View Full Version : The Best Goals and Marks of all time
SouthSwans
4th March 2007, 20:21
Two compilations I made and uploaded recently to Youtube.
Best Goals Ever
GCdcAfXsom0
Note: The goals video skips at the Robbie Ahmat Goal.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCdcAfXsom0
Best Marks Ever
DNS_qfoFuVI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNS_qfoFuVI
If you liked these, check out my AFL Videos Library (http://www.youtube.com/profile_videos?user=Flanas89)
SouthSwans
4th March 2007, 21:30
Thoughts??
Cuzz09
4th March 2007, 21:31
I like the marks until the last one ;)
David Bourke what a champion.
Its pretty clear he was too great for this little competition of ours, he was something special indeed, no mere mortal could of taken that mark. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
MAG87
4th March 2007, 21:44
you had these up before and i was looking for them under your old name. excellent movies but i dont like the last mark of the mark video especially with the music. too eerie. by the way whats the song you use in your goals videos.
SouthSwans
4th March 2007, 21:50
you had these up before and i was looking for them under your old name. excellent movies but i dont like the last mark of the mark video especially with the music. too eerie.
I had to end it with something :D
And being a Swans supporter I wasn't going to end it with that Beau Waters mark or something :o
Maybe Mick McGuane's drop catch at the WACA would've been more fitting :p
- PC -
4th March 2007, 22:24
Top stuff, you know when a goal is good when you get goosebumps.
Interested to know if anyone was in the crowd shots of some of those goals
3 goals that come to mind that I would like to see, Jason MaCartneys last goal, Jeff Fehrings long bomb and Rhet Biglands from last year through traffic on the boundary line
thylacine60
4th March 2007, 22:42
Excellent work - well done. No SOS?
SouthSwans
4th March 2007, 22:44
Excellent work - well done. No SOS?
Yeah couldnt find it :confused:
Cm Perfect
5th March 2007, 00:40
you had these up before and i was looking for them under your old name. excellent movies but i dont like the last mark of the mark video especially with the music. too eerie. by the way whats the song you use in your goals videos.
It's Jacque Lu Cont's Remix of "What Else is There?" by Royksopp. Awesome tune and awesome clip, nice work :thumbsu:
Magic17
5th March 2007, 02:31
Great stuff.:thumbsu:
Lightning_Rod
8th March 2007, 11:59
absolute awsome stuff there, but two goals that stand out that are missing is the mcleod one at footy park and the davey goal against brisbane last year.
King Kieran
8th March 2007, 13:02
Nice work, but you left out some of Jonathon Browns trade mark run with the flight of the ball marks, the mark of the year he took against hawthorn in 2001 was awesome!
SouthSwans
8th March 2007, 19:32
Nice work, but you left out some of Jonathon Browns trade mark run with the flight of the ball marks, the mark of the year he took against hawthorn in 2001 was awesome!
Dont have that one.
SouthSwans
8th March 2007, 19:33
absolute awsome stuff there, but two goals that stand out that are missing is the mcleod one at footy park and the davey goal against brisbane last year.
I have both of those but just didnt put them in.... probably shouldve....
Rodger
11th March 2007, 15:10
awesome videos.
how about some of reiwoldts marks tho...running back with the flight, one of the all time best, ablett aswell?
but loved the goals. good stuff
smelly cat
12th March 2007, 10:00
Leaving Ablett out is like leaving Jordan out of a greatest dunks in basketball video. It just feels incomplete. Everything else was well put together though- well done!
deeps
13th March 2007, 11:45
I'm gonna disagree and say alot of the goals were good, but not THAT special at all.
Best goals of all time? Sorry i disagree
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
13th March 2007, 12:20
I'm gonna disagree and say alot of the goals were good, but not THAT special at all.
Best goals of all time? Sorry i disagree
Yeah. Waaay too many from the past five years.
#1 Dogs Fan
13th March 2007, 23:36
mate that is the best footage i have seen on this site well done :thumbsu:
SouthSwans
14th March 2007, 08:57
mate that is the best footage i have seen on this site well done :thumbsu:
Thanks for the positive feedback mate. It's people like you who make people who make videos want to make them. Unlike clowns like 'S "Thinks He's Daicos" J', you know how hard it is to find AFL footage??
SouthSwans
14th March 2007, 09:16
Noticed you included 'dropped catches' from both Robertson (1:52 remaining) and Montgomery (0:40 remaining). Both were paid. How about you realise that this happens every week and get over it?
The Robertson one was held in full control until he hit the ground releasing the ball under the pressure. Controlled.
The Montgomery one was held in full control until his body thundered to the ground vertically releasing the ball. Controlled.
The Ablett one is tapped on the left hand (not in control), into the right hand (not in control) where it bounces onto his gut (not in control) and then bounces away. At no point during that mark did Ablett hold control whereas the other two marks were held all the way down.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14th March 2007, 09:37
The Robertson one was held in full control until he hit the ground releasing the ball under the pressure. Controlled.
The Montgomery one was held in full control until his body thundered to the ground vertically releasing the ball. Controlled.
The Ablett one is tapped on the left hand (not in control), into the right hand (not in control) where it bounces onto his gut (not in control) and then bounces away. At no point during that mark did Ablett hold control whereas the other two marks were held all the way down.
That's not my point. You were the one who brought up the cricket analogy, not me. That has been my point the whole time:
Not a mark. In cricket that's classified as a drop catch. No drop catch is good as any mark no matter how dour it is.
Robertson: dropped catch - still a mark.
Montgomery: dropped catch - still a mark.
Ablett: dropped catch - still a mark.
And mate I'm sorry if I offended you about your video of goals, that wasn't my point either. I understand it's hard to get footage, all I was saying is that for the "Best Goals of All Time", there were probably too many from recent years. Still loved it though. Wasn't having a go.
Sorry mate.
SouthSwans
14th March 2007, 10:40
That's not my point. You were the one who brought up the cricket analogy, not me. That has been my point the whole time:
Robertson: dropped catch - still a mark.
Montgomery: dropped catch - still a mark.
Ablett: dropped catch - still a mark.
And mate I'm sorry if I offended you about your video of goals, that wasn't my point either. I understand it's hard to get footage, all I was saying is that for the "Best Goals of All Time", there were probably too many from recent years. Still loved it though. Wasn't having a go.
Sorry mate.
No worries.
And on the Ablett thing, I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, because I believe if you took a catch in cricket like those of Monty and Robbo it would be paid, but if you took one like Ablett's it wouldnt.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14th March 2007, 11:17
No worries.
And on the Ablett thing, I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, because I believe if you took a catch in cricket like those of Monty and Robbo it would be paid, but if you took one like Ablett's it wouldnt.
Yeah in cricket is different:
Law 32 (Caught)
1. Out Caught
The striker is out Caught if a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a No ball, touches his bat without having previously been in contact with any member of the fielding side and is subsequently held by a fielder as a fair catch before it touches the ground.
3. A fair catch
A catch shall be considered to have been fairly made if
(a) throughout the act of making the catch
(i) any fielder in contact with the ball is within the field of play. See 4 below.
(ii) the ball is at no time in contact with any object grounded beyond the boundary.
The act of making the catch shall start from the time when a fielder first handles the ball and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement.
Sorry about the confusion.
The Royal Sampler
14th March 2007, 16:28
That was pretty good, but IMHO it should have been shorter and more selective.
It's a shame it's so hard to find older AFL footage, would have loved to see Daicos' contributions to the goals video if it were possible.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14th March 2007, 16:31
That was pretty good, but IMHO it should have been shorter and more selective.
It's a shame it's so hard to find older AFL footage, would have loved to see Daicos' contributions to the goals video if it were possible.
Mate if you're interested, there is a Daicos video someone made, it's pretty decent. Well worth a look.
The Royal Sampler
14th March 2007, 18:50
Awesome, thanks mate. It went up two months ago, my last check must have been prior to that. :thumbsu:
Looking at that, in a way it depresses me that Daicos isn't playing any more. He was a genius.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14th March 2007, 19:09
Awesome, thanks mate. It went up two months ago, my last check must have been prior to that. :thumbsu:
Looking at that, in a way it depresses me that Daicos isn't playing any more. He was a genius.
I agree. Only one player who I've seen who was better to watch ;).
SouthSwans
15th March 2007, 17:16
I agree. Only one player who I've seen who was better to watch ;).
Yeah, Wayne Carey.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
15th March 2007, 18:36
Yeah, Wayne Carey.
Are you trying to stir me up again? Carn mate.
SouthSwans
15th March 2007, 19:37
I'm not stirring. Carey was the best player ever.
JF_Bay_22_SCG
18th March 2007, 13:05
This is the 2nd best goal I have ever seen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZ9T5l6nlqA
The best was one Michael Mitchell kicked against us in the last round in 1990 I think. a complete length of the field effort with about 8-9 bounces.
JF
Sherminator.
18th March 2007, 13:29
Yeah, has any one got footage of this? I loved that mark.
Syd Kennets
21st March 2007, 11:55
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_K43TmTVwM
Thats one of the top 3 ive ever seen. Check out the score and time of the game.
Intercept kick, recive, gather, spin, break tackle, bang from 50.
- PC -
21st March 2007, 14:09
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_K43TmTVwM
Thats one of the top 3 ive ever seen. Check out the score and time of the game.
Intercept kick, recive, gather, spin, break tackle, bang from 50.
Thats the Spider you want to see at Sydney
That was a reminder of why clubs want him
Xcat
22nd March 2007, 11:33
Loved Wanganeen's goal to get them through to the GF. :thumbsu: for the Vids