Capitalist
27 Feb 2007, 16:31
Will have an arthroscopic surgery on his hip and will miss 2 months.:thumbsd:

Source 5AA via AFC

griifen for rd1:thumbsu:

bad luck for Maric though

maccas_no1
27 Feb 2007, 16:31
Mmmmm now the ruck stocks look very very wobbly.................... ohhh dear, Marty could be very well right:eek:

Stiffy_18
27 Feb 2007, 16:34
So Maric who was rated #2 ruckman on the list is out for a couple of months. Meesen who was rated as the #3 ruckman on the list is out for 12 weeks and the kid that many thought was a year or 2 away from playing AFL football will be the back up ruckman for at least the first month of the season.

Huddo will have a HUGE workload and there will be times when McGregor will be in the ruck for a long periods of time.

Having said all that, pressure builds diamonds so BRING IT ON!!!!!! :thumbsu:

Gets!
27 Feb 2007, 16:39
Griffin is a monty to play round 1 now.

Maybe Tippett could be in the mix!

betterthanu
27 Feb 2007, 16:40
tippet has the body for AFL footy dosent he??

Mayby a surprise call up to share second ruck spot with griffen?????????????????????????????????????????????????

Drummond
27 Feb 2007, 16:40
I can't believe what is happening. First Meesen goes down and is out for 3 months, then I hear on the news Maric's hip injury does not seem to be improving, and now he's out for 2 months. Realistically Griffin will be in the side for at least the first 6 weeks, and McGregor will have to do a bit of rucking. And heaven forbid if there is another injury, would that mean Tippett will get an early chance? ;)

Well said Stiffy, what an oppertunity for Griffin!

Release the Griff! :p

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5399936,00.jpg

maccas_no1
27 Feb 2007, 16:42
So Maric who was rated #2 ruckman on the list is out for a couple of months. Meesen who was rated as the #3 ruckman on the list is out for 12 weeks and the kid that many thought was a year or 2 away from playing AFL football will be the back up ruckman for at least the first month of the season.

Huddo will have a HUGE workload and there will be times when McGregor will be in the ruck for a long periods of time.

Sounds like an impending disaster to me, 1999 anyone????

crowsarethebest
27 Feb 2007, 16:43
Ruck stocks looking very very thin. Tippet is a big chance now... how is he going now?

KUNG FU
27 Feb 2007, 16:44
Release the Griff! :p

THE WORLD'S GONE TOPSY TURVY!

I'm still not worried. Yet.

Dandy_GO
27 Feb 2007, 16:45
how is he going now?

Well, he had a very limited pre-season, so I wouldn't expect him be ready for action just yet...

Gets!
27 Feb 2007, 16:45
*shakes head*

We have the worst luck of anyone in the AFL. Can't believe it.

SpringChoke
27 Feb 2007, 16:51
Shocking news. At least we can only go up from here, surely. Stiff, do you think we maybe threw Meesen into the frey to early?

crows98
27 Feb 2007, 17:00
Mmmmm now the ruck stocks look very very wobbly.................... ohhh dear, Marty could be very well right:eek:

I am not looking for an argument so don’t even start with me but FFS you were not to know that both Meesen and Maric would get a semi to long term injury.

We may full over and have a depleted big man department but Griffin may stand up and develop into a very good player.

crows98
27 Feb 2007, 17:02
tippet has the body for AFL footy dosent he??

Mayby a surprise call up to share second ruck spot with griffen?????????????????????????????????????????????????

McGregor as the second ruckman and Tippett to play in the forward pocket.

maccas_no1
27 Feb 2007, 17:13
I am not looking for an argument so don’t even start with me but FFS you were not to know that both Meesen and Maric would get a semi to long term injury.

We may full over and have a depleted big man department but Griffin may stand up and develop into a very good player.

No but I said it was a possiblity, I was taking that into why I thought we would struggle this year................ but no that right I was being negitive...........................look who was right and actually knew what he was on about????

maccas_no1
27 Feb 2007, 17:14
McGregor as the second ruckman and Tippett to play in the forward pocket.

Geez now we are really playing hit and miss stuff:rolleyes:

Truck Rutten
27 Feb 2007, 17:15
Where's Trent Ormond-Allen when you need him?

This sucks but I guess it gives Griffin and Tippett a genuine opportunity to make their mark.

Is Tippett back in full training now? Even though he's missed a fair bit of competitive work he was on the bike almost straight after he copped the neck injury wasn't he? Hopefully his fitness hasn't suffered too much and with another month until the start of the season proper he's now a real chance to debut early doors.

crows98
27 Feb 2007, 17:16
No but I said it was a possiblity, I was taking that into why I thought we would struggle this year................ but no that right I was being negitive...........................look who was right and actually knew what he was on about????

You were right, i was wrong. Happy. :thumbsu:

crows98
27 Feb 2007, 17:18
Geez now we are really playing hit and miss stuff:rolleyes:

So it was just a coincidence that he played in the ruck at Norwood oval, I don’t. NC could see we would need a second experienced ruckman during the season at some stage; it possibly has come earlier than everyone expected

glengowan
27 Feb 2007, 17:21
Ken isn't a ruckman. Have seen him do it a few times in the SANFL and he was way out of his depth, except from boundary throw ins where he did ok. Gill and Tippett are both injured at the moment, so can probably rule them out for Round 1. It's up to Hudson and Griffin (who I rate higher than Meesen anyway) and the Crows will be praying Hudson stays injury free. Will be interesting to see how Craig uses Hudson. He will have to shoulder 75% of the ruck load, unlike the 50/50 between Clarke and Biglands last year. If Hudson does stay fit, I can see the Crows ruck combo being better than last year, but if Hudson goes down, big trouble...

My order of preferred ruckman (not including Biglands) when fit: Hudson >>>>> Maric >> Griffin, Meesen >> McGregor (haven't seen Gill in ruck or Tippett play at all so wouldn't know).

Drummond
27 Feb 2007, 17:21
Where's Trent Ormond-Allen when you need him?

This sucks but I guess it gives Griffin and Tippett a genuine opportunity to make their mark.

Is Tippett back in full training now? Even though he's missed a fair bit of competitive work he was on the bike almost straight after he copped the neck injury wasn't he? Hopefully his fitness hasn't suffered too much and with another month until the start of the season proper he's now a real chance to debut early doors.
They just said on Channel 10 news that Tippett is likely to play for West Adelaide in their first trial game in a few weeks time. They said he has been impressive on the track since he’s returned from competitive training and also mentioned that he has the build required to play AFL football if called upon.

Interesting…

Troy Wingate
27 Feb 2007, 17:25
I am pretty dissapointed about Maric's injury. Was looking forward to a big year from him with the Port Magpies.

betterthanu
27 Feb 2007, 17:28
I am pretty dissapointed about Maric's injury. Was looking forward to a big year from him with the Port Magpies.

if he was fit he would have played for crows pretty much all of the year anyway

Stiffy_18
27 Feb 2007, 17:33
According to Stephen Schwerdt, Tippett has been in full training for a week or so now and is expected to play in the trial for West Adelaide on saturday week. Touch wood, if there are no other setbacks, he will also be up for consideration for round 1.

Tippett is probably more ready body wise than Griffin so it will be interesting to see what the match committee do come round 1.

Troy Wingate
27 Feb 2007, 17:35
if he was fit he would have played for crows pretty much all of the year anyway

Not neccessarily. Hudson is your main ruckman, Griffin showed some promise on Friday night. Right now, I'd be going with Griffin as your #2 ruckman after Hudson.

Stiffy_18
27 Feb 2007, 17:38
Not neccessarily. Hudson is your main ruckman, Griffin showed some promise on Friday night. Right now, I'd be going with Griffin as your #2 ruckman after Hudson.
Griffin showed a bit but all fit and firing, Maric is the #2 ruckman and by a fair margin.

Troy Wingate
27 Feb 2007, 17:42
Griffin showed a bit but all fit and firing, Maric is the #2 ruckman and by a fair margin.

Aww c'mon, we need him at Alberton, help the Magpies win their 37th flag.

maccas_no1
27 Feb 2007, 17:44
Aww c'mon, we need him at Alberton, help the Magpies win their 37th flag.

So what is the history now??? I thought Port Magpies only claimed flags after 1997:confused:

Troy Wingate
27 Feb 2007, 17:46
So what is the history now??? I thought Port Magpies only claimed flags after 1997:confused:

Don't start that arguement.

The Magpies and Power share the premierships, history and heritage from 1870-1996. 1997 onwards, they are separate.

Gets!
27 Feb 2007, 17:50
Maccas dont open that can of worms.

I dont want to see Tippett in the ruck though...FF thankyou.

RoosterLad
27 Feb 2007, 17:57
haahahahahahah oh wicked
i hope Hudson starts calling himself a rover cos our ruck/bigman curse is striking everybody
start handing out vaccines for the bubonic plague

RoosterLad
27 Feb 2007, 17:58
Maccas dont open that can of worms.

I dont want to see Tippett in the ruck though...FF thankyou.

yes Tippett taking the big grabs in the goal square
no ruck for him

Blue Red and Gold
27 Feb 2007, 18:01

The Magpies and Power share the premierships, history and heritage from 1870-1996. 1997 onwards, they are separate.
gee thats convienent

RoosterLad
27 Feb 2007, 18:04

Oh so that's how they are choosing to operate on 27/2/07?
I thought PAMFC was a brand new club which has only been in the SANFL since 1997?

Jeremias
27 Feb 2007, 18:24
Unlucky for the big fella, and for the Crows.

Wish him all the best in his recovery.

I must say that the Crows are looking very poor in the ruck division now! :eek:

Gets!
27 Feb 2007, 18:27

Hardly surprising when 50% of your ruck division goes out before the start of the season and the other one will miss the whole year with a knee.

We will be fine though.

Truck Rutten
27 Feb 2007, 18:37
They just said on Channel 10 news that Tippett is likely to play for West Adelaide in their first trial game in a few weeks time. They said he has been impressive on the track since he’s returned from competitive training and also mentioned that he has the build required to play AFL football if called upon.

Interesting…

Cheers for that Drummond :thumbsu:

Sounds promising.

Wayne's-World
27 Feb 2007, 18:51
Yeah don't forget Tippet ...remember he was a top top age recruit who'll be 20 in May.

Sounds mature and between him and Griffin we'll be OK to fill in minutes for Hudson.

Thoughts of Kenny jumping at centre bounces is fanciful ....certainly at boundary throw ins he could do the job as they are predominately body on body ....but Kenny is no leap-er.;)

Scott Van Persett
27 Feb 2007, 18:55
At least half the time will be in the preseason so, as long as 8 weeks doesn't become 12 weeks:mad:, he'll only miss 3 or 4 games of the season proper.

If we are going to get injuries, better now than halfway through the season

Wayne's-World
27 Feb 2007, 19:01
At least half the time will be in the preseason so, as long as 8 weeks doesn't become 12 weeks:mad:, he'll only miss 3 or 4 games of the season proper.

If we are going to get injuries, better now than halfway through the season

Agree ...his season certanly isn't over.

Maric is not one of the aeorobically fittest players on our list so this is certainly going to set him back a bit ........but Iam confident we've got the resources to bandaid the first 6 matches.

For Griffin this could be a real confidence building opportunity knowing he'll get games ......watch his training go up another level over the next month ....

Scott Van Persett
27 Feb 2007, 19:07
Agree ...his season certanly isn't over.

Maric is not one of the aeorobically fittest players on our list so this is certainly going to set him back a bit ........but Iam confident we've got the resources to bandaid the first 6 matches.

For Griffin this could be a real confidence building opportunity knowing he'll get games ......watch his training go up another level over the next month ....

I'm actually looking forward to see how we cover ourselves with these injuries. It will mean the other players will have to put in extra effort to overcome that deficit. After all, Clarke and Biglands didn't have absolutely dominating matches last year and we managed to win quite a few games:)

Sometimes adversity makes people reach their potential

Wayne's-World
27 Feb 2007, 19:13
I'm actually looking forward to see how we cover ourselves with these injuries. It will mean the other players will have to put in extra effort to overcome that deficit. After all, Clarke and Biglands didn't have absolutely dominating matches last year and we managed to win quite a few games:)

Sometimes adversity makes people reach their potential
Remember up until very recent most teams relied on one ruckman with a part timer and went for additional running power by selecting another midfielder.

We will survive.

I think Hudson has already demonstrated that our rucking division will be stronger than last season only if we are getting a stronger around the ground ruckman and a tenacious centre square player who was one of the leading "clearance" players in the AFL prior to his injury.

We need a player to relive approx 10 minutes per qtr .....more importantly we have lost IMO the option of playing a tall ruckman in the forward line and that will take a lot more thinking to get a solution.

With Gill injured, I suspect Tippett not quite ready we are a tall short in the forward line .....c'mon down Kenny McGregor this is your chance!

King Elvis
27 Feb 2007, 19:15
We need to have our midfielders studying the oppositions ruckman like crazy, we're going to need to feed off their taps a hell of a lot.

Crow-mo
27 Feb 2007, 19:52

stop being an arseclown for the sake of it Marty.

you can do better than that. :thumbsu:

kirky
27 Feb 2007, 20:03
Not good news but glass half full not half empty. How important are ruckmen given that was one department the Saints had the cupboard bare but still they were more than competitive. The more important is to have our players read the opposition ruckmen - I see that being more crucial.

Messiah
27 Feb 2007, 20:22
Tippett has played three games for Queensland in 2006 but has recorded some remarkable numbers in those games. He has taken a total of 15 contested marks in those games, including hauls of six, five and four. In two games where he spent time in the ruck he had 14 and 23 hitouts respectively, with an amazing 41% of them going to advantage. In the other game where he played forward, he booted seven goals. He has totalled 12 goals in those three games, and has averaged 11 disposals and seven marks.

His ability to take contested marks and also feed the ball off to the crumbing players was a huge asset for the team. At 201cm Ruck/ Full Forward and with bucket hands and good agility make him an awesome and scary prospect, considering he has only played football for 14 months coming from an elite Basketball background. He is another that the more football he plays the better he is learning to read the play and play certain roles.
He has a huge amount of natural ability and potential.

Craig McCrae - Queensland Scorpions coach - June 2006

James Who?

CrowHop
27 Feb 2007, 20:49

Perception is everyting.

We'll see how our ruck division stacks up when the real stuff starts.

Fingers crossed.

jenny61_99
27 Feb 2007, 21:02

Is that like having your cake and eating it too????;)

CrowHop
27 Feb 2007, 21:27
stop being an arseclown for the sake of it Marty.

you can do better than that. :thumbsu:

Exactly. Meesen and Maric go down which has left us a little thin. Noone could have predicted this.

macca23
27 Feb 2007, 21:58

Marty, we had 4 ruckmen standing in our list of 38 players at the beginning of the year - one chance in 9.5 that if we had a player get a serious injury that it would be a ruckman.

After the first injury, the chance of a ruckman getting a serious injury was 3 out of 37 - one chance in 11.7.

Before either happened, the chance of 2 ruckmen both going down one after the other therefore is one chance in 111 (1/9.5 x 1/11.7).

If you're claiming that you actually knew this and predicted it, could you please give me the name of the winner of the first in Adelaide next Saturday?? :)

King Elvis
27 Feb 2007, 22:19
Tippett has played three games for Queensland in 2006 but has recorded some remarkable numbers in those games. He has taken a total of 15 contested marks in those games, including hauls of six, five and four. In two games where he spent time in the ruck he had 14 and 23 hitouts respectively, with an amazing 41% of them going to advantage. In the other game where he played forward, he booted seven goals. He has totalled 12 goals in those three games, and has averaged 11 disposals and seven marks.

His ability to take contested marks and also feed the ball off to the crumbing players was a huge asset for the team. At 201cm Ruck/ Full Forward and with bucket hands and good agility make him an awesome and scary prospect, considering he has only played football for 14 months coming from an elite Basketball background. He is another that the more football he plays the better he is learning to read the play and play certain roles.
He has a huge amount of natural ability and potential.

Craig McCrae - Queensland Scorpions coach - June 2006

James Who?

I have an erection based on expectation as a result of that post.

kimirocks
27 Feb 2007, 22:57
I have an erection based on expectation as a result of that post.
I doubt very much that you're the only one. Back in 5.

maccas_no1
28 Feb 2007, 08:03
Marty, we had 4 ruckmen standing in our list of 38 players at the beginning of the year - one chance in 9.5 that if we had a player get a serious injury that it would be a ruckman.

After the first injury, the chance of a ruckman getting a serious injury was 3 out of 37 - one chance in 11.7.

Before either happened, the chance of 2 ruckmen both going down one after the other therefore is one chance in 111 (1/9.5 x 1/11.7).

If you're claiming that you actually knew this and predicted it, could you please give me the name of the winner of the first in Adelaide next Saturday?? :)

Macca my old buddy ol pal, I said that was the reason why I couldnt say the AFC would win the flag simply because we were relying on all four ruckman standing up throughout the year, this senario was in the back of my mind, yet nobody could see what I was saying, now it has happened people have suddenely gone ohh crap............ I anit because it already was in my thoughts and reasons as to what I have posted in the past, I wouldnt have said it without reason and I think now people are begginning to see the method behind my madness;)

Kristof
28 Feb 2007, 08:23
Macca my old buddy ol pal, I said that was the reason why I couldnt say the AFC would win the flag simply because we were relying on all four ruckman standing up throughout the year, this senario was in the back of my mind, yet nobody could see what I was saying, now it has happened people have suddenely gone ohh crap............ I anit because it already was in my thoughts and reasons as to what I have posted in the past, I wouldnt have said it without reason and I think now people are begginning to see the method behind my madness

But not the method behind your spelling ... ;)

The trouble with you, Macca, is you're a bit like my old mum, in that she'll whinge about fifty different things - and when one of them happens, she'll say "I told you so".

Crow Envy
28 Feb 2007, 08:35
Macca my old buddy ol pal, I said that was the reason why I couldnt say the AFC would win the flag simply because we were relying on all four ruckman standing up throughout the year, this senario was in the back of my mind, yet nobody could see what I was saying, now it has happened people have suddenely gone ohh crap............ I anit because it already was in my thoughts and reasons as to what I have posted in the past, I wouldnt have said it without reason and I think now people are begginning to see the method behind my madness;)

That is a ridiculous statement. The same applies to any club, if their ruckman had injuries they would be in the same boat as us. How would WC fair without Cox and Seeby? Port without Lade and Brogan?

Now for FFS can you stop being such a pessimist and stop taking pleasure in our mishaps just so you can vindicate your negativity.

Mad Dog
28 Feb 2007, 08:38

but don't you get it.........this will be the pattern all year.....

Mad Dog
28 Feb 2007, 08:52

The trouble with you, Macca, is you're a bit like my old mum, in that she'll whinge about fifty different things - and when one of them happens, she'll say "I told you so".

haaahaaaa.....:thumbsu:

like those clairvoyants....

Clairvoyant: I'm sensing someone in your life with an S in their name.......I'm getting the feeling they could be related.........perhaps with long hair.......?

Victim: No, only my sister ?

Clairvoyant: ahhhh-HAA - the letter S - I was right...

:rolleyes:

TheLeftFist8
28 Feb 2007, 08:56
That is a ridiculous statement. The same applies to any club, if their ruckman had injuries they would be in the same boat as us. How would WC fair without Cox and Seeby? Port without Lade and Brogan?

Now for FFS can you stop being such a pessimist and stop taking pleasure in our mishaps just so you can vindicate your negativity.

:thumbsu: ...with the one caveat that we probably took a higher risk as our ruck stocks contained Hudson (a very good player but with ~33 games experience coming back from major injury), Maric (8 games), and couple of untried youngsters with potential.

Having said that, i was one who agreed (and still do) with the decision to let Clarke go. I know it's only one NAB Cup match but Hudson and Griffen were a better combo that Clarke and Biglands in every respect last week except the (very important) hit-outs. If we can negate the opposition ruck at the actual ball-up, i am confident we will still win our share of clearances and actually improve our rucks output around the ground and up forward.

RoosterLad
28 Feb 2007, 10:45
It sounds to me like maccasno1 WANTS the Crows to fail so he can bitch and whinge "hahaha i told yous so"

Pathetic.
delete him i reckon

maccas_no1
28 Feb 2007, 10:59
It sounds to me like maccasno1 WANTS the Crows to fail so he can bitch and whinge "hahaha i told yous so"

Pathetic.
delete him i reckon

If thats what you think then thats your choice, what you want me to say????

AFC Premiers 2007????:rolleyes:

Capitalist
28 Feb 2007, 11:04

Macca – there are people who are too positive and there are people who are too negative

Your just one of the negative people.

RoosterLad
28 Feb 2007, 11:11
No, you don't have to come out and say we will be premiers this year, leave that up to guns like me and Gets!

The fact you are always talking about the negatives, and the fact it is as if you are waiting for something bad to happen, is just pathetic mate. If we win our first few games will you still be negative "who cares if we won, it wont last, no finals for crows this year" blah blah. You are a grumpy old man.

betterthanu
28 Feb 2007, 11:28

i don't suppose you sit against the wall next the old score board under cover do you??? When i used to sit around there there was a person just like you.

He had the catch phrase "GREAT FOOTBALL" but only used it sarcastically when we made a mistake.

Honest question

Gets!
28 Feb 2007, 11:37
Maccas is a prime example of why I think the 'respect your elders' notion is tripe :)

Markthirtytwo
28 Feb 2007, 11:40
Maccas is a prime example of why I think the 'respect your elders' notion is tripe :)

Hey, don't confuse him with the real senior citizens who deamand respect young man. :mad:

Gets!
28 Feb 2007, 11:43
Obviously I respect my elders who have earnt it. Don't get your knickers in a not.

Markthirtytwo
28 Feb 2007, 11:47
Obviously I respect my elders who have earnt it. Don't get your knickers in a not.

What type of KNOT is that?

crows98
28 Feb 2007, 11:50
Macca_no1 is just like Homer Simpson in the baseball episode where he goers from hating the ‘Isotopes’ to vowing that season was one of his life long dreams and loving the ‘Isotopes’

At the begging of the season he was like “they suck” and “they cannot win a thing”. After a few seconds it is the end of the season and suddenly Homer is dressed up in all Isotopes gear like he has supported them all year; he is hooting and screaming that they won the championship.

Gets!
28 Feb 2007, 11:57
What type of KNOT is that?

Ya hoo! A spelling miktaske.

Mad Dog
28 Feb 2007, 11:59
this is going nowhere

can we focus on EEVAAAARRRn please

C4[2]Yo`DooR
28 Feb 2007, 12:00
Bad news that ...

Mad Dog
28 Feb 2007, 12:10
but really.....

if one of Rock or Griff get injured sometime in the next 3 months......who do we favour bringing in?

3 options IMO

McGregor plays as a dedicated ruckman and relieves the #1 at the end of qtrs in the tradional fashion

We keep the #1 on the ground all game but ask him to play between the 50m arcs and ask the KPPs to do the contested work while the ball is in their zone.....that way lightening the load.

We bring in a Tippett or Sellar and play them as a dedicated ruckman (undersized yes) at the end of qtrs - remembering that it might only mean 10 mins ground time per qtr.

any thoughts ?

maccas_no1
28 Feb 2007, 12:25
Macca – there are people who are too positive and there are people who are too negative

Your just one of the negative people.

Im not being negitive Im stating the issues that lie for the AFC from 2007 going forward, Im not any longer going to sit back and accept things are okay when clearly they arent, Im not going to continually put my rose coloured glasses on and say opinions that I dont feel are correct just to go along with everyone else, Im my own man and I stand by my statements, I wish I could come out and say yep everything is great, we are great team we have no issues.

maccas_no1
28 Feb 2007, 12:27
but really.....

if one of Rock or Griff get injured sometime in the next 3 months......who do we favour bringing in?

3 options IMO

McGregor plays as a dedicated ruckman and relieves the #1 at the end of qtrs in the tradional fashion

We keep the #1 on the ground all game but ask him to play between the 50m arcs and ask the KPPs to do the contested work while the ball is in their zone.....that way lightening the load.

We bring in a Tippett or Sellar and play them as a dedicated ruckman (undersized yes) at the end of qtrs - remembering that it might only mean 10 mins ground time per qtr.

any thoughts ?

I would be going for option two myself, if that is where we end up, I hope we dont:(

RoosterLad
28 Feb 2007, 12:35
Play Griffin and McGregor. Huddo leading the ruck, and one of Griff or Kenny Mc can alternate between bench/ruck/forward line.

Sellar will be no good as a ruckman this year, Tippett i want to see kick 100 goals from FF.

TheLeftFist8
28 Feb 2007, 12:40
but really.....

3 options IMO

any thoughts ?

Let's hope we never have to cross this bridge but...

Option 2 is intriguing but could be risky from a defensive POV. The opposition should realise what is happening and therefore will be able to either push forward or back into the 50m arcs creating a damaging loose man (more damaging than our loose ruckman left in the middle).

To offset the damage we could slightly modify/add to option 2 by:

having a loose man ready in defence ready to man-up on the opposition ruck sneaking inside 50 OR

playing a 'forward ruck (mobile FP)' and 'defensive ruck' where they both play the whole game with the #1 ruckman taking most of centre square work. While slightly easier to man-up at either end, it would still require a high level of attention from both players in the change-over (though the loose player could work in our favour). Obviously, this could result in their BP becoming a loose man but thats better than a player unnaccounted for in their forward 50.

Option 1...be great if Hudson still in and fit enough but its a big ask.

Option 3...maybe with Tippett based on physical attributes but i would not be risking Sellar in that role unless its an absolutely last resort. If the Kenny experiment fails, Tippett may need to come in either way.

All in all, i would trial a modified Option 2 but consider Option 1 if Hudson up to it. As far as selecting the 22, even now i think we may need to consider playing the extra tall (McGregor) as insurance. Certainly if Hudson or Griffen injured, i would select the one remaining plus McGregor AND Tippett.

Capitalist
28 Feb 2007, 12:41
Im not being negitive Im stating the issues that lie for the AFC from 2007 going forward, Im not any longer going to sit back and accept things are okay when clearly they arent, Im not going to continually put my rose coloured glasses on and say opinions that I dont feel are correct just to go along with everyone else, Im my own man and I stand by my statements, I wish I could come out and say yep everything is great, we are great team we have no issues.

I'm not argueing a balanced view is not warranted

and i am a big one for not going with the crowd on topic (look at my views re Jericho) however you can tend to be overly negative (or reverse positve as its kown these days)

but its good to have balance with different posters i suppose

Kane McGoodwin
28 Feb 2007, 12:42
Play Griffin and McGregor. Huddo leading the ruck, and one of Griff or Kenny Mc can alternate between bench/ruck/forward line.

Makes sense to me.

MD, I don't want even think about Huddo going down, as we will be in deep shyte.

Kane McGoodwin
28 Feb 2007, 12:43
PS. Stay on the topic!!!

Vader
28 Feb 2007, 13:02

Tippett was listed (at draft time) as being 200.5cm. That makes him the second tallest player on our list, behind Griffen at 202cm. Playing as a ruckman he's hardly undersized (taller than Hudson 199cm, Maric 198cm & Meesen 199cm who are all considered regulation size ruckmen). At draft time he was also described as being close to AFL size in terms of his physical development, owing to the fact that he was 12 months older than most of the other draftees. So.. he's probably our best option physically (don't know what his fitness is like after his interrupted pre-season).

However, Tippett has only been playing the game for 2 years and still probably has a great deal to learn about his trade - be it operating as a FF or in the ruck. In terms of experience he leaves a lot to be desired, but then again it's not like any of the other options are exactly bursting with ruck experience either!

Personally, I'd rather see him playing at FF (definitely prefered to Perrie, possibly KMac if he hasn't overcome whatever was holding him back in 2006).

However, if push came to shove and we did lose Hudson to injury, playing Griffen & Tippett would still be my first preference for our rucks - albeit an incredibly inexperienced ruck division.

RoosterLad
28 Feb 2007, 13:06
Hudson had only been playing a couple of years when we drafted him and he was a quick learner, hopefully Tippett is too.

crows4always
28 Feb 2007, 14:34
Aww c'mon, we need him at Alberton, help the Magpies win their 37th flag.:thumbsd:
Who Cares.
Come on the Bays.

TheLeftFist8
28 Feb 2007, 14:49
Personally, I'd rather see him playing at FF (definitely prefered to Perrie, possibly KMac if he hasn't overcome whatever was holding him back in 2006).

However, if push came to shove and we did lose Hudson to injury, playing Griffen & Tippett would still be my first preference for our rucks - albeit an incredibly inexperienced ruck division.

If you prefer Tippett above McGregor in the ruck (at this stage as 3rd in line), and he is possibly a better option (though certainly untried) on the FF line, would you select Tippett above McGregor for round 1 if both are fit?

Or is it better the devil you know at this stage?

I think McGregor's perceived ability to also play in defence will result in him being picked.

Vader
28 Feb 2007, 15:29
If you prefer Tippett above McGregor in the ruck (at this stage as 3rd in line), and he is possibly a better option (though certainly untried) on the FF line, would you select Tippett above McGregor for round 1 if both are fit?

Or is it better the devil you know at this stage?

I think McGregor's perceived ability to also play in defence will result in him being picked.

Two different issues really. I wasn't talking about selecting Tippett ahead of KMac - Tippett would be coming in at the expense of the injured ruckman (be it Hudson or Griffin). Tippett would then be the 2nd ruckman (behind Griff/Hudson) rather than KMac attempting to provide coverage.

As far as the forward line goes, I'm not keen to see Tippett rushed into the side until he has proven himself in the SANFL. If his form demands selection, then by all means bring him into the senior side - and this could quite conceivably be at the cost of KMac losing his position.

KMac 2006 vintage was a pale shadow of KMac 2005 (and earlier). Maybe he was carrying an injury, maybe it was the beginning of the end for Kenny. There was certainly speculation here that he had OP, which was never confirmed by the club.

I have yet to see KMac play in 2007, so I am not going to pass judgement at this stage. If he can recover the form he showed before 2006 then his position in the team is certainly safe. On the other hand, if his form is as bad as it was last year then he would struggle to justify selection anyway.

TheLeftFist8
28 Feb 2007, 15:36
Two different issues really. I wasn't talking about selecting Tippett ahead of KMac - Tippett would be coming in at the expense of the injured ruckman (be it Hudson or Griffin). Tippett would then be the 2nd ruckman (behind Griff/Hudson) rather than KMac attempting to provide coverage.

As far as the forward line goes, I'm not keen to see Tippett rushed into the side until he has proven himself in the SANFL. If his form demands selection, then by all means bring him into the senior side - and this could quite conceivably be at the cost of KMac losing his position.

KMac 2006 vintage was a pale shadow of KMac 2005 (and earlier). Maybe he was carrying an injury, maybe it was the beginning of the end for Kenny. There was certainly speculation here that he had OP, which was never confirmed by the club.

I have yet to see KMac play in 2007, so I am not going to pass judgement at this stage. If he can recover the form he showed before 2006 then his position in the team is certainly safe. On the other hand, if his form is as bad as it was last year then he would struggle to justify selection anyway.

Good points :thumbsu:

macca23
28 Feb 2007, 16:26

Craig said very recently that Kenny played with injury for most of last year - much to his own detriment.

He also went on to say that a fit Ken McGregor figures prominently in his plans for this year.

Blue Red and Gold
28 Feb 2007, 19:23
haha I cant believe we are talking about Griffen playing round 1.

How times have changed!

Crow-mo
28 Feb 2007, 19:27

and pack you a nice lunch. :)

crowsarethebest
28 Feb 2007, 19:59
Basically I think we need to at least carry 2 ruckman + a part time ruckman. So Griffen and Hudson + either McGregor or Tippet. Who is the better 3rd ruckman option though? Tippet has only played for 2 years, is still raw but has a body of an AFL player already and is the right height for and AFL ruckman. He is athletic and would give us an option of playing him up forward as well. Tippet has no experience though, has not played a SANFL game to see where he is at (although he has played very very well in the QAFL). He also has had an injury interupted pre-season. McGregor on the other hand is more experienced and knows what it takes to be playing AFL. He is undersized though, and not many undersized ruckman would do well at AFL level. Jeff White is undersized but is WAY WAY WAY more athletic than McGregor. Jeff White is thrashed when playing against quality ruckman though like Sandilands. McGregor is undersized and doesn't have a very decent spring. He is a solid campainger and will do a good job though.

Will be intersting to see who the coaching staff opt for. My feeling is McGregor but IF Tippet does well this week against Melborune he is a chance. McGregor is probably the safer option at the moment, Tippet is very raw but has massive upside. I would like TIppet to play but I think he will need to prove himself in the SANFL first.

CrowHop
28 Feb 2007, 20:04
What drugs are some of you guys on ? Tippett ?Dont get me wrong, I like the bloke and think he has some great potential, but the guy would get murdered against top notch opposition ruckmen. As for Griff, I think he showed something against Port, but he still is in need of some weight.

My options :

1) - Hudson (of course)
2) - Griffen (to ruck the last 5-10 minutes of every quarter)
3) - McGregor to assist where needed.

maccas_no1
28 Feb 2007, 20:11
What drugs are some of you guys on ? Tippett ?Dont get me wrong, I like the bloke and think he has some great potential, but the guy would get murdered against top notch opposition ruckmen. As for Griff, I think he showed something against Port, but he still is in need of some weight.

My options :

1) - Hudson (of course)
2) - Griffen (to ruck the last 5-10 minutes of every quarter)
3) - McGregor to assist where needed.

Good points but this is where my concern lies, we are relying too much on Hudson standing up and now more than ever we are praying he doesnt even go out for a week.

I think this is very dangerous for our structure as a whole:(

Stiffy_18
28 Feb 2007, 20:18
I don't think it will even come down to McGregor versus "others" for a back up spot.

Fit and firing, Kenny is in the side regardless and thats as a KPP. Now the question is who will be the player to come in as a back up ruckman? Will it be Tippett or Griffin?

The problem with this is that Kenny is struggling with achillies. This is the same injury that has given him a bit of grief last year. Early in the season he had sore achillies and something tells me he carried it all year long.

With Kenny fit, he provides another option as a tall defender or a forward who can also pinch hit in the ruck. With Kenny as a forward, it would allow us to use him at ruck contests in the forward 50 and let Hudson work the rest of the ground. In this case Hudson would be backed up by one of the youngsters. This would be a positive as it would give us a chance to give some decent game time to young ruckman.

Going in with Hudson-McGregor-Griffin/Tippett trio would also provide Craig with a bit more flexibility because Huddo and Griffin/Tippett can play in the forward line as well and it would also give Craig the flexibility to play Kenny in the ruck if needed.

I think a lot of this rests on Kenny being fit and firing. If Kenny is injured and as a result struggling, then this strategy goes out the window.

Vader
1 Mar 2007, 08:09
Craig said very recently that Kenny played with injury for most of last year - much to his own detriment.

He also went on to say that a fit Ken McGregor figures prominently in his plans for this year.

As we suspected at the time. He did the right thing by the team, which was struggling to find a fit forward (Perrie, Bock & Welsh all MIA) at the time, unfortunately it was to the detriment of his own game.

Remember the infamous game against Richmond? KMac had a couple of set shots on goal from 40m out and didn't make the distance. By his own admission he couldn't kick it over a jam tin.

Here's hoping he's able to return to full fitness and subsequently returns to being a key member of Adelaide's forward line.

CrowHop
1 Mar 2007, 08:35
Good points but this is where my concern lies, we are relying too much on Hudson standing up and now more than ever we are praying he doesnt even go out for a week.

I think this is very dangerous for our structure as a whole:(

Unfortunately with the untimely injuries to Meesen and Maric we're a little unsettled, could have happened to any team I suppose, but I do agree, the pressure on him to stay fit is immense. Hopefully we look after him wisely in the next 3 weeks.

CrowHop
1 Mar 2007, 08:37
I think a lot of this rests on Kenny being fit and firing. If Kenny is injured and as a result struggling, then this strategy goes out the window.

That poses the next question - How is Kenny travelling ? Anyone got a report on him from training ? Stiff ?

C4[2]Yo`DooR
1 Mar 2007, 08:57
more news to come I'm afraid. :thumbsd:

macca23
1 Mar 2007, 09:05
Yo`DooR;6837904']more news to come I'm afraid. :thumbsd:

Meaning?? :confused:

Drummond
1 Mar 2007, 11:42
Yo`DooR;6837904']more news to come I'm afraid. :thumbsd:
Out for the season I presume? Or an extra month or two? :(

Kane McGoodwin
1 Mar 2007, 12:29

Confirms what I was saying nearly all of last year.