View Full Version : Jamie Charman
Grimreepah
5 Mar 2007, 21:04
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21324159-23211,00.html)
Charman to stick with aggression
By Andrew Hamilton
March 05, 2007
JAMIE Charman is the classic white-line fever sufferer: a fashion-conscious metrosexual off the field and a growling Lion on it.
And he has no intention of taming his bone-jarring attack despite again finding his name in the umpires' book for striking.
"I won't change my approach," Charman said. "If the ball is around I'm going to attack it. I've always liked the physicality."
The Lions will contest the charge if the AFL's video review panel today deems Charman has a case to answer for striking Bulldog Ryan Hargrave in Friday night's NAB Cup quarter-final win over the Bulldogs.
The events of last year still haunt, when the Lions opted to not fight a charge of rough play on Magpie Anthony Rocca because Charman had injured his back and needed a week off to recover.
An early guilty plea had the charge reduced from a two-week suspension to one but did little for Charman's reputation.
However the premiership ruckman, who owns a men's day spa, does part-time modelling and spent the summer learning to surf, says he does not go out to deliberately intimidate his opponents.
"I think it (aggression) is a valuable tool to the team as long as it's cool aggression," he said. "I'm very relaxed in my own life. Then when I go across the line I get into a different zone."
It has been that way forever.
Up in Cairns they still talk of the impact Charman made in a handful of senior games as a skinny 16-year-old kid with a body like a "baby giraffe".
His first senior game started in memorable and violent fashion, and probably explains Charman's ultra-aggressive style of play.
"I used to wear headgear then one day I just decided it was time to take it off," he said.
"But in my first contest, bang, I got whacked and I was gone, out like a light.
"I was pretty young and he chinned me."
The president at the time of the Cairns Saints, Bruce Gonsalves, says there's more to the story -- the part where Charman got up and dished it back out with interest to anyone who crossed his path.
"His attitude hasn't changed too much since joining the Lions, only he's 20kg heavier," he said. "He's never taken a backward step in his life."
Neither has his coach Leigh Matthews. In fact, "Lethal" has more than once expressed doubts that he'd have managed his own decorated career under the intense scrutiny of umpires in the modern era.
"The game's rules are very, very strict and you have to play within those rules," Matthews said.
And like reformed bad-boy Jonathan Brown, who was once a serial offender but is now a cleanskin with a spot in the club's leadership group, Matthews says Charman's record is unlikely to stand against his future leadership aspirations.
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/8474/charmanqs2.jpg
konstas_87
8 Mar 2007, 17:36
besides browny and obviously a couple of midfielders charmo is close to our MVP these days i reckon, has such a presence in the middle and has really grown into a gun player for us!
Sherminator.
30 May 2007, 22:49
Had 11 clearances against Collingwood, great effort.
BigCat2
31 May 2007, 00:23
Looks a much more influential player when playing primarily as a ruckman. Gets his share of hit outs and gets touches around the ground.
Didn't look good while going up forward. So much for the idea of having him play key forward to accommodate the others. Going to be a logjam for our other rucks.
Grimreepah
31 May 2007, 01:52
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21823099%255E19746,00.html)
Tiger treatment annoys Charman
31 May 2007 Herald-Sun
Jim Wilson
MATTHEW Richardson's contentious push-in-the-back free kick has received another sympathy vote -- this time from Brisbane Lion ruckman Jamie Charman.
As the Tigers prepare to meet the Lions at Telstra Dome on Saturday night, Charman said Richardson had every reason to be frustrated and called on the AFL to review the controversial rule.
"They need to look at it at the end of the season no doubt," Charman said.
"Everyone would agree it's changed the way we go about our approach to the game. It was pretty heartbreaking for 'Richo' and the rule does need reviewing. They need to look at the finer points and its interpretation of the rule."
Charman also gave a strong hint that he will remain at Brisbane next season.
"Brisbane has been a great part of my life and I love my teammates," he said.
"I've had a fantastic seven years and to be honest contract talks aren't my priority as I want to get a win. Having lost three in a row, we need to regroup and focus on bouncing back."
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/6083/charmandk6.jpg
danielcanberra
24 Jun 2007, 09:34
Don't talk money, says Charman
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
By Damien Stannard (http://www.news.com.au/sundaymail/author/0,23829,5001322-5003410,00.html)
June 24, 2007 12:00am
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5537601,00.jpg
FOCUSED: Jamie Charman won't discuss his contract.
RUCKMAN Jamie Charman yesterday re-affirmed his full commitment to the Brisbane Lions – by not entering contract talks midway through the season.
Charman, whose deal with Brisbane expires at the end of the year, offered his only public comments since speculation about his future began and said he did not want to be distracted from the job at hand. The home-grown tall wants to devote his full attention to the precarious plight of the Lions who, with just four wins, face an enormous battle to reach the finals.
"I love the team, I love the boys, I'd do anything for them," Charman said.
"I love Brisbane (and) my family's here but I want to wait until the end of the season to have those talks. I want to concentrate on footy without this hanging over my head."
The 197cm premiership player has been one of the Lions' most consistent performers this season.
Coach Leigh Matthews said Charman was clearly the club's best ruckman and any talk of a possible trade was "malicious and inaccurate". "From the club's point of view we value him and hope he spends the rest of his career here," he said.
"That's all you can say to your members and fans out there who can get the wrong impression."
The former Northern Eagle has overcome the calf problems that hindered him at the start of the season.
With the players given three days off due to the split round, Charman spent the weekend relaxing on Stradbroke Island.
"I'll be taking the surfboard but it might be too cold to use it," he said before hopping on the barge. The body's good and I'm looking forward to having a good crack in the second half of the year."
Brisbane played some of its best football against Carlton in Round 5 when Charman was deployed to full forward to help outnumbered co-captain Jonathan Brown.
With Brown free to roam down the ground, Charman gave the Lions' midfield another reliable option and the big man booted three of the team's 21 goals.
"I got two lucky ones at the start. It makes a massive difference having two big guys up forward," the 24-year-old said.
Charman, who is just three games shy of his 100th senior match, is happy for that role to be reprised but insists it would only be a temporary fix until the return of young key forward Mitchell Clark.
Matthews was hopeful Clark and midfielder Luke Power would overcome leg injuries in time to face Port Adelaide at the Gabba on Saturday night.
Lions forward Joel Patfull believes the answer to Brown's woes lies in a smarter approach. "We need to provide some options and spread the defence," he said.
Grimreepah
11 Jul 2007, 21:53
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22052726-10389,00.html)
Charman looks certain to stay
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
Marco Monteverde
July 11, 2007 12:00am
LIONS ruckman Jamie Charman has all but pledged his future to Brisbane but says he will not sign a new contract with the club until the end of the season.
Charman, who plays his 100th AFL game on Saturday night when Brisbane takes on Melbourne at the Gabba, yesterday spoke of his "love" for the Lions, who picked him up in the 2000 national draft.
The Lions tried to begin contract discussions with the 2003 premiership player earlier this season but were told via his manager that Charman was not ready to talk terms.
The former Northern Eagle yesterday reiterated his stance but left little doubt where he wanted to be next season and beyond, despite his name being linked with Richmond or St Kilda.
"I love the team, I love the boys and I've got my life set up here," Charman said.
"I just wanted to wait until the end of the season to do the contract for no other reason bar that I don't want that sort of stuff hanging around while I'm trying to finish off the season."
Charman, who turns 25 on Monday, is relishing his role as the Lions' leading ruckman and says he is more comfortable than ever before about speaking his mind.
"It's been a big change for me this year with a different leadership group. I'm having to stand up for myself and have the courage to speak up," he said. "We've established an environment where you can speak up." Charman was not as comfortable with expressing his views six years ago after a self-confessed "shocker" on debut against Fremantle at the Gabba in round 5 of the 2001 season.
"I gave away four free kicks and had only two possessions," he said.
Despite being punted for the following week's clash with Geelong, Charman had the consolation of being part of the Lions' famous comeback against the Dockers, with Brisbane kicking 13 goals in the final quarter to win by 49 points.
"Even though I had a bad game, the elation of winning overrides all that," he said.
Charman had a similar feeling of elation after the Lions' shock 27-point weekend win over the West Coast Eagles in Perth. But he admitted the victory would count for little if Brisbane failed to fire against the Demons.
"It's always going to be tough to make sure that we're not happy with ourselves," he said.
"We have to keep reminding ourselves that we're eight losses and five wins. One very good win against a very good team doesn't make a season," he said.
To mark his century of games, Charman will lead out the Lions on Saturday night and toss the coin.
"In my first or second year here, looking up at the 100 board with some big names on it from around the club, I wouldn't have expected to get there," the Sandgate Seahawks junior said.
"Then all of a sudden you're up there yourself – it's a great surprise."
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/4702/charmanlk6.jpg
Link (http://www.smh.com.au/news/Sport/Charman-not-keen-to-leave-Lions/2007/07/11/1183833586861.html)
Charman not keen to leave Lions
July 11, 2007 - 5:14PM
A shock 27-point AFL win over West Coast provided a glimpse into the rebuilding Brisbane Lions' future - and off-contract ruckman Jamie Charman clearly wants to be a part of it.
Charman, 25, has been linked to Richmond and St Kilda this year since deciding to postpone talks about his future until the end of the season.
However, the premiership-winning ruckman said he would love to stay in Brisbane, describing the prospect of playing alongside the Lions' emerging youngsters as "exciting".
Charman confirmed he wouldn't be making a final decision until the end of the year but stressed it did not mean he was thinking of leaving Brisbane.
"It's about finishing the year off for me, looking at the next year at the end of the season - it's more a personal thing than anything," said Charman, who plays his 100th game against Melbourne on Saturday night.
"But I love Brisbane, I love the Lions and I love this team. I'd love to stay.
"My life is set up here, my business is set up here. I'm looking to stay."
The emerging Lions that shone in the last round boilover at Perth have clearly motivated Charman in his seventh season at Brisbane.
"It has moulded the side a little bit together after six losses, that win helps us and gives us confidence," Charman said.
"It is exciting. We have had a few changes over the last couple of weeks and guys are getting their chance to play.
"(But) one win doesn't make a season, we've got to really build the second half of the year from now."
Charman appeared to relish the chance to combine with emerging ruckman Matthew Leuenberger, who made his debut in the last round upset at Subiaco.
"He's going to be a fantastic player for the club," Charman said of Leuenberger.
"I look forward to playing alongside him for the rest of my career."
It is still sinking in for Charman that he is approaching his 100th game for Brisbane.
And no wonder - Charman would be forgiven for thinking he would never reach the milestone after several injury-marred seasons including a dislocated shoulder that cut short 2006.
"Looking up at the 100 (game) board at the club downstairs there's some big names," Charman said.
"Walking into the club seven years ago I wouldn't have thought I would got there that's for sure."
LuckyLuke
12 Jul 2007, 15:53
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22052726-10389,00.html)
http://i18.tinypic.com/5y960cy.jpg
Link (http://www.smh.com.au/news/Sport/Charman-not-keen-to-leave-Lions/2007/07/11/1183833586861.html)
OMG!!! What has he gone and put on the wall!!!!:eek:
Grimreepah
13 Jul 2007, 02:23
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22063801-5003410,00.html)
Lions ruckman Jamie Charman will play his 100th match in front of his hometown crowd at the Gabba.
The powerhouse follower warmed up for his milestone match with a trek up the Story Bridge yesterday.
The out-of-contract ruck-man, who was a member of the Lions' 2003 premiership side, is relieved to finally reach the 100-game mark after making his debut way back in 2001.
"I've had my share (of injuries) so I reckon I am done and dusted and hopefully I can chalk up my next 100 in four years instead of seven," he said.
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/8701/charmanaj5.jpg
danielcanberra
14 Jul 2007, 15:26
Den Diaries: Simon Black
4:35 PM Thu 12 July, 2007
for lions.com.au
News
If you ever happen to be walking past the Gabba and hear some bloke yelling out of a black ute, just ignore it.
It will only be Jamie Charman taking a rise out of one of his teammates.
Charmo is a big man, all 197cm of him, and he is a larger than life character.
We love him dearly at the Brisbane Lions because he brings an x-factor to the group that only a special type of person can.
I reckon he was probably hyperactive as a kid because he never stops talking, fidgeting, badgering and all those sorts of things.
But you wouldn’t have him any other way.
Team morale will never be too far down when Charmo is around because his infectious personality naturally picks you up.
He is always smiling, always enthusiastic, and always encouraging his mates. Well almost always.
When he crosses the white line, he turns into a different person.
The condition is known as ‘white line fever’, and Charmo has it as bad as anyone. A great guy off the field, but don’t get in his way on the ground.
He has suffered a couple of times at the tribunal, but not enough to stop him playing his 100th game for the Brisbane Lions this weekend.
He was born in Maryborough, so it’s great to see another country-born Queenslander reach a significant milestone.
While he is a joker and a clown at times, there’s a seriously strong side to Charmo that should never be underestimated.
In only his second season in senior football, he carried our ruck division for virtually the entire year, only to be dropped at semi-final time.
He wasn’t picked for the 2002 grand final, which must have been a soul-destroying experience.
He masked his pain all that week and was typically bouncy and encouraging of the guys around him.
The devastation came out in his tears in the rooms after the win, so it was great to be able to get back to the grand final for him the following year.
I’ll never forget the look on his face when the siren went at the end of our preliminary final win over the Swans and Craig McRae running up to him screaming that he was ‘going to the big dance’.
Being a ruckman, he has carried plenty of niggling injuries through games without complaint, and has been fantastic for us again this year, especially considering the Achilles problem he had early on.
The midfielders got all the public credit when we came from seven goals down to hit the front against Port Adelaide in our last home game, but it was Charmo who generated most of the momentum at the hit-outs.
http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=47146
Grimreepah
2 Aug 2007, 13:38
http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/5766/charmanup2.jpg
Charman runs down Didak and tackles him twice in the space of 30 seconds. This effort epitomised the commitment of the Lions in their 93 point thumping of Collingwood.
Grimreepah
12 Aug 2007, 10:28
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22229008%255E19746,00.html)
The Lions' main injury concern looks to be ruckman Jamie Charman, who has a broken finger. Charman played with the finger in a splint and was dominant at the clearances early before fading in the second half.
konstas_87
12 Aug 2007, 15:05
just what we need.. i thought it was only dislocated.
LuckyLuke
12 Aug 2007, 22:16
Good for Luey and Wood though.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonaide!
Quigley
12 Aug 2007, 22:29
Its a shame about the Charman injury but in the scheme of things its not such a concern. If he was going to pick up an injury there are a lot worse things than a broken finger.
I am really looking forward to seeing the young ruck combo go up against two in the best in the business in Spider and Jolly. It will really test them and both should get a lot of game time. It will really give a good indication of where they are both at.
Grimreepah
13 Aug 2007, 21:49
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/news/Sport/Matthews-urges-Lions-to-maintain-focus/2007/08/13/1186857414902.html)
A broken finger isn't expected to prevent ruckman Jamie Charman playing on Saturday night
Grimreepah
18 Aug 2007, 03:20
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22262949%255E19746,00.html)
Charman: Good old days
18 August 2007 Herald Sun
Nikki Tugwell
JAMIE Charman knew nothing other than playing in Grand Finals in his first four seasons.His first three seasons at the Brisbane Lions, from 2001-03, yielded three premierships and his next another Grand Final appearance.
That unprecedented early success also made the club's failure to make the finals in 2005 and 2006 particularly galling.
For Charman, Jonathan Brown and Robert Copeland, who missed Brisbane's Bad News Bears days and the Lions' 1998 wooden spoon, failure was foreign.
"My first four years at the club were all in Grand Finals," Charman said. "When I first came into the club, I thought that success, and the feeling we had around the club that comes with it, was a regular occurrence."
In the Lions' past six matches, of which they have won five, Brown, Simon Black, Luke Power, Nigel Lappin and Charman have shown glimpses of their old confidence.
Charman says their struggles in 2005 and 2006 have given them a renewed appreciation of success.
"You go through hard times when you have those losses and that feeling around the club is certainly different," Charman said.
"And in those five weeks, we had that buzz back, you feel that same buzz where everyone is upbeat, it certainly compares to those feelings of when we were doing well back in the premiership years.
"It is always good to walk into work when everyone is upbeat, it makes your job more enjoyable and you wish you had that feeling every Monday when you walk into the club."
Charman will be pivotal in tonight's match at the Gabba against the Swans with the Lions' season on the line.
Particularly considering he will carry the bulk of the workload in the ruck against Peter Everitt and Darren Jolly.
The degree to which either midfield can control the game will be decisive. And quick, direct supply of ball by the Brisbane midfielders to their forward line will make Brown almost impossible to stop.
"Our clearances have been really good this season and we have had really good rotations through the midfield," Charman said.
"Jed Adcock has been very good for us.
"Lappin is as fit as he has been for a couple of years and Blacky is Mr Consistent. It certainly helps when those midfielders are hitting Browny on the chest."
Charman rates Sydney's Everitt-Jolly in the top bracket of ruck combinations in the league with Port's Brendon Lade and Dean Brogan and West Coast's Dean Cox and Mark Seaby.
Sydney has been the Lions' bogey team throughout their premiership years and has extended that dominance in recent seasons. In their 10 meetings since Paul Roos has been at the helm of Sydney, the Swans have won eight.
The big question mark over Brisbane tonight is whether its loss last week to Hawthorn has dented its momentum?
"Sydney have been a really good side and really shut us down," Charman said.
"It is a steep learning curve for us and particularly our younger players. How well we cope with that (pressure when the opposition gets on a roll) is going to be a factor.
"You have got to make sure you don't lose confidence when that happens.
"We stopped our run (against Hawthorn) and got a little bit worried. We really slowed down in that third quarter and then picked it up again in the last."
http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/3016/charmanfj4.jpg
New appreciation: Brisbane Lions ruckman Jamie Charman is enjoying winning again after some lean seasons.
BigCat2
18 Aug 2007, 11:36
JAMIE Charman knew nothing other than playing in Grand Finals in his first four seasons.His first three seasons at the Brisbane Lions, from 2001-03, yielded three premierships and his next another Grand Final appearance.
What?
Charmo was injured and too young probably for 2001.
Charmo was dropped on the eve of GF 2002 and was absolutely gutted.
Charmo played in 2003 GF.
Charmo injured his knee vs Adelaide and didn't play in 2004 GF.
notting18
18 Aug 2007, 11:42
What?
Charmo was injured and too young probably for 2001.
Charmo was dropped on the eve of GF 2002 and was absolutely gutted.
Charmo played in 2003 GF.
Charmo injured his knee vs Adelaide and didn't play in 2004 GF.
I think the article was commenting on the general success of the club at those times, although the phrasing is slightly misleading.
BigCat2
18 Aug 2007, 11:46
I think the article was commenting on the general success of the club at those times, although the phrasing is slightly misleading.
Aye.
Grimreepah
19 Aug 2007, 01:31
Link (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/lions-run-hit-by-injury-reports/2007/08/18/1186857850519.html)
The Lions are facing the probable loss of Jamie Charman for the final rounds with a calf strain. He limped off late in the first quarter and did not return for the match.
joshhem
20 Aug 2007, 12:03
Just reported on 96five that he will miss the crows game and maybe the cats as well. Calf injury as reported above
Grimreepah
20 Aug 2007, 14:53
Link (http://news.realfooty.com.au/teetering-lions-suffer-charman-blow/20072420-uan.html)
Teetering Lions suffer Charman blow
August 20, 2007 - 2:11PM
Gallant Brisbane's teetering AFL finals hopes have copped a major knock with influential ruckman Jamie Charman expected to miss the final two rounds of the competition.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews indicated Charman would miss Saturday night's must-win match with Adelaide and was long odds to play in the final-round clash against St Kilda.
The aggressive 25-year-old - rated among the best big men in the game - strained his calf in the first term of Saturday night's thrilling draw with Sydney at the Gabba.
Charman never returned, leaving 19-year-old Matthew Leuenberger to ruck the final three quarters against veteran duo Peter Everitt and Darren Jolly.
"He won't play this week," Matthews said. "He strained a calf so that's a week or two, probably two.
"You miss one week and you usually miss a couple with a calf injury like that."
With Brisbane requiring victory over both the Crows at AAMI Stadium and Geelong at the Gabba to make the top eight, Charman's loss makes it an even harder road to home (sic).
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3381/charmanod0.jpg
TheBrownDog
20 Aug 2007, 16:19
Link (http://news.realfooty.com.au/teetering-lions-suffer-charman-blow/20072420-uan.html)
http://i13.tinypic.com/521xr94.jpg
Last round clash with St Kilda? Quality journalism.
TheBrownDog
20 Aug 2007, 16:35
http://i17.tinypic.com/4pkezqf.jpg
Always the metrosexual, Jamie Charman attempts to help Scott Burns improve his appearance.
TheBrownDog
24 Aug 2007, 12:24
I heard whispers (can't say more than that) that Jamie will be sitting down with the club over the next couple of weeks and putting pen to paper.
Vipertooth
24 Aug 2007, 13:33
Lets hope your hearing is good hey :p
Dont want one of those chinese whisper things goin around!!!
Grimreepah
30 Aug 2007, 00:51
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22329466-5003410,00.html)
If Collingwood beats Adelaide tomorrow night to keep Brisbane's season alive, the Lions will consider a punt on injured ruckman Jamie Charman who ran hard laps at the Gabba last night in a bid for a late call-up for the season-defining clash.
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/2337/charmanmq3.jpg
Lions hold off interest in Clark
31 August 2007 Herald Sun
Andrew Hamilton
Jamie Charman is close to agreeing to remain at the club.
Source: http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22336965%255E19746,00.html
Great stuff Jamie!
TheBrownDog
31 Aug 2007, 11:22
Great news.
all4114all
11 Sep 2007, 06:31
Charman agrees to new deal
11 September 2007 Herald Sun
Andrew Hamilton
THE Brisbane Lions have landed their top priority signature, with ruckman Jamie Charman agreeing to a new deal to remain at the club.
The deal - believed to be two years - secures the Lions' ruck stocks for years to come after 2006 draftee Matthew Leuenberger's impressive debut season.
Charman's commitment has shifted attention on to ruck teammate Cameron Wood, who has been watched closely by the Sydney Swans this year.
There have been reports Swans ruckman Darren Jolly is interested in returning to Melbourne to be closer to family. Swans' football manager Andrew Ireland met Jolly's manager Michael Quinlan at the weekend.
"I'll be staying in Brisbane long term, which is fantastic," Charman said yesterday.
Richmond also showed interest in Charman. It is understood former Lion premiership teammate, and Richmond assistant coach, Craig McRae was used as a salesman for the Tigers, who would have had first option on Charman had he allowed his contract to expire and nominated for the draft.
Wood is still contracted to the Lions, while Beau McDonald has a year to run on his contract.
Grimreepah
11 Sep 2007, 09:41
Cheers all4114all. That's good news.:thumbsu:
Bit of a turnaround from this:
Charman move on cards
By Andrew Hamilton
June 21, 2007
BRISBANE Lions ruckman Jamie Charman is yet to start talks with the club about a new contract, and he is considering a move to a Melbourne club next year.
Sources close to the club say there is growing evidence that Charman is open to a move.
One possible scenario involves Brisbane offering Charman as a trade to St Kilda for forward Nick Riewoldt.
Riewoldt is yet to agree to terms with the Saints, and there remains a lot of talk that Brisbane is having a crack at luring him home for next year.
Grimreepah
12 Sep 2007, 16:00
Link (http://www.**********.net/jamie-charman-signs-new-contract/)
Jamie Charman Signs New Contract
September 10th 2007 23:56
When players like Koschitzke and Jamie Charman sign new contracts to stay at their current teams it shows that the teams down the bottom of the ladder are not really trying to improve. Richmond, Carlton and Melbourne need to be doing everything they can to entice an uncontracted star to their clubs, but the list of available players is getting smaller every week.
Charman's signing will enable Brisbane to have stability with their list and allow them to plan to improve for next season. The Charman and Leuenberger ruck combination should be a great weapon for the Lions in 2008. It also allows the Lions to use Cameron Wood as a trade asset, and he could bring the Lions a very good draft pick.
Apparently the deal is for 3 years:
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=50985)
Charman commits to the Lions
12:05 PM Wed 12 September, 2007
By Jennifer Witham
BRISBANE ruckman Jamie Charman hopes his new three-year contract with the club will ensure he finishes his career as a Lion.
Charman, 25, agreed to a remain at the club earlier this week after weeks of speculation regarding where he would play next year as several Melbourne-based clubs were reported to be courting the out-of-contract ruckman.
"I wanted to leave the contract stuff to the end of the season so I'd finished playing," Charman said, on SEN.
"It's all done and dusted, Paul Connors did the contract, and it's all done. It's a bit of a relief.
"I'm glad I'm staying in Brisbane for hopefully the rest of my career."
The talented big man has overcome a handful of injuries, including a fractured leg and dislocated shoulder, in the past two seasons to become a valuable asset this year.
He has averaged over 18 hit-outs a game in 17 matches this season, as well as nearly 13 disposals and a total of 10 goals.
While relieved to finally have negotiations out of the way, Charman said he was pleased to be able to leave the discussions until the end of the season.
"It's something you don't want to hear about when you're playing, and you want to leave it to the end of the season."
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/8603/charmanld9.jpg
I heard whispers (can't say more than that) that Jamie will be sitting down with the club over the next couple of weeks and putting pen to paper.
Good work Browndog:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
4 Oct 2007, 04:25
Here (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/clubs-chase-brisbane-ruckman/2007/10/03/1191091193760.html) is another report on the length of Charman's contract:
The Lions recently re-signed Charman to a four-year contract following strong interest from Melbourne clubs, including Richmond.
As Charman himself said it was a long term contract this may well be correct.
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/8104/charmanin2.jpg
Grimreepah
7 Nov 2007, 11:03
End of Season Player Review
Jamie Charman had a reasonable year, showing why he is considered one of the better ruckmen in the competition. However he still probably has a way to go before he is up there with the topliners, and with the likes of Macintosh and Ottens having terrific years, he has probably slipped down the rankings a little.
Jamie missed the start of the season with an ankle injury and didn’t play until round 4 against the Kangaroos. With a season ending injury to Bradshaw, they initially tried to split his time betweem the ruck and the forward line. But it wasn’t really successful – the extra workload seemed to be affecting his ruckwork and he wasn’t all that effective as a forward.
After a few games they abandoned the forward experiment, allowing him to spend the majority of time in the ruck. But while he was competitive he wasn’t really in the form that we know he is capable of. McDonald, Clark and Wood all had a few games as the backup ruckman, but it wasn’t until Leuenberger came into the side until Charman started to hit his straps.
Charman was finishing the year strongly and getting better as the year wore on, but his season ended in round 20 when he suffered a calf injury. He was a big loss as we struggled in the ruck in the remaining two rounds.
The year has shown that Charman is our best ruckman by a fair margin. However with the super talented Leuenberger showing terrific signs in his first year, one wonders just how long that will be the case.
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/2481/charmanfo8.jpg
TheBrownDog
21 Nov 2007, 22:58
Website for Jamie's Health Spa (http://www.number19.com.au/)
Grimreepah
22 Nov 2007, 00:23
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/9963/charman1ug3.jpg
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/5976/charman2zf2.jpg
Surely his team mates would have given him heaps of shit over this.
TheBrownDog
22 Nov 2007, 02:33
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/9963/charman1ug3.jpg
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/5976/charman2zf2.jpg
Surely his team mates would have given him heaps of shit over this.
A few teammates also feature prominently as models in his advertising displays outside the building.
Luke Power and Chris Johnson in particular.
notting18
22 Nov 2007, 08:48
A few teammates also feature prominently as models in his advertising displays outside the building.
Luke Power and Chris Johnson in particular.
Yesterday when i was looking after my young cousin, one of the guys from that kids show on 9 went and got facials with Luke Power (i think it was a dare or something)....eventhough Charman was not seen, No. 19 was featured heavily.
danielcanberra
22 Nov 2007, 14:14
When I got my haircut at Number 19 the day before the Club Champs dinner, I was told that all the players go there.
I suggested that instead of getting a discount (they don't get one anyway), the players should all be charged double. :D
I was told that several of them go in at the same time and make themselves right at home.
Grimreepah
20 Dec 2007, 14:26
http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/6637/charmandb3.jpg
Lions Christmas Wish List (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54427)
Among other things, Jamie Charman wants a Borat-style mankini in Lions colours
:eek:
TheBrownDog
22 Jan 2008, 15:05
Charman looks to give Sandgate a boost
By Simon White
For lions.com.au (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54710)
WHEN Jamie Charman talks about going back to basics this pre-season, he isn't referring to a bid to recapture lost form.
The popular Brisbane Lions ruckman's last two seasons have been his best at AFL level.
But his junior club, the Sandgate Hawks, has experienced some tough times and Charman will lend a helping hand to help his old side shore up its footing.
Already he has been installed as the Hawks' No.1 ticket holder.
"If I hadn't played for the Hawks I probably wouldn't be where I am now," Charman said.
"I played juniors there from when I was in under 7s right up until under 16s and the people who helped me in the early stages of my career were fantastic.
"They are trying to get their clubhouse up and going again and get the local kids back and involved.
"They've probably got 200 or 300 at the moment and, based on what they've told me, they reckon they can probably double that."
Charman's senior football career also began at the Hawks, when, as a 15-year-old, he faced the Lions' state league team - then known as the Lion Cubs.
In his trademark aggressive fashion, Charman didn't take long to get acquainted with now-teammate Beau McDonald.
"It was back in 1998 and I played in the ruck against the big fella," Charman recalled.
"I tried to start a punch-up with him at the opening bounce. Beau actually remembered it when I got to the club - this skinny kid with head gear who tried to have a go at him.
"We [the Hawks] got thumped but it was a great experience for me."
These days Charman and McDonald are on friendlier terms, although healthy competition remains between the pair.
Charman and McDonald, along with rising star Matthew Leuenberger, will be battling it out for ruck opportunities in 2008.
"Obviously Beau has had issues with injuries in the past but he's getting back to where he was before and with Matthew Leuenberger as well, it's a healthy situation for the club," Charman said.
"It's been that way around the club for the eight years that I've been here - ruckmen going against each other to get a game.
"Leuenberger showed last year that he's going to be a big talent for the club in the future and Beau's got plenty of experience, so the depth is there.
"It's exactly what the club needs - three ruckman up and running and bringing out the best in one another."
Sandgate Hawks will host a junior sign-on day on February 9. For more information, visit www.sandgatefootballclub.com.
Top bloke is our Jamie.
rumblah
22 Jan 2008, 15:26
Will show everyone just how good he is and by the end of 2008 will be the premier ruckman in the league.
Gun.
Grimreepah
22 Jan 2008, 22:52
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/2861/charmanqf5.jpg
Warwick
23 Jan 2008, 00:16
Sandgate was the best and worst ground to play on back in the day.
It had the widest flanks and wings in the world which was great as a running player, but when that wind picked up it was near on impossible to hit a target.
And when the lawnmower broke down and they couldn't cut the grass, it was like running in treacle!
danielcanberra
24 Jan 2008, 19:41
TV viewing habits etc from Courier Mail
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23091878-5003422,00.html
Jamie Charman
ON field for the Brisbane Lions Jamie Charman has been described as an aggressive ruckman but, when we got hold of him Oprah was on as he chatted to us.
Q. How would you describe your TV viewing habits?
A. I really only watch it to fill in the gaps in my spare time. Like now I've just come home from training to have lunch and have put Oprah on. I also use TV as a relaxation tool and, if I'm not training, I try to watch the news.
Q. What TV shows do you most enjoy watching?
A. Definitely Friends. I used to love it when it first came on, now I love watching the re-runs. I like the comedy in the one-liners, it's my sort of humour. Medium is also good, I really like shows about psychics who solve crimes.
Q. What room is your TV in?
A. In the lounge room, but you can see it from the kitchen too. I usually have it on when I'm cooking and I'll eat my dinner on the couch.
Q. Who is one TV personality you've met?
A. Bill McDonald from Channel 10 – on the news he always gives you the facts and in person he's a lovely guy, down-to-earth, a good bloke.
Q. If you could invite a TV personality to lunch, who would it be?
A. Jennifer Hawkins from The Great Outdoors, that's a joke for my girlfriend. Seriously, I would like to meet Grant Denyer. He seems funny and like a good guy, I'd like to hang out with him.
:eek:
The Flying Belgian
24 Jan 2008, 20:00
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/2861/charmanqf5.jpg
Man, those guernseys haven't changed. Those jarring colours either freaked teams out completely or acted like a red rag to a bull.
The Flying Belgian
18 Feb 2008, 07:40
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23228336-10389,00.html)
LIONS' Jamie Charman is revelling in his role as No.1 ticketholder for his old junior club Sandgate. While many of his teammates went home for a decent rest after a recent three hot days in Townsville, Charman went straight to Lemke Road for a junior sign-on.
- by Mark Oberhardt
brisbanelioness
20 Feb 2008, 19:29
What a champion! Charmo for co captain!:thumbsu:
Jorge Horatio
21 Feb 2008, 07:55
Man, those guernseys haven't changed. Those jarring colours either freaked teams out completely or acted like a red rag to a bull.
Belg, those are the old Sandgate jumpers that are used for grades under 12's, training, scratch matches etc. The new jerseys are bottle green with a hawk emblem on the front. Know what you mean but, the jerseys are historic and definately had its fair share of blood spilt because of it
Jorge Horatio
21 Feb 2008, 07:59
After all this rain and a $50 000 irrigation system set up on the ground, it will be still be one of the best grounds for footy. The best team usually wins at Sandgate because the game can showcase running football on an expansive ground, rather then some of those one kick out of the square to the full foward grounds that are played on. The wings and flanks are wide and can really hurt teams fitness in the dying moments of quarters. I love the ground, it will be good to see the club redeveloping the clubhouse so locals have a great place not only to play but also to watch
LIONOFZION
21 Feb 2008, 10:02
Can't say my memories of Sandgate are fond ones - got shirt-fronted by the CHF (from my own team!) and did my knee in under 14s. Didn't have a bench in those days so had to hobble around for the rest of the match.:(
And their guernsey still looks like a frog that's been run over :p
#46 in Mike Sheahan's Top 50. The 5th ranked ruckman behind Cox (3), Ottens (22), Lade (34) and McIntosh (44).
brisbanelioness
17 Mar 2008, 21:44
I still think Charmo's got a chance for rucking in the Dream Team. I predict he's going to have a big year, this year. Charmo to dominate in 08! :thumbsu:
brisbanelioness
27 Mar 2008, 10:30
Charmo's weekly insights into the Lions can be heard here:
http://www.triplem.com.au/brisbane/s...ighlights.html (http://www.triplem.com.au/brisbane/shows/thecage/listen/cagehighlights.html)
There are two so far and they're pretty funny, I think.
Jorge Horatio
27 Mar 2008, 11:03
Good to see the big man is still as approachable as ever. Jamie took the entire Sandgate senior training on Tuesday night and ran the boys through their paces with a few drills picked up from the Lions. As the clubs number one ticketholder, its good to see him getting involved and playing his part. Group enjoyed his session culminating in the "circle of death" which Brisbane put all their younger fellas through as an initiation ceremony. Top bloke
TheBrownDog
27 Mar 2008, 13:19
Group enjoyed his session culminating in the "circle of death" which Brisbane put all their younger fellas through as an initiation ceremony.
Not the Robert Walls version I hope! :eek:
Grimreepah
29 Mar 2008, 01:03
http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/8442/charman1zg2.jpg
Jamie Charman has given away 9 free kicks (and received 1) in his first two games this year. Not good enough mate.
Dylan12
29 Mar 2008, 01:29
Jamie Charman has given away 9 free kicks (and received 1) in his first two games this year. Not good enough mate.
He seems to be grabbing his opposing number in ruck contests around the ground and pulling them out of the contest, even if there isn't much in them, one would think he would learn.
On a positive note, am impressed with him getting a few goals per game.
Grimreepah
1 Apr 2008, 14:48
Link (http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=65661)
The Dockers have been criticised for not taking advantage of Sandilands’ dominance this season. Only Brisbane’s Jamie Charman and Melbourne’s Jeff White have had more hit-outs intercepted this year.
Just in case anyone else was wondering what "hit-outs intercepted" meant, it means times when the ruckman gets the tap down but the opposition midfielders get the ball.
Took me a couple of minutes to figure it out. :o
brisbanelioness
1 Apr 2008, 21:20
Perhaps this is a "numpty" question but is it something our ruckmen need to work on or the midfielders?
notting18
1 Apr 2008, 23:08
Perhaps this is a "numpty" question but is it something our ruckmen need to work on or the midfielders?
Both....Set plays and the like can be very useful in these circumstances.
chopperduck
2 Apr 2008, 14:06
its hard these days tho, getting the tap doesn't mean it goes to your team. i miss the days of just smashing the ball forward and the rovers just attacking either the loose ball or the man who happens to get it.
Grimreepah
10 Apr 2008, 00:38
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23512613-5016181,00.html)
Lions ruck duo aiming for No.1
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_heraldsun.gif (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/)
April 09, 2008 12:00am
LIONS big man Jamie Charman is savouring the prospect of going head-to-head with Port Adelaide's Dean Brogan. Charman today indicated he and improving youngster Matthew Leuenberg couldn't wait to test themselves against Brogan and fellow ruckman Brendon Lade at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night.
The Power duo and West Coast's Dean Cox-Mark Seaby pairing are rated the best in the league, and Charman doesn't argue.
But the Lions' ruckmen have their eyes on becoming No.1.
"I think that group, they are the best ruck combinations in the league," Charman said.
"In the near future I think both Matthew and I could be the premier ruckmen in the league and be a combination that's a real threat every week to the guys like Cox and Seaby and Port Adelaide's Dean Brogan and Lade."
Brogan was at his ultra-aggressive best in the Showdown with Adelaide on Sunday, highlighted by a destructive hip-and-shoulder on Luke Jericho which resulted in a cracked sternum.
Although the round four game between the 2004 grand finalists won't have as much feeling, Charman is braced for as tough a battle with 29-year-old.
"He was breaking sternums and doing all sorts of things (against Adelaide)," Charman said.
"He's always a pretty competitive sort of character and he likes showing his aggression.
"It's good to come up against those guys.
"I love that sort of contest every week. It's always good to come up against another good competitor."
The confident Charman was bold enough to back himself and teenager Leuenberger to get over the top of their senior rivals.
"Of course," he said. "Obviously Lewie is just improving every game. He had a good game on the weekend and his ruck work was sensational.
"There's no reason why he can't be even better again this week."
http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/8498/charman21wc8.jpg
Gabbatoir
11 Apr 2008, 12:04
Actually met Jamie's Dad at Indro train station. My mate was decked out in his lions shirt and he came up and had a chat.
Pretty cool guy.
chopperduck
11 Apr 2008, 15:00
Actually met Jamie's Dad at Indro train station. My mate was decked out in his lions shirt and he came up and had a chat.
Pretty cool guy.
my old man use to live around the corner from charmo's parents, they also use to come into our servo pretty often, and yes, they are very decent folk and great for a chat. charmo came from good stock :)
Grimreepah
13 Apr 2008, 02:21
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23512613-5016181,00.html)
Well this article seems to have been a bit of a red herring...
Charman reportedly has a calf strain. I wonder how long he will be out for.
Fairley
15 Apr 2008, 20:58
http://lions.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=57963
Charman is again in doubt for Saturday night's Gabba clash with ladder leaders Hawthorn.
brisbanelioness
15 Apr 2008, 21:09
Well that's just great! Obviously we haven't prayed to the footy gods hard enough. I wonder if this will affect Charmo's final selection in the Dream Team too. Not good. We need Charmo back now!
Grimreepah
16 Apr 2008, 01:23
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23544935-10389,00.html)
Jamie Charman hoping to face Hawks
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
By Paul Malone
April 16, 2008 12:00am
BRISBANE Lions ruck mainstay Jamie Charman will step up his rearguard fitness battle this afternoon to return for the testing AFL assignment against Hawthorn at the Gabba on Saturday night.
Charman, who agonised in front of his television at home through most of Brisbane's comeback win over Port Adelaide last Saturday, said he would run at training to check the improvement of a calf injury.
Charman indicated he had a better than 50 per cent chance of bolstering Brisbane's ruck battery, but a player returning from a one-week absence with a calf injury is rarely as effective as normal.
The Lions turned to Jared Brennan and Michael Rischitelli against Port as ruck relief for Matthew Leuenberger, the second-year ruckman who assumed extra responsibility when Cameron Wood was released to Collingwood and Beau McDonald retired.
"It (the calf) is feeling a little better. Things are pretty positive about playing on Saturday night," Charman said.
"I will have a little jog tomorrow, but I'd think there wouldn't be a decision on whether I play until Friday."
Charman said he was most impressed by Leuenberger's pace and attitude.
"He's got great pace and he's done things in his second year that a lot of ruckmen don't do in their third or fourth years," Charman said.
"He did well against against Port Adelaide with a big task. With a young body, he needs that extra back-up week in, week out. He's very level-headed and he absorbs a lot of information about the game."
Charman said Brisbane needed a better start than in the loss to West Coast and last week's amazing comeback against Port Adelaide.
"For three quarters it was a frustrating time for me on the couch," he said.
"There were a few dents in the couch, but they turned it around and stopped Port's run."
http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/1082/charmanch6.jpg
joshhem
16 Apr 2008, 09:09
I didn't get a chance to watch the port game and I know this isn't a Jamie question, but grim that article says we turned to Riska in the ruck. Did we really????
Cousin Jed
16 Apr 2008, 09:13
I didn't get a chance to watch the port game and I know this isn't a Jamie question, but grim that article says we turned to Riska in the ruck. Did we really????
I had a chuckle at that one.
No we didn't.
Lace Out
16 Apr 2008, 09:45
Nah,he's on his Paul Malone if he saw that happen.
Grimreepah
16 Apr 2008, 10:22
Rischitelli was credit (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=3555)ed with a couple of hitouts, but he never lined up in the ruck. Mills rucked for short periods.
Poor old Charmo. We get smashed in the clearances every week, and then as soon as he's injured we come out on top...
Against Port, there were no free kicks against Leuey and only 1 each against Mills and Brennan (not sure if they were ruck related). Charman had given away 10 free kicks in 3 matches (although only 1 against Sydney).
Lace Out
16 Apr 2008, 11:27
Against Port, there were no free kicks against Leuey and only 1 each against Mills and Brennan (not sure if they were ruck related). Charman had given away 10 free kicks in 3 matches (although only 1 against Sydney).
That shows the class and co-ordination of Leuenberger and he shouldn't have a problem with that over his career.
Charman plays like a bull in a china shop and will always give away a few.
I also think it is a sign of Charmo's willingness to make a contribution for the contested pill. I think Charmo is a gem and could live with 2 free kicks against every game if he imposes his presence on the contest.
Grimreepah
17 Apr 2008, 19:54
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/lions-confident-of-charman-return/20080417-26uh.html)
Lions confident of Charman return
April 17, 2008 - 6:59PM
Brisbane ruckman Jamie Charman remains under a slight cloud despite being named to return to action for the Lions in Saturday night's AFL clash against the in-form Hawthorn at the Gabba.
Charman and small forward Ash McGrath were included as the only changes to the Brisbane side which pulled off a remarkable comeback against Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium last weekend.
Charman is expected to be tested at training on Friday after taking little part in Wednesday's session due to the calf problem which forced him out of last Saturday's match.
But the fact the Lions have listed three small players as their emergencies and omitted talls Lachlan Henderson and Wade Mills suggests the club is confident the ruckman will play.
If he does, Charman will rejoin rising youngster Matthew Leuenberger in the ruck division for the match.
Charman was a late withdrawal from the 17-point win over the Power, leaving Leuenberger to fly solo at the centre bounce.
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/6706/charman12kb7.jpg
Is he going to play? Any news on how he trained today?
He's going to play but record a negative score on dreamteam and supercoach.
Grimreepah
18 Apr 2008, 12:19
Link (http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/04/18/10193_gold-coast-sport.html)
Jamie still in doubt for ruck
Nick Smart
18Apr08
THE Lions have continued the guessing game over Jamie Charman, naming their No.1 ruckman for tomorrow night's highly-anticipated clash against Hawthorn at the Gabba.
Charman, who missed last week's remarkable win over Port Adelaide, is still in doubt with a calf strain.
It is believed a decision will not be made until today by the coaching staff, who put Charman through a fitness test at the Gabba yesterday.
He was running earlier in the week and declared himself a better than 50 per cent chance to play. But coach Leigh Matthews will be reluctant to risk his big man this early in the season.
http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/2470/charman12je6.jpg
brisbanelioness
18 Apr 2008, 21:39
He looks alright to me here! ;)
http://www.triplem.com.au/brisbane/shows/thecage/listen/cagehighlights.html
Shame that they got his name wrong! Listen to the audio too. It's interesting to hear what the Lions drink/consume after the match.
Grimreepah
18 Apr 2008, 22:31
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/mcgrath-added-to-give-lions-more-speed/20080418-273g.html)
Jamie Charman is not an injury concern any longer after passing a fitness test on Friday.
Grimreepah
3 May 2008, 18:51
I agree with Warwick that Jamie is really struggling. Is he injured? Is he trying too hard? Is he daunted by the Berger?
Charman was very good as a young ruckman 5 or 6 years ago, but how much has he improved since then? He is now 25 and should be at the peak of his career.
Cousin Jed
4 May 2008, 14:37
He's honest at least
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=59032)
Charman has been selected for the extended Dream Team Squad who will take on Victoria in next week’s Hall of Fame Tribute game at the MCG. If teammate Black was fit, the pair could have been playing alongside each other.
“'Blacky' likes to test himself against the best, and I think he will be disappointed to miss this one," he said.
Charman believes he’s lucky to be short-listed, and would relish the opportunity to play against his teammate and Victorian captain Brown if the star forward recovers from injury in time.
“I’m very, very lucky to get the opportunity. I suppose I haven’t been playing all that well," he said.
"There’s probably a few other ruckman that would have deserved to be in there. I’m really looking forward to it. Just learning things off guys you don’t normally get to play with, having a different coach and just changing it up for a week will be good.”
Also Port Adeaide are number 1 in hitouts this year. But Mark Williams wouldn't pick either of his ruckman for the games :rolleyes:
notting18
4 May 2008, 21:55
I would love to congratulate Jamie on the selection for the Dream Team, but Mark Williams has unfortunately put him in the position of probably being somewhat embarrassed by the selection.
Good luck to Charman though, you never know he might actually find his form this week!
brisbanelioness
4 May 2008, 22:26
Yep, Charmo will definitely get selected. Perhaps not based on current form but he is a Premiership ruckman and highly effective not only in the ruck but up forward too and has even been an extra tall down in defence at times. Charmo is a hugely popular player too but aside from that he is one of only two players to be selected from Qld.
"The state-by-state breakdown of the Dream Team saw 15 South Australians, 12 Western Australians, four New South Welshmen, four from the Northern Territory, two Queenslanders, one Tasmanian, one from the ACT and one Irishman selected." http://sportsaustralia.com/articles/news.php?id=3490
With Riewoldt's knee injury, that leaves Charmo as the sole player to represent Qld. He'll get picked for sure and I hope he has an awesome game! Go Charmo, do us Qlders proud!:thumbsu:
brisbanelioness
4 May 2008, 22:36
The Dream Team
(http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=59063)
http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=59063
The team will gather in Melbourne for training at the MCG on Wednesday May 7 and Friday May 9, before the final team of 25 (18 plus seven interchange) is named the day before the game.
The full squad is:
Andrew McLeod (captain) Adelaide Nathan Bassett Adelaide Nathan Bock Adelaide Craig Bolton Sydney Swans Peter Burgoyne Port Adelaide Shaun Burgoyne Port Adelaide Brett Burton Adelaide Jamie Charman Brisbane Lions Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs Joel Corey Geelong Kane Cornes Port Adelaide Dean Cox West Coast Daniel Cross Western Bulldogs Leon Davis Collingwood Corey Enright Geelong Lance Franklin Hawthorn Darren Glass West Coast Simon Goodwin Adelaide Ryan Griffen Western Bulldogs Graham Johncock Adelaide Tadhg Kennelly Sydney Swans Daniel Kerr West Coast Brett Kirk Sydney Swans
Luke McPharlin Fremantle Cameron Mooney Geelong Daniel Motlop Port Adelaide Matthew Pavlich Fremantle Matthew Richardson Richmond Ben Rutten Adelaide Mathew Stokes Geelong
Grimreepah
6 May 2008, 22:47
Link (http://news.realfooty.com.au/brown-keen-to-put-on-big-v-jumper-power/20080506-2bjv.html)
Power also revealed he had copped some good-natured sledging from Lions team-mate Jamie Charman. Charman will be one of the Dream Team's ruckmen and the two are certain to cross paths at the MCG.
"He doesn't tuck his elbows in much," Power said of Charman.
"I've been rooming with him all week, he's been coming home saying `gee I'm going to smash you'.
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140179.jpg
Nice.
TheBrownDog
7 May 2008, 22:18
And another
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140240.jpg
Charman will be close to bog on the weekend, i bet he will feel like the shackles are off his feet, so he will be able to dance! ha
TheBrownDog
8 May 2008, 13:26
Charman will be close to bog on the weekend, i bet he will feel like the shackles are off his feet, so he will be able to dance! ha
Will probably be suspended for clotheslining Luke Power. :D
Tim the Toolman
8 May 2008, 13:29
Luke's not tall enough to get up to Jamie's armpit!
Grimreepah
11 May 2008, 00:26
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23675408-5016169,00.html)
Brisbane Lions are one injury from disaster
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/sm_sundaymail.gif
By Damien Stannard
May 11, 2008 12:00am
THE Brisbane Lions are one injury away from a crisis. With only two ruckmen, Jamie Charman is playing hurt to protect the club's fragile ruck stocks. The warrior ruckman will consider having knee surgery but not before giving his all to Brisbane's quest to return to the finals for the first time in four years.
Charman was selected in the Dream Team for last night's Hall of Fame Tribute Match at the MCG despite battling calf and knee problems.
The 102kg enforcer was a late withdrawal from the Lions' win against Port Adelaide but has battled through every other game because 19-year-old Matthew Leuenberger is his only back-up.
"I do think of (the lack of depth) because I don't want to let my team down at any stage," he said.
"I want what's best for the team and the club. I want to win."
When asked if his knee required an operation, he said: "That's something I'll have a look at at the end of the year."
Lions coach Leigh Matthews confirmed Charman was playing with niggles but was unconcerned about his player's involvement in last night's Tribute Match.
"He played last week and he's playing this week so he must be (OK)," the coach said.
However, Matthews will be aware how crucial it will be to keep his top tap men on the paddock.
Last year the club was inundated with ruckmen: Charman held top billing ahead of Leuenberger, Cameron Wood and Beau McDonald.
Wood was traded to help get Travis Johnstone to the Gabba while McDonald retired during the pre-season.
The only other ruckman on the club's list is rookie Joel Tippett, 19, who is also injured and not ready to be thrown to the wolves in senior football.
If necessary, Jared Brennan can fill-in at the stoppages while another possibility, injury-prone Mitch Clark, is being spared from ruck duty.
The only other contender would be teenager Lachie Henderson but his only experience in the position is in under-18 competition.
Charman was among the team's best players against Collingwood and Sydney but has not had his trademark impact since.
Charman and Leuenberger were out-rucked last weekend by emerging Geelong tall Mark Blake and the pair also struggled against Hawthorn.
In spite of the pain from his knee, Charman has averaged 84 minutes a game this season.
"It's hard when you're not able to do the work and you're missing sessions. I feel like I have to train well and train consistently and that hasn't happened," the 25-year-old said.
"In the ruck you're jumping with your knee all the time and there's always contact.
"If you look at any ruckmen, they're big guys and it's such a physical position. You're always going to have issues."
Charman is a member of the team's leadership group and has vowed to soldier on.
"I can play. It's just a management thing. It hasn't got worse. But it has its ups and downs."
http://i26.tinypic.com/x2um3p.jpg
brisbanelioness
11 May 2008, 00:33
:eek::eek::eek: Am going to drag my butt to Mass today to do some serious praying!!
Grimreepah
11 May 2008, 01:21
Player Ratings: Matt Burgan (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=59411)
Jamie Charman (19)
Finished with 15 hit-outs, but with eight possessions didn’t get enough of the ball around the ground. Was unlucky to give away an important free kick to Brisbane teammate Jonathan Brown that resulted in a late goal.
Rating: 5
Grimreepah
15 May 2008, 10:52
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=59610)
Charman to take battle in-house
By Simon White
10:17 AM Thu 15 May, 2008
BRISBANE Lions ruckman Jamie Charman has become a dab hand at squaring off against good mates in the last week, and he’s likely to get another crack at it in the Saturday night showdown with Carlton at Telstra Dome.
Charman battled with Lions teammates Jonathan Brown, Luke Power and Daniel Bradshaw when he represented the Dream Team against Victoria in the Hall of Fame Tribute Match last weekend.
Come Saturday night, he looks set for a similar experience, with former housemate Richard Hadley a strong chance to line up for the Blues.
Hadley has been troubled by a groin injury in recent weeks but is likely to be selected if he passes a final fitness test.
"I spoke to Hadsy about it earlier in the week and all he’d talk about was just getting through training – based on that I reckon he’s pretty confident of playing,” Charman said.
"Hadsy and I have been really good mates over a long time and, even though I wished him all the best when he went down there at the end of last year, I’m looking forward to playing against him.
"It was a bit funny last week (in the Hall of Fame Tribute Match) because I hardly got to see anything of the other Lions boys.
"Lukey Power was talking it up a bit during the week but once we got out on the field I never saw him at all!”
One moment when Charman definitely did run into one of his Lions mates came when he put a characteristically whole-hearted tackle on Brown deep in the pocket in the last quarter.
Unfortunately the umpire whistled Charman for a push in the back and Brown snapped a crucial goal from a tight angle for the Vics.
Did he think of the possible reaction of coach Leigh Matthews if he injured his star teammate in taking him to ground?
"Definitely not. The only thing I can remember thinking at the time was that I’d got hard done by the umpire,” Charman said with a laugh.
"That always seems to be happening to me.”
Charman has been pestered by a knee injury throughout the season, but says he pulled up just fine from tribute match.
"It was such a free-flowing and open game that it was really a contest of athletes more than anything else,” Charman said.
"There wasn’t really the physical aspect that there is in club matches and I actually felt really good afterwards.
"Even though I didn’t actually have the week off, I’ve still come out of it feeling freshened.”
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/7611/charman26hn4.jpg