feb 2007, 12:54
Great show great fights.

Dont start this UFC vs Pride crap, bottom line is i want to see the best fights and matchups.

Dont start with crap like Sherk beat Diaz therefore Sherk is better than Gomi when its all subjective with weights/time/rules etc.

drew_j
27 Feb 2007, 12:57
I just hate Tim Sylvia.

Magnum
27 Feb 2007, 13:33
Great show great fights.

Dont start this UFC vs Pride crap, bottom line is i want to see the best fights and matchups.

Dont start with crap like Sherk beat Diaz therefore Sherk is better than Gomi when its all subjective with weights/time/rules etc.

I concur.

I just wish UFC had kicks/knees on the ground. That is the business.

To be fair, Gomi is a 155 so of course most of the 155-170's would kill him. Diaz is himself a 170 fighter. They fought on the weekend at 160. So of course GSP and the likes would annihilate Gomi. The doesn't mean that Gomi isn't a freaking awesome and would easily be a handful for Sherk and would likely flog Florian. Sherk fought Diaz at 170 but realised he was too small for the likes of GSP so hence the cut to 155.

But PIG is right, we should cut or limit the pride/ufc BS - At least until CC and Sylvia go at it! ;)

Deej
27 Feb 2007, 13:43
Coleman, Randleman and Goodrich may be over the hill but who the hell has Sylivia fought? Andrie Arlovski is about it, Frank Mir had him covered and then who else is there? Tra Telligman? Randy Couture is coming out of retirement at 43 to fight him because he doesn't respect him as a title holder. How much more of an indictment do you need? That like Jason Dunstal coming out of retirement because he doesn't think Franklin is up to the task. There's a flip side to your argument. What if Couture flogs Sylvia and then Crocop flogs him and does what he intends to which is to piss off back to Pride to unify the titles. Sylvia has a sluggers chance against crocop at best, and his tactic will be to counter punch using his range to eck out a decision victory like the borring fighter he is. I'm praying that Sylvia gets flogged by Couture because Sylvia as UFC heavy weight champ is a blight on the sport.
yeah you have a point sylvia has beaten probably same or slightly inferior level as Fedor, Buenatello Arlovski Monson McGee Sims Rodriguez then you're going back a fair way. but i wasn't saying sylvia is the proven best i'm not sure he is or isn't the best, i just think he's underrated by the pride fans thats all. I remember reading heaps of sh#t on sherdog about there being like 6 or 7 heavyweights in pride that would send sylvia to sleep, YEAH RIGHT what a load of biased bs that is.

Deej
27 Feb 2007, 13:45
Magnum who would you back to win out of BJ and Gomi, at 155.

drew_j
27 Feb 2007, 13:58
yeah you have a point sylvia has beaten probably same or slightly inferior level as Fedor, Buenatello Arlovski Monson McGee Sims Rodriguez then you're going back a fair way. but i wasn't saying sylvia is the proven best i'm not sure he is or isn't the best, i just think he's underrated by the pride fans thats all. I remember reading heaps of sh#t on sherdog about there being like 6 or 7 heavyweights in pride that would send sylvia to sleep, YEAH RIGHT what a load of biased bs that is.

I got a fight between Fedor and some japanese can (i like that, I'm gonna steal it :D) where Fedor gets rocked with a lucky shot and the can doesn't back it up, Fedor just standing there like an actor in a bad zombie movie and can is so shocked he can't follow up. Piss funny. He's not invincible.

I personally have no Pride v UFC bias, I'll watch both happily. I'll watch K-1, IFC, Jungle Rumble, etc, etc. UFC has put on some awesome fight cards, lately how can you complain? That said, I think Fedor would open a can of whoop-ass on Sylvia, and I think Sylvia is the most boring fighter to hold a recognised title. And I think the Nevada State Athletics Commission should pull their thumb out of thier arse and legalise kicking a downed opponent.

P.S. I'd go gomi, becasue B.J. wouldn't train :P ability however I'd go Penn.

Deej
27 Feb 2007, 14:04
Plenty of people would probably think i'm being racist or some sh#t against the japs but i dont rate them, they are great competitors but not world champs.

Presti_is_god
27 Feb 2007, 14:10
I concur.

I just wish UFC had kicks/knees on the ground. That is the business.

To be fair, Gomi is a 155 so of course most of the 155-170's would kill him. Diaz is himself a 170 fighter. They fought on the weekend at 160. So of course GSP and the likes would annihilate Gomi. The doesn't mean that Gomi isn't a freaking awesome and would easily be a handful for Sherk and would likely flog Florian. Sherk fought Diaz at 170 but realised he was too small for the likes of GSP so hence the cut to 155.

But PIG is right, we should cut or limit the pride/ufc BS - At least until CC and Sylvia go at it! ;)

Agree and fyi. Gomi fights at 160, Prides LW is 160 pounds but he has fought at 154 in Shooto. But 160 is his optimum weight.

Deej
27 Feb 2007, 14:17
Agree and fyi. Gomi fights at 160, Prides LW is 160 pounds but he has fought at 154 in Shooto. But 160 is his optimum weight.
So because Diaz usually fights at 170 but wasted another 10 which is like 4kgs, that gives Gomi an excuse?
Gomi's an overrated jap can in a Pride weight division that has absolutely ZERO quality or depth.
;) do i sound like a UFC fan? I'm starting to think i'm anti-pride now or something !

drew_j
27 Feb 2007, 14:26
So because Diaz usually fights at 170 but wasted another 10 which is like 4kgs, that gives Gomi an excuse?
Gomi's an overrated jap can in a Pride weight division that has absolutely ZERO quality or depth.
;) do i sound like a UFC fan? I'm starting to think i'm anti-pride now or something !

Gomi had a few good fights that made me sit up and take notice. One in particular was his fight against Jens Pulver that I put in this boards Youtube thread. I rate Pulver and Gomi absolutley smashed him. Since then he's had two losses (both non title fights ffs!) and I'm starting to think it might be a flash in the pan. He's also a very small guy for 160!

Smokin
28 Feb 2007, 07:28

whoever gases 2nd wins!

Magnum
1 Mar 2007, 06:53

A fit BJ would probably beat Gomi. It'd be close. On the ground he would man handle Gomi. They have fought before and BJ won, I'm not sure at what weight it was. Granted, gomi was far less experienced back then. I still think BJ would win nowadays though.

Magnum
1 Mar 2007, 07:06

Cheers, I've always thought Gomi's 'natural' weight was 155. I knew Prides LW div was 160 but I thought he'd always been at around 155 and that he had to 'bulk up' to 160 for diaz because diaz is naturally a bigger fighter. I stand corrected :)

drew_j
1 Mar 2007, 07:27
Cheers, I've always thought Gomi's 'natural' weight was 155. I knew Prides LW div was 160 but I thought he'd always been at around 155 and that he had to 'bulk up' to 160 for diaz because diaz is naturally a bigger fighter. I stand corrected :)

Was reading on sherdog about Japaniese bias in the wieght divs. Basically claimed that Pride has it's div at 160 so Gomi and Sakurai can compete in the light weight bracket. Sakurai's fight was set at 163 becasue he couldn't make 160. While Gomi v Diaz was at 160 and Diaz struggled to make weight.

Magnum
1 Mar 2007, 07:35
I could believe that. I reckon the refs are slow on the stoppage for jap fighters too giving them a chance to recover in case they can make a come back.